130x130_sq_1321835842780-shakedown
(8)

Shakedown

Burlington , VT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Burlington , VT US 05401 (map)

PHONE

802-448-2008

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Shakedown: Vermont’s hottest dance band

Featuring 3 females - on lead vocals, lead guitar and saxophone-
this six piece band is experienced, versatile and... Read more
Shakedown: Vermont’s hottest dance band

Featuring 3 females - on lead vocals, lead guitar and saxophone-
this six piece band is experienced, versatile and fun-loving.

Specializing in 80's and today's hits, Shakedown also covers a diverse selection of music
from jazz standards and oldies to disco, and everything in between. Our specialty is getting you and your wedding guests on the dance floor!

We work with you to create the perfect night of entertainment
to celebrate your wedding with family and friends.

Visit our website to listen to a demo, watch video, view a song list & access booking information. Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1321837493202-shakedown2
130x130_sq_1264176061924-2363
130x130_sq_1265214333919-oldlantern
130x130_sq_1264175922603-2699
130x130_sq_1265329830997-2593

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
No
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, we provide a demo and videos on our website, which we can also mail to you on c.d.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
If there is a special song you would like us to play that is not on our list, and is something we believe is within our capabilities to learn, we will be happy to do so. If we are unable to learn or play your song, we will be happy to play a recording of it.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Shakedown will arrive 2 hours prior to when we begin playing.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Shakedown will provide as much, or as little emceeing as you desire. If you would like us to announce your entrances, special guests, toasts, special dances, etc. we just ask you to provide us with a list with spellings and pronunciations ahead of time.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Shakedown brings an ipod with a good range of upbeat music to play during breaks. We generally play whatever is appropriate for what is going on at the time (jazzy dinner music vs. something a little more energetic for a break between dance sets). Some couples choose to give us a cd or ipod with their own music, which we need at least one week prior to the wedding.

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing band! They kept our guests dancing all night long. Even let a few friends take the mike and join in (at our request). We still talk about them as one of our favorite parts of the wedding.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jericho4life
Wedding:
10/3/2010
4.6/5.0
Great band I love them.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stowe Wedding
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Shakedown performed at our wedding earlier this summer, and we were thrilled with the quality of their services.

Leading up to the wedding, they were great. The band was very responsive to e-mails and was very open to accomodating our requests. Additionally, we requested for the band to learn a new song for us, and they agreed (and the song sounded great when they played it).

At the wedding, the band was very professional. They had professional attire, followed our desired schedule of events perfectly, and did not do any hacky DJ announcing. Their sound system was also very good.

Their music selection and quality was great. Shakedown had a nice range of classics and modern songs, and they did a very good job mixing it up and feeling out the crowd during the night. The band effectively got the crowd dancing and also got people involved by letting one guest play the tambourine and letting the bride and groom sing along to Living on a Prayer (the song we requested).

We highly recommed Shakedown if you are having a wedding in Burlington, Stowe or any surrounding area!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vbj
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
I am so thrilled that you have contacted me for my opinion! I did not see Shakedown live either before I booked them, and was nervous for that reason. I was referred to them by a trusted friend who had them at her wedding. I could not possibly be happier with the job that they did for our wedding. The got everyone dancing, even the guys that swore that they would never do so :) They were fun, funky, energetic and intelligent with their song choices. They were professional, reliable and they are extremely talented. We chose At Last as our song, and I have to say, I actually like their version better than the original! Our guests were raving the next day about the band and it was perhaps the most memorable part of our wedding. Our day was the best day of my life and they were completely essential to that feeling. I say go for it!!!! They are worth every penny and more.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sabvt
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Thanks to you and the rest of your band for putting on the best party of our lives!!! Everyone has such an amazing time and you certainly were the biggest highlight. I wish that we had someone record at least part of it. Do you have a CD with the At Last song, Purple Rain and some of your others on it? If you did, I would love to purchase it. Everyone had a wonderful time. It meant a lot to see everyone up and dancing!!! I plan on recommending you to everyone Your biggest fan!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acenyc
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for more from a band. I was shocked to read the previous reviewers comments. I provided the band with a very detailed list of instructions and they followed them to the letter. We had an Ipod for them as well to play prior to the start of their set and they had that up and playing without a hitch- we also had no problem with the microphone. We are from NYC so the crowd can be tough- and everyone loved Shakedown- the mixture of male/female vocalists/musicians made for a great sound and everyone had a great time. Brian- the director was extremely responsive and literally accommodated all of our requests- everything went off without a hitch- we could not have asked for more.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LETDOWN
Wedding:
8/1/2009
1.2/5.0
This band was a pure dissapointment on many levels. The microphone connection was poor and it made speeches at the wedding difficult to understand at times since it was cutting out. They did not have a good selection on music to play during breaks. They were unable to follow requests from the bride even when given an ipod with clear directions. At the end of the night they played a kelly clarkson song and then announced that was the last song. Don't waste your time or money on these guys.
Services Used: Band
Shakedown responded with the following comments:

We're sorry to hear that this individual's perception of our band was a disappointment. One of the speech-givers was standing too far away from the stage, and the signal was fading in and out. This is the first time that's happened, and we will be upgrading our system to help with this in the future.

If there are special requests for break music, we invite our clients to give us the list or instructions ahead of time so we can get the music on our own equipment, and be better prepared. Most of the requests and directions were on the spot and of an unreasonable specificity (i.e. play X song for 30 seconds, announce A, play Y song and immediately announce B, play Z song for 3 minutes, etc.). The performance ended at the time indicated on the contract, and we received good feedback from other guests who attended.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SaR711
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew that we wanted a live band for our wedding and felt it was important to make sure that the band we ended up with could get our crowd dancing on the dance floor. We could not have asked for anything more. The sound was great, and the band looked awesome. We both loved how the band interacted with the audience. Seeing our friend get on stage to sing with the band, and our other friend grabbing the cow bell and joining in was one of the many highlights of the night. The dance floor was full the entire night. Our first dance was to, At Last, and Susannah's voice was amazing! We also appreciated the bands flexibility during the night. We definitely recommend Shakedown ( and already have) to our friends. The band exceeded our expectations.
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Burlington , VT 05401 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shakedown
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1321835842780-shakedown