130x130_sq_1375812036058-41791002486475184851458n

Salem Cross Inn

West Brookfield , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

260 W Main St
West Brookfield, MA US 01585 (map)

PHONE

508-867-9660

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your wedding day is something that you've dreamed about since you were tugging on your mother's apron strings... What your gown would look like, who your guests will be, the flowers in... Read more
Your wedding day is something that you've dreamed about since you were tugging on your mother's apron strings... What your gown would look like, who your guests will be, the flowers in your bouquet or even the words for your ceremony. Perhaps you pictured a ride in a horse drawn carriage out in the beautiful countryside of New England. The Salem Cross Inn offers a unique and memorable experience that can help to make your childhood dreams of a lovely country wedding become a reality. Read less
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1710
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn, Historic Site, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Country, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
220
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
100
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
I wanted a "rustic chic" wedding...basically a lot of burlap, mason jars, and beautiful flowers! I wanted a barn, good food and an amazing view...Salem Cross Inn fit the bill. Before choosing this site, I looked all over Central Massachusetts and Vermont...none compared and the second I sat down with Donna and Nancy at Salem Cross, I was putting a down payment. They made me feel like family and I put complete trust in them. I knew I could have a wedding with an intimate feel. The food was amazing and all my guests said so. This venue provides the tables, chairs, food, alcohol, and even a homemade cake! Many other "barn settings" don't include any of this. The barn was big enough for my 160 guests and we had a great dance floor space...which really came in handy because my husband and I had a choreographed dance. The outside area with gorgeous views made for amazing pictures for my professional ones and for all my guests to take themselves. We were able to have options for our cocktail hour depending on the weather. I had my heart set on cocktail hour outside on their patio area, but I was able to rest easy in case it rained because there was also a space underneath the barn that is adorable. We could also have used that space for the dance floor. Luckily we were able to have our guests use the outdoor space for cocktail hour and our photo booth was set in the gazebo which everyone loved. People were not just sitting in the barn waiting for all the wedding traditional events to be over...my guests were outside enjoying themselves which I really loved. So many people told me this was the best wedding they have ever been to, I couldn't be more grateful to Salem Cross Inn!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey Sumayyah
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
My family has been going to the Salem Cross Inn since the 1960s so when it came time for me to plan my dream New England wedding hiring them was a "no-brainer." This is one of the most beautiful wedding venues I have ever seen. Everything that they do here is from the heart. The wedding coordinators, Paula and Nancy, were amazing at meeting all of our needs for our wedding and were always available to us. My guests loved the wedding and the food is unbelievable. Their prices are very reasonable. Honestly, this is a place with people who are not out there trying to do as many wedding as possible but are instead trying to give everyone who comes to them a memorable and special day. They even have their own cake baker who will make you the most amazing chocolate mousse cake you have ever tasted and their own florist who does an incredible job! My guests are STILL raving about this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Khanh-Van
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
This is the perfect venue for our fall wedding. The staff members are very responsive and organized. It made our wedding day go without a hitch. We highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcia
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing experience!! From start to finish....every single aspect was perfect. The ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and reception were PERFECT!! Flowers by Barry Mongeon were exceptional. We knew he was an amazing talent, but were just blown away by the beauty he brought to this event! The personal touch of the Salem prize winning dahlias made the bridal bouquet so much more special than we could have imagined, thank you Nancy and Barry for the pleasant surprise! Donna and Nancy were so easy to talk to and so very accommodating throughout the planning process! The experienced and extremely pleasant staff brought a personal touch to the reception. Our hostess Bev was like a family member with her personal touch welcoming everyone as if she were sharing her own home. I cannot imagine anyone wanting to get married anywhere else. This day by far exceeded our highest expectations. Thank you to all who helped make this day the dream we have always imagined it would be! Donna.....you certainly delivered! We are still getting compliments about the "best cake ever". Thank you , thank you, thank you!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend the Salem Cross Inn for your wedding or even a special occasion. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous and the grounds are well kept. It is an amazing landscape for pictures. The staff is also very professional and helpful the day of the wedding. I can't thank Donna and Nancy enough for such a carefree day. They made sure to take care of anything to make the day run smoothly. It rained the day of our wedding and they were extremely accommodating. I didn't have to worry about anything. I received so many compliments from my guests about the site itself and the food. Their food is homemade and delicious. We had filet for one of our choices at the wedding and it was cooked to perfection. Our guests were so impressed overall and we were so happy with how it all turned out. Thank you so much for making it such a special day. We will definitely be returning to celebrate our anniversaries!

Melissa and Bryan
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
The crew at Salem Cross did an unbelievable job at our recent wedding. It was a beautiful event that everyone, young & old, enjoyed immensely. I've heard from multiple guests that it was the best wedding they have ever been to! It is the perfect place to have a country or rustic chic wedding... the grounds are beautiful and fabulous for pics, the inn is incredibly unique and charming, and the food is hearty and delicious.
Donna & Nancy were very helpful with wedding coordination. They have been doing this for years and know exactly how to advise you, and also have great recommendations and problem-solving skills during both pre-wedding planning and any day-of issues. We had a blast at the complimentary fireside roast where we got to sample our dinner options and take a horse drawn carriage ride through the grounds.
We had a gorgeous outdoor ceremony and then had the cocktail hr inside where they were roasting the prime rib on a spit in an old huge open hearth right in front of our guests which everyone loved. We then moved into the barn for the reception. We had 125 guests who all fit perfectly downstairs and there was plenty of room for dancing. The service was fast and very professional. Everyone is raving about the food, we had the roast prime rib and rustic chicken. And the cake not only looked beautiful but tasted great!
I highly recommend Salem Cross Inn to anyone hosting a wedding or any other event!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow. It is hard to believe that 2months ago, in June, our son got married. Everyone is still talking and remembering what a fabulous rehersal dinner we had at the Salem Cross Inn.
From the minute we walked in to the Inn to meeting with Donna and getting the tour, we fell in love. It was very easy working with the everyone there. There was a large variety to choose from for our dinner and of course since we were the grooms family and this was our party we wanted to hit it out of the park. Well, the Salem Cross Inn, hit it around the world. We were downstairs in the room where our dinner was being roasted. The most delicious prime rib was roasting on the spit in the fireplace while we were enjoying hors d'ouvres. The smells and greatness of a fire in the fireplace in June was wonderful ambiance. Everything from the room,homemade cheese spread, main dishes for all our needs, gluten free and vegan, the sweet breads,and the ice cream ball with hot fudge, to our bartender, John, you made the best martini, and Donna and Nancy, we were thrilled. If you are having a party of any kind, big or small, Salem Cross Inn is the place to go. You will not be disappointed. And the cost, worth every penny. This will not break your bank. Very reasonably priced. Look out Salem Cross, we are coming back for dinner tonight. We can't wait.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our reception in the barn at Salem Cross Inn and we could not be happier with how it turned out! The venue is honestly gorgeous - rustic and charming while still being elegant and classy - exactly the type of unique vibe we were going for! We were a bit concerned about having enough space for dancing with 160 guests, but Nancy and Donna assured us we would be fine, and they were right. We were able to put ~65 people up in the loft (mostly our friends, who loved being up there anyway) and 95 or so downstairs, and the way they set up the tables made for a nice sizeable dance floor in the middle of the space.

Donna and Nancy worked really hard to accommodate a few special requests my husband and I had, and everything went exactly according to plan on the wedding day. Our cocktail hour was supposed to be outside, but due to weather had to be moved down into the tap room last minute. My husband and I were busy taking pictures and so unfortunately did not make it down there, but several guests said it was the best cocktail hour they had ever been to! (Also, while we were taking pictures outside with the bridal party, one of the servers brought us a tray of appetizers so we didn't miss out...and thank goodness we didn't, because they were DELISH!)

The food at Salem Cross is unreal - we served the maple jack chicken and prime rib for entrees, and I made time to eat my entire plate (plus the amazing assortment of rolls/buns!) because it was so delicious. The portions were huge, and everything came out super quickly and piping hot. The waitstaff worked really efficiently to keep everything running on time. For dessert, we opted for the deep dish apple pie with ice cream - it was served warm and was an awesome twist on the traditional wedding cake!

Nancy and Donna really did a great job of helping us to facilitate our wedding reception and making sure everything was done how we asked - it was the perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/28/2012
3.3/5.0
The Salem Cross Inn is beautiful and for the prices they offer of the packages you really cannot beat it! The food was great, the night turned out beautiful, but honestly dealing with them to plan it was a bit of a headache.

I am not a bridezilla by any means... but there were a few things I wanted to have on my big day and I was told blatantly that I could not do it that way because they have been doing it for years and they know how it goes best.

The worst part was, they gave our parents "VIP" seats... they are suppose to be the best view of the bride and groom. Well, honestly, our parents did not care to see us eating... they cared to watch the special dances and the cake cutting and so on, and they had a HORRIBLE view from where they were sitting.

They charge $250 for the Christmas Lights in the barn, and I am sorry but that is outrageous!

If I could do it all over again, I would still pick the place for their beauty, and like I said the price was right, but I am just glad the planning process is over with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
9/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about Salem Cross Inn. My wedding went on without and hitch and was absolutely perfect. Working with Nancy and Donna was fantastic. I had several meetings with them to go over details and I always walked away feeling on schedule and on track with the wedding.

My husband and I lucked out and had a perfect day for an outdoor wedding, cocktail hour and pictures. The grounds are naturally beautiful and well maintained making it easy to find perfect backdrops for photos.

The food was amazing and prepared as if it was for an individual, not a large catered event I had many compliments on how tasty everything was. We had ordered the prime rib and seafood stuffed haddock for our guests to choose from. Even my vegetarian friends commented how the stuffed zucchini was flavorful and was a welcome relief from the commonly served pasta primavera at other weddings.

We had really loved the chocolate mousse cake, but opted for the white wedding and we were not disappointed. We are so happy with how it turned out and how fresh it tasted.

We had 160+ guests and divided them up with 100 on the lower level of the barn and 70 or so in upper level. The barn was picturesque and did not feel crowded at all. Neither did it fell empty.

My family and husbands family could not stop talking about the venue and the service. The was not a single person there that was not helpful and everyone was very pleasant.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
claudia
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
If you ask any of our guests, what the most memorable part of the wedding was, they will comment on the beautiful facility and food.

As a mother of the bride, I appreciated their comprehensive packages, organization, timely
responses and attentive waitstaff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.6/5.0
Barry was hard to get a hold of at times but that was partly due to an email issue. Other than that he was great. He is totally accommodating and brings great ideas to the table. He truly listens to what you want and helps enhance your ideas. He is a total sweet heart and super friendly too. I loved working with him and since it's so easy (he is affiliated with Salem Cross and lives across the street!) I recommend it even if you pay a little more than you may with an outside florist.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1284352294107-99218032568746725120110467359164337527n
Heidi
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.7/5.0
I absolutely LOVED my wedding at Salem Cross. Overall the day went very smoothly; there were only a couple of mishaps. The Inn itself and the grounds are breathtaking. My bridesmaids and I were provided a room upstairs in which to get ready, but no staff member came up to greet us and check in with us. I wasn't quite sure when to head towards the ceremony. I had to send my officiant out to track someone down.

We were supposed to have an outdoor ceremony, but due to the weather, the ceremony was moved indoors. The alternative was, in my opinion, much better than outside. We were in a downstairs room decorated with all sorts of antiques. The backdrop to the ceremony was a very rustic stone wall and it created an intimate and warm setting. Everyone was seated very comfortably and could hear the entire ceremony. Had it been outside, I think our guests would have had a hard time hearing us speak our vows.

The weather let up in time for us to get some lovely outdoor photos. The scenery is gorgeous and made for some great photos. Upon re-entering for the reception, just as we were to be announced in, a staff member told us we needed to remove our belongings from the room upstairs immediately as there was another wedding party coming in. I was totally unaware that there was a wedding following mine, and would have liked to have been informed. We would have made sure our things were removed earlier, and not right before we were trying to start our reception. That made for a little confusion, and I sort of felt like part of an assembly line of weddings. That is really my only complaint about the entire day...I can live with that.

The reception was wonderful. The food was delicious and served hot! We received so many complements about the food, both from cocktail hour and dinner. The cake they provided was exactly what my husband and I wanted.

I would highly recommend the Salem Cross Inn for your wedding. We had a wonderful day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1267421064645-n49401041320217351232
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/23/2011
4.2/5.0
Our wedding day at the Salem Cross Inn was wonderful and went off without a hitch. But the planning leading up to it wasn't always enjoyable. Every time I had a question, the response I would get made me feel like I was such an annoyance to be asking a question. For example, I would send an email asking 5 questions, and would get an answer to 2 of them. I would then send another email re-asking the remaining 3 questions, and would get a response to 1. It was sometimes frustrating and it would take 2 weeks to finally pull out all of the answers I needed which could have been answered in one email if she had bothered to read it carefully. I think one of the things that bothered me with the responses was that she assumed we should just "know" all of these things. What they don't realize is that while they have done many many weddings, this is our first time--so we had questions about how everything worked.

Another peeve was the rehearsal. Since we did not use their recommended justice of the peace, they basically said "good luck" when it came to the ceremony. I just assumed someone would be there to help us, tell us where to go, where to stand, what happens if it rains and we need to be inside (which DID happen), etc. But apparently not. The only help she offered was giving us the name of someone we could hire for an additional fee to be there for the ceremony and rehearsal. Which we did, since--hellooo--we've never been married before so of course we don't know what we're doing! So that was frustrating. But the woman we hired for this was great and REALLY eased my mind the day before the wedding. Her name is Paula Roberts and I definitely recommend hiring her if Salem Cross refuses to help you with the ceremony. I'm not sure what her fee was because my mom took care of that for us.

SO. Other than some frustrations with responsiveness, a few attitude issues, and the ceremony rehearsal, the wedding was AWESOME. Looking back, the issues weren't as big of a deal as I thought they were at the time--wedding planning can be very stressful. The day of the wedding it rained so our ceremony ended up inside, which turned out great because it felt much more intimate and everyone could hear the ceremony. They set it up nicely and lit a fire in the fireplace. Then came the cocktail hour, which I heard was nice. My one disappointment with that was that we were told they would bring us an assortment of hor d'oeurves while we were taking pictures and they did not. At one point I saw a waiter with one kind, so I got to have one piece of food. Make sure you speak up and make them bring you an assortment! You pay money for all that food and you should be able to try some of it :) Especially since they assured me we would and it didn't happen. Also, there was no one in sight to bring my husband and I a glass of water. We were desperate for water after the ceremony and never tracked anyone down to bring us any.

The reception room was set up BEAUTIFULLY. They were great with letting me make my own centerpieces (mason jars with moss and a candle), table numbers, etc. Just make sure you write them instructions of how you want things set up when you drop everything off the week before. Be organized and think of everything. For example, our candles inside our mason jar centerpieces would need a long lighter so I brought one for them to use, and good thing because she asked for one when we brought them (didn't get it back after the wedding though--but no big deal).

The food was PHENOMENAL. We had the rustic chicken and the yankee pot roast. It was delicious and all of our guests agreed. It was served hot and the staff was wonderful. One thing that was nice was at the end of the night they gave us the extra meals for the people who didn't show up. BUT, they told us there were only 4 no shows so we got 4 meals.. but we figured out later we actually had 7 no shows... But whatever. And the cake was delicious and so pretty.

Our florist, Barry M (who works with Salem Cross), was absolutely wonderful. The flowers were better than I ever imagined. And he worked with our budget. We told him what we could afford, and he told us what we could get for that much. Whats great about Salem Cross is that its so naturally pretty that you don't need many flowers. We had 2 large arrangements set up during the ceremony, and he moved them to the barn for the reception. Our bouquets and boutinneers were STUNNING and we had so many compliments on them. He also decorated the cake with flowers and it really gave it that extra touch.

After dinner the party started. All of our guests raved that this was the best wedding they had ever attended. We all had a blast, the bar staff was awesome and friendly, and I couldn't have had a better time. They let us go pretty long into the night which was great. The whole day didn't feel like we were on any sort of time restraints, but I'm sure that's because we were in the off season so we were the only wedding that day.

Overall, a lovely experience. Besides some small annoyances in the planning, everything was great. You can't beat the VALUE--the price is extremely reasonable for how delicious the food is, how gorgeous the setting is, etc. If you are looking for a rustic, beautiful, old fashioned venue with great food, good service, and affordability, Salem Cross Inn is definitely the place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
4/3/2011
4.3/5.0
My cake was purchased by my husband's Aunt, who coordinated with Salem Cross.

The cake was amazing, and it was absolutely beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1262571641223-fbavatar56501129
Anna-Lisa
Wedding:
10/10/2010
2.8/5.0
We chose the Salem Cross Inn because of the beautiful atmosphere, great food, and reviews from previous guests to weddings held there. The planning in the beginning was very easy and everything went smoothly. However, when we had the last few meetings with the staff it wasn’t as stress free. They didn’t seem to really want to let us personalize our wedding. We felt that it was a SALEM CROSS WEDDING not your wedding AT Salem Cross Inn. They didn’t like that we were using our own vendors rather than their recommended vendors. (Note: we wanted to make small changes such as the color of the place cards (we were providing them), etc).
It was difficult to schedule meetings with them as well. They were not flexible about working around/with our work schedules. Plus every time they told us to come in on a weekend, they were in the middle of another wedding! So a 10 minute meeting took over an hour because she was so distracted.
When we set up the rehearsal, no one met us; luckily our JP was very familiar with the venue so she took charge. We never saw anyone from the staff and we had an appointment.
Also- They booked 3 weddings for the same day. One of the reasons that we chose them was that they said that they only did one wedding at a time. I guess they meant that literally. We were a little rushed in the beginning because there was another wedding just before ours, so we didn’t get to take as many pictures before the ceremony as we had originally planned.
I have to say that the actual wedding was okay. The food was served hot and tasted great. But they had multiple tour buses come through the place and at the very end they actually brought a tour group through the room downstairs where we had the dancing to show off the fireplace. We had the place booked for the day; it didn’t come with a time limit. And the tour guide was very rude about us being in there.
Bottom line: get everything in writing and be aware that there will be multiple weddings and tour buses going through on your day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Toni and Jim
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.5/5.0
Donna and Nancy where amazing to work with. The guests all commented on how awesome the food was. The enjoyed the family style some guests had 3 poritions of prime rib.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1247677317032-ginnyswedding1118
Sarah
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.5/5.0
I absolutely loved having my wedding at the Salem Cross, as I was in a very tight budget, however, I was so THANKFUL that it did not rain the day of my wedding because I wasn't exactly sure where my ceremony would have been held as there were 4 weddings/parties going on at the same time as mine. In terms of cost, Nancy was very helpful in keeping our costs way down, and we made sure to meet with Nancy as much as possible. The only real complain I have was that we felt very pushed between the ceremony and the reception as we were on a time frame due to the next wedding coming in, we didn't really get to finish pictures and I felt rushed out of there. They were clearing cupcakes ( that had not been touched) and things that my sisters were running around fetching before they went in to the trash! However, the day was BEAUTIFUL and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The Food was also amazing, and I got RAVE reviews about how wonderful/and homemade everything tasted!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.4/5.0
I need to start off by saying that our day at the Salem Cross Inn (the ceremony outside and the reception in the barn) was absolutely PERFECT. The setting is not only beautiful, but it is unique, there aren't many places like it around. Best of all, the cost was extremely reasonable, something my parents appreciated. Our guests loved the setting, and many of them had wished they found it first for their wedding. The food was delicious, we have had lunch and dinner here several times and have never ever had a bad meal. We were allowed to stay late the day of the wedding (with no extra charge) as there was no event after ours, so our guests got in a extra half hour or so of dancing. And the beautiful cake they made, it was sooooo good! I got so many compliments from people on how this was one of the best tasting cakes they have had at a wedding!

During the planning, there were some frustrations. I felt that we were often playing phone tag because they don't seem to utilize email very much. I would send an email, and get a phone call back. The first time I spoke with them on the phone, I felt they were a little rude, however each time I met in person with both Nancy and Donna, they were wonderful. I was trying to plan our wedding from over 500 miles away and felt communication was not always clear. I had to plan some (unexpected) trips home, for example, when they called me 6 weeks before the wedding and wanted to meet with me 'before invitations were printed' to make meal selections, after I had designed, hand made each invitation myself and sealed the envelopes for mailing. I also made all of the centerpieces myself, as well as the favors and most of the decorations. When I dropped off everything for the wedding, I was told that I would have to come back the day before the wedding and assemble my (very simple to put together) centerpieces, decorate the gazebo myself for the ceremony and arrange my decorations the way they needed to be because "We don't usually do this kind of stuff, the florist usually does the centerpieces and people don't usually do this kind of stuff". In all honesty, it is a beautiful place and probably doesn't need as many decorations as I had brought. I think that perhaps the issues I had were related to me living so far away at the time and me making everything myself and wanting everything set up and decorated a certain way, so I can't really blame them for not wanting to set my stuff up for me.

All in all, this is one of the most beautiful places to have a wedding, with wonderful food (and cake!), a great setting for beautiful photographs and a place that all your guests will remember. Take a visit there for yourself and see why I highly recommend the Salem Cross Inn for a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sspenc
Wedding:
7/12/2009
4.8/5.0
Salem Cross Inn was a beautiful place to host the ceremony and reception. They were very professional and knew exactly what they were doing every step of the way. They helped greatly in planning the whole day. They were very flexible and eager to customize every detail. The meal and rental was very reasonably priced for the area, the best value out of all venues around. The FOOD is above and beyond what you could EVER expect at a wedding... people were raving for days about the food! The reception in the barn is a bit tight, but the waitresses move easily and efficiently around and do not disturb any guests. They are a busy location, so sometimes are not immediate in responding to calls/emails, but will get back in a couple days. They were essential in helping the day move easily from ceremony to cocktail hour to reception without a hitch... especially in working with the DJ and photographers to make everything go smoothly and perfectly! I would highly recommend Salem Cross Inn for their incredible food, knowledge, organization, flexibility and the sheer beauty of their property!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.5/5.0
The Salem Cross Inn is an absolutely beautiful place for a wedding! Everyone that attended our wedding raved about the food and atmosphere. The service was wonderful and they really work with you to be sure all the details are taken care of. The Inn was very accommodating and responded promtly to my questions and concerns. The staff who served us throughout the night were very friendly and professional and you can't beat the quality of the food. I highly recommend the Salem Cross Inn and couldn't be happier with the way our day turned out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
5/16/2009
3.3/5.0
Overall we were very happy with almost everything with the wedding.
The wedding planner Donna was amazing, and wanted us to enjoy the whole planning process. The food is easily one of the best parts of the day.

The Hostess the night of the wedding was the most disappointing. She tried to rush the cocktail hour, interrupting the photo's 15 minutes in to ask if we could just go in and get things moving. We said no. We paid a lot of money for our photographer, and wanted the most out of it. We heard from our guests after the wedding that she was rude to them in the foyer, and rushed them into the banquet room. We realized after the wedding that we only had a handful of signitures in the guest book. Our guests told us that the hostess didn't allow them to sign it.
It was very warm in the Barn, and a few of the guests opened windows to cool the place out. The hostess was rude to them to close it, so we baked. As the bride, my makeup was melting off, I had to go outside frequently to cool off.
One of my guests was unhappy with the food for his 12 year old daughter, and spoke with her about it. My husband and I spent our first meal together worried about our guests fighting with the hostess in plain view.
When it was time to dance, we were a little taken aback that no one was dancing. We asked the Dj what the problem was. The DJ stated that the hostess refused to turn downs the lights. When I finally tracked down the hostess and got the lights down, the room livened up.

Overall we were happy with the wedding. We don't dwell on mishaps, but there were a few.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/28/2008
3.7/5.0
For the amount of money (fees) they charge for things, it seems that they should do a bit more in helping out with the setting up of things for the wedding. And no one would have been there to help out with our rehearsal dinner coordination unless my husband specifically asked for someone to be there. If no one was there to help with that, we would have been completely lost. The place is historic and beautiful and the food is excellent and priced well for what you get. A lot of other wedding venues over charge for food and it isn't even hot. The Salem Cross makes sure your meal is hot and is priced below most other venues for weddings.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
9/27/2008
3.6/5.0
My husband and I chose The Salem Cross Inn at it is a beautiful historic location and the food is excellent! The meals are priced between $20 and $30 per person which is very much on the low side. The planning at the beginning went very well and it was not until two weeks before the wedding that I ran into some troubles. I kept calling the two weeks before the wedding to give my final headcount and could not get a call back! Also, at this time, prices started to change. When we booked the location we were told there was a $500 room fee which all of a sudden went up to $1,000! I was also told that the cake would be $5 per person, but two weeks before the wedding the price went up to $7.50 a person or $7 a person depending on who you spoke with. I was told that the $5 per person was for a white cake, but because we chose chocolate mouse, it was going to be more. There was nothing in the paperwork that indicated this change in price. I also had to put down $250 to have an outdoor cocktail hour, but it rained our on wedding day and we did not get that money back. We also had to pay $2 per chair to be set up for the outdoor gazebo..but since the wedding was moved inside...they just dragged the dining chairs into a setup, but we still had to pay the fee.

I have to agree with the person who posted before me who happened to get married there the day before me! When we arrived for our rehearsal and dinner, we were not greeted by any members of the staff. Instead we watched them leave for the day and let us fend for ourselves. Since the wedding had to be moved inside, we had a lot of questions. Luckily we had our rehearsal on Thursday for a Saturday wedding so I was able to straighten things out on Friday. I did get the room fee back to the original $500 but this was stress I did not need in the weeks before my wedding.

I would recommend The Salem Cross Inn to others as the atmosphere and the food is excellent. I would highly recommend that you get all associated costs in writing when you send in your deposit and make sure everything is clear. I think The Salem Cross Inn has recently entered the wedding business and have a way to go to get themselves up to par with facilities that have been doing wedding for years.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
6/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Donna from Salem Cross Inn was so helpful and ready to answer any and all questions. I felt relaxed and comfortable about the whole process. It is a beautiful venue and they will do whatever they can to make your day special to you. My favorite part was having my cupcake cake made by them. Not only is the food delicious but the cupcakes were the best I've ever had! We appreciated their organization, the ability to have a separate place to get ready, and the atmosphere. We plan on going back for our anniversary every year!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
260 W Main St, West Brookfield, MA 01585 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Salem Cross Inn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo