130x130_sq_1324419024258-rosenwedding4x6

Rev. Jude Smith - Interfaith Minister

Rhinebeck , NY

LOCATION

PO Box 45
Rhinebeck, NY US 12572 (map)

PHONE

845-337-6996

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congratulations! You have chosen to embark on one of life’s greatest adventures – the committed partnership between two people, each devoted to unconditionally loving the other, and to... Read more
Congratulations! You have chosen to embark on one of life’s greatest adventures – the committed partnership between two people, each devoted to unconditionally loving the other, and to working together in common purpose and shared harmony.

And just as you have chosen to formally sanctify the depth of your relationship, you are also about to choose the style of ceremony and the officiant that best reflects your personal, spiritual and emotional preferences.

As a non-denominational interfaith minister, I hold the perspective that there is an essential and common spirituality underlying all of the world's faith traditions. It is a spirituality that speaks to the universal truths that resonate within our hearts, serving to authentically connect people on an intuitive level. I bring that authentic expression of spirituality to the ceremonies I jointly create with couples in such a way that the experience is sacred, elegant, meaningful, and transformative.

As a contemporary non-denominational wedding officiant, I enjoy working with people of all faiths, preferences, and spiritual paths, especially those who feel spiritual but not necessarily religious. I believe that our hearts choose our partners, and I celebrate marriage equality for all. I offer warm and distinctive ceremonies that support your beliefs, values and traditions.

I am sensitive to the fact that many people are not certain of the style of ceremony that will best represent them. I delight in working with couples to assist them in gaining that clarity, so that together we can custom design a ceremony that is a unique reflection of you.

I officiate at weddings, commitment ceremonies, civil unions, and the remaking of vows. I also officiate at all of life's transitions, including baby naming and blessing ceremonies. I practice throughout the Hudson Valley of New York, including the Catskill Mountain region, and cover the counties of Dutchess, Ulster, Columbia, Putnam, Westchester, Orange, Albany, and Greene. I am also available to officiate at weddings in the Berkshire Mountains of southwestern Massachusetts, as well as the western portions of Connecticut. Should you be traveling to the Hudson Valley as a destination wedding, I am very comfortable working remotely, and am able to coordinate all of the details of your special day in a way that will allow it to be a stress-free success.

I look forward to having you contact me so that we can explore our synergy and the way in which we can complement one another while crafting a ceremony that is uniquely you. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1357919279674-judesmithheadshot
130x130_sq_1324421151336-rosenwedding4x6
130x130_sq_1324423207821-95100058c
130x130_sq_1324420890321-alexvows6x4
130x130_sq_1324420947899-alexwedding6x4
130x130_sq_1324671448602-mmjmay09201575x1048
130x130_sq_1324671255117-mmjmay51011048x1572
130x130_sq_1280447069120-berusch8
130x130_sq_1280447065980-berusch2
130x130_sq_1280447065308-berusch3
130x130_sq_1357919549878-staceyandcory0298
130x130_sq_1357919757241-garciarosen0317
130x130_sq_1357919760402-garciarosen0322
130x130_sq_1357919205949-laurenandreid
130x130_sq_1324420999024-cindyandteresa6x4
130x130_sq_1324671556770-mmjmay0712
130x130_sq_1357919195532-amyanddave
130x130_sq_1357919190483-amyanddave2
130x130_sq_1358033121900-kimbelryandjim
130x130_sq_1358033594552-kimberlyjudeandsage
130x130_sq_1357919185920-ajandjude
130x130_sq_1357919850499-micheleandstephenkeepsake
130x130_sq_1357919858087-naomiandrob
130x130_sq_1357919212158-naomiandrob2
130x130_sq_1357919243610-scottandjohn
130x130_sq_1357919556455-staceyandcory0367
130x130_sq_1357919202644-garciarosen0346
130x130_sq_1324421031555-palmerwedding4x6

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Mormon, Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Evangelical, Hindu, Islam, Jainism, Jewish, Muslim, Shinto, Sikhism, Taoist
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shels
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev Jude Smith did a fantastic job working with us to create a truly heart felt ceremony. She is a very sweet, kind, caring person. We felt comfortable with her right away, it was as if we had known her for years. Jude truly enjoys what she does and she went above and beyond to make our special day... Perfect! (Judes husband even pitched in a very helping hand) When Jude is in the room you feel a sense of inner peace. We were so lucky to have her unite us as a family. Our ceremony touched the hearts of everyone. Words cant describe what Rev. Jude Smiths ceremony has done for our entire family, after15 years of relationships between family members being in shambles..everyone is ok now. Judes warmpth and soft spoken words have changed everything. For that we cant thank her enough. We greatly greatly recommend Rev Jude Smith.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Jude officiated our ceremony this past weekend at the Inn at Erlowest this past weekend. We had met with her via phone and in person a few times before, so we already knew it would be great. However, she exceeded our expectations more than we ever could have guessed! Everyone in attendance agreed that they felt the magic and absolutely raved that the ceremony was the nicest and most personal that they have ever been to. I couldn't agree more! It was so personal, loving, and heartfelt. Her readings and words were perfect for us and suited everyone well. She was so helpful with every detail- even music selections and bringing her own wine glass to help out with our wine ceremony. Jude feels like family, and we are sure to recommend her and use her for future family events. If you want your ceremony to be personalized exactly for you, choose Jude- you will not be disappointed! Much love.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jude was an incredibly welcome addition to our wedding planning. She was able to center us and greatly aided in crafting a beautiful ceremony that I will not forget for years to come. My husband and I were very adamant about having a ceremony that was spiritual but not religious and Jude was easily able to put one together that echoed the love we felt for one another. What was especially amazing was that it was so personal. We both answered questions separately and then Jude put those together and weaved our story into the ceremony. Very beautiful. She is great to work with and is willing to help with any of the other aspects of planning including recommendations. I would highly recommend Jude for other couples.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
blake
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We were lucky to find Jude at the last minute- just two weeks before the wedding. We are so happy that we found her. She walked us through the ceremony and helped us to personalize it. We were presented with a variety of vows and poems to choose meaningful passages from that were great. We also filled out a reflection about why we were choosing to get married which was helpful as well. This really made it feel like we customized the ceremony to fit us.

Although the time we had before the wedding was brief Jude went over everything with us and read us the ceremony over the phone. She also helped with a lot of things I wasn't thinking about like the order of the wedding procession, where it's best for people to stand and sit, how to cue the musicians etc. By the day of the wedding we felt very connected to her having only known her for a short time.

All in all Jude knows how to conduct a wedding ceremony like a pro. Combine that with her being such a loving and sweet person and you've got a top notch officiant. Some people really love their jobs and strive to do them well. If you work with Jude you can tell this is what she really loves to do and that it truly makes her happy to be joining couples in marriage. We were very honored to have her as our officiant and are overjoyed that Jude has blessed us and our rings. She was the perfect officiant for our wedding.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We feel so lucky and grateful to have had Rev. Jude Smith officiate our wedding. We wanted a wedding ceremony that was non-denominational yet still had weight and warmth to it. Rev. Jude helped us build a moving, transcendental and truly magical wedding ceremony. Rev. Jude helped us navigate the seemingly intimidating landscape of building our wedding ceremony. She provided a clear, calming road map for us - giving us solid logistical help on wrangling our large bridal party and families as well as endless resources of poems and vows to handcraft a wedding ceremony perfect for us. Our families were all so moved by the ceremony - many commented that it was so personal and warm we must have known Rev. Jude for years. But in fact we had worked with Rev. Jude remotely for just a couple weeks leading up to the wedding. This is testament to the warmth and sensitivity she brings to her work and her amazing aptitude to get to the heart of relationship, fully celebrating and honoring that relationship with a uniquely crafted wedding ceremony. She created a magical and loving foundation to build our marriage on and we could not be happier!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniella
Wedding:
9/9/2013
5.0/5.0
If you're seeking a meaningful reverend to officiant a wedding, look no further, Rev Jude will surpass all of your expectations. I don't handle being in the spot light very well, so being the bride and having to speak in front of others wasn't something I was looking forward to. Jude eased all my worries with what to expect during a practice run in our met and greet. She also helped me put together the most important words I would say to the person I love the most! As if that wasn't enough, she was calm the day of, making me feel in control with her guidance and well worded ceremony. I owe one of the best moments of my wedding day to Reverend Jude!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had a difficult time finding the right officiant to lead our wedding ceremony until we met Jude. Immediately we were speaking the same language on our expectations and what we wanted our ceremony, and the beginning of our journey together to achieve, not just for ourselves but for our guests as well. Mark and I had been envisioning a labyrinth ceremony for our wedding, we both had lots of ideas and excitement flying around the labyrinth. It wasn't until we FINALLY met Jude that we realized how difficult such a ceremony would be to pull off. Jude made us extremely comfortable with our decision to build a labyrinth ceremony and continued on surprising us with adding and suggesting things that superbly enhanced the direction of the labyrinth ceremony.

We shared our idea with Jude and continued to inspire us to use our imagination to make this day as beautiful, special and prepared as possible- physically, mentally and emotionally. She led our entire wedding (all of 19 people) on a journey that ourselves, and our guests will NEVER forget. Jude has an amazing way of setting the tone of energy in a space and bringing everyone onto the same plane. With Jude's skill and the power of the labyrinth and family, I was brought to tears several times, and I am NOT typically a crier!!

Mark and I both recognize there is no one else on god's green earth that could have ever performed just a ceremony, except for Jude and we are so incredibly grateful to have had her lead us into marriage together. All of her guiding words and wisdom prepared us for marriage, not just our wedding day and we will always be grateful!

We look forward to spending time with Jude in the future, she is not the type of officiant you see on your wedding day, never to speak to again, but one you can seek guidance from, for years to come.

Thank you Jude for all you do!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
I first contacted Jude after finding her website and reading about her support for marriage equality, something that is very important to both my partner and me. Once I talked to her on the phone, I knew that I had found the right officiant! Talking with Jude was like talking with an old friend; I felt that we had an immediate connection and that she really "got" what my partner and I wanted in a simple, private ceremony. I contacted her somewhat last minute, with only about two weeks before the date that we had selected, but she was very flexible and fit us in around two other ceremonies that she had scheduled for the same day! She was even able to provide a witness for us, since we were traveling out of state and were not bringing guests. Jude made the whole process, from beginning to end, so easy and stress-free!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy L
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jude was an amazing. My wife and I were traveling from Florida to get married up at Lake Minnewaska and she was all for the possible hike that she may have had to take. Luck for her and our guest, my wife and I found a perfect spot just yards from the parking lot.
Being out of state my wife and I were extremely nervous about how to get things accomplished, but the one thing that we knew that we did not have to worry about was who was going to perform the ceremony. Rev. Jude was more than accommodating and staid in constant contact and was there to answer any questions that we may have had.
Thank you Rev. Jude for making our wedding a huge success and the most memorable day in our lives!
Michelle & Tracy
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mark
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Jude Smith was the officiant for our interfaith wedding this summer and we could not have been more pleased. Not only was she incredible on the day of but she spent a lot of time getting to know us and really building a relationship with us before the special day - which really made the experience unique.

We first spoke with Jude nearly 6 months before the wedding. We were living in London at the time - for some it could have been a challenge but she was extremely flexible and organized. Our first chat was a lovely several hour call where she genuinely spent time getting to know us and really built a connection with us. She was so warm and welcoming - we loved sharing our story and love with her.

We met a few times following before the wedding, continuing to build our relationship and her getting to know us, our hopes for the big day and how she could really make it special. She didn't miss a detail and truly catered every word.

On the actual day, her ceremony was exactly what we could have hoped for - unique, catered and completely sincere.

Several months later we continue to keep in touch :)

We would recommend Jude for anyone, particularly those who plan to have an interfaith or uniquely spiritual wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1373563026126-avatar
Steve
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Jude was wonderful! From the first time we spoke with Rev. Jude we immediately knew she was the perfect fit for us. She had a contagious enthusiasm throughout the process, which was evident in the wonderful ceremony she delivered for us. Rev. Jude has an amazing ability to understand what her couples want/need and a gift for translating their unique story into a custom ceremony. We could not have been happier with our decision to have her officiate our wedding.

We highly recommend Jude!
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1373560678809-avatar
Ashley
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jude exceeded every expectation my husband and I ever had for our wedding ceremony! The ceremony she wrote for us was the highlight of our wedding - it was personal, thoughtful, unique and totally "us". Our guests were blown away by how special and moving the ceremony was and people are still talking about it months after the wedding! Rev. Jude is one of those unique few that genuinely loves what she does and cares deeply about the couples she works with - it's not just a job to her.

The entire process of working with Rev. Jude was an absolute joy! She was always there to guide us and offer advice, but never made us feel like we had to do anything a certain way. I am so thankful we found her and would recommend her a hundred times over!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alisa
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Great ceremony, wonderful to work with. Easy to communicate with.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
The warmth I feel from taking the time to remember the most beautiful moments of our wedding is a clear indication of just how special it was...
Rev. Jude took the time to understand my husband and I. She created a ceremony that was inclusive and focused on love. She included our traditions, our characteristics, listened to our apprehensions and concerns and advised us lovingly. It couldn't have been any better than it was...it would be impossible.
We are blessed with radiant love and we found someone who could channel it beautifully.
She will take her time with you and is organized and detail oriented. I highly recommend Rev. Jude as I know she values each and every union she performs.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/9/2013
4.8/5.0
When we met with Jude my husband and I knew immediately we wanted to use her for our interfaith minister. She methodically gathered information about us individually and as a couple and came out with a truly unique ceremony. She was able to include all our special requests so we could include family and friends in parts of our ceremony. Jude's calm manner enabled the ceremony to come off without any problems.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Before our wedding, Jude prepared my fiance and I for everything. She was so organized, timely and thorough, which made us feel much less nervous amid lots of planning and wedding stress! She wrote a beautiful ceremony for us, which was very heart-felt and really reflected our personalities. Jude was among the highest-priced officiants we found in our search, but she went above and beyond and was ultimately worth the price.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lacey
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I never considered how important having a good minister was until I went to a wedding that had a bad one! After I experienced that wedding and was beginning to plan my own I started looking online for someone to customize my ceremony. I knew right away that I wanted to use Reverend Jude. I love her samples on the website and was comforted after speaking to her. She help customize a ceremony that met our needs and budget. She took the time to meet with us and ask questions that made our ceremony very detailed and personal. I really wanted our ceremony to leave people feeling a certain way, and it definitely did. It POURED outside during our ceremony and we were wet and struggling to hear yet Rev. Jude had a great demeanor about her that seemed to quiet the rain and make the ceremony beautiful. I received a ton of complements from our guests and am sure I made the right choice.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katee
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
From the very first phone call, or should I say the very first 5 minutes of our phone call with Rev. Jude, I knew right away that she was who we wanted to officiate our wedding. Rev. Jude worked with us to help us create a unique, heartfelt, and highly personal ceremony. One after another guests kept coming up to us at the wedding and now many months after, commenting on the energy and authenticity of our ceremony. Rev. Jude is a beautiful soul and her love for what she does truly shines through. Our wedding day would not have been the same without her.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucia
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Jude was great! Highly recommend. She took the time to make sure we were totally satisfied with our ceremony and worked with out somewhat rigid schedules (we were planning the wedding from across the country). Overall we couldn't be happier with how everything turned out!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I give Jude 5 stars - she made our wedding day so very special. Jude is wonderful to work with, caring, and dependable. She will guide you through all and make your ceremony unique and a reflection of who you are as a couple. I can't recommend her highly enough, you will be sure to be happy when you chose her to officiate.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a better Officiant for our ceremony. Jude made sure that both religions joining us on our wedding day felt comfortable and recognized the love that surrounded us on our wedding day. Her words and advice that she presented to us were so touching and thoughtful, we felt so blessed to have her with us as we said our vows. Jude was absolutely wonderful to work with, very tentative with her correspondence prior to the wedding and extremely professional. She was also willing to travel for us as we lived an hour away from her! Thank you so much Jude for an absolutely incredible day!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My message to Jude following our Baby Blessing Ceremony:

Dear Rev. Jude,

We want to thank you in a very special way for helping us to create an unforgettable naming/blessing ceremony for our precious son! You words and calm loving presence, the wonderful poems and music, and the love felt by all helped make it so touching. We will always remember it as a day our families came together to celebrate the birth of our little man Melih. In the future, he will be able to know that we had this ceremony in his honor.

Attached please find photos for you to enjoy (or use on your website). Thank you again so much for making it a wonderful day!

Peace,
Katie and Mustafa
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We loved Jude. She was thorough and attentive early on in the process and worked with us to provide a wedding ceremony that was unique, beautiful, authentic to who we are and very touching. We'd recommend her to anyone who is interested in having an honest and intimate ceremony that illustrates very openly the feelings you share and would like to share with your guests.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
naomi
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jude Smith was so wonderful to work with. Through all of the planning she worked to help create the most wonderful ceremony we could have dreamed of. Our guests raved about her and could not stop talking about how great our ceremony was; especially for Jude. Her time, care, patience, friendliness and professionalism put in, was exactly what we felt we needed in the person fulfilling such an important life event.

Thank You Jude!
Mr. and Mrs. Johnston
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandi
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Rev. Jude is an amazing officiant. She created a ceremony that was full of meaning and splendor. My husband and I wanted our ceremony to speak to who we are and how we feel. She took our stories and wove them into a ceremony that truly expressed our love for each other. It was magical!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Our ceremony really was the best part of the entire wedding, just as it should be. We had countless people come up to us to tell us what a great job Jude did, how the ceremony was so touching, how they couldn't help but cry, and even how it was the best ceremony they had ever attended. Besides that feedback, my husband & are just so happy with the connection we have made with Jude, with the way she somehow made us feel even closer than we already did, and with the way she captured us, our love, and managed to use just the right wording to express emotions that can be difficult to express. We will forever be grateful for meeting her, starting our married lives with her, and for having Jude as our officiant. We could not have chosen wiser!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jretzer76
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Rev. Jude? This woman is amazing! She spent so much time with us to make our ceremony personalized to us. Nothing was prescriptive or forced but rather a lovely dialog and exchange of ideas. She really loves each couples story and spends time with them to hear ecerything about their love - so much time by the end she feels like part of the family and she is someone you want to share your most cherished day with.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HeatherB
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a loving, warm, caring, intimate wedding ceremony look no further than Reverend Jude Smith
Rev Jude was so flexible with ceremony, basing it on how we wanted it not societal standards. our ceremony was tailored to us making it so much more meaningful. She asked the right questions in order to get our story. Changes were even made the day of the ceremony because of changes in participation by some of our family. Jude went with the flow and incorporated all and then some.I would HIGHLY recommend her if you are looking for a ceremony that you will cherish for a lifetime
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle Nicole
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Jude did an excellent job with our ceremony, making it custom to how we wanted and how our families (of various religious backgrounds) requested. She found the perfect median and we received many compliments from our family after the ceremony. Jude was very warm and welcoming, and she was also able to educate us on the process. She sat down with us for multiple meetings and assured that we were both comfortable with the ceremony. I would definitely recommend Jude Smith as a wedding officiant.
Services Used: Officiant

DEALS

Wedding Wire Special Offer!
Get Deal
Promo Code: WW   $70 Value
Experience the beauty of a handcrafted ceremony that will touch your heart in ways that are sacred, elegant, meaningful, and transformative, and enjoy a 10% savings on fees when mentioning this ad and Wedding Wire during our initial contact.
Deal #WWec79f039605101f8
220x220_1324678047293-garciarosen0317220x220
Short and Sweet and Sacred
Get Deal
Promo Code: SSS   $700 Value
Although I specialize in highly customized wedding ceremonies, I understand that many couples may wish for something far less formal and customized, but no less elegant and sacred. For those more informal unions, I invite you to contact me so that we can explore how to turn your special moment into an event you'll cherish, with a fee designed to feel comfortable.
Deal #WWd4efc45e33edb759
220x220_1324678535848-mmjmay0712220x220

MAP

 
PO Box 45, Rhinebeck, NY 12572 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Jude Smith - Interfaith Minister
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1324419024258-rosenwedding4x6