Nophoto-130

Sew Elegant

New York

LOCATION

New York, US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
October Bride To Be!
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
f I could give a million stars, I would. Sew Elegant SAVED MY WEDDING! I purchased my Claire Pettibone gown from a bridal shop in PA and made the mistake of having them do the alterations. What a mess. Less than a week before my wedding, I was franticly trying to find someone to fix the sloppy disaster they left me with. Enter ESIN - what a wonderful, confident, capable, experienced, pleasant and kind woman. I explained the situation to her and she had me come in first thing the next morning. I know some people on Yelp have complained about the cost and I totally get that but look - you get what you pay for. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!! The alterations at the bridal shop were pretty inexpensive and look what I ended up with - stress, aggravation and tears. I ended up sick on my wedding day because I was so run down from the drama with trying to fix this dress. Esin and team totally SAVED THE DAY!! I only wish I had simply purchased the dress from the PA shop and then brought it to Esin right away - what a breeze it would have been. This place is AMAZING AND I AM FOREVER GRATEFUL for the GREAT work they did on my very delicate gown. THANK YOU ESIN AND TEAM : ) XOXOXOX
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alana
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Esin rocks! She worked wonders on my J Crew dress - and was a delight each and every fitting!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AG
Wedding:
3/16/2013
4.0/5.0
Esin and her team did a fantastic job altering my sample Monique L'Huillier gown down ten sizes. In the end, my gown looked like it was made for me. I do think that the service was far too expensive for the work that they did, but I knew it would be going in, and I didn't want to take any chances with my gown. It also seems like Esin used to do a lot of the work herself, but now she relies on her team. I had to go back four times total, but only because for one of the visits I went back only find that they hadn't made any alterations since the last visit. Overall, I would recommend their services if you can afford them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1374773900772-cap-152
Anna
Wedding:
3/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Esin and the team at Sew Elegant! I was looking for a talented, dependable professional who knows how to work with vintage clothing. Esin went above and beyond my wildest expectations.

Esin was a joy to work with. She was quick to respond to my phone calls, and did a great job of scheduling out the alteration process. I enjoyed my visits to her location-- Esin’s caring personality made the wedding planning so much more pleasurable.

Esin did an amazing job of listening to me while also giving me the feedback I needed. I wore my mother’s vintage lace dress for the ceremony. It’s a beautiful dress, but it is very old and needed some substantial work! Esin helped me figure out exactly what needed to be done.

The prices weren’t cheap, but the magic she worked was priceless. When I tried on the dress at the final fitting, I was floored. It fit like a glove! It made a big difference to wear a wedding gown that felt like it was created for me.

I couldn’t have been happier with Esin’s work on my dress. She is an amazing artist and a trustworthy, caring professional. I highly recommend Esin and Sew Elegant!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Esin was amazing. My dress (from the sadly departed Priscilla's of Boston) needed to be taken in quite a bit, despite a complicated corset with lots of lace, beading, a jeweled belt and tulle wrapping. She made it fit like a glove and was completely flexible with appointment scheduling. Note: I am giving her 5 starts for value because it was a complicated job and she did it effortlesslessly, it was worth every penny. But, it was an expensive alteration.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
I got my wedding dress altered at Sew Elegant, and it was quite expensive, but my dress came out beautifully. If it weren't for the price, I would give this place 5 stars. I got my dress from Bridal Garden which is a non-profit boutique that sells new and used designer wedding dresses that were donated by brides and/or bridal stores. Of course, the dress was one size too large. So, I needed to make sure I found a good alterations shop to make the dress perfect.
The owner, Esin, is wonderful. I went in for 3 fittings, and after the first fitting, the dress already fit well. My dress may have cost more than other dresses because Esin's team had to remove the beading along the waist and re-sew it after taking in the dress. The worksmanship is top notch -- every bead in its place, every fold where it should be, and the bustle was lovely. Her team even spot cleans and presses your dress. It is wrapped in a plastic bag then placed in a sturdy garment bag with stuffing to keep the dress perfect. I dragged my dress on a plane across the country and the dress was truly protected. It fit like a glove and there's nothing I would change about it.
Esin is warm and friendly. She has dozens of years of experience and you should feel comfortable. She did not need much direction at all. She hugs you and tells you how beautiful you are. What more can a stressed out bride want?! Highly recommend this place so long as you are comfortable spending several hundred dollars on alterating your dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Perfect! Great experience. My dress was perfect.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.8/5.0
I got my dress at Priscilla of Boston after which they went out of business. They recommended sew elegant and i completely understand why.
Esin is great and a real sweetheart. She took my dress in 2 sizes. did all my bridesmaids dresses beautifully. Appointments are easy to make and change. She also made me a veil that matched my dress perfectly. I was never worried that it wouldnt be finished or not fit.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1323641902856-fbavatar2112136
Marissa
Wedding:
9/16/2011
5.0/5.0
It is so hard to express how grateful I am to have met Esin!

Her meticulousness and her ability to make me feel like a princess standing in a small room in front of a mirror is beyond anything I could ever have imagined.

When I first came to see Esin I knew that a lot of work would be needed. I'm quite short and my dress had an extreme amount of detail and lace on the bottom that I was not willing to lose. As I returned each time for my fittings the dress was quickly turning into a masterpiece. Esin's ability to recreate a dress to make it seem like it was designed for you, is overwhelming and spectacular.

If I could go back to see Esin daily I would. Her energy and her passion for what she does, is like no other.

My dress was the highlight of the evening, and I couldn't have been happier.

I can't wait to send her a picture!

Thank you Esin!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
8/6/2011
2.6/5.0
I am most disappointed with this vendor. Esin seems like a sweet and nice lady and certainly is charming. However, for the outrageous price I paid to get my dress altered, the job just was not done correctly. On my 3rd fitting - which was to be my last, the dress was still not altered to fit around my bust/chest (which is practically non-existent, so not a hard job). It was incredibly obvious that the dress STILL didn't fit right yet Esin said it was okay. It was NOT okay. Even on my 2nd fitting, the chest area was not correctly altered, and she asked me if I lost weight. I have the body type that doesn't lose or gain weight, I've been the same size for the past 5+ years. Again, on the 3rd fitting, she asked me if I lost weight. NO weight lost! To top it off, I had to wait around the whole day just wandering - 4 days before my wedding - waiting for my dress to actually fit right. Also, lovely bride had this adorable hanger made with my name on it - something I planned on using for pictures. Well, when I confronted Esin about it, she said oh no, why didn't you take it? Why would I think of taking it - it was holding up the dress? Well, she said she broke it - and barely apologized! All in all, my dress ended up being too tight and too long. Feel like I was ripped off!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sally
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Sew Elegant was the best place to have my wedding dress altered. I drove from NJ to NY to have the work done knowing how good of a reputation they have and I was definitely not disappointed. I would recommend Sew Elegant to everyone! Affordable price, great work, and Esin is the nicest person you will ever come in contact with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
robinita13
Wedding:
4/22/2011
5.0/5.0
The name says it all. The service was perfect. I didn't know I could even have some things done to my dress, such as a bustle added so that I could get rid of the train for the reception. Esin did a wonderful job, she knows her wedding dresses and she was very very nice to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/21/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Essen and her expertise is readily apparent from the first time you meet her. She is incredibly warm and welcoming but also knows her craft in terms of dress construction and what will look good. I can't wait for my next formal occasion to bring her more dresses to be altered.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sew Elegant
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220