130x130_sq_1321374914559-0019

Rev. Jim Lytle

Matthews , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Matthews, NC US 28105

PHONE

704-654-8062

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congratulations on your engagement! I am an ordained, nondenominational pastor who has been performing weddings for over fifteen years. I enjoy helping couples craft a ceremony that... Read more
Congratulations on your engagement! I am an ordained, nondenominational pastor who has been performing weddings for over fifteen years. I enjoy helping couples craft a ceremony that uniquely represents them...it can be a short, simple ceremony or one with many special elements. I am passionate about the spiritual dimension of marriage and strive to honor that in the wedding ceremony. I believe that in honoring the tradition and spiritual aspect of marriage, your ceremony will be one you and your guests will find both meaningful and memorable.

I am a graduate of Dallas Theological Seminary, and have served in various ministry roles in New York state and in Charlotte, North Carolina. My resume includes marriage preparation, family ministry, and performing wedding and renewing of vows ceremonies, funerals, and baby dedications. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1283707811677-walker2009107
130x130_sq_1283708076427-img0596
130x130_sq_1316455118466-donnarob
130x130_sq_1321374381544-img5441
130x130_sq_1325521982315-millerquarmby
130x130_sq_1366988343108-riley-253
130x130_sq_1366988054811-mhp6101
130x130_sq_1366988082082-patrickglassvows
130x130_sq_1378405608005-rings
130x130_sq_1378405623464-alexawill
130x130_sq_1392153763354-handfastin
130x130_sq_1321373932200-blueskytackwedding755
130x130_sq_1321374182606-wedding140
130x130_sq_1325522030000-holverson
130x130_sq_1331233400106-jimandmccormicks
130x130_sq_1335194986973-img9101
130x130_sq_1358286370870-watsonpope121
130x130_sq_1366988384159-vanginhoven
130x130_sq_1366988129882-mhp9540
130x130_sq_1378405917939-946659636351503045166130775704n
130x130_sq_1401886436276-strout-wedding-brian-stephanie-brian-stephanie-wed
130x130_sq_1401886830180-pastor-jim

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Christian (no denomination), Christian - Anglican, Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Orthodox, Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Evangelical
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1370042271248-9464471734120661519451723278841n
Regina
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We could not have dreamed of a better wedding ceremony. Rev. Jim Lytle was amazing and all night everyone kept telling us how it was the most beautiful ceremony they ever witnessed and how Rev. Lytle did such a great job! He really got to know us and made our ceremony so personal and special. We also did the pre-marriage preparation with him and are so thankful for his guidance. He is so accommodating and just really cares. We are so happy we found him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shanae
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
WE LOVE YOU PASTOR JIM!!! What an amazing man of God to work with. Not too overbearing with religion but a perfect, simple and beautiful balance. Pastor Jim was fantastic for our ceremony and our guests just loved him! The most amazing thing about him was that he would call just to check in on me (the bride) to make sure I was okay and to let me know he was praying for me (even prayed for me right before the wedding) and with my groom during the ceremony. That speaks volumes about him as a man especially one in ministry. He was fun, caring, professional and even a little funny here and there. ;D
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim was a breeze to work with! He made our special day even more special. He spent time speaking with our guests at the cocktail hour AND reception and they all had rave reviews about the ceremony he constructed just for us. Thank you, Reverend Jim, SO much for the absolutely crucial role you've played in our lives by officiating our marriage. We were so touched by the things you said during our ceremony and have heard the same from those that were in attendance! We were so happy with the way our day turned out :)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Without Rev. Jim our ceremony would had not been so special. He is so sincere, likable, professional, and inspiring. He was a true pleasure to work with. He always replied to our emails and was very flexible with our crazy schedule. I will recommend him 1000%. You cannot go wrong having him as your officiant!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was great! In the short time we spent with him preparing for our wedding, he was very interested in getting to know us and the "feel" we wanted for our ceremony. He guided towards creating a beautiful ceremony that was meaningful for us as well as our friends a family. He was very professional and always responded quickly, which kept us at ease throughout the process.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tamika
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Lytle was out of this world!! He is fun,energetic,& professional! He has such a light about him! We were married October 4th and Matt and I would use Rev Lytle again and again!!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was great. He took time to get to know us and incorporated a lot of personal information into our ceremony. He is well-spoken and very comfortable with all of the details. We relied on his experience a lot for the flow and what to include in our ceremony. Would definitely recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
When we first met Rev. Lytle we knew we were going to be in great hands. He is very passionate about what he does and is just a super positive man to talk with. Rev. Lytle was not available to do our ceremony in June, but he dug into his rolodex and did he deliver! He introduced us to Brian Goins. We can not say enough positive things about Brian. The contestant since our wedding has been compliments about Brian. He took the importance of marriage, mixed in a little Ashley and Geoff and delivered a ceremony that will never be forgotten, by anyone. We are truly grateful to Rev. Lytle for his recommendation.
Services Used: Officiant
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
We met Reverend Jim Lytle after discussing potential wedding officiants with our wedding planner. We felt an incredible bond with him at our first meeting, and we knew that he would be perfect to perform the ceremony on our big day. We met and spoke over the phone with him a few times before our wedding, and we got to know him very well. Like us, he felt that it was important to get to know us more intimately as a couple before our wedding. Rev. Jim worked with us to pick out the main elements of our ceremony and also went the extra distance by proposing some additional ideas to complement our ceremony. Although the weather (windy) and location (on a golf course) tried to put hiccups in our ceremony, Reverend Jim kept things moving smoothly and did not let those hurdles get in the way.

Many thanks to Rev. Jim for a lifelong memory – we highly recommend him for performing your ceremony!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We knew Pastor Jim was the one we wanted to officiate our wedding probably from the first email exchanges we had with him but when we met him, it sealed the deal! He is one of the nicest most Godly men you will ever meet. He made our ceremony so incredibly sweet and uniquely us. I will be forever grateful to him and hope he remains a part of our lives.

Denise and Travis
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Pastor Jim was great! He really took the time to get to know us as a couple, and created a personalized ceremony to reflect exactly what we wanted.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessie
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Benjamin and I had the pleasure of coming across Pastor Jim on-line to preside over our destination wedding. Jim worked with us from start to finish via Skype and helped put together a personalized ceremony that blended our modern and traditional beliefs. Jim was the highlight of our wedding as many guests commented and raved about his service. We could not have asked for a better officiant who made us feel special and unique. We were blessed to have Jim strengthen our commitment to each other and God. Any couple who chooses his services will not be disappointed and our guests have not stopped talking about our ceremony since the wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Niki R.
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Lytle was our wedding officiant on 6/9/12 in New London, NC. Prior to the wedding, he was extremely understanding of our crazy schedules, and was able to work with us to get things figured out. He really took the time to get to know my husband and I, and it made the ceremony that much more special. The ceremony itself was completely catered to our preferences, and Rev. Lytle was so genuine and eloquent. The marriage license was sent off right away, and of course, everything was done correctly. I feel that Rev. Lytle truly cares about each couple, and I am very confident that our marriage will be successful and full of love and guidance from God. Thank you Rev. Lytle for everything that you have done for us and for making our special day even more perfect!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
There is Love
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim Lytle was such a pleasure to work with. He took genuine interest in knowing who my husband and I are and delivered all that he promised and so much more. He truly made our day one to remember.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Proud MOB
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter and son-in-law live in Dallas, so they skyped their pre-wedding consultations with Jim. It was a great way to get to know him. He is such a gentleman and performed a very personal service.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica M.
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim was great to work with! He did an outstanding job on our wedding ceremony and really took the time and care necessary to make it special. He was there for the rehearsal, was available any time we wanted to meet to go over things, and submitted all of our paperwork for our marriage certficate in a very timely manner. He even stayed after the ceremony to chat with our families and guests at the cocktail hour. We received a lot of compliments on him and are thrilled with our choice to have him conduct our ceremony. Would recommend him to any other couple!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kara
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim was wonderful. He tailored a service to us and made it personal and meaningful. We also had the pleasure of having his wife Betsy play the flute during our ceremony. She made the recommendations on the songs and the music added such a nice touch to our day. I highly recommend them both. Not only are they professionals, they are both down to earth people and are truly a special couple. Thank you again Jim and Betsy!!!! Kara and Patrick
Services Used: Ceremony Music
130x130_sq_1259971355375-familyvacation2009257
Gyrlye
Wedding:
5/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Fantastic guy! Really took a personal interest in us and our family, and made our ceremony very memorable! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keri
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.9/5.0
We actually had a different officiant up until about a month until our wedding. He had some health issues and could no longer perform our ceremony. Luckily, our venue put us in touch with Rev. Lytle who hit the ground running.We had actually met with Rev. Lytle probably six months before and decided on using our venue's "house officiant" instead. But as fat would have it, we ended up together anyways. Rev. Lytle was a great help with taking us on in such short notice, though it definitely helped that we had met before. He is very friendly and confident when speaking in front of a crowd. His job is weddings, and he does his job well. My family really enjoyed meeting him, and I couldn't have asked for someone better.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Kind and professional service. Flexible meeting times and locations. Enthusiastic and engaging throughout the ceremony. Open to opinions and suggestions, comfortable with last minute changes and additions.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.8/5.0
I hope you don't experience the same thing we received...

the wedding was all planned out for 6PM (KEY NOTE...START TIME)

Come time for the wedding to start Jim was ready but it was raining so we looked at the forecast and said we will just wait it out as it wouldn't be more than 30-40 min before it passes by; it was very clear that the weather would pass by.

Jim being an ex. weather man came up with all kinds of conclusions "these clouds will not pass by, we need to get started soon or start moving under the shed and to top it off he went to each grooms and brides quarter and told each of us that the other side said they want go ahead and start by moving it under the shed that they didn't care if it was outside or not which was a big LIE...he almost got slapped by my step mother & aunt for this..." He tried to pressure and put words into other peoples mouths that were never spoken "He said...she said" and tried to get both sides to start ASAP that the rain would never pass.."Maybe this is why he is no longer the weather man...." Come 30-40 minutes later after everyone got tired of hearing Jim try to pressure each side into not having it outside the rain finally stopped and we had a beautiful wedding.

All in all Jim forgot that he was paid a couple hundred where as the wedding was 5K and he was worried about getting in and out more than being professional, polite and courteous. My family was very disgraced with his behavior so that is why I wrote this review. I hope no one has to experience this as we did on our special day.
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jim Lytle responded with the following comments:

I sincerely apologize if my actions came across offensively. As a meteorologist,(BS Meteorology, NIU; on-air 106.9 The Light) and a pastor (ThM Dallas Theological Seminary), I felt uniquely qualified to offer my counsel. Downpours and storms had been occurring all day. My primary concern was for the safety of all of us with lightning in the area. Radar, which I showed everyone I talked to, was "lit up" with thunderstorms containing cloud to ground lightning and downpours. I was pleased, after a lengthy delay, that the ceremony could be squeezed in with only cloudy skies and a few sprinkles going on.
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jim Lytle
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo