130x130_sq_1319045800756-clad91110b
(9)

Rose City Mobile Music

Gladstone , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

PO Box 363
Gladstone, OR US 97027 (map)

PHONE

503-752-4489

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Rose City Mobile Music is Oregon's premier entertainment service that specializes in mobile disc jockey entertainment. Our professional disc jockeys (Entertainment Specialists) are... Read more
Rose City Mobile Music is Oregon's premier entertainment service that specializes in mobile disc jockey entertainment. Our professional disc jockeys (Entertainment Specialists) are knowledgeable, personable and interactive. Meaning, for any occasion (weddings, mitzvahs, corporate events, anniversary, birthday party, etc.), you will receive an experienced and fully qualified entertainer.

It is important that you receive the best entertainment value so your personal experience with our service is memorable. For years, Rose City Mobile Music has entertained satisfied clients throughout Oregon and Washington and it is our pleasure to continue to deliver and strive for excellence.

Your event is as important to us as if it was our own event. We take your event very seriously and are honored that you have chosen Rose City Mobile Music to make your event a flawless one. We take the time, we think of all the details to make things flow perfectly, so you don't have to. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1319089451028-fuller1
130x130_sq_1319089522133-gmscott
130x130_sq_1319089527608-img0805a
130x130_sq_1319089530557-img0817a
130x130_sq_1319089532647-img0852
130x130_sq_1319089534659-img0882a
130x130_sq_1319089536765-img0885a
130x130_sq_1319089538357-img0989
130x130_sq_1319089541352-img0994
130x130_sq_1319089544909-img1008
130x130_sq_1319089546063-img1014a
130x130_sq_1319089548450-img1023a
130x130_sq_1319089551024-img1056a
130x130_sq_1319089554674-img1236
130x130_sq_1319089562443-img1260
130x130_sq_1319089570056-img1271
130x130_sq_1319089576109-img1297
130x130_sq_1319089581896-img1335
130x130_sq_1319089589010-img1367
130x130_sq_1319089596623-img1398
130x130_sq_1319089603924-img1402
130x130_sq_1319089608526-img1436
130x130_sq_1319089613939-img1439
130x130_sq_1319089616263-img1456
130x130_sq_1319089620350-img1460
130x130_sq_1319089626232-img1481
130x130_sq_1319089631114-img1535
130x130_sq_1319089643548-img1600
130x130_sq_1319089646777-img1631
130x130_sq_1319089655357-img1672
130x130_sq_1319089659678-img1696
130x130_sq_1319089663157-img1761
130x130_sq_1319089669381-img2114
130x130_sq_1319089672252-img2121
130x130_sq_1319089674826-img2127

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No Limit. We will have most of your requests as our library is substantial. We do have a budget to purchase music for each event if necessary.
What is your usual attire?
Suit, but we will dress to your event.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No, we do budget for this contingency.
How many other DJs do you work with?
2 and network with several others.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Normally 3 hours. But, we are flexible and will work with most any schedule.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Absolutely!
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
No, but we have done multi-cultural events and are happy to accomodate most any type of event.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely!
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, all new, top-line pro audio equipment.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer club style lighting if desired.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We arrive at least 90 minutes early for setup. We do not require that the client provide a table, however, most large venue's do provide a table as a rule.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No, we are very compact and mobile.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No. We advertise in other ways. No need for us to advertise at your event.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
We do emcee at most events, but no so mush as to be intrusive or monotonous.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
The best way is by changing the musical direction. You can't MAKE people dance. They have to WANT to dance. We do that by playing great music.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks, ever! No, a meal is not required, but is appreciated, especially for longer events.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Not necessary.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
This has never happened. I do have DJs available if in the extremely rare ocassion I become unavailable.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No.
What is your overtime rate?
$50 per 1/2 hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
You get 60 miles round trip for free. After that it is .85 per mile.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
$100 and a signed contract.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1391228396828-profile-cove
Meghan
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Steve Strain ROCKS. He was very very flexible on what times he could meet with us and even drove to near where we live. He knew all the right questions to ask, had an awesome online tool to use, and gave us a really fun party. He was sure to stay in communication with us during the wedding to make sure we were on time for announcements and to check on a few specific songs. He kept things going the whole night. We booked him after seeing him at a friends wedding. His price is a great deal and totally worth it!
Steve Strain ROCKS. He was very very flexible on what times he could meet with us and even drove to near where we live. He Read more...
Steve Strain ROCKS. He was very very flexible on what times he could meet with us and even drove to near where we live. He knew all the right questions to ask, had an awesome online tool to use, and gave us a really fun party. He was sure to stay in communication with us during the wedding to make sure we were on time for announcements and to check on a few specific songs. He kept things going the whole night. We booked him after seeing him at a friends wedding. His price is a great deal and totally worth it! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roxanne
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Joel did a fantastic job at our wedding. He had everyone up and dancing throughout most of the night, got out and showed everyone how to do certain line dances (which were a big hit), and he kept us at ease as far as timeline goes. He let us know when it was time to do everything as far as grand entrance, eating, cake cutting, traditional dances, etc. goes. We are so happy we used Rose City Mobile Music for our big day.
Joel did a fantastic job at our wedding. He had everyone up and dancing throughout most of the night, got out and showed Read more...
Joel did a fantastic job at our wedding. He had everyone up and dancing throughout most of the night, got out and showed everyone how to do certain line dances (which were a big hit), and he kept us at ease as far as timeline goes. He let us know when it was time to do everything as far as grand entrance, eating, cake cutting, traditional dances, etc. goes. We are so happy we used Rose City Mobile Music for our big day. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
He was fun and creative! The different introductions and recordings made our wedding unique. The bride's mother said that he "was just like one of the family." He helped our night flow well and adjusted accordingly to the changes that were made during the reception. I would hire this DJ back again for any future event and I highly recommend him!!
He was fun and creative! The different introductions and recordings made our wedding unique. The bride's mother said that Read more...
He was fun and creative! The different introductions and recordings made our wedding unique. The bride's mother said that he "was just like one of the family." He helped our night flow well and adjusted accordingly to the changes that were made during the reception. I would hire this DJ back again for any future event and I highly recommend him!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Steve was great, and also helped MC! Played great music based on the crowd/guests mood. I honestly can't say enough good things! The best ever! And the price? The price can't be beat! (This is one case where the phrase "you get what you pay for" does NOT apply. You get WAY more than those expensive DJs will provide you!
He even put together a wedding remix we asked for within just a few days, and even revised it several times base on my needs. Always communicated in a timely matter!
Steve was great, and also helped MC! Played great music based on the crowd/guests mood. I honestly can't say enough good Read more...
Steve was great, and also helped MC! Played great music based on the crowd/guests mood. I honestly can't say enough good things! The best ever! And the price? The price can't be beat! (This is one case where the phrase "you get what you pay for" does NOT apply. You get WAY more than those expensive DJs will provide you!
He even put together a wedding remix we asked for within just a few days, and even revised it several times base on my needs. Always communicated in a timely matter! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
We looooooooooooooooooooooooved Rose City for our DJ choice!!! Joel was our DJ for the night and he was out dancing with the crowd, teaching them dances & getting them going, everyone LOOOOOVED that he was involved so much!!!! He played EXACTLY the music we wanted & did it with a smile on his face!!! We definitely recommend them for your DJ, their value is amazing, they did everything I wanted & more!!!! I appreciate them sooooo much for all they did!!!
We looooooooooooooooooooooooved Rose City for our DJ choice!!! Joel was our DJ for the night and he was out dancing with Read more...
We looooooooooooooooooooooooved Rose City for our DJ choice!!! Joel was our DJ for the night and he was out dancing with the crowd, teaching them dances & getting them going, everyone LOOOOOVED that he was involved so much!!!! He played EXACTLY the music we wanted & did it with a smile on his face!!! We definitely recommend them for your DJ, their value is amazing, they did everything I wanted & more!!!! I appreciate them sooooo much for all they did!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Bg11
pdxjam
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Steve was excellent! We wanted him to help coordinate the flow of the night, and he did a great job! He's very personable and has a great sense of humor which is perfect for us. The music was perfect with only a minor glitch and he made everything right by not charging us for the last half an hour because of the earlier problems. He even made us a CD with our song requests on it! I love that he had a "do not play" list, and allowed the guests (and encouraged them) to make requests for songs. He even put out request papers on every table so guests would know that was an option.
Steve was excellent! We wanted him to help coordinate the flow of the night, and he did a great job! He's very personable Read more...
Steve was excellent! We wanted him to help coordinate the flow of the night, and he did a great job! He's very personable and has a great sense of humor which is perfect for us. The music was perfect with only a minor glitch and he made everything right by not charging us for the last half an hour because of the earlier problems. He even made us a CD with our song requests on it! I love that he had a "do not play" list, and allowed the guests (and encouraged them) to make requests for songs. He even put out request papers on every table so guests would know that was an option. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsEkerson
Wedding:
6/28/2009
5.0/5.0
They did a great job and they were on top of things.
They did a great job and they were on top of things.
They did a great job and they were on top of things. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
breannagustafson
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
Steve was awesome! We needed a true MC and that he was! He kept everything flowing and on time and we really enjoyed everything. He truly has so much insight and advice on how to do certain things and the sky was the limit. He really worked with us and we can't thank him enough!
Breanna and Kyle Gustafson
9/10/11
Oregon City, OR
Steve was awesome! We needed a true MC and that he was! He kept everything flowing and on time and we really enjoyed Read more...
Steve was awesome! We needed a true MC and that he was! He kept everything flowing and on time and we really enjoyed everything. He truly has so much insight and advice on how to do certain things and the sky was the limit. He really worked with us and we can't thank him enough!
Breanna and Kyle Gustafson
9/10/11
Oregon City, OR Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzer
Wedding:
8/15/2009
3.8/5.0
RCMM was very nice to work with (very flexible and tried to be accommodating), and I think for some events they're probably terrific, but I'm not sure I'd necessarily recommend them for an event for people in my age group who are into music. They have an enormous collection of music but not a whole lot of songs have been added since 2006 or so, so quite lacking in current popular music. Maybe it was just a difference of opinion of what constitutes "old standards like Frank Sinatra and Cole Porter" but the dinner music definitely veered sharply into instrumental muzak, which was sort of horrible, and at one point a guest even asked if we were listening to the Weather Channel soundtrack (quite embarrassing). RCMM is definitely less expensive than other area DJs and I thought it would be a decent way to save some money, but I'm afraid it kind of showed. We had provided a specific song list for the dancing portion, and once he started playing that list everything was fine. I've definitely been to tons of weddings where the DJ was worse. And on the plus side, he was super professional, the sound was good, great equipment, showed up on time, got all the "first dance" songs right, and kept the event flowing nicely from introduction to dance to cake cutting and so on.
RCMM was very nice to work with (very flexible and tried to be accommodating), and I think for some events they're Read more...
RCMM was very nice to work with (very flexible and tried to be accommodating), and I think for some events they're probably terrific, but I'm not sure I'd necessarily recommend them for an event for people in my age group who are into music. They have an enormous collection of music but not a whole lot of songs have been added since 2006 or so, so quite lacking in current popular music. Maybe it was just a difference of opinion of what constitutes "old standards like Frank Sinatra and Cole Porter" but the dinner music definitely veered sharply into instrumental muzak, which was sort of horrible, and at one point a guest even asked if we were listening to the Weather Channel soundtrack (quite embarrassing). RCMM is definitely less expensive than other area DJs and I thought it would be a decent way to save some money, but I'm afraid it kind of showed. We had provided a specific song list for the dancing portion, and once he started playing that list everything was fine. I've definitely been to tons of weddings where the DJ was worse. And on the plus side, he was super professional, the sound was good, great equipment, showed up on time, got all the "first dance" songs right, and kept the event flowing nicely from introduction to dance to cake cutting and so on. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Rose City Mobile Music responded with the following comments:

Hi. Steve with Rose City Mobile Music here. I feel a response to this review is in order. Let me first say that this wedding was a beautiful, classy event and I am proud to have been a part of it. In response to the music complaint, I will agree that I played two songs not in the vein of Porter/Sinatra. this was in transition from cocktail hour and the dinner hour. I was asked to play Jazz, including music by Cole Porter and Frank Sinatra. Never did the bride state that she wanted ONLY that style of music.
To the complaint regarding my music library, I am constantly adding music to my library. I add roughly 3500 new songs every year, all current hits in many genras. Now, it's tough to have every new song and the service I use (Top Hits USA) sends my music based on several current pop charts. I also buy music as requested by my clients, so in reality, I will have any music requested by my clients.
In closing, if you read this Bride's review, you'll see that everything else went very well for her. Well enough that I got a generous tip at evening end.
Though we strive to make every single event perfect for our clients, sometimes you just can't please everyone.
I firmly believe in the review process, good or bad. It is crucial for me to make my business better for future clients.

MAP

 
PO Box 363, Gladstone, OR 97027 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rose City Mobile Music
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1319045800756-clad91110b