130x130_sq_1278454048538-texasballroom

Safari Texas Ranch

Richmond , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

11627 fm 1464
Richmond, TX US 77469 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Safari Texas Ranch is a 44 Acre Private estate offering full service facility with 6 exceptional Ballrooms and superb Food & Beverage Service.
Safari Texas Ranch is a 44 Acre Private estate offering full service facility with 6 exceptional Ballrooms and superb Food & Beverage Service. Read less
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.4/5.0
Safari Texas Ranch was amazing! i booked my wedding with them in the Safari Lodge, it was everything i wanted and so much more! The Food, Service, Decor everything was amazing! The coordinator they provided me was new but she tried, she was a little off task and her and the DJ didn't really seem to work together on planning things i was being pulled every which way. But that is once in a million that this may happen and they only get better with practice. Other than that it was absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Safari Texas Ranch did a fantastic job for my daughter's wedding. The venue offers a selection of ballrooms depending on the sizer of your party. Amanda Evans assisted us with everything and was very easy to work with. Her knowledge of planning the ceremony, reception and menu selections were very much appreciated. The day of the wedding was really beautiful and went very smoothly. Amanda or her assistant were with us throughout the evening and I actually felt relaxed during the entire event knowing that they were there taking care of things that I would otherwise worry about. I would would definitely recommend this venue and their staff to take care of all your events.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan
Wedding:
10/26/2013
0.6/5.0
This place was horrible, do not expect them to organize or rely on the to make you event flourish. I was in San Antonio room, 2 days before my wedding I set up and the place looked like they just threw an event, and did not clean up. I had to sweep out roaches from entry hall and ask workers to clean. They changed my wedding planner three times once the day before my wedding so she had no clue what was going on. She was making rash decisions that caused a ton of confusion for my guest. My wedding day, there was a massive poop in my personal bathroom; which was still there when I left that night(they were told about it before the event started)Dishes were dirty, I had several guest complain of that and had 4 leave early from sudden food poisoning. My event was rushed and ended three hours too early, hours I paid for. Every venu has a final payment which is calculated in front of your persons and Is usually 2weeks before event(I did this paid in full). Two days before my wedding they say there was an error and she somehow forgot to calculate in $500, I did not see the mistake in my copies; and they refused to show me where the mistake was made! I was very displeased for the amount of money there should've been amazing service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
10/19/2013
1.8/5.0
I have a hard time with this review because some parts of my experience were fine and others not so much.
I am giving a bad review based mostly on my experience with the coordinators of Safari. My outside vendors were all amazing, the décor of the venue was great, the chapel was adorable, the weather was fantastic, the guest were amazing...

BUT My wedding turned out amazing!! Despite any help from Safari. Thanks to my mother!!!

First off, the coordinator I started with quit/got fired somewhere in the beginning and no one contacted me to inform me of this. I had to call because a payment was coming due and was informed at that time. Really a bad start.

So then I was assigned a new coordinator (Brittany) she was nice, but was going to be unable to attend my event (which I found out the day before my wedding). So they assigned another one. I met her the day before my event and they both came to the rehearsal to find out how things would go so that she could assist on the day of. I thought that was great....
Well wedding day came and she was no where to be found. We did the ceremony all by ourselves, thankfully I have an amazing mother who helped SO SO much. Then the reception. NO help to keep us on track at all. there was a lady there who I guess kept the servers on time for food, but I was told I would have help with the timeline, (toasts, dinner, cutting cake, first dances, etc.) and that didn't happen. Then that lady spent the rest of the night sitting on the bar top flirting with the bartender... Not the best impression.

If they had said they didn't help coordinate from the beginning I wouldn't have minded, I would have hired someone to do that. But they said they did and then DIDNT SHOW UP. Really pathetic and unprofessional. Brittany, Liz,

But despite that BS, I had the best wedding, I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you Carolyn Olson!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sheri
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.0/5.0
Everything was great. Amanda was the lead on my wedding. The only thing is the lighting in the chapel could have been better. Also an hour before my wedding there was a sewage smell in the reception area. It was cleared up by mangament before my quest arrived, but no bride wants to walk into that the day of her wedding major stress out. But over all the service was great, and Amanda and her assistance work well will all of my needs. I will recommend this place to other people. My guest are still talking about the pretty grounds and the overall experience. I had a Cajun meal for my guest and they are still talking about. I had a great wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.7/5.0
The reception was awesome! We worked with Liz then Amanda and they were both very professional and attentive to our needs. Very accommodating. The reception hall was set up exactly as we had discussed and it look gorgeous! They met every one of our needs. The value is unsurpassed. Mr. Wen is a very generous man and is customer first. The wait staff were there when I needed them and responded to all of my requests. The owner came in to make sure the buffet line was moving quickly and the food was very good. All of our guests were impressed and had a great time. The only negatives were the lack of parking because other events were going on at the same time and I couldn't find a manager to help me find a few misplaced items. Also, email responses seem to be a little slow. Otherwise we would definitely use Safari Texas again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
I absolutely love Safari Texas. The venue we chose was the Safari Lodge Room and it was absolutely gorgeous. I love that room because it has the large windows that overlook the pond and a gazebo. Everything was lit up beautifully. Brittney was our catering manager and she was so wonderful to work with. She was very understanding of what I was looking for and made sure we loved everything. She would work with me on everything from linens to food. We ended up going under the contracted number of people we had to have. Instead of charging us a fee, Brittney made it to where we could just throw in an extra appetizer and champagne for everyone during the toasts.

Before booking Safari I had read in many reviews about the rude office staff which made me hesitant. Every person I had to work with directly was very kind. Sometimes when I had an appointment the person who greeted me wasn't always the friendliest, but that's about it.

Overall, I loved my experience here. The room was beautiful and it was a fairy-tale reception for us. We heard from many of our guests that we chose the perfect room and how please they were. The food was also amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Such a beautiful venue with so much variety. I had my event at the veranda gazebo and the veranda room. Everyone complemented me on the location it was everything I wanted. Just have to be on top of the coordinaters.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1368563892479-brantleys-042713
Jeri
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Safari did a great job. My outdoor gazebo wedding turned into a indoor chapel wedding and they did very well with the transition. Hats off to Sherry for a job well done.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.8/5.0
they offer several options to meet your specific style and size of wedding - from country to romantic to modern they offer all different styles and even outdoor locations. They are also very affordable with reasonable group rates. The only problem at my wedding was that they forgot to serve both salads at dinner - my guests were literally served meat and beans for dinner. :(
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vy
Wedding:
3/23/2013
0.6/5.0
During the cocktail hour, the power went out at the venue. It was not the venue's fault as the power company was working on the lines. However, the lack of customer service was appalling.
The staff sat back and waited for the lights to come back on instead of being the first ones around asking guests if they needed anything. My vendors and brother took the reigns and helped the wedding party and guests. The staff saw that guests and other vendors were helping so they realized they needed to do more than just stand there so they "secured the venue and checked on everyone's safety". The firemen and police officer did this, not the venue.
Also notice that the venue's staff all have work titles that protects them from future criticism. For example, my contact person showed me the venue, went over the contract and outline of the day, food and bar choices, linens, ballroom & ceremony set up, basically everything. Her job title is Catering Manager so when there were issues the owner's response was she's the Catering Manager so she doesn't do anything but food and bar details. Why was she allowed to do everything else then. The owner's response, "we work as a team". To that I asked why is it when I call or email it is forwarded to her and I worked with no one else? The owner said nothing. Even then the food and bar services were not up to par either. Many tables complained their food was served lukewarm or cold. The food was brought out to tables in the wrong order and the venue tried to blame my guests. The owner explained that guests asked for things and they wanted to make my guests happy. We did not have a menu displayed so how would the guests know what to ask for? Because of the delay we would receive a comped champagne toast. We agreed that we would have the champagne during the cake cutting, but when we went to cut the cake there was no champagne. This was their M.O. A lot of promises, NO execution. I can keep going on but maxed out on characters.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vickie
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Our daughter got married in the Magnolia Ballroom. The staff was amazing to work with and very accommodating. The room was beautiful and the food was outstanding. The Pecan Crusted Chicken Breast is awesome. Thank you Safari Texas for making our daughters day so special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
11/10/2012
4.6/5.0
I had a wonderful night and a beautiful room. The food was not too great and I had an issue with my restrooms as well. Overall I had a good experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding was in the Safari Lodge. Safari Texas did an excellent job decorating and getting everything ready. We had fajitas for dinner and everybody loved it. The wait staff was quick and helpful as well as the bartenders. The zebras and peacocks were also a big hit with the guests. Safari Texas made my wedding planning a breeze and I absolutely loved the way my wedding turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Haley
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.4/5.0
We worked with Liz as our event coordinator and enjoyed every minute. Not only was Liz extremely responsive, but she answered every question we had leading up to our wedding. We held our ceremony in the Rose Chapel and were very pleased with the event. I only wish the dressing/"getting ready" rooms were updated or better furnished. Other than that, it was a really cozy ceremony. Our reception was in the Veranda Ballroom. Not only was the space beautiful, but the food we ordered through them was outstanding. We recommend the Chicken Parmesan - not only delicious but pretty to look at for serving. It was also VERY helpful that this venue had no price difference between the days of the event. Our wedding took place on a Saturday evening, and instead of charging more, it was the same price as any other night. For a budget-friendly and beautiful venue, I would recommend Safari Texas Ranch!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
We worked with Joy at Safari Texas and she was a gem. She responded to all of our questions (and there were a lot!) and was patient with us. She helped us have in person what we created in our head. We had our wedding in the Lodge and other than the air conditioner being too hot, everything else was great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We used Safari Texas as our caterer for our wedding at the museum. Amanda was our event coordinator and was absolutely amazing. She was there from begining to end and was not happy unless I was happy, which I was aall the time. I could not have asked for more. Allison, the owner, was phenominal to work with. The linens were so beautiful, the set up of tables, the wedding ceremony, all just looked amazing. The food was wonderful, everyone was raving about the food all week. Your bartender John was the talk of the town, everyone just loved him and he was just such a pleasure and so tentative all night. We really appreciated all of Amanda's hard work and her teams hard work. Amanda really made our day beautiful and effortless.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Philip
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
We just got married less than a week ago, but could not wait to write this review. We are beyond impressed by the services provided by Safari Texas, but more importantly the Event manager, Liz. From day one, she greeted us with a warm smile and insisted that every single request we made will be met with great care to detail and custom made to our dream wedding. Not only did Liz answer all our questions and concerns, but made our day go smoothly. We did not even realize all the behind the scene hard work that Liz and her team put together , but we were only aware of each other and the most important day of our life. That is a precious gift we both will cherish and there are no words to show our thankful we are to all she did. Thanks Liz :) You definitely are very highly recomended to all the future couples who need a stress free and perfect day !!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ansie
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are planning your wedding, big or small, I highly recommend Safari & more importantly, Liz (if she's even available), as your catering manager!!! Just had our wedding in the Grand Texas Ballroom, this past weekend, approx. 500 guests & we are sooooo happy with the results. Liz & the entire Safari team were awesome from the very beginning until even the day after!! The prices are amazing and the service & quality were worth every penny. Thank you again to Liz & Safari, although I would NEVER want to plan a wedding again, I'm happy that I found you all to do it with!!! - Ansie & Alex (8/4/12)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J.E.
Wedding:
7/22/2012
4.8/5.0
This is an awesome place to have your special wedding done. They did everything they can to try to accommodate our needs. Our event coordinator, Ms. Diana Duenas, did a fantastic job. She was on top of her game from the very beginning. Our ceremony and reception went very smooth due to her efforts and professional coordination. The staff at the reception were very friendly and very helpful. They even help us pack our stuff in our vehicle when the event was over. Our wedding was memorable and unforgettable and Safari Texas and its staff made it even more. Thank you so much for everything!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zohera
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Safari Texas Ranch did a fabulous job during my wedding. My planner, Liz, did an amazing job. She made sure I was in safe hands and help me throughout the whole process. I would definitely recommend doing any event at this venue. Everyone is so nice and they want to make sure they are doing everything possible to make your event special. Thank you once again for all your work :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carla
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.7/5.0
We love this place and so did our guests. We had our reception at the Safari Lodge and the animals were so majestic. The linens are included so we didn't have to worry about that plus they came in many colors. Also chairs covers and sashes! I got an open bar and it was sooooooo worth it. You can do little add ons like appetizers or chocolate fountains if you want. We had the champange chicken and it was really good. This is a great value and rusticish too. We glammed it up a bit more with TC florist 832 878 9924 and some uplighting with the best dj ever 832 978 6390. Talk to Joy Mercado- she is very VERY helpful and super friendly!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.4/5.0
Great venue! Great customer service! They worked well and accomadated us. We really had a great time the day of and had no issues!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie K. E.
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Great place! Great job! Great Communication! Liz P. was great!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B5
D
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough wonderful things about Texas Safari and, more importantly, Liz! The whole process went smoothly and I could ALWAYS count on Liz to take care of things, even at the last minute. She was very helpful, quick to respond to emails/texts, and present for the entire weekend full of events...all with a huge smile on her face! She facilitated everything with all the other vendors on her own to make sure things went seemlessly. Texas Safari offers a lot of perks that other venues cannot and is priced extremely reasonably! I would recommend ANYONE that has a wedding, or any other event, to go to Texas Safari and ask for Liz as your coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendie
Wedding:
3/31/2012
4.1/5.0
Be very cautious since most reviews are correct about changing cooridinators. I enjoyed my wedding in the San Antonio room but just real upset with the way some things happened. Bring a different cake cutting service for them to cut and serve your cake with. Keep good notes with what exactly you want since the event cooridinator will change before you get married.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more pleased with this venue. Our guests enjoyed going outside and seeing the animals and gardens. The Veranda Ballroom was absolutely stunning and the food was wonderful. Everything went perfectly and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our requests. I can't say enough about how perfect it was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ZeriNafis
Wedding:
3/18/2012
4.9/5.0
We has such a GREAT time organizing our wedding with Liz! She is one of the nicest and hard working people I've ever met. Liz came in on her off days to meet with us for final touches. Never a frown on her face, on the day of the wedding, she made sure everything went smoothly. The venue is great and it includes many perks that a lot of other venues do not offer. I would recommend this place and especially Liz over and over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1303757440024-dsc0010
Ashley
Wedding:
3/16/2012
3.8/5.0
We decided to get married here because we wanted a country themed wedding, and honestly this was the closest place we could get to what we wanted. Everything else was several hours away and that would not have been convenient for my family and friends. I was so excited at first because I knew the woman who was going to be our day of coordinator, and knew for a fact we were in good hands. I loved this venue it was beautiful, even though the outside looks rundown each individual venue is beautiful on the inside. I was quite happy the way things turned out in the end. The only thing I had a problem with was that when the wonderful woman I was working with decided to go back to school and left the venue wouldn't let her tell her brides, we were not given another person until right before the wedding, and my mom and sister ended up doing all the coordinating instead of our on-site coordinator. Other than that everything was set up beautifully and promptly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Urvi
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.2/5.0
We had a very good experience with Texas Safari Ballroom staff. We used the main ballroom and it was plenty of space for our guests. The building is a little old but its pros far outway the cons. The staff is friendly and accomodating.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1301378368545-1966305330024275268250019231172461210698n
Elizabeth
Wedding:
12/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved JOY (our wedding coordinator). She was amazing! AMAZING! she was so flexible and so helpful. she dealt with me and my stress so SO SO WELL! I loved our experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1320472816105-dsc05133
ushna
Wedding:
12/23/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved having our wedding here, the staff is really nice, and helpful. The owner (I forgot his name) really knows how Pakistani/Indian weddings work and will help you from start to finish. The venue is beautiful, and spacious with many different rooms to fit your need. We loved our event here :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janice
Wedding:
12/17/2011
4.1/5.0
We booked the Safari Texas Ranch's Veranda room for our reception. The Veranda room has a beautiful chandelier hanging in the center that makes the room look very elegant. We also loved the mural on the back wall as it served as a beautiful backdrop to many photos! We had absolutely no complaints about the room. It was the perfect size for our guests (about 120 people).

The only problems we ran into was working with the people of Safari Texas. Our event coorindator changed twice and both times we were not notified that we were going to be working with someone new. (The coordinator we ended up with, Frances, was amazing though!) We have been told that this is the nature of the business--coordinators will change up until a few weeks before the event before it is finalized. I just wished we would have been notified when these changes occur.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
char55
Wedding:
12/3/2011
4.8/5.0
I had my wedding at the Veranda Gazebo and my reception in the Veranda room on December 3. Overall, my experience with Safari was an A+! Danielle was my wedding coordinator and I could not have asked for a more attentive coordinator. I am a bit picky, but she handled everything for me with ease. I chose Safari because of the owner's philanthropic dedication to his community, and the good things I had heard about weddings at the venue. All I can say is that they went above and beyond for the wedding. My guests loved the food, drinks and the beautiful venue! Thank you Safari Texas for making my wedding day an awesome one!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1296700400235-fbavatar1334484767
Sara
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.9/5.0
Our wedding at Safari Texas Ranch was amazing! Everything went smoothly and Danielle, our coordinator at the site, was on point. She didn't miss a beat and she kept things on time! I can't tell you enough about how amazing Danielle really is and how much we truly enjoyed our reception as well as the ceremony!

What a beautiful venue, and even the owner stopped in to introduce himself and make sure everything was going well.

Thanks again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skwatra
Wedding:
11/12/2011
4.9/5.0
We had originally envisioned our reception to be downtown/galleria, but we just couldn't afford it (and still get what we wanted). Safari Ranch ended up being a great choice and gave us everything we wanted at a price we could afford. My friends all stayed at the Marriott in Sugar Land Town Square, which gave a city feel with good restaurants/bars/shopping in walking distance, and less then 15 minutes from the ballroom which we got a shuttle for (SLL Transportation was great).

We had our event in the Magnolia Ballroom, which worked out perfectly. The outside area and connecting rooms were perfect for the cocktail hour. We ended up with 360 guests, and the main ballroom was full but definitely not crowded. Safari had a good choice of linens and helped coordinate with the different vendors to create a beautiful room.

Liz was our coordinator, she actually took over in June (our original coordinator left) and quickly understood exactly what we wanted, and helped us with all the details. Though she's really busy, we always got a quick response to any questions over email, and she was there for us everyday through the event (and for the last two weeks I literally mean every day). We had some issues with the tables (my fault because of late RSVPs) and she quickly worked with the staff at Safari and resolved the issue on the day of the event. We really felt like we were in good hands the whole time because of Liz and the rest of the staff that helped bring everything together.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We have gone to Safari for several friends' wedding receptions, and we always had mixed reviews about the service and value of having a wedding reception at Safari. After my own experience, though, I can honestly say I no longer have mixed feelings about Safari. Namely, I have no mixed feelings about our contact/representative at Safari, Liz P. Because of Liz's amazing ability to do her job and do it well, my husband and I had the best wedding reception we could ever have hoped for. Not only did we enjoy our wedding reception, but we didn't hear any complaints from any of our family or friends about any aspect of the reception relating to Safari's facilities, customer service, or professionalism in handling our guests and vendors. I would recommend to anyone to go to Safari for their wedding reception, and, especially, to request Liz to be your rep. Because of Liz, I felt I could contact her at any time with any questions, and she'd always respond and reassure me! She not only handled any and all concerns during the wedding planning period, she took care of me and my husband, as well as our guests, on our wedding day. She was there til the very end even though she didn't need to be, and I can't ever thank her enough for helping us feel so special and keep our wedding day so special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1275509420831-leaning
Meghan
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.4/5.0
I loved my wedding at Safari!! Thank you to everyone at Safari!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susan
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.5/5.0
Not only did I just have my daughters wedding at Safari texas, I have attended several events there, the food is great, the value is fantastic, and our wedding coordinator, Joy was a delight to work with. Highly recommended
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NMGosar
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
For the wedding in our family, it was a little different. The bride and groom lives out of state and the wedding took place at Safari Texas. It was very difficult for the couple to fly down so, as the sister of the bride, I was very fortunate to have worked with our coordinator Liz. We did 3 events at S.T.R.. We used the Magnolia for the pre-ceremony and ceremony and used the Grand Ballroom for the reception. Liz was very understanding of our situation and was a delight to work with. As it was my job to convey what the bride and groom wanted for their special day, I was nervous that I would fail. However, Liz really helped throughout the entire process till the very end. No matter how many times I called, emailed, or made changes, she made sure that everything was exactly how the bride and groom wanted it. When it came time for their first meeting, the couple was very happy with Liz's work and how she carried out the entire process till the very end. She made sure that every detail we didn't think of was thought and taken care of. She is very dedicated at what she does and makes sure everything runs smoothly. Our family was very happy to have worked with an amazing coordinator like Liz!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SA
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.4/5.0
STR is an outstanding (and affordable) facility to host your special event - whatever it may be. I recently had my wedding reception in the Texas Grand Ballroom, which is a spacious and accomodating venue if you're hosting a large crowd (400+). My event coordinator, Liz did a FANTASTIC job assisting me with coordinating the reception (especially considering that I live out-of-state and had to plan/discuss most of the event details via phone). She was very professional and responsive to my event needs from the planning stages through the end of my event. I would highly recommend working with her - she is passionate about her work and is dedicated to meeting the needs of her clients.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happy bride
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was everything we wanted it to be. We are still getting compliments on it, a month later. Danielle Saunders at TX Safari Ranch worked with me on each detail. Nothing was too small or too grand to consider. The team at TSR were quite flexible with menu choices, food choices, seating and even different table sizes.
I read many reviews from different venues as I worked on our wedding. When I saw anything that might have gone wrong in another wedding Danielle and I discussed TSR's policy on that concern. Thus we knew what to expect from the beginning to the end. I can honestly say that we were happy from beginning to end.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kwe
Wedding:
6/25/2011
3.5/5.0
Ashley at Safari was so nice and responsive! She is the coordinator I worked with right up until our wedding. She always answered emails and handled any requests I had. We got so many complements on the venue and food. Everything was perfect, except for the coordinator who was at my wedding the whole night.
I had a good friend who's company handled all the flower and decorations. She also helped me with my timeline. I told Danielle specifically that when the reception started, I wanted my friend to be a guest, not a coordinator. That did not happen. I could never find Danielle and once dinner was over, she never once came to ask me and my husband if we needed anything, never got us a drink, never told me when the next thing was happening, nothing. My friend did all that. At one point a glass broke on the dance floor and I couldn't find Danielle at all. Finally she showed up with a broom, but a guest, my husband's BOSS, swept the glass up! I have no idea what Danielle was doing the whole night, but it was definitely not catering to me and husband or running the show.
She was my biggest and only disappointment with Safari. I would definitely recommend the venue, but not paying extra for a coordinator to be at your wedding the whole night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisa
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Safari Texas Ranch was perfect for the type of wedding we wanted. We chose the Safari Lodge and it was beautiful. Perfect location if you want to garden theme or outdoors wedding ceremony. Michelle our coordinator was a sweet heart and got all the details down. I would definitely recommend the lodge to anyone looking to get married!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
4/2/2011
4.2/5.0
Had a lovely wedding ceremony in the chapel and reception in the San Antonio room. Everything in the end was pulled off perfectly. I did have one problem with the sound system being taken out of the chapel. Luckily, I discovered this two days before the wedding, and the owner agreed to put in a sound system for the rehearsal and wedding. They did not install it for the rehearsal which made the music timing at the wedding not as smooth as I would have liked it.

Joy was great to work with and I was happy to end up with her. They did change my coordinator three times in the year that we planned, but I think the turnover for this time consuming pressure job might be high.

The food was beyond marvelous. Overall, we have had nothing but compliments on the wedding and the job that Safari Texas did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
june
Wedding:
3/20/2011
1.8/5.0
very unprofessional service, kept changing consultants on me and not following thru with what we discussed, would not reccommend them. staff is very rude as is owner, had problems with reserved tables and tip jar on bar the entire reception when I asked repeatedly that there be no tip jar, I was told there would not be, MY wedding was all inclusive I prepaid all tips and gratuity. Did not have reserved tables marked like promised and Joy the dirctor for the evening refused to make it right. Totally unhappy be ware of them they make you pay all up front 2 weeks before wedding at which point they are very friendly but after they have your money and all is done,they could care a less if you complain you will get no where,,well good luck they simply dont care,,,owner is also just as rude!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angelica.rmts
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.2/5.0
We had our wedding in the San Antonio ballroom on March 12,2011. Overall we were very pleased with everything but we did have one complaint. The front staff was somewhat rude to us when we would ask questions about the venue for example I asked one the ladies if they would clean up the landscaping by the gazebo where we were getting married at and she looked at me crazy and said," well were not going to plant new flowers if thats what your asking." I really don't think that was the best answer but I shook it off because thankfully she was not my coordinator. But regardless of that little incident we really appreciate Ashley's help on our special day. Overall this is a great place that I would recommend to a friend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rhonda
Wedding:
3/11/2011
4.0/5.0
We loved the venue as it fit perfectly for the wedding theme. Any concerns we had were taken care of. The general staff on the day of the wedding were so wonderful. The gentlemen who were working just outside of the bride's room found us extension cords and even made us a cooler filled with iced down drinks when our cooler broke. Everything was lovely and our guests enjoyed the evening a lot. The only negatives that I can say were that the bartender was rather rude to the groom and even temporarily refused to serve him when the groom borrowed a beer bottle as part of a joke with the garter. The bartender had a tip jar front and center on the bar even though we had paid 18% of the total price for tips. Also, our unity candle holders were misplaced even though I had sent a message the very next day asking about them. This was partially on us since we did not take them that night but obviously there were other things on our minds. Also the person with whom we had been working leading up to the day was not the person we were suddenly given to work with on the day. Although the new person was fine, it was simply a surprise to find out on the day. Some of the positives are that this is what they do and they do it well. They made a call to the school nearby because they were blasting music during soccer practice. The music stopped thankfully since the ceremony was outside. Overall I would recommend this venue to anyone since they do a great job!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ErinCK
Wedding:
12/18/2010
4.8/5.0
We had our reception in the Safari Lodge and it was beautiful! Everything went as planned and our coordinator Ashley is fabulous. The only complaint that I have is that I got a new coordinator the day of the wedding and she was not very good. She was not very ontop of things and left before our parent dances, bouquet/garter toss were done and some friends had to finish up directing the wedding. However, the food is great and Ashley is fabulous. I would highly recommend using them as your venue, but be sure that you are able to stick with your original coordinator!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrs.zinger
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
We had Audrey as our coordinator and she was absolutely amazing! We were the first wedding that was held in the Roman Gardens and at night it looked so romantic with rose petals and candles everywhere. Our ballroom was the Veranda room and we loved it. The food was delicious. Overall, I was extremely impressed with what we got for our money. Again, if you decide to have your wedding here definitely ask for Audrey!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beautiful bride
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.3/5.0
This was a beautiful place and I was somewhat frustrated on rehersal because my set-up was not what I had in mind. Because I was holding the event and reception in the same banquet room, I needed everything done a certain way. After a few hours of going back and fourth my coordinator was able to assist me and it turned out perfect on my wedding day. The food tasting was great and the food turned out good for the actual day. I would recommend the place again in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jysquaredc
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
We booked Safari Texas Ranch for our reception. We first talked to them at the Bridal Extravaganza show, but didn't think much of them until we visited them in person at their open house. We were floored by the facility and the fact that they took care of the food, the tables and linens, the chairs, and the booze. We were in the Magnolia room for the main reception (and we got the two smaller rooms for the cocktail hour. They worked with us to make the room perfect and had a lot of advice for us in our decision making.

The food was excellent! I highly suggest challenging the kitchen to prepare not just the usual fare but any ethnic dishes you may want as well. We asked the chef to prepare middle-eastern appetizers: dolma, tabouli and hummus. Some of our guests thought that my family had made the food and my mother was impressed by the taste of the food too.

They worked with our DJ (who also did the lighting) and helped make the room spectacular! When we booked the room (8 months in advance) we were in constant contact with a coordinator who was assigned to our event and she helped us through all the details and let us know when certain decisions needed to be made. They have all the table and linen options and centerpiece options too.

On the day of the event, our coordinator helped us through all the final things that we needed to do and made sure everything went smoothly.

I will definitely be recommending this facility to anyone who wants to throw an awesome wedding or just any party. They have other rooms for different size parties as well. They even have a chapel on site for ceremonies or they can host the ceremony in the room (or outside). If you are looking for a facility to host any part of your wedding, I highly recommending making an appointment and getting a personal tour of the facility and all the rooms to see which one is right for you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.7/5.0
I had my wedding in the San Antonio room and it looked AMAZING. Erika Fernandez was really nice and professional though out my whole journey. I highly recommend brides to use Safari Texas Ranch for their wedding reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rachel
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.8/5.0
I was so glad that I booked the Veranda room for my wedding. It was absolutley beautiful and set well. Ashley was so professional and worked with us since we were on a budget. The food was delicious and so many of my guests complimented us on the food and the venue. Everything was perfect.!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
L4
Wedding:
4/17/2010
3.6/5.0
We had our wedding at the Magnolia Ballroom and it was beautiful. The venue is large and it accomodated everyone.

However, I was not happy when they switched wedding coordinators on me a month before my wedding. Some things were not done as planned; however, I had a great time.

This place is memorable because of the ambiance and our wedding pictures were amazing because of the ballroom.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jasmin
Wedding:
4/15/2010
5.0/5.0
We got married on 4/15/2010 in the Chapel and held our reception in the Veranda ballroom. I have absolutly nothing bad to say about Safari Texas!

From the first time we met with Ashley our co-ordinator she was friendly and so helpful in such short notice, as we planned everything in 6-8 weeks! We were on a small budget and they were very accepting of this and helped us out as much as she could! The price for a full open bar is very reasonable, we had 7 hors· d'oeuvre along with a fruit and vegetable platter and couldn't believe how lucky we'd been to find a place like this!

They were accommodating with our guest size as it was a smaller group and moved us with no problems from the Veranda Gazebo to the Chapel as it was raining! Everything was setup perfectly and I can't thank Ashley and Audrey enough!

I'd recommend Safari Texas to anyone who asked for a venue for any event!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1228246320664-102_1713
Amy
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.9/5.0
Safari Texas is a beautiful choice to hold your reception. It also offers a ceremony site; however, I did not use it. There are several different ballrooms to choose from so your day can fit your style. They also offer wedding day coordinators that are fabulous. They help you from the day you reserve your ballroom to days after your wedding to make sure it was wonderful. The food is absolutely delicioius and there are so many options to choose from! I hightly reccommend Safari Texas!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
3/6/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony in the Rose garden chapel and the reception in the San Antonio Room. Both were perfect for our event.
The only slight downfall was there was only one bartender for the reception and there was a pretty big line at first as guests all arrived after the ceremony. The bartender did great considering the line and the guests were very understanding. Once she got caught up past that first rush, the bar ran smoothly the rest of the night. It wasn't the bartenders fault, but I wish a second bartender had been mentioned to us by our coordinator as we were finalizing plans. We obviously didn't think about it ourselves but we would have been happy to pay for a second one ahead of time. But aside from that minor hiccup the venue was perfect!
The folks at Safari Texas are incredibly flexible and it is a huge value for what you get. I would point anyone that direction for any event...wedding, big party etc...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanna
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
You can't beat the cost and experiance of Safari Texas. I have read some bad reviews on them, but I don't know why??! They were wonderful! Everything was set-up the day before (I went and spied :) ), it was beautiful, food was delicious and everyone enjoyed it very much. The service was exceptional! Anytime I needed anything (and I live in South Carolina) they were literally a phone call away. They were very helpful with the planning and suggestions about the day in general. I had my reception in the Veranda room...I was a little nervious when I first saw it, wondering how it would look, but they decorated it exactly how I asked, and it was gorgeous! I can't say enough good things about them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1257121589118-meanddharati
d
Wedding:
2/6/2010
4.3/5.0
This is the best bang for your buck ! They provide an exceptionally large ballroom and excellent package deals. We had our wedding here and everyone complimented us on how beautiful the place looked! I would recommend this place for any celebration. You definately get your money's worth at the safari Texas ranch.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1265918071353-kissing
Yury Solano-Hernandez
Wedding:
12/5/2009
4.7/5.0
I love this reception hall. My cousin had her Sweet 15 there, and everything was so perfect. This is a giant hall, I love the entrance with the stairs. Overall, it was perfect and very nice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PaigeD
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
I could not have asked for anything better. Safari Texas is the place to have your wedding. Everyone has said that it was the best wedding they have ever been to. Erica is great to work with. I highly reccomend Safari Texas. It was the best value I found and the food is great!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/2/2009
5.0/5.0
I would definitely without a doubt recommend Safari Texas for a wedding ceremony/reception venue to any bride out there! The service I received out there was absolutely awesome. A woman named Ashley was my coordinator out there and did an amazing job! A few things went a little crazy that day but she handled everything in stride and nothing phased her. On the day of the wedding Ashley even wore a shirt that was baby blue, my wedding color, something small but very thoughtful!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Bg3
Krystle
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Safari Texas is a beautiful place to hold your reception! We checked out several venues and by comparison, Safari Texas gave us the best value for our money. We chose The Veranda room, which has a spectacular chandelier right in the middle of the room and above the dance floor. I loved that the dance floor was in the middle of the room, so everyone could get a good view of everyone dancing. The Veranda also has the most beautiful European mural on one side of the room where we had the head table, and this provided the most gorgeous background for a lot of our pictures. We had to deal with more than one coordinator from the time we booked our date, but each coordinator we worked with was organized, professional and accommodating, and they all responded quite promptly to any of our questions or concerns. We asked for a taste session, and we were provided with a beautiful array of our choices...it was quite a banquet really! The food choices are outstanding. On the wedding day, the room was decorated beautifully and the service was flawless from start to finish. Everything went exactly according to plan, and our coordinator stayed until the end to make sure all our needs were met.
We had the most fantastic time, and I would highly recommend Safari Texas to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KandC4ever
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
It turned out to be a very beautiful place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Geraldine
Wedding:
6/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Mr. Allison Wen and the staff at Safari Texas provided us with a great outdoor ceremony surrounded by a lush garden. A new gazebo was built near the reception site and it was beautiful. The venue added much to what we dreamt of for our wedding. The reception site was meticulously prepared according to our preferences. Judy Lina, our coordinator made sure that all of the details were taken care of prior to the wedding and everything went smoothly. The food tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rinacolada
Wedding:
5/29/2009
4.5/5.0
Safari is good value for money. The interior of the hall is absolutely stunning. I've only used/seen the largest ballroom, but with how often they're booked up, I presume the other area is just as good. The only downside is that its a little out of the way, but when you're getting this much for your money...it's probably worth the journey.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lluviavv
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Safari Texas was AWESOME!! The room turned out beautifully. Their service was excellent. I didn't have to worry about anything. Food was great. We got a lot of compliments from our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AndiandMichael
Wedding:
3/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Safari Texas is a beautiful place to have your ceremony and reception. The staff, especially Erica and Paige, are wonderful!! The food is EXCELLANT and having everything in one place makes it easy! I would recommend Safari Texas to everyone!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherry
Wedding:
1/3/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married here at Safari Texas on January 3, 2009, and we were really happy with the entire experience.

Alison, the owner, was very accommodating and helped out in any way he could, which was very appreciated.

We had several different wedding planners, but they were all very sweet and helpful, and were at our beck and call on the wedding day.

We held the ceremony at the Rose Garden Gazebo, and it was so absolutely gorgeous. Everyone loved it and it was such a romantic setting, that we could not have asked for more! Gosh I loved the ceremony so much!!! It was so beautiful and I did not hear or think one bad thing about it.

The reception was held in the Palm Pavilion, which was also a great location. It was very long and narrow, but that made it so it felt that there were different things going on in the different spots. Over on one side was dancing and the band, and then the other side was the food and bar. It was really a neat space decorated beautifully with about 5-7 chandeliers and indirect tube lighting all around the top.

Safari Texas was definitely a good buy for the money, and we couldn't have been happier with the whole experience.

Thanks a lot!

Glenn and Sherry Taylor
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swagata
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married at Safari Texas last year. Once it was spruced up with flowers and lighting, it was beautful! The staff was friendly and accomodating, and the location is a great value as well!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1236372105215-10608021
randi
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
The wedding an reception were beautiful! They provided tables, chairs, linens, catering, bar, ice sculpture, kool-aid fountain.. an all in one deal and for a great price!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
This was my dream wedding. The site was exactly as I had planned and the office staff helped make sure that everything went as planned. They handled everything and I was very pleased. They had very competitive rates compared to other places we looked at, but included at not extra cost the things many others charged for. The wait staff was very attentive and professional and I could not have been happier with the food. It was presented beautifully, even coming through the buffet and plated. Any and all questions were responded to quickly and the only complaint we would have had (the amount of parking available) was handled before the wedding (they had already built a new lot). I would have the wedding there again.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
6/13/2008
2.6/5.0
Over all they were alright, I don't like the fact that they switched the person I was dealing with 2 times. We had an open bar but the bartender had a bad attitude and denied me "the bride" a drink and I had not had anything all night. Then during the rehearsal one of the girls got kinda pushy and tried to rush us threw it. besides that the dinner was fine, and the hall was very pretty.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vinceshah
Wedding:
6/7/2008
4.8/5.0
Allison was amazing coordinator to work with, they threw a lot of extra things for not much extra cost, open bar was inexpensive and just had a great experience working with them.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mhdmt22388
Wedding:
3/16/2008
4.4/5.0
Beautiful place! Very well done!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SKClark
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.8/5.0
Safari Texas is a wonderful place to hold any sort of large event, and they really have everything down to a system. They're very professional and their staff helped me out a lot. The manager, Stephanie, is amazing. She was there to help with whatever I needed whenever I needed it. She fetched shoes, she got me extra food, she was awesome. She really was the 'Wedding Coordinator.' I'm glad I didn't hire someone specially because they really filled the bill and met all my needs!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
4/7/2007
5.0/5.0
They were awesome. We were the difficult ones, but they were flexible and great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
11627 fm 1464, Richmond, TX 77469 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Safari Texas Ranch
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1278454048538-texasballroom