130x130_sq_1396641316676-riverfar

River Farm, a Garden Estate

Alexandria , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7931 East Boulevard Drive
Alexandria, VA US 22308 (map)

PHONE

703-768-5700

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A River Farm Wedding

With a grand Estate House, 25 acres of formal and children's gardens, lawns, meadows, woodlands, and with scenic views of the Potomac River, River Farm is... Read more
A River Farm Wedding

With a grand Estate House, 25 acres of formal and children's gardens, lawns, meadows, woodlands, and with scenic views of the Potomac River, River Farm is a place of natural year-round beauty and a perfect showcase for your wedding any time of year. Take a look at the photos below that highlight not only the event spaces available but also the splendor that will surround your wedding. When you're ready, read through the rental information and then call (703) 768-5700 ext. 114 or email us at rentals@ahs.org to schedule a tour.



The River Farm Property

At River Farm you'll have access to not only the grounds, but inside the Estate House, as well. (Weekend afternoon/evening events have PRIVATE ACCESS of the property!) The main level of the Estate House, including a ballroom for dancing, and the bride's dressing area on the second floor are open to your wedding party and guests the day of your event. Look at the pictures below to get an idea of the facilities available.



Ceremony and Reception

River Farm offers endless possibilities when choosing the perfect location for your wedding vows and reception. Whether you choose to use the meadow and river view as a backdrop or say your vows in the gardens, you and your visitors will have an unforgettably beautiful day. The pictures below will give you an idea, but by arranging a tour of the gardens you will experience firsthand the magic of a River Farm wedding. Call (703) 768-5700 ext. 114 or email rentals@ahs.org to arrange your tour. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1394226615960-riverfarm
130x130_sq_1394226617961-riverfarm
130x130_sq_1394226619980-riverfarm
130x130_sq_1394226622741-riverfarm
130x130_sq_1394226625818-riverfarm
130x130_sq_1394226628821-riverfarm

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1919
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Manor / Mansion, Park / Zoo / Natural Space
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
220
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I searched high and low around Northern Virginia for the perfect location that would be historical, outdoors, beautiful, convenient and most importantly, in our budget. River Farm was all of these and more! We were lucky to have perfect weather on our wedding day and every single guest commented to me about how beautiful the property was. Our pictures turned out AMAZING and everything was just the way we pictured it. Janet, the event coordinator, was extremely helpful and always responded to any questions we had within the same day. I highly recommend River Farm!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
River Farm is an amazing place to get married. Because it is maintained by the American Horticultural Society, it is stunning. The event manager there is very friendly, extremely responsive to email and easy to work with. She was very accommodating - letting us bring things in early when no other event had booked the space. They even provide you with an excellent recommended vendors list. Practically everyone we used came from that list and all were great. You can definitely trust River Farm to provide great recommendations and a beautiful place for an event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
When my husband and I got engaged, we knew we wanted our wedding to be in the fall, and outdoors. River Farm was the perfect backdrop for celebrating coming together as one. It has acres of beautiful gardens and old trees (this was part of George Washington's farm!) and the house is just magnificent! River Farm offers multiple locations for the actual wedding ceremony, as well as the tent for the reception; additionally, the ballroom of the house is just footsteps away, which we utilized for the cake and dancing. Aaron and Janet were awesome to work with and offered advice to assist in making the behind the scenes go smoothly. Our wedding was beautiful and the guests really enjoyed touring the beautiful landscape!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED using River Farm for our wedding! It was by far the most beautiful, outdoor setting in the Virginia area. The staff, especially Janet, were lovely to work with; they helped us put together our dream wedding and worked hard to accommodate our needs. The property does have some restrictions around noise (no outdoor music) and certain fixtures (no candle flames on tables), but that didn't impact our day at all. We have friends who are who still come up to us and tell us how fantastic our big day was! Also, compared to other venues, it is priced reasonably. You do have to bring in all your own equipment (tables, chairs, etc.) but when you work with the right caterer this should not be a problem. I highly recommend this venue if you want an beautiful, outdoor wedding. The gardens and landscape is so nice that you barely need to spend money on decorations! We just loved it!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
130x130_sq_1318258417754-franziskawea
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
River Farm was such a beautiful venue to have our ceremony/reception. I closely worked with Susan, who was very accommodating and responsive to any of my inquires/emails.
We had the ceremony in the garden, which is simply magnificent and the reception in the tent, which is set up between April and October and included in the rental price. Dancing was in the ball room, which a lot of our guests loved, because those who weren't necessarily into dancing, could stay in the tent/garden area and would not be bothered by the music. My husband and I especially liked that we were able to bring our own liquor and any other vendors (we didn't have to choose from their preferred vendor list). The venue is simply gorgeous.
Only negative point is that in case of rain, sides for the tent will need to get rented (not included in rental price).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gail
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
What a magical place for a wedding. Overlooking the Potomac, high up on a hill, rich with American history.

You rent the entire estate and boy is it worth it. You have the house, the land, the gardens maintained by none other than the American Horticultural Society, a huge tent, and just one of the most spectacular settings in all of Washington DC.

The staff at George Washington's River Farm are incredibly helpful, immediately answering any question and very accommodating to requests. Janet Daniels was so very nice to work with. We can not sing her praises enough.

All our guests said from the moment they drove up the drive they knew this would be something special. Our guests were there from 4 to 10 and so many commented how the time flew by. They so enjoyed walking in the gardens, touring the house, sitting on the lawn or under the tent, dancing in the ballroom. We even had a beautiful full moon to boot!

It was an enchanted day at GW River Farm for the bride, groom, their parents and all our guests.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cari
Wedding:
5/8/2009
5.0/5.0
River Farm is a magical place! For those that would like an outdoor wedding, I cannot think of a better location in the Alexandria area. The gardens are beautiful (and they worked hard to make it look good the days leading up to our wedding) and the home overlooks the Potomac River. Everyone kept raving about what a beautiful location we had selected. Both the grounds and home are lovely to explore, and people had fun doing do.

A tent is always kept up, so in case of rain, the tent is there. We had sunshine, so the ceremony was outdoors with the reception under the tent. Then for dancing, we moved into the ballroom! All in all, we couldn't have been more pleased!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
6/22/2007
5.0/5.0
River Farm is an absolutely beautiful historic home and garden setting. It is currently run by the American Horticultural Society so the grounds are breathtaking. The flowers and gardens are what drew me to the location. The ceremony is outdoors in the gardens and you are surrounded by such beautiful flowers I couldn't resist. The site of the river was an added bonus. I'm overwhelmed by the beauty every time I go there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mairin
Wedding:
7/22/2006
5.0/5.0
My wedding was a dream come true, all because of River Farm! The setting could not have been more beautiful - we had our ceremony in the garden and the natural beauty of the flowers in bloom surpassed anything we could have created on our own, even with the most talented florist! Everyone on the staff was incredibly accomodating in the planning stages, and my family has even remained involved with other events there since our wedding - my mom still volunteers there because she had such a great experience working with them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.9/5.0
We fell in love with River Farm on our first visit there. We hosted 120 guests and had our ceremony outside in the garden area, dinner under the tent, and dancing in the ballroom. The grounds are beautiful, with a lovely garden area and a meadow that leads down to the Potomac River. Because it is an historic site and in a residential area, there are several restrictions (noise limitations, no open flame) but it didn't get in the way of us having a good time. We are looking forward to visiting again soon.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
I really enjoyed having my wedding at River Farm. I received so many compliments on the setting. The landscape is so beautiful! A few problems: 1. they do not allow open flames, I adjusted by using battery operated tea lights.. not a big deal. 2. It rained the night before and there really was no option for Rain, thankfully the sun came out right before my ceremony. But it did make for much panic the night before!

All in all it is a beautiful location and the staff was easy to work with.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
If you enjoy the look and feel of Mount Vernon or Colonial Williamsburg, River Farm is just the place for your wedding/reception. My daughter and I visited a number of places, and as soon as we saw River Farm, we knew it was special and just the place for her wedding. The setting is elegant, classy, and unique. We heard frequently from our guests what a spectacular place it was to have a wedding reception. The gardens, maintained by the American Horticultural Society gave our guests a beauiful place to stroll during cocktail hour, and the view of the Potomac in the background couldn't be matched. With a July wedding, it was hot, but having the air conditioned house and ballroom gave a comfortable place for dancing. Janet Daniels was wonderful to work with, and we found the whole experience of using River Farm a delight. If you want somethng different from the typical ballroom wedding reception, you definitely want to consider River Farm. It is close in to the DC area, unlike similar historic homes, which are miles away.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
We had our outdoor ceremony at River Farm. River Farm is an amazing venue. The grounds are gorgeous!! Our contact at River Farm was great and very helpful. It poured the day of our wedding but we were still able to finish our ceremony right before the rain started! :) River Farm was the reason we decided to have a local wedding. We couldn't of asked for a better ceremony site!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gillian
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.8/5.0
This was a beautiful setting. Janet Daniels (rental manager) was a delight to work with. We had bald eagles fly by during the ceremony and a harvest moon reflected in the Potomac during the reception. Hard to beat.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
We had such a lovely wedding here, beautiful setting, gorgeous landscape which made for the most amazing pictures. The staff at River Farm was wonderful as well. We never had a single problem or issue. The one downside to renting this venue is the rules since it's a historical landmark. They are very strict with open flames and amplified music for certain locations, specifically outside.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmckinnonhansen
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.8/5.0
River Farm is a really beautiful venue and the perfect setting for a wedding. As soon as my fiance and I went to visit it, we knew that it was where we wanted to get married. The gardens are so colorful and scenic (especially in the late spring, summer, and fall) that you really don't need a lot of added decor! The only drawbacks (that we didn't really realize until later in the planning process) are a few of their rules, which are due to it being a historical property. No open flame of any kind is allowed AT ALL. We had to use battery-operated votives, even outside. Even paper lanterns that were to be hung in the tent would have had to be treated with flame retardant and certified by a fire marshall before they could be hung. Also, you cannot have amplifed music outside. DJs who have worked at the venue before know how to aim the speakers out windows so that you can have dinner music on the patio, but the rule is something to be aware of. Otherwise, it's a beautiful place and the staff is great to work with. All of our guests remarked on how much they loved River Farm.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg D
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.8/5.0
My husband found River Farm and we absolutely fell in love with it. I think I went there a dozen times before our wedding! It is a hidden gem and our guests absolutely loved being here. The view is stunning and the gardens and general environment of the tent, the house, and the grounds is just so lovely. Our wedding day was truly perfect and I look forward to going back to River Farm for years to come and re-living those memories.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.6/5.0
River Farm is beautiful and everything went really well. Is definitely expensive for providing the venue only but the tented patio with beautiful gardens and indoor space for a break from the heat talked me into splurging. There are many restrictions that I don't understand. (Why can't you play amplified music outside during the ceremony?? I get dance music later in the evening but this seemed a little restrictive). Guests out by 10 is also a little early for what you're paying and considering the music is indoors anyway we aren't disturbing the neighborhood. But the people that work there are great and very nice and I was very happy with my choice to have our wedding here. People were stunned at the view and the pretty gardens.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.6/5.0
We used River Farm for our reception and were very glad that we did. The gardens were beautiful and provided a wonderful back drop for our photos. All of our guests really enjoyed exploring the site and raved about the beautiful setting. We did not have much contact with the staff at River Farm so I cannot comment on working with them. There was no need for me to be in contact because there were no issues. Our catering manager handled most of the contact with River Farm staff and, to the best of my knowledge, everything was smooth and easy.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
I had both my Ceremony and Reception at River Farm. The place is gorgeous, and especially when you are using the outside space in the spring and summer, the flowers and details mean you don't need to do a lot of decorating. River Farm is also fantastic if you're looking for a place with history, which was one of the things we liked about it.

Janet was the site representative at our wedding, and she was incredible. We didn't have a planner or even a day of coordinator, but she helped to make sure all the vendors had things out in the right areas, answered all of our questions (we had many), and when my little cousin slipped and broke his arm, she drove him and his father to the hospital emergency room. She was fantastic, and very helpful to my parents, who stayed to the bitter end to pick up everything.

The only downsides of this site are:
*It's definitely on the more expensive side, especially with a big group like mine during high season. However, the natural beauty does result in savings, and a tent is already set up outside.
*Sometimes it can take a little while to get a response by email, because all of the wedding emails go to one group email address.
*The ballroom area was a little smaller than I expected from pictures, and a little dated. But this is what you would expect for a historical site. And the ballroom ended up working out perfectly for our 140 guests...even with lots of people dancing.
*There are a good number of restrictions (no candles/fire, no amplified music outside), so make sure that these work for you. Even so, River Farm was the perfect site for my wedding and I couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg19
L
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.5/5.0
River Farm is an absolutely exquisite venue, and Janet is a pleasure to work with. River Farm was very flexible about letting us use the space in a way that worked for our event, and the gardens and house were stunning and perfectly put together on the day of our wedding. The only reason this is 4.5 instead of 5 stars is that they accidentally double-booked our wedding rehearsal with another event. We were still able to rehearse in a different area out front, but it was a bit of a last-minute surprise to have to call everyone coming and warn them not to intrude on the other event. On the plus side, River Farm was very apologetic and accommodating. Overall, we had a wonderful time, and couldn't imagine a more gorgeous setting to get married!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlliG711
Wedding:
10/25/2009
4.4/5.0
We had our October wedding at River Farm and I couldn't be happier with the day's events. Thank God we had amazing weather though- RF didn't seem to have a great "rain option". I did have to deal with multiple staff members during our planning (which was under a year) which was frustrating at times- I guess they have high turn over? Overall the staff is very helpful though. This is a well kept DC secret and perfect if you are looking to have an outdoor wedding!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
6/12/2011
4.3/5.0
River Farm was such a beauiful place to hold a wedding. All my guests absolutely loved the venue. And Janet from River Farm was excellent to work with. She was very helpful. I was able to get a great price for my Sunday wedding as well, since it was less than 70 people. I do have to say I dont think it is the best place to have a huge wedding or more than 150 people. The tent is big but the dance floor which is inside the house can only hold 80 people. And if you are doing amplified music it has to be done inside the house. Also if it rains you can only have 60-80 people inside the ballroom for the ceremony. They are pretty busy so getting them on the phone was sometimes hard, but they responded to email quickly. There was a staff member on site the day of the wedding but we never saw her come out of her office. Which was fine because my day of coordinator and caterers took care of everything. The only downfall to the venue is you only pay for the venue. You need to get everything else yourself. And you need to get a day of coordinator or wedding planner the day of to have a wedding here, it is such a big venue guests could get lost on where to go and what to do next if you dont have one. If you are having a wedding of less that 150 people and you want it outside I think River Farm is one of the best places to have it in the DC area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338158344037-p1020632
Libby
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.2/5.0
River Farm is a great spot for an outdoor ceremony and tented reception...provided the weather is good! We did our ceremony in the garden and dinner in the tent, and it was just beautiful. We had 125 people, which seemed like a good size...not too crowded and not too empty. It ended up pouring after our ceremony, and the tent was very cozy and dry! I think River Farm would be tight for a large group. The setting is just gorgeous, and you don't need anything (flowers, aisle runner, etc.) to enhance it! The views are spectacular, and it's just a fun place for guests to check out during cocktail hour. There are some restrictions about outdoor music, open flames, etc. but we did not have a problem working around them. Janet Daniels who works in the office is the absolute best...knows everything and anything about River Farm and always gets back to your emails promptly...and with smiley faces. :) The only reason I give it three stars for value is because it's pricey and literally you don't get anything else for your money other than use of the house, tent, and grounds. Tent sides, heaters, AC, music, food, liquor license, fire marshall fees, etc. is all extra...just good to know for budgeting purposes!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
11/15/2008
4.2/5.0
We hosted our wedding reception at the River Farm in Alexandria, Virginia. We selected this site because we liked the uniqueness of the home being historical and loved the location on the Potomac River. The American Horicultural Society is located at the River Farm so the grounds are immaculate and beautiful during any season. A tent covering the outdoor patio is included in the rental fee so you can enjoy the indoor and outdoor vibe. Our guests commented throughout the reception how nice the home and grounds were and the backdrop for our photographs was wonderful! We were very pleased with our choice!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
7/19/2008
4.2/5.0
River Farm is absolutely gorgeous and just a place that is very hard to describe. The beauty is just breathtaking. We had great experiences with the event planners (emma and sara) but when they were not there, other staff members would fill in and each time was unpleasant. We had two very bad experiences, one on the wedding day -- the women at the desk would glare/frown at me and guest that walked by her office. Otherwise, the ceremony site is one of a kind and spectacular.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
River Farm, a Garden Estate responded with the following comments:

Dear Kim - Thank you for taking the time to review River Farm as we are always striving to provide the best location and service. As the small non-profit we are, we depend heavily on the support of our friends, clients, associates and members. Best wishes to you on your future adventures and we hope you will visit us again soon~
Sarah
Default-vendor-profile-pic
graham2be
Wedding:
7/3/2009
4.1/5.0
River Farm was a fantastic location. Our guests loved the gardens where we set up bocce ball and cornhole. The tent was great and the ballroom was sufficient. My only qualms were the restrictions on open flame and the staff in the background of my pictures with jeans on! Sometimes response time was slow.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jchouse
Wedding:
7/5/2008
4.0/5.0
River Farm was a beautiful wedding site - everything we hoped!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lily
Wedding:
7/28/2011
3.1/5.0
River Farm is beautiful, but we had some communications issues with the staff. Several times, we were given erroneous information about a few issues. They were also slow to respond to email.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.8/5.0
The location is absolutely stunning. Guests raved about the site and took advantage of the surroundings. Unfortunately we had issues with the on-site volunteer staff and were less than pleased with the service received. It felt as though we were a burden, not a client. However, we have nothing but great things to say about the special event coordinator, Dan, who was especially helpful and pleasant. A mixed review in terms of service, but the location creates a magical event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
7931 East Boulevard Drive, Alexandria, VA 22308 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for River Farm, a Garden Estate
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1396641316676-riverfar