You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1487341319 2962e56a171c8e64 1473696877778 neil

Rev. Jay Bowman

Kitty Hawk , NC

LOCATION

Kitty Hawk, NC 27949 US (map)

PHONE

252-216-6676

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My title is ‘Reverend’
but I would much rather you just call me “Jay”.

I am a seminary ordained minister who semi-retired seven years ago after 24 years of a full time... Read more
My title is ‘Reverend’
but I would much rather you just call me “Jay”.

I am a seminary ordained minister who semi-retired seven years ago after 24 years of a full time career in the local church.

Now I have the great honor of serving as a full time wedding officiant for couples and families in one of the most important and happy windows of their lives; their wedding day here on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. It’s who I am; It’s what I do; and I love it!

I have lived in some beautiful places (Florida, Colorado), but doing life here on the Outer Banks of North Carolina is going to be hard to beat. I feel soooooo blessed to be living the dream here on this big sandbar. It’s just flat out awesome.

Feel free to call 252-216-6676 or email me jay@yourOBXwedding.com with any questions and thoughts you may have about your special day.


My Professional Background

My professional background includes undergrad studies at Asbury College in Kentucky, and then seminary work at NorthPark Theological Seminary in Chicago: my ordination credentials are through a small, but solid denomination with Swedish Lutheran roots.

The weddings I perform are all non-denominational, and I’m very sensitive to the needs of each couple as to how spiritual or non-spiritual they want their ceremony to be. It’s always an honor, and I hope to be serving you.

Personal Interests: Marathons, Spartan Races, Outer Banks Bootcamps, The Beach, Denver Broncos, Hanging with family and friends, Adventures, Chainsaw Art. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1289093470672 dannybrittany1
130x130 sq 1487341662495 aaa
130x130 sq 1487341731081 10.9.14.446
130x130 sq 1487343407499 birch 2
130x130 sq 1473696875502 screen shot 2016 08 27 at 12.11.24 pm
130x130 sq 1289093477422 0393
130x130 sq 1487341886258 candice brooke mayo
130x130 sq 1487341760976 brooke
130x130 sq 1487342486615 neil gt1
130x130 sq 1487343387247 08
130x130 sq 1459274727104 img1903
130x130 sq 1473696877778 neil
130x130 sq 1487343419032 manbirch 2
130x130 sq 1459274582149 266473476429711137154361n
130x130 sq 1459274589993 6146910151120439526114498772782n
130x130 sq 1487342171132 dsc8061
130x130 sq 1487342336845 img1128
130x130 sq 1459274598313 29193910150304905196114249076254n
130x130 sq 1459274598220 1198
130x130 sq 1487342100167 vow renewal ceremonies
130x130 sq 1459274605488 45614647635376947201483550975o
130x130 sq 1459274615917 5296044552952011673812052012786n
130x130 sq 1459274626996 1059321215469011122078527814065839516928781n
130x130 sq 1459274793917 sas 143
130x130 sq 1459274634461 10678525101527301120309704578951974689963512n
130x130 sq 1289093466797 outerbanksproductions4
130x130 sq 1459274641476 1205254712315521301944397518233435212783202o
130x130 sq 1487343306046 genevieve
130x130 sq 1289093478672 470391553447478326671000007142849253382427401267n
130x130 sq 1459274620973 1174803101012336162001192092158800n
130x130 sq 1487343289902 julied
130x130 sq 1459274722709 img007
130x130 sq 1459274741480 salvo sound beach
130x130 sq 1459274839823 screen shot 2014 05 30 at 10.14.33 am
130x130 sq 1487341858284 screen shot 2016 10 31 at 2.19.13 pm
130x130 sq 1487343361801 brooke mayo 13
130x130 sq 1487343478578 shabby 4
130x130 sq 1487341943901 i1726 copy
130x130 sq 1487341980380 a
130x130 sq 1487343434982 mandwood 5
130x130 sq 1487342280567 screen shot 2016 09 09 at 5.40.50 am
130x130 sq 1487342352021 img2709
130x130 sq 1487342445197 fullsizerender
130x130 sq 1487343454750 6
130x130 sq 1487342500322 screen shot 2016 08 19 at 4.16.51 pm
130x130 sq 1487342614577 hawncaruana 229
130x130 sq 1487342690741 mcdanielshack 0363
130x130 sq 1487342705325 img003
130x130 sq 1487342736442 screen shot 2015 02 08 at 6.07.39 am
130x130 sq 1487342878581 10.9.14.303
130x130 sq 1487343014957 10.9.14.334
130x130 sq 1487343007179 6.21.14.0321
130x130 sq 1487343090772 6.27.14.08

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Baptist, Catholic, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Mormon, No Denomination, Orthodox Christian, Presbyterian, Quaker
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
FL, NC

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Dana and Smitty
Wedding:
7/22/2017
5.0/5.0
Jay won our hearts immediately when we viewed his webpage. Words can't explain how we feel about him. The passion he exhibited during the ceremony captured all our hearts. He helped to make our day even more spectacular than we had already planned. We were all impressed with his energy and the words he spoke were so meaningful, even our children were taken in and spoke highly of him. Rating Jay by stars seems inappropriate our experience with him was of a godly level. We would highly recommend Jay to anyone.
Jay won our hearts immediately when we viewed his webpage. Words can't explain how we feel about him. The passion he Read more...
Jay won our hearts immediately when we viewed his webpage. Words can't explain how we feel about him. The passion he exhibited during the ceremony captured all our hearts. He helped to make our day even more spectacular than we had already planned. We were all impressed with his energy and the words he spoke were so meaningful, even our children were taken in and spoke highly of him. Rating Jay by stars seems inappropriate our experience with him was of a godly level. We would highly recommend Jay to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Dana and Smitty! We were a good team and I loved being with you in such a huge moment. Toes in the sand and all!!!! Health and Happiness to you both! Your friend, Jay
Default vendor profile pic
Douglas
Wedding:
4/16/2017
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jay Bowman was exactly what my Wife and I were looking for. First and foremost he listened to us. And during the ceremony he made us feel like we were truly important to him. Honestly felt like my wife and I were the only two people on the planet at that moment and time.
Rev. Jay Bowman was exactly what my Wife and I were looking for. First and foremost he listened to us. And during the Read more...
Rev. Jay Bowman was exactly what my Wife and I were looking for. First and foremost he listened to us. And during the ceremony he made us feel like we were truly important to him. Honestly felt like my wife and I were the only two people on the planet at that moment and time. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Awesome! Thank you Doug!!!!
Default vendor profile pic
Andrea
Wedding:
4/8/2017
5.0/5.0
Working with Jay was the second best decision we made aside from choosing to marry each other. He brings the joy of the moment into focus like the most precision based camera available. Jay sincerely wants to make your wedding day a personalized celebration of your love and I can't begin to tell you how many people were moved by our ceremony. All you need to do is meet him and you will know he is exactly what your wedding needs.
Working with Jay was the second best decision we made aside from choosing to marry each other. He brings the joy of the Read more...
Working with Jay was the second best decision we made aside from choosing to marry each other. He brings the joy of the moment into focus like the most precision based camera available. Jay sincerely wants to make your wedding day a personalized celebration of your love and I can't begin to tell you how many people were moved by our ceremony. All you need to do is meet him and you will know he is exactly what your wedding needs. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

So glad you and Eric are happy with how the big day went. It was a wonderful day in Nags Head and we were a good team together. Take good care of each other, and thank you again for the very kind review.
Default vendor profile pic
Madeleine
Wedding:
4/7/2017
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jay is wonderful. He has such a beautiful and positive energy about him. He took the time to get to know us and made our ceremony so perfect and so 'us'. He knows the area and vendors and watching them work together made everything easy! We LOVE Rev. Jay!
Rev. Jay is wonderful. He has such a beautiful and positive energy about him. He took the time to get to know us and made Read more...
Rev. Jay is wonderful. He has such a beautiful and positive energy about him. He took the time to get to know us and made our ceremony so perfect and so 'us'. He knows the area and vendors and watching them work together made everything easy! We LOVE Rev. Jay! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Loved every minute of it with you two. So cool. May the road ahead be even better than you could imagine! Big hugs, Jay
Default vendor profile pic
Katherine
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
Jay was absolutely fantastic!!! We had the challenge of planning our destination wedding from across the country, and we couldn't be happier that we chose Jay to marry us. Even though we were only able to officially meet him the day before the wedding, he was so friendly and warm he felt like someone we had known for years. All of our guests said how wonderful and personal the ceremony he gave was. If you are getting married in the outer banks there is no one better to have be a part of your special day! Thank you Jay for making our day so perfect!
Jay was absolutely fantastic!!! We had the challenge of planning our destination wedding from across the country, and we Read more...
Jay was absolutely fantastic!!! We had the challenge of planning our destination wedding from across the country, and we couldn't be happier that we chose Jay to marry us. Even though we were only able to officially meet him the day before the wedding, he was so friendly and warm he felt like someone we had known for years. All of our guests said how wonderful and personal the ceremony he gave was. If you are getting married in the outer banks there is no one better to have be a part of your special day! Thank you Jay for making our day so perfect! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much, Katie. The honor was all mine! May the journey ahead be even better than you have hoped for. Beach hugs to you, my friend.
Jay
Default vendor profile pic
Sharon
Wedding:
11/11/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev Jay is a warm, caring individual who has a special way of personalizing the ceremony to fit the couple's vision of their special day. You will feel like you have known Jay forever. During his meeting with you, he will listen to your desires and create a service that is perfect for you. It was a truly wonderful experience to work with Jay. He and his team made everything easy and the package we purchased was beautiful. We wish we could do it all over again just to have Jay officiate!
Rev Jay is a warm, caring individual who has a special way of personalizing the ceremony to fit the couple's vision of Read more...
Rev Jay is a warm, caring individual who has a special way of personalizing the ceremony to fit the couple's vision of their special day. You will feel like you have known Jay forever. During his meeting with you, he will listen to your desires and create a service that is perfect for you. It was a truly wonderful experience to work with Jay. He and his team made everything easy and the package we purchased was beautiful. We wish we could do it all over again just to have Jay officiate! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Awww....those are really sweet words, Sharon. I hope our paths cross again. It was such a huge honor to serve the two of you in a moment to be treasured for all time. Big hugs. Jay
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jay Bowman didn't know us very well, and I wondered if a stranger could connect with our kids, family and friends. We found out pretty quickly. In Jay's hands, our daughter's wedding was one of the most beautiful, joyous, touching, funny (but still reverent) services we, and many of our guests had ever attended. If you want stuffy, Jay Bowman isn't your type of pastor, but if you want someone who is genuine and gifted, he's your rev. We're so glad it was recorded and that we can enjoy the ceremony again with those who couldn't attend.
Rev. Jay Bowman didn't know us very well, and I wondered if a stranger could connect with our kids, family and friends. We Read more...
Rev. Jay Bowman didn't know us very well, and I wondered if a stranger could connect with our kids, family and friends. We found out pretty quickly. In Jay's hands, our daughter's wedding was one of the most beautiful, joyous, touching, funny (but still reverent) services we, and many of our guests had ever attended. If you want stuffy, Jay Bowman isn't your type of pastor, but if you want someone who is genuine and gifted, he's your rev. We're so glad it was recorded and that we can enjoy the ceremony again with those who couldn't attend. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Great review. I love hearing from parents who feel their kids have been taking care of like you described. Wonderful! All my best. Jay
Default vendor profile pic
Holly
Wedding:
10/14/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jay performed my husband and I's ceremony on October 12th at the Sanderling Resort. While planning our big day, we communicated through email mostly, he was always quick to respond to whatever types of questions we had, and met with Jay once, he was so laid back yet professional and made us feel so at ease while planning from PA. He was super easy to talk to, and always flexible with Brian and I. Wedding day, Jay was all smiles, and gave us the best ceremony we could have ever hoped for! Our family and friends are still talking about how beautiful of a job he did.. he was so touching yet incorporated just enough humor to keep everything so lighthearted and fun. I would definitely recommend Rev. Jay for an officiant on the OBX. He's such a sweetheart and someone who is so easy to trust, and will not disappoint for such an important part of your wedding day!
Rev. Jay performed my husband and I's ceremony on October 12th at the Sanderling Resort. While planning our big day, we Read more...
Rev. Jay performed my husband and I's ceremony on October 12th at the Sanderling Resort. While planning our big day, we communicated through email mostly, he was always quick to respond to whatever types of questions we had, and met with Jay once, he was so laid back yet professional and made us feel so at ease while planning from PA. He was super easy to talk to, and always flexible with Brian and I. Wedding day, Jay was all smiles, and gave us the best ceremony we could have ever hoped for! Our family and friends are still talking about how beautiful of a job he did.. he was so touching yet incorporated just enough humor to keep everything so lighthearted and fun. I would definitely recommend Rev. Jay for an officiant on the OBX. He's such a sweetheart and someone who is so easy to trust, and will not disappoint for such an important part of your wedding day! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much, Holly. Loved being with you and Brian. Go out there and make a difference together! All my best, Jay
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/14/2016
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jay deserves an A++ rating. He did an amazing job officiating our wedding, personalizing the whole experience for us. Our guests felt as though he had known as for a very long time. Reverend Jay wasn't just there for us on our special day. In fact, when we decided to get married in the Outer Banks, he was the first person I called. He was so helpful in providing me guidance from the start (for someone who has never been to the Outer Banks, I would have been lost without him). He made me feel so comfortable over the phone about the whole planning process and gave me some helpful suggestions. Reverend Jay also agreed to go out of his way to meet us months prior to the wedding. He told us what we would need prior to the wedding and what to expect from him on our wedding day. After we locked him in for our wedding day, I remember booking with our wedding planner and her saying, "Oh good, you got him. He is great!" Reverend Jay was super professional as well as friendly. We truly feel blessed that we had him as our officiator as he has superseded all of our expectations. From the moment we reserved him, we knew we had made the right choice. As an added bonus, our guests kept coming up to us raving about how much they loved our officiant. Thank you so much Reverend Jay. We will never forget you and wish you many more happy years practicing your passion!
Reverend Jay deserves an A++ rating. He did an amazing job officiating our wedding, personalizing the whole experience for Read more...
Reverend Jay deserves an A++ rating. He did an amazing job officiating our wedding, personalizing the whole experience for us. Our guests felt as though he had known as for a very long time. Reverend Jay wasn't just there for us on our special day. In fact, when we decided to get married in the Outer Banks, he was the first person I called. He was so helpful in providing me guidance from the start (for someone who has never been to the Outer Banks, I would have been lost without him). He made me feel so comfortable over the phone about the whole planning process and gave me some helpful suggestions. Reverend Jay also agreed to go out of his way to meet us months prior to the wedding. He told us what we would need prior to the wedding and what to expect from him on our wedding day. After we locked him in for our wedding day, I remember booking with our wedding planner and her saying, "Oh good, you got him. He is great!" Reverend Jay was super professional as well as friendly. We truly feel blessed that we had him as our officiator as he has superseded all of our expectations. From the moment we reserved him, we knew we had made the right choice. As an added bonus, our guests kept coming up to us raving about how much they loved our officiant. Thank you so much Reverend Jay. We will never forget you and wish you many more happy years practicing your passion! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Wow, really nice review, Melissa. Thank you so much, and so glad you felt cared for during the whole process and not just the one day. Loved your ending..."practicing your passion". Bullseye! You two take good care of each other and maybe I'll see you again someday around the beaches of Corolla. Your friend, Jay.
Default vendor profile pic
Arazelle
Wedding:
10/9/2016
5.0/5.0
Our original officiant wasn't able to make it to our wedding in NC during Hurricane Matthew. On the day of our wedding, we asked Rev. Jay if he could officiate our marriage. He was available that day and agreed to do so. Although I had not yet met him in person, I knew from talking to him over the phone that we were in good hands. He was eager and excited to help us and to learn more about us. He made us feel comfortable and assured us that there would be no surprises. We did not rehearse, but our ceremony was beautiful and smooth. He had a lot of positive energy and made sure we were happy with the ceremony. We're so grateful to have had him marry us and would recommend him to any couple.
Our original officiant wasn't able to make it to our wedding in NC during Hurricane Matthew. On the day of our wedding, we Read more...
Our original officiant wasn't able to make it to our wedding in NC during Hurricane Matthew. On the day of our wedding, we asked Rev. Jay if he could officiate our marriage. He was available that day and agreed to do so. Although I had not yet met him in person, I knew from talking to him over the phone that we were in good hands. He was eager and excited to help us and to learn more about us. He made us feel comfortable and assured us that there would be no surprises. We did not rehearse, but our ceremony was beautiful and smooth. He had a lot of positive energy and made sure we were happy with the ceremony. We're so grateful to have had him marry us and would recommend him to any couple. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jay Bowman responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Arazelle! It all came about quickly, but will be a moment that will stand for all time for you. So glad it all worked out, and honored to have been the one to stand with you on your wedding day! Great story. Great couple. xo Jay.

DEALS

$50 discount promotion on OBX Package or the ISLAND package
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $490 Value
Get $50 off either of the first two packages on my website: The OBX Package, and the ISLAND Package. Satisfaction 100% Guaranteed.

Offer Expires: 06/01/2017

Available to the first couple
Deal #WWe0c00cf7bd990e03
220x220 1487341319 2962e56a171c8e64 1473696877778 neil

MAP

 
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jay Bowman
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1487341319 2962e56a171c8e64 1473696877778 neil