130x130 sq 1324419024258 rosenwedding4x6

Rev. Jude Smith - Interfaith Minister

Rhinebeck , NY

LOCATION

PO Box 45
Rhinebeck, NY 12572 US (map)

PHONE

845-337-6996

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congratulations! You have chosen to embark on one of life’s greatest adventures – the committed partnership between two people, each devoted to unconditionally loving the other, and to... Read more
Congratulations! You have chosen to embark on one of life’s greatest adventures – the committed partnership between two people, each devoted to unconditionally loving the other, and to working together in common purpose and shared harmony.

And just as you have chosen to formally sanctify the depth of your relationship, you are also about to choose the style of ceremony and the officiant that best reflects your personal, spiritual and emotional preferences.

As a non-denominational interfaith minister, I hold the perspective that there is an essential and common spirituality underlying all of the world's faith traditions. It is a spirituality that speaks to the universal truths that resonate within our hearts, serving to authentically connect people on an intuitive level. I bring that authentic expression of spirituality to the ceremonies I jointly create with couples in such a way that the experience is sacred, elegant, meaningful, and transformative.

As a contemporary non-denominational wedding officiant, I enjoy working with people of all faiths, preferences, and spiritual paths, especially those who feel spiritual but not necessarily religious. I believe that our hearts choose our partners, and I celebrate marriage equality for all. I offer warm and distinctive ceremonies that support your beliefs, values and traditions.

I am sensitive to the fact that many people are not certain of the style of ceremony that will best represent them. I delight in working with couples to assist them in gaining that clarity, so that together we can custom design a ceremony that is a unique reflection of you.

I officiate at weddings, commitment ceremonies, civil unions, and the remaking of vows. I also officiate at all of life's transitions, including baby naming and blessing ceremonies. I practice throughout the Hudson Valley of New York, including the Catskill Mountain region, and cover the counties of Dutchess, Ulster, Columbia, Putnam, Westchester, Orange, Albany, and Greene. I am also available to officiate at weddings in the Berkshire Mountains of southwestern Massachusetts, as well as the western portions of Connecticut. Should you be traveling to the Hudson Valley as a destination wedding, I am very comfortable working remotely, and am able to coordinate all of the details of your special day in a way that will allow it to be a stress-free success.

I look forward to having you contact me so that we can explore our synergy and the way in which we can complement one another while crafting a ceremony that is uniquely you. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1357919279674 judesmithheadshot
130x130 sq 1324421151336 rosenwedding4x6
130x130 sq 1324423207821 95100058c
130x130 sq 1324420890321 alexvows6x4
130x130 sq 1324420947899 alexwedding6x4
130x130 sq 1324671448602 mmjmay09201575x1048
130x130 sq 1324671255117 mmjmay51011048x1572
130x130 sq 1280447069120 berusch8
130x130 sq 1280447065980 berusch2
130x130 sq 1280447065308 berusch3
130x130 sq 1357919549878 staceyandcory0298
130x130 sq 1357919757241 garciarosen0317
130x130 sq 1357919760402 garciarosen0322
130x130 sq 1357919205949 laurenandreid
130x130 sq 1324420999024 cindyandteresa6x4
130x130 sq 1324671556770 mmjmay0712
130x130 sq 1357919195532 amyanddave
130x130 sq 1357919190483 amyanddave2
130x130 sq 1358033121900 kimbelryandjim
130x130 sq 1358033594552 kimberlyjudeandsage
130x130 sq 1357919185920 ajandjude
130x130 sq 1357919850499 micheleandstephenkeepsake
130x130 sq 1357919858087 naomiandrob
130x130 sq 1357919212158 naomiandrob2
130x130 sq 1357919243610 scottandjohn
130x130 sq 1357919556455 staceyandcory0367
130x130 sq 1357919202644 garciarosen0346
130x130 sq 1324421031555 palmerwedding4x6

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed, Premarital Counseling
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Earth-Based, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Hindu, Islam, Jainism, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Mormon, No Denomination, Pagan, Presbyterian, Quaker, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoist, Unitarian
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins., 30-60 Mins.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kim
Wedding:
7/30/2016
5.0/5.0
Really, WOW is all we can say.

From the first time we chatted with Jude through the execution of our ceremony on July 30th, it was such a pleasure to work with her.

She is such a calming, professional, kind human being. She made the whole process of putting together our ceremony a joy.

Jude kept us really grounded in the moments of our ceremony. She really brought us back to our values and reminded us, among all the busyness of the wedding day, why we were there and who we are as a couple.

I think it's, unfortunately, unusual for guests to really connect with or remember a wedding ceremony. I know when I've gone to weddings people talk about the food, the band, the dress, etc. but with Jude leading the ceremony, our wedding was different. Even two weeks later, people are still coming back to us and saying how moved they were during the ceremony. Considering how the main part of a wedding is the marriage, this is really important to me. We know that we had such a strong, positive, reaction to our ceremony because of Jude and we are so happy we got to work with her.
Really, WOW is all we can say.

From the first time we chatted with Jude through the execution of our ceremony on Read more...
Really, WOW is all we can say.

From the first time we chatted with Jude through the execution of our ceremony on July 30th, it was such a pleasure to work with her.

She is such a calming, professional, kind human being. She made the whole process of putting together our ceremony a joy.

Jude kept us really grounded in the moments of our ceremony. She really brought us back to our values and reminded us, among all the busyness of the wedding day, why we were there and who we are as a couple.

I think it's, unfortunately, unusual for guests to really connect with or remember a wedding ceremony. I know when I've gone to weddings people talk about the food, the band, the dress, etc. but with Jude leading the ceremony, our wedding was different. Even two weeks later, people are still coming back to us and saying how moved they were during the ceremony. Considering how the main part of a wedding is the marriage, this is really important to me. We know that we had such a strong, positive, reaction to our ceremony because of Jude and we are so happy we got to work with her. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jude did a wonderful job working with us to create a ceremony that really represented us as a couple. She made it unique and heartfelt and I would absolutely recommend her to anyone looking for a ceremony that is special and personal.
Jude did a wonderful job working with us to create a ceremony that really represented us as a couple. She made it unique Read more...
Jude did a wonderful job working with us to create a ceremony that really represented us as a couple. She made it unique and heartfelt and I would absolutely recommend her to anyone looking for a ceremony that is special and personal. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Maureen
Wedding:
5/13/2016
5.0/5.0
We just married 2 weeks ago and so happy we chose Jude Smith! She was so warm and welcoming each step of the way up until our actual ceremony. It was indeed short and sweet, but with a spiritual touch that would not have occurred at a City Hall wedding. We are so glad that we decided to travel up to Rhinebeck from Manhattan. Our experience was exactly what we had hoped for! - Maureen and Daniel
We just married 2 weeks ago and so happy we chose Jude Smith! She was so warm and welcoming each step of the way up until Read more...
We just married 2 weeks ago and so happy we chose Jude Smith! She was so warm and welcoming each step of the way up until our actual ceremony. It was indeed short and sweet, but with a spiritual touch that would not have occurred at a City Hall wedding. We are so glad that we decided to travel up to Rhinebeck from Manhattan. Our experience was exactly what we had hoped for! - Maureen and Daniel Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Jude Smith - Interfaith Minister responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Maureen and Daniel! Delighted to know you had such a special experience. Because I truly believe that every ceremony, large or small, is meant to be an authentic celebration of love. May you continue to live happily ever after!
Default vendor profile pic
April
Wedding:
1/26/2016
5.0/5.0
We are so grateful and lucky to Rev Jude officiate our wedding!! She was so genuine and helpful during our limited time that we had for our wedding. We had to push up our date a good bit due to us both being military, but Jude didn't mind and gave us the sweet and simple ceremony that we both wanted. We cannot thank her enough! We recommend her to anyone and everyone.
-April and Cody
We are so grateful and lucky to Rev Jude officiate our wedding!! She was so genuine and helpful during our limited time Read more...
We are so grateful and lucky to Rev Jude officiate our wedding!! She was so genuine and helpful during our limited time that we had for our wedding. We had to push up our date a good bit due to us both being military, but Jude didn't mind and gave us the sweet and simple ceremony that we both wanted. We cannot thank her enough! We recommend her to anyone and everyone.
-April and Cody Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Barbara
Wedding:
10/18/2015
5.0/5.0
We found Jude after a few mishaps with a close friend who was supposed to officiate. However, I believe the stars aligned in connecting us with Jude. I was initially uneasy at the prospect of a "stranger" officiate but after my first phone call with Jude I felt like I was talking to an old friend. She brings an authentic warmth, love and care to the process of crafting a ceremony that transcended what I thought was possible in a ceremony. Each time we met in the (very thorough!) process, I felt more and more connected to my now-wife. On the day of the wedding, Jude's knack for planning and logistics set me at ease and our guests were truly invited to connect with our love and union. There was not a dry eye in the house! I can't recommend Jude enough.
We found Jude after a few mishaps with a close friend who was supposed to officiate. However, I believe the stars aligned Read more...
We found Jude after a few mishaps with a close friend who was supposed to officiate. However, I believe the stars aligned in connecting us with Jude. I was initially uneasy at the prospect of a "stranger" officiate but after my first phone call with Jude I felt like I was talking to an old friend. She brings an authentic warmth, love and care to the process of crafting a ceremony that transcended what I thought was possible in a ceremony. Each time we met in the (very thorough!) process, I felt more and more connected to my now-wife. On the day of the wedding, Jude's knack for planning and logistics set me at ease and our guests were truly invited to connect with our love and union. There was not a dry eye in the house! I can't recommend Jude enough. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Isabel
Wedding:
10/17/2015
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jude Smith was absolutely great to work with! She makes such a great effort to understand you as a couple as well as what you are looking for in an officiant and makes sure to tie it all in during your ceremony. During your initial meeting, she learns about you as a couple and then takes time to draft up a speech, which she will then review with you and accept any feedback. There are no guessing games, everything is laid out exactly how it will be on your special day! During the first conversation with her, you can feel her warm spirit and amazing energy. By your last meeting before your special day, you can't help but to feel comfortable and confident in your decision to choose Rev. Jude Smith. She was absolutely pleasant to work with!
-Isabel & Daniel
Rev. Jude Smith was absolutely great to work with! She makes such a great effort to understand you as a couple as well as Read more...
Rev. Jude Smith was absolutely great to work with! She makes such a great effort to understand you as a couple as well as what you are looking for in an officiant and makes sure to tie it all in during your ceremony. During your initial meeting, she learns about you as a couple and then takes time to draft up a speech, which she will then review with you and accept any feedback. There are no guessing games, everything is laid out exactly how it will be on your special day! During the first conversation with her, you can feel her warm spirit and amazing energy. By your last meeting before your special day, you can't help but to feel comfortable and confident in your decision to choose Rev. Jude Smith. She was absolutely pleasant to work with!
-Isabel & Daniel Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Julie and Ed
Wedding:
10/10/2015
5.0/5.0
I cannot imagine a better person to serve as our officiant than Rev Jude Smith. She is the most wonderful person—who guided us step by step through the process of creating an absolutely magical wedding ceremony filled with love. Rev Jude took the time to get to know us as individuals and asked us to take the time to express our feelings for each other in writing (an exercise you will cherish in the end). On the day of our ceremony Rev Jude’s energy was a point of warmth and comfort. She focused us and guided us through the most loving ceremony imaginable. Our wedding day was picture perfect and the 1# highlight was our ceremony with Rev Jude. We are honored to tell friends and family that Rev Jude Smith united us in marriage. We plan to stay in touch with Rev Jude and appreciate knowing her.
I cannot imagine a better person to serve as our officiant than Rev Jude Smith. She is the most wonderful person—who Read more...
I cannot imagine a better person to serve as our officiant than Rev Jude Smith. She is the most wonderful person—who guided us step by step through the process of creating an absolutely magical wedding ceremony filled with love. Rev Jude took the time to get to know us as individuals and asked us to take the time to express our feelings for each other in writing (an exercise you will cherish in the end). On the day of our ceremony Rev Jude’s energy was a point of warmth and comfort. She focused us and guided us through the most loving ceremony imaginable. Our wedding day was picture perfect and the 1# highlight was our ceremony with Rev Jude. We are honored to tell friends and family that Rev Jude Smith united us in marriage. We plan to stay in touch with Rev Jude and appreciate knowing her. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rev Jude was absolutely wonderful and created the most heartfelt and personalized ceremony. She met with us several times to get to know the both of us and ask us detailed questions about our relationship, what are expectations of marriage were and how we perceived our ceremony to be. We also, separately, answered reflection questions Jude provided us that became part of our ceremony. it was the best process of putting together our wedding. Our guests enjoyed hearing Jude speak about love and what our love meant to each other and personal details that has defined our relationship. Jude incorporated our children and made them feel completely part of the day. Truly an amazing day!
Rev Jude was absolutely wonderful and created the most heartfelt and personalized ceremony. She met with us several times Read more...
Rev Jude was absolutely wonderful and created the most heartfelt and personalized ceremony. She met with us several times to get to know the both of us and ask us detailed questions about our relationship, what are expectations of marriage were and how we perceived our ceremony to be. We also, separately, answered reflection questions Jude provided us that became part of our ceremony. it was the best process of putting together our wedding. Our guests enjoyed hearing Jude speak about love and what our love meant to each other and personal details that has defined our relationship. Jude incorporated our children and made them feel completely part of the day. Truly an amazing day! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Elaine
Wedding:
9/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Jude has a way of connecting with everyone. She has a warmth about her and she expresses herself very clearly. Many of my guests commented how heartfelt and personal our ceremony was and how they wanted to hear her every word because it held that much meaning.
I, as the bride, knew the ceremony we put together would represent how I felt in a very personal way. Jude's voice and steadiness gave me an assurance and a strong sense of self that allowed my wedding ceremony to be meaningful, representative of me, and just a moment of joy because I could be present, and not caught in a bundle of nerves.
Jude truly made my wedding day very special.
Jude has a way of connecting with everyone. She has a warmth about her and she expresses herself very clearly. Many of my Read more...
Jude has a way of connecting with everyone. She has a warmth about her and she expresses herself very clearly. Many of my guests commented how heartfelt and personal our ceremony was and how they wanted to hear her every word because it held that much meaning.
I, as the bride, knew the ceremony we put together would represent how I felt in a very personal way. Jude's voice and steadiness gave me an assurance and a strong sense of self that allowed my wedding ceremony to be meaningful, representative of me, and just a moment of joy because I could be present, and not caught in a bundle of nerves.
Jude truly made my wedding day very special. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Charlie
Wedding:
9/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Jude is an incredible and rare gem. My wife and I are both nonreligious, but sought out someone who still understood that a deep love and spirituality brought my wife and me together. Jude worked with us over Skype, as we live in Rhode Island, and at first we were skeptical of being able to feel an authenticity this way. But Jude's warmth and compassion shone through even across that medium, and we knew we were on the right path. Jude helped us find our center again amongst all the chaos and anxiety of planning a wedding, and this was tremendously important. It gave us the space we needed in order to focus on why we were doing this in the first place, and to find a calm with ourselves that brought us even closer together. Her ceremony was perfect, and perfectly tailored to us. It was an incredible day, and I cannot recommend Jude highly enough.
Jude is an incredible and rare gem. My wife and I are both nonreligious, but sought out someone who still understood that Read more...
Jude is an incredible and rare gem. My wife and I are both nonreligious, but sought out someone who still understood that a deep love and spirituality brought my wife and me together. Jude worked with us over Skype, as we live in Rhode Island, and at first we were skeptical of being able to feel an authenticity this way. But Jude's warmth and compassion shone through even across that medium, and we knew we were on the right path. Jude helped us find our center again amongst all the chaos and anxiety of planning a wedding, and this was tremendously important. It gave us the space we needed in order to focus on why we were doing this in the first place, and to find a calm with ourselves that brought us even closer together. Her ceremony was perfect, and perfectly tailored to us. It was an incredible day, and I cannot recommend Jude highly enough. Read less
Services Used: Officiant

DEALS

Wedding Wire Special Offer!
Get Deal
Promo Code: WW   $70 Value
Experience the beauty of a handcrafted ceremony that will touch your heart in ways that are sacred, elegant, meaningful, and transformative, and enjoy a 10% savings on fees when mentioning this ad and Wedding Wire during our initial contact.
Deal #WWec79f039605101f8
220x220 1324678047293 garciarosen0317220x220
Short and Sweet and Sacred
Get Deal
Promo Code: SSS   $700 Value
Although I specialize in highly customized wedding ceremonies, I understand that many couples may wish for something far less formal and customized, but no less elegant and sacred. For those more informal unions, I invite you to contact me so that we can explore how to turn your special moment into an event you'll cherish, with a fee designed to feel comfortable.
Deal #WWd4efc45e33edb759
220x220 1324678535848 mmjmay0712220x220

MAP

 
PO Box 45, Rhinebeck, NY 12572 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jude Smith - Interfaith Minister
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1324419024258 rosenwedding4x6