130x130_sq_1264000290952-rusty26015

Rusty Pelican

Key Biscayne , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3201 Rickenbacker Causeway
Key Biscayne, FL US 33149 (map)

PHONE

305-361-3818

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Most Sought after Location in all of South Florida. With Breathtaking Views of Biscayne Bay and the Miami Skyline, the Rusty Pelican has become the First Choice of people who will... Read more
The Most Sought after Location in all of South Florida. With Breathtaking Views of Biscayne Bay and the Miami Skyline, the Rusty Pelican has become the First Choice of people who will settle for only the Best. Come see why this Landmark Location continues the be a South Florida Favorite for nearly 50 Years. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1229796076138-miamiskyline-8
130x130_sq_1229796165857-home7
130x130_sq_1229796188576-home2

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1970
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
City, Modern, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
80
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
3/28/2015
5.0/5.0
Even though our wedding is still months away, I really felt the need to write about how excited and grateful we are to be working with Ana Cofino at the Rusty Key Biscayne. She has been beyond amazing. My fiance and I live in Chicago, which makes planning our wedding a bit more challenging. The Rusty Pelican's beauty ofcourse speaks for itself. Ana sat with us for hours and made sure all of our thousands of questions were answered. She really took the time to help us plan our wedding at the Rusty. She was warm, relatable and very professional. Ana walked us step by step through all the details of the contract and put everything we discussed into writing in a folder for us to take home. Because of Ana, we had no hesitations to sign at the Rusty.

I highly encourage anyone looking for a wedding venue to look into the Rusty Pelican.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
Amazing view and venue and fabulous food. The day of was a DREAM! The reason it didn't give them all 5 stars was because of some issues with attention to detail in the contract negotiations. Make sure you have everything in writing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Not all 5s for a couple reasons, The reason we chose the venue was for the great meals. The presentation displayed for the tasting was totally different than the serving for the main entree. The bar service provided by the banquet manager Michael was superb. My guests raved about the bar service. Overall the staff was very good. There was a bit of a challenge with communication about accommodating set up at the venue and we had to switch event planners and didn't find out till the day of the tasting. Overall I think the experience was a good one just at times it was dicey.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
We held our wedding reception here and it was AMAZING! (~200 person, plated dinner). While we spent more $$ than initially planned, it was worth every single penny. Our reception was perfect and the Rusty Pelican was a great venue. Our guests loved it. Lots of pros and a few cons (most of which were positively addressed by Alejandra and RP staff):

Pros - 1. We worked with Alejandra and she was awesome. Very nice and super responsive. Even after the wedding, she continued to answer our questions. 2. The food was great! 3. Venue was clean, updated, and lovely! 4. Staff is GREAT - from the servers to the event team. They were even available for last-minute help - we forgot table numbers and they quickly stepped into action and provided some.

Cons - 1. The valet situation is bad - it is handled by an outside company. We chose to pay for our guests' parking, and we were charged with no way to trace the actual number of cars that were parked - there were no stickers and no lists. Some of our guests were directed to self-park, while others did valet. Either way - the system was poor. 2. We had an issue of having enough set-up time - the contract only guarantees a few hours. Luckily, we were able to talk to management last minute, who gave us extra time (as there was not an event earlier in the day) 3. Food came out later than scheduled, which pushed things back in the event schedule. Wasn't a big issue, but something to consider in your wedding scheduling 4. Initially, we worked with 2 other event team members. Things stabilized toward the end, when we worked exclusively with 1 person.

All in all, best reception venue in Miami! Loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Since the moment I saw the ballroom and that amazing view at the Rusty Pelican I knew I had my venue! The Rusty has the best view in Miami by far! Ana Maria was so nice and professional the whole time. She always answered all my questions in a timely manner. The ballroom is amazing especially at night with the Miami skyline. Everyone was also raving about how good the food was. It was definitely not your typical "wedding food", one perk of having your wedding at an actual restaurant. The only thing is they are strict with certain requests like having confetti on the dance floor, or having a sparkles or confetti send off. They did not let us do that! But other than that you cannot go wrong!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
The Rusty Pelican is a beautiful venue for nautical theme weddings. The views are spectacular !!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/17/2014
2.0/5.0
The only stressful experiences I had throughout my year of wedding planning were caused by the Rusty Pelican. There were several things that were informed to me during my initial meeting (before booking the venue) that were then changed later on, including the price of the premium beverage. They mistakenly worded the price in the 2013 wedding package, which was what was informed to me during the initial meeting, they then corrected this in their 2014 package and refused to honor what had been initially informed. So please make sure to receive everything in writing, specifically when dealing with Ana Colfino. Two weeks before my wedding while I was at my Bachelorette weekend getaway I received a call saying that they had double booked the Terrace where my ceremony would be taking place... my options were to move my ceremony downstairs or change my time.... this was informed to me two weeks before (so that I couldn't move my wedding to a different venue) even though they knew about it months in advance. In the end they got the other party to move their event and the conflict was resolved but it ruined my bachelorette weekend (I received a 3% discount on my event for the inconvenience) . The day of my wedding they had an event booked in the same ballroom during the day giving all of my vendors only 2 hrs to set up. Also, the food was served 45 minutes late reducing the dancing time (even though I reviewed the timeline with Ana countless times). In the end, I had a beautiful wedding. The views were amazing, the food was great. However, it is not worth to spend your hard earned money on a place that (1) cares about quantity not quality (if they could they would book 10 events per day), (2) is not honorable (they really don't care to honor their words), (3) doesn't give you the value for the money you're paying. There are many beautiful places in Miami, take your money elsewhere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
naomi
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.4/5.0
The venue and food were impeccable. The location is absolutely stunning. The food was impressive and was not banquet quality at all. We didn't even have anything fancy, just the airline chicken breast which was not dry! The passed appetizers were amazing. Lots of guests raved about them. A server came and brought us our own plate. All of the servers were very attentive. I am so glad we had our wedding at the RP. The location cannot be beat. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be promptness in replying to emails and phone calls. They are clearly very busy and have lots of business. However, on your special day, they make you feel like you are their only client.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/27/2014
5.0/5.0
Would highly recommend Rusty Pelican. Renovated to a crisp modern look, Panoramic View of the bay and City Skyline. Staff is great and professional, food taste great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
1/19/2014
5.0/5.0
The most beautiful venue in Miami and the food was exceptional! I could not be happier with the venue. Ana and Dayana were extremely helpful throughout the entire planning process and worked well with me. I am very anxious and type A and like to constantly control every situation. They always responded quickly and professionally and never made me feel like I was a burden or that they didn't have time for me. I was nervous that the day was not going to go smoothly or look how I wanted. Boys as I wrong. The ceremony space and reception space was set up perfectly and it was beautiful! They let me come early to set up all the decorations ( I made everything myself). The wait staff and bartenders could not have been nicer or more accommodating. It was the best day of my life, and much of that is thanks to the professionalism and assistance of hype Rusty Pelican!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
1/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding ceremony and reception took place at the Rusty Pelican. We were pleased with our wedding planner, Ana Maria. She would always return our phone calls within minutes…even on her days off she contacted us immediately! We were most pleased with the service along with their magnificent food quality. Yes, the rusty pelican can be a little expensive compared to other venues but the service we received was priceless. Michael, Jeffrey, Edgar, and the rest of the staff made sure our wedding night was perfect! I wish I could remember our servers name (male and female), but they made sure we had our glasses full the entire night. Overall, it was a beautiful view of the Miami skyline, which our out of town guests enjoyed very much.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience having our wedding reception at the Rusty Pelican and would highly recommend them to anyone thinking of using them for their wedding! Ana Maria was our contact at the Rusty throughout the planning process, and she was wonderful to work with - very patient, always answering our questions in a timely manner, and providing us with very useful input! The rest of the staff was just as great and were extremely patient with the numerous questions and accommodations that my family and I had and wanted for the wedding. We were absolutely thrilled with the way that everything turned out at the Rusty. We've been told many times by numerous guests that the waitering staff was extremely attentive and always anticipated their needs. Everyone was also extremely impressed with the food and the drinks - I've been told by numerous guests that it's the best food they've had at a wedding! Thank you Ana Maria and everyone else at the Rusty!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pamela
Wedding:
11/10/2013
4.9/5.0
Wonderful Day . Nov. 10, 2013. Excellent service and atmosphere. Would not change one thing about the entire day. Food was Awesome. Staff wonderful......
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow! I cannot even begin to explain how lucky I am to have found rusty pelican for our venue! From the beginning to the end, Ana Maria was there to make the wedding planning process so easy! Everything was included and the most amazing thing is the view! Our guest have not stopped talking about what an amazing time they had and how they never wanted to leave because the view kept sucking them in! I highly recommend everyone to look into this venue for any event needs!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gail
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.7/5.0
We hosted our wedding Oct 12, 2013 here and it was an amazing evening! We had our ceremony on the outdoor patio and our reception in the Pelican Room. I HIGHLY recommend this location for beautiful views, comfortable surroundings, GREAT food and a wonderful staff.

Venue: You can't beat this view. You can't. It's a gorgeous view of the Miami skyline and only an island off the coast could offer it. It was stunning! Our guest both locals and NYers were SUPER impressed with the upscale look of the Rusty Pelican and the gorgeous views it offered.

Food: TOP NOTCH! The Pork was a favorite amongst our guest, with the chicken a close second! Great selection of sides and salads. The horderves passed around during the cocktail hour were WELL Received. In particular the Yucca in Dijon Sauce and Mini Tacos! So Yummy!!

Patio was a beautiful place to have our ceremony and the covered roof and optional clear plastic windows made Rain and Wind not a fear of ours. And the two bridal suites offered a nice get-a-way!

The staff: AWESOME

First and foremost, Alejandra was a pleasure to work with, never showed me a hint of frustration or annoyance despite the craziness that are weddings. I'm sure every bride is a nervous, over-stressed mess and I was no exception and she shielded me from any stresses my wedding may have brought upon her.
Michael & Jeffrey (part of the meal services) were fabulous during our reception. Michael was so on top of everything and was always looking to see what needed to be done, needed improvement, him and Jeffery were willing and eager to make the night as flawless as possible. Jeffery was so sweet to accommodate any request I had including my begging for a glass of wine because I hadn't drank a thing all night! So sweet.
The entire bar and wait staff were excellent and genuinely looked to make our night special.

I recommend paying for uplighting from your DJ -- makes a big difference in the setting and mood.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lourdes
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter and son in law wedding reception was at the Rusty Pelican and it was just beautiful. From the very beginning we were offered excellent service. Ana Maria whom assisted us with all the planning was excellent and very helpful. I truly recommend the Rusty Pelican. The view is just spectacular....Thank you all for making this day so special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Rusty Pelican was amazing! The view, food and service were more than we ever expected! Ana helped create the wedding of our dreams and we are forever grateful! All our guests both local and out of town were in awe of the atmosphere and view. The Miami Sky Line is the perfect back drop for all special events!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/8/2013
1.6/5.0
Completely disappointed and would recommend future brides & grooms to be very cautious and specific on what you expect if you decide to book. There are some good and many bad things I have to share about this place. The good is the place is beautiful and we were extremely excited to have our wedding at the Rusty Pelican, the appetizers and food where good and that's all the good I have to say about this place. I had several complaints from my guest(including my other vendors) on how poorly they were treated so much so that I was made aware that one of my guests took it upon themselves to make a formal complaint to the corporate office , I had to hear from my guests how they ran out of meal selection from the menu so some guest had to wait to get their meals while the other guests had already eaten and were getting served the cake. We paid for a premium open bar and the bartenders were limiting the drinks to the guests. I paid PREMIUM "OPEN BAR"!!! So there should be no limitations as to the drinks served to my guests and that is the reason I made the upgrade on my contract. Later, Bride(me) and Groom were put to blame as to why they ran out of food because we did not specify who was eating what. The event coordinator only asked of me how many guests per table, number of tables, amount of kid's meals, vendor meals, and the number of beef/chicken meals needed. All that information was sent via email and confirmed, if anything else was needed from us then it is their fault for not inquiring us in regards to the matter. There is no excuse as to how or why there was a shortage of my menu selections even if some guests had changed their minds at the last minute. There is always a surplus of meals for these events to assure everyone gets what they want. All I have to say is that I am embarrassed and utterly humiliated by all of this and did not expect this kind of treatment from the Rusty Pelican. I also will write a formal complaint to corporate.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1/26/2013
3.0/5.0
The Rusty Pelican is absolutely beautiful, but they are very strict and also the wedding coordinator (Ana) is a complete nightmare to work with. If you pick this venue, I strongly suggest from the begging to ask for anyone else, as I wish we would have. Ana was terrible to work with in every regards especially the part where she tries to overcharge you for everything and I caught her several times. You have to review your contract in depth because that's where they will mislead you. I loved my wedding and it is a beautiful place, but my planning process was a complete nightmare with them! Good Luck!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
only location in Miami that is on the water. The new team they have is amazing!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine K
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Kimberly Smalls was amazing. She was so kind and helpful and made sure everything well perfectly. She was incredible when one of our other vendors didn't show up and was able to get us a back up in time so that the guests never knew. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Rusty Pelican. The food was amazing, service was fantastic.. Paco even prepared food for me to eat after the reception when he saw I wasn't eating. And of course, the view is unbelievable. I am so grateful to the staff at the Rusty Pelican for making my big day unforgettable! Thank you!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Ana Maria, Julian and all the staff did an exceptional job. Everything was perfect! The food and the service was amazing. Weeks later, and our guests are still talking about how gorgeous our venue was. The Rusty Pelican’s breathtaking view and extraordinary service made it the perfect venue to celebrate the best day of our lives.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ophelia
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I just had my wedding there andThis place is a dream come true! The Pelican room we were in had a panoramic and spectacular view! Our ceremony was down in their patio area and they made sure i got the setup i wanted. Cant beat last years price for this wonderful highend facility the food was excellent, everyone raved how great our buffet was.The captain manager assigned was excellent . He made sure I got everything I needed and more. If you ever want to celebrate your wedding there, I suggest you speak to Kimberly. She was awesome to work with as a coordinator. Highly recommended place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mystie
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our daughter's wedding reception at the Rusty Pelican. Service was great. Food was absolutely fabulous. The view was magnificent. Ana Maria Martinez was a blessing. She made sure that every detail was covered and made the occassion very special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carissa423
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for the perfect spot for a wedding ceremony and reception in the Miami area, The Rusty Pelican is the perfect spot. They have breathtaking views of the marina, water, and across the bay of the whole downtown Miami skyline. It was easy and very convenient having the ceremony and the reception at the same location. Both the area for the ceremony and the reception have been the most beautiful areas I have been for any wedding. The service was phenomenal and the wedding coordinator, AnnaMarie was pleasant and attentive throughout the whole process. She made everything seem very easy with wedding planning. The food was extraordinary and still receive compliments of how exquisite the food was at the wedding. Instead of a wedding cake, I wanted Key lime pie, which they were able to accomodate for. It was certainly the best Key lime pie I have ever tasted. We had a small wedding of 30 people and the venue made it intimate and the perfect spot for our wedding. I simple would not have changed a thing. The venue can accomodate for a variety number of people which is the best part. They have several reception rooms to hold a small or large wedding. The Rusty Pelican exceeded our expectations and would highly recommend to anyone interested in getting married or holding an event in the Miami area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sophie
Wedding:
3/4/2012
4.4/5.0
The newly done Rusty Pelican was absolutely beautiful. We loved the views from Key Biscayne and thought the whole reception went off without a hitch. We had to move the ceremony inside due to rain and our aisle was not wide enough, so that was a little frustrating. But the staff was incredible, making sure we had everything we needed and the food was DELICIOUS!! Everyone was raving about it.
I would have my wedding at the RP again for sure!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vjimenez1984
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
After having been remodeled the ballrooms looked amazing, the service was excellent, and the food delicious. The attention that I received from Gina was above my expectations. The only thing I would change would be the set up of the cocktail rooms for the bridal party.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.
Wedding:
2/18/2012
4.5/5.0
The Rusty Pelican was wonderful! A must see after the renovations. All of my guest raved about the hors d'oeuvre's and the food.
The Bridal Suite was nice, but there were a few issues which the staff should have been on top when they had to move us to the other suite. The suite did not have food readily available for bridal party.
Other than that a special thanks goes to Gina, Aida, Michael, Paco and Jeffrey for staying on top of everything the entire night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
1/7/2012
4.8/5.0
I have to say WOW! I was one of the first sets of weddings to grace the Rusty Pelican after its remodeling and closing for several months. The result was more than spectacular. The reception area was gorgeous, the new bridal suites were perfect for my husband and I to unwind before the party, the service and the team spoiled us to no end, and the food was absolutely DELICIOUS -- it melted in your mouth. I had a reception full of picky eaters and they all raved about the quality of the food. The planning process was surprisingly smooth throughout the renovation. I found best results when I visited them onsite. I was able to get to know the whole staff that was working with me on my wedding, review every detail about my event before the day came, and have the Event Coordinators and Banquet Manager work with me personally to determine the layout and feel for my room. I couldn't say too many great things about The Rusty. They are there to help you -- communicate as much as possible and they will help you plan a dream wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309785660667-387819502740161425123725519879938177176n
Ashley
Wedding:
12/18/2011
2.6/5.0
The venue is absolutely beautiful, especially now that it's been remodeled. However, the new staff isn't so professional and we had a lot of issues dealing with different staff because the person we were originally working with was fired and we were never notified. Someone booked an event over our ceremony space as well immediately after our ceremony (ceremony was at 5 and event was at 530) so they were pushing us out and we were unable to take pictures at the ceremony site after. We were also taking pictures around the restaurant because it is beautiful, but the manager came out and yelled at the photographer, claiming we were in the way when, in fact, the other customers were happy for us and did not feel that we were in the way at all, and they made that very obvious. Our cocktail hour and reception felt rushed because of them as well. I really really loved the venue, but the staff killed the rest of it.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lrozo
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Working with the Rusty Pelican was an amazing experience for my now husband and I, since the very beginning working with Kimberly Smalls has been a great experience, she is always ready to answer any of your questions, has attention to details, give you amazing ideas and is always on top of any or your needs and requirements ; we are thrilled of the new renovated Rusty Pelican, it was really beatiful before now is even better, the view is amazing, the service from all the catering department is great, all the waitres and waitress ,our Captain for the day Paco, all the amazing team that the Rusty Pelican has made our wedding day memorable. Peter Knezevic is a great man, has a positive attitude and great energy!! We will love to do it all over again!!! Lucy and Diego
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maria
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
What can I say..It was awesome.. the staff,, the food the service was great!!! And the view from the banquet rooms was breath-taking. I highly recommended the Rusty Pelican!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carmen
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
the people here were amazing! raul really took care of us the day of the wedding! I couldn't ask for anything better
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
5/6/2011
4.8/5.0
The Rusty Pelican created a truly magical experience for our wedding on May 6th. The service was spectacular and the waiters went above and beyond to give us the best service on our special day. We got married on the balcony upstairs and the view was incredible. Great location for pictures!! The entire staff working that night helped out with everything. I am so grateful!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Silvia
Wedding:
4/8/2011
5.0/5.0
This Place is amazing for a Wedding. We had our wedding last April on a Friday and everything was more beautiful than expected. The staff was really friendly and efficient, the place looked amazing, the food was delicious and the bar was really good.
There were really no bad points for this place. We are really happy we selected the Rusty Pelican for our venue. We had a lot of guest coming out of the country they were amazed with the place too. Also, our coordinator Gina was really helpful, sweet and patient with multiple changes we had with our menu. They even gave us an extra tasting of the food o make sure we were happy with the selection.
The place do need some restoration on the bathroom and the balcony but this will be completed this year so this place will look even more amazing after this gets done.

Thank you so much!! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie P-G
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved the Rusty Pelican the moment I laid eyes on it. We chose to do the ceremony on the fire pit patio and the brunch reception in the Pelican Room. Everything was excellent! I worked with Gina Udnani to get all the details of our wedding down and she was great at staying in contact, answering all my questions, and making sure that we got what we wanted. In fact, five days before the wedding I decided that I wanted to upgrade to chiavari chairs and Gina made it happen. The day of the wedding was great! Everything was set up as planned and the day ran smoothly. The food was awesome and the service was incredible as well! Overall, I highly recommend looking into this venue for any special events!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
One of a kind reception venue. Majestic view of the ocean, great food, great service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Raquel
Wedding:
12/10/2010
1.4/5.0
I have not yet had my wedding but on 12/10/11 I am set to be married at The Rusty Pelican. My experience since I booked my event has been a nightmare. My horrors started back in August when I booked and continue to today. I started working with Gina who was rude, unprofessional and extremely unhelpful. I was then changed to work with Elsa who seemed to be a great match for me but a few months after meeting with her I called and found out she hadn't been working there for months and my wedding file had not been assigned to anyone. I am now with Ana Maria who so far has not been very helpful and does not seemed concerned with my event. I now come to find everything I was promised and had planned for with my first two wedding advisors was never put in writing and they won't grant me what I was promised with them. I hear of so many couples having a beautiful wedding and getting first class help making their special day an event they cherish forever unfortunately I am not and probably will not have that great experience. I wish they would just give me my deposit back so I can go somewhere customer service is a priority. All I hear from them is that they do weddings by the thousand I understand they are a wedding factory but this is my first and will be my last I just want to be treated with kindness and respect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Connie
Wedding:
11/1/2010
5.0/5.0
My sister-in-law got married at Rusty and had great things to say about the place. So I thought to check it out. I was on the phone with Gina for a few weeks before finally making the trip down to Miami to check out the venue. I was swept away by the romatical location. But I was most impressed with working with Gina. She was attentive and has the outmost patience in person and on the phone. We made a number of changes to the menu and Gina was a good sport throughout. Our relatives in Miami was also helping planning the wedding and would call Rusty with questions. I think Gina ended up talking with just about all of them! She even helped think of ideas of how to decorate the fire pits by the water. It doesn't take long talking with Gina in person to know she loves what she does, and my husband and I felt so blessed to have Gina be our contact at Rusty. We will always think about her when we think about our wedding day. Thanks Gina!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deanie23
Wedding:
10/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Work with Christina- she is great!
One of the things I remember from one of our guests: "That was the greatest salmon I ever had." Yes, I agree! Food was so delicious! The bartender that worked for our wedding was awesome, everyone loved him (wish we got his name, all of our friends still bring him up lol). He was so friendly and made really delicious drinks! Rusty Pelican is great! We had a tight wedding budget so finding Rusty Pelican felt like a total discovery, very affordable packages (and they have other options to work within your budget)! I mean the place really has the greatest view (really made great background for our pictures). Service was great, they really took care of us. We loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MOB
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.8/5.0
My daughter got married at the Rusty Pelican on 10/10/10 and the event was close to perfect. We worked with Elsa Granados and she provided excellent advice and professional guidance. We had 53 people for a destination wedding and used the Pelican Room for the reception and the ceremony was outside on the lower patio. Fabulous cake (included in the package) by Ana Paz. Amazing flowers by Terra flowers. Otto Haring is an artist with a camera. We did the buffet and the only extras we added on were an additional hour of bar and a pasta station and both were worth every penny. I recommend the RP without reservation. In hind sight there is nothing I would do differently.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JesycaBall
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.8/5.0
The Rusty Pelican was a FABULOUS location for our wedding! Planning a Miami wedding from Atlanta was difficult at times, but Elsa and her team at the Rusty Pelican in Key Biscayne make everything very easy! The staff at the RP was super nice and helpful, and nearly every request we made was honored. We had a bit of difficulty negotiating the actual contract, but in the end it all worked out perfectly. We could not have asked for better service, food, or space. The ceremony took place on the back patio in the afternoon, with cocktail and reception following upstairs in the Pelican Room. All in all, from the views to the food to the never-ending shots at the bar, it was GREAT!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1271856069700-jayandi
Danielle
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Best Place to get married! Silmara Santos was a great help and planner! We had a beautiful Wedding! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Martha
Wedding:
5/16/2010
4.5/5.0
I'm happy we chose the Rusty Pelican. They're pros at the wedding game -- they do a lot of them. Their location is gorgeous, with Miami as the backdrop. The food is really good. We particularly liked the hot passed appetizers; very tasty. The brunch value is very good. You get unlimited mimosas at a very reasonable price, particularly for the area. (My colleagues were all shocked at how affordable it was.)

As others have mentioned, the responsiveness is sometimes a little slow. I didn't have my contract until later than I would have liked. But it's Miami! Manana is a theme here.

The RP was perfect for me, in particular, because I wasn't a very engaged bride. I didn't want to micromanage things, and the RP knew how to make all the details come together even if I didn't think of them. For example, nowhere in my contract did it say that RP was going to provide centerpieces for the hors d'oeuvres area. I didn't even think about it. But they provided them. Because they understand the production of weddings so well, they're a great choice for a busy person who maybe hasn't thought of all the details.

I recommend the Rusty Pelican.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
charmu4
Wedding:
5/2/2010
3.2/5.0
planning my wedding with them was not so pleasant. the first time meeting to overlook everything and do the walk thru I had an appointment for 11 am when I arrive an event was going on and was told I had to come back after 4 mind you I live 4 hours away I got there early and had to end up staying in town for much longer then what I was expecting to by the time I left there almost 8 pm I got home at midnight. after everything was picked and paid for a month before the wedding I recieve a letter in the mail advising me that the coordinator I was working with is no longer with them which I figured why worry everything should be in the fill how everything was picked and 15 days or less till the wedding I got a call from the new coordinator asking me everything all over again because supposedly nothing was in the fill none of the choices picked or notes nothing well that being said with such short time and not having anything and starting from scratch Cristina Casanova did a great job everything came out perfect food was beyond this world. the day of was amazing but the planning with them was a bit frustrating. I dont like complaining on employees but the previous coordinator was not returning calls emails or messages and obviously didnt do her job to well so I am kind of glad she was replaced in time.
in the end I must say everything came out great.
Thank you, Christina Casanova and the catering dept
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WeatherWSVN
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
The service and professionalism of the Rusty Pelican is outstanding. I did not have to worry about a thing. They made everything easy and care free.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danna3503
Wedding:
4/24/2010
3.6/5.0
THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM WAS TERRIBLE, THE BALLROOM WAS LIKE AN OVEN THE WHOLE NIGHT. I INFORMED THE MANAGER NAMED MANUEL AND HE GAVE ME A REALLY CHEAP EXCUSE. HE TOLD ME THAT AFTER THE SUNSET THE SALON' S CLIMATE WAS GOING TO COOL DOWN, BUT IT NEVER DID.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg11
Janina
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I booked the Rusty Pelican a year and a half before my wedding because it was the place I had dreamed about having my Wedding at since I was a little girl. The view is breathtaking and speaks for itself. The prices are also very reasonable for what you get. I do believe the place could use a little updating to modernize it a little bit but other that it is still very pretty.
The service before the wedding was great. I worked with Kimberly Smalls, the catering manager. She is an absolute sweetheart and very professional. We mostly communicated through emails and I have no complaints. She always got back to me only taking a day at the most to get back to me. She was also VERY flexible with the final payment which really made me feel at ease and comfortable since we were going crazy the final days before the wedding.

The service the day of the wedding was top notch. The minute we got in our head waiter had a tray of hors d'oeuvres waiting for us as well as champagne and whatever else we wanted. We had a buffet and all the guests said the food was good. I might add that even though we had a buffet a waiter was very attentive to my husbands grandmother that is not all there (mentally and physically). He brought her food and whatever else she needed. I thought that was a very nice gesture on his part. I wish I would have gotten his name so I could report back to Kim about his service. The only minor complaint I have is that it was a bit hot in the area where the cocktail hour was held.

Overall I am extremely happy with the Rusty Pelican and I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a venue with a view and wonderful service.

Thank you so much to the crew at Rusty Pelican for making my day so special!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
latina8991
Wedding:
4/3/2010
4.8/5.0
Just had my wedding there last weekend and it was wonderful! I live in California, but wanted a destination wedding in Miami, so everything was arranged over the phone and through emails. The organizer for my event was Silmara Santos. It was a bit hard to reach her at times, but we were able to get everything done in a reasonable amount of time. I didnt get a chance to taste test anything, but everyone loveeed the appetizers and dinner! Their vendor list was very helpful too. I got the DJ, ceremony officiant, photographer, cake and linens from their recommendations and everything was pretty smooth. I would have not found this venue if it wasnt for a friend's coworker who got married there as well and gave it great reviews. It worked out great! The views outside for the ceremony and inside for the reception were beautiful, everything looked so pretty inside, and the size of the lounge we had it in was perfect for our intimate sized wedding!! You can not find these views at these very reasonable prices anywhere else, I feel so lucky we found the Rusty Pelican. We were very pleased with everything here, highly recommended :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dperalta1
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
What a beautiful Place!!

Silmara Santos was our event planner, and was held in the left lounge, and was nothing short of a dream event. The place was beautifully decorated, the captain (Pablo) and his team were true gentlemen, and the food we chose was excellent!!

Thanks again to Silmara and the Rusty Pelican staff for making our wedding day a true dream event!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cristina
Wedding:
3/6/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our daughter's wedding this past Saturday, March 6.. No complaints whatsoever.. The service and food were excellent. Our guests were amazed with the hors d'ouvres and seafood extravaganza. The view speaks for itself. One reason the B&G chose The Rusty Pelican. Our many thanks to all staff, in particular Kimberly Smalls who was assigned to our event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dr-judy
Wedding:
1/16/2010
5.0/5.0
We chose the Rusty Pelican for the view of the skyline of Miami at sunset. We were doubly pleased that the food and the service were so wonderful. Everything looked beautiful, the food tasted great, and the servers were promt and courteous. They even provided specially prepared plates for the guests with dietary restrictions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsL
Wedding:
1/16/2010
4.8/5.0
The Day-Of was absolutely perfect! We had our reception in the Biscayne room with the balcony for our cocktail hour. The food was good, the service was great too! The views are breathtaking which all of our guests from the North commented on- being outside in January, watching the sunset, you can't beat that! I worked with Kim- the catering manager- and she was great! Any questions or changes I needed to make she was flexible with me.
The only concern I had was that there was another wedding reception going on at the exact time in the ajoining room, but it didn't seem to be much of a problem the day of our wedding. Our music was equally loud and we drowned each other out :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amanda
Wedding:
1/16/2010
4.7/5.0
The Rusty Pelican was the first venue I checked out, and it was the last one as well. I was sold from the minute I walked in. The views from the upstairs ballroom are GORGEOUS. The ballroom has very elegant but neutral decor as well. It had the definite vintage beachy feel that I wanted. Dolphins even swam by when we went out back. I've lived here my whole life and I've never seen wild dolphins. It was gorgeous.

Their prices are way reasonable, and they include so much! I couldn't find an ocean front venue in Fort Lauderdale for anywhere near their prices.

Email responsiveness was a bit iffy and I had to correct them twice on my rehearsal dinner date, plus they are not very willing to help you out in regards to holding anything for you the night before the wedding, but those were just minor issues and their customer service in person and over the phone was excellent. I felt very welcome and cared for at our rehearsal, and the food at the tasting was delicious. The food was actually some of the best I've had at any restaurant in South Florida.

My only regret is that I didn't get to spend more time looking out the windows at the gorgeous view. If you are looking for a venue on a budget that will really WOW your guests with great food and a breathtaking view, this is the place. The ballroom is divided in two for smaller weddings, and there was another weddng going on only a half an hour behind us, but I never saw those guests. The facilities were clean and uncrowded, and the service was excellent. It was like we had the place to ourselves. The AC was perfectly fine too but I got married in January. I think anyone who gets married in warmer months in South Florida should expect that their wedding will be hot.

I loved The Rusty Pelican and I'm so happy I had our wedding there. We look forward to going there for dinner on our 1st Anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
miamibride
Wedding:
1/16/2010
4.2/5.0
The actual wedding reception was amazing. The set up, food, and service was all far better than I could have hoped for. RP provided a beautiful setting, wonderful food, excellent service, and great value. The only reason I did not give 5 stars across was because the responsiveness during the planning process was pretty bad. It routinely took a month to get an email response to a question and I never could get confirmation of the menu, diagram, etc. My wedding planner assured me that they deliver on the day of and that was the most important thing; and she was totally right. If you can deal with bad responsiveness up to the week of the wedding, you will be glad you stuck with RP because the event itself will be perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisabel
Wedding:
11/28/2009
4.8/5.0
We had a fantastic experience at the rusty pelican. It was a little hard to get a response back from my contact at the beginning of the wedding planning. However, once the wedding was a few weeks away they were very responsive. The view from the ballroom is breathtaking, the services during the event is superb, and the food is delicious. We opted for a brunch buffet, which allowed our guests to select what they wanted to eat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KelFung20
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.2/5.0
The fired my contact the week before my wedding and did NOT contact me!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sandra610
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.6/5.0
I got married 2 weeks ago and our wedding was everything we dreamed of- thanks to the Rusty Pelican. We had a day wedding and the view was amazing, everyone loved it. All our pictures came out beautiful (from our friends cameras). If I would do it again, I would not change anything. The food was great! We got so many compliments from friends and family. I would recommend that anyone that wants a beautiful view and an elegant wedding go to the Rusty Pelican.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ablanco07940
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
My wife and I got married almost two weeks ago at the Rusty Pelican. Everything was amazing. We looked at a lot of nice venues in the Miami area but the truth is that no one has the view that the Rusty Pelican has. Some venues want to charge the same or more than the Rusty Pelican but all they are all ballrooms. It just doesn't make sense to go anywhere else when you get the amazing view that you get from the Rusty Pelican. We worked with Edward and he was amazing. He ws there for us from beginning to end. He took care of our every need and made sure he followed through with us on everything. The sevice during the event was oustanding. My wife and I train on service in the hospitality industry and were very impressed by the attentiveness of the staff. What I wanted to make sure of is that on the day of our wedding that my future wife would not have anything to worry about and be stress free. Thanks to everyone at the Rusty Pelican, we were able to enjoy ourselves without an worries.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Overall the Venue was excellent. Good service, great food, and priceless view.
The only two things I disliked was that I requested lots of strawberries for my chocolate fountain and they didn't put any, plus they put green bananas... uneatable. The room was also too warm 'cause they opened the doors. But in general I couldn't ask for a better location for our wedding reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lily
Wedding:
5/30/2009
4.9/5.0
Edward at the Rusty Pelican was my event coordinator, and he was super helpful and attentive. I was not living in Miami while planning my wedding and he was very flexible and always made time to meet with me when I was in town. The site looked amazing the day of the wedding and the staff was very friendly and easy to work with. The food was awesome, not to mention the view as the sun was setting. Definately should consider for your wedding! It was the best location/venue we found for the price and service. : )
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/23/2009
3.6/5.0
I was working with Betty originally, and then I was assigned to Edward. I will say that this place did give me some headaches early on, and what annoyed me the most was when they informed me I couldn�t bring my wedding items to the venue until the morning of the reception. This was just not possible for me logistically. When I signed our contract, they said we could bring in all of our stuff when we gave the final payment, which is 4 days before. Needless to say, I argued until they let me bring the stuff Friday afternoon, but I was still super peeved. I ended up buying a ton of things to bring to the reception, and if I had known about this rule when it changed, I wouldn�t have accumulated so much stuff. Also, because we opted to have a buffet set up, we were invited to the Sunday brunch as our tasting, but none of the food was the same as what we could select, so we really didn�t have a tasting. At our cocktail hour, which was scheduled from 6-7 PM, they told our guests the bar will not open till 7, which was an error because I paid for them to begin serving liquor at 6. They did fix it but I had some unhappy guests for awhile. During our planning meetings, they kept telling me not to stress about the timeline. If guests arrive for cocktail hour early, they will serve everything early and just move up the timeline. My guests arrived at 5:30, and food and liquor was not served until 6, after the minor mishap of when to open the bar. I would have much preferred everything moved up a half hour like they said they would. Sometime towards the end of the reception while I was dancing, a server came up to me to give me a comment card to fill out. Ummm I was kinda busy and did not need to be bothered with that. I told them to leave it on the sweetheart table and I have no idea what happened to it. Overall I am still thrilled to have had my wedding there, because the ballroom, the view, and the food are still being raved about.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marti
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
I was told by another wedding professional at another venue that I would not be able to meet my price point for a water side venue. Not only did The Rusty Pelican meet my price point, but they have the best water views in every room available for booking. The staff is very friendly and the food was better than any hotel wedding fare I have ever had. My catering specialist, Gina Udnani, sat down and went over all of the specifics of the event and answered all of my questions in a one on one interview and then answered via email all the other questions and concerns that popped up along the way. If you want to treat your wedding guests to good food beside biscayne bay with beautiful views of the miami skyline, The Rusty Pelican is the way to go.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ELLEBANA79
Wedding:
4/24/2009
2.0/5.0
I WAS VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED WITH THE RUSTY PELICAN, I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE MY WEDDING FLUTES BACK, IVE LEFT SO MANY MESSAGES, NO-ONE IS FRIENDLY ABOUT HELPING YOU, THE FOOD I CHOSE WAS NOT SERVED AS IT WAS DURING THE TASTE TEST, OVERALL, VERY DISAPOINTED.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danistar
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
PLANNING: Christina was my lifesaver. She kept me organized and accommodated my every need, including all of my crazy requests. I felt completely confident in her recommendations and suggestions. As a long-distance bride, you need to work with someone you trust. Christina was all that and more; I'm so grateful I worked with her!

SERVICE: Wow. I was so impressed. Our glasses never went empty, the food was delivered promptly and according to schedule, the cake was cut and distributed quickly. We couldn't ask for anything more.

FOOD: De-li-cious. The appetizers we had were so tasty! The seafood buffet our guests had was awesome and my dad was thrilled with the giant shrimp and crab claws. For dinner, we had caesar salad, a dual-entree of steak and salmon, veggies and garlic mashed potatoes on the side. Everything was perfectly cooked, most notably the steak which was so tender that guests could cut it with a butter knife. Our very picky NY crowd was raving! Quite simply, this was the best food of any wedding/black-tie/semi-formal event out of the dozens we've attended. I'm so happy I got to eat my full meal!

LOCATION: The ceremony went perfectly on the terrace, and we had our cocktail hour in the foyer. Since we were the only wedding, we spread out and everyone relaxed and got their drink on. The view from the Biscayne Room can't be beat, and we had plenty of room for all of our tables, the photobooth, and dessert stations. Later on, we had a cigar bar on the terrace that was a total hit. Our friends were lounging outside with cigars and cocktails, chatting and having the best time. I swear, I almost cried. Total bliss.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1239800167656-dsc6850
Heidi
Wedding:
3/27/2009
4.8/5.0
I loved the service, professionalism and responsiveness of the Rusty Pelican for my wedding. The first piece of advice for this location is to book early... a year in advance is average. I was booking 11 months before my desired wedding month and had to have the event on a Friday night. The reason is that this location is beautiful and is at one of the best prices for the Miami-Dade county area. Additionally, the catering staff is highly responsive to any questions you may have! Kimberley is an angel to work with :) If you do not want to worry about any rentals and/or organizing catering than this location is ideal! They do have a varied menu, with a wide variety of tasty appetizers and entrees. There is also a buffet option for your meal. My single complaint is that the food was served slightly overcooked, but they were cooking for 250 (this is likely the culprit). They were also willing to accommodate people with dietary restrictions for no extra cost. I had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this location!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg13
MrsBurpsalot
Wedding:
1/17/2009
4.6/5.0
The Rusty Pelican is in itself gorgeous with breathtaking views. When we were shopping around for reception/ceremony venues, it was the last one we saw...and I was set on booking with them. Their packages include pretty much everything (or at least the basics, you can upgrade with the other vendors directly, such as linens and cake). The food there is always excellent and we wanted a place that had a great view, by the water for the ceremony and amazing food. The planning process was easy with them - I only ran into issues when I would send them an email (which I prefer using, since I can do that more easily from work). The first catering manager I had would take a week to return an email, but was very prompt in returning phone calls. When she left TRP, I was assigned to Gina, and then to Christina. Christina was, in the end, the one I dealth with through the wedding day. They both have a little bit of an attitude (but are very honest and upfront). Because they lack a tad of flexibility, I was glad to have Karla (my DOC) deal with them towards the end. We ran into a couple of problems the day of the wedding, but nothing at all major - little things, that I felt could have been better dealt with.
1. Saturday afternoon/night you can pretty much only valet. Our ceremony start time was 5:15, and most guests had arrived at 4:30 or 4:45 but the ceremony wasn't started until 5:30 because most of our guests were in this insanely long line waiting to turn over their cars. I think that's something that needs to be addressed, because when I got there for pre-ceremony pictures at 3:30, there were about 30 people waiting to get their cars, ready to leave.
2. People from the other wedding (which didn't arrive until we were 1/2 way through the cocktail hour) started crashing our side (even though there was a big sign that said our names near the appetizers and bar). There were about 10 people that came to the cocktail hour and kept trying to eat our food and use our bar. The banquet manager dealt with it, and replenished the appetizers, but even afterwards, they kept trying to use our bar and COME IN to our reception! I guess our party was way better than theirs! lol ;]
3. Karla and I had decided on a particular set up for the ceremony, which they repeatedly told us was impossible...that day, they told her she could change it to our set up anyways. That could've been avoided.

Overall, I was very happy, and honestly if anything else went wrong, then I had no idea about it (I didn't find out about the other things till after the reception). The food was great, our head waiter was always bringing us drinks and checking on us. During the cocktail hour, we decided on some down time, and sat in the catering office (the hubby and I) and they kept bringing us huge plates of hors deouvres. They were very attentive and the view, like always, for our ceremony (lower terrace) and reception were incredible. EVERYONE was commenting on how great the place was...and it realllllllly was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MartinMza
Wedding:
12/6/2008
4.6/5.0
A beautiful venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaurenG
Wedding:
11/29/2008
3.5/5.0
The only reason TRP did not get 5 stars across the board was because Gina (the catering person assigned to work with me) was hard to deal with IMO. She gave me a really bad attitude about me deducting 2 people from the guestlist (still 4 days out from the wedding, so perfectly okay to do according to my contract) and she drove us absolutely nuts about a $300 balance that she added on 2 days before (mind you, she had told us we wouldn't have to pay that, but then continued to call my mom and I about the balance... hello, as if we wouldn't pay... we had already shelled out $101 pp for 250... you do the math... sheesh! Of course, they needed cash, or cashier's check so that would take me more than 5 minutes to get to her! Anyways, on to the good stuff..... The food was delicious. It was served promptly and hot exactly to our specifications (medium well, shrimp on the side instead of on top of the steak, 2 different dressings for the salad, etc.) The head of the wait staff that night, Raul, was an absolute dream! Our glasses weren't even half empty and he would fill them with champagne... very attentive. No complains there! The view of course, was to die for and everything as far as I know went according to plan.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
My wedding reception was amazing in this venue!! The food was great and my coordinator was wonderful (Kimberly).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsOrly
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
I booked this venue after having a change of heart of a different venue. I couldnt be happier! The Rusty Pelican has top notch service! They accomadated my every wedding need! The day of I truly felt like a guest at my own wedding, we didnt have to worry about a thing because they treated my DH and I like royalty! The food is amazing and of course you cannot beat the Miami Skyline view from their Biscayne view. Our guests raved of how beautiful our reception room looked.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
khakieskimo
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
The Rusty Pelican (Miami, FL) was wonderful. It was a beautiful venue and the person who worked with my family during the entire wedding process was wonderful. The day of the wedding, everyone was very attentive. I highly recommend this location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/12/2008
3.3/5.0
This place was amazing, but the service I got was terrible. Their catering director told us one thing and did another. They "forgot" to put the 15th table out, so 10 of my friends were left standing there until we convinced the banquet manager to take care of it. They also tried to switch out where my cocktail hour was, from outside to inside, on the day of the wedding. That was something they changed up on me when the directors changed in the middle of my planning. The waitstaff was great, the food was amazing, and the view can't be beat, but make sure you always follow up with them. I highly recommend getting a day of coordinator or wedding planner if you are working with them, because they hold so many events on the day of the wedding they can't be trusted.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
The Rusty Pelican was great. We had the ceremony and reception there and it was so wonderful. The price was great and it made it so easy to have a package that included almost everything we needed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zule
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.6/5.0
The Rusty Pelican is a beautiful place to have your wedding. We all had a great time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
VictoriaJan08
Wedding:
1/5/2008
5.0/5.0
I have had nothing but wonderful experience with the Rusty ever since I decided to have my wedding there. My coordinator Gina was always there to answer any questions or even e-mail me pictures. The day of my wedding, they exceeded my expectations tenfold. The head manager stayed the whole night and continuously came up to me and my husband and made sure we were happy and that everything was going well. They hid me away from my guests before the ceremony and made sure I was constantly hydrated and well fed. I never even had to leave my seat during dinner, everything was brought to me from the buffet, to the cake, to the chocolate fountain. The staff were all extremely professional, and the bartender was a huge hit with all the guests. He always remembered our names and favorite drinks and was great entertainment at the bar. I can’t say enough about how wonderful they were and how pretty everything looked. The view there is one of the prettiest, if not the prettiest view of Miami I have ever seen. I could not recommend the Rusty Pelican more!
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/19/2007
5.0/5.0
One of the best views in Miami, great food, amazing coordinators to work with all for one of the most affordable prices. You can't go wrong.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zcs137
Wedding:
3/4/2007
4.3/5.0
We started out with a coordinator at this location who was very unwilling to assist us with out plans and made planning the wedding very difficult. Thankfully we asked for someone else to help us finish our planning and things were better.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Chloe M
Wedding:
1/5/2007
5.0/5.0
This place is beautiful, and you cannot beat the value for your buck. Book far in advance, they are busy and booked year round. On our night, we were serviced flawlessly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
celia
Wedding:
5/5/2006
5.0/5.0
The view is GORGEOUS, the food was EXCELLENT, the staff was AMAZING, and the price was INCREDULOUS!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/25/2006
4.6/5.0
It was a great place to have a most memorable wedding. I would recommend it to anyone. And the food was great!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa
Wedding:
5/28/2005
5.0/5.0
Amazing view, delicious food, wonderful staff, and convenient location. After our wedding, another family member decided to have her reception there because she was thoroughly impressed.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Very Profesional, made sure everything was up to our expectation. Forfilled our request.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I went to the New Years Eve Party at Rusty Pelican in 2005 with my then boyfreind, now husband and told him that night that we'd have our wedding reception there one day! When we got engaged on the following new year's eve we didn't even bother shopping around for other reception sites. Rusty Pelican was it for us. The view is amazing! We are so pleased with how everything turned out that night. Gina was awesome to work with and everything turned out perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I would recommend them. They helped me a lot during my wedding planning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angelicchurch
Wedding:
8/24/2003
4.0/5.0
I absolutely loved the view!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services

MAP

 
3201 Rickenbacker Causeway, Key Biscayne, FL 33149 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Rusty Pelican
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1264000290952-rusty26015