130x130_sq_1348358291424-rich.new.mugtwitter8611

Rich Chapman Wedding and Lifestyle Photographers

Chicago & Suburbs , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Chicago & Suburbs, IL US 60654 (map)

PHONE

847-274-9487

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Weddings and newspaper photojournalism are two photography passions in my life. I feel very blessed that I can apply my creative experience as a staff photographer for the Chicago... Read more
Weddings and newspaper photojournalism are two photography passions in my life. I feel very blessed that I can apply my creative experience as a staff photographer for the Chicago Sun-Times to the bride and groom of today. Today’s couples are asking for real pictures that tell the story of their special day, something that just comes naturally to me. Lucky for us! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1270080971252-lauren.01
130x130_sq_1258687499046-jenny
130x130_sq_1253496852359-jamie.tractor
130x130_sq_1222916944791-nikkiveranda.blog
130x130_sq_1222917012431-francesmike
130x130_sq_1270081099268-lauren.02
130x130_sq_1270081135877-lauren.12
130x130_sq_1270081157674-lauren.13
130x130_sq_1222917152025-sanem.blog
130x130_sq_1222917077119-nikki.blog

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
Two
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I only book one event per day
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I belong to several networks and professional organizations that provide a means for obtaining replacements in an emergency situation.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Canon and Nikon professional DSLR cameras
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
I have back-up gear, even for my back-up equipment
Do you charge for travel?
My standard coverage area is within 50 miles of downtown Chicago. Beyond that area, an additional fee may be required
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
GraphiStudio is my album manufacturer of choice
When will the client get the final album?
Once the bride & groom have given me their final picture choices and are completely satisfied with the design and layout, it typically takes about six weeks for delivery

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
When first meeting Richard he makes you feel totally and completely comfortable. His energy and demeanor are very welcoming. We met at a convenient location for both of us where we discussed the vision for photographing our wedding. He showed us his previous work then asked us to describe the style we were looking for. It didn't take long for all of us to paint a picture of what we wanted, which he eventually ended up capturing to perfection. We set up one more meeting a few days before the wedding to go over must have shots and lay out a schedule for the day. With his experience he offers up a bunch of great ideas that later we were very glad to have.

As for the day of the wedding, Richard went with my wife to gather all the preparation for the wedding while his son joined the men to capture our own preparation. His son did a great job capturing everything on our end being there for every fun moment but never in the way. During our actual ceremony neither Richard or his son were very noticeable. They have an amazing way of blending in to the ceremony while still being able to nail all the perfect shots. When looking back at the photos it almost seemed impossible that they could have been everywhere to gather those moments as only a two man team.

When we gathered after the ceremony, Richard did a great job leading our wedding party and guiding us all into place for the classic formal shots. We had a rather large wedding party and he still managed to get every shot with out taking too much time. Our personal favorite shots came out of the bride and groom photo walk. We were very fortunate to have a beautiful day for photos and Richard used it amazingly to nail some remarkable images. The wedding took place at a country club but the way he used his imagination and creativity he made it seem as if we were off in a beautiful forest preserve somewhere. The work truly does speak for itself.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica (Caywood) Estrada
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of meeting Rich at two of my friend’s weddings, which after seeing their amazing photos I recommended him to my sister. Two years later, I booked him for my own wedding!

Prior to our wedding, Rich met at a convenient location for us and made us feel so comfortable. He brought his portfolio for us to look at and wanted to hear all about our engagement, our “vision,” and everything we wanted our wedding day to be. Having that first meeting with him put me at such ease! He was SO incredibly excited for our day, and so passionate, which only made us more excited.

I recommend making a list of all of the shots you want for that day and meeting with Rich to discuss. I waited until the last minute to do this and had to email it to him, but it would have been great to meet one time right before the wedding. Again, this was all me, not Rich!

The day of the wedding, Rich and his son arrived early and got right to work. They were so attentive to every detail and were absolutely amazing! They are both so pleasant to work with and you barely realize they are there! Looking back at the photos, I had no idea he was even taking some of the shots. He does a fabulous job of capturing every single moment and not being intrusive about it.

While we were on our honeymoon, Rich sent us a slideshow of about 15 of the best shots. I was floored! This was such a great thing to send to our family members for a sneak peak! You also get rights to ALL of your photos. What you should know is that all of the photos are unedited, so if you want certain photos edited you have to ask for them.

Overall, Rich was patient, kind, detail-oriented and beyond passionate about my photos. He made me feel like my wedding was the most important one he’d ever done. I would highly recommend Rich!

Please check out my longer review on other websites, as WW only lets you post so much. I have SO many more amazing details to share! All in all, check out Rich’s photos. They speak for themselves!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie & Bret
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Rich Chapman, by a friend, and are extremely thankful that he was available to photograph our wedding! With approximately 450 guests, we were looking for someone who could be adaptable in many different situations and capture as many moments as possible. After meeting with him and his son, we felt very confident that we had made the right choice. They were so easy to talk to and were interested in what WE wanted.....not just how to get the job done. They kept in contact with us before and after the wedding and were quick to respond to our emails and phone calls.
Rich, his son, and Kent exceeded our expectations by being professional, quick on their feet, creative and most importantly, FUN! They all have this sense of humor and personality that make you laugh and smile. We felt like they were a part of our family and friends. We have also received many compliments on the photos and are brought to tears and laughter every time we look at them. One of our favorite moments (notice I said one) was when he released a sneak peak, short video of our wedding photos! It was amazing! I highly recommend Rich Chapman Photography for your wedding and any other occasion. No question!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Hiring Rich Chapman Photography was one of the best decisions we made throughout our wedding planning process. Rich, his son, and his wife are incredibly professional, personable, and passionate and will do whatever it takes to get the “perfect shot.” From our initial meeting, to the engagement photo session, to the big day, Rich and his team made us feel incredibly comfortable in front of the camera. In all of our pictures, we look like the best possible version of our selves without looking cheesy or fake. The team made sure we got all of the standard shots and then took it to the next level by asking for suggestions and letting their creative juices flow.

One of our favorite parts is that Rich gave us access to all of the digital files. This way, we can print the ones we love now and in 2, 3, or 4 years, we can still go back and print as many as we want.

Overall, you cannot find a better photographer to capture the best moments of your big day than Rich Chapman Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
7/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Rich by a friend. Rich and his son were a great team, and were very friendly, courteous, and professional. Rich is an amazing photographer, who shows passion and perfection in his work. We were very happy with the pictures, and had many comments from friends and family on the quality of his work. We loved many of the candid shots and he captured all the important moments of our wedding. The family and friends group pictures were beautiful. Rich has a talent for getting the photo perfect. We were very happy to have chosen him for our photographer. We highly recommend him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peggy
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Artistic ... very easy to work with ... a story teller ... talented ... enthusiastic ... a real pro! These are just a few words we would use to describe Rich Chapman, our wedding photographer. We knew from our first meeting with Rich, that this kind, energetic, talented photographer was the perfect choice for our wedding. Rich expertly guided us every step of the way from the planning process through the wedding and on into the final photo selection. Rich was always prompt, enthusiastic, professional and accommodating ... willing to do whatever it took to provide us with fabulous photos. Rich didn't just take "pics," he used his extensive photographic expertise and impressive artistic talent to tell our wedding story, and the results are spectacular!

Rich and his son make a great team, and between the two of them we received a bounty of beautiful photos of our wedding in a very timely manner. We highly recommend Rich Chapman and his son to anyone who wants the best for their wedding!

Peggy
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Fabulous! Professional! Great attention to detail! Best Decision we could have made! My husband and I will be forever gratetful for our beautiful and heartfelt wedding memories captured on film by Rich Chapman Photography. The satisfaction and reassurance knowing who our photographer was going to be and that he understood our vision was such a blessing. We were able to enjoy our special day and have confidence that Rich was capturing all the little moments that still bring tears to our eyes and laughter to our hearts. Rich and son made sure we captured all the photos on our "Must have" list and were constantly keeping a look out for creative shots that have turned out to be some of our favorites! Our wedding album is amazing...much better than others I've seen and the whole process of selecting the photos and incorporating our suggestions went very smoothly! Rich worked dilligently to deliver our albums (one for us and two parent books) within 5 months after our wedding (very fast!) so we could wrap them just in time for Christmas. I continue to refer Rich Chapman Photography to friends and am exciting that he will be shooting my brother in law's wedding this month!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
When looking for a wedding photographer we came across a photo of Rich's by searching on google "Chicago skyline wedding photo" and we fell in love with the pictures he had in his portfolio.  We met with him a few times before the wedding and we feel he was very thorough in getting an understanding of the way we wanted our wedding day to be captured.  He is a quirky and genuine person who wants you to have beautiful memories of your day.  We did a first look approach with a photo walk around the city of Chicago and he did such a wonderful job.  He delivered on some seriously stunning photos of our big day.  I love how he prefers to capture moments as they occur rather than staging "posed" photos, however in some instances a little more direction such as "un bottom that top button, your jacket looks funny" would have been nice.  (and that's me just being nit-picky!!). He got so many lovely details of our wedding and really didn't miss one moment of the day.  He was also very accommodating, responded to emails and questions quickly, and got my photos back to me in record time. I would hands down recommend Rich and his son for anyone's wedding or event!  I can't stop getting compliments on the pictures from our wedding day and we had such a great time shooting together.  He is a perfectionist and his work is certainly perfection. 
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
As other reviews have stated, hiring Rich Chapman to photograph our wedding was one of the best decisions we made. After meeting with Rich, who was referred to us from a great friend, it was a no brainer to hire him to photograph our big day. Rich and his son are professional yet have a ease to how they work. Their experience and eye for knowing when they have "the shot" created the most beautiful and lasting memories of our wedding. When my husband and I looked through all the photographs they took, we often commented on how wonderful the pictures were - and also that we barely knew that Rich and Rich had taken them. I think many brides (& grooms) have stood up in weddings where the photographer took away from the day by being weird, pushy, odd, etc. Working with Rich was the absolute opposite. We are so glad Rich was part of our wedding day and we know he'll help to create wonderful memories for many other brides too.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jezande
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Rich and his son Richie were such a pleasure to work with. In fact, it really did not feel like work, and rather that they were an extension of our friends and family. We are unbelievably thrilled with the photos, and photo albums that they compiled - we cannot stop reliving the joy and excitement of our wedding day. The Chapmans had done a few of our very good friends' weddings previously, so we knew we had a great team to work with, but they wildly exceeded our expectations. I am sad the the 'process' is over, but I am confident that I will see Rich and his family again covering more of our loved ones' weddings, and will likely reach out to him when we start expanding our own family - I hear his baby pictures are just as fabulous :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
For my wedding day I wanted to walk away with photographs that would take me back to the beautiful day. Rich Chapman and his team symbolize the power of photography and demonstrate talent which is evident in their work. His genuine, respectful, and hardworking team consisted of his talented son and committed wife. They were willing to go anywhere my husband I wanted to go (including the limo!) and were always ready to capture the perfect shot! From the moment we met Rich, I had no doubt in my mind that he had the professionalism and determination to provide us with the photos that we wanted. Every time I look at my photographs I am brought back to my special day. I can feel the love, passion, and happiness that Rich captured in each photo. I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to work with Rich Chapman Photography in order to capture our special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Rich, his son, and wife were amazing for our engagement photo session and for our wedding day. They truly care about the quality of your pictures and will do anything to make sure that you love your pictures. It was very nice to have someone so passionate about photography take our wedding photos. Rich and his family are extremely thoughtful and talented. I would recommend Rich Chapman to any friend or family member.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Katie
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Rich and his son were absolutely wonderful! Not only is Rich a very caring and personable man, but he and his son were flexible, creative, helpful, and made the most beautiful memories for me and my husband. I would strongly recommend Rich Chapman to ANYONE looking for incredible pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meems21
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I found Rich through my step-mom. She and my Dad had their album done by him (which was beautiful)! Before I met him, I had my heart set on another photographer. However, after meeting Rich and getting to know him and his photography, I was blown away! We walked out of the meeting and I immediately turned to my fiance and told him Rich was our guy! From the time we signed with Rich till the wedding (which was a good 8-10 months), Rich kept in good contact with us making sure he had every detail he needed to help make our wedding day run as smoothly as possible!
As the day grew closer we had another meeting where we met the second shooter (his son, who is just as wonderful as Rich), and went through the entire day and they both made sure that every detail was covered and that we understood what their process will be on the day and how smoothly everything will run. On the wedding day, they were on time and prepared to start shooting! Both photographers made their presence known when it needed to be, but yet they were completely discrete and respectful during the ceremony and still they captured some amazing pictures! The whole day was a blast and the entire bridal party had a ball with Rich and his son. I received so many compliments from guests on how wonderful the photographers were (this way even before they saw the pictures)!
After the day was all said and done, we were able to view the photos on line a couple days later and my husband and I were stunned with the job Rich and his son did. The details in our pictures are amazing and the amount to choose from is overwhelmingly wonderful! We cannot wait to pick out the pictures for our book!
We wish that we could give more then 5 stars because Rich deserves it! We recommend his work 110...no 120%! You will not be disappointed with any aspect of Rich Chapman Photography!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mjantos
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Rich is hands down the best decision we made throughout the wedding planning process (aside from the decision about WHO to marry, of course ;) ). I felt comfortable and safe leaving my memories in his hands, and he did not disappoint. He was imaginative, directive, fun, skilled and a pleasure to work with. He saw shots coming that no one else did, organized everything ahead of time and kept the operations running smoothly. He was prompt about sending the images after our big day, and I felt like I was re-living each moment.

He left nothing out, covered an amazing number of wedding guests and special moments skillfully and artfully. I can't even imagine what I would remember about the wedding without him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kkrusedesigns
Wedding:
9/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Rich Chapman was the most amazing photographer ever! His great attention to detail, lighting, and special moments were spot on. Rich and his assistant and wife Penny, made both me and my new husband feel very comfortable from the very beginning at our first meeting. The day of our wedding, he was so graceful and did a wonderful job of catching all the little special moments that will be treasured for a lifetime. From the bridal prep to candid shots, to ceremony shots, to portrait shots, to detail shots, to reception shots, to romance shots, everything was perfect. There are so many great pictures that we did not even realize were being taken. We couldn't have asked for a better experience with a photographer. I have heard nothing but fabulous comments from friends and family that have seen the pictures as well. My husband and I highly recommend Rich Chapman for any special event. We couldn't be more satisfied with his service.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bblack2
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
My wife and I highly recommend Rich Chapman Photographers for your wedding! First off, they were extremely easy to work with right from the start. They clearly communicated what needed to be done and when he had to be done, yet they listened and fulfilled any of our requests. Rich and his son are truly passionate about their work and they both work extremely hard to capture the day. From the action shots to portrait shots, the quality of the pictures is unmatched with anything we have seen. Furthermore, they were hardly noticed throughout the entire ceremony and reception yet they were still able to capture everything we could have possibly wished for.
Within a week after the wedding, we were able to see over 3000 photos from the day, as well as a video slideshow! They were extremely patient with us and very prompt with any of our post wedding requests as far as obtaining photos and making minor adjustments to any of the photos that we chose for our final album. Finally, the wedding album…words cannot express how happy and impressed we are with their work. The album is amazing! Without a doubt, the best one I have ever seen.
It is true what people say, the day will fly by and there are too many moments for you to even remember. Make sure you capture everything through your photographer… so pick a great one. Again, my wife and I highly recommend Rich Chapman Photographers to capture one of the most important moments of your life! I promise that you will be blown away by their work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Rich Chapman (and son!) was such a pleasure to work with. His passion for wedding photography really shines through and is so evident in the beautiful pictures he takes. His photojournalism point of view tells our personal story of our wedding day. I found Rich to provide a great balance of candid shots as well as the traditional more posed shots. He was assertive in the shots he wanted to get, but also listened our wishes, which is very important in a wedding photographer. We are so pleased with the beautiful pictures we are left with to remember our wedding day. I highly recommend Rich Chapman to capture your wedding day; you will not find a more passionate, caring photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanne429
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Rich through one of our friends that used him for their wedding. As soon as we met with him in person, we knew we had found our photographer! His passion for photography & for weddings is unmatched in his field. He is also very creative & willing to try whatever crazy ideas you may have for pictures! We absolutely loved working with Rich. He shot our engagement pictures in downtown Elgin and spent almost 3 hours with us. On our wedding day even our guests noticed how great he was, before they saw the finished product! Rich, his son Rich, and his wife Penny are a dream team and we would recommend him to any bride and groom!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darel
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked with Rich Chapman for many years at the Sun-Times and was honored when he agreed to photograph our wedding. He was a delightful yet unobtrusive presence throughout the preparations, ceremony and reception. The photos were excellent, abundant and beloved by our guests.

Rich is very responsive to the couple's needs and very flexible in how the photos will be handled. Any wedding party would be lucky to have him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terry
Wedding:
5/25/2010
5.0/5.0
!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Constance
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Richard Chapman and his son, Rich, make a wonderful photography team. From our first sit down, they were very warm and welcoming to talk with and backed up their experiences with an amazing portfolio. I was very upfront with Rich and his son in the beginning advising them that I wanted my wedding to be captured more “in the moment” rather than storybook poses. I wanted to make sure I had a photographer that would let me enjoy my wedding, and not spend hours taking pictures. Richard was wonderful to work with throughout the whole process; he even managed to convince me to add a few more posed photos to the shot list. I never once noticed him during the ceremony or reception. Richard and his son did an amazing job capturing the moment and our photos are wonderful. Even during our photo walk, we had so much fun, I did not realize we were taking pictures for almost an hour! After the wedding was over, Richard immediately set to work and I had the DVD digital negatives of the pictures within a couple weeks in hand. Throughout the entire proofing process for the wedding book, Richard was patient with my revision requests and delivered to me just a few weeks ago the final wedding book. This wedding book is by far the most elegant wedding album I have ever seen. I am one hundred percent satisfied with their work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lnjackson
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Rich Chapman was one of the best decisions we made on our wedding day. We cannot express how much his photographs capture the emotions of our wedding day--they are absolutely stunning. It is so true that your wedding day is over in an instant--but Rich (along with his wife Penny and his son Ritchie) is able to capture the beauty and preserve it so that you can remember all the precious moments. Rich has an eye for beautiful photos and his background in photojournalsim allows him to capture the "story" of the wedding--rather than just than the standard posed shots.

We could not have made a better choice for our wedding photography. Rich did a wonderful job. He was easy to work with and a was a pleasure to have with us our special day. We love our photographs and we will treasure them forever!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MandT
Wedding:
7/31/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I highly recommend Rich Chapman as a photographer for your wedding day. Rich was the first person we interviewed and we hired him on the spot. There were three specific reasons that stand out in my mind as to why we were so impressed with Rich during our conversation. First, we could tell he was passionate about his work. It was clear that he wanted to capture "moments" and tell a story through his pictures, not just take the standard wedding shots. Second, we felt comfortable with Rich. We knew that Rich and his son would be at our side for every emotional moment, and we wanted those moments captured. And third, his portfolio told it all. He is a very talented photographer.
After we hired Rich, we had about three phone calls to discuss the details of the wedding and he came through with every detail I requested. The process was stress-free for me.
The best part about having Rich as our photographer was not just what I described above. The very best part of this whole event is the final wedding book. It is the most amazing storybook ever. Every time we open it, we relive every emotion from that very special day.
Thank you Rich for capturing our day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mjporto22
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Rich is exactly what my wife and I were looking for in a photographer. He listened to what we wanted and had a great understanding of our vision. By taking the time to meet with us a few times before the wedding, Rich was able to give us a few of his ideas as well as listen to the important photographs that we wanted. What we feel makes Rich stand out over other photographers is his passion and enthusiasm. You can tell that he loves being at weddings and understands the importance of his pictures to the bride and groom. On the day of the wedding, Rich never seemed to get in the way but was always catching the perfect moment. He works well with Penny and they are great at finding detailed shots that will amaze anyone. We were both amazed by the photo album that we received after the wedding. Rich gave us the freedom to pick out the pictures that we wanted but used his great artistic skills to produce a wonderful book that we will treasure forever. I would absolutely recommend Rich to anyone that is looking for a fun and outgoing photographer that will capture every important moment of the day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jammers
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier with our decision to work with Rich and his wonderful "crew" on our wedding day. After doing our research and meeting with several reputable photography companies in the Chicagoland area, we were recommended to check out Rich's work by friends. His amazing portfolio spoke for itself. We were sold the minute we met Rich and Penny in person and saw how they clearly pour their passion and love of photography into each couple's wedding day. We loved that they seemed to capture those split second moments that were unposed, candid yet told the whole story of the day. They pay so much attention to detail. Our photo album is unlike any others we have ever seen. Its a big hit already! We are so thankful that we had the opportunity to work with them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mcook
Wedding:
5/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Rich was awesome! He was so flexible and so genuine. He was so happy for us and to be a part of our wedding... it made all the difference in the world. We had so much fun with him! He helped us through the whole process and even when the major rains came on our wedding day, Rich managed to take the most beautiful photos. Looking back, we don't even mind that it rained at all. So many of our guests commented on how hard he worked and the fact that he was literally all over the place to get the best shots... I think he even went under the pews in church at one point : ) Our wedding album is spectacular... people are amazed. It is so artistic and captures the spirit of the day and so many wonderful memories. We will keep it on display in our home forever. You would be definitely be wise to use Rich for your wedding... rain or shine you pictures and album will be absolutely gorgeous!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chancock
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
I was immensely pleased with Rich Chapman and would recommend him highly to other brides looking for quality photography on a moderate budget (or even to brides on a sky's the limit budget!). I like things to look a specific way and can be picky about details. After only a few conversations with Rich (I think there were 3 - one in person, one by phone, and a running conversation via email), he nailed exactly what I wanted. I know he would've been happy to meet with me more, had I wanted to! He was personable, would go to the ends of the earth to capture what I wanted, he turned around some quick snapshots for us the day after the wedding, he is "Chicago" personified (I mean that in a good way)! He was a comfortable presence despite being a stranger in our midst on such a big, emotional day. His son, who tagged along with my husband for photos of him and his family, was all of these things as well. I did not interview other photographers, having received Rich as a recommendation through friends of a coworker. Rich was a gem, and I feel lucky to have worked with him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karrirob
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Richard, Thank you so much for making the memories of our wedding so beautiful. Your wife, son and you were such a pleasure to have around on our big day and could not have made me feel any more like a princess than you did. The poses and pictures turned out wonderful! Just as I thought it couldn't get any more better, you surprised me with this gorgeous wedding album. I have never seen a more beautiful album and based on everyone that I've showns reaction, they haven't either. You are truly a wonderful photographer and it shows how much time and pride you put into your work. Thanks again for everything that you have done in helping us to remember how beautiful our wedding day was.

Love,
Rob and Karri Lemke
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Frances B. Lim
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
For me, my wedding pictures were one of the most important aspects of my wedding. In fact, I was just going through my pictures again to arrange them into yet another photo album! My husband and I hired Rich because of a recommendation from our wedding planner, Emilee Lales (Blush and Bashful). I couldn't have picked anyone better for the job--I didn't even interview other photographers. We met before the wedding to hash out important details, such as our expectations, what our album would look like, places we wanted our pictures taken, pricing, etc. We kept in touch periodically after that via email and phone (we could have met in person again, actually, but my schedule was not conducive to it). It was important that we both had a clear understanding of the types of pictures I wanted and his style, and I never felt like we were on a different page. When we first met, I felt an immediate warmth from Rich, and I knew that he would not only make me, but the rest of my family and wedding attendants feel at ease. I also liked that he works with his family because it lent a personal feel to our interaction, which is what I wanted. The wedding day came, and he and his family were on time (very important), and I met his wife, Penny, who was just as open and warm as Rich! They work very well together professionally, and if Penny saw something Rich didn't, she would point it out, and "fix" it. I left most of the artistic views to Rich and Penny, but Rich always listened to us when we wanted to try something different.
Most importantly, the pictures are gorgeous. The resolution, the colors, the poses, the candid shots--they all tell this incredible story that makes me want to get married again and again, just so I can have Rich document more pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
9/21/2007
5.0/5.0
Rich was a dream to work with. He is a photographer for the Sun Times, and as such, he has an extremely good eye for photographic moments. He has worked there for decades, and is excitedly transitioning into the wedding business. He has a true passion for photography, which reassured me when we selected him as our photographer. Rich took more than 2,700 photos for our wedding (more than twice what most other photographers take), compiled them for us immediately, sent them to us on a DVD 3 weeks after the wedding, gave us complete rights to the photos immediately, and created a very professional and amazing wedding album/photo book that my husband and I look at often. The company he used to make the wedding book is one that Oprah uses to create photo books - I think that speaks for itself! The actual pictures that Rich took were gorgeous, many of them looked like they belonged in a magazine. I 100% recommend Rich and am confident that everyone who goes with him will have great results.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED working with Rich Chapman (and his son, Rich). His passion for his work stood out from the moment of our first meeting. He truly cares about shooting the wedding pictures that you want and is not afraid to come up with unique, fun shots. He is friendly, fun and outgoing - it shows in his work! The photos that he took are fantastic - we have received many compliments from friends/family about them. Highly recommended!!!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Chicago & Suburbs, IL 60654 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rich Chapman Wedding and Lifestyle Photographers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo