130x130 sq 1262304527877 razquartet3

RIBBONS & STRINGS ENSEMBLES - Razumovsky Quartet, Triad Trio, Debonair Duo

Boulder , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Boulder, CO 80305 US (map)

PHONE

303-554-0274

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

RIBBONS and STRINGS ENSEMBLES consist of THREE FABULOUS STRING ENSEMBLES; RAZUMOVSKY STRING QUARTET, TRIAD STRING TRIO, and DEBONAIR STRING DUO!
IT REALLY IS ALL ABOUT YOU - AND... Read more
RIBBONS and STRINGS ENSEMBLES consist of THREE FABULOUS STRING ENSEMBLES; RAZUMOVSKY STRING QUARTET, TRIAD STRING TRIO, and DEBONAIR STRING DUO!
IT REALLY IS ALL ABOUT YOU - AND THE MUSIC TOO! Elegant and exquisite STRING MUSIC and equally elegant RIBBONS. We are the WEDDING MUSICIANS EXTRAORDINAIRE! Visit our website and see why.


RAZUMOVSKY STRING QUARTET is the standard string quartet with TWO violins, ONE viola, and ONE cello. TRIAD STRING TRIO has three different possible combinations of instruments (your choice of course); 1) ONE violin, ONE viola, and ONE cello; 2) TWO violins and ONE cello; and 3) TWO violins and ONE viola. Combinations 1 and 2 may be employed within the SAME performance because I play the viola and violin and therefore I am able to switch back and forth, no problem. DEBONAIR STRING DUO consists of any two of the following instruments: TWO violin, TWO violas, ONE cello.
We offer 1) traditional wedding music; 2) non-traditional; 3) a combination of traditional and non-traditional; and/or 4) theme weddings such as a royalty theme, Renaissance theme etc. Just let us know what you have in mind. You will notice that we have lots of Mozart, Beethoven etc., as you would expect for string ensembles, but we also have Broadway tunes, Celtic music, movie music, dance and ragtime including waltzes, folk music, and rock including Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix. Of course, we have all of the great wedding music you could possibly want! You have the music YOU want when you hire us. Don’t hesitate to get in touch with me to have your questions answered and to talk about your wedding and its music. I will help you plan the music as much or as little as you’d like me to. We offer IN PERSON listening sessions to help you choose your music. YOUR MUSIC, YOUR WAY? Hire us! Read less
Ceremony Music , Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1262301805893 chin3
130x130 sq 1262302028549 triadtrio1
130x130 sq 1262302118955 debonairduo2
130x130 sq 1262302155955 debonairduo1
130x130 sq 1262302196736 aaapic27
130x130 sq 1262302237768 instruments1

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Medium (4-6 musicians), Small (1-3 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
Acoustic, Classic Rock, Classical, Dance, Folk, Jazz, Oldies, Pop, Rock, Strings
Do you have liability insurance?
No
What is your band's usual attire?
Black formal attire. We usually wear very dressy black slacks/skirts and blouses. The fabric is usually black silk/satin or black velvet. We will wear less formal attire if the client wishes that.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, we have couple's evenings. You can come and listen in a friendly and casual atmosphere in which we play for you and help you choose music for your wedding. We also offer a CD in addition to our on line sound files. See out site.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Of course, anytime. I am a professional music arranger so you may count on a good arrangement of the song(s) you want.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
1/2 hour.
How much space do you usually require?
10 - 14 feet by 10 - 14 feet roughly, depending on which ensemble you hire. We can also make it work with a similar amount of total square feet but in a rectangle rather than a square.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
We have one. The client decides whether we have it with us or not. Usually not at weddings, usually at fund raisers.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer an extra touch of elegance besides our music. You let us know your wedding colors, and we have our instruments decorated to match with beautiful ribbons. It makes your wedding pictures even more fun since we match with your color scheme.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
No, not unless you want us to. We have introduced special songs, like couple's first dance etc., and we have introduced the couple and wedding party before, but generally not between each song.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Play dance music and remind them. Many of our performances are not for dancing, but for dinner or ceremonies, cocktail hours.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
It depends on the length of the performance, the distance from Denver/Boulder and if we are playing for the dinner or not. Let's talk.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
No, our breaks are not that long.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
We have alternate musicians who know the repertoire so this is not a problem.
What is your overtime rate?
Our rates are simply so much per the first hour and then the rate is by the 1/4 hour after that. See price lists.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We do not charge for travel expenses if the wedding is within the Boulder/Denver metro area. The cost for travel out of these areas depends on where and the time of year. Let's talk about it. It also depends on which group you hire. We only charge for performances OUT of the Denver/Boulder metro area.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Usually $300.

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Trio, String - Quartet, String - Quintet, String - Trio
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Flute, Guitar, Piano, Trumpet, Viola, Violin
What is your usual attire?
Black formal attire. We usually wear very dressy black slacks/skirts and blouses. The fabric is usually black silk/satin or black velvet. We will wear less formal attire if the client wishes that.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, we generally have clients come to a couple's listening session to choose some of their music. We perform form you live at these sessions and help you select music.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
1/2 hour.
How much space do you usually require?
10 by 14 feet by 10 by 14 feet approximately.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We do not charge for travel expenses if the wedding is within the Boulder/Denver metro area. The cost for travel out of these areas depends on where and the time of year. Let's talk about it. It also depends on which group you hire. We only charge for performances OUT of the Denver/Boulder metro area. 

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
9/8/2007
4.7/5.0
The trio added just the ambiance we wanted for our wedding and it helped make it the perfect day.
The trio added just the ambiance we wanted for our wedding and it helped make it the perfect day.
The trio added just the ambiance we wanted for our wedding and it helped make it the perfect day. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Christine
Wedding:
1/8/2010
4.6/5.0
We had some extra money left over from our budget, and so we decided to get some live music!They were very professional and sounded great. We were very please overall with them.
We had some extra money left over from our budget, and so we decided to get some live music!They were very professional Read more...
We had some extra money left over from our budget, and so we decided to get some live music!They were very professional and sounded great. We were very please overall with them. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Karen
Wedding:
10/19/2013
4.5/5.0
The music sounded wonderful at my wedding! It was so elegant and the sound carried wonderfully. The quartet was on-time and professional. I would definitely recommend using this quartet for your wedding ceremony! The online booking is a nice process, just be sure to keep track of what you owe and what you paid. The "Gigmaster" website wasn't updated reflecting changes in pricing and payments made. Deb was quick to fix this however and it all worked out well.
The music sounded wonderful at my wedding! It was so elegant and the sound carried wonderfully. The quartet was on-time Read more...
The music sounded wonderful at my wedding! It was so elegant and the sound carried wonderfully. The quartet was on-time and professional. I would definitely recommend using this quartet for your wedding ceremony! The online booking is a nice process, just be sure to keep track of what you owe and what you paid. The "Gigmaster" website wasn't updated reflecting changes in pricing and payments made. Deb was quick to fix this however and it all worked out well. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
10/20/2007
4.2/5.0
The Razumovzky String Quartet played for our "Legacy Dinner" at the Denver Center for Perfoming Arts (not a wedding). They were great- very friendly, well-prepared and the music was beautiful. They were exactly what we were looking for.
The Razumovzky String Quartet played for our "Legacy Dinner" at the Denver Center for Perfoming Arts (not a wedding). They Read more...
The Razumovzky String Quartet played for our "Legacy Dinner" at the Denver Center for Perfoming Arts (not a wedding). They were great- very friendly, well-prepared and the music was beautiful. They were exactly what we were looking for. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Wwnetwork 128
alexis
Wedding:
10/12/2013
3.7/5.0
Ribbons and Strings played beautiful music for my wedding ceremony. We used an unconventional quartet, including a harp. We had them play some traditional wedding songs along with some lesser known hymns. They worked well with our priest just before the ceremony to pick up the queues on when to start and stop a variety of songs.

One thing that could have gone better, and I know that I should have been more on top of things, but the group leader did not receive my check before the wedding. I was called the morning of the wedding and asked for a check. I was caught off guard, but we handled it accordingly.

Overall, the music was great. Just be patient with the business side of things.
Ribbons and Strings played beautiful music for my wedding ceremony. We used an unconventional quartet, including a harp. Read more...
Ribbons and Strings played beautiful music for my wedding ceremony. We used an unconventional quartet, including a harp. We had them play some traditional wedding songs along with some lesser known hymns. They worked well with our priest just before the ceremony to pick up the queues on when to start and stop a variety of songs.

One thing that could have gone better, and I know that I should have been more on top of things, but the group leader did not receive my check before the wedding. I was called the morning of the wedding and asked for a check. I was caught off guard, but we handled it accordingly.

Overall, the music was great. Just be patient with the business side of things. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
RIBBONS & STRINGS ENSEMBLES - Razumovsky Quartet, Triad Trio, Debonair Duo responded with the following comments:

As the manager, I dislike asking clients for payment near the wedding date. Therefore, our contract states clearly that the final payment is due ONE week before the wedding. As the manager, I pay the musicians on the wedding day and hence I need to have the money in the account in order to pay them. I actually reminded this client before the wedding day, (3 or 4 days before) and asked her to pay on line so the balance would be taken care of and we'd have no worries. When it wasn't there by the wedding date, I had no choice but to call with a reminder. The wedding did go well in terms of having great cues from the priest etc.
Default vendor profile pic
Paige
Wedding:
5/24/2014
3.3/5.0
Ribbons & Strings played in a string trio for our wedding. We had an outdoor wedding and you could easily hear their beautiful strings during the ceremony. Our main contact was Deb and while there was a little mis communication when we flew out to Boulder to meet with our vendors, one of them being her and unfortunate circumstances made it so we weren't able to meet, she did jump on emailing and calling us right away when she was able to, to ensure she knew what we wanted for our ceremony. She was great with working on a song they learned for us as it wasn't in their musical line up and the trio played effortlessly during the entire ceremony. Especially for doing a destination wedding it was hard planning everything being in Texas for a wedding in Colorado, but you can trust if you use Ribbons & Strings that they will make the music wonderful for the wedding of your dreams.
Ribbons & Strings played in a string trio for our wedding. We had an outdoor wedding and you could easily hear their Read more...
Ribbons & Strings played in a string trio for our wedding. We had an outdoor wedding and you could easily hear their beautiful strings during the ceremony. Our main contact was Deb and while there was a little mis communication when we flew out to Boulder to meet with our vendors, one of them being her and unfortunate circumstances made it so we weren't able to meet, she did jump on emailing and calling us right away when she was able to, to ensure she knew what we wanted for our ceremony. She was great with working on a song they learned for us as it wasn't in their musical line up and the trio played effortlessly during the entire ceremony. Especially for doing a destination wedding it was hard planning everything being in Texas for a wedding in Colorado, but you can trust if you use Ribbons & Strings that they will make the music wonderful for the wedding of your dreams. Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
RIBBONS & STRINGS ENSEMBLES - Razumovsky Quartet, Triad Trio, Debonair Duo responded with the following comments:

Ribbons and Strings want to thank Paige for providing a review for us. The unfortunate circumstances were that I had a bad case of the flu which made me bed-ridden. We certainly enjoyed performing for the wedding and of course, the scenery in Estes Park was spectacular as always.
Default vendor profile pic
chicago05
Wedding:
9/14/2011
2.7/5.0
I have tried to avoid writing a review, mainly because my wife and I were not exactly thrilled with Ribbons and Strings. After being asked over and over again, I am finally going to say our peace.

Our experience was extremely mixed. I will start with the good. We had a mixed quartet (violin, cellist, piano and guitar). Deb put us in touch with some great musicians (that was her main value, honestly) and they arranged some music we asked for (which was extremely hit or miss).

Our processional and first dance arrangements were lovely. Our recessional...well, they forgot what we asked them to play and turned a pretty important moment into something extremely awkward. My wife basically had to demand they play the right song since she wasn't walking back to anything else.

The father/daughter song we asked to be arranged was an utter wreck. They literally stopped playing the middle of the song. Oh and finally...the violinist (who was the leader of the group). She kinda was the worst musician of the people we hired. If you can avoid having her play, you ought to since her abilities really kinda of stuck out (especially when compared to the other musicians who were stellar).

When we did our listen in, they didn't have the music completely arranged. If we had heard the trainwreck of the father daughter dance we would have asked for something else or picked a different song to be arranged. I don't know how we could have avoided them screwing up the recessional since we e-mailed what we wanted to them to play well before the wedding.

Honestly, I think the value of hiring Ribbons and Strings is the network of musicians. I think outside of our violinist, the musicians were pretty great. I just think there was a lack of organization and professionalism, which considering how much they cost, was a disappointment.

__________________________________________________________________________________

This group performed our wedding over Labor day weekend. I am more than happy to pass on our contract (which identifies the type of quartet we hired) and pictures of the group to anyone who is interested. I am also more than happy to forward the multiple e-mails we have received asking us to submit a review of the group, including the one sent today. I don't know what else to say except that this is just our opinion, which the group has repeatedly solicited from us. Make of it what you may.

Otherwise, I am at a loss at the response below. I am guessing that if the group couldn't remember performing at a wedding less than a few months ago, a couple might want to reconsider their options. Again, just our opinion.
I have tried to avoid writing a review, mainly because my wife and I were not exactly thrilled with Ribbons and Strings. Read more...
I have tried to avoid writing a review, mainly because my wife and I were not exactly thrilled with Ribbons and Strings. After being asked over and over again, I am finally going to say our peace.

Our experience was extremely mixed. I will start with the good. We had a mixed quartet (violin, cellist, piano and guitar). Deb put us in touch with some great musicians (that was her main value, honestly) and they arranged some music we asked for (which was extremely hit or miss).

Our processional and first dance arrangements were lovely. Our recessional...well, they forgot what we asked them to play and turned a pretty important moment into something extremely awkward. My wife basically had to demand they play the right song since she wasn't walking back to anything else.

The father/daughter song we asked to be arranged was an utter wreck. They literally stopped playing the middle of the song. Oh and finally...the violinist (who was the leader of the group). She kinda was the worst musician of the people we hired. If you can avoid having her play, you ought to since her abilities really kinda of stuck out (especially when compared to the other musicians who were stellar).

When we did our listen in, they didn't have the music completely arranged. If we had heard the trainwreck of the father daughter dance we would have asked for something else or picked a different song to be arranged. I don't know how we could have avoided them screwing up the recessional since we e-mailed what we wanted to them to play well before the wedding.

Honestly, I think the value of hiring Ribbons and Strings is the network of musicians. I think outside of our violinist, the musicians were pretty great. I just think there was a lack of organization and professionalism, which considering how much they cost, was a disappointment.

__________________________________________________________________________________

This group performed our wedding over Labor day weekend. I am more than happy to pass on our contract (which identifies the type of quartet we hired) and pictures of the group to anyone who is interested. I am also more than happy to forward the multiple e-mails we have received asking us to submit a review of the group, including the one sent today. I don't know what else to say except that this is just our opinion, which the group has repeatedly solicited from us. Make of it what you may.

Otherwise, I am at a loss at the response below. I am guessing that if the group couldn't remember performing at a wedding less than a few months ago, a couple might want to reconsider their options. Again, just our opinion. Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
RIBBONS & STRINGS ENSEMBLES - Razumovsky Quartet, Triad Trio, Debonair Duo responded with the following comments:

We apologize to this couple for not playing the correct recessional. We were given a printed program which did not have the recessional song listed. Therefore, we assumed that there had been a change of mind. We certainly did not intend to upset these clients. Couples, please keep in mind that if you give us a program (on the day of your wedding) which differs from anything preceeding that, we will assume that the printed program on the day of is correct unless you tell us otherwise. We can do a lot but, we can't read your minds. We are happy to play the music you want when you want it and we do have the largest repertoire in Colorado for you to choose from.
This wedding was not on Sept. 14th, but on Sept. 4th. I'm not sure why the client has the wedding listed on Sept. 14th on this site. The client also changed their email handle and therefore I didn't know who had provided the review at first.
Default vendor profile pic
Dave
Wedding:
6/7/2008
2.0/5.0
Unfortunately, we cannot recommend the Ribbons and Strings Ensembles. Although they may play beautiful music, they lack professionalism and are difficult to work with. They attempted to overcharge us after signing the contract, confused simple details about the event, and referred to us by the wrong names in our initial communication. Our biggest issue was they did not play for the contracted amount of time. When we confronted them about this, they became defensive and blamed our other vendors. When we informed them that we would not be able to write a positive review on this website, they threatened to involve their attorney.
Unfortunately, we cannot recommend the Ribbons and Strings Ensembles. Although they may play beautiful music, they lack Read more...
Unfortunately, we cannot recommend the Ribbons and Strings Ensembles. Although they may play beautiful music, they lack professionalism and are difficult to work with. They attempted to overcharge us after signing the contract, confused simple details about the event, and referred to us by the wrong names in our initial communication. Our biggest issue was they did not play for the contracted amount of time. When we confronted them about this, they became defensive and blamed our other vendors. When we informed them that we would not be able to write a positive review on this website, they threatened to involve their attorney. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music

MAP

 
Boulder, CO 80305 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for RIBBONS & STRINGS ENSEMBLES - Razumovsky Quartet, Triad Trio, Debonair Duo
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1262304527877 razquartet3