130x130_sq_1348691092571-bridegroom90

Shades of Gray Photography

Kansas City , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3700 NE 49 st
Kansas City, MO US 64119 (map)

PHONE

816-288-0346

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congratulations on your engagement! As you are about to find out (and probably already know) you have a lot of choices to make in the very near future, and a photographer will be one of... Read more
Congratulations on your engagement! As you are about to find out (and probably already know) you have a lot of choices to make in the very near future, and a photographer will be one of them. It is important to take your time and look around, because there are a lot of really good ones to pick from! As a photographer I aspire to not only bring the best pictures to my clients but to also bring the best customer service. Acting many times as a wedding planner in addition to being a wedding photographer, I feel it is part of my job to ensure my clients have a smooth and enjoyable wedding day. Pictures are typically returned in three to four weeks after your wedding day, so there is no waiting months to get them back. I love what I do and hope that we would make a good fit for your wedding day! Thank you for taking your time and reading this and I look forward to hear from you!

-Briana Gray Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1347999493530-brideandgroom34
130x130_sq_1388421089641-bride--groom-16-of-6
130x130_sq_1388422943507-christasteven-
130x130_sq_1347999910550-brideandgroom50
130x130_sq_1348001277435-weddingparty81
130x130_sq_1388424625752-getting-ready-01
130x130_sq_1388423108584-christasteven-1
130x130_sq_1388421572452-brideandgroom-9
130x130_sq_1388421269435-bride--groom-8
130x130_sq_1347999813890-brideandgroom43
130x130_sq_1348000980856-gettingready42
130x130_sq_1347999684490-brideandgroom40
130x130_sq_1388421468952-brideandgroom-4
130x130_sq_1388421694081-brideandgroom-130-
130x130_sq_1348000997645-gettingready079
130x130_sq_1348001219884-mengettingready26
130x130_sq_1348687035709-bridegroom8894
130x130_sq_1388421208491-bride--groom-5
130x130_sq_1348687883454-bridegroom75of129
130x130_sq_1388421168124-bride--groom-3
130x130_sq_1348001187418-img0718
130x130_sq_1348688060111-bridegroom115
130x130_sq_1388421360433-bride--groom-111-
130x130_sq_1348688668120-bridegroom103
130x130_sq_1388422289068-charliemarisa-
130x130_sq_1348688723516-reception153
130x130_sq_1388421148992-bride--groom-17-
130x130_sq_1388423247486-christasteven-1
130x130_sq_1348000618848-bridegroom063
130x130_sq_1347998671939-brideandgroom5
130x130_sq_1348687428793-ceremony109
130x130_sq_1388421303341-bride--groom-10
130x130_sq_1347999437228-brideandgroom32
130x130_sq_1388421798243-ceremony-7
130x130_sq_1388421899486-charliemarisa-
130x130_sq_1388422448941-charliemarisa-
130x130_sq_1388422539998-christasteve
130x130_sq_1388422742261-christasteven-
130x130_sq_1388422842992-christasteven-
130x130_sq_1388423311063-christasteven-1
130x130_sq_1388423341953-creativeportraits-02
130x130_sq_1388423454847-creattiveweddingparty-7
130x130_sq_1388424368417-daveyjessica-
130x130_sq_1388424448950-details-02
130x130_sq_1388424549803-details-10
130x130_sq_1388424678818-getting-ready-46-
130x130_sq_1388424709437-getting-ready-5
130x130_sq_1348688030518-bridegroom036
130x130_sq_1388424736384-getting-ready-07
130x130_sq_1388424796590-getting-ready-94-
130x130_sq_1388424838477-getting-ready-10
130x130_sq_1388424942331-jacobkidahn-1

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
yes.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital.
How many photographers do you work with?
3.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes, unless otherwise discussed.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
yes.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
yes.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I uses the most up to date equipment. I shoot with Canon cameras and lenses. I uses only professional grade equipment.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
yes.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Packages to fit most brides budget.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
yes. email for more details.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
In the event of a 10 hour day I normally take a break during a low point in the day to eat something. I do not require my client to provide the meal.
Do you charge for travel?
varies.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
1-2months.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Online.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
shared copyright.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Flushmount albums.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are celebrating our one month anniversary and we cannot say enough great things about Briana and Phil. From the first time we met this incredible husband and wife team, to the engraved wooden box and matching USB flash drive we received in the mail today, they are the absolute BEST photographers out there. Briana and Phil absolutely take into consideration and listen to every single detail and request and off-the-wall idea you have.
They are wonderful. From the first time we met them inside Union Station over Thanksgiving weekend (I felt slightly awkward/shy/nervous)... they were so great at helping Jason and me to relax and be ourselves and encouraged us to wait at the Nelson until after the sun had set in the FREEZING cold to capture some unique (and memorable) shots!! Jason and I really are passionate about photography and it was quite hard to choose a photographer for the big day. We first contacted them in September of 2013 (I think?) and were kind of worried because it seemed like a lot of great people were getting booked (our wedding was 06/07/2014). Briana emailed us back immediately on a Saturday morning and offered a phone consultation within the hour (lucky for us) to run our ideas by her and see what she (and her husband) are all about. My husband, who is typically quite hard to persuade, was sold within the first couple of minutes in speaking with Briana. We saw Shades of Gray's website initially, yet didn't contact them because we assumed they would be way out of our price range. Lucky for us... they weren't!!! Please do not be afraid or intimidated to contact them because of the insane quality of their work. You will be so so glad you did. We absolutely adore Briana and Phil and still chat with them occasionally to this day. Thank you both so much!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We both had friends and family members in the photography business, so when we set out to choose a photographer for our wedding, we knew we wanted someone with great experience. My husband and I both have a good eye when it comes to photography and we already knew that Phil and Briana were fantastic photographers. When I researched further, I knew that we would be getting a great deal for the package that we wanted. When the wedding day came we had no doubt that we were in great hands. The pictures from our engagement shoot had turned out beautifully and Briana and Phil had spent a lot of time getting to know us and our wants and needs. Many times photographers have to act as wedding coordinators and the flow of the day can often depend completely on them. Briana and Phil were personable, professional and reliable, not to mention a blast to work with on our wedding day! Our pictures turned out even better than we could have hoped (especially considering it was a frigid, cloudy and windy winter day. We couldn't be happier with the results! You will not have any regrets if you choose Shades of Gray!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Briana & Phil are an exemplary photography TEAM. From day 1 they worked with me and my fiancé, hand-in-hand, to create a dream that we had only envisioned. They took us to new locations for our engagement shoot because they wanted to make our shots special, and what WE wanted. My fiancé, like most men, was not thrilled with the idea of photos but he knew it was a necessary part of our wedding (& time up to). Briana and Phil made us BOTH so comfortable at our session, and the photos were better than I could have imagined. They helped us throughout the whole process of getting ready for our wedding day too, and gave us very helpful pieces of advice based on their experience. Our wedding day was perfect with these two! Briana and Phil truly are passionate at what they do, and I couldn’t have picked a better fit for my husband and myself.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Briana and Phil were great! Everyone was really impressed when we got our engagement photos back, and then even more impressed with the wedding photos. We had a big wedding party and they did a great job with us, we were kinda wild but they didn't seem to mind. ;) I would highly recommend them to anyone! Briana always got back to me in a timely matter, was great to work with and one of my favorite things was that all my pictures were organized when I received my zip drive! Saved me a lot of time and headache!
So happy we booked them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan
Wedding:
6/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved Briana & Phil from Shades of Gray!! Our destination wedding (in Puerto Vallarta) was perfect thanks to them. They took pictures of our family and excursions the few days before the wedding, gave us several ideas throughout the week, and when we got the pictures, we were blown away. We've had them for a few weeks now and are still trying to decide what to print! So many choices!! Everything went perfectly and we highly recommend them, couldn't have asked for anything more! Best photographers in Kansas City, hands down!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Briana & Phil Gray exceeded our expectations for a fantastic photography duo! As a bride, I loved working with them from the moment we met. Briana always put me at ease when I would start to get the jitters, and we have become great friends in the time we have known each other. I had the opportunity to work with Briana and Phil three times after booking our wedding, once for a boudoir shoot (B only-wedding gift for my hubby), our engagement shoot (B&P), and the wedding (B&P). All three experiences were handled with professional excellence, a sense of humor, fun, and with respect for what we wanted!
Briana and Phil helped us so much by preparing a written plan with us, so we knew who needed to be where and when, which helped us tremendously, because we had a big wedding with two "getting ready" sites and separate ceremony and reception sites.
The best part of having Shades of Gray Photography as a part of our wedding, aside from feeling like we were working with close friends, was that we had so many people tell us how fun our photographers were and how they treated them so well. This meant a lot to me, because I have been to more than one wedding where the photographers were pushy and did not respect the guests. Briana and Phil mingled with our guests and took the best party pics at the reception that really showed how much fun everyone was having! Also, we love that they paid attention to the small details and moments that we would have missed, and never known about, had they not captured them.
Thank you to Briana and Phil with Shades of Gray Photography for not only capturing the most amazing moments on the happiest day of our lives, but also, for creating and being part of so many of those moments! We love them and would strongly recommend them to anyone, who wants a professional, fun, reliable, and easy to work with team, who provides exceptional service and results, to take care of all of life's special moments!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
6/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray did an amazing job with our wedding! It was destination ( beach!!) so we were a little nervous relying on a photographer from our location so we opted to bring our own! And we are so glad we did! From our winter engagement shoot at the library (such a creative locale and a perfect place for a library lover and English teacher!) to their flexibility to come all the way to the beach for the wedding, we were impressed! The wedding day went so smoothly and since we didn't have a coordinator Briana's familiarity with the wedding scene proved invaluable. They were professional and well coordinated that pictures weren't the dreaded experience I always heard about! Her creativity made for even more amazing shots than just the beach! We love our photos and are so glad we have such amazing ones to treasure!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Briana and her team of photographers did an amazing job of capturing all the most important moments of our big day. We had a very big and wild wedding party, but they fit right in and were able to not only capture the serious side of things but also the hilarious wild crazy side as well! Shades of Grey worked hard on editing and got our photos back to us in a very timely manor, we can't thank them enough! We've attended and been in several other weddings they photographed. After seeing friends photos and meeting their amazing, outgoing, caring team of photographers there wasn't a doubt in our mind that they were THE BEST!!! Our pictures definitely demonstrated that again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray photography went above and beyond to capture all the little details and joy that took place on our big day. Not to mention they're the sweetest most accommodating individuals I've ever met! THANK YOU!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steven
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
They did a very good job. They were very professional and they really captured our day. Our photos turned out great!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayla
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Briana and Phil were absolutely wonderful! They were worth every penny and my wedding photos are better than I could have imagined! They made us all feel comfortable being in front of the camera all day long!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clare
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Briana & Phil took both our engagement and wedding photos and we couldn't be happier with the way they all turned out. We have gotten so many compliments on our photos and absolutely love them all! Briana is super flexible and willing to try new, exciting things to make your photos great..we had a sunrise engagement photo session which turned out awesome! Both Briana and Phil are all-around great people who make it easy to be relaxed and have fun taking pictures! I would strongly recommend Shades of Gray Photography to anyone I know! Like I told them, "I am so happy I chose to have you and Phil be our photographers - best decision ever!"
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
One thing that I have always said is that when I got married one of the most important things of that day was to have a great photographer. Photos are some of the most memorable things you can possess and they also would capture moments that I might not necessarily get to see (we all know how hectic the day is). I got online to start searching and fell in love with Shades of Gray Photography's photos on their website. I emailed right away to see if our wedding date was open and immediately I got a phone call back. They sent me their package information and after a few days we had made our decision. Briana called me and we talked for about 20 minutes and she was amazing to figure out how we pictured our day and how she could accomodate to us. We chose to do our engagment pictures through them as well and Briana came to us (we live about an hour from Kansas City). She wanted to capture us in our world and comfort zone. She was such a trooper to get a great shot, dealing with wind, climbing grain bins when she was 6 months or 7 months pregnant! When we got our engagement pictures back I was absolutely in love with them! So of course I was excited to have them at our wedding coming up. Our big day had arrived and Briana, her husband, and their assistant were amazing, so accomodating, very patient with our rowdy group, and just a really good time! Our whole wedding party was very pleased with the 3 of them! And of course the photos were amazing!!! We had a lot of special details at our wedding they made sure to capture them all! The photos we received from our wedding day were beyond what I expected! I would definitely recommend them to use for whatever the occasion, engagement, wedding, baby, etc....!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I simply cannot express enough satisfaction, love, and complete happiness in the work , photo's that Briana and Phil took on our wonderful wedding! It may have stormed that day, forced our wedding inside BUT the Gray's got creative and the result was very personal, unique photo's of our day!! Would recommend them and know we will use Shades of Gray as long as we are in KC for all our photo needs!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shauna
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray Photography went above and beyond my expectations, in every aspect! Briana not only took the most touching and meaningful photos I have ever seen, she went out of her way to meet with us throughout the engagement process from planning the engagement shoot to discussing every last detail of the wedding day over complimentary drinks and desserts. :) It took me a couple of hours searching through photographers and as soon as I saw the photos she had taken on her website, I was determined that no amount of money would keep me from booking her for our wedding. Although more expensive than others, the quality, quantity, promptness and thoroughness of capturing everything I requested was well worth every penny. Briana went out of her way to learn about the families and things to look out for and be aware of when shooting. She was even calling people out by their first names when gathering different people for different pictures. She provided a very personable and professional experience and it was the best vendor choice by far for our wedding. I can't even express how much I am in love with all of our photos. I will cherish them forever and use Shades of Gray for every photo op throughout my life.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1338834186455-112
Katie
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Briana and her team were absolutely amazing! Words cannot even describe how grateful we are for the amazing work that was done. Not only did they put 110% into our wedding day, they also made it super fun and memorable! It was supposed to be 60 degrees and sunny, but instead it was a huge blizzard and super cold. She was patient and quick with the wedding party and families to get beautiful pictures! She also turned a very crappy weather day into something beautiful that we will remember every snow fall! I would highly recommend Shades of Gray to absolutely every single bride! Thank you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Briana, Phil, and Logan photographed my wedding and they did a WONDERFUL job. There are not enough words to describe how amazing our experience was with Shades of Gray Photography. The also shot our engagement pictures. Both experiences with them were incredible. They made everything so personal, were fun and easy to work with, and we will most definitely be using them again when we start building a family. I would definitely recommend Shades of Gray to everyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Briana and her assistants were wonderful. I could not afford to have a wedding planner, which I was very worried about. Briana created a timeline of events focused on the photos to be taken. This timeline was a wonderful way to help in the planning and timing of the day. Briana was able to get my big wedding party's attention and keep it - all without being bossy. Finally, the very next day we received senak peak photos, and all of the photos less than a month after the big day. She was so prompt and did AMAZING work. We could not have chosen a better photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanna
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I was blown away at the quality of my pictures. They were a little more expensive than other photographers I could have chosen, but they were worth every penny. I've received so many compliments on my wedding photos! One of my co-workers said she was "picture jealous" because she wished her wedding photos were as good as ours. :)

Briana was a joy to work with and even traveled to O'Fallon, Missouri, to take our photos for us - about 3 hours away from Kansas City - ALL while about 6-7 months pregnant! She's an amazing and talented person, and I would recommend any and all to hire her for photos. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I found Shades of Gray Photography through a wedding website. I was a bit timid because I didn’t have a personal reference, but I loved the photos online and when I first contacted Briana Gray she was so friendly and professional that I decided to book her.

Briana was everything I could have asked for in a wedding photographer. I was the first of my friends/family to get married, so I relied on her for all of my questions and uncertainties about the big day. On the wedding day she was the most calm and collected person in the room, easing my nerves and keeping us on track. The photos turned out to be amazing, my family could not be happier. I plan on using Shades of Gray again for other occasions, and have recommended this vendor above any other that I used on my wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
We made the best decision in having Briana be our wedding photographer. Every part of the experience was met with professionalism and all out fun and laughter. My husband and I enjoyed all the time we spent taking our photos, from the engagement session to the entire wedding day. We were so excited to see the photos as they most definitely captured all aspects of our day and will be memories to last for always! We have recommended Briana to our friends and would do so to anyone, with the highest compliments. Briana is such a wonderful person who has a talent and a passion for her work that is truly evident. You will be forever glad if you choose Briana to be part of your wedding!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1308980903043-dsc0069
Audrey
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
It such a pleasure working with Briana. She is absolutely professional. Planning a wedding from out of town, I was nervous about choosing vendors, but she was flexible and happy to answer all our questions...no matter how crazy. Every detail of the event was planned and a time frame laid out ahead of time of so we could relax and enjoy the day. She remembered every detail we discussed and was amazing to my family and friends. It is no easy feat to command the attention of a group, but she managed it with ease. Her work is classic, yet cutting edge. She is extremely creative and full of ideas no matter what look you are going for. She has cultivated relationships with some of the best local vendors. Her passion for photography, family, and friends is clearly evident in her work. She listened to all of our feedback and worries and delivered a great service. We had tons of fun during our engagement shoot and wedding day despite wind and threatening weather. She kept me at ease during all of my bridal craziness. Her partner for the day, Logan, and her husband Phil were equally wonderful...even running to a local store to grab us a needed item. Finally, our photos turned out amazing! We constantly receive compliments from friends, family and strangers who have seen our photographs. I strongly recommend working with Briana and Shades of Gray Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
5/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so glad we went with Briana as our photographer. I have always hated having my picture taken. I’m extremely unphotogenic and always end up with some strange look on my face or my eyes closed. I was so nervous about being followed around by a camera, but when we first met with Briana she made me feel so comfortable I knew she was the right choice. I was absolutely amazed at how well our engagement pictures turned out. I loved them all and couldn’t believe how beautiful she made me look; I have never seen pictures of me that looked like that. The wedding pictures were even better. The day of the wedding a tornado warning was issued just minutes before our ceremony, we had to start the ceremony early and make some adjustments to the picture taking schedule. Briana was so flexible and adaptable. The pictures ended up beautiful, rain and all. We have told everyone we know what a great experience we had with her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
frynit
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
There isn't enough praise I can give to Briana, Nick, Anna, and Shades of Gray. My wife and I had our hands full in planning this wedding...both of us coming from huge families, and having the wedding in a neutral geographic location made for some exceptionally stressful wedding planning. When we met with Briana and Nick at the initial meeting to see if we wanted to enlist their services, we told them our basic sequence of events for the wedding: the locations of the ceremony and reception, and the number of guests we were expecting, almost half-expecting to scare them off. They didn't even bat an eye. On the contrary, they were excited to shoot our wedding, as the level of shenanigans and jackassery would be something worthy of catching on camera. They gave us ample opportunity to look over their work and were more than willing to hear what we wanted as far as certain styles or "feels". Most photographers that we met with in the KC area shot things their way and that was it. Briana and her crew were more than happy to hear how we wanted things done for our day.

Briana, who owns the company, was more than accomodating with her pricing model, especially since she was unable to shoot it herself (she had her associate Nick Schale and Anna Roberts (Third Avenue Photography) shoot the big day. For instance, we bought the package that allowed for 10 hours of shooting the day of the wedding, as well as the engagement photo shoot and 2 table books of photos for each set of parents. But, we were able to save some money by not doing the engagement shoot (We had a friend a mine from work who is trying to expand her portfolio shoot the engagement photos for us).

The day of the wedding couldn't have gone better with regards to the photography. Nick and Annawere sure to give us strict timelines for family to arrive at the church so that we didnt have any stragglers holding up the show, and the photographers themselves were prompt and to-the-minute with everything. The photos at the front of the church are by far the most stressful part of the whole day (aside from the whole getting married part). Families are all talking loud, not paying attention, and wandering all over the place, so when the time comes for a certain shot (i.e. Maternal Grandparents and Groom), they are nowhere to be found. I gave Nick pseudo-martial law over our families. "Holler, yell, curse, etc., do what you need to do to wrangle these people in so we can stay on track with regards to time," I said. He was perfect. At certain points we were even ahead of schedule, which I understand is a rare thing when it comes to weddings. A group of photographers that can keep relative control over a guest list of 350-400 loud Irish/Italian Catholics, and have the stones to tell them to be quiet, stand up straight, and smile, deserves all the credit in the world.

After the ceremony was a breeze...Nick and Anna got some great shots inside the church, as well as outside in the gardens/stone walkways. We were also able to hit all of the spots that my wife and I wanted to go prior to having to head to the reception. Lea (wife) and I made it clear that we didn't want pictures of us looking off into the sunset, or any of that hokey crap. We wanted pictures that captured us as "us"...loud, comical, snarky, etc. They were able to do just that.
The one shot that I did want was me with all of the guys in the wedding-7 groomsmen, 4 ushers, the musician and myself, all sitting around a table in my favorite cigar bar, Fidels in Westport. Rolls of cash and bottles of bourbon on the table, cigars in hand, ties hanging low. It was to be my Goodfellas/Sopranos/Casino/Godfather-esque picture. They captured it flawlessly. I am actually having the shot blown up to a small poster size and hung next to my Rat Pack poster in the basement/mancave.

At the reception, Nick and Anna did exactly what we wanted. They walked around, didn't make a big scene, and captured actual moments...not staged smiles and girls crouching down with their faces smooshed together like every pic shot with a Kodak on Facebook is. They got the real moments on film of our parents, friends, family, etc. Nick and Anna left around 8:30pm, and since the reception went from 5 until midnight and we had a open bar, it was a good time for them to leave as stuff was starting to get "weird". They made sure to find each of us on their way out, give us their congratulations, and make sure there weren't any last minute shots we wanted.

Honestly, I cant say enough good things about this group. The level of expertise, professionalism, and willingness to adjust/accomodate was perfect for what we needed. I plan to hire them without second thought when Lea and I decide to have kids and need to get all those pics done. They are, without a doubt, the best photographers we interviewed in KC and had the best protfolio of anyone else we viewed. I wont say they are the cheapest, because they arent. But this isnt the kind of thing you want to skimp on.

Thank you so much again to Briana, Nick and Anna. You guys helped make the day great and were able to capture it all on film. You are wonderful!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved Briana & Shades of Gray Photography! Briana is very professional, creative, organized and personable. Always eager to answer questions and provide you with the best service possible. We received SO many compliments on our photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenwalsh421
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Briana Gray (Shades of Gray) is amazing! Briana shot both our engagement and wedding photos and both turned out beautifully! My husband and I have received so many compliments on our photos we have lost count. Briana has such a great eye and captures the most unique angles and shots. We loved our engagement photos so much that we used them as our Save the Date cards and also as the table numbers for our wedding. Briana is so personable and friendly and really made our wedding day run smoothly. We never felt rushed or forced to post which was fantastic as we LOVE the candid shots the most! Our wedding party loved the laid back approach Briana took and have all been begging us to share the pics with them! Briana also is quick to edit the hundreds of photos and we had all of our wedding photos back within 3 weeks of the wedding which was wonderful!
I definitely recommend Shades of Gray to all brides! She is professional, talented and offers affordable packages! Check her out! Thanks for making our day so special, Briana!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shana
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
On the day of my wedding, they were calling for severe thunderstorms all day long. Even though it did not rain on us, it was still VERY windy. Briana did such a great job of capturing everything in between the gusts of wind or using it to our advantage. Working with her was great and our pictures turned out amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better experience during such an important time in my life!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
There is absolutely nothing negative to say about Briana and her team at Shades of Gray. Briana did our engagement pictures and our wedding and she was flawless at both. She goes above and beyond to make your pictures special. I was concerned about having a winter wedding because of the weather but Briana calmed my fears. She took us outside for some amazing winter shots. My husband and I were happy to do the outdoor pictures but I didn't want to force my wedding party to suffer. Briana had us all outside and done within 30 minutes. My entire bridal party was in awe at how fast and organized the photography was. I received nothing but compliments.

I just can't say enough good things about Shades of Gray Photography. Absolutely amazing!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
iamjem
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Excellent photography, my sister used her for her wedding, and after I saw the quality of photos (especially for the price) I told my then fiance that this was the photographer for us. I work for a creative agency for a living, and its easy for me to spot the wanna-be photographers who just happen to have some fancy equipment, and the gifted ones. Shades of Gray is definitely the latter.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mustangsals
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with Briana from beginning to end: our engagement pics and reception pics (both local) and we made the decision to take her to Mexico for the most important pictures: the wedding. Other than my husband, Briana was the best decision I made for my wedding!!! She truly captured the emotions of the day. I thought I would remember everything well enough on my own but when we received our pictures I started crying because the love of the day was so obvious in our pictures. She gave us a great variety to choose from; some were romantic, some were happy, there were artistic photos and there were the typical posed wedding pictures but all of them are frame worthy. As a matter of fact, trying to pick which pictures to frame has been a tough decision.

My husband is a typical guy, aka he doesn’t like having his picture taken and doesn’t know how to smile for photos. I automatically smile for photos so my smile usually looks forced, especially by the time my husband smiles because my face has been holding the smile so long. Needless to say, I was worried about spending money on pictures I was sure wouldn’t turn out well because we’re photogenicly challenged. Briana listened to all of these concerns and was very patient, not to mention nice and fun to work with. She had a way of making us relax and feel comfortable which made the end result amazing! Our photos look very natural and relaxed; Briana truly captured who we are as a couple.

Destination weddings are becoming really popular, so as a bride who had a destination wedding I feel it’s my obligation to pass along tips that will make others’ wedding vacation even better. The resorts make a lot of money off of destination weddings, as such they know their business well, our wedding was more amazing then we’d imagined. If you’re getting married at a resort, most resorts include a photo package. Please review the details of what’s included in the package carefully, make sure you get what you want. After spending so much time preparing for the wedding, not to mention the money for the trip and having our relatives do the same, the small set amount of included pictures just weren’t enough. Don’t worry, the resort does offer “upgrades”, the catch is that this comes at ridiculous prices. I made a list of the options I would want to include, the total was outrageous! The price comparison alone made the decision to bring Briana down very easy. Briana was with us for the entire day, not just the hour of the ceremony. We got a much more personable experience than a resort photographer could’ve offered and the results were obvious.

Briana was effortless to communicate with and was extraordinarily reachable. Another important point that sold us: Briana’s services include a CD of high resolution digital negatives with reproduction rights. Also, she works with an online professional printing company that prints pictures at close to cost, which is much cheaper than a professional photographer with lab costs. Our printed pictures are a much better quality than drug store printing capabilities for very comparable costs. It is obvious photography is Briana’s passion, this is not just a job for her; Shades of Gray is self owned, so her business success motivates her to do the best job possible every time and she definitely delivers!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray is by far the best wedding photographer in the Kansas City area. She made all the pictures run so smoothly and the wedding party seemed to be having a lot of fun getting their pictures taken. I also loved how creative the photographer was. The photographer and her assistant were very professional and made the day stress free and fun! All of the pictures from the wedding turned out amazing and I would highly recommend Shades of Gray!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelby
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Briana and Logan were amazing! We had fun taking our pictures! Hey had great ideas and used my suggestions. They made it easy to enjoy the day because I wasn't worried a out the shots they were getting, I knew they were doing a great job paying attention to detail. We can't wait to see the pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BonnieRiner
Wedding:
7/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Briana was so much fun to work with! I was so impressed with how comfortable she made my husband and me feel during both our engagement session and our wedding day. She had such creative ideas and also took into consideration the types of photographs and backgrounds that we liked and fit out personality. She took the time to get to know my husband and me and was great about responding quickly to e-mails and phone calls regarding the engagement session and wedding day plans. I was impressed with how quickly she edited our photos and got them to us after the wedding. My husband (who is sometimes not easy to impress or that into pictures) LOVED the pictures and has been showing them off to everyone! We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend Shades of Gray Photography!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BrookeT
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
For anyone looking for a wedding photographer: My wedding was 07/23/2011 and we chose Briana/Shades of Gray to help us make lasting memories of our special day! We chose Shades of Gray because 1)we had friends who had raved about her before 2)she worked with our budget, and compared to others we found while researching the area's photographers - she was ableto give us the biggest bang for our buck! 3)after meeting her, she was maybe one of the most genuine and sweet people we had ever met! She really cared about OUR vision for the wedding... where some photographers wanted to make it about THEIR vision! She captured every little detail... and details were so important to us because we put lots of effort into making the details meaningful - in order to accurately portray our relationship, our faith, and our families! Briana made us feel comfortable... and believe me, we are super shy - especially in front of a camera! As the day went on... we realized that Briana was a huge part of making our day run smoothly too! When she had a free second... she was helping with the dress, putting things in their place that had somehow been forgotten by everyone else etc.! We can't say enough about Briana! You will likely pick Shades of Gray because of Briana's amazing talents... but you will get much more than just her awesome skills... you will have a stellar team of photographers who will end up being a part of the beautiful memories of the best day of your life! We will def. use Shades of Gray for future family photo shoots/maternity shoots etc!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chance
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
I was just married this past summer and my wife and I used Briana Gray from Shades of Gray for our wedding photography. She was nothing short of amazing! As a groom, I was dreading the pictures because I had heard horror stories from other grooms about the hours of smiling. It was really great to work with Briana because she actually made it comfortable and fun... and the hours of pictures that I was dreading were actually one of the best parts of the wedding day! Her work is awesome and we will be using her in the future for family pictures too.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TriciaK
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Briana is AMAZING!!!!!!!! I have the utmost respect for her work and her professionalism. We LOVE our pictures, she gave us the rights to them and we can use them the way we want and also have the option to buy them through a professional option as well. She is so friendly and creative!
Her photographs are very beautiful and show a very artistic view. I HIGHLY recommend her for any occasion. We get comments all of the time on how amazing our pictures are. If you have any questions about Shades of Gray, please contact me. triciarkauffman@gmail.com
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
madie03
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Briana has a unique and creative ability to make pictures actually tell a story. She will catch the best candid moments, and create a fun atmospehere for pictures. She is hard working and dedicated to her work, and you can tell she is passionate about it. She has a unique way of creating the best backgrounds for pictures, and will listen to your ideas, but then take them to the next level with her own great ideas. Her creative touch on pictures make them so unique, fun, different, and totally flattering. My wedding was on a hot day, and we were sweating through most of them, but you can't even tell in the pictures! We had the best time, and she truly captured the best memories of my life! She was fun, and easy to work with, and dedicated to her work. She creates a fun atmosphere for pictures, and can make ANYONE smile :) Even with our big wedding party on a hot day in July!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
estrauss79
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We hired Briana to take wedding party pictures before our wedding. She was extremely professional and so much fun to work with. She contacted me a couple of times before my wedding to make sure everything was in place. The day of the wedding she was early and ready for us. She took the most beautiful pictures. It was extremely hot that day, but you would never know looking at the photos. She has a great eye for artistic shots as well as formal photos. We got our photos back so quickly as well! I would highly recommend Shades of Gray to anyone!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ahopkins0201
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I have used Shades of Gray Potography for many many photo shoots! Family, Engagement and Wedding! The quality and uniqueness of every picture is outstanding! Every time I have used them, my pictures have always exceede my expectations!! Shades of Gray really knows how to capture the moment in every situation! Let Shades of Gray be a part of your special day! You won't be dissappointed!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angelnurse2002
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray was a great choice for our wedding pictures. Starting with the engagement shoots, Briana, did an outstanding job. The wedding pictures and reception pictures were amazing. All the pictures that I wanted got taken without me having to worry about a list. The usual pictures were taken along with pictures that were very creative and unusual. The photos of my special day were priceless. The staff were very professional and flexible. I would definitely recommend and would use Shades of Gray for my other photographic needs!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ckollasch
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Best decision you will make

Briana was fabulous!! I first saw Briana’s work as she did a friends engagement photos and I loved them. When I was ready to book a photographer, I knew I wanted Briana but I did do my research to compare others photographers and prices, it was an obvious choice for me. I e-mailed Briana at 7pm one night and she called me soon after to follow up. She was great at communication and made sure she had a list of the different groups I wanted photographed. I got married March 26th and it was so cold! We had planned on some outdoor pictures but because of the weather Briana had to think on her feet and come up with creative pictures indoors. She did a great job with details, she brought along an extra person just to be an extra set of eyes and help with straightening out my dress, hair, ties, and pant legs… all the details that help make a picture perfect! Briana has options with her packages that include 1-3 photographers. I decided to have 2 photographers and I was so glad that I did, we had two points of view. We would definitely use Briana and Shades of Gray for our future pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colie86
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
BOOK WITH SHADES OF GRAY! If you're looking for an affordable, professional, personable photographer to caputre your big day and lasting memories, then book with Shades of Gray. The owner, Briana and her assisting photographers are excellent. They helped make our wedding day relaxing, fun, and memorable. Briana is extremely organized, creative, and commits to doing everything she can to deliver you a top-notch service. The photo books you receive are remarkable. You should definitely consider booking with Shades of Gray! I couldn't have asked for a better photographer for our wedding day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lzeller
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Before I was even engaged I stumbled upon Shades of Gray on Facebook. The pictures that were used as the album covers looked so amazing that I was instantly intrigued. I think I may have spent hours that evening looking through all of the albums.
Just a month or two later my now husband asked me to spend the rest of my life him. I was so excited, and I knew that all the great venues, photographers, videographers etc. were always the first ones booked. So I made Shades of Gray one my first phone calls. I knew that Briana was the best and that I wanted her for my wedding!
Briana was so amazing! Our engagement shoot had to of been the hottest day of the year, and Briana made it so much fun that we did not even notice the heat. The pictures turned out like pieces of artwork!
On the wedding day Briana and her back up photographer Caleb was with us from around 10am to about 11pm. She had amazing organization, fun personality and great energy!! Briana captured creative pictures that I would have never been able to dream of.
Her personal skills with the wedding party, family, and especially the little ones, such as the flower girls, was perfect!
My honest and true opinion, Briana with Shades of Gray is amazing and the perfect asset to the perfect day!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I utilized Briana's services for our engagement photos and for our wedding and reception. I went to college with Briana and saw her work blossom through her Facebook photo albums throughout the years. When my husband popped the question, it was no question as to who we'd be asking to capture our special day. We loved Shades of Gray so much, we took Briana to Jamaica with us for our destination wedding! On the big day, Briana showed up early and took pictures of hair and make-up appointments. She disappeared for a while with rings, shoes, and the dress to take even more photos. We took bride and groom photos before the ceremony, and she worked even more after the ceremony to get all of the family and friends shots that we wanted. Her attention to detail and creativity produced some of the best wedding memories I could have ever imagined. Her prices are reasonable and her work is phenomenal! Her photos adorn the mantels, walls, and shelves of our home. We proudly display her work and we get compliments anytime we have guests over. We have referred several clients to Briana and we look forward to using her again to capture more of life's wonderful moments!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennahumke
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray are an amazingly talented group of photographers. The owner Briana was a joy to work with. She was extremely professional but always had a smile on her face! I was a little nervous because she already was shooting a wedding on the day I was getting married so I worked with Logan. However he was just as wonderful! It can be an overwhelming task to try to take family pictures but he handled it so well! Not only was I pleased with everything during the wedding, I was also so pleased with how quickly Briana finished everything. She even took the time to work with my mom on her coffee table book. They truly made everything so special and I would recommend them to anyone!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenmiller86
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
When I was looking for a photographer, I wanted someone who not only took wonderful pictures, but also someone who was experienced and cared about making my wedding day special. I wanted someone who could tell my wedding party, large family, and myself what to do in order to be efficient while still looking for beautiful photography opportunities. Briana did all of the above and more. She was able to capture moments that I now can relive through a photograph. She was able to tell people where to be and what to do without being rude or bossy in the slightest. She also made my wedding party feel relaxed and comfortable during pictures, so that we were able to have fun, and that was reflected in my pictures. When I revealed the pictures to my friends, family, and now husband they had nothing but wonderful things to say, and I still (a year later) receive positive feedback from others. If you are a bride who wants a professional, caring, fun, and very talented photographer, you want Briana Gray.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1310255181679-img1547
CaitlinCarney
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
As soon as I saw sample photographs by Shades of Gray at the beginning of their business, I knew I had to have them photograph our wedding. Photos are the one thing that you have (besides your spouse!) after the wedding day is over, and I wanted to make sure my husband and I had fabulous pictures to look back on through the years. Logan, one of the photographers, was amazing from the moment he showed up bright and early through the end of the reception when he asked my father if he could do anything to help clean up. Shades of Gray is not only made up of talented photographers, but of people who genuinely care about you and making your wedding day memories beautiful. Everyone who has seen our pictures loves the brilliance and creativity, and one of the things that I was most impressed with was that he was a completely unobtrusive photographer- when I first saw the proofs, I was amazed at some of the shots he had gotten, because I had no recollection of him being anywhere close to us, especially during the ceremony! Love how incognito he was. :) You won't find a better photographer for your big day, whether you are a traditional bride, someone looking for edgy shots, or are interested in trashing your dress- Shades of Gray needs to be a part of your big day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rachelcherise
Wedding:
2/27/2010
5.0/5.0
I have used Shades of Gray Photography for my engagement, wedding, and family photos. I absolutely love the pictures Briana has taken for us. She is so friendly, and makes you feel so comfortable in front of the camera! I highly recommend Shades of Gray Photography, her pictures are one of a kind, and they are ones you'll cherish forever.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kreajg
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Briana did an amazing job photographing my wedding! Not only did she make it fun but she was also very professional. She has a great eye for the artsy shots as well as the timeless group photos. Very great price for such awesome photos!! I recommend her to anyone!!...
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BiancaPitts
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Shades of Gray was recommended to me by a mutual friend when my wedding photographer had to back out 8 days before my wedding! Yes, 8 DAYS BEFORE!!! Luckily for us, Briana had that day available and met with us immediately to get all the last minute details handled.

On the day of, Briana did an amazing job!! She was flexible and rolled with the flow. Her creativity has astounding! While we were getting ready she took our wedding rings and ran off!! We found out later she had taken shots of our wedding rings all around the property (The Elms). One of my fav shots is on with them stacked on top of a drink sword in a cocktail with a strawberry underneath them! Another is with them on Piano Keys. And the one that's most dear to my heart is of them on my skate laces (as a former roller derby girl - I couldn't pass up the chance to lace up and wear my knee highs under my dress for a few shots - which Briana also did a GREAT job capturing)!! ;)

Even though it was her first day of morning sickness, Briana was a trooper. Nothing keeps that girl down!! Even nautious and pregnant, she climbed on top of rock walls to get arial type shots of my fiance and I exchanging our gifts prior to the ceremony.

She also did an excellent job of documenting all of the details that are oh so important to the essence of the wedding day. I LOVE looking back through those photos and reliving those moments.

I would highly recommend Briana & Shades of Gray not only for your wedding, but also for your family photos. We have used her several times since and have been happy with all of the sessions!

Lastly - it was not my photo shoot - but if you do check her website out - look at the "Trash the Dress" photos - there's a great example of her creativity, and excellence in photography!!!

Bianca Pitts
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jahmu
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
We were Briana's first wedding and she did an amazing job! We had a very large wedding party, and she had no trouble keeping track of everyone. We have referred her to everyone we know, and plan to use her for every big event in our lives! We couldn't have asked for a better photographer on our special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dahmu
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
We had a huge wedding party. Briana did an amazing job at handling a big crowd and being very peaceful! We received our pictures back within a week and they looked amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/30/2012
4.8/5.0
Briana and Shades of Gray were awesome to work with! She made sure we really got to know us and what we liked before our wedding day. On the wedding day, she was flexible with her timing, made sure we got all of the shots we wanted, and brought 2 people (instead of the 1 agreed on) to help her during the day. The pictures turned out amazing and we got them back very quickly.

Briana was professional and very very nice! Her packages were a great value and I will definitely be using her again.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
3700 NE 49 st, Kansas City, MO 64119 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shades of Gray Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1348691092571-bridegroom90