130x130_sq_1387563648491-rockwoodmanor

Rockwood Manor

Potomac , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

11001 MacArthur Boulevard
Potomac, MD US 20854 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nestled in 30 acres of woodland just outside Washington, DC and steps away from the C&O Canal, Rockwood Manor is a secluded charmingly comfortable venue that is ideal for your wedding or... Read more
Nestled in 30 acres of woodland just outside Washington, DC and steps away from the C&O Canal, Rockwood Manor is a secluded charmingly comfortable venue that is ideal for your wedding or special event. With seven adjoining indoor event spaces, a gazebo garden, flagstone patio, outdoor amphitheater and overnight lodging for up to 100 people, Rockwood Manor is perfect for indoor and outdoor wedding ceremonies and receptions as well as wedding weekend retreats. Overnight accommodations include hotel style guestrooms with private baths, a three bedroom cottage and three climate controlled bunkhouse cabins.

Ceremonies may be held outdoors off of the veranda on the bowling lawn, featuring a manicured garden and picturesque gazebo; on the trellis-lined flagstone patio behind the Manor or inside the Manor in Brooke Hall with its soaring ceiling, wooden beams and panoramic view. Follow the ceremony with cocktails on the brick veranda or flagstone terrace patio out back, or dine and dance with your guests in the elegant Hoover and Rapidan Rooms. Then have fun and take your guests over to the outdoor amphitheater to make smores at the fire pit!

The Manor can accomodate up to 130 people seated indoors in any one area and, with a tent, 200 people outdoors. Eight hour - one day rentals are available as well as Weekend Retreat packages. The retreat packages provide overnight accommodations for up to three nights and 16 - 24 hours of event time in the Manor. Outdoor spaces are also included the duration of the stay.

Rockwood Manor provides tables and chairs, ample on-site parking, a bridal suite, groom's room and a warming kitchen for your caterer of choice. The C & O National Historic Park, hiking trails and other attractions are minutes away. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1387829671757-farris
130x130_sq_1387829067433-christinejohn-1239-
130x130_sq_1387829925732-c035e42e4a93fd0bf5ffm6b95q
130x130_sq_1387829064510-christinejohn-1210-
130x130_sq_1387829072509-christinejohn-1662-
130x130_sq_1387829058799-bride-and-groom-exitin
130x130_sq_1387829077694-christine-john-engaged-212-
130x130_sq_1387829143356-yarbroughflynnbgproductionsdsc2767
130x130_sq_1387829627950-dsc860
130x130_sq_1387829635429-kristindavid-38

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1928
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
13
Number of suites
2
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rockwood is a beautiful setting, and the staff were wonderful. They were fair and reasonable and responsive, and very encouraging of our creativity.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I searched high and low to find a venue that would accommodate three desires: (1) a space where we could have a rustic, woodsy outdoor wedding and a formal indoor reception; (2) a space we could have longer than the 6-8 standard hours because we knew we’d want to dance until late; and (3) somewhere budget friendly. Rockwood Manor delivered all three and then some.

Rockwood Manor is a retreat center near the Billy Goat Trail (Great Falls). We opted for the Weekend Package, which besides allowing us the time we wanted, allowed us to house a ton of out-of-town guests in hotel-style rooms (with private bathrooms). Around 35 guests stayed in hotel-style cabins, and another 80 could stay in bunk-style lodges. Having the bunks also allowed for us to make space for guests who wanted to crash instead of driving home.

We had a casual Friday night rehearsal dinner capped by a bonfire outside. Our perfect woodsy wedding took place on Saturday overlooking a forest and surrounded by nature trails (which our guests had a chance to hike and stroll on Saturday morning before the wedding). On Sunday, we held a brunch for all who had stayed over. Especially because both of our families were coming from out-of-state and abroad, having this weekend experience was definitely the way to go. The staff including Marsha, Shelley, and Tina were so nice and wonderful.

THE ONE THING TO NOTE is that this place is TOTALLY DIY. They provide the space, the rooms and linens, but you do everything else. This was good for us because we could pick our own caterer and other vendors, but it is very DIY.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311029718094-tayeandtish
Taye
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love this place. It has a wonderful scenery, especially the drive there. At first I was unsure of the place but I grew to love it, since I am more into nature this was perfect. All my my family and friends could not stop talking about how beautiful the venue was. I had my wedding on a Sunday and it was just perfect. The staff are friendly and calls back in a timely manner. Shelly, Martha, and Tanzi was wonderful throught our whole experience. Our day of site manager was Donell and he was more than helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juliana
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.9/5.0
We loved having our wedding at Rockwood Manor. We rented the whole site for the whole weekend and couldn't be happier with our choice. They were extremely flexible and easy to work with and the value was amazing. We had a lot of our guests (including ourselves) stay on-site for Friday and Saturday. This made it super easy and it allowed us to spend a ton of time with family and friends.

They allowed us to come in and start getting the place ready at 9 am on Friday, even though our contract started at 3pm. They also provided us with ladders, extension cords and other useful tools for our setup. The representative from Rockwood that was there during our event was very nice and helpful too.

For our rehearsal, we had a band setup outside, with a full sound system. They played from 5pm to 11pm and we had no complaints or problems because of this. We made full use of the catering kitchen on Friday and Saturday with no issues, either. Working with the staff at Rockwood, specially Dave, was a very good experience for us.

The grounds at the Manor are extremely pretty and made the whole weekend feel magical!
The house itself is extremely nice and has enough rooms that you can design your wedding in many different ways. We used the rooms downstairs for dinner and bar. We used the room in the middle level (Rapidan) for dancing and the rooms upstairs for the DJ, for chocolates and for coffee. We found that this setup allowed our guests to wander around and choose their own adventure: some people danced the night away, others sat by the bar and played poker and other sat around talking and taking pictures. It was a very laid-back atmosphere but at the same time very intimate and warm!

I really couldn't imagine a better place for our wedding. The only reason they got 4.5 instead of 5 for responsiveness is that they were a little hard to get hold off through email. They were very good on the phone and in person, though.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hank
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.8/5.0
Large wedding, the venue was booked all weekend. As father of one bride and an out of towner I was not involved directly in planning and execution except at the last minute. The lodging was good for the main house and outlying houses but probably wouldn't recommend using the "Girl Scout group cabins" for this type of event. They are a little rustic and don't offer much privacy.

Overall a beautiful place for a wedding and reception, gives the feel of being "off the beaten path" while still being easily accessible to main highways and large international airports.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
What an absolute delight it was from start to finish to have our wedding weekend at Rockwood Manor! When searching for a venue, I knew immediately that Rockwood was THE SPOT both due to its tremendous natural beauty, the coziness of the Manor itself, the practicality of being able to have so many of our loved ones staying on the grounds, and the friendliness of the staff. We had a WONDERFUL time and have received only very positive feedback from our guests. Actually, it far EXCEEDED my expectations -which is not easy to do!

Again: I could not have dreamt of a more beautiful venue for the occasion! Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
3/17/2012
4.4/5.0
This is a hidden gem. I had no idea this place existed - but I must have drove passed dozens of times.

The value rating should be 10 stars. This is a MontCo park and it is the only venue I found that had a reasonable base price and no other mandatory fees associated with it.

We found Rockwood to be a very flexible venue. We were looking for a venue that was not a ballroom and would accommodate our choice of kosher caterer. The contract contains basic requirements and there were no hoops to jump through. You can use any licensed/insured caterer (or you may be able to bring your own food - but I don't completely recall). They provide the chairs and tables and they do the setup - all included in the very reasonable rental price. The time is any 8 hour period - so you are not limited to starting your event at X time, like many other venues.

The location is beautiful (across the street from Great Falls Park, MD). Our outdoor pictures are beautiful - blooming trees etc. It looks like you are in the middle of the woods - but you are just right outside the Beltway. There is plenty of parking available. You can rent hotel-like rooms for very reasonable rate. I stayed at the Manor the night before my wedding and kept the room through the wedding, so my family would have an extra staging area.

A few drawbacks: The manor is beautiful but not super upgraded. The catering kitchen is on the lower level, but I liked the upper level for dining - the caterer was not very happy about the kitchen being on a different level.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
N
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.2/5.0
Our #1 concern for our venue was that we wanted a place where our family and wedding parties could stay overnight for the weekend, since they were ALL coming from out of town. This place fit the bill for us. The setup in the mansion is weird, and they are completely hands-off (almost to a fault), so you need to be comfortable either doing everything or hiring a planner to do everything. We did everything ourselves.
We got there Friday, rehearsed and decorated, stayed overnight so we could continue decorating and getting ready Saturday, wedding Saturday evening, fire and s'mores Saturday night, cleaned everything up on Sunday and left. It was so important to us that our families and friends be able to spend time and get to know each other, and we definitely got that.
They have a beautiful outdoor flagstone patio where we had the ceremony. Again, the interior spaces are weirdly laid out but we made it work. I wouldn't recommend the space for more than 80 guests though.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
Rockwood Manor was a very beautiful place for our wedding. We did the whole weekend package and it worked out very well for out of town guests and for everyone that wanted to stay the night of our wedding. Roderick was a great person that helped us out the most leading up to the wedding day and was very personable with us. We had our wedding outdoors and the weather was absolutely beautiful which made everything turn out perfect. The only complaint that I had was the manager was showing people around the property after our guest had already checked in their rooms on Friday night. This may not bother some people but I did not like random people walking around where our guests were staying. I did not want to write this complaint on here because I don't want it to distract people from using this venue since everything turned out so beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1345691564275-41groundsforscuplturewedding
Kayshin
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.0/5.0
Venue is great- includes nice accommodations for traveling guests. Sometimes hard to contact staff through email, as some of them seem to be part-time. However, phone always got me to someone. Very nice to have outdoor and indoor options for ceremony, and also nice to have so many rooms to use. Probably best for a couple who has a wedding planner, as there can be many things to coordinate, specifically sound system, since they do not have one built into the building. Also, you have to design your own floor plan for how to use tables and chairs, etc, which was difficult for me b/c we have little experience with event planning. However, it's hard to beat the value of renting the place out for an entire weekend! Guests also loved the venue- very cozy feel and convenient for traveling guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
4/19/2014
3.6/5.0
We absolutely fell in love with this quaint brick manor nestled in the woods, only 20 minutes outside of downtown DC, for our weekend getaway wedding. Owned by the Montgomery County Parks, the manor house is separated into various rooms, which we loved, but can prove to be a bit complicated when having to move people around in the house.

This is a "do it yourself" type of venue, which can save you a ton of money because you can bring in whatever you want, but means that either you or a wedding coordinator need to organize outside vendors with the staff at Rockwood.

There is no onsite wedding catering available, but several caterers available in the area. We recommend Stone Soup catering! Their food is delicious and they know the venue well!

One huge bonus to Rockwood is that all of the tables, chairs, ceremony chairs, etc. are included in the price! That will save you a bunch because all you will need is linens.

For a bit of a description, there are three rooms on the top level (we had a bar, appetizers, Photo Booth), a side brick floor veranda (where we had dancing), and a large banquet hall with a catering kitchen and large refrigerators for storage. We brought our own nonalcoholic and alcoholic beverages, which saved us thousands of dollars.

There are several gorgeous outdoor areas where you can hold a ceremony, including a stone patio in the back or a gazebo on the side of the manor.

Above all, it is EXTREMELY affordable for the region. We paid less than $7000 in total for Thursday-Sunday with accommodations for up to 37 people in B&B style rooms, and 85 people in bunk bed cabins. If you wanted to charge a small fee for the accommodations, you would make back some money and save your guests money! The 13 B&B style rooms each have their own bathroom/shower. The three cabins are actually pretty nice if you can get over sleeping in a bunk. They are air-conditioned or heated depending on the season, and the bathroom facilities are clean and
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucy
Wedding:
6/28/2008
3.4/5.0
Note: THIS REVIEW IS FOR ROCKWOOD MANOR! NOT SENECA!
Rockwood is beautiful and they are very flexible about what you can do onsite. They have a full kitchen also have lodging available for you and your guests--although we did not use it. I only have two bad things to say about Rockwood: (1) You really need to make sure you revise your actual contract if you make any changes. I made a change with my contact over the phone regarding my start time that apparently did not make it to the contract and I was charged for an extra hour by the staff attending the event. (2) They do not allow amplified music outside and this is limiting. Otherwise this is a good value for the area...although if you are willing to travel a bit north I would recommend first the Sugarloaf Mountain Mansion where I attended a friend's wedding a month later. They got the place for half of what I paid for Rockwood and it comes with a huge outdoor tent and they got to show up on site really early AND they allow amplified music. If I had known about it, I would have gone there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
11001 MacArthur Boulevard, Potomac, MD 20854 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rockwood Manor
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1387563648491-rockwoodmanor