130x130_sq_1278098333176-1147

Richard Portrait Artist

Dickinson , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3707 Fatta Drive
Dickinson, TX US 77539 (map)

PHONE

281-337-5015

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Richard Portrait Artist is Galveston County's premier professional photography studio. We serve the entire Houston Metropolitan area and beyond!

Nestled in the piney woods of... Read more
Richard Portrait Artist is Galveston County's premier professional photography studio. We serve the entire Houston Metropolitan area and beyond!

Nestled in the piney woods of Dickinson, TX., Jim Richard provides his clients with more than 25 years of professional photographic experience.

Jim's primary work is professional wedding photography. He has been photographing them since 1987. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1278094609035-1171b
130x130_sq_1278098411848-rpa1
130x130_sq_1278096452629-1133
130x130_sq_1278095868144-1029
130x130_sq_1278095877082-258
130x130_sq_1278096084379-1058
130x130_sq_1278095874098-1144
130x130_sq_1278095874363-1163
130x130_sq_1278098293676-1168
130x130_sq_1278095876848-1166
130x130_sq_1278095879035-334
130x130_sq_1278096085332-1231
130x130_sq_1278098295801-rpa7
130x130_sq_1278096453066-1077
130x130_sq_1278096504644-1068
130x130_sq_1278095868410-1093
130x130_sq_1278098286269-1025
130x130_sq_1278098286535-1006
130x130_sq_1278098288254-1030
130x130_sq_1278098288441-1029
130x130_sq_1278098289926-1085
130x130_sq_1278098290941-1114
130x130_sq_1278098291691-1119
130x130_sq_1278098294316-rpa1
130x130_sq_1278098295019-rpa12

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsBeasley11
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We chose Jim as our photographer for our wedding a couple of weeks ago (9/10/11) as he is the preferred vendor for the venue we booked. As most couples do, we explored our options with other photographers in the area. After trying to make a connection with a few of them regarding an affordable package, Jim was by far the most pleasant and accomodating of all. He was pleased to work with our budget- which others had pretty much dimissed us on, and that's when we knew he was "the one".
Our engagement photo session was enjoyable and fun because he is very easy going but was able to give us good direction to get the shots he wanted (It is my guess that the person who posted the negative review had taken this in the complete opposite way-I just can't believe how someone could be so insulting after our experience with Jim left us with NO complaints at all!)
He arrived at the venue with plenty of time to get lots of great pictures of all the preparation and anticipation- depite the chaos in the bridal suite with my bridesmaids and I! He did a wonderful job of the entire ceremony and captured all of the key points. We've got pictures with the entire family along with our bridal party. We have BEAUTIFUL pictures of the two of us during all of the events (first dance,cutting the cake, etc) and posed outside of our venue. Our favorite are the shots of the guests having fun on the dance floor- you can just see how much they enjoyed themselves and those are priceless.
We were very satisfied with our experience with Jim Richard and his service. He was professional, pleasant, and polite to everyone and takes pride in being an outstanding photographer. We will without a doubt be recommending him to our friends/family and to anyone that wants and appreciates a memorable, first rate experience.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniel&BrendaBarba
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
For our recent wedding (August 26th, 2011), we hired jim to capture the special moments during both the ceremony and reception.Jim arrived on time as agreed and was very professional and polite. (Even when some of our guests kept getting in his way) I constantly thanked jim for his patience for some of the guests and he was very understanding about it.He took plenty of shots before the actual ceremony started and even made time for some solo shots of both of us. During the ceremony it was above 100 degrees! i challenged jim to see if he could take great pictures with us sweating under the texas heat! Jim came through with beautiful ceremony pictures and finished off with some great reception pics. From our first dance to the last dance of the night, jim was there to capture those moments.(even worked half an hour over the agreed time due to we were behind schedule) When choosing the different vendors for our wedding, the one thing my wife and i(mostly me) were unsure of was hiring a professional photogapher for our wedding due to we have several friends that offered to take pictures for us. In the end, my wife and i saw our proofs and we instantly loved them ALL! I am extremely happy that we went with jim and would recommend him to anyone. looking foward to see our final albums and canvas!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Jim was great to work with and very responsive to emails. I was on a budget for our July 15, 2011 wedding and he was able to work with all my requests. He showed up early on the day of the wedding and he accommodated my insanely long list of traditional wedding family photos (i.e. w/grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts & uncles, etc.) I am extremely happy with all of the photos and the fact that I got a CD of the photos to make my own memories in a scrapbook/photo album. This was a super big deal to me because a lot of photography packages will charge you a fortune for their own photo album. He delivers excellent wedding photography and our engagement photos were really nice with the bright green grass and winter backgrounds (we did ours in January). Overall I would highly recommend him for wedding photography, especially at Centurion Palace because he did some amazing shots with the skyline and decorations. Also, I would highly highly highly recommend using him for save the date cards. We were one of his first clients to use this service, and our save the date photo cards turned out amazing and they were less expensive than doing them through an online website. If you are in his office, ask to see the purple wedding save the dates...I promise you will love them! Thanks and best of luck future brides!
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

Thank you Christal for the incredible review. I have to admit that it is so appreciated and welcomed since it follows a not-too-flattering review on this site.

I wish you all the best, and thanks again!
130x130_sq_1315355235354-1174
Angela
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was 5/21/11 at Centurion Palace in Dickinson, TX. Upon booking our wedding, We were given a list of preferred photographers by our vendor. After looking at the work of these different photographers online, we chose to meet with Jim Richard based on the quality of his work. Upon meeting with him at his office, we looked through many albums containing his photo shoots, and based on the quality of his pictures and degree of his professionalism, we knew we had made a good decision in booking him for our wedding. Some folks complain about price when shopping for a photographer, but my husband and I are strong believers in that you get what you pay for. We are very pleased with all our wedding photos and albums. I also want to add that Jim Richard made our wedding invites from an engagement photo shoot we did. They were a huge hit with my family, friends, and coworkers. Our wedding day went by so Fast and all we have left to remember the occasion by are photos, and I am very pleased with the quality. We got so many photos for our price that our home looks like a shrine to our wedding haha. :) But I am proud of each one and want to display them. Jim also offered a few canvas upgrades that turned out wonderful. I highly recommend him and would definitely book him again.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1279178504995-may20102
Jenna
Wedding:
1/15/2011
1.3/5.0
1. I know that Jim has some "reputation" for being a fantastic photographer but professionally he was one of the worst wedding vendors I dealt with. He had a special price that caused us to go with him for the wedding. But never let us forget that the pricing we got was not fair to him? Constantly reminded us of the "deal" we got or that he would never even get out of his office for that price before. Blahhhhh! Yet I remained polite and didn't say anything. Even when the engagement session pictures were not good. I blamed myself and never said anything about the nasty area of the park with all the bird poop. Or that he ruined our clothes by having us on the ground when it was still damp. I never said a word, I just said that I didn't like them and that it must have just been a bad day for US. Whatever!!!

Let me tell all brides out there.... I would have rather paid a homeless man a pint of beer to photograph the wedding!! He did not honor his contract images (by over 25 pictures missing!!) and then blamed ME saying that I didnt give him enough to photograph or told me the other images were useless. His contract was for a MINIMUM of 250 edited images. He gave us 222 and some of those were either blurry or of the flower girl legs in the air! Oh.... but I did get plenty (over 10!) of the one of the guests bending over. It was a running joke when we looked at them at how often he "accidentally" got her bending over in front of the camera.

He offered to "pad" my images with his other useless raw pictures that didn't turn out. Why would I want that? But yet he left when his "time" was up. He told me that I was a never happy bride that was never going to be satisfied (blaming me????). He was wedding intrusive and aggressively demanding to guests and had numerous complaints. Had a few (maybe 2 or 3) pictures that were good enough for me to use in an album.

He never checked out the venue site so when we were doing pictures he had NO clue where to go or any idea of what to shoot. He even blamed the beautiful venue place that it was too dark and had nowhere to go. The place is built with a ton of slate and rocks and has a castle feel??? Are you kidding me? The venue showed me pictures of what a REAL photographer captured and although untraditional (which is what we wanted) the images were fantastic! There are so many lines and angles and beautiful materials he had to work with and never even tried to capture. Everything was straight on. I should have went with their suggestion!! He was not the innovative photographer he made himself seem to be. And to blame a bride for not giving him enough pictures to take? I am absolutely the NON bridezilla bride and was so laid back about everything for that wedding!! Heck, he didn't even take a picture of my shoes!! Doesn't every photographer do that????

Here is the kicker..... a week after I get married he doesn't even know who I am! He doesn't recognize my name!! And he put my maiden name as the wedding name on all of the pictures!!! Even labeled the cd he gave me with my maiden name!! "The maiden wedding"!! OMG!!!

Most pictures were direct on traditional pictures that I could have had my cousin shoot. He didn't have a clue who people were (even my mother!!). Brides and all others..... move on to another photographer for your wedding needs. He is NOT the one you want!!!

We had been so excited about him at first because of all the work he has displayed in various lights and angles. Not what we got. And he can't take responsibility for anything without blaming everyone else for HIS lack of fulfilling the contracted amount of pictures!!!

BRIDES BEWARE!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

While I do appreciate and look forward to honest opinions from my clients (good...and bad), I have to say that I, along with the many other professional vendors listed on this website, don't particularly care for such hateful and totally unfounded reviews such as this one.

My only response to this particular person's review is that I'm not the only vendor who she has complained about (both about her wedding experience on this site, or her car purchase on another), and there was nothing I could have done the night of her wedding to make her happy (as hard as I tried).

While I do my absolute best to provide true professional photography and an overall pleasant experience, there are some folks who are rarely happy about anything and will always look for the negative side to life.

I would like to publicly apologize to this client for the things she is unhappy about, and I promise to all of my future clients that, if given the chance, I will prove that the image depicted of me in this review is totally false.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Jim is absolutely amazing. He shot both my wedding and rehearsal dinner and the proofs are just stunning. He was so easy to work with and always professional. Most importanty, his response time to emails and phone calls is impeccable which is always a relief! I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing a photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much Meghan! I have to admit that the only way I was able to get such great shots was because your wedding was perfectly planned. Your decorations were incredible! But most importantly, everyone attending had SO much fun and it showed in the pictures. I wish you all the best!
130x130_sq_1225943019759-013
Amanda
Wedding:
12/19/2009
5.0/5.0
All I have to say about Jim Richard is that he is an AWESOME photographer!!!!! The wedding day images were the most important to me and I am please with only the proofs that I have received from the wedding. Jim also shot my Bridal and Engagment Pictures and did an amazing job in editing them. I would recommend him to EVERYONE!!!
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the incredible review! It really makes my day to hear that something I absolutely love to do is so much appreciated.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.5/5.0
Jim is an excellent and experienced photographer. He was easy to work with and his final photos were beautiful. All of the guests at our wedding were very impressed with his professionalism and ease at the wedding.

My only compliants are with my bridal portraits and style. I had really hoped to take my bridal portraits outdoors, but it rained on our scheduled day. I would have liked to reschedule or even wait for the rain to pass, but it didn't seem to be an option. Looking back, I am still disappointed in this. Additionally, the style of his photography is very elegant and traditional, but I think we would have liked a little more... spontaneity.
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the very kind review Sarah! I certainly had a wonderful time photographing your wedding. I would like to note that I am a bit confused by the bridal session concerns. I am always willing to reschedule a session if the forecast is not ideal. Of course, we certainly can schedule to do sessions in our studio as well. I wish you guys all the best!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashsul4
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
Although, I still have not received my album book yet (due to the fact that the wedding was very recent) I feel Jim did a great job on the engagement pictures, as well as working with all the family at the wedding. I have been able to review the wedding pictures on a link that he provided us, and they all look great! Also, on that link family and friends can order prints that they want. Very easy to work with, and would refer to others, as well as go back for future pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

Thank you Ashley for taking the time to submit your review. It is very much appreciated!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/5/2007
5.0/5.0
Jim Richard is the best photographer. He was on time, easy to work with and very kind. He captured all of the beautiful moments in my wedding in a very beautiful way! He is absolutly amazing! I highly reccomend him!
Services Used: Photography
Richard Portrait Artist responded with the following comments:

Thank you Jessica! My head is swelling! ha ha. Best wishes. Jim.

MAP

 
3707 Fatta Drive, Dickinson, TX 77539 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Richard Portrait Artist
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo