130x130_sq_1255378084527-bethanyshoessepia

Roger W. Shoemaker Photography

Dunn Loring , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7870 Galesburg Pl
Dunn Loring, VA US 22027 (map)

PHONE

703-599-4895

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

One of the most important decisions you will make planning your wedding is choosing a photographer. My true passion is wedding photography and the gratification this creative medium... Read more
One of the most important decisions you will make planning your wedding is choosing a photographer. My true passion is wedding photography and the gratification this creative medium offers. I feel that a wedding photographer must be genuine, personable, responsible, and have that creative passion and willingness to exceed your every expectation. My approach to wedding photography is simple: Create a fun and relaxed atmosphere enabling me to capture all the details and moments of your special day. I create images in an elegant, contemporary, and photojournalistic style capturing those must-have traditional shots as well as intimate, fast-moving candids. My ultimate goal is to make your day special by capturing images that are about you, your family, and friends that will be cherished forever.

I am an active member of the Wedding and Portrait Photographers International (WPPI) and the Digital Wedding Forum. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1185503533687-033
130x130_sq_1209168915437-339
130x130_sq_1185503656656-_dsc0151
130x130_sq_1209168929687-bethany_stylist_looking_bw
130x130_sq_1209168987781-groom_piano1
130x130_sq_1209168953437-couple_2491_infrared
130x130_sq_1209169002437-jen86
130x130_sq_1185503756515-rws_7448-version2
130x130_sq_1216178446406-shoe_ring
130x130_sq_1185503800421-dsc_0167(1of1)0
130x130_sq_1185503681437-012-version2
130x130_sq_1209168889218-_rws0346
130x130_sq_1209169017515-jessica_5738_lounge(1)
130x130_sq_1216178356922-couple_field_2244_sharpen
130x130_sq_1216178485859-rws_7484
130x130_sq_1216178535859-jpg039bw
130x130_sq_1234796251328-_rws4930
130x130_sq_1255378150167-aliandjohnbw
130x130_sq_1255378249245-bethanygirlsiisepia
130x130_sq_1255378825386-bridesmaidsjumping

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Shooting digital allows the freedom to create beautiful images using state-of-the-art digital software. All Images are created with you in mind. Images that you select for your wedding album will recieve special attention to include color correction, retouching, black and white, sepia toning, and other effects.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Each wedding is unique, and often requires different approaches depending on the lighting situation. I have experience and the tools to shoot your wedding under different lighting conditions, and love the challenge of blending the lighting provided whether it's softlight, candlelight, rainy or at night, with my photographic style to create moments that are unique to your wedding.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
2
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Never
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Two professional cameras and lenses and lighting equipment
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes, always
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full day but I do have an hourly package
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
$225 per hour
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
None, except during the meal...but always prepared to shoot
Do you charge for travel?
No, unless this is a destination or out of the area wedding
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Usually within one week
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
On-line viewing via my website..proof prints are available
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Forever (proof prints)
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
No
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Digital flush albums from GraphiStudio. Wedding Albums are initially designed by me and sent to GraphiStudio in Italy for print and binding. GraphiStudio is considered one of the best Wedding Albums available.
When will the client get the final album?
Usually within 12 weeks

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cayla
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.8/5.0
Roger was a great person to work with! He was accomodating to what I wanted my wedding pictures to be like and how I wanted things to go. Even though my wedding ceremony site wasn't the best photogenic scenery to work with, he made it look beautiful! He even worked with me on making a package that was suitable to my budget. My husband and I waited a little bit longer than expected to get our pictures on a CD, but overall he did a really great job with taking our pictures. Can't wait to see the photo album!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Binh&Jeni10210
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
We were unsure which photographer to go with to capture all of our wedding moments. My wife ended up attending a bridal show in Altoona, Pennsylvania with the intention of just seeing what is out there. When she got home she had to tell me about this photographer she was really enthusiastic about and had me browse his website. When I viewed Roger's website I knew he was the one. The website said it all, displaying his artistic ability in a very professional manner. I had to find out more and I emailed him about several questions I had in mind and he responded INSTANTLY. In my opinion, I value responsiveness very high because they shows me that person wants to work with you and will give you their undivided attention. Throughout the whole wedding process he provided everything I needed to know. He drove all the way up to Altoona, PA from Virginia to meet us and show a variety of album covers. On top of that, we requested outdoor pictures since our wedding was in the fall and we wanted happy fall colors from the leaves. He went out of his way and checked out several different areas. On our wedding day he spent a lot of time taking pictures of my wife getting ready with her sisters at the hotel. From there he drove to the church and took several pictures of me and my best men. Overall Roger and Robin took hundreds of pictures which all looked great, well besides those which my sister in laws had closed eyes :) We received all of our pictures and he was very helpful when we had to choose pictures for our album. He took the pictures and used his artistic ability and created the album for us to preview online and make any changes if necessary. The overall experience was unbelievable and I would recommend him to anyone. If you want amazingly quality pictures and fantastic albums, go with Roger! It'll definitely be worth it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ERIN
Wedding:
9/26/2010
4.9/5.0
Roger was FANTASTIC!! I scouted hard for him, because these pictures are for generations to view, afterall :) I loved his style, and the effort he put forth. He's hell bent on capturing everything, and making sure it looks great. I absolutely LOVE the pictures he took, and I highly recommend him to anyone looking for stunning, unforgettable pictures from a gifted, personable, and reliable photographer.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1283890997567-backofme
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Quality of Service: Outstanding! We had so many wedding photos that we loved, it made it hard to narrow it down for the wedding album. He took over a thousand photos and sorted through them to recommend his favorites, which many times coincided with our favorites. When our wedding album arrived, we were amazed at the quality of the photos. The colors just popped and quality of the print and the materials were top notch. Even though we had seen examples of other albums Roger had done, we were still amazed at how wonderful ours turned out to be.

Responsiveness: Roger was very responsive. He always responded to any phone calls or emails within 24 hours. We got our digital photos back three weeks after the wedding, which is a lot faster than the typical photographer. And as I said above, he took the time to go through the photos and touch them up.

Professionalism: Roger was extremely professional and a pleasure to work with.

Value for Cost: We didn't expect for Roger to bring his wife along to help, but she did. Most photographers charge hundreds of dollars extra for that. Everyone says "don't skimp on photography because those are your main memories". We didn't skimp, but we also didn't pay through the roof and the quality of the photos and the album are excellent.

Flexibility: Roger is very flexible. I was very specific in how I wanted the photos to be laid out in the album, down to the font that he used for the inside page, and he was able to accommodate me. We went back and forth several times before the album was final, and now we are very pleased with it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
iheartkristen
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Roger and Robin and absolutely wonderful people to work with and they really get to know their clients. My particular venue wasn't exactly photography friendly, it didn't have a lot of really nice areas to take photos, it was mostly a parking lot. Roger's imagination came alive as he took the bridal party around the swimming pool. After seeing the outcome of this shot, I fell in love with this particular photo. It was absolutely amazing! He has a way of making you look the best you've ever looked and capturing the beautiful tears and laugher of your wedding day. I have so many "favorites" that I'm having a hard time choosing just 50 for my photo book!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ncbarb61
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Roger is more than a photographer, he is an artist. We had several mishaps on our wedding day, the biggest being that our caterer cancelled on the day of our wedding because his catering truck broke down! Family and friends worked together to pull together a reception for us, but we didn't know how successful it was until we viewed the photos taken by Roger. First of all, with all the stress we were under that day, Roger was calm, flexible and just plain wonderful to be around! His photos were nothing short of amazing. We were so concerned about pulling off a last minute reception that we really didn't know if our guests had a good time until we looked at Roger's photos. Through is photographic artistry Roger was able to capture more than images, he captured emotions. His photos showed us the joy, romance, tenderness, laughter and hilarity at our reception. He was able to capture unbelievable moments for us. In viewing the photos Roger took, any concerns we had about our reception have been wiped away and have been replaced by happiness and joy. Our only problem now is how to select a reasonable amount of photos out of the 500 or so that Roger took! Each one was spectacular! We highly recommend Roger for your wedding or next event!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AndrewRaab
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.8/5.0
Roger was great. Being able to find him on-line was so easy. We would recommend him to others, for their photography needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Francesca
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Wonderful to work with! Creative and efficient! HIGHLY recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shennie
Wedding:
1/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Roger doesn't just take photographs, he tells a story through his photos. He definitely caught on fast as to everyone's flattering angles. I asked for less portraits and more active photographs, and he delivered exactly what I wanted and more. He made my husband and I look so glamorous. There was a problem with the end result: We had too many great photos we wanted to use in the album so now we have a BIG album!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beth00any00
Wedding:
12/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Roger is a great professional with an amazing talent!! His pictures are beautiful and caught so many special moments of our wedding day! He and his wife Robin were so flexible and pleasant to work with! His packages are a great deal and include a beautiful album! He was by far my favorite vendor to work with for my wedding : )
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
8/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Roger was a great photographer. He was very easy to work with and his photos were beautiful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mindy
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
Great photographer! Very professional and gives you exactly what you want for your event. I would absolutely recommend.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CandiceG
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Roger and his wife did a fantastic job, with so many pictures to choose from I am so excited to see the album when complete.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Perera-Walters
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Roger was wonderful, professional, and flexable. We had to change our original wedding date and Roger was flexable and moved 7 months to our new date without any additional charges. His packages are very affordable. Roger was so fast in turning around the proofs we were amazed. I kept hearing from may others at work that had waited over a year for their wedding picture. Roger had our proofs, over 600 pictures, to us with two weeks of our wedding. We can't say enough good things about Roger. We highly recommend him for any event you might be having. You will not be disapointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
10/20/2007
5.0/5.0
How our wedding day was captured for years to come was very important to my husband and me. We met Roger at a wedding show and automatically his creativity and passion for his work shown through. We are both extremely happy with the originality of our pictures, and the quality of the album is insurmountable. He was also extremely flexible and eager to please. I couldn't imagine choosing anyone else to handle the photography of such an important day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LISA
Wedding:
10/13/2007
4.7/5.0
HE TOOK MORE THAN ENOUGH PICTURES,
ALSO WAS ABLE TO TAKE PICTURES OF THINGS I DIDN'T EVEN THINK OF
WAS VERY PLEASED AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND ROGER, HE'S GREAT TO
WORK WITH, DURING THE WEDDING AS WELL AS BEFORE AND AFTERWARDS.
YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessm8217
Wedding:
9/1/2007
4.8/5.0
Roger was a wonderful photographer for us. He traveled for our wedding even though his wife was about to give birth!!! He took wonderful photos, listened to everything I said and made me one the nicest albums anyone has ever seen. I would highly recommend him to any future customers.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
7870 Galesburg Pl, Dunn Loring, VA 22027 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Roger W. Shoemaker Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1255378084527-bethanyshoessepia