Nophoto-130

Seattle Parks and Recreation

Seattle , WA

LOCATION

Seattle, WA US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
3.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
6/9/2012
3.1/5.0
I had both my reception and ceremony and Golden Gardens. It can't not be beautiful when the park is so gorgeous. So I had no problems with the location at all. My only problem was with the staff for both the GG meadow and bathhouse. Although they were completely responsive to all my emails up to the wedding. I found them inconsistent in what they told me and it was like pulling teeth to get alternative options from them which I needed since they are not very flexible.

Furthermore, there are some important details to know about the GG Meadow. The ceremony permit only allows you to get married outside in the park, it doesn't mean that people will not be flying kites in the meadow while your ceremony is going on. I did not realize that. I saw in all my readings that the park remains open, which I thought was obvious, but I did think that we were renting the meadow. Also, the ceremony staff are ridiculous. They email you a ceremony permit that you have to post on site as early as possible, but cannot tape or staple to a tree nor can you post into the ground. This is a perfect example of how they give you limited options but don't suggest ANYTHING unless you ask.

The bathhouse was great for a reception site. It's smaller than you'd think. Their brochure says it fits 175 seated, but we had 64 seated (that's 8 round tables) and it was perfect. I'm not sure how 175 would work for seating. GG bathhouse provides chairs and tables, but you cannot take any of that outside for the ceremony if that's your plan. You have to rent everything. If you do any decorating inside, be prepared to bring your own ladders and make sure you have a crew that will help with decorating.

Things went smoothly for me in the bathhouse because my family and friends helped decorate, but the bathhouse does not provide anything. Golden Gardens and the Bathhouse is still is a lovely place, and I'm gad I got married there. I was just frustrated at times. I wouldn't recommend the meadow to a friend. If I could redo it, I might have considered having my ceremony elsewhere or even inside the bathhouse. The main reason is because Seattle Parks does not allow amplified noise outdoors, so we could not be mic'd and unfortunately a train passed by in the middle of our ceremony. Plus, there were quite a few people on the meadow during our ceremony. I would recommend the bathhouse for the reception, despite everything. But you DEFINITELY need to have a coordinator or a good crew to help set up.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KQuillin
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.1/5.0
We had our wedding at the Golden Gardens Bathhouse and the venue was great, the staff were very helpful, however there wasn't a lot of flexibility in what we could do, probably thanks to govt red tape.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg11
Ilene
Wedding:
6/26/2011
4.6/5.0
We held our ceremony at this beautiful 'secret garden' park on top of Queen Anne. It was like a fairytale. We couldn't have asked for anything more perfect than this park for our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mjackins
Wedding:
4/8/2011
3.9/5.0
We had our wedding at the Bathhouse at Golden Gardens and it was just lovely. We were able to come in ahead of time to measure and take pictures during the planning process, the staff were very responsive to our emails about permits, etc. It is pretty bare bones, so we had to rent or provide everything except tables and chairs, but if you're into DIY, that's not a downside. My only complaint was that we couldn't rent it beyond 11pm and I would have liked the reception to go on longer...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Lindsay
Wedding:
12/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Using Seattle Parks and Rec for my AHR! They've been great to work with and well priced for an awesome party
Services Used: Wedding Venue, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1276533858276-2nddraftcopy
Heather
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.3/5.0
We loved the view from "Kite Hill" in Magnuson Park. It was a little confusing as to how to make sure we could have that spot on the day we wanted it, but I figured it out pretty quickly and we were able to get all the paperwork in. The one draw back about having a ceremony at a public park is that there is no guarantee that the public will not be in your space. Fortunately the public was respectful of our space. :) It was a little more expensive that I would have liked, but the view from the hill was priceless on our big day and we wouldn't have wanted to have it anywhere else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KPJReeb
Wedding:
8/14/2010
3.7/5.0
Great location, staff is responsive and easy to work with, but not very flexible. I felt the cost was high for what we got.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmandaS
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.4/5.0
We used Gasworks Parks for our ceremony, some photos, and a BBQ the night before the wedding. The folks at the City were responsive in answering our questions and making reservations as easy as possible. They have well-prepared materials that cover most areas of concern, so things tend to run smoothly.

The signs they provide were effective as no one bothered us during any of our events. Great experience.

Only drawback was the cost of reserving space for the ceremony, paying the photography permit, and reserving picnic space. For what we paid, we could have had our ceremony at a private venue...but we wouldn't have gotten the $1,000,000 view!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1220487683241-sc-img_0718
Ristretto
Wedding:
8/30/2008
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony at Gasworks Park and the entire experience was unfortgettable. We booked at the earliest possible time (right after the new year) to insure we had the venue on the weekend we wanted. The people at the reservation office were always very helpful and prompt to return our messages (when they were too busy to pick up our call). Very professional and very friendly. They new every corner of their park and provided valuable suggestions and recommendations. The day and venue were absolutely fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1219880074202-47b7cc23b3127cce98548be312f000000037100azmmthu2ct2na
StanMinn
Wedding:
9/2/2007
4.3/5.0
Golden Gardens Bathhouse/Shilshole Bay Seattle WA

I can't speak highly enough of this venue.
Our whole affair was contingent on this location and we were terribly lucky to book it for the exact time and day we wanted (Sunday 3:33pm, Labor Day Week-end 9-2-07), tho' I admit to being very anxious up until we could, 1 year out.

The exposed beams and brick isn't for everyone, but with our "hippy picnic" theme, it was perfect. We also accommodated many children, so the sand, beach and playset options (also hung a pinata) kept them happily entertained and out of our hair.

All the many open houses allowed us to take participants to see and walk the space, plus gave us chances for mock set-ups and measuring. The staff was helpful and informative throughout the sometimes confusing process (we had to provide proof of insurance, etc.) and responded to requests for specific cleaning. Both the ceremony and reception were held in the main room (buffet and bar in the 'wet' room) with minimal re-arranging and held upwards of 100 guests just right.

Still a popular public spot, expect the curious and permanent graffiti (thanks, vandals.)
Bonus: Alcohol allowed. We would have found somewhere else otherwise.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maiana
Wedding:
8/25/2007
4.1/5.0
This was an amazingly beautiful location. The Seattle Parks Department rents the Golden Gardens Bathhouse out for weddings. However if you are looking to have your wedding on the beach you can't get a permit for it and if they catch you, you could face some hefty fines. We did both the ceremony and reception indoors and did a breakfast buffet line in an adjoining room while the caterers turned the room from ceremony into reception. The biggest thing you can do is call as far in advance to reserve as possible, this is a hot deal for the location and building and it books up fast.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JanainSeattle
Wedding:
6/21/2007
4.0/5.0
Beautiful park, with amazing views of the City of Seattle, the Olympic mountains to the West, Mt. Ranier to the south, the Cascade mountains to the west and has the remains of the old Seattle Gasworks . We were married on the top of the hill on the sun dial at high noon on the summer solstice. We put the cake in the kids barn, where there are old gas works that have been painted bright primary colors for the children to play on. The park is famous for it kite flying breeze, so bring a kite! There is a community of homeless people that live in the covered area, but they don't cause too much trouble, but be aware of them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/3/2006
3.7/5.0
We had our wedding at Golden Gardens on Labor Day Weekend. I booked the space over a year in advance, and the weather was great. I only wish there was a way that the parks department could have worked with a party rental vendor, so that I could have had less trouble finding a way to seat my guests ... or if I needed a tent, it could only be so large and secured by sandbags so that it wouldn't dig up the earth.

The value for budget was about average, and I did have to share the gorgeous surroundings that day with most of seattle, but also another couple getting married an hour after us in the boathouse.

We wouldn't have traded it for the world, - we love Golden Gardens!!
Services Used: Flowers, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aphroditelaughs
Wedding:
9/25/2004
4.6/5.0
We had our ceremony in Discovery Park. It was a beautiful venue, and the Parks Department was easy to work with. They have two site where they allow weddings, so make sure you check out both areas prior. The area by the navy chapel, where we had our ceremony, limits you to 38 people, which may not work for many people's guest lists.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Seattle Parks and Recreation
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo