130x130 sq 1372129692242 b02g0244a touched up 5x7

Rev. Linda McWhorter - Weddings and More!

Austin , TX

LOCATION

7310 Manchaca Road, Suite 152308
Austin, TX 78715 US (map)

PHONE

512-348-8045

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Where is Your Dream Ceremony?

Wherever you plan to share your vows of commitment and love with your beloved, whether it is in a park or a church, in the hill country or on the... Read more
Where is Your Dream Ceremony?

Wherever you plan to share your vows of commitment and love with your beloved, whether it is in a park or a church, in the hill country or on the beach, on the Greenbelt or a kayak in the middle of Lady Bird Lake, or at the lovely Chapel Dulcinea - I will help you create a ceremony which perfectly reflects your personality, your love and your life.

I work WITH you to create a personalized ceremony that is uniquely you - that reflects your personality as a couple; that reflects you lifestyle, your desires, your needs and your wishes.

THE PROCESS - WHAT YOU GET FOR YOUR MONEY:

Based on information from our first conversation, I will personalize a ceremony just for you, email you a draft for your review, and make any changes you request.

After our first meeting, I will provide you with my customized The Wedding Idea Book which provides over 25 pages of readings, sample vows, various rituals, family blessings and other ceremony elements to help us create your unique and individualized ceremony.

Several weeks before the ceremony I will email you with the complete script of your ceremony - from my opening Words of Welcome to your recessional at the end of the ceremony - so that you will know exactly how your ceremony will flow and proceed. Your satisfaction in every detail is my goal!

I want you to be totally satisfied with the professional services that I provide that make your wedding day and Ceremony one to share and remember for years to come.

Your special day deserves a caring professional who is inclusive and affirming to all people regardless of age, ethnicity, faith preference or lifestyle.

You can be certain I will co-create with you to plan and celebrate your ceremony and make it truly yours in every way!



PROFESSIONAL FEES:

Weddings and Commitment Ceremonies $325.00 (All ceremonies are individually designed to make it uniquely yours)

Elopements $155.00 (I will meet you at the location you choose)

Chapel Dulcinea Special $220.00

Rehearsal $100.00 (Optional, but recommended for large wedding parties)

Mileage to and from venues outside Austin is at a rate of $0.55 a mile



And, by the way, I am completely Bilingual - I read, write and speak Spanish fluently. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1353634766275 kendalljustin8374
130x130 sq 1337516524883 clairetracywithlinda
130x130 sq 1337737808536 meganandbryan
130x130 sq 1356892723242 ceremony2
130x130 sq 1333933552894 amywedding
130x130 sq 1353632418815 kendalljustin8111
130x130 sq 1353634794539 kendalljustin8442
130x130 sq 1353634809038 kendalljustin8454
130x130 sq 1353634779666 kendalljustin8381
130x130 sq 1353634832743 kendalljustin8531
130x130 sq 1337516617814 dsc8637
130x130 sq 1333933486199 blakeandkarin
130x130 sq 1338214664344 karinandblake
130x130 sq 1333933492294 anneandglennweddingpic
130x130 sq 1337516579382 thewheelersandlinda
130x130 sq 1353633169733 i0389
130x130 sq 1353633210879 i0427
130x130 sq 1353633128805 i0387
130x130 sq 1353633254643 i0429
130x130 sq 1353633301587 i0436
130x130 sq 1353631327253 021
130x130 sq 1353631345506 039
130x130 sq 1353631333476 033
130x130 sq 1353631072960 012
130x130 sq 1333933489332 beachweddingceremonycanopy
130x130 sq 1333933487825 sueandjim
130x130 sq 1337516718491 sarahandjonathanwedding
130x130 sq 1353635791501 349193
130x130 sq 1353635797805 349227
130x130 sq 1353635801671 morenaandnathan1
130x130 sq 1353635810693 morenaandnathan5
130x130 sq 1353635806435 morenaandnathan3
130x130 sq 1355923752729 alexandderrick2
130x130 sq 1355923802023 alexandderrick5
130x130 sq 1355923831306 alexandderrick6
130x130 sq 1355924089422 caraandpaul
130x130 sq 1355924103079 caraandpaul2
130x130 sq 1355924124815 paulandcaraanddoor
130x130 sq 1355924139103 ringsandbible
130x130 sq 1356892724698 louisaanddad
130x130 sq 1356892721112 ceremony
130x130 sq 1356892726574 louisaandmatt1
130x130 sq 1356892730925 mattandlouisa2
130x130 sq 1356892729014 louisa
130x130 sq 1364770847327 ricdeb3
130x130 sq 1364770864080 ricdeb6
130x130 sq 1364770880617 ricdeb10
130x130 sq 1364770989630 ricdeb11
130x130 sq 1364771039834 ricdeb15
130x130 sq 1364771068408 katiejason2
130x130 sq 1364771113691 katiejason4
130x130 sq 1364771154602 katiejason7
130x130 sq 1364771196103 katiejason9
130x130 sq 1364771235912 katiejason10
130x130 sq 1364771262265 kimberlyernesto1
130x130 sq 1364771269796 kimberlyernesto2
130x130 sq 1364771277279 kimberlyernesto3
130x130 sq 1364771284477 kimberlyernesto4
130x130 sq 1364771291045 kimberlyernesto5
130x130 sq 1367606516634 adriana and adam. wedding.3.20.2013 198
130x130 sq 1367606640245 adriana and adam. wedding.3.20.2013 209
130x130 sq 1368297430996 cherly scott 1164
130x130 sq 1368297840727 cheryl scott 1185
130x130 sq 1369514364380 equality
130x130 sq 1369514401479 hamilton wedding 100
130x130 sq 1369514422495 hamilton wedding 118
130x130 sq 1372129949739 b02g0244a touched up 5x7
130x130 sq 1372129982306 b02g0273a cropped w signature
130x130 sq 1372130042492 b02g0331a with signature and cropped 2
130x130 sq 1372130089576 photo
130x130 sq 1372130122015 photo1
130x130 sq 1372130124090 photo3

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Baptist, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Presbyterian, Evangelical
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Yes, of course. Many couples today are choosing to exchange their vows of commitment in venues other than religious. I have officiated weddings in the mountains, on the beach, in a rose garden, a person's home. What is your dream site?
What is your attire for the ceremony?
I dress according to the desires of the couple, and sometimes according to the venue. From very casual to conservative - a simple, conservative suit, a clerical (minister's) robe - white or black, a dress. If it is a very casual ceremony, for instance, on the beach - I'll wear my flip flops!
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Yes, of course. I remind couples that this is YOUR wedding/ceremony, NOT mine! I have templates that I can provide you to give you ideas. But, I feel strongly that the words spoken at any ceremony of commitment, should be yours, not the Officiant's.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes, of course! These are the couple's vows to each other! They should be as personal as they are. I wrote my own vows when I married; I would want nothing less for the couples whose wedding/commitment ceremony I officiate.
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
I do have readings that I can provide, in my customized The Wedding Idea Booklet, for you to choose from. I believe firmly that this is the your ceremony, not mine.
How long are your ceremonies?
The length of the ceremony depends on the elements you desire to include in the ceremony, the number of family members and attendants, the number of attendees. More formal ceremonies that include prayers, singing, music, rituals such as the Sand Ceremony or Unity Candle, or other specialized readings/rituals, may take longer. Intimate, informal ceremonies are generally shorter. Most ceremonies will last anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour, start to finish.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
I am open to providing pre-marital counseling to those whom I marry, but do not require it of couples. I do require an initial interview with both people, to get more insight to their relationship, their reasons for formal commitment to each other, their ideas for their ideal ceremony. I will offer counseling as part of my service. My desire is that every wedding I officiate will be a successful, long-term commitment. To that end, I may counsel a couple, if they are open to it.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
Yes, I believe that pre-ceremony rehearsals are an excellent idea to dispel the inevitable pre-ceremony jitters most couples experience. Going through the ceremony with as many members of the wedding party as possible gives all a better idea of how the ceremony will proceed, and tends be calming especially for first-timers. I do charge a minimal extra fee for Rehearsals. However, I am willing to work with couples on a limited budget on the fee for this service.
Do you supply a sound system?
No, I do not currenly have a sound system available.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Reverend McWhorter is amazing! We had 2 consultations with her prior to the wedding where she was able to gain some information and insight about us and our relationship. We contacted her quite early in our planning process and she drew up our entire ceremony narrative months before the wedding. We were able to provide feedback on the ceremony to help tailor it to our expectations and desires. She is a very kind, caring lady and I would definitely recommend her to anyone! Thank you Reverend Linda!
Reverend McWhorter is amazing! We had 2 consultations with her prior to the wedding where she was able to gain some Read more...
Reverend McWhorter is amazing! We had 2 consultations with her prior to the wedding where she was able to gain some information and insight about us and our relationship. We contacted her quite early in our planning process and she drew up our entire ceremony narrative months before the wedding. We were able to provide feedback on the ceremony to help tailor it to our expectations and desires. She is a very kind, caring lady and I would definitely recommend her to anyone! Thank you Reverend Linda! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Catherine
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Linda was the perfect officiant for us. We don't belong to a church and were not getting married in one, so we went to the Internet to find the person who was going to marry us. We wanted a secular but very meaningful ceremony and Linda was happy to give us any type of ceremony we desired. We had a good feeling from Linda right away; she immediately responded to our email and asked us to chat on Skype with her (since we don't live in Austin). I think we probably chatted with her for about an hour and immediately felt at ease. We met in person a few weeks later in Austin and she was very flexible with the date and time. While she's only performing a 20-30 minute job, it was really important for her to get to know us so that she could make our ceremony special and sincere, and we really appreciated that. We got compliments all night about the length, content, and meaningfulness of the ceremony. Linda also has a great book of readings and ceremony ideas that helped us a lot in crafting our ceremony.
Linda was the perfect officiant for us. We don't belong to a church and were not getting married in one, so we went to the Read more...
Linda was the perfect officiant for us. We don't belong to a church and were not getting married in one, so we went to the Internet to find the person who was going to marry us. We wanted a secular but very meaningful ceremony and Linda was happy to give us any type of ceremony we desired. We had a good feeling from Linda right away; she immediately responded to our email and asked us to chat on Skype with her (since we don't live in Austin). I think we probably chatted with her for about an hour and immediately felt at ease. We met in person a few weeks later in Austin and she was very flexible with the date and time. While she's only performing a 20-30 minute job, it was really important for her to get to know us so that she could make our ceremony special and sincere, and we really appreciated that. We got compliments all night about the length, content, and meaningfulness of the ceremony. Linda also has a great book of readings and ceremony ideas that helped us a lot in crafting our ceremony. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Kailey
Wedding:
4/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Linda was wonderful to work with. When looking for an officiant we needed someone who was bilingual in Spanish and English and could incorporate cultural aspects to include my husbands family in the wedding. Linda listened to all of our requests and was never pushy. She made as many revisions as necessary until we were comfortable. By no fault of her own, the only aspect that could have been improved was to include a mic for our guests in the back rows (of our outdoor wedding) to hear her beautiful ceremony. I highly recommend Linda to any couples!!
Linda was wonderful to work with. When looking for an officiant we needed someone who was bilingual in Spanish and English Read more...
Linda was wonderful to work with. When looking for an officiant we needed someone who was bilingual in Spanish and English and could incorporate cultural aspects to include my husbands family in the wedding. Linda listened to all of our requests and was never pushy. She made as many revisions as necessary until we were comfortable. By no fault of her own, the only aspect that could have been improved was to include a mic for our guests in the back rows (of our outdoor wedding) to hear her beautiful ceremony. I highly recommend Linda to any couples!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Liz
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
I don't know what I would have done without Linda. She was amazing from the moment we met to our final farewell. I found Linda online after doing quite a bit of research. Based on her other reviews and webpage, I thought she would be a good match for me and my husband. We met her at a local coffee shop and I knew right away that she was the perfect person to marry us. She was so patient and caring and made us feel special. She went over details I wouldn't have even thought about and worked closely with us to create an amazing ceremony. She was able to personalize it after getting to know us and gave us great recommendations on sample vows and other traditional ceremony practices. She made it super easy for us to change the details of our ceremony by sharing a digital copy of the entire written ceremony. She kept us on track over months of planning, and always made sure we were happy with what was written.

On the day of the wedding, she made me feel calm and relaxed knowing that she would make sure the ceremony went smoothly. She arrived early and made sure she met all of our family and wedding party. We didn't have a rehearsal prior to the wedding, but the day still flowed perfectly with her help. Linda has an amazing heart and truly understands how to create a custom and unique wedding ceremony for anyone. She was an absolute pleasure to work with!
I don't know what I would have done without Linda. She was amazing from the moment we met to our final farewell. I found Read more...
I don't know what I would have done without Linda. She was amazing from the moment we met to our final farewell. I found Linda online after doing quite a bit of research. Based on her other reviews and webpage, I thought she would be a good match for me and my husband. We met her at a local coffee shop and I knew right away that she was the perfect person to marry us. She was so patient and caring and made us feel special. She went over details I wouldn't have even thought about and worked closely with us to create an amazing ceremony. She was able to personalize it after getting to know us and gave us great recommendations on sample vows and other traditional ceremony practices. She made it super easy for us to change the details of our ceremony by sharing a digital copy of the entire written ceremony. She kept us on track over months of planning, and always made sure we were happy with what was written.

On the day of the wedding, she made me feel calm and relaxed knowing that she would make sure the ceremony went smoothly. She arrived early and made sure she met all of our family and wedding party. We didn't have a rehearsal prior to the wedding, but the day still flowed perfectly with her help. Linda has an amazing heart and truly understands how to create a custom and unique wedding ceremony for anyone. She was an absolute pleasure to work with! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I enjoyed working with Linda, and we were so pleased with the ceremony on our wedding day. We wrote our own vows, and Linda asked just the right questions to prompt our creativity. Linda provides a variety of materials to look through, and we found one of our readings from her collection. This reading led us to a deeper understanding of our wedding vows and inspired the theme for the ceremony. Linda is a gentle, patient and kind person, and she is VERY experienced. We felt like we were in really capable hands, and we highly recommend Linda to others.
My husband and I enjoyed working with Linda, and we were so pleased with the ceremony on our wedding day. We wrote our own Read more...
My husband and I enjoyed working with Linda, and we were so pleased with the ceremony on our wedding day. We wrote our own vows, and Linda asked just the right questions to prompt our creativity. Linda provides a variety of materials to look through, and we found one of our readings from her collection. This reading led us to a deeper understanding of our wedding vows and inspired the theme for the ceremony. Linda is a gentle, patient and kind person, and she is VERY experienced. We felt like we were in really capable hands, and we highly recommend Linda to others. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Stacey
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
So impressed with Rev. Linad! Out of every vendor I worked with for our wedding; hair, make up, dress shopping etc,no one was as special or attentive as our officiant Linda. She was amazing. From the first time my fiance and I met her, she made us feel so comfortable and it was clear to see she came from a very warm and loving place. It was refreshing for us to find an officiant that was a spirtiual and godly person but, open minded and non-judgmental of all walks of love because that is important to both Josh and I. She is truly a special person. Our wedding day went as smoothly as possible and she made our ceremony so beautiful and personalized for us. It was very meaningful and felt from the heart. Thank you Reverend Linda for guiding us through this important time in a couples relationship. We will refer you to anyone who needs a service you can provide.
So impressed with Rev. Linad! Out of every vendor I worked with for our wedding; hair, make up, dress shopping etc,no one Read more...
So impressed with Rev. Linad! Out of every vendor I worked with for our wedding; hair, make up, dress shopping etc,no one was as special or attentive as our officiant Linda. She was amazing. From the first time my fiance and I met her, she made us feel so comfortable and it was clear to see she came from a very warm and loving place. It was refreshing for us to find an officiant that was a spirtiual and godly person but, open minded and non-judgmental of all walks of love because that is important to both Josh and I. She is truly a special person. Our wedding day went as smoothly as possible and she made our ceremony so beautiful and personalized for us. It was very meaningful and felt from the heart. Thank you Reverend Linda for guiding us through this important time in a couples relationship. We will refer you to anyone who needs a service you can provide. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Johanna
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Linda responded to our first email immediately and provided us with all necessary information. We set up our first meeting with her and were very pleased. Linda asked us a lot of questions to make our ceremony as personal as possible.
She was very interested and shared many creative ideas with us which was very helpful.
A few days after the meeting we already received the first draft of the ceremony. She included us in the process and provided us with a booklet of poems, songs and other ideas to choose from. She stayed in touch with us throughout, sending reminders and tips, which I truly appreciated!!!
She arrived early the day of the wedding, had our vows printed out for us and everything organized. We didn't have to worry about anything!
Now let me tell you about the ceremony: IT WAS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!! We could have not asked for a better officiant! Linda was very professional, and the ceremony was very personal and touching.
She not only gets 5+ stars from us but from my wedding guests as well. A lot of them were asking about her after the wedding and told us how absolutely wonderful she was.

Thank you so much Linda! We appreciate you more than you know!!!
Linda responded to our first email immediately and provided us with all necessary information. We set up our first meeting Read more...
Linda responded to our first email immediately and provided us with all necessary information. We set up our first meeting with her and were very pleased. Linda asked us a lot of questions to make our ceremony as personal as possible.
She was very interested and shared many creative ideas with us which was very helpful.
A few days after the meeting we already received the first draft of the ceremony. She included us in the process and provided us with a booklet of poems, songs and other ideas to choose from. She stayed in touch with us throughout, sending reminders and tips, which I truly appreciated!!!
She arrived early the day of the wedding, had our vows printed out for us and everything organized. We didn't have to worry about anything!
Now let me tell you about the ceremony: IT WAS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!! We could have not asked for a better officiant! Linda was very professional, and the ceremony was very personal and touching.
She not only gets 5+ stars from us but from my wedding guests as well. A lot of them were asking about her after the wedding and told us how absolutely wonderful she was.

Thank you so much Linda! We appreciate you more than you know!!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Linda McWhorter - Weddings and More! responded with the following comments:

Johanna and Nguyen,
You two were a joy to work with and work for. And, it was great meeting your families and friends. There were so many highlights in the ceremony for me, two of the most memorable was when your dad, Johanna, trembling, shook Nguyen's hand and told him how happy he was that he was marrying his daughter (I almost lost it then, but had to stay professional!) and when the Wind gods kicked up to bless your marriage, affirming to you Nguyen and all the other windsurfers in attendance, that indeed your marriage is blessed by the gods and goddesses! Thank you for choosing me to be your Officiant. I will always remember your wedding day! - Rev. Linda McWhorter
Default vendor profile pic
Brandon
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Rev. Linda McWhorter made our special day exponentially better!! We came from out of state, with the stress of that on our plates it was wonderful not to have to worry about how our ceremony was going to sound. We met with her via Skype in advance and after she got to know us, she went through every detail of the ceremony. We had more than enough options to chose from and Linda was very helpful in making sure our ceremony matched the kind of people we were. I would recommend Linda to anyone!!
Rev. Linda McWhorter made our special day exponentially better!! We came from out of state, with the stress of that on our Read more...
Rev. Linda McWhorter made our special day exponentially better!! We came from out of state, with the stress of that on our plates it was wonderful not to have to worry about how our ceremony was going to sound. We met with her via Skype in advance and after she got to know us, she went through every detail of the ceremony. We had more than enough options to chose from and Linda was very helpful in making sure our ceremony matched the kind of people we were. I would recommend Linda to anyone!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Linda McWhorter - Weddings and More! responded with the following comments:

Brandon, planning any event, but especially a wedding from out of town is a challenge. But, you and Melinda were gems to work with. You were so flexible and easy to work with. You knew just what you wanted, and your love story made me cry. Thank you for allowing me the honor of being your Officiant. I hope your wedding memories of Austin and Chapel Dulcinea will remain with you forever. They will always be part of my memory. Love to you both,
Rev. Linda McWhorter
Default vendor profile pic
daniella
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this woman. She was like an angel from heaven. She became our friend, mentor, counselor and organizer. She kept everyone organized and calm. I couldn't imagine the day without her.

We love you Linda!
Daniella y Wilfredo
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this woman. She was like an angel from heaven. She became our friend, mentor, Read more...
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this woman. She was like an angel from heaven. She became our friend, mentor, counselor and organizer. She kept everyone organized and calm. I couldn't imagine the day without her.

We love you Linda!
Daniella y Wilfredo Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Linda McWhorter - Weddings and More! responded with the following comments:

Your wedding was one of the most romantic and memorable I have ever officiated. When Wilfredo read his beautiful hand-written, from-the-heart vows to you in Spanish, Daniela, I thought I would cry. And, the look of love on your face, Daniela, as you spoke your vows to Wilfredo, was unforgettable! Thank you for the privilege of being witness to so much love and tenderness. May you always be so much in love with each other. - Rev. Linda McWhorter
Default vendor profile pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/13/2013
5.0/5.0
This was both of our second marriages and we were bringing 3 sons together between us. We wanted a very small, intimate family affair. We did not want anything religious, just a blending of two families and the love we share amongst all of us. Linda did a fabulous job honoring our wishes and making it a very special night.
This was both of our second marriages and we were bringing 3 sons together between us. We wanted a very small, intimate Read more...
This was both of our second marriages and we were bringing 3 sons together between us. We wanted a very small, intimate family affair. We did not want anything religious, just a blending of two families and the love we share amongst all of us. Linda did a fabulous job honoring our wishes and making it a very special night. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Rev. Linda McWhorter - Weddings and More! responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your kind words, Lisa. It was my sincere honor and pleasure to be your Officiant and in the presence of so much love and emotion at your very intimate and emotion-filled wedding ceremony. You and Jon have a fine family of boys, and a profound love that made me cry with joy for you!

DEALS

Discount for Full Time Students and Active Duty Military
Get Deal
Promo Code: enter promo code   $295 Value
Full time students and active duty military receive $50.00 off the regular Officiant fee of $295.00. Sorry, but discount does not apply to fees for Elopements, Rehearsals, or mileage to out-of-town venues.
Deal #WW59095531bfc1107b
220x220 1369514838560 hamilton wedding 118
Discounts available for Military and Full time students
Get Deal
Promo Code: SAVE   $350 Value
Full time students and active duty military receive $50.00 off the regular Officiant fee of $245.00. Sorry, but discount does not apply to fees for Simple Ceremonies, Elopements, Rehearsals, or mileage to out-of-town venues.
Deal #WW87b955c21f02ef1c
220x220 1341763586066 blakeandkarin

MAP

 
7310 Manchaca Road, Suite 152308, Austin, TX 78715 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rev. Linda McWhorter - Weddings and More!
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1372129692242 b02g0244a touched up 5x7