130x130_sq_1386725262072-yasminjimcjringblessi

Rev. Jim Rooney

Beacon , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

376 Breakneck Road
Beacon, NY US 12508 (map)

PHONE

917-880-0791

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your life together begins here…
“What you are is God’s gift to you; What you make of it, it’s your gift to God.”

This is the reflection I have on my Ordination Card. It... Read more
Your life together begins here…
“What you are is God’s gift to you; What you make of it, it’s your gift to God.”

This is the reflection I have on my Ordination Card. It sums up my belief in life and relationship with God, family and friends.

We all need the time and space to hear that inner voice to allow us to be who we are called to be. I believe we can only experience this self-discovery by allowing ourselves to touch and be touched in all of life’s experiences and then taking the time and space to hold on to them; to cherish and sometimes to let go.

To this end I’ve created Beacon Hermitage. The Hermitage is situated in the beautiful Hudson Valley at the base of Mount Beacon, the highest point in the Hudson Highlands.

In the quiet and calm of Beacon Hermitage you will find a place that affords you both an opportunity to focus on what really matters: your relationship and future happiness. It will help you deal with the most important aspects related to planning a wedding- you and your partner. Envision the loving moments you will experience here with your partner that will empower you both to remember why you are getting married. This marriage is a public declaration and commitment of your love for each other that has the power to inspire and enrich you for life.

Awaken into your creativity for inspiration and self-expression on your personal path to the altar of life. Seek each other’s beauty of spirit. This is the soul who is entrusting their life to you. Find the reassurance from each other to step confidently into a journey that will require your love, strength, patience, wisdom, forgiveness, charity and joy.

I invite you to join me in allowing the Spirit of our Creator to touch your mind, body and spirit. I look forward to sharing with you in your journey as you seek renewal and recommitment to life and community.

I am an ordained priest in the Roman Catholic Tradition and registered civil marriage celebrant based in Beacon, with a wide experience of performing various ceremonies including: weddings, same sex weddings,funerals, memorials, baby naming days, commitment ceremonies, anniversaries and special occasions.

My training and experience have given me a deep knowledge of the role of officiant and celebrant in the community and the important role of ritual and ceremony in our lives. Together we will create a beautiful Order of Service that expresses your deepest feelings and most powerful emotions – whether they be feelings of love, joy, optimism, grief or acceptance.

The first step may seem daunting but I will personalize a ceremony to your every need and I will share with you my broad collection of ideas, poetry, readings, music and rituals, if you don’t know where to begin.

As a priest, officiant and chaplain I really love what I do, and you can be sure that I will always put your needs and wishes first and help you develop the ceremony you want. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1401328422563-businesscardkiltflower
130x130_sq_1403897367870-bhwjilltomjimlaughing
130x130_sq_1403897402498-bhwjilltomjimview
130x130_sq_1386044955881-jimmariejoelgarci
130x130_sq_1385580691242-jimselfstollcolla
130x130_sq_1385580630343-cjyasminjimkil
130x130_sq_1403897851360-bhwjimkatykevin
130x130_sq_1383937994309-christapatricksmile
130x130_sq_1403897843918-bhwjimclareandy
130x130_sq_1344043409572-jimcatherinerich
130x130_sq_1385580699408-yasminjimcjringblessin
130x130_sq_1386044999629-mariejoelhandfastingblessin
130x130_sq_1344043507649-jenjessjim
130x130_sq_1382921531803-jimjackmatthewprocessio
130x130_sq_1344043419036-jimjenjess
130x130_sq_1344312964918-jessjentree
130x130_sq_1344043426542-jimleslieandrew
130x130_sq_1344312892147-cathrich1
130x130_sq_1324183623670-weddingphotosusanmaryjanerecession
130x130_sq_1377635475367-toddsteffjim
130x130_sq_1324183626123-jimlaurennick
130x130_sq_1385580738349-yasmincjjimrin
130x130_sq_1379769797989-jimashleyryan
130x130_sq_1382921522717-jimjackmatthewchurc
130x130_sq_1324183620685-jimnicolederek
130x130_sq_1344312301272-kaitlynmejimlassie
130x130_sq_1344312310323-kaitlynmejimring
130x130_sq_1344312741932-jimkaitlyn
130x130_sq_1372638200393-kathleenjimkathleen
130x130_sq_1347409515672-joebernadettejim
130x130_sq_1347409535216-mattlynettejim
130x130_sq_1386045044770-mariejimjoelvow
130x130_sq_1403897864885-bhwliberty
130x130_sq_1379769840564-jimmariejoel
130x130_sq_1347409604771-idafrank
130x130_sq_1349311247119-lorijimerikakiss
130x130_sq_1349311262794-blessinghandslorierika
130x130_sq_1349311710491-flowersrings
130x130_sq_1349311733427-kiltflowerslori
130x130_sq_1371691264848-kevinjennyjim
130x130_sq_1371691289083-jimkristenmike
130x130_sq_1371691867759-jimmattjack
130x130_sq_1371691895631-jimkristinpaul
130x130_sq_1371691922444-steveamyjim
130x130_sq_1371691936199-margiejimjason
130x130_sq_1372635788097-jimdawnkevin
130x130_sq_1372635797687-mattdaniellejim
130x130_sq_1372636162500-scottjimscott
130x130_sq_1372636182711-michellejimjennifer
130x130_sq_1372636361848-1001138e-1
130x130_sq_1403897857782-bhwjimmarciekevin
130x130_sq_1372636442290-314086223783515962716604612692244910794233414n
130x130_sq_1372636467064-3283271015042006588254369629754286402702005570971o
130x130_sq_1372636504455-cannon-disk-410c
130x130_sq_1377635434498-cjericajim
130x130_sq_1377635446194-douglasrichardglass
130x130_sq_1377635456063-amyjimhub
130x130_sq_1377635512638-jimlizmikewedding
130x130_sq_1377635550421-margaretjimwedding
130x130_sq_1383938034329-christapatrickprayerkno
130x130_sq_1344043437255-kiltflower

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Buddhist, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Anglican, Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Mormon, Christian - Orthodox, Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Evangelical
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Yes.
What is your attire for the ceremony?
I can wear a suit, vestments or my kilt (clerical tartan)
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Yes, it's your wedding ceremony.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes.
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
Yes. I can email them to you.
How long are your ceremonies?
The length of the service depends on your requirements.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No, but I would recommend it.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
Yes.
Do you supply a sound system?
No.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We were so thrilled and lucky to have found Rev. Jim to officiate our wedding.
Right away, we knew we had found the right person when he asked us about how we met.
He was genuinely interested in knowing about us. And in fact, after the ceremony, people asked us if we had know Jim a long time, when we had only met weeks before! He really took the time to get to know us, inviting us to his home for a "retreat". He was warm, funny, and sincere. He suggested many options, so that we really felt like we were able to create our own special ceremony. He also reminded us that this was what it is all about, not just the reception, but the commitment to each other.
I wish we could do it again with him! Thank you, Jim!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clare
Wedding:
6/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Rev Jim was/is amazing. From our first contact, to visiting him at his beautiful home for a home-cooked brunch and a stroll through to our ceremony he was a joy to work with. An absolute professional who listened, absorbed and advised. He helped us with our vows and to understand what marriage really means to us through sharing his thoughts and experience. His ceremony and sermons were flawless and informed and he made our day more special by being there with us, guiding us through and throwing in his great personality and nature.

Rev Jim is a special guy that can make a wedding memorable and powerful and it's something we will remember and be grateful for forever.

Thanks Jim!

Andy and Clare
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcie
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was amazing on the day of our wedding. I first saw Jim at a friends wedding. He had this way of captivating the crowd and bringing you into their relationship as a couple.I remember e-mailing Jim to see if he was available for the day of our wedding. His response was almost immediate and open to meet whenever, I was nervous meeting with him but once we sat down at his house in Beacon a weight had been lifted. I knew that he was the one to marry us. He was always available for our questions and was flexible since we had busy schedules. He asked us how we met, about our families and what we wanted our ceremony to be. His goal was always to present our love as a couple and that our guests were there to support our decision to be married and to have their blessings. He helped me with suggestions on how to plan our ceremony with readings and unity suggestions like a wine tasting. We are so thankful to have had Jim as part of our day. I am still receiving compliments about of ceremony and how intimate it was and that they loved our officiant Jim.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We found Rev. Jim to be very accommodating and responsive to our needs. He took the time to get to know us as a couple while recognizing our individuality. He guided us through the process and helped you create a meaningful and personal wedding. During the ceremony he encouraged our guests to participate and share in our special occasion. We are more than pleased and recommend him very highly.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Rev. Rooney was incredibly generous with his time and thoughts about tailoring a very personal service for us. He had great ideas that made the service so very special. Lovely Man.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim married us a few weeks ago, and we couldn't have been happier with the support, guidance, and professionalism that he brought to the table, both leading up to the big day and at the ceremony itself. It is difficult to find an officiant as flexible as he is while also taking the time to get to know you personally in the months leading up to the wedding. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jim did a fabulous job at our wedding. He was friendly, accommodating, and knowledgable the light the planning process. We couldn't be happier!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim Rooney married my husband and I a couple of weeks ago, and I couldn't have asked for a better officiant. He really took the time to get to know us and our life story and made our ceremony very personal. In doing so, he really captivated all my friends and family who adored him and the ceremony.

Rev. Rooney has many resources and can offer guidance in creating a ceremony that fits anyone. We had three meetings with him to discuss our ceremony and any questions or concerns we might have had. The highlight for us during these meetings was visiting him in upstate New York on our last meeting, where cooked us a delicious meal, and gave us the time to reflect on our vows at his property which opens to a pleasant and beautiful hiking path.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RICHARD
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Rev, Jim was absolutely excellent. Professional and experienced. Not just in the wedding ceremony but also the weeks leading up to the day. I know sometimes it’s easy to just put 5 stars as the rating but I honestly could not write anything less.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
My (now) husband and I feel very lucky to have found Jim. He was recommended to us by our wedding planner and it worked out brilliantly. Jim comes across as warm and spiritual - and he made the process fun for us. My husband originally was trying to stay at arms length from this part of the process, and ended up getting really involved because of Jim.
Some of the highlights:
Jim gave us a lot of material with ideas and suggestions for the ceremony, which made it easier to craft the ceremony. He was also very flexible throughout the process. Jim spent a lot of time getting to know us - via Skype, and at an in-person lunch at his house where he cooked for us! That was a really enjoyable experience.
And most importantly, on 'the day of' Jim nailed it. He led a comfortable, yet poignent ceremony (which is just what we were looking for). He also add a big of character with his kilt (which we asked him to wear). We received a ton of compliments from guests on our ceremony and specifially our 'Scottish priest.'
We could not recommend Jim any more highly. He's a gem.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
He was amazing !! Rev. Rooney was very caring about our ceremony and truly cared about our thoughts and feelings. We had so many compliments on our ceremony. We also really enjoyed being able to personalize our ceremony . I would recommend him to anyone !
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't express how happy my wife & I were with Rev. Rooney. We were lucky to find him and he was extremely helpful every single step of the way. Best of all, he genuinely cared and wanted to get to know both of us so he could make our wedding ceremony as personal and meaningful as possible. We're so happy we got to share our special day with Rev. Rooney. We couldn't recommend him enough... -CK
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christa
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Reverend Rooney is simply the best. Our wedding ceremony was our favorite part of our day, we loved it so much. It was absolutely beautiful thanks to Jim. It was so wonderful getting to know him. He is so warm and so kind, and really helped us put together a ceremony that was so perfect for us. We received so many compliments on how beautiful it was.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jim was a wonderful find and a great support during the whole process. Jim will take the time to get to know you as well as give you tons of templates to pick from for the ceremony. Sometimes we would talk about the wedding details, but a lot of times he would talk to us about how we were doing, and honestly that was more helpful than hashing out details. He is very flexible with scheduling, he is very creative, and he was there early on the day of the wedding. Our ceremony was lovely and he added beautiful personal touches that made it really special for us. I definitely recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CJ
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim married my wife and I about 2 weeks ago. For obvious reasons it was the best day of our lives. Jim made that possible for us. He helped guide us through the process of planning our own personalized ceremony listening to our desires and wishes. It felt very spiritual and fun at the same time. This was especially important for me as I had an uncle pass away last year who was a Catholic priest. I always thought he would be the one to marry me and since that could not happen now Jim really filled that space beautifully. He really welcomed us into his life and we hope to have his guidance going forward in our spiritual lives.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim Rooney is an amazing person and an amazing officiant. We could not have asked for a better ceremony. With his attention to detail, and his charisma we had a beautiful ceremony, in which we will remember for the rest of our lives. We were very lucky to have met Rev. Jim.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ed
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim made our wedding ceremony incredibly personal, memorable and special. When we first started planning our wedding we did not realize how special the ceremony could become. It will continue to be one of the things I remember most about our wedding day. Jim was an incredible in getting to know us and we consider a close friend and a person we loved to get to know. I can't recommend jim enough.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
My fiancé and I were so blessed to find Reverend Jim Rooney and be able to have him marry us at our wedding this past weekend. We actually had a different priest lined up for our ceremony, but with 6 weeks to go we were given some information that caused us to fire him. . Luckily Jim was one of the initial priests we reached out to and he was still available and calmed us down by telling us not to worry we still had enough time. We went to Beacon to meet with Jim and had a great first meeting. He spent the time at that meeting asking us good questions about ourselves, how we met and why we were getting married. You could tell he really cared about making it personal – more so than many others we had talked to. As soon as I got in the car I called my mom to tell her how much we loved Jim and how we were sure we had found the person who was supposed to marry us all along. We had two subsequent meetings with him and he really pushed us to make a personal ceremony and understand the importance of what we were about to do. He made the time to get to know us, and that definitely showed in the end result. I can say without a doubt we would not have ended up with the great ceremony that we did without Jim’s help. On the day of the wedding he was even able to incorporate a few additional personal details that he noticed in the items we had decorating our wedding. Our guests also raved about the ceremony saying it was one of the best they had ever been part of. In the beginning we were looking for a wedding officiant, in the end we found a friend and we could not be happier. If you want a personal, meaningful ceremony as part of your wedding delivered by a truly caring officiant, you cannot go wrong with Rev. Jim.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Douglas
Wedding:
8/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was amazing. We found Rev Jim through the internet and to be frank, we could have had a very different experience through the randomness of an on-line search.

I wish we could give him more than 5 stars. He helped make our day - outstanding. Thank you Jim.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Todd
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
From the moment we met Rev. Rooney we felt at home and an amazing connection. His ease and tranquil demeanor was a welcome retreat from the oft hectic whirlpool that is wedding planning. This ease and comfort that we felt with Rev. Rooney transcended right through the ceremony which he officiated with humor and grace. From the rather religious to the non, the friends and family in our congregation all were amazed and complimented on the ceremony, as it was truly a highlight among many on that day.
We feel truly blessed to have had Rev. Rooney officiate our wedding and to welcome him into our lives, and would highly recommend him to any couple.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim met with us twice to discuss the marriage and service. This helped alleviate the wedding jitters of my fiancé. He asked what we wanted for the service and it was so very helpful to do this. He was there on time and did a wonderful ceremony. It was perfect.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We can’t recommend Rev. Jim enough! Our ceremony was perfect (content, time & laughs) & people are still commenting on it. From the moment we met with Rev. Jim, we knew he was the perfect choice. Rev. Jim focused on getting to know us (over meetings in the city, a great lunch at his retreat center) & incorporating "our story", as well as the traditional religious elements. Rev. Jim shared ceremony ideas & prayers to help us start planning the ceremony but we were really able to make it unique and our own, which everyone at our wedding commented on. Rev. Jim was calm, fun and had great insight - he frequently reminded us the importance our vows & marriage. The meeting at his retreat center came at the perfect time - allowing us to personalize our ceremony and reflect on what our vows meant. The day of the wedding Rev. Jim did a fantastic job - he knew our ceremony, added a few laughs & incorporated our family & friends. Rev. Jim has a "ring blessing" tradition that incorporates guests which is a fun addition to get everyone involved. Rev. Jim was incredibly professional, responsive and flexible. He addressed all of our concerns in pre-wedding meetings, came to our rehearsal and was always on time. When I was late in submitting the final edits to the ceremony during the hectic last minute days, Rev. Jim casually sent me a reminder email. I was raised Catholic and my husband Jewish and Protestant. We got married outside at our reception venue & as a result, a Catholic priest wasn't able to marry us. It was important to me that our ceremony incorporate as many Catholic traditions and prayers as possible. Rev. Jim worked with us to identify what could be incorporated and how to still maintain the personalization. This is one of the most important days of your life - you want it to be perfect, personalized, memorable and not boring for the guests. Rev. Jim brought all of that to our ceremony - it was perfect in every way and we so enjoyed working with him.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim Rooney was amazing. He really made an effort to get to know us and because of this, he put together the most beautiful, thoughtful and personalized wedding ceremony. We felt like he really cared about us and wanted to make sure our values were represented in our ceremony.

Many of our guests commented on how lovely the ceremony was and how much they loved Reverend Rooney as our officiant. We feel so lucky to have had him as part of our wedding.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
From the first time we met Rev. Jim to the day of our ceremony, he made us feel comfortable and made us realize how special our day was going to be. Our ceremony was amazing and the way he got everyone involved really made it even more special and memorable. We had many guests say how they felt touched by it. He truly was the best.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
margaret
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Jim was amazing. He made our big day truly memorable. Almost all of our guests commented on the thoughtfulness of the ceremony and how moving it was. There wasn't a dry eye in the house! My husband and I were impressed with the care that Rev Jim put into the day - and it started during our first meeting, the following meetings (and meals) that ensued, conversations and questionnaire. And somehow he integrated and absorbed who we were and what we wanted to accomplish in that short time and managed to infuse our ceremony with all of those details and ideas that were meaningful to us. I cannot say enough nice things or express how truly grateful we were for his involvement in our big day.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keri
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
If you're looking for a reliable, professional officiant who will honor your wishes and respect your beliefs, Reverend Jim is your guy!
Thank you, Jim, for our simple, sweet wedding ceremony in Cold Spring! See you in September! =)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
2/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We first met at Rev. Jim's home and immediately felt welcome and comfortable. After spending some time together, Rev. Jim just knew what we where all about and together with his guidance prepared a beautiful and powerful ceremony that included our family and friends. We knew after our first meeting that we did not want to look any further. I cannot tell you how many times we communicated by phone and email to prepare the perfect ceremony. We wanted a small wedding and Rev. Jim came to our home to perform the ceremony. It was such a beautiful experience as our family and friends were able to surround us. Rev. Jim is absolutely wonderful! Linda & Tom
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margie
Wedding:
11/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Rev Jim Rooney. Not only did we get an officiant for our wedding, we gained a new friend. Unfortunately my brother passed away a day and half before the wedding and Rev Rooney went out of his way to help with the entire planning of the ceremony and had to do all the readings as we were all preoccupied. He made the ceremony everything we imaged by putting our personalities into it along with making sure my brother was spoken about. Your wedding will not be complete without him. He is great!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim Rooney was such a joy to work with and we will be forever grateful for the beautiful, meaningful and personal ceremony he created for our wedding on Oct 27. Jim really listens to his clients and pulls inspiration from each person to develop a process that leads to a truly unique event. We highly recommend his services.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better officiant. Jim was able to put us at ease and made us realize that our wedding was our special day. He has many suggestions and lots of good ideas on how to make our ceremony a personal reflection of our relationship. We were invited to his home on a few occasions where we discussed what we hoped our future would be like together. Jim did an excellent job of incorporating our lives and our family into our ceremony. He stayed to enjoy the reception and mingled with our friends and family, all of whom couldn't stop giving us compliments on how touching and beautiful the service was. Jim truly understands how to create lasting wedding memories for a couple. Much love and respect, Amy & Steven
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with Rev. Jim was a wonderful experience - In the beginning steps he was well organized, thoughtful, and responsive. He spent time to go thru all steps of planning with us, and flexible to make sure the ceremony was what WE wanted. He also made sure that we never lost focus of what a wedding actually MEANS, and took the time to help us reflect upon what the vows and ceremony meant to us! He was incredibly personable, easy to coordinate with (we live in brooklyn, but were able to meet with him in manhattan despite our weddinf being upstate!), and very charismatic. During the ceremony, he kept a steady cadence, not rushing any moment (and reminding us to 'savour' every moment of the ceremony as well!). He kept the service serious, yet lighthearted at the same time. We considered ourselves lucky to have him officiating our service, highly recommend him , and would be glad to provide further review information upon request.
Cheers!!
//Alex + Jeanette
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
There are not enough words to express how wonderful Jim was, not only on the day of our ceremony, but also leading up to it.
He met with us several times before the ceremony to discuss our wishes and plans for the ceremony. He was also gracious and kind, and he listened to us and everything we wanted.
He also took the time to find out about us as a couple. My husband and I gained so much from the time we spent with Jim. I don't know of many people who would have gone out of there way to make our ceremony so special the way he did.
I recommend Jim wholeheartedly. He is absolutely wonderful and we highly recommend him as an officiant for any wedding.
Jenny and Kevin
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brendan
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
No regrets hiring Jim Rooney as our wedding officiant! He guided us through the process of creating our own, unique ceremony. Always a pleasure to be with. After our wedding we received many compliments on how great the ceremony was and how lovely Jim is. Perfect!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bld2012
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Rooney did a beautiful job with our ceremony. He worked very closely with us and helped us with every detail to make sure our day was special and exactly what we wanted. Our guests absolutely loved Reverend Rooney and what he brought to our ceremony. People are still telling us how wonderful he was and how they enjoyed it. We thank Reverend Rooney so much for everything and for making our wedding day so special!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorie
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was wonderful. His services were beyond what we could have imagined! His ideas were both creative and spiritual and helped to make our day meaningful and so beautiful! We are so grateful to him and will forever hold him close in our hearts as our officiant and now as our friend.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim is simply a beautiful, kind person. While he is an officiant who is for hire, he really takes the time to get to know you and your partner in order to conduct a ceremony that comes from the heart.

Jim worked very hard to get to know where my husband and I were coming from--who we are, what is important to us, what we wanted out of the ceremony. All of his hard work paid off and he did an incredible job on the day of. He had the added challenge of working with our cantor for our interfaith ceremony, but as I expected, he did a wonderful job sharing the stage and still infusing his style and the Christian aspect to the event.

Thank you, Jim! Peter and I really appreciate your hard work and love!
Cathy and Pete
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alanna
Wedding:
7/20/2012
5.0/5.0
From our first meeting with Jim, we knew that he was the perfect person to officiate our wedding. He immediately put our (my) nervousness at ease and asked thought provoking questions, which helped us both reflect on the importance and sanctity of marriage. Jim is extremely kind and genuine and went out of his way to get to know us, as individuals and as a couple. He encouraged us to customize our wedding ceremony to reflect elements that were important to us, making it truly original. On our actually wedding day, words cannot describe what a wondeful job he did he did officiating. I cannot tell you how many people complimented us on such an enjoyable and unique wedding ceremony and how it was the perfect beginning to a magical day. Choosing Jim was one of the best decisions we made throughout the entire wedding process.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
7/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim Rooney was amazing very professional, put us at ease.
He was kind Friendly
I would recomend him highly
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Five stars across the board. Rev. Jim Rooney added so much to our special day.
We were especially impressed with the amount of time Rev. Rooney spent with us in the lead up to the wedding. He genuinely wanted to get to know us, and what it was that had brought us together. This was reflcted in his sermon on the day. We couldn't imagine anyone else officiating at our wedding. Rev. Rooney has a very professional manner but is also a calming influence on a day when very little is calm. We also loved the elements of humor he added to his sermon as well as his overall manner.
Rev. Rooney undoubtedly helped make our wedding day the best day of our lives.

Andrew & Leslie Weir
Brooklyn, NY
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katiemae LeVan
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim Rooney is it!! If you are looking for a compassionate, sincere, smart, witty and hilarious person to completely make you comfortable then Rooney is your officiant. I am terrified of public speaking and was most worried about that (probably the most important part!) Jim made us feel comfortable, had our guests immediately laughing in the beginning and most were crying at the end... really just an amazing person. Obviously having a wedding creates a busy schedule but Jim was so flexible, asked us out to his home but was willing and did come to our home for lunch...and we hope to see him again and again for as long as he'll let us hang out with him. Thank you Jim Rooney!!
Kaitlyn and Jim LeVan
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mary
Wedding:
5/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was everything we thought he would be and more! From the moment I heard his voice and after I explained our situation, I knew he was the one! He completely understood our situation, and knew where I was coming from interns of our ceremony. I needed a religious ceremony in a non-church setting. He sent lots of helpful info regarding vows, ceremonies, readings, etc. He was always an email/phone call away!
Our visit with him was delightful and so very comfortable! We laughed and talked and he allowed us to learn/discover new things about ourselves that many years of dating had not covered!
The wedding ceremony itself was great! Jim was able to integrate "us" into the ceremony so that it had not only the spiritual that I needed, but he made it so very personal and beautiful...he even allowed our families to be part of the ceremony. After the wedding people came up to us commenting how much they loved our ceremony! Have no doubts... Jim is wonderful!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bride2point0
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim was a wonderful officiant and a personable and loving shepherd through our marriage preparation process. Jim invited us into his home again and again, taking the time to really get to know us, which made for a very comfortable and relaxed wedding day celebration. The ceremony was exactly what we had hoped for, touching and personal, reverent but still warm, and interactive and inclusive of our loved ones. We enthusiastically recommend Jim to prospective brides and grooms.
Thank you Jim!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NRKnowlton
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim Rooney was our Officiant for our January 14th wedding and we could not have asked for anyone better! We were completely comfortable with him and really liked how positive he was and his great sense of humor. He was easy to work with and he gave us many different options for the ceremony to make it personal and unforgettable. Jim helped us with our rehearsal and was very helpful on the BIG day. He helped break the ice and helped us relax during the service. We would highly recommend Rev. Jim Rooney to be a part of anyone's wedding. <3 Natalie & Matt
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren & Nick
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim did a wonderful job officiating our ceremony and gave us great advice throughout the wedding planning process.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JandA NY91
Wedding:
12/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Everyone at our wedding raved about Rev. Jim. Our guests had a chance to mingle with him before and after the ceremony, and he really made quite an impression. As for us, we clearly enjoyed working with him. He was responsive to our needs and helped guide us to create a special and memorable ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Perrin
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim was called in at the very last Minute to be the officiant at our wedding. He asked all the right questions, got a good understanding of what we wanted, and made suggestions of his own. Jim is extremely personable. He engaged our friends and family and made everyone feel relaxed and at home. The ceremony was exactly what we asked for, with just the right degree of solemnity and humor. Our time with Jim was very short, but I would highly recommend him as an officiant.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ozone
Wedding:
10/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim Rooney was wonderful; we met with him several times at his home getting know him and having him getting to know my husband and I. We felt very comfortable which allowed us to share very personal things with Jim. His warmth and welcoming love made the experience with him amazing! The scottish accent also adds to his charm. We asked him to wear his kilt and he did and looked ever so dapper which added to intimate wedding we had at the Dutchess Manor! We took the time to come up with our format of the wedding ceremony- which as a wonderful gift from Jim; he had Laminated for us to keep and cherish over the years! We had so many compliments from our family and friends; Jim stayed through the reception by our invitation and celebrated our marriage and the love of that special day with our family and friends and the children who attended! A great time had by all!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We were over the moon with Jim Rooney as our officiant for our wedding.
He was warm, sensitive and very open to our needs and wants for our ceremony. He was always on time for our meetings and always provided great insight. He gave us sites to guide us as well as his personal experience.
He was there for us on the most special day of our lives and helped to make our wedding what it was-----absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cerveza930
Wedding:
10/3/2011
5.0/5.0
You could never have a better experience than the one that my partner and I had with Rev. Jim Rooney on our wedding day October 3 2011. Rev. Rooney was extremely personable, professional, caring and sincere. He is blessed with a phenominal sense of humor and has a gift for making those around him feel comfortable. He mingled with us as well as our guests after the ceremony and felt like an old friend. I could not give a higher recommendation of Rev. Jim Rooney. A bonus is his beautiful Scottish accent. He could speak "the hokie pokie" and have everyone around him enamored. Thank you Rev. Rooney for turning our modest event into something grand, with your presence.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole122781
Wedding:
9/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Rev Jim Rooney was an absolute pleasure to work with. My husband and I were first interested in working with him because of his religious background, open mindedness, and his personable disposition. He took the time to meet with us, get to know us, and promptly respond to any and all phone calls and emails. He helped us to put together a unique and special ceremony by sending us a large variety of ceremony material. Once we put our ceremony together, Jim met with us to personalize it and offered his recommendations to make it everything we wanted. During our reception, our guests could not stop commenting on what an eloquent speaker Jim is and how uniquely amazing our ceremony was. We are so happy and grateful that we were able to work with Jim for the most amazing day of our lives.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kme
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Reverend Jim Rooney officiated our September 17, 2011 wedding in NYC. The first time we met with him - many months before our wedding - we knew we wanted to work with him and knew he would become a special and memorable part of our day. Reverend Jim has a wonderful, kind presence, is very open-minded and was readily available leading up to the day of our wedding to develop a very unique and personal ceremony. He even wore his Scottish kilt and tartan colors! In our receiving line we had so many compliments on the ceremony and officiant and how special it all was and we couldn't have been happier with everything. We would recommend Reverend Jim to anyone.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pjsass
Wedding:
9/16/2011
5.0/5.0
From our initial meeting with Reverend Jim Rooney until our wedding, Jim was attentive, engaged, helpful, warm, and thoughtful. He guided us gently through the process with wisdom and reverence. We even had several guests who said that his presence added a huge degree of warmth and beauty to this special occasion. It could not have been better and I will always be grateful to him for his help and am happy that he is now my friend.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenn022584
Wedding:
9/6/2011
5.0/5.0
we loved rev. jum rooney.. he was so great to us.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisa
Wedding:
8/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jim was a pleasure to work with. From the very beginning he made us feel very comfortable and the ceremony came out beautiful! Thanks Jim!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mare and kath
Wedding:
7/26/2011
5.0/5.0
The Reverend Jim Rooney did a wonderful job of quickly meeting us and giving us exactly the ceremony we wanted. It was really nice to have someone as excited about same sex marriage as we are. He is incredibly hospitable, opening his home to us for our ceremony. We will never forget his kindness and generosity of spirit.
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1308946661977-img0026
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jim is THE BEST! He worked with the Rabbi and they came up with an amazing low-key wedding ceremony that was not too religious for either side.
Everyone who attended LOVED him, and wants to hang out with him!!!
He made our ceremony stand out. He will make any type of wedding/commitment ceremony incredible
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/12/2006
5.0/5.0
Jim Rooney was actually not originally going to officiate our wedding - we did not know he existed! Our original officiant realized that he had doulble-booked himself TWO weeks before our wedding date!! Luckily we found Jim and I truly believe that things worked out much better with him than they would have with the officiant we had originally chosen. Jim took the time to get to know us in the short period before our wedding date and he truly understood the type of wedding we wanted and the tone we wanted our officiant to establish in order to make our ceremony a gathering of our community, with an intimate feel, where everyone self included in our ceremony even though we have nearly 150 guests. He knew how to establish this tone so as to make it as inclusive as possible of all of our guests. I could not possible recommend Jim any more highly.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erin
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.9/5.0
While looking for an officiant, I stumbled across Rev. Jim Rooney here on wedding wire. As soon as I contacted him, he immediately responded to us and we set up a date to meet.

Danny and I went to his home in Beacon to meet with him. He asked us personal questions, the usual.. how did we meet? why do we want to get married? what do we love about each other? Basically a whole bunch of questions that had me crying the entire time (hey, pouring your heart out to someone is an emotional thing!) After we met with him, we both knew we didn't even need to look at anyone else.

We met with him a few more times and exchanged emails. We had a retreat at his home. He led us to a path and had Danny and I walk down to the river. We had 2 tasks to complete before we were allowed back. (This was 4 days before our wedding)

1. Tell each other how we were feeling.
2. To tell each other one thing we were each going to say in our vows to each other, and why. (we were exchanging our own vows)

To be quite honest, I was dreading this. I was a nervous + emotional wreck with the wedding being so close. Of course my fiance forced me to follow through with what Jim asked of us. I have never felt better after I did both of them. I was calm, excited, and all my worries about the wedding were gone.

Rev. Jim Rooney is an amazing man. Our wedding this past weekend was absolutely beautiful. The ceremony was amazing and everyone was asking about him. Our ceremony was not serious at all, we were laughing, the guests participated in the blessing of our rings. It was so personal, words can not express how thankful I am to have had Jim marry us. He was such a big part in our day.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ROllis
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.9/5.0
I particularly liked the way that Rev. Jim personalized the wedding in his opening comments and got to know the family members during the preceding cocktail hour. He was also very flexible regarding our desire to keep the ceremony non-religious. He did make several helpful suggestions as we were writing our ceremony, as well as providing many samples to help us select a format. Since we were from out of town, we didn't choose to have an actual rehearsal of the ceremony, which I think would have been helpful, so we should have tried harder to find a time to schedule that.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.8/5.0
We loved working with Rev. Jim and having him officiate our ceremony. He is kind and funny and just a pleasure to spend time with. Jim gave us a lot of ideas and was very helpful as we designed our ceremony. Our wedding day was wonderful, and my husband and I both agree that the ceremony with Jim was the best part.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
8/23/2013
4.6/5.0
Jim was amazing! He takes the time to meet with couples as often as you would like, talk through your vows and he makes sure that your day is just perfect!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
e
Wedding:
7/7/2012
4.6/5.0
Jim is very spiritual which was very helpful for us as we are not great at vocalizing our feelings. He definitely made guests feel like they were at something special.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amymae
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.5/5.0
Reverend Jim did a fantastic job officiating our wedding. We were very pleased with the service. He really took the time to get to know us and give us the kind of ceremony that we wanted!
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
376 Breakneck Road, Beacon, NY 12508 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jim Rooney
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo