Nophoto-130

royal cakery

New Orleans , LA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

10800 morrison rd suite 106
New Orleans, LA US 70127 (map)

PHONE

504-246-2065

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
They made us the most amazing Mille Feuille wedding cake with fruit throughout! They hadn't even made one before and it turned out so well! It was tiered and gorgeous and even better, incredibly delicious! We received many, many compliments on it-- all of which were how delicious it was. They were easy to work with and clearly, flexible and creative to tackle something with such aplomb for the first time. It was a wonderful experience!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.7/5.0
My cake was as beautiful as it was delicious. Never had anything tastier.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
The ladies at Royal Cakery will make a wedding cake that even a person that doesn't like sweets like me will love! I had 2 pieces, btw! That's saying something! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.6/5.0
We got the most beautiful and most delicious cakes from Royal Cakery. Not one bite of the groom's cake was left at the end of the reception. The bride's cake was layered with fresh strawberries and was absolutely delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Delicious!!! That's what we kept hearing in regards to our wedding cake!!!! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Best wedding cake I have EVER had. We are still fighting over the leftover from my daughters wedding on friday night. The unique French Buttercream icing is AMAZING!!! I wish they made birthday cake because we would definetly order more often. Everyone is still raving over how beautiful the cake was especially on the cake stand that was rented from Nola B. It was all perfect!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Makiya
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The Royal Cakery had so many flavor options not just your traditional wedding cake flavor. During our tasting we got to pick 3 flavors and 3 filings trying to pick just three was very hard. The cake was absolutely delicious. I brought in 4 different pictures of cakes and The Royal Cakery was able to incorporate all 4 images into my cake. Not only was my cake delicious but it was absolutely gorgeous and exactly how I wanted it. The artistry was perfect. I have tasted other well known bakeries around town and The Royal Cakery hands down has the best tasting cakes. If you want the best bang for your buck with artistry and taste then The Royal Cakery is the place to go.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved everything about both my wedding cake and grooms cake!! They work with you on designs and are simply wonderful
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Great service, most importantly, their cake was so beautiful and delicious!
Make sure to taste it in advance and you won't regret. Our wedding cake was Tiffany blue and they dyed the exact color I wanted. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1372636285340-img2274
Channing
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The staff at Royal Cakery was great to work with! During the cake tasting, EVERYTHING was great! Unfortunately for me, I only wanted a 3-tiered cake, otherwise, I would've had a tier of every flavor. Additionally, I was unsure about having a buttercream frosting instead of fondant for my cake because I had seen photos of other cakes at different bakeries and they always looked less refined and sloppy compared to fondant cakes. However, I don't like the way that fondant tastes. But during my consultation at Royal Cakery, I couldn't tell the difference between their buttercream-frosted cakes and their fondant-frosted cakes! That's amazing!

On the day of the wedding, my cake was beautiful! And, of course, the taste was divine! We still have people talking about the cake! Likewise, my husband and I cannot wait until our anniversary so we can eat our top tier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous cake! They did exactly what we wanted even coordinating from a distance. The cake was delicious too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
Delicious cake and great talent!!! Everyone loved it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/9/2013
4.8/5.0
GREAT cakes, both -looking and -tasting, very affordable. Tons of flexibility in the choices of filling and frosting, as well as cake style. Very easy for an out of town bride and groom to take care of with one visit. And people are still talking about our Popeye's themed groom's cake. Do yourself a favor, skip all the fancy places uptown, drive out to New Orleans East and meet these lovely ladies!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
2/16/2013
4.5/5.0
A funny title to a wedding cake review, but it's true! Our groom's cake was a picture of our dog and it was awesome and hysterical! Bottom line is that the girls at Royal Cakery that we worked with were so great. We did a tasting there and everything was absolutely delicious!

My four-tiered wedding cake was beautiful and exactly what I wanted. I kept changing my mind about the groom's cake. They were patient with me. In the end, I sent them a picture of a painting of my dog in the groomsmen suit. It sounds strange, yes, but it was playful and funny - and the cake was a hit! Everyone had a good laugh and it was delicious, of course.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
1/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a red velvet wedding cake with French buttercream icing- DELICIOUS! We received many comments about how our cake not only looked good but tasted good too. Lots of other bakeries make beautiful cakes, but this one really is the best tasting in New Orleans.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brook
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding and grooms cakes were beautiful and delicious!!! Shirelle and her daughter Courtney were so friendly and easy to work with. I HIGHLY recommend Royal Cakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
One thing I hate about most weddings is awful wedding cake and I didn't want that to be the case at mine. So, I'm so glad I went to Royal Cakery. From the second I put my cake combination of choices in my mouth I knew they would make my wedding cake!! Hands down. On my wedding day my wedding cake was everything I could have asked for and tasted so good. My husband doesn't even want to wait until our anniversary to eat the top tier, lol. They even went the extra mile by going back to their bakery to get wooden stakes to put in my cake when the topper I made was too heavy. They went above and beyond. I will say two things, because I had a grooms cake design that required fondant, his cake turned out dry which was disappointing. Lastly, they were pricey so we went with a very simple design to keep costs low, but we didn’t need a fancy cake, but required a delicious one so it worked out fine, lol. Wouldn't have had anyone else make our cakes... They are great!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelby
Wedding:
5/6/2012
0.7/5.0
LACKS CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS ----
Today I called this bakery hoping to pre-order & put a deposit down for a 3 tier birthday cake that serves 150 people or more. I'm planning my mother's surprise 65th birthday party and b/c I know she wanted a cake from this bakery I wanted honor that and have one for her. I called to inquire about pricing, deposit and payment information and was told that they only specialize in wedding cakes. I was confused due to the fact that their website clearly shows pictures for baby showers, wedding and novelty cakes, so I asked, well according to your website that isn't so, the lady responded in a defensive tone and stated, "Well those pictures have been up since, 2007 and they are old!" I responded, well how many servings does your smallest wedding cake serve? She stated, 30-40 people and it costs $162 (with an attitude as if to imply I couldn't afford it) So I then stated, oh ok well I'm looking for a cake to serve 150 people, so she then let out a sigh, (with a strong irate tone) and stated "um what date is it and I can check the book b/c if we have brides on this date then we can't do it b/c we commit to the brides!!" She pretended to check the book, and of course she stated that she has 2 brides booked for the date I want and cannot do it. I then stated ok, thanks and you all should change your website and delete the photos b/c your website is misleading. Now it seems as though they took my advise b/c I can no longer pull up the website.

I'm feel the need to give this company a bad rating because they are a African American owned business and I too am African American, and where as I would trade being black for anything in the world, I try to support black owned businesses but most of my experiences have been horrible, many of them lack simple customer service skills which should be a mandatory must in any business. She just blew me off as if I was nothing only b/c I wanted a birthday cake, I was willing to pay whatever the price was just to put a smile on my mother's face, but her special will not be ruined she will have a very delicious cake from someone who is willing to accept the business. I just could not believe that they would turn down making money, I mean isn't that what owning a business is all about?? Doing what you love and making money while doing it??
Sad to say I have had enough and I will not be supporting any more black owned businesses ever!!!!!!

I give this bakery 5 thumbs down!!!! THEY SUCK AT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!
IF YOU WANT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE DO NOT GO TO ROYAL CAKERY!!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
4/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved our wedding cake and groom's cake! Shirel did an amazing job with both of them. The groom's cake looked exactly like we wanted it to look (we had a fishing lure that my husband loves using) and tasted amazing. And the wedding cake was delicious too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Cake was exactly what I wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
khertel81
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Um the cake is delicious! I am a wedding photographer have tried hundreds of cakes and they were by far the best cake I have ever eaten. We got lemon raspberry, red velvet, and chocolate peanut butter. It was so good! And the icing was even better!

We also gave them a unique design for our cake. We wanted to make it look like a road trip from the time we met to our New Orleans wedding. They did a great job!

And the price was very reasonable for what wedding cakes typically cost.

Oh and let me add our grooms cake was perfect a Redskins helmet on a field!!

I loved everything!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Queen
Wedding:
10/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Shirelle is amazing. We had an awesome time at our tasting, she is good New Orleans people and we were happy to give her our business. We wanted a simply designed, delicious cake.
It came out beautifully, and our middle tier, red velvet, was gone within 3 minutes!
We even emailed Shirelle a few weeks before the date since our guest count was smaller than expected, and she allowed us to change our order to a smaller cake.
It's a little pricier than other bakeries, but so worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1301244937397-163318
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Fabulous! Royal Cakery made our wedding and groom's cakes--both were gorgeous and absolutely delicious! We needed a sugar-free cake, and our groom's cake was not only the best sugar-free chocolate cake I've ever had, it might be the best chocolate cake I've ever had! We could not be happier with Royal Cakery--they were extremely accommodating during the entire planning process, and they delivered two fantastic cakes. We would HIGHLY recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1288122153764-28277116253241754328100001089574487969842114885n
Jhane
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Unparalled service and quality!!!! People have been calling us since the wedding asking where we got our cake. Both the grooms cake and wedding cake were not only stunning but delicious. They do cost a bit more than the traditional bakeries in the city BUT you the taste and quality of work is well worth it. I couldn't have imagined a better cake. It was so good I am planning to order a miniture version for my husband and I because we barely got any of it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
silverfox
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
to the ladies at royal cakery, to mrs.shirelle and her staff ,i so want to thank you, for the exqusite job ya'll did on my wedding cake and the grooms cake. from the design that was put on the cakes ,to the flavors, all of my guest have been wanting to know where i got my cakes done. my wedding on May 14,2011 the family is planning another event soon and have already,looking for royal cakery to do another cake ,to any bride in the future,planning her wedding ,i would say take the trip go see mrs.shirelle and the staff .it is so worth the trip and time .again thank you so very much
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
The Royal Cakery has the most delicious and moist cake I've ever tasted. There are so many choices for the cake and icing. The decorations were exactly what we talked about and were done beautifully. I had sugar calla lillies that were gorgeous. It was a perfect wedding cake that was both beautiful and delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1281040057262-sillyface1
Julie and Kevin
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Royal cakery was the best bakery you will find!!! Unfortunately the huge review I wrote for them was deleted. :( I'll start again
THEY ARE AMAZING!!! We had lots of appointments with different bakeries. This was our first appointment. After meeting them & tasting their amazing cakes we cancelled all other appointments. It would just feel like cheating on them, we loved them so much. We couldn't even pick 1 kind of cake we wound up choosing 3. People are still talking about how great our cake was and its almost been a year. Cant wait for our anniversary to have more. :)
Not only was the cake DELICIOUS but it was BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!! You wont find a better bakery!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
KristenCarrier
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
From the service at our cake testing to the final product everything was high quality.
We had a three tier cake with different layers: White Cake with Almond Amaretto filling and Red Velvet with Dulce de Leche filling. All was decorated with a design I found in a wedding magazine, but matching swatches of fabric from my dress and the bridesmaids. The color was amazingly close, and the cake came out delicious and gorgeous.
Delivery to venue was free, and the final product is definitely worth the little extra cost. Honestly, none of the other bakeries came close to the taste, and options that Royal Cakery offers.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1283868986661-scan100820007
Quynh Nhu
Wedding:
2/19/2011
4.1/5.0
The Royal Cakery has tasty cakes but they are a bit pricey. Their cakes last pretty long too.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nina-n-hong
Wedding:
1/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful and delicious. One of our requests was to design fleur dis lis on the wedding cake. Shirelle idea was to design each layer with a different fleur dis lis. It was GORGEOUS!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.8/5.0
Shirelle at Royal Cakery was easy to work with and had beautiful cakes to choose from as well as selection of flavors and frostings. At the wedding, the cake really became a showpiece and looks fabulous in the pictures!! I chose 2 different cakes to serve at the wedding and everyone loved it!!!
I would highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
k
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.2/5.0
Our cake was absolutely beautiful and GOOD. We knew we had chosen the right bakery at our cake tasting because we sampled everything twice! The cake is that good. It was a bit pricey and their professionalism over the phone needs work but all in all we felt like we got what we paid for. Our guests loved the cake and complimented how pretty it looked.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ereekaj
Wedding:
4/23/2010
3.9/5.0
They failed to tell me in multiple conversations over a year that they had moved locations. I was planning everything from the DC area, so I was not aware of the move. When I sent the final payment, I sent it to the old address. It wasn't forwarded so the day before the wedding they called me stating that I would have to drop everything to come pay them in cash or check right then or they wouldn't deliver the cake. I didn't have a rent car and was just about to leave to go to the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. They wouldn't allow me to pay in cash when they delivered the cake the next day either. After lots of pleading they finally allowed me to use my credit card to take care of the rest of bill. Slightly annoying, but the design and taste of the cake made up for it all. Best cake ever! It was designed exactly like I had asked and tasted phenomenal.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
royal cakery responded with the following comments:

We are happy to hear she enjoyed the taste and the design of her wedding cake. The final payment was not received on time and we simply asked her to pay by credit card. We did not charge the late fee because we understand lots of things are ocurring doing this time. We did email the changed address to her, but we are very sorry for any incomvenience this may have caused. We are doing our best to make the process of order a wedding cake as easy as possible for our brides.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lona
Wedding:
12/9/2009
5.0/5.0
Our guests could not stop talking about how delicious our cake was. And my husband who does not like sweets at all, could not stop commenting on how great our cake was. They were very professional and explained to us the differences in the cake design and pricesThe cake came out beautifully and tasted amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LizandTony
Wedding:
10/16/2009
4.4/5.0
Cakes taste amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kbh2be
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.7/5.0
Our wedding cake was simply gorgeous! To add to that, it was delicious. I could not have asked for anything more. Shirelle and her staff are wonderful, and after comparing them with other bakeries in the area, I found them to be the best value with quality/taste and design.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elmcminn
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.9/5.0
This is such an amazing value for an outstanding product. I don't think I have ever rated anything this high. It was a pleasure to work with the Royals.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
3/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Let’s start with 1 thing - Shirelle’s cake hands down was the best thing that I have ever put in my mouth. I literally could eat that cake all day long. Now that we have that settled – I was so pleased with our experiences at the Royal Cakery. The design of the cake was absolutely beautiful, exactly what we were looking for, and they had so many mouthwatering flavors and offerings. We would recommend Shirelle and the Royal Cakery for any event!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
perkins1022
Wedding:
3/21/2009
4.2/5.0
I Used Royal Cakery For My Wedding Cake And The Process Was A little Hard When I Started Out With My Cake Design But It Got Better As It Got Closer To My Wedding Their Cakes Are So Good They Speak For They Self I Had A Five Layer Cake Each One Was A Different Flavor Everyone At My Wedding Enjoyed The Different Flavors I Wanted To Give My Guest Different Other Than White Wedding Cake And Royal Cakery Help Me To Achieve That Goa l.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NOLA bride
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
We wanted a bride's cake that would wow, without being too expensive. That's a hard combination to come by, but Royal Cakery pulled it off for us. Each layer was different and exciting--for example butter cake with fresh peach filling, red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting, yellow cake with praline filling, etc. They have both common and uncommon types of cake and fillings. And it was absolutely beautiful, with a delicious French butter cream frosting. The owner knew our florist, so they even coordinated the flowers perfectly. They were friendly and helpful in every way possible, and it was a pleasure working with them. I highly recommend the Royal Cakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My wedding planner, Michele Adams, recommended and handled all of my contact with the Royal Cakery, so I can't really rate flexibility or responsivelness, since I never dealth with them directly. I can tell you that this place is tiny, in a shopping center in Kenner, and I was semi worried. But their cake was AMAZING. They made the cake exactly like the photo I gave them, and it tasted beyong delicious. We got so many compliments on how great it was and it was SOOO inexpensive. They also did amazing pecan pies for our "groom's cake" and I am so glad that Michele recommended them to us.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
10800 morrison rd suite 106, New Orleans, LA 70127 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for royal cakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220