130x130_sq_1396446869543-ballroomj

Scottish Rite Cathedral

Indianapolis , IN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

650 North Meridian St.
Indianapolis, IN US 46204 (map)

PHONE

317-262-3110

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

With its classic and timeless beauty, the Scottish Rite Cathedral has become one of the most sought-after locations in downtown Indianapolis. From wedding ceremonies and/or receptions,... Read more
With its classic and timeless beauty, the Scottish Rite Cathedral has become one of the most sought-after locations in downtown Indianapolis. From wedding ceremonies and/or receptions, to corporate events and social gatherings, the Scottish Rite Cathedral is the ideal venue for your next event. This beautiful gothic 1929 building offers over 116,000 square feet of event space with an elegant Ballroom, a spacious Grand Hall, a state-of-the-art Theatre, the South Lounge, and several small meeting rooms of various sizes. Catering for the Scottish Rite Cathedral is exclusively provided by, Thomas Caterer's of Distinction.



Call today to schedule an appointment to see the space at 317.262.3110! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1396446096025-ballroomjs
130x130_sq_1396446228992-grandhal
130x130_sq_1382026987315-theatre-bride-w.-father-in-tunnel
130x130_sq_1382027333180-verbryckwdg-0372
130x130_sq_1334777909868-0626
130x130_sq_1396446149970-ballroomjsd
130x130_sq_1379431865714-wr--kristin
130x130_sq_1396446121316-ballroomj
130x130_sq_1396446318802-grandhallbr
130x130_sq_1377869294838-img4233
130x130_sq_1377869331227-july-2013
130x130_sq_1377869135944-south-lounge-ceremony-
130x130_sq_1382027118570-wedding-dress-with-stained-glass
130x130_sq_1334778034453-illyses0583
130x130_sq_1334778316470-005522
130x130_sq_1379103537774-mundap-ceremony
130x130_sq_1379104805948-img8236-1
130x130_sq_1334778392512-dsc01944
130x130_sq_1334778404619-cage5
130x130_sq_1334778282860-webads002
130x130_sq_1334777975560-moore0610
130x130_sq_1377870491300-copy-of-creamer-0310
130x130_sq_1334778176560-robertsonfavs0278
130x130_sq_1334778015951-0610
130x130_sq_1377870186301-roomwalker
130x130_sq_1377870210808-roomwalker2
130x130_sq_1379104908499-img8438-10
130x130_sq_1384187661142-0578.jpg---eric-hessio
130x130_sq_1384187729060-ceremony-w.-tree

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1927
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
3000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1800
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
120
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Beautiful facility! My family heard me rant and rave about the venue of our wedding for a year, and after they stepped foot into the Scottish Rite, they just didn't know what to expect...they were blown away by every aspect at the Cathedral...best choice we made!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyra
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
The Scottish Rite provided excellent and professional service for my wedding. Katie, the event coordinator, worked closely with us and was extremely helpful in coordinating and planning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Katie and her staff were a pleasure to work with! They were so accommodating and helpful! We had a great experience and loved the Scottish Rite as our venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My Sweetpea flowers were exactly what I wanted. They were even more beautiful than I imagine them to be. Thomas catering food was amazing and we are stil receiving compliments on the food. Scottish rite was very professional and followed up on every detail and more to make our wedding perfect. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Katie and her staff at Scottish Rite Events did an awesome job in assisting us with a recent wedding reception held in the Grand Hall. She is very timely and organized when helping a mother of the bride plan for a reception. Katie was with us that evening and made sure we had everything we needed to plan, decorate, and host a wonderful wedding reception. The venue is spectacular with wonderful rooms for photographs. If you want an extraordinary venue, I highly recommend this historic building with all the beauty and elegance it provides. Jeannie Short
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
The Scottish Rite is absolutely beautiful. Katie and her team were wonderful to work with and did an excellant job bringing our vision to life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Scottish Rite Cathedral is the most beautiful venue in Indianapolis! When I got engaged, I knew I wanted my wedding reception to be at the Scottish Rite. There is no other building like it in Indianapolis. There is so much detail in every room it takes your breath away. Ashley and Lauren are very easy to work with and respond quickly to emails. They also referred me to other vendors that were fabulous to work with. I received numerous compliments from wedding guests about the Scottish Rite. If you want a "fairy tale" wedding this is the place to have it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/11/2007
5.0/5.0
The ballroom is beautiful in itself and the staff just made it even better! The event coordinator was always available to meet with me or answer questions. It was flawless the whole night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Astonishing venue. With a talented and knowledgeable planner plus a few lighting tricks, it all became so magical.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/3/2013
4.8/5.0
The theater combined with a company called elegant occasions makes for the perfect wedding! Staff was amazing and so nice! It was definitely my dream wedding! Thank you again girls! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mols1027
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.6/5.0
The ballroom at the Scottish Rite Cathedral is one of the most gorgeous venues I have ever seen. There is a balcony around the second floor level, so we had cocktails on the balcony (and guests could look down at the wonderful table arraingements!), and then moved down to the main level for dinner and dancing. The ballroom is very large, and comfortably seated 150 with a VERY large dance floor. There are some restrictions as to how you can decorate because it is a historic location. You can't tape or tack anything to the pillars, etc. But that was fine, the dark wood and basic design of the room is beautiful to begin with. Valerie was so helpful in working with our whole event. Actually, she was so helpful that I didn't feel the need to have an actual wedding coordinator - she took care of everything! She even recommended the florist that we ended up using! I would highly recommed the Scottish Rite Cathedral to anyone who wants a stunning and elegant reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.5/5.0
The venue was so gorgeous and you can't beat the amount of space provided for the money! Our only complaint was the flexibility with keeping our decorations over the weekend- it just cost more money in the long run to have someone stay and clean that up.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurah
Wedding:
6/23/2007
3.6/5.0
The Scottish Rite Cathedral was a very affordable way to have a wedding and the venue were included for 150 people. They were very accommodating and helpful.This is a beautiful, elegant place. The food was excellent. All our guests were impressed. The only part I was unhappy with was that the wedding coordinator was very pushy ONLY on the day of the wedding. She pushed the wedding party down the isle and therefore all the wedding progression and music was off.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Scottish Rite Cathedral responded with the following comments:

Hi Laurah!

Thank you for your review on Wedding Wire! I wanted to ensure you that the Scottish Rite Cathedral has since recruited new staff to handle all events in the building. By having an actual team now, this allows us to work with our clients on their special day and make it nothing less than the most memorable day of their lives!

Yours Truly,

Scottish Rite Events
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.4/5.0
There was another recetption about 2.5 hours after my wedding and they just seemed to want to rush us out before the next bride regardless if we were done taking pctures
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
650 North Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46204 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Scottish Rite Cathedral
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1396446869543-ballroomj