130x130 sq 1386725262072 yasminjimcjringblessi

Rev. Jim Rooney

Beacon , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

376 Breakneck Road
Beacon, NY 12508 US (map)

PHONE

917-880-0791

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your life together begins here…
“What you are is God’s gift to you; What you make of it, it’s your gift to God.”

This is the reflection I have on my Ordination Card. It... Read more
Your life together begins here…
“What you are is God’s gift to you; What you make of it, it’s your gift to God.”

This is the reflection I have on my Ordination Card. It sums up my belief in life and relationship with God, family and friends.

We all need the time and space to hear that inner voice to allow us to be who we are called to be. I believe we can only experience this self-discovery by allowing ourselves to touch and be touched in all of life’s experiences and then taking the time and space to hold on to them; to cherish and sometimes to let go.

To this end I’ve created Beacon Hermitage. The Hermitage is situated in the beautiful Hudson Valley at the base of Mount Beacon, the highest point in the Hudson Highlands.

In the quiet and calm of Beacon Hermitage you will find a place that affords you both an opportunity to focus on what really matters: your relationship and future happiness. It will help you deal with the most important aspects related to planning a wedding- you and your partner. Envision the loving moments you will experience here with your partner that will empower you both to remember why you are getting married. This marriage is a public declaration and commitment of your love for each other that has the power to inspire and enrich you for life.

Awaken into your creativity for inspiration and self-expression on your personal path to the altar of life. Seek each other’s beauty of spirit. This is the soul who is entrusting their life to you. Find the reassurance from each other to step confidently into a journey that will require your love, strength, patience, wisdom, forgiveness, charity and joy.

I invite you to join me in allowing the Spirit of our Creator to touch your mind, body and spirit. I look forward to sharing with you in your journey as you seek renewal and recommitment to life and community.

I am an ordained priest in the Roman Catholic Tradition and registered civil marriage celebrant based in Beacon, with a wide experience of performing various ceremonies including: weddings, same sex weddings,funerals, memorials, baby naming days, commitment ceremonies, anniversaries and special occasions.

My training and experience have given me a deep knowledge of the role of officiant and celebrant in the community and the important role of ritual and ceremony in our lives. Together we will create a beautiful Order of Service that expresses your deepest feelings and most powerful emotions – whether they be feelings of love, joy, optimism, grief or acceptance.

The first step may seem daunting but I will personalize a ceremony to your every need and I will share with you my broad collection of ideas, poetry, readings, music and rituals, if you don’t know where to begin.

As a priest, officiant and chaplain I really love what I do, and you can be sure that I will always put your needs and wishes first and help you develop the ceremony you want. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1401328422563 businesscardkiltflower
130x130 sq 1403897367870 bhwjilltomjimlaughing
130x130 sq 1424447843384 bhwjillmattiphone
130x130 sq 1403897402498 bhwjilltomjimview
130x130 sq 1386044955881 jimmariejoelgarci
130x130 sq 1420554026052 bhwandriajohnandrialaughing
130x130 sq 1419873487959 bhwkristenphiljimlaughing
130x130 sq 1385580691242 jimselfstollcolla
130x130 sq 1385580630343 cjyasminjimkil
130x130 sq 1424447849561 bhwjillmattringblessing
130x130 sq 1421539392415 bhwtierneyvincetjimlittlefingers
130x130 sq 1403897851360 bhwjimkatykevin
130x130 sq 1383937994309 christapatricksmile
130x130 sq 1403897843918 bhwjimclareandy
130x130 sq 1382921531803 jimjackmatthewprocessio
130x130 sq 1344043409572 jimcatherinerich
130x130 sq 1385580699408 yasminjimcjringblessin
130x130 sq 1386044999629 mariejoelhandfastingblessin
130x130 sq 1405424723121 bhwdustineliasblessing
130x130 sq 1344043419036 jimjenjess
130x130 sq 1344043426542 jimleslieandrew
130x130 sq 1419873524074 bhwkristenphiljimsand
130x130 sq 1420554396544 bhwcristybentalk
130x130 sq 1344312892147 cathrich1
130x130 sq 1420554426783 bhwcristybenjimvows
130x130 sq 1324183623670 weddingphotosusanmaryjanerecession
130x130 sq 1377635475367 toddsteffjim
130x130 sq 1324183626123 jimlaurennick
130x130 sq 1385580738349 yasmincjjimrin
130x130 sq 1421539486708 bhwtierneyvincetjimhandsup
130x130 sq 1379769797989 jimashleyryan
130x130 sq 1420554070381 bhwandriajohnkiltshoes
130x130 sq 1324183620685 jimnicolederek
130x130 sq 1344312301272 kaitlynmejimlassie
130x130 sq 1344312310323 kaitlynmejimring
130x130 sq 1372638200393 kathleenjimkathleen
130x130 sq 1347409515672 joebernadettejim
130x130 sq 1347409535216 mattlynettejim
130x130 sq 1420554111981 bhwandriajohnandreasmiling
130x130 sq 1386045044770 mariejimjoelvow
130x130 sq 1403897864885 bhwliberty
130x130 sq 1379769840564 jimmariejoel
130x130 sq 1347409604771 idafrank
130x130 sq 1349311247119 lorijimerikakiss
130x130 sq 1420554284089 bhwdenisemarkjimlaughing
130x130 sq 1420554522141 bhwerictiffanyjim
130x130 sq 1349311262794 blessinghandslorierika
130x130 sq 1371691264848 kevinjennyjim
130x130 sq 1371691289083 jimkristenmike
130x130 sq 1371691867759 jimmattjack
130x130 sq 1371691895631 jimkristinpaul
130x130 sq 1372635788097 jimdawnkevin
130x130 sq 1372635797687 mattdaniellejim
130x130 sq 1372636162500 scottjimscott
130x130 sq 1424447852549 bhwjillmattringexchange
130x130 sq 1372636182711 michellejimjennifer
130x130 sq 1372636361848 1001138e 1
130x130 sq 1403897857782 bhwjimmarciekevin
130x130 sq 1372636467064 3283271015042006588254369629754286402702005570971o
130x130 sq 1372636504455 cannon disk 410c
130x130 sq 1377635434498 cjericajim
130x130 sq 1377635446194 douglasrichardglass
130x130 sq 1377635456063 amyjimhub
130x130 sq 1377635512638 jimlizmikewedding
130x130 sq 1377635550421 margaretjimwedding
130x130 sq 1383938034329 christapatrickprayerkno
130x130 sq 1344043437255 kiltflower

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed, Premarital Counseling
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Baha'i Faith, Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Earth-Based, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Hindu, Islam, Jainism, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Mormon, No Denomination, Orthodox Christian, Pagan, Presbyterian, Quaker, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoist, Unitarian
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
<30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NJ, NM, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV, WY

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Susan
Wedding:
7/18/2015
5.0/5.0
From our first conversation with Rev. Jim Rooney, I knew that he was going to touch our lives in a profound way. Rev. Jim welcomed us into his home, took the time to get to know about each of us personally, and what we wanted for our ceremony. He was professional, pays attention not only to what is said, but covers every part of the ceremony down to the smallest detail. Our guests were amazed that we only had met Rev. Jim a few weeks prior to our wedding - everyone thought we had been friends for a long time. He brings such warmth, love and peace with him; He made a huge impact on our lives and my husband and I plan on keeping in touch with him.
From our first conversation with Rev. Jim Rooney, I knew that he was going to touch our lives in a profound way. Rev. Jim Read more...
From our first conversation with Rev. Jim Rooney, I knew that he was going to touch our lives in a profound way. Rev. Jim welcomed us into his home, took the time to get to know about each of us personally, and what we wanted for our ceremony. He was professional, pays attention not only to what is said, but covers every part of the ceremony down to the smallest detail. Our guests were amazed that we only had met Rev. Jim a few weeks prior to our wedding - everyone thought we had been friends for a long time. He brings such warmth, love and peace with him; He made a huge impact on our lives and my husband and I plan on keeping in touch with him. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/27/2015
5.0/5.0
Jim worked with my husband and I to create the most perfect wedding ceremony. He took the time to get to know us to make the ceremony so personal and a true reflection of our relationship. It was warm and even funny at times -- not stiff like many ceremonies I have attended. He made a room filled with 130 guests feel very intimate and made the guests feel like part of the ceremony. I could not be happier.
Jim worked with my husband and I to create the most perfect wedding ceremony. He took the time to get to know us to make Read more...
Jim worked with my husband and I to create the most perfect wedding ceremony. He took the time to get to know us to make the ceremony so personal and a true reflection of our relationship. It was warm and even funny at times -- not stiff like many ceremonies I have attended. He made a room filled with 130 guests feel very intimate and made the guests feel like part of the ceremony. I could not be happier. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
When my husband and I first met Rev. Jim Rooney, we knew he was the one! His keen attention to detail through our meetings via Skype and the brief moment that we met in person before the ceremony and his warm, friendly nature made a very positive impression on our guests. He created a very personal and memorable ceremony that incorporated the right balance of stories about my husband and me, the sacredness of marriage, and religious elements. Though Rev. Rooney was not a personal fan of the BBC television show "Doctor Who" (which was our wedding theme), he made sure to reference the general ideas (of love and companionship) from the show into our ceremony.

His impressive ratings on various wedding websites are true to their word. I would highly recommend him as a preferred vendor at our wedding venue!
When my husband and I first met Rev. Jim Rooney, we knew he was the one! His keen attention to detail through our meetings Read more...
When my husband and I first met Rev. Jim Rooney, we knew he was the one! His keen attention to detail through our meetings via Skype and the brief moment that we met in person before the ceremony and his warm, friendly nature made a very positive impression on our guests. He created a very personal and memorable ceremony that incorporated the right balance of stories about my husband and me, the sacredness of marriage, and religious elements. Though Rev. Rooney was not a personal fan of the BBC television show "Doctor Who" (which was our wedding theme), he made sure to reference the general ideas (of love and companionship) from the show into our ceremony.

His impressive ratings on various wedding websites are true to their word. I would highly recommend him as a preferred vendor at our wedding venue! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
KASIA
Wedding:
6/6/2015
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved having Rev. Rooney at our wedding. He was very personable and had all our guests laughing at the ceremony. It was very important to me to have our ceremony be as close to traditional Catholic ceremony as possible and Rev. Rooney worked with us to make sure we were happy with the readings and scriptures we wanted. Both our parents were very impressed with him and we had numerous guests come up to us during the wedding, saying how beautiful the ceremony was. We would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is looking for the kind of officiant that goes above and beyond to make sure your day turns out beautiful and makes you feel like you've known each other for years :)
We absolutely loved having Rev. Rooney at our wedding. He was very personable and had all our guests laughing at the Read more...
We absolutely loved having Rev. Rooney at our wedding. He was very personable and had all our guests laughing at the ceremony. It was very important to me to have our ceremony be as close to traditional Catholic ceremony as possible and Rev. Rooney worked with us to make sure we were happy with the readings and scriptures we wanted. Both our parents were very impressed with him and we had numerous guests come up to us during the wedding, saying how beautiful the ceremony was. We would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is looking for the kind of officiant that goes above and beyond to make sure your day turns out beautiful and makes you feel like you've known each other for years :) Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/5/2015
5.0/5.0
We were introduced to Jim through our wedding planner and instantly felt connected to him. He radiates warmth and love and enthusiasm, and made us feel totally at ease from the beginning. We did one in-person interview, a Skype interview and then a day “retreat” with Jim at his house and thoroughly enjoyed spending time with him and getting to know him a little. This resulted in a ceremony that felt very intimate and personal, relaxed, happy and very moving. So many people told us that the ceremony set the perfect tone and made everyone feel very connected and joyous. As other commenters have noted, Jim is also very funny and entertaining, which made the ceremony extremely enjoyable not only for us but also our guests.

Jim was also super flexible in coming up with a ceremony that worked for us – my husband’s family is from India, and my family is Catholic, so we wanted to craft something that would not be too specifically religious, but would still feel very spiritual and meaningful. He was extremely helpful in working through that with us. He was also very flexible when it came to figuring out who we wanted to involve in the ceremony and in what way – which changed constantly until the last minute! Jim was game for all of it.

Bottom line is that we were so happy with how he listened to us, worked with us and just took the time to get to know us, as well as his beautiful words and thoughts during our wedding. We genuinely hope the keep in touch with him in the future, since he was such an important part of our wedding and made it so special. He really came to feel like a friend. We cannot recommend Jim enough…
We were introduced to Jim through our wedding planner and instantly felt connected to him. He radiates warmth and love and Read more...
We were introduced to Jim through our wedding planner and instantly felt connected to him. He radiates warmth and love and enthusiasm, and made us feel totally at ease from the beginning. We did one in-person interview, a Skype interview and then a day “retreat” with Jim at his house and thoroughly enjoyed spending time with him and getting to know him a little. This resulted in a ceremony that felt very intimate and personal, relaxed, happy and very moving. So many people told us that the ceremony set the perfect tone and made everyone feel very connected and joyous. As other commenters have noted, Jim is also very funny and entertaining, which made the ceremony extremely enjoyable not only for us but also our guests.

Jim was also super flexible in coming up with a ceremony that worked for us – my husband’s family is from India, and my family is Catholic, so we wanted to craft something that would not be too specifically religious, but would still feel very spiritual and meaningful. He was extremely helpful in working through that with us. He was also very flexible when it came to figuring out who we wanted to involve in the ceremony and in what way – which changed constantly until the last minute! Jim was game for all of it.

Bottom line is that we were so happy with how he listened to us, worked with us and just took the time to get to know us, as well as his beautiful words and thoughts during our wedding. We genuinely hope the keep in touch with him in the future, since he was such an important part of our wedding and made it so special. He really came to feel like a friend. We cannot recommend Jim enough… Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Charlene
Wedding:
5/30/2015
5.0/5.0
He made our wedding ceremony fun, memorable and entertaining. All of our guests loved the ceremony, all the humor and how much personal detail he added to it. I was impressed at how well he held everyones attention especially with so many kids there. He made the planning process simple and really helped try to calm us down and try to be in the moment and take our time during the ceremony. It really helped at least make us aware of trying to be present and in the moment, which was really easy to lose focus on. He was patient when we decided to wait a few minutes before starting because the venue was hard to find and with my husband. We really wanted a ceremony that was different and reflected who we are and he made more special than we could have hoped for.
He made our wedding ceremony fun, memorable and entertaining. All of our guests loved the ceremony, all the humor and how Read more...
He made our wedding ceremony fun, memorable and entertaining. All of our guests loved the ceremony, all the humor and how much personal detail he added to it. I was impressed at how well he held everyones attention especially with so many kids there. He made the planning process simple and really helped try to calm us down and try to be in the moment and take our time during the ceremony. It really helped at least make us aware of trying to be present and in the moment, which was really easy to lose focus on. He was patient when we decided to wait a few minutes before starting because the venue was hard to find and with my husband. We really wanted a ceremony that was different and reflected who we are and he made more special than we could have hoped for. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
james
Wedding:
5/24/2015
5.0/5.0
Reverand Rooney officiated our wedding Memorial Day Weekend 2015 outside on a mountain top in PA. He did an incredible job. He was professional to work with. We immediately felt a deep pensonal connection with him. He is an amazing officiant that will really enhance your marriage experience. He is very flexible on ceremony format and anything extra you would like to include. I still cannot believe the repoir we developed with him in a such a short time and what an amazing job he did at our ceremony. We would recommend him to anyone who is looking for an offiaciant! He helped to make our day incredible.
Reverand Rooney officiated our wedding Memorial Day Weekend 2015 outside on a mountain top in PA. He did an incredible Read more...
Reverand Rooney officiated our wedding Memorial Day Weekend 2015 outside on a mountain top in PA. He did an incredible job. He was professional to work with. We immediately felt a deep pensonal connection with him. He is an amazing officiant that will really enhance your marriage experience. He is very flexible on ceremony format and anything extra you would like to include. I still cannot believe the repoir we developed with him in a such a short time and what an amazing job he did at our ceremony. We would recommend him to anyone who is looking for an offiaciant! He helped to make our day incredible. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I am absolutely honored and delighted to review Rev Jim.

Rev Jim and our ceremony was hands down the BEST part of our wedding day. Moments after the wedding so many of our guests ran up to us and asked us "where did you find your officiant, he was fantastic!". It was such a special ceremony and his wordings brought to life exactly what we imagined in our wedding ceremony - fun, emotional, spiritual - it was absolutely perfect.

Jim was such a pleasure to work with in the months leading up to our wedding. We were debating having our ceremony in the church, as we are both Catholic, however opted to have the ceremony at our venue for the ease of travel for our guests. Knowing we and our families wanted a spiritual ceremony, Jim provided us with so much guidance on great ways to incorporate readings and words to bring that component into our ceremony. Jim offers a few different packages, a few in which he has you come to his house and discuss what you want you ceremony to be like. He made us feel comfortable and so excited for the big day - and boy did he not disappoint!! If you are looking for a compassionate, gentle mannered, funny officiant (with an incredible Scottish accent) for your big day, Jim is the best in the business.
I am absolutely honored and delighted to review Rev Jim.

Rev Jim and our ceremony was hands down the BEST part of Read more...
I am absolutely honored and delighted to review Rev Jim.

Rev Jim and our ceremony was hands down the BEST part of our wedding day. Moments after the wedding so many of our guests ran up to us and asked us "where did you find your officiant, he was fantastic!". It was such a special ceremony and his wordings brought to life exactly what we imagined in our wedding ceremony - fun, emotional, spiritual - it was absolutely perfect.

Jim was such a pleasure to work with in the months leading up to our wedding. We were debating having our ceremony in the church, as we are both Catholic, however opted to have the ceremony at our venue for the ease of travel for our guests. Knowing we and our families wanted a spiritual ceremony, Jim provided us with so much guidance on great ways to incorporate readings and words to bring that component into our ceremony. Jim offers a few different packages, a few in which he has you come to his house and discuss what you want you ceremony to be like. He made us feel comfortable and so excited for the big day - and boy did he not disappoint!! If you are looking for a compassionate, gentle mannered, funny officiant (with an incredible Scottish accent) for your big day, Jim is the best in the business. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Sham
Wedding:
4/18/2015
5.0/5.0
Jim was the first officiant we met and we liked him so much that we didn't even meet with any others. Throughout the process, he worked with us to ensure the ceremony that we had symbolized the people that we are and the wedding that we wanted. Before we met him we just thought it was just about someone getting us to say "I do" but we soon realized that it was a lot more than that.

With so much going on we only finalized our service on the day of the wedding and Jim was very patient with us. He totally understood the stresses that we had been facing leading up to the wedding.

Our ceremony was fun, entertaining and set the mood for the rest of the wedding. The humour in the ceremony definitely loosened people up which ultimately led to the most unforgettable day for my wife and I. So many people have since come to us complimenting us on our choice of Jim as the officiant.

Thank you Jim.
Jim was the first officiant we met and we liked him so much that we didn't even meet with any others. Throughout the Read more...
Jim was the first officiant we met and we liked him so much that we didn't even meet with any others. Throughout the process, he worked with us to ensure the ceremony that we had symbolized the people that we are and the wedding that we wanted. Before we met him we just thought it was just about someone getting us to say "I do" but we soon realized that it was a lot more than that.

With so much going on we only finalized our service on the day of the wedding and Jim was very patient with us. He totally understood the stresses that we had been facing leading up to the wedding.

Our ceremony was fun, entertaining and set the mood for the rest of the wedding. The humour in the ceremony definitely loosened people up which ultimately led to the most unforgettable day for my wife and I. So many people have since come to us complimenting us on our choice of Jim as the officiant.

Thank you Jim. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Dana
Wedding:
4/17/2015
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin, there are so many great things to say about Rev. Rooney. We booked Jim through Skype one year out as we were planning a destination wedding from FL in NY. I couldn't be happier with his services and his responsiveness. He is so kind and genuine and just a fun spirit!

Each meeting in person we realized more and more he was the right one. Inviting us to his home for just a talk, we would leave a better couple, laughing and crying tears of joy.

I promise you one thing you CAN NOT go wrong with Rev. Rooney's services. Our ceremony was fun, not stiff or boring, we had people participate, laugh, cry (happy tears) and everyone is talking about him and the ceremony he put on.

Look no further you have found the best, most kind, fun and handsome officiant in the hudson valley!!!!!
Where do I begin, there are so many great things to say about Rev. Rooney. We booked Jim through Skype one year out as we Read more...
Where do I begin, there are so many great things to say about Rev. Rooney. We booked Jim through Skype one year out as we were planning a destination wedding from FL in NY. I couldn't be happier with his services and his responsiveness. He is so kind and genuine and just a fun spirit!

Each meeting in person we realized more and more he was the right one. Inviting us to his home for just a talk, we would leave a better couple, laughing and crying tears of joy.

I promise you one thing you CAN NOT go wrong with Rev. Rooney's services. Our ceremony was fun, not stiff or boring, we had people participate, laugh, cry (happy tears) and everyone is talking about him and the ceremony he put on.

Look no further you have found the best, most kind, fun and handsome officiant in the hudson valley!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
376 Breakneck Road, Beacon, NY 12508 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jim Rooney
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1386725262072 yasminjimcjringblessi