130x130 sq 1295238945403 ripcordpromopic2010

Ripcord

Boston , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Boston, MA 02114 US (map)

PHONE

617-861-7430

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Ripcord is comprised of Boston-based musicians who have played together in various cover, wedding and original bands over the past decade. This experience enables the group to... Read more
Ripcord is comprised of Boston-based musicians who have played together in various cover, wedding and original bands over the past decade. This experience enables the group to consistently deliver a perfect blend of hits from all genres; jazz standards, funk, R&B, soul, top 40, country, classic & modern rock… even that new indie tune you just heard on the radio. Ripcord's diversity is impressive; however, it'll likely be the remarkable accuracy, energy, and feel with which they perform that will blow you away.


Most couples select either our 6piece or 8piece lineup; however, other specific configurations are always an option. At minimum, our standard instrumentation includes: female and male lead vocals, guitar, bass, drums, and keyboards/synth; our 8piece also features added saxophone and trumpet. Please inquire about Ripcord’s discounted 8piece all-inclusive bundle, which also includes soloists for both your ceremony and cocktail hour!

Ripcord's musicians are also adept at providing music of all styles for both ceremonies and cocktail hours. Our couples have the option of selecting an instrumental soloist of their choice or compiling larger ensembles from the instrumentation contracted for the wedding reception (i.e.- adding horns to the reception band would expand duo/trio/quartet options for ceremonies and/or cocktail hours). Please inquire for more details, as we offer a ton of customization! Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1391126996303 200 the2654project receptio
130x130 sq 1391126957542 jessbridesings with ripcor
130x130 sq 1391475753205 096802
130x130 sq 1391127064437 337 the2654project receptio
130x130 sq 1391475759481 096809
130x130 sq 1391475763241 096810
130x130 sq 1391475766259 096810
130x130 sq 1391127079876 338 the2654project receptio
130x130 sq 1391475702904 jessicatom 649 of 72
130x130 sq 1391127095711 341 the2654project receptio
130x130 sq 1391475756209 096808
130x130 sq 1391475696071 12389829802740559011852179295
130x130 sq 1391126960451 tuckernowac
130x130 sq 1391475601670 ripcordsitedailey100328667
130x130 sq 1391475619586 ripcordvertical pi
130x130 sq 1391475637475 ripcordchok
130x130 sq 1391476123993 2014 01 26 15.27.2
130x130 sq 1377458729134 220x2201295238945403 ripcordpromopic2010

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Calypso, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Formal (ie- dress pants & shirts, with jackets/vests and ties), but open to tastes of particular couples.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Not as part of a standard package, but we could discuss this an option.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Absolutely... we'll learn songs for both ceremonies and receptions. We also offer additional elements of playlist customization; please inquire for more details.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Standard would be 120 minutes; however, exceptions can be made whenever necessary.
How much space do you usually require?
Standard would be 10' x 20' to accommodate all musicians and equipment for our 6piece (slightly more when horns are added); however, we've fit into much smaller spaces many times. Please inquire for more details if this is a potential issue.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We provide our own state of the art sound system, a wireless microphone for speeches/toasts, as well as LED stage lighting to illuminate the bandstand.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Yes- emcee services are included for the event.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Honestly, we have yet to experience this situation. Ripcord has extensive experience at "reading the room" in both wedding and club settings, so getting people to dance/sing is second nature at this point. Please inquire if you'd like to contact any references to support this point; many have elaborated about this in their testimonials posted on our Wedding Wire site.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We typically take two short breaks, the first of which is intended for vendor meals. This really comes down each particular event though, as things sometimes happen with catering. If/when something pops up beyond our control, we have extensive experience improvising to maximize the live performance... altering the length/number of breaks if/when necessary. 
 Yes- industry standard is for meals to be provided by the client.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Absolutely. This is provided by Ripcord; however, we invite couple to compile their own playlists if they prefer. Please inquire if interested in this option.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
Our musicians and vocalists are all full-time, contracted employees who take their jobs very seriously. If/when a catastrophic event were to prevent a member from performing, we would call upon a long list of equally amazing musicians within our network to step in. These are all musicians with whom we've worked frequently/regularly... not random "hired guns."
What is your overtime rate?
This depends upon the size of the band selected, as we offer 6piece, 7piece, and 8piece bands... more if/when desired. Our OT rate is $50/musician, per half hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Please inquire, as this is dependent upon the exact location and date.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Standard would be 50% down with the signed contract; however, we offer payment schedules whenever necessary. Please inquire for more information.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Bradley
Wedding:
10/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Great band for any occasion! Entertaining and engaging the entire night!
Great band for any occasion! Entertaining and engaging the entire night!
Great band for any occasion! Entertaining and engaging the entire night! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Sam
Wedding:
10/11/2014
5.0/5.0
My wife and I only cared about two things when we planned our wedding: we wanted to get married by the ocean, and we wanted the dance party at the reception to be the best one we'd ever attended. With a tight budget, the one and only big ticket item we couldn't compromise on was the music. I'm the drummer for a relatively well-known Boston-area band that also plays weddings at the same price point, and my wife is a life-long fan of live music, so while we were confident that Ripcord would deliver, we also know ourselves to be very, very picky about our bands.

Ripcord hit it out of the park in every way possible, and the feedback was consistent: as good or better than any wedding band anyone had ever heard, at any price. Kevin was responsive and helpful from day one. The Bruce Springsteen song they learned for our first dance ("If I Should Fall Behind") sounded incredible. They showed up early, and set up efficiently. They were gracious, kind, and obviously enjoyed themselves on stage. I could go on and on and on.

The music itself was truly outstanding from both emotional and technical perspectives. From the first quiet tunes to the last rockers of the night, I didn't hear a single misstep; every song was true to its best recorded version, yet the personalities of the individuals in Ripcord still showed through. We'd requested more emphasis on classic rock and older songs than the latest pop hits, and the set list was perfect. Somehow they managed to play all of my father-in-law's favorite songs without us even requesting them (Tom Petty's "American Girl" and AC/DC's "Shook Me All Night Long" among them), and the newer pop they did throw in fit the mood perfectly. I think we had roughly 110 people at the venue at 7:30 when the party started, and I'll bet there were still 70 left at midnight. I've been to more than 50 weddings in the last few years, and I don't think I've ever seen so many people still dancing to the last song. The sound was outstanding, too.
My wife and I only cared about two things when we planned our wedding: we wanted to get married by the ocean, and we Read more...
My wife and I only cared about two things when we planned our wedding: we wanted to get married by the ocean, and we wanted the dance party at the reception to be the best one we'd ever attended. With a tight budget, the one and only big ticket item we couldn't compromise on was the music. I'm the drummer for a relatively well-known Boston-area band that also plays weddings at the same price point, and my wife is a life-long fan of live music, so while we were confident that Ripcord would deliver, we also know ourselves to be very, very picky about our bands.

Ripcord hit it out of the park in every way possible, and the feedback was consistent: as good or better than any wedding band anyone had ever heard, at any price. Kevin was responsive and helpful from day one. The Bruce Springsteen song they learned for our first dance ("If I Should Fall Behind") sounded incredible. They showed up early, and set up efficiently. They were gracious, kind, and obviously enjoyed themselves on stage. I could go on and on and on.

The music itself was truly outstanding from both emotional and technical perspectives. From the first quiet tunes to the last rockers of the night, I didn't hear a single misstep; every song was true to its best recorded version, yet the personalities of the individuals in Ripcord still showed through. We'd requested more emphasis on classic rock and older songs than the latest pop hits, and the set list was perfect. Somehow they managed to play all of my father-in-law's favorite songs without us even requesting them (Tom Petty's "American Girl" and AC/DC's "Shook Me All Night Long" among them), and the newer pop they did throw in fit the mood perfectly. I think we had roughly 110 people at the venue at 7:30 when the party started, and I'll bet there were still 70 left at midnight. I've been to more than 50 weddings in the last few years, and I don't think I've ever seen so many people still dancing to the last song. The sound was outstanding, too. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Jodi
Wedding:
9/21/2014
5.0/5.0
This band is top notch!!
We were so happy to have Rip Cord perform at our wedding! From the moment I contacted Kevin a year prior until the day after the wedding - he was nothing short of responsive, professional, & accommodating. We had one of them play solo jazz on the keyboard during cocktails (Joe) and then during the reception the band kept every single person up & dancing on the floor the entire night. My guests are still raving about them & seeking to see them perform again.
The band learned specific songs for our wedding & even allowed some of our guests to perform with them on stage.
If you're lucky enough to have an opportunity to book them, do it! You will not be disappointed!
This band is top notch!!
We were so happy to have Rip Cord perform at our wedding! From the moment I contacted Kevin Read more...
This band is top notch!!
We were so happy to have Rip Cord perform at our wedding! From the moment I contacted Kevin a year prior until the day after the wedding - he was nothing short of responsive, professional, & accommodating. We had one of them play solo jazz on the keyboard during cocktails (Joe) and then during the reception the band kept every single person up & dancing on the floor the entire night. My guests are still raving about them & seeking to see them perform again.
The band learned specific songs for our wedding & even allowed some of our guests to perform with them on stage.
If you're lucky enough to have an opportunity to book them, do it! You will not be disappointed! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Alyxandra
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Such an amazing band! They played at my mom's wedding in September and everyone had a blast. Great music and great people.
Such an amazing band! They played at my mom's wedding in September and everyone had a blast. Great music and great people. Read more...
Such an amazing band! They played at my mom's wedding in September and everyone had a blast. Great music and great people. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/31/2014
5.0/5.0
RipCord!!!! The Best. If you are looking for a band you found them. Very responsive, Very Professional and The Sound is out of this world. What a talent they all are. Being in the industry I hear a lot of bands and when I heard them play, I just knew they would be the ones at our wedding. My husband and I where so very happy with them and everyone kept commenting about how well they did. I can not express to you have fabulous the cover song that they learned for our first dance was. We also had live music for our ceremony and it was just perfect. I 100% stand behind Recommending RipCord and we actually are having them play again next April at another family function. Fabulous Talent!!!
RipCord!!!! The Best. If you are looking for a band you found them. Very responsive, Very Professional and The Sound is Read more...
RipCord!!!! The Best. If you are looking for a band you found them. Very responsive, Very Professional and The Sound is out of this world. What a talent they all are. Being in the industry I hear a lot of bands and when I heard them play, I just knew they would be the ones at our wedding. My husband and I where so very happy with them and everyone kept commenting about how well they did. I can not express to you have fabulous the cover song that they learned for our first dance was. We also had live music for our ceremony and it was just perfect. I 100% stand behind Recommending RipCord and we actually are having them play again next April at another family function. Fabulous Talent!!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Claudette
Wedding:
8/16/2014
5.0/5.0
This band is seriously amazing. After reading all the 5-star reviews, we couldn't help but have high hopes for a fun night, and they still surprised us with how awesome, talented, and fun they really are. From the moment they kicked off the dancing, the dance floor was overflowing. I can't keep track of all the great things our friends and families have been saying about the band. They were extremely professional, very friendly, and so accommodating to all of our crazy requests. The mix of music they played was perfect. We would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding band. Thanks Ripcord!
This band is seriously amazing. After reading all the 5-star reviews, we couldn't help but have high hopes for a fun Read more...
This band is seriously amazing. After reading all the 5-star reviews, we couldn't help but have high hopes for a fun night, and they still surprised us with how awesome, talented, and fun they really are. From the moment they kicked off the dancing, the dance floor was overflowing. I can't keep track of all the great things our friends and families have been saying about the band. They were extremely professional, very friendly, and so accommodating to all of our crazy requests. The mix of music they played was perfect. We would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding band. Thanks Ripcord! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Whitney
Wedding:
8/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Ripcord is absolutely the greatest wedding/cover band of all time. My husband and I knew Joe Carson hand had seen him play acoustic at many venues. I had initially wanted to hire a DJ for the wedding, but my husband had me see the full band play and I was totally obsessed. I really wanted my wedding to be all about a dance party and a good time and after seeing them play I knew they would deliver that. Joe Carson's vocal range is ridiculous (can sing Adam Levine - srsly?!) and both female vocalists are ah-mazing. Joe ended up playing acoustic for our cocktail hour and then the band came on for dinner through the rest of the night. All of our guests were dancing- even my 90 year old aunt! I received more compliments on the band than anything else - they couldn't believe how great they were. I've been to other weddings with bands where they play a few songs and then take a 30 minute break, or they play one song that gets everyone on the dance floor and the next song is slow and everyone clears (mind you, these bands are like double the price of what we paid!). Ripcord played 90% of the night with 2 short breaks. Honestly, if you want the best band for your wedding, look no further. Not only are they talented but they will work with you to make the night everything you hope for musically.
Ripcord is absolutely the greatest wedding/cover band of all time. My husband and I knew Joe Carson hand had seen him play Read more...
Ripcord is absolutely the greatest wedding/cover band of all time. My husband and I knew Joe Carson hand had seen him play acoustic at many venues. I had initially wanted to hire a DJ for the wedding, but my husband had me see the full band play and I was totally obsessed. I really wanted my wedding to be all about a dance party and a good time and after seeing them play I knew they would deliver that. Joe Carson's vocal range is ridiculous (can sing Adam Levine - srsly?!) and both female vocalists are ah-mazing. Joe ended up playing acoustic for our cocktail hour and then the band came on for dinner through the rest of the night. All of our guests were dancing- even my 90 year old aunt! I received more compliments on the band than anything else - they couldn't believe how great they were. I've been to other weddings with bands where they play a few songs and then take a 30 minute break, or they play one song that gets everyone on the dance floor and the next song is slow and everyone clears (mind you, these bands are like double the price of what we paid!). Ripcord played 90% of the night with 2 short breaks. Honestly, if you want the best band for your wedding, look no further. Not only are they talented but they will work with you to make the night everything you hope for musically. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had one of Ripcord's guitarists (Justin Piper) perform at our wedding and he was absolutely amazing! The band is also great and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for great music for their next event!
We had one of Ripcord's guitarists (Justin Piper) perform at our wedding and he was absolutely amazing! The band is also Read more...
We had one of Ripcord's guitarists (Justin Piper) perform at our wedding and he was absolutely amazing! The band is also great and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for great music for their next event! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Hannah
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
I was a bride who struggled over every single detail, so booking this band without seeing them first (just due to timing) made me really nervous at first. But the reviews were all awesome, Kevin was SO professional and nice to deal with, and he gave me contact info for at least 3 couples who they'd worked with recently. I had to make a quick decision, and each of the three people I reached out to wrote me RIGHT back with glowing reviews and all offered to talk. One of the brides I spoke with said "there are a lot of hard decisions that you have to make when planning your wedding, but this is not one of them. Book this band today and don't look back." Turns out that was awesome advice and I'm passing it along. These guys are SUPER professional and easy to work with, so nice and fun, and played just exactly the type of music we wanted (they can play anything). We also added ceremony and cocktail hour music on and that was perfect too. Book this band and you will be very happy with this decision!!!
I was a bride who struggled over every single detail, so booking this band without seeing them first (just due to timing) Read more...
I was a bride who struggled over every single detail, so booking this band without seeing them first (just due to timing) made me really nervous at first. But the reviews were all awesome, Kevin was SO professional and nice to deal with, and he gave me contact info for at least 3 couples who they'd worked with recently. I had to make a quick decision, and each of the three people I reached out to wrote me RIGHT back with glowing reviews and all offered to talk. One of the brides I spoke with said "there are a lot of hard decisions that you have to make when planning your wedding, but this is not one of them. Book this band today and don't look back." Turns out that was awesome advice and I'm passing it along. These guys are SUPER professional and easy to work with, so nice and fun, and played just exactly the type of music we wanted (they can play anything). We also added ceremony and cocktail hour music on and that was perfect too. Book this band and you will be very happy with this decision!!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Liz
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Ripcord was great. They came recommended and they did not disappoint. We heard them play a few times and met with Kevin O'Brien, the manager/bass player, and he was so friendly, helpful and accommodating!
Once the music started, the dance floor was PACKED for the entire night! Young and old alike danced all night and had such an awesome time. The mix of songs was just right for a wedding and the two lead singers were amazing. I've actually heard both female leads (Ananda will knock your socks off, and Mia is amazing). We had Mia and she totally rocked and has the most beautiful voice!
We will never forget how much fun we and our guests had on the dance floor with Ripcord.
Ripcord was great. They came recommended and they did not disappoint. We heard them play a few times and met with Kevin Read more...
Ripcord was great. They came recommended and they did not disappoint. We heard them play a few times and met with Kevin O'Brien, the manager/bass player, and he was so friendly, helpful and accommodating!
Once the music started, the dance floor was PACKED for the entire night! Young and old alike danced all night and had such an awesome time. The mix of songs was just right for a wedding and the two lead singers were amazing. I've actually heard both female leads (Ananda will knock your socks off, and Mia is amazing). We had Mia and she totally rocked and has the most beautiful voice!
We will never forget how much fun we and our guests had on the dance floor with Ripcord. Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Boston, MA 02114 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ripcord
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1295238945403 ripcordpromopic2010