130x130_sq_1391378599135-kitjoedominican00

rick collins photography

Vancouver , BC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

455 Main Street
Vancouver, BC CA V6A 2T7 (map)

PHONE

604-799-0219

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

World-wide destination wedding specialist Rick Collins is an award-winning international photographer based in British Columbia, Canada.
World-wide destination wedding specialist Rick Collins is an award-winning international photographer based in British Columbia, Canada. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1384580520533-kitjoedominican002
130x130_sq_1384580242892-071908banffweddingphotographer000n
130x130_sq_1209486394436-ww11
130x130_sq_1384580036450-010810booth003
130x130_sq_1384580188236-091408anngeo26
130x130_sq_1384579662924-062312calgaryweddingphotographer000p
130x130_sq_1384579800785-062712gulfislandphotographer000g
130x130_sq_1384579857459-063012gulfislandweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384579817925-062712gulfislandphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384579890436-063012gulfislandweddingphotographer000r
130x130_sq_1384579944272-070512whistlerweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384579964707-070512whistlerweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384580004432-070612whistlerweddingphotographer
130x130_sq_1384580074761-062708disnir30
130x130_sq_1384580539851-kitjoedominican003
130x130_sq_1384580132594-101709carwil00
130x130_sq_1384580288177-040813vancouverphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384580330662-dominicanweddingphotographer000g
130x130_sq_1384580368115-dominicanweddingphotographer000rrrr
130x130_sq_1384580391054-dominicanweddingphotographer000tt
130x130_sq_1384580434674-vancouverweddingphotographer000q
130x130_sq_1384580475684-112210florence0002
130x130_sq_1384580561804-kitjoedominican004
130x130_sq_1384580602963-071313whistlerweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384580648191-080813vancouverweddingphotography000nn
130x130_sq_1384580674962-051913vancouverweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384580689818-062913edmontonweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384580708719-071213whistlerweddingphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384580743486-091413cultuslakephotographer000e
130x130_sq_1384580774385-091413cultuslakephotographer000nn
130x130_sq_1384580791065-architecture000
130x130_sq_1384580841383-emotion000
130x130_sq_1384580914156-engage000
130x130_sq_1384580961009-reception000
130x130_sq_1384581082740-newyorkphotographer000
130x130_sq_1384581120697-newyorkphotographer000r
130x130_sq_1384581212935-intro0000
130x130_sq_1384581251946-intro0000
130x130_sq_1384581276592-intro0000
130x130_sq_1384581301661-intro0001
130x130_sq_1384581338804-2011opening00001
130x130_sq_1384581360788-2011opening0001

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Negatives
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Beautiful photography does not rely on special techniques. Good lighting, timing and compostional skills can only come with years of experience.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I use both.
How many photographers do you work with?
I photograph alone, but work with a variety of assistants.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes, of course.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
No.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
It has never happened, but yes we always have a plan B.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Only the best and current Nikon equipment.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full day.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
None.
Do you charge for travel?
No.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Online gallery in one week.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
I always give high-resolution files on disk.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
I always give high-resolution files on disk.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, but only for my own promotion.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Leather coffee table albums.
When will the client get the final album?
Eight weeks.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rick was the best wedding photographer we could have asked for! He came all the way to Mexico over the holidays. We met for the first time three days before the wedding and got on great. I can't imagine finding anyone other than Rick that would have fit in as well. He felt like another guest, all while making sure our wedding was beautifully documented. Rick was also generally helpful, assisting with ceremony timing and whatnot. Despite capturing so many wonderful moments, I never felt that there was a camera in my face. We recommend Rick without a doubt! You'll be sure to love your photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
From start to finish we were so thrilled with the photography services provided by Rick for our wedding. He has an incredible artistic eye and is truly able to capture the moment while blending into the background. We have had so many compliments from our friends and family as to how amazing the photos are, and we love how they are not the typical staged photos you often get with other wedding photographers. Rick was also incredibly flexible and available for us on the wedding day - capturing the event set up, hiking over rocks and logs to get some amazing pre-ceremony shots of the wedding party, and putting up with some of our wild and crazy guests in the photo booth :) We were so happy with our choice to use Rick, and we feel so lucky to have such quality photos to look back on for many years to come.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eleanor
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
My family and friends to this day still rave about what an amazing photographer Rick was and how great he was to work with.

We were very picky when we set off on our research for a wedding photographer. We didn't want pose-y wedding photography with a keen eye to capture special, candid and even quirky moments of the day. We researched for weeks and saw lots of other portfolios and packages that were pricey and the work wasn't up to snuff -- many others use the Instagram/Hipstamatic touch-up effects when it really masked actual talent and even a great camera/technical skills. The end result with RIck exceeded our expectations.

The package fit our budget. We didn't have a large wedding party but, as Rick said he would, he came early and left late so we weren't watching a clock. He was personable and easy going. We had a BBQ rehearsal dinner the night before and invited Rick to join festivities and he took some amazing shots from that event that we hadn't expected. We got hi-res photos and a beautiful photo book in the end. Rick delivered above and beyond and we'd recommend him for any special occasion. He doesn't advertise as much as others do, so he's a really hidden gem!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Rick's candid, joyful approach captured beautiful images of what happened, who was there ... and why. He was respectfully at our side every step of the way; I can almost guarantee you won't find a more passionate, talented photographer anywhere. The cake and flowers won't last, but your wedding photos show future generations who you are and how much you love each other. Of all the things that led up to our big day, the best decision we made was hiring Rick Collins.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginger
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Rick Collins & his associate Michael DiBari are amazing photographers. Just look at their work & you will be in awwww.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1279380640674-ricksphotoswatch
Sharon
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave enough about Rick and his work. He is amazing, the photos are stunning, artistic and are not your usual wedding shots.

He flew down to Cabo for our wedding, we did a trash the dress shoot the night before and we had sooo much fun. He truly did feel like a part of the family.
He was at the wedding from the start until the very end (and the near the end was when most of best shots were taken!).

I knew the photographs were one of the most important vendors we would have that day and once I saw the photos on Rick's website, I was 100% sold and he did not let us down. He is a true artist and that shows in his work.

You will NOT be disappointed if you book Rick for your wedding!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissamiranda
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
It's not often I would give a vendor 5 stars, but Rick was really unbelievably great. His images are STUNNING, and he caught them all without interrupting the wedding at all. What I loved:

- Stunning pictures, beautifully composed

- Artbook shots of the 2 of us (not a hint of cheese anywhere)

- True photojournalist shooting- he doesn't interrupt anything! Many photogs claim they are photojournalists but then make you re-do the ring exchange after the ceremony. Our shots are all true- very special moments as they actually happened

- He didn't interrupt the wedding one bit and still got all the shots

- He travels everywhere!

- He is flexible so you can work out an option you can actually afford

- He loves shooting. So many other photographers grudgingly do weddings just to pay the bills to shoot other things. Rick stayed through the whole party and dare I say looked like was was having fun.

I'd recommend him to anyone. Hire him!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vicki
Wedding:
12/13/2009
5.0/5.0
I have one word to describe Rick and his wife Cheryl: AMAZING!!!!!! Photography was by far the most important aspect of our wedding and I spent months researching photographers for our destination wedding in Mexico. We wanted to capture the true essence of our day in a photojournalistic and modern style. Rick was absolutely the perfect fit! Not only is he an extraordinarily talented artist, but he and his wife Cheryl have such an amazing energy! I had no idea how important it really was to have someone there to not only take beautiful pictures, but to really help put you at ease! And they really did! They are awesome!!!
Rick's work is absolutely breathtaking and exceeded our expectations by 110%!! He has the ability to take a beautiful background and make it extraordinary! We are so thankful for the way everything turned out and am in love with my wedding pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rache
Wedding:
3/17/2009
5.0/5.0
The best ever!
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1209658999612-aloneincolubuscirclebefore
RebelBride2008
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Rick Collins Photography
Hire this photographer!!!! Stop your search now. I say it again- HIRE RICK COLLINS! WE LOVE RICK! There is not enough room in this review to tell you how lucky and happy we were to find Rick. We hired Rick to travel to Cabo for our destination wedding to shoot our welcome reception, wedding day and a post nup shoot the day after the wedding. Rick is familiar with Cabo and has shot many weddings in the area. Not only is he an amazing photographer but he is an awesome person. We had a blast hanging out with him the day after our wedding for our post nup shoot and had him as our guest at dinner with the family that night. Rick went above and beyond trying to capture our wedding weekend and did it well in the heat (it was over 90 degress and humid all weekend).

Welcome Reception
We hired Rick to shoot our family on Friday night for our welcome reception at the resort bar. He even showed up early to shot our rehearsal- which I am so glad he did as there were many unexpected emotional moments he captured. At the last minute he decided he would shoot the family in town at the welcome dinner. We were happy to have him as our guest at dinner and he pulled us away to get some amazing shots in the restaurant. We have only seen one but can’t wait to see the rest.

Wedding Day
Rick showed up to my room around noon to get some pre-wedding shots of the shoes, rings, the dress and the girls getting ready. He popped in and out all afternoon taking great shots. I kept hearing from my family that he was all over the place at the reception and ceremony trying to get everything in and he did it all I a way that we didn’t even notice him. He was like a fly on the wall. Rick took the traditional family portraits after the ceremony and then we got some fun shots with the bridal party then us alone on the beach. Rick stayed until the last minute of the reception and got shots of us getting into the party bus for the after party. He went above and beyond the day of the wedding.

Post-nup shoot
This is when the fun really began. Looking at Rick’s work, I knew I wanted him to shoot us the day after the wedding around Cabo. I think I was more excited for this shoot than the wedding! He had some awesome ideas for shots in an auto wrecker lot as well as us just walking around old town San Jose. We were to go out from about 4-6pm. It was another HOT day in Cabo (over 90 degrees). We were all dying but Rick just kept shooting away and coming up with more places to take us to shoot. We ended up going to 3 locations then back to the resort for the last light of sunset on the beach. He would have gone on longer had we not pooped out. It was almost 8pm at this point. Again, above and beyond.

We have only seen the shots Rick posted on his blog and we are so blown away. I cannot wait to see all of the pictures. I know they will blow us away. Hire Rick. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mlubes
Wedding:
3/8/2008
5.0/5.0
I found Rick Collins through a wedding photojournalism website. I was immediately impressed with his photos and contacted him for our wedding in Maroma Beach, Mexico. He was extremely professional, easy to talk to, and had great ideas. He came down early and spent the entire weekend taking photos for our event. He even scoped out the beach where we did the ceremony to find interesting places to take photos prior to the wedding and found this beautiful old house on the water. The photos from our wedding are incredible. They are beautiful, artistic, a true work of art. I was also impressed that Rick was extremely flexible and worked with us to take the kind of photos we wanted for our event. The whole experience was well worth the money and captured the day even better than I could have possibly imagined!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keith
Wedding:
2/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Once we decided on a location for our wedding, our immediate priority was to find a photographer with a fresh, journalistic approach. Our overriding requirement was a studio that would be able to capture the slightly off-kilter nature of a destination wedding, and not simply take formulaic wedding shots that happen to have palm trees in the background. After searching through literally hundreds of online portfolios, our decision was instantly made as soon as we encountered the first picture on Rick's site. It may be true that a picture is worth a thousand words, but in Rick's case, the number is much, much higher - Rick was able to encapsulate the entirety of our emotion and experience into pictures, and his visual style is nothing short of jaw-dropping.

Rick was immediately able to insinuate himself in with our group - so much so that a few people asked us if he was an invited guest with a nice camera - yet remain constantly vigilant for the next photo-op. This split personality allowed Rick to unobtrusively be omnipresent throughout the weekend - he didn't miss a shot! He quickly sussed out our personalities and milieu, and was able to capture both. Rick became such a part of the crowd that we missed him once he left - it felt like the show was over!

Sorting through our photos is incredibly difficult, because each one indelibly captures a moment and a memory, and we're loathe to leave even a single one out. Our experience simply would not have been the same without Rick there, and we will certainly recommend him whenever possible (and proudly be those insufferable people that leave their wedding album out on the coffee table for perpetuity, as if it were the latest magazine.. the pictures are that good!)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rdubach
Wedding:
11/3/2007
5.0/5.0
What more can I say other than Rick was the perfect photographer...and everyone at the wedding agreed. His portfolio of work from our wedding actually led to Rick doing 4 more weddings just from our wedding.

His photography went beyond just the images. He really translated what it was like to be there. You can almost feel the wedding night just by looking at the images. He captured emotions that my wife and I will forever be able to relive every time we open the wedding album.

We had a wedding weekend in Cabo and Rick came for the entire thing. He shot continuously while we surfed, prepped, got married, and danced our feet off during the reception. Rick felt like part of the family after the weekend was over and he still does.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
6/30/2007
5.0/5.0
Your eyes are not deceiving you; I confidently & proudly give Rick & his amazing team FIVE stars for every category. There is not a single thing I would have changed about our experience with him, from the first email contact, to our amazing wedding day, to the gift-wrapped mind-boggling pictures & albums we received afterwards. Rick, his wife, and his assistant combined that perfect mix of professionalism with real down to earth & hilarious personalities. I would recommend his services till I'm blue in the face.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.9/5.0
Rick was great from start to finish and provided a multitude of excellent photos for our wedding day. Would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
7/12/2013
4.8/5.0
Rick was an amazing vendor to work with. Our friends recommended him and when we saw their photos I knew right away that he was the right choice for us. I found it really easy to get in touch with Rick and correspond with him before, during and after the wedding even when we were living in different cities. I really appreciated that Rick took time out of his vacation when he was in our city so we could meet and plan the logistics of the wedding day together.

On the day Rick was so laid back and really captured every moment from morning to night. I felt like he wanted to blend into the background to make us all feel at ease.

When you hire Rick you can guarantee a talented artist will give you beautiful photos of your wedding day that are candid and real. I also love our wedding book that he created for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
11/22/2010
4.8/5.0
Rick and his wife Cheryl were amazing! Their photos and super 8 film were exactly what we asked for and wanted. I wanted photos that I could frame as art and not just hide in a picture album under my bed and that's what we got. Our wedding pictures are absolutely beautiful. So many of our friends have said how they regret the multiple cheesy, kissing and posed pictures from their big day. Rick and Cheryl gave us art!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marisolpsu
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.8/5.0
Rick was amazing in every way. His portfolio speaks for itself, but my guests were so impressed by the photos he took. He was so quick to put them up on his blog and get them to us. He is creative and fast, and takes AMAZING photos.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
455 Main Street, Vancouver, BC V6A 2T7 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for rick collins photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo