130x130 sq 1440332503559 bnwwedding

Rev. Jim Rooney

Beacon , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

376 Breakneck Road
Beacon, NY 12508 US (map)

PHONE

917-880-0791

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your life together begins here…
“What you are is God’s gift to you; What you make of it, it’s your gift to God.”

This is the reflection I have on my Ordination Card. It... Read more
Your life together begins here…
“What you are is God’s gift to you; What you make of it, it’s your gift to God.”

This is the reflection I have on my Ordination Card. It sums up my belief in life and relationship with God, family and friends.

We all need the time and space to hear that inner voice to allow us to be who we are called to be. I believe we can only experience this self-discovery by allowing ourselves to touch and be touched in all of life’s experiences and then taking the time and space to hold on to them; to cherish and sometimes to let go.

To this end I’ve created Beacon Hermitage. The Hermitage is situated in the beautiful Hudson Valley at the base of Mount Beacon, the highest point in the Hudson Highlands.

In the quiet and calm of Beacon Hermitage you will find a place that affords you both an opportunity to focus on what really matters: your relationship and future happiness. It will help you deal with the most important aspects related to planning a wedding- you and your partner. Envision the loving moments you will experience here with your partner that will empower you both to remember why you are getting married. This marriage is a public declaration and commitment of your love for each other that has the power to inspire and enrich you for life.

Awaken into your creativity for inspiration and self-expression on your personal path to the altar of life. Seek each other’s beauty of spirit. This is the soul who is entrusting their life to you. Find the reassurance from each other to step confidently into a journey that will require your love, strength, patience, wisdom, forgiveness, charity and joy.

I invite you to join me in allowing the Spirit of our Creator to touch your mind, body and spirit. I look forward to sharing with you in your journey as you seek renewal and recommitment to life and community.

I am an ordained priest in the Roman Catholic Tradition and registered civil marriage celebrant based in Beacon, with a wide experience of performing various ceremonies including: weddings, same sex weddings,funerals, memorials, baby naming days, commitment ceremonies, anniversaries and special occasions.

My training and experience have given me a deep knowledge of the role of officiant and celebrant in the community and the important role of ritual and ceremony in our lives. Together we will create a beautiful Order of Service that expresses your deepest feelings and most powerful emotions – whether they be feelings of love, joy, optimism, grief or acceptance.

The first step may seem daunting but I will personalize a ceremony to your every need and I will share with you my broad collection of ideas, poetry, readings, music and rituals, if you don’t know where to begin.

As a priest, officiant and chaplain I really love what I do, and you can be sure that I will always put your needs and wishes first and help you develop the ceremony you want. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1401328422563 businesscardkiltflower
130x130 sq 1403897367870 bhwjilltomjimlaughing
130x130 sq 1424447843384 bhwjillmattiphone
130x130 sq 1403897402498 bhwjilltomjimview
130x130 sq 1386044955881 jimmariejoelgarci
130x130 sq 1420554026052 bhwandriajohnandrialaughing
130x130 sq 1419873487959 bhwkristenphiljimlaughing
130x130 sq 1385580691242 jimselfstollcolla
130x130 sq 1385580630343 cjyasminjimkil
130x130 sq 1424447849561 bhwjillmattringblessing
130x130 sq 1421539392415 bhwtierneyvincetjimlittlefingers
130x130 sq 1403897851360 bhwjimkatykevin
130x130 sq 1383937994309 christapatricksmile
130x130 sq 1403897843918 bhwjimclareandy
130x130 sq 1382921531803 jimjackmatthewprocessio
130x130 sq 1344043409572 jimcatherinerich
130x130 sq 1385580699408 yasminjimcjringblessin
130x130 sq 1386044999629 mariejoelhandfastingblessin
130x130 sq 1405424723121 bhwdustineliasblessing
130x130 sq 1344043419036 jimjenjess
130x130 sq 1344043426542 jimleslieandrew
130x130 sq 1419873524074 bhwkristenphiljimsand
130x130 sq 1420554396544 bhwcristybentalk
130x130 sq 1344312892147 cathrich1
130x130 sq 1420554426783 bhwcristybenjimvows
130x130 sq 1324183623670 weddingphotosusanmaryjanerecession
130x130 sq 1377635475367 toddsteffjim
130x130 sq 1324183626123 jimlaurennick
130x130 sq 1385580738349 yasmincjjimrin
130x130 sq 1421539486708 bhwtierneyvincetjimhandsup
130x130 sq 1379769797989 jimashleyryan
130x130 sq 1420554070381 bhwandriajohnkiltshoes
130x130 sq 1324183620685 jimnicolederek
130x130 sq 1344312301272 kaitlynmejimlassie
130x130 sq 1344312310323 kaitlynmejimring
130x130 sq 1372638200393 kathleenjimkathleen
130x130 sq 1347409515672 joebernadettejim
130x130 sq 1347409535216 mattlynettejim
130x130 sq 1420554111981 bhwandriajohnandreasmiling
130x130 sq 1386045044770 mariejimjoelvow
130x130 sq 1403897864885 bhwliberty
130x130 sq 1379769840564 jimmariejoel
130x130 sq 1347409604771 idafrank
130x130 sq 1349311247119 lorijimerikakiss
130x130 sq 1420554284089 bhwdenisemarkjimlaughing
130x130 sq 1420554522141 bhwerictiffanyjim
130x130 sq 1349311262794 blessinghandslorierika
130x130 sq 1371691264848 kevinjennyjim
130x130 sq 1371691289083 jimkristenmike
130x130 sq 1371691867759 jimmattjack
130x130 sq 1371691895631 jimkristinpaul
130x130 sq 1372635788097 jimdawnkevin
130x130 sq 1372635797687 mattdaniellejim
130x130 sq 1372636162500 scottjimscott
130x130 sq 1424447852549 bhwjillmattringexchange
130x130 sq 1372636182711 michellejimjennifer
130x130 sq 1372636361848 1001138e 1
130x130 sq 1403897857782 bhwjimmarciekevin
130x130 sq 1372636467064 3283271015042006588254369629754286402702005570971o
130x130 sq 1372636504455 cannon disk 410c
130x130 sq 1377635434498 cjericajim
130x130 sq 1377635446194 douglasrichardglass
130x130 sq 1377635456063 amyjimhub
130x130 sq 1377635512638 jimlizmikewedding
130x130 sq 1377635550421 margaretjimwedding
130x130 sq 1383938034329 christapatrickprayerkno
130x130 sq 1344043437255 kiltflower
130x130 sq 1470167956300 1121965810207692204487487141561305057887266n
130x130 sq 1470167956298 11822546101535044619817983267471115584631713n
130x130 sq 1470168378219 120387608578366223174441058320368008512o
130x130 sq 1470168378216 12961311102080010807786987198425752439680018o
130x130 sq 1470168385386 133916198582332876140912738610201234487348o
130x130 sq 1470168411539 120387608578366223174441058320368008512o

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed, Premarital Counseling
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Baha'i Faith, Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Earth-Based, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Hindu, Islam, Jainism, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Mormon, No Denomination, Orthodox Christian, Pagan, Presbyterian, Quaker, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoist, Unitarian
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NJ, NM, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV, WY

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Matthew
Wedding:
8/6/2016
5.0/5.0
My wife and I have such an amazing experience with Rev Jim. The entire process was perfect. The retreat was fantastic. We had such a great dialogue with Rev. Jim and learned so much more about the two of us. The ceremony itself was exactly what my wife and I envisioned. Everyone at the wedding could not stop talking about how great Rev. Jim was. We highly recommend him as an Officiant
My wife and I have such an amazing experience with Rev Jim. The entire process was perfect. The retreat was fantastic. We Read more...
My wife and I have such an amazing experience with Rev Jim. The entire process was perfect. The retreat was fantastic. We had such a great dialogue with Rev. Jim and learned so much more about the two of us. The ceremony itself was exactly what my wife and I envisioned. Everyone at the wedding could not stop talking about how great Rev. Jim was. We highly recommend him as an Officiant Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Barbara
Wedding:
7/30/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev Jim is amazing to work with. When we met in person we felt a connection to this man. Working with him on our ceremony has been a pleasure. Our wedding is in July 2016.
Well our wedding was two weeks ago and people, are still asking about the amazing man that performed our ceremony. Everyone loved Jim and our ceremony, he is amazing! Such a sweet, kind man, a p,ensure to work with.
You will not be disappointed if you book Jim Rooney.
Rev Jim is amazing to work with. When we met in person we felt a connection to this man. Working with him on our ceremony Read more...
Rev Jim is amazing to work with. When we met in person we felt a connection to this man. Working with him on our ceremony has been a pleasure. Our wedding is in July 2016.
Well our wedding was two weeks ago and people, are still asking about the amazing man that performed our ceremony. Everyone loved Jim and our ceremony, he is amazing! Such a sweet, kind man, a p,ensure to work with.
You will not be disappointed if you book Jim Rooney. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
7/16/2016
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim Rooney is truly a gem. My husband and I read many reviews and met with several officiants before deciding to have Jim marry us. He was one of the first people we booked along our journey towards THE BIG DAY! Jim took the time to sit with us and really listen. We met with him three times during the year leading up to our wedding, and each time, we walked away feeling as though we had just visited a friend. One of our favorite days during the CrAzInEsS of planning, amidst the stress, decision making, and chaos, was our retreat up in Beacon, New York, with Jim. He truly created such an amazing day for us in allowing it to be just about US; we ate, we hiked, we talked, and we even got to paint in his garden. Jim told us to paint something together that symbolized our relationship and our journey. After a few hours of talking, painting, and working together, my husband and I had created the most beautiful painting that encompasses so many details of our life and our relationship that have brought us and kept us together. That afternoon was a much needed escape. Jim really helped us recenter ourselves and focus on the most important part of our wedding: US. On our BIG DAY, the ceremony was beautiful. Many of our guests told us it was the most beautiful and meaningful ceremony they've ever attended. Even my grandfather, who is a devout catholic, expressed how remarkable and special the ceremony was. Thank you, Jim, for being a special part of our wedding planning process and our wedding ceremony!
Reverend Jim Rooney is truly a gem. My husband and I read many reviews and met with several officiants before deciding to Read more...
Reverend Jim Rooney is truly a gem. My husband and I read many reviews and met with several officiants before deciding to have Jim marry us. He was one of the first people we booked along our journey towards THE BIG DAY! Jim took the time to sit with us and really listen. We met with him three times during the year leading up to our wedding, and each time, we walked away feeling as though we had just visited a friend. One of our favorite days during the CrAzInEsS of planning, amidst the stress, decision making, and chaos, was our retreat up in Beacon, New York, with Jim. He truly created such an amazing day for us in allowing it to be just about US; we ate, we hiked, we talked, and we even got to paint in his garden. Jim told us to paint something together that symbolized our relationship and our journey. After a few hours of talking, painting, and working together, my husband and I had created the most beautiful painting that encompasses so many details of our life and our relationship that have brought us and kept us together. That afternoon was a much needed escape. Jim really helped us recenter ourselves and focus on the most important part of our wedding: US. On our BIG DAY, the ceremony was beautiful. Many of our guests told us it was the most beautiful and meaningful ceremony they've ever attended. Even my grandfather, who is a devout catholic, expressed how remarkable and special the ceremony was. Thank you, Jim, for being a special part of our wedding planning process and our wedding ceremony! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Alexis
Wedding:
7/15/2016
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married on July 15, 2016 and Reverend Jim presided over the ceremony. We live in Florida but had our wedding at West Hills country club in Middletown, NY. My husband and I are both Catholic but wanted to have an outdoor ceremony while still incorporating all of our religious beliefs and traditions. I came across Reverend Jim while searching online and was blown away by his reviews. Without even talking to him we knew he was the one based on the amazing things past couples had to say about him. As we are in Florida our first meeting with Reverend Jim was via FaceTime. He wasn't feeling well and was actually leaving the country soon after that to visit his mother for her birthday. Even with all of this going on he took the time out to talk to us, to learn about us and our relationship, and to really get to know us. From that one interaction we knew we wanted him to be apart of our wedding day. When we finally got to meet Reverend Jim he invited us to his Hermitage in Beacon, New York. We spent a long time with him talking about the sacrament of marriage our love for each other and what we really wanted our wedding day to be about. His presence was calming and his love for what he was doing showed in abundance. We felt like we had known him forever. In fact people are still commenting about how it seemed like he had known us our entire relationship. The ceremony was beautiful, his words were touching and at one point I don't think there was a dry eye in the place. He was a huge part of that day and we couldn't of asked for anyone better. Not only is he an exceptional Reverend but he is also an amazing man that we are honored to have come into our lives. We highly recommend Reverend Jim Rooney for your wedding day and know that you will truly not be disappointed. He will forever hold a special place in our hearts.
My husband and I got married on July 15, 2016 and Reverend Jim presided over the ceremony. We live in Florida but had our Read more...
My husband and I got married on July 15, 2016 and Reverend Jim presided over the ceremony. We live in Florida but had our wedding at West Hills country club in Middletown, NY. My husband and I are both Catholic but wanted to have an outdoor ceremony while still incorporating all of our religious beliefs and traditions. I came across Reverend Jim while searching online and was blown away by his reviews. Without even talking to him we knew he was the one based on the amazing things past couples had to say about him. As we are in Florida our first meeting with Reverend Jim was via FaceTime. He wasn't feeling well and was actually leaving the country soon after that to visit his mother for her birthday. Even with all of this going on he took the time out to talk to us, to learn about us and our relationship, and to really get to know us. From that one interaction we knew we wanted him to be apart of our wedding day. When we finally got to meet Reverend Jim he invited us to his Hermitage in Beacon, New York. We spent a long time with him talking about the sacrament of marriage our love for each other and what we really wanted our wedding day to be about. His presence was calming and his love for what he was doing showed in abundance. We felt like we had known him forever. In fact people are still commenting about how it seemed like he had known us our entire relationship. The ceremony was beautiful, his words were touching and at one point I don't think there was a dry eye in the place. He was a huge part of that day and we couldn't of asked for anyone better. Not only is he an exceptional Reverend but he is also an amazing man that we are honored to have come into our lives. We highly recommend Reverend Jim Rooney for your wedding day and know that you will truly not be disappointed. He will forever hold a special place in our hearts. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Sean
Wedding:
7/8/2016
5.0/5.0
I don't think we could have asked for anything more perfect on our wedding day. Everything we discussed and more. I think the most important thing was the trust instilled in us after meeting with Rev. Jim Rooney. Highly recommended.
I don't think we could have asked for anything more perfect on our wedding day. Everything we discussed and more. I think Read more...
I don't think we could have asked for anything more perfect on our wedding day. Everything we discussed and more. I think the most important thing was the trust instilled in us after meeting with Rev. Jim Rooney. Highly recommended. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
lauren
Wedding:
7/2/2016
5.0/5.0
Jim was great, we highly recommend him! From start to finish he made our process easy and seamless. Guest raved about our ceremony; how personal, sentimental and yet funny the service was. Jim really put together a ceremony that was us!
Jim was great, we highly recommend him! From start to finish he made our process easy and seamless. Guest raved about our Read more...
Jim was great, we highly recommend him! From start to finish he made our process easy and seamless. Guest raved about our ceremony; how personal, sentimental and yet funny the service was. Jim really put together a ceremony that was us! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Brian
Wedding:
7/2/2016
5.0/5.0
Writing a review about someone or something is not always that easy, but that is not the case for Jim. I would like to start by saying, what a terrific job Jim did at our wedding. Our wedding day was truly amazing, and it all started with Jim. Our guests all said the wedding itself was great, but many have stated that their favorite part was our ceremony. Jim was absolutely amazing. Hailing from Glasgow Scotland, the same city my family is from, made Jim a fitting choice as our officiant, but that was not the only reason we chose him. From our very first meeting with Jim he made us feel like he was the best choice. He makes you feel very comfortable, and he is very helpful in guiding you along the way! He was able to take what we wanted out of our ceremony, blend in his own aspects, thoughts, and ideas to truly deliver a ceremony that we will never forget. He makes it personal in a way that is not to over the top, and at the same time keeps all of your guests interested in what is happening in front of them! More importantly he makes it very comfortable for you as the bride and groom. It it not always easy standing in front of a lot of people, but Jim is able to ease your feelings. Again our wedding day was spectacular, and it all started with Jim leading the way with a terrific ceremony!!

Cheers,
Karen and Brian - 7/2/2016
Writing a review about someone or something is not always that easy, but that is not the case for Jim. I would like to Read more...
Writing a review about someone or something is not always that easy, but that is not the case for Jim. I would like to start by saying, what a terrific job Jim did at our wedding. Our wedding day was truly amazing, and it all started with Jim. Our guests all said the wedding itself was great, but many have stated that their favorite part was our ceremony. Jim was absolutely amazing. Hailing from Glasgow Scotland, the same city my family is from, made Jim a fitting choice as our officiant, but that was not the only reason we chose him. From our very first meeting with Jim he made us feel like he was the best choice. He makes you feel very comfortable, and he is very helpful in guiding you along the way! He was able to take what we wanted out of our ceremony, blend in his own aspects, thoughts, and ideas to truly deliver a ceremony that we will never forget. He makes it personal in a way that is not to over the top, and at the same time keeps all of your guests interested in what is happening in front of them! More importantly he makes it very comfortable for you as the bride and groom. It it not always easy standing in front of a lot of people, but Jim is able to ease your feelings. Again our wedding day was spectacular, and it all started with Jim leading the way with a terrific ceremony!!

Cheers,
Karen and Brian - 7/2/2016 Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Adele
Wedding:
6/4/2016
5.0/5.0
Working with Rev Jim was an absolute ease! He truly made it simple, easy, and absolutely meaningful. We received so many compliments on his service after the ceremony.
Working with Rev Jim was an absolute ease! He truly made it simple, easy, and absolutely meaningful. We received so many Read more...
Working with Rev Jim was an absolute ease! He truly made it simple, easy, and absolutely meaningful. We received so many compliments on his service after the ceremony. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Alicia
Wedding:
5/28/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev Rooney was the best! Everyone raved about how personal and touching he was. I had 350 guests and everyone told me that was the best ceremony they ever experienced. Not boring like most. There was not a dry eye. He is truly amazing at what he does. He had us crying and laughing. From our first interaction to the moment we said "I do" was a pleasant experience. I will remember my ceremony for the rest of my life. Thank you Rev!
Rev Rooney was the best! Everyone raved about how personal and touching he was. I had 350 guests and everyone told me that Read more...
Rev Rooney was the best! Everyone raved about how personal and touching he was. I had 350 guests and everyone told me that was the best ceremony they ever experienced. Not boring like most. There was not a dry eye. He is truly amazing at what he does. He had us crying and laughing. From our first interaction to the moment we said "I do" was a pleasant experience. I will remember my ceremony for the rest of my life. Thank you Rev! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Maria and Mike
Wedding:
3/26/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim Rooney was the officiant at our wedding yesterday. He was so helpful and kind, he took the time to learn all about us as a couple and made our ceremony very personal to us. He had our guests laughing and crying. He made our day very special, we are very glad we chose him. We would gladly recommend him to anyone, and we are honored to now call him a friend.
Mr. & Mrs. Battocchio
Rev. Jim Rooney was the officiant at our wedding yesterday. He was so helpful and kind, he took the time to learn all Read more...
Rev. Jim Rooney was the officiant at our wedding yesterday. He was so helpful and kind, he took the time to learn all about us as a couple and made our ceremony very personal to us. He had our guests laughing and crying. He made our day very special, we are very glad we chose him. We would gladly recommend him to anyone, and we are honored to now call him a friend.
Mr. & Mrs. Battocchio Read less
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
376 Breakneck Road, Beacon, NY 12508 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jim Rooney
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1440332503559 bnwwedding