130x130_sq_1254282379887-wwabout

Shang Chen Photography

Brookline , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Brookline, MA US 02445 (map)

PHONE

617-383-9108

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Shang Chen is a wedding photographer serving Boston, Massachusetts and Chicago, Illinois. She loves color, fun, and people who are not afraid to be themselves. Learn more by checking out... Read more
Shang Chen is a wedding photographer serving Boston, Massachusetts and Chicago, Illinois. She loves color, fun, and people who are not afraid to be themselves. Learn more by checking out her blog at http://shangchenphoto.com/blog/ Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1310439567788-bostonweddingphotographer11032707
130x130_sq_1310439571085-bostonweddingphotographer11032718
130x130_sq_1310439576163-bostonpublicgardenwedding07
130x130_sq_1310439578132-bostonpublicgardenwedding01
130x130_sq_1310439581398-gibbethillbostonweddingphotographer16
130x130_sq_1310439583382-gibbethillbostonweddingphotographer32
130x130_sq_1310439585538-waysideinnweddingphotographyjuliapeter16
130x130_sq_1310439587663-1106181372
130x130_sq_1310439590304-blackrockcountryclubweddingphotographytm19
130x130_sq_1310439592570-blackrockcountryclubweddingphotographytm02
130x130_sq_1310439660726-110625tm0952w
130x130_sq_1310439663726-110625tm4962w
130x130_sq_1310439668085-chicagodowntownskylineengagementphoto02
130x130_sq_1310439670601-chicagodowntownskylineengagementphoto05
130x130_sq_1310439674773-annarborengagementphotoindian110508
130x130_sq_1310439678366-bostonmedicalcenterengagement110508
130x130_sq_1310439680179-newyorkgramercyseaportengagementphotos06

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I shoot in natural light, but am very adept at adapting to multiple kinds of indoor light as well, and use a variety of off-camera techniques
Is your media preference film or digital?
I shoot all digital, Nikon equipment
How many photographers do you work with?
I work alone and usually bring a non-shooting assistant. I also offer a second shooter option
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
If you hire me, I'm there!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
If I book a wedding, that day is off the books. I sometimes do double-wedding weekends.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I will work as hard as I can using my network, but it's not guaranteed.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I bring two Nikon cameras and multiple lenses and backups
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Please contact me for pricing
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
I am available for overtime at an hourly rate
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
If my time spans lunch or dinner I require vendor meals.
Do you charge for travel?
Depends on the package
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Photos are available within 4 - 5 weeks after the wedding, depending on the season
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Initial proofs are offered in an online gallery
How long can the client keep the proofs?
N/A
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
I retain the photos' copyrights, clients get personal use license
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
I reserve the right to publish the photos
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Contact me for details
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
I offer KISS albums
When will the client get the final album?
Within 2 months of ordering

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allegra
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Hiring Shang was easily the best decision we made for our wedding (7/20/13). I knew her previously because we were classmates at Chicago Booth, and I had always followed her photography (once you get a glimpse it’s hard not to). When she told me she would be shooting a few weddings in Northern California during Summer 2013, it was an easy decision. Shang shot our engagement photos (in October 2012), and our wedding photos (7/20/13), and we are over the moon with her work for both.

Our photos speak for themselves—she was able to capture every little moment I wanted to remember during our wedding day. I feel so incredibly lucky that I adore every single one of our photos, and that the experience was so easy-going and effortless.

The real beauty of working with Shang is in her process:

1) Shang’s emails and contracts were probably the clearest of any vendor we used. She is also very responsive over email, and even had two Skype consultations with us, and one phone call. She’s also very active over Pinterest—great way to share inspiration and likes/don’t likes of wedding photos with her.

2) Shang’s prices are very fair for her level of work, and she ensures absolute top quality in her albums and prints. She’s also very transparent about what’s included, and what’s not—no hidden costs whatsoever.

3) Shang’s attention to detail is extraordinary—before our first phone call with Shang, she was researching the time of sunset on the day of our wedding, and the positioning of the ceremony. On the day of your wedding, Shang has already done many hours of work making sure that the photography process went smoothly, and that we were aware of the timeline.

4) Her personality is infectious—she is so kind and funny, and spends a lot of time getting to know her clients. My family continues to comment about how great she was to work with. Her photos really show the vibrancy of her personality.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend working with Shang.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexis
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Of course Shang is an amazing photographer, but beyond that she has an amazing amount of knowledge and intelligence when it comes to helping the bride with day-of planning.

Shang was amazing at figuring out where, when, and how to photograph everyone connected to the wedding. Not only were our wedding and engagement photos beautiful, but she had planned so well that photographing our large groups of family and friends went without a hitch on the day of the wedding.

We had an unconventional wedding venue, and Shang was great at scouting out locations that would be great for both the couple shots and the group photos.

Our engagement session was a lot of fun too. She spent about 4 or 5 hours with us, getting pictures of us in various locations around the Marin headlands. The pictures turned out beautiful.

I would recommend Shang for any event. She's a real professional.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The first time I saw Shang's pictures on weddingwire, I knew I had to have her as my photographer! Even though she was taking a hiatus from photography, to my surprise, she agreed to photograph our wedding. My husband and I were more than thrilled! Even though her price was a bit more than what we had originally budgeted, we loved her and her work (both equally amazing) that we decided to splurge. She is worth every penny and much more, and quite frankly is undercharging for her services. Our frugal parents all agreed that she is worth it. She is extremely professional, very responsive (responds to emails in a few minutes), and extremely organized. She organized an alternate location to take pictures (due to limitations at our venue), even mapped out the location so she could direct our bus driver to the place. She's also very upbeat, creative, and very talented - we had an engagement shoot with her as well, and you can see the wheels turning in her mind as she thinks about how and where to take each shot. Her work is colorful, with creative perspectives, and she definitely has "the eye." She was one vendor that had her stuff together, and I did not have to worry on the wedding day or all days leading up to the big day that her work wouldn't be less than perfect!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Shang is an amazing photographer. She gives so much encouragement when taking your picture that she makes you feel like a supermodel in all your poses. When she took myself and my bride for our engagement pictures, she would just hold up her hand to find the perfect light for every picture.

We both love her photo-journalistic style and the fact that she captures the energy and emotion in every picture. Her ideas for semi-posed pictures (i.e. giving instructions like walking towards her, make your bride laugh) still feel like genuine, unique pictures.

Just like every other reviewer said, just look at her blog and you can see the work she does for all of her clients. This is one photographer everyone should have at their wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Shang is absolutely phenomenal. She is a brilliant photographer with an ability to produce stunningly gorgeous images, a knowledgeable professional with excellent communication skills, and a supportive friend with the ability to not only help pull off the wedding day but to make it easy, fun, and simply perfect.

Photography: Just take a look at her blog, and you will fall in love. Her aesthetic is vibrant, fresh, modern, fun, and beautiful. Nothing cheesy and saccharine-sweet, nothing forced and prom-like. Her eye for light and color is just incredible.

Professionalism: Although her work speaks for itself, Shang's professionalism is unbelievable. Her organization and thoughtfulness are impressive- she provided detailed timelines, checklists, spreadsheets, and guides that were incredibly helpful as I planned my wedding. Her communication and responsiveness are fantastic- emails, phone calls, video chats- I was never put in the position of being stressed out about not being able to reach her. Her work ethic is unparalleled- I was amazed at how quickly she was able to put out sneak peeks on facebook, blog posts on her website, and galleries of our images- all while attending business school/working full-time. Simply put, Shang gets things done and is able to help you do the same with regards to your wedding.

Supportiveness: Shang is so easy to work with. Although my husband and I aren't exactly naturals in front of the camera, she made it feel so easy and comfortable. She is fun, energetic, and creative, and really helped lessen our anxiety about having our pictures taken. She is calm, cool, and collected during the "crunch times" of the wedding day- like heading over from the getting-ready site to the ceremony venue. I felt like Shang strives hard to create and maintain a personal connection with her clients, and she absolutely succeeded.

If you are lucky enough to get her, I highly recommend Shang Chen Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
If anyone is skeptical of Shang's perfect record of five-star reviews, I am here to second (and third...and fourth...) the reviews that Shang is an absolutely phenomenal wedding photographer - creative, professional, organized, reliable, timely, detail-oriented, etc. What more can be said? Well, Shang is a fantastic human being as well. My wife and I won a contest that Shang put together, and as the winners, Shang photographed our engagement shoot and wedding free of charge. Despite not paying her a cent, Shang treated us exactly the same as all other clients - in-person meeting, Skype chats, organized and detailed plans for the wedding day, immediate responses to e-mails and excellent communication throughout the entire process, bringing an amazing assistant to the wedding, arriving early to the venue to scope out good photo ops, quick turnaround time with the photos...okay you get the point. Oh, and I should mention the small fact that Shang came all the way from San Francisco to Rhode Island to shoot the wedding!

Last but not least, the brilliant photographs. Her website and blog speaks for itself. To be honest I didn't even notice that Shang was there during the ceremony and reception - which is great because the candid photos are some of our favorites.

If you are having a hard time choosing a wedding photographer, you can be 100% confident going with Shang.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J.
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
In the process of wedding planning, the #1 advice I got from former brides was to invest in a good photographer.
Why?
Because the photos or videos you get are the only hard evidence you take away from your wedding at the end of the day aside from the hangover :-).

After researching for wedding photographers, I stumbled upon Shang Chen Photography somehow. I am not even sure from where specifically. But I kept going back to her blog, checking for updates and just being in awe of all her photos.

I knew, I had to talk to her and I had to convince my finance to book her even though she was the ONLY photog vendor we spoke to and we were about a year and a half out from our actually wedding date.

I have to give Shang MAJOR PROPS. My parents were a bit crazy. Shang was so patient and didn't show an ounce of annoyance when my dad would request a photo here and there. While I was annoyed, Shang was such a professional about it.

The day went beautifully and our pictures truly tell our love story. Shang did an incredible job of turning our photos for proofing in under a month! Like I said before, she is AMAZING!

After a preview on Facebook, our online gallery came and I love all of them! I am so glad that we invested in Shang. She really captured how truly happy I and everyone involved were.

Random Thoughts:
Shang is super organized and kept in check on making sure my day went smoothing even with the hiccups.

Shang is always available and pretty quick to responds to email and questions.

Shang is more than just a vendor, she gets to know her clients and thus, this is why I believe she can take pictures the way she does. She is not just some photographer you just hired, Shang turns into a friend who cares and wants to make sure the images captured are the ones you and your spouse will forever remember and cherish.

Closing Remarks:
Shang rocks! I have no regrets that we hired the best wedding photographer out there.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I have known Shang for a number of years now so I have been a lurker of her photography work since she started so when I was getting married there was no doubt that she was our first pick, especially since choosing a photographer imho is an expensive yet important investment and a photog's work speaks for itself.

You can trust Shang will deliver. From the very beginning of us signing on with Shang, she:
* had a great outlook, exuding as much excitement and support for us if not more about our big day
* was extremely organized, proactive and time management focused. This is two fold: i) in the planning process, where she would send out timelines to all of our vendors and call each vendor afterward to make sure they knew what was up (less for me to worry about!!), and would request info from me and my husband to familiarize herself with our families/venue/etc to make the day run as smooth as possible and ii) during the day of, where she would make sure pictures were completed on time (and my family was all over the place!)
* was honest. Shang will tell you what she thinks will work and what won't. One of the best suggestions she gave to us was the unplugged ceremony.
* pushes her creativity. We were going here and there on the MIT campus and even at the hotel trying out different shots that I felt like I was trying out for ANTM! It was a lot of fun.
* is quick to turnaround photos and respond to any questions
* and sweet and friendly with a bit of spunk!! I am attention shy but Shang made me feel comfortable being photographed and at ease the entire time. I think she busted out a move or two and sang to make me less nervous.... Also one of my grandmothers requested that a photo be taken of me and her which wasn't in the schedule and Shang accommodated in all of the craziness before the reception (I can't tell you how happy that made my grandma)
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1324752033640-110817lc078
Lynn
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Shang is truly a gifted photographer and we are so grateful to have her incredible pictures as a keepsake to remember our wedding for years to come. Photography was a high priority for us when looking at vendors, because the pictures are really the one thing that remains after the wedding day is over (besides the wonderful future with your spouse!).

Even before we booked the venue, we knew we wanted to have Shang photograph the wedding. We were so lucky that she was available and in our price range, especially considering that she wasn't taking any new clients after this year. From the moment we booked her, she was amazingly responsive to all questions, candid in her responses, hyper organized, and made sure every detail was captured, whether through email or in a GoogleDoc. We touched base by email and video chat throughout the entire planning process - this constant communication and detailed attention ensured that not a moment was missed on our wedding day.

On top of that, Shang is just a great person to be around - energetic, thoughtful, fun, and professional. She put us at ease when she initially shot us at our engagement shoot - we were definitely nervous and not experienced at being in front of the camera. Shang was able to capture us in a flattering light and all her pictures came out so colorful, natural, and emotional. By the time we reached the wedding day, everything felt effortless and we knew we could just enjoy the moment.

We're still reliving the wedding and love every single one of our photos, what a great memento of one of the best days of our lives!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BayAreaGirl
Wedding:
3/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Shang is an amazing photographer - especially coming from someone who has VERY high standards for photography. I am about as picky as it gets. Photos taken from Shang are very beautifully artistic, and you will be really proud to share with family and friends.

I came to Shang to help re-take my precious wedding photos as I had a very bad experience with another wedding photographer. Shang is a VERY HIGH QUALITY photographer. DO NOT cheap out on your photographer. This is what you will get with her:

1) Light Technique: To say the least, I am shocked how many photographers do not understand light. This is why you end up with weird shadows on your face or faces that are squinting. For every pose, Shang carefully evaluates the lighting condition and angle so that you can get that optimal 'glow' of natural light.

2) Service and Direction: Many amateur photographers still have great difficulty thinking about poses. As the subject, you are looking for the photographer to give you guidance on how to pose. Shang has a plethora of great pose ideas, both full body and close up. You will NOT be disappointed and will receive a wide variety of poses and definitely find a few you love.

3) Responsiveness: Ok, I can't emphasize this point enough. Her responsiveness is so punctual, and she gives you loads of information to help you feel at easy and all your questions answered. She also gives you a ton of tips for the wedding or photo shoot day. Post-shoot, she gets you her edits pretty quickly.

4) Photos: Absolutely amazing. I noticed a lot of photographers relied so heavily on photoshop to put those weird filters in. With Shang, barely, if any Photoshop is needed because the base photo is good to start with. This is an extremely important point.

I would highly recommend Shang to anyone looking for a photographer. She is really fun to work with, coaches you, and most importantly, delivers you a work product you are proud of for years to come!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
E
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
There's a simple reason why Shang's reviews are all 5-stars -- Shang is the absolute best. She's incredibly organized and communicative, she's enthusiastic and energetic, and she's got talent out the wazoo! Did I mention she's a sweetheart, too?

We hired Shang for both our engagement shoot in July 2010 and our wedding in Oct 2011. My husband and I were long-distance during much of the wedding planning, but that was never an issue when it came to photography. After an initial consult, all of our communication with Shang was via e-mail or Skype, and she kept an up-to-date Google Doc with all of our important information. The engagement shoot was a great preview of the talent and energy she would bring to our wedding. The day of the wedding, she and her assistant (props to Kyle Peng!) were early, warm (figuratively and literally, as they penguin-huddled us from the cold Chicago wind), and so fun! Shang is a great director -- authoritative, supportive, and so incredibly nice! My bridesmaids loved how friendly and funny Shang is, and the way she kept us engaged and relaxed.

And the photos are INCREDIBLE!! We absolutely love all of our wedding photos. Shang gives you both the posed, glamorous shots and the authentic, photojournalistic shots that capture your memories and emotions perfectly. Just go look at her website. 'Nuff said.

We feel so so lucky that Shang was our photographer. She currently isn't taking any new clients, but maybe she'll start up again in the future? One can hope! :-D
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1322934325036-fbavatar2101895
Nicole
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I would highly recommend Shang to be your wedding photographer! Shang did our engagement shoot, our wedding and our wedding album. We adore the photos that she took, and our friends and family are obsessed with them too. She has been an absolute delight to work with. She is very friendly, fun and calm. She is extremely talented and artistic, but she also understands customer service and knows how to run a business by being organized, professional and responsive. Yay Shang!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ssp
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Shang was an obvious choice to be a photographer for our wedding. She is an all around lovely person to work with, respectful, professional, creative, with impeccable taste. She put my parents and family at ease, which made the photographs beautiful and natural and happy. She's great with crying children and mesmerized even the fussiest toddler. Shang also gives instantaneous gratification, with pictures from the ceremony presented at our reception that night, and sneak peaks before we even left for the honeymoon. And it doesn't stop there. We didn't have to wait even weeks for all of our pictures. Shang works hard and really cares about her couples and it shows in her work and the feeling you have when you work with her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimevon820
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
This review for Shang Chen is long overdue I’m not really sure where and how to start to truly describe this AMAZING woman. However we are excited to write this review about someone we feel is one of the best wedding photographers and we were beyond bless to have had the opportunity for her to be our wedding photographer.

How we met: My husband and I planned a dream destination wedding in Montego bay Jamaica, my husband and I loved wedding photos that where artistic , full of energy, light, color and tells a store hewas truly in to great photography and wanted someone that would be able to capture the true essence of this Island wedding weekend. A friend of ours suggested  to post on weddingbee.com and ask If there would be any photographer who would be willing to travel to Jamaica for 3 days and capture our wedding weekend . A few photographers responded but immediately when Shang replied and we saw her photo’s we were amazed by her work, and impressed beyond belief. From that moment we knew we had found our dream wedding photographer. From the moment Shang contacted us it was an instant connection; she was professional, jovial, warm, and just easy to speak to from our phone conversations to the first meeting in NYC to the wedding in Jamaica. She took the time togenuinely get to know us and our wants, needs and expectations of a photographer.

Planning: Shang was very in tune with everything about a wedding, she made me think about things I never thought about such as a very structured hourly timeline for the wedding (brides you have no idea how much you need a rigid timeline). Shang was very, patient, and we communicated smoothly via email and telephone.  We used Google docs to update timelines, picture preferences styles and just personal information that is useful to her being this excellent photographer she is.  Shang was also very prompt with her responses, we knew she had a busy schedule from her blog calendar therefore we were very impressed by how prompt and efficient she worked.

Wedding: Shang arrived in Jamaica the Friday before our wedding. We had our welcome dinner at Ricks Café that evening and although it was raining on our way and an over cast once we arrived Shangs artistic skills was still able to capture the beauty of Negril, the people, our family, friends and the venue . The following day was our wedding and Shang was on time and we were not expecting anything less from her, unfortunately my make-up artist was hours late so the time factor became a huge issue but Shang was on top of things trying her best to keep us on schedule she was in superwoman mode without her pushing us I believe we would have been a lot later with the start. Once the ceremony and wedding began its like you didn’t even see her she was not over bearing which can prevent couple’s from enjoying the true moment. Shang was highly professional and very warm she told me over and over how beautiful I looked on my big day something that every bride needs even from her photographer and Shang was on top of that.  The rain fell right after our beach ceremony and things got a little dismantled however after re grouping Shang did an excellent job quickly taking family portraits and wedding party pictures, which she made fun we just had to be our selves there was not much arranged posing it was all random excitement which made the pictures look great. Our wedding party raved about how great she was.

 

Morning after Shoot:  After resting for 2.5hrs we awoke for our morning after shoot in the town of Negril. Shang was excellent with keeping our energy up and kept us having fun and smiling throughout the entire shoot. She was able to capture the rustic look we wanted. If you have a doubt about how artistic Shang  Chen is you should definitely take a look at our morning after shoot on her blog OMG.  

The Photo’s: We left 2 days after the wedding for our honeymoon we were quite surprise  that Shang had pictures up on her blog and on FB within less than a week of the wedding and an entire album at that. She works extremely fast.  And then after we returned, the phone calls and emails start pouring in on how amazing our pictures were and who’s this incredible photographer.

Recommendation: We thought Shang was an amazing photographer from the moment we saw her work but her photo’s from our wedding has truly blown our minds. We have nothing but great things to say about Shang Chen her eclectic, artistic, energetic and colorful photography speaks for itself we were beyond bless to have Shang as our wedding photographer. She’s professional, friendly, approachable, and flexible. I think all brides need a Shang Chen on their wedding day. We honestly cannot say enough in words to express how greatly we appreciated her coming to Jamaica and being a part of our special day and more so how AMAZED we are by  her work.  Shang has fulfilled every aspect of being a dynamic photographer and the most important part which is the end product which truly speaks volume by itself. I do feel like the luckiest bride ever to have found Shang as our photographer. She really knows and loves what she does. She has my highest recommendation. I wish everyone could have a Shang Chen on their wedding day, she’s truly a GEM.

Kim + Evon

http://shangchenphoto.com/weddings/jamaica-destination-wedding-kimevon/
 
http://shangchenphoto.com/weddings/kim-and-evon-trash-the-dress-session-in-jamaica/
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin? I don’t know if I can even begin to explain how special this photographer is, but I’ll give it my best shot.

Leading up to the wedding:

From the second we booked Shang, we knew we were in good hands. First of all, she is ultra-organized. Her contract is very clear and she had a Google doc set up for us to work on within 48 hours that contained questions about our wedding, photography preferences, and a timeline for us to work on together. Everyone was on the same page, and alll of our emails were answered within 24 hours (most of the time within a couple hours!)

However, she doesn’t stop there. Shang makes a genuine effort to get to know her clients and allows them to get to know her as well. She took time to learn about us, our relationship, and vision for our wedding. We met up for dinner one night when she was in town, and it really makes a difference when you’re comfortable with your photographer. She also sent our super helpful reminder emails filled with great tips leading up to the day (example: she reminded us that she’d be taking the iconic picture of the wedding dress hanging in the window so make sure to have a nice hanger because a wire hanger wouldn’t look as nice. A small, but important detail!) She is full of great information and advice. I feel like she genuinely wants you to have the best day possible.

Wedding Day:

Not only is Shang super professional, she is really fun! Your photographer is with you throughout your entire wedding so it helps if you already know and like them. She showed up early, gave the wedding party great advice on how to look their best in the pictures, and ensured we remained on schedule. We did the family and bridal party portraits after the ceremony. We got all the pictures we wanted AND still made part of the cocktail hour. She knows how to be extremely efficient without compromising the quality of the images (she demands perfection from herself). During the reception, she again kept us on track but at the same time was flexible and went with the flow of the evening. We got many comments from our guests and our families about how great she was.

Post Wedding:

We are beyond thrilled with our pictures…our expectations were blown out of the water! She did such a wonderful job capturing the day. Her photos are flawless, she is an amazing photographer, and you can see the passion she has for photography through her art. We received some “sneak peeks” of our photos the day after our wedding (she’s quick!), and she had photos up while we were still on honeymoon! Our friends and family are also in awe of her remarkable talent. The pictures themselves are beautiful and technically brilliant; however, Shang also pulls them all together so that they really tell the story of the entire day.

Wrapping Up:

We are SO lucky we found Shang and give her the highest recommendation possible to anyone! Our day just wouldn’t have been the same without her. Her raw talent, bubbling personality, professionalism, and fun attitude made her our favorite vendor, and we couldn’t be happier.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mwg25
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
There are not enough superlatives. Just hire her...

But if you want to read the expanded review:
ABSOLUTELY SUPERB. My sister gave me the heads up on this fantastic artist based on her work with Shang at a Harvard fashion show. She photographed our wedding in Connecticut last month and I am still hearing the superlatives from family and friends about her professionalism, talent, collegiality, and awesome spirits.

As someone said: "your photographer will be with you all day, often within a couple of feet of you. Pick someone that you're excited about having that close." Jackpot.

Throughout the whole day, Shang was so much fun to hang out with. She got along with everyone instantly, helped keep everyone laughing, and constantly kept coming up with great ideas for shots. She dealt tactfully yet firmly with relatives who were getting uptight and groomsmen who were dragging their feet - taking the burden off of me!

The pre-wedding work was a piece of cake. Skype chats, Google Docs, etc...she, my fiance, and I all lived in different states and I never felt that the distance impeded our communication! The entire "business" end of the operation was flawless and staggeringly professional. She's done her homework and runs a tight ship.

And the art itself - wow. Pretty, classy, creative. Sharp and modern but not edgy. I still remember specific shots from OTHER people's weddings that I saw on her blog and said "I want to be a part of this." She figured out how to combine us (and the other people in the wedding), the locations, and the spirit of the whole celebration in a brilliant way.

I'm not really into wedding stalking, but I spent a LOT of time looking at her blog.

Shang is personable, staggeringly competent, and you just know she's brilliant. THREE thumbs up. Bravo.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blair
Wedding:
6/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I notice Shang’s photography several years ago when a friend of mine posted their engagement and wedding photos online. I was not in the market for a photographer at the time, but I told myself that I MUST use this artist for something special. A few years later another friend of mine had Shang photograph her wedding (fell in love with her work all over again) and soon after that, it was my turn. Once we locked in a wedding date, Shang was the first person I contacted. I didn’t care about any other vendors, food, flowers, etc., all I knew is I wanted Shang and was so thrilled when I learned she was available.
Throughout the entire process, Shang was most personable and easy to work with. She really cares about her client and asks a lot of questions to make sure they are happy and comfortable and know what to expect every step of the way. I found Shang to be honest, upfront, and extremely professional through the agreement. Shang is also quick to respond to emails, questions and phone calls. I told her I would really love some outdoor wedding party shots and she went out of her way to find a beautiful local park near my venue and sent an email with walking directions and a map so I could distribute them. Shang does not have her own wedding agenda, she adapts to your timeline, your needs, and makes sure everyone is on the same page well before the big day.
On my wedding day, Shang was on time and quick to get started. She made us feel comfortable, playful and photogenic so you do not feel insecure about testing out different poses in front of the camera. The weather allowed us to walk to the park and she even brought something I could sit on so I would not get my dress dirty. She directed us with ease and we all enjoyed ourselves! One of my bridesmaids was late to the shoot, but Shang remained so calm and reassured me that we still had plenty of time and not to worry. Shang stuck to the timeline and got us back in time for the ceremony. From that point forward Shang went off to capture the rest of the day. She covered all the moments we emphasized and all the group/personal shots we asked for. Shang was a pleasure to work with!!
Shang also has a speedy fast turnover. I knew she was very busy at the time, but she gave us sneak peaks the next day. This was really nice because it gave us a handful of photos to send to friends and family immediately.
I would recommend Shang to anyone who wants anything from traditional to really artistic/unique photographs. I think she does a particularly awesome job with outdoor photos and capturing “the moment”!
Thank you Shang for photographing the most important day of our life and we look forward to seeing more of your work in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Just like my husband, and just like my wedding dress, I just knew when I first met Shang that she was the one I wanted to photograph the most important day of my life. I first contacted Shang based on the “five star” ratings and great reviews she was given for her amazing work. Shang was prompt to respond to my inquiry and we arranged a meeting face to face where we got to chat about my visions for the wedding, as well an opportunity for my husband and I to look at more of her work including engagement albums, wedding albums and prints she had done of recent shoots she had been on. Within minutes of arriving home from our first meeting with Shang, the contract was signed and our deposit was in the mail. We knew we could not miss out on this opportunity to work with Shang.

Over the course of the next few months Shang demonstrated her professionalism, extreme organization and unbelievable talent as I followed her blog at ShangChenPhoto.com. Through use of Google documents Shang and I were able to easily keep track and update each other on the specific details of my wedding, including updated timing of events, types of shots I would like to see captured, and any specific family/friend shots I wanted. We eventually got to meet again in person for our engagement shoot in August 2010 in downtown Boston. Shang’s photojournalistic style was reflected so creatively and uniquely in our engagement photos that we continually received compliments on her work.

From our engagement photos, Shang created a beautiful guest book including all our favorite pictures (so hard to choose!), and had it shipped to us within weeks. We also ordered a beautiful blown up canvas print to be included on the “welcome table” at our rehearsal dinner.

About a week before our June 25, 2011 wedding, Shang and I spoke one last time about final details of where and when to meet, and where her assistant shooter Amie (also amazing), would be meeting my groom in waiting. All the details of our final meeting were again reflected in our Google document to ensure we were on the same page. There was always an open invitation from Shang to call anytime leading up to the wedding with any ideas or updates I had to relay. The day of the wedding Shang took all my detail shots (dress, rings, shoes, jewelry), and some “getting ready” shots while we at the hotel, before we headed off to the church. During the ceremony I didn’t even see Shang who was quietly capturing some of the most special moments of my life. We jetted off after the ceremony for more amazing photos at the country club where our reception was held. My family and wedding party were amazed how quickly and efficiently Shang worked to get all the family and wedding party shots, before she took my husband and I off for some more intimate pictures. It’s hard to not go on and on about how great Shang is both personally and professionally.

Just to sum up my experience with Shang:
• Friendly, excited, positive, hardworking and trustworthy attitude
• Quick to respond via email, g-chat or phone call if ever there was a question or idea
• Super organized and absolutely reliable
• Talented, creative, unique, modern, efficient and colorful.
• Best wedding investment I made (besides my husband of course)!
• Quick! Before the wedding reception was even over, Shang had already posted some “sneak peaks” for our enjoyment. More pictures followed days later on her blog, with a full blog post just a few weeks later in perfect time for our return home from the honeymoon.

I cannot say enough great things about Shang Chen. I would recommend anyone of my closest friends to her, and personally I would (and hopefully will) absolutely without a doubt work with her again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Franny
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
*happy sigh* - what can one say about Shang that truly sums up how great she is? When we started searching for a wedding photographer and I checked the reviews here, I actually wondered why they were all enumerated. I now realize it's because there's not really any other way to say all that's great about her in an organized fashion. So, here we go:

1) Professionalism: Holy businesswoman, Batman! I've heard so many horror stories about uncommunicative, unprofessional, non-responsive wedding photographers, and allow me to assure you: Shang is the polar opposite of that. She is the most punctual, thorough, professional, reliable person I have ever worked with. She does exactly what she says she will do, usually before she said she would. We got our photos while we were on our honeymoon! Seriously!

2) Flexibility: Shang was amazing about negotiating the terms of her contract around our needs. She came up with some creative ideas for how to make sure everybody was happy. She was also great about finding ways to work around our needs and schedules for the entire course of the relationship - we met with her every way and everywhere! A coffee shop, video chat, phone call - she was always willing to work around us even with her crazy work, school and travel schedule. And of course, was always early to our meetings.

3) Fun: SHANG IS SO GREAT! She's just the perfect person to be behind the camera and make you feel at ease. We definitely were not used to being in front of the camera and it took all of 10 minutes before we started settling in and taking direction from her about poses and whatnot. This is SO important because our photos were only going to be as good as how comfortable we were.

4) Experience: During the entire process of working with Shang, from the first meeting, to the contract, to the engagement shoot, to the wedding, to the album design, it was extraordinarily clear how seasoned Shang is as a wedding photographer. Our officiant remarked that he'd NEVER seen such "invisible" photographers during a wedding ceremony; we didn't even notice them there, yet the photos are incredible. How she manages to already be so.. mature? experienced? advanced?... in this business at such a young age is really remarkable. From poses to schedule of the wedding to space to walking us through different parts of the wedding day, I always felt like I was in good, confident hands. And the photos prove it to be true. Which brings me to...

3) THE PHOTOS. Oh, the photos. The photos! Sigh. These speak for themselves on Shang's website and blog, but oh my - we were just blown away by the result. We stressed to Shang the first time we met her how important it was to us to capture the emotion of the occasion above anything else, and she delivered. I can't stop looking at how gorgeous our album is (granted, I got it today, but still...) and how it really expresses all the love, beauty, joy, and happiness we felt on such a special day.

Stop thinking about it. Just hire her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barb P
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Shang was excellent! We enjoyed having her at the wedding, she was barely visible most of the wedding. She took fantastic photos which she displayed some of during the wedding for the guests to enjoy. She was never rude to others taking personal pictures or got in their way. I can't say enough nice things about this lovely young lady. Any pictures we asked her to take out of the norm of friends and realaives, she was right there with no questions asked. She was always smiling and was a pleasure to be around. If your lucky enough to get Shang you won't regret it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
My now husband found Shang on Yelp and we thought that it would only be appropriate if he wrote the review but i wanted to give my opinion first, it's much shorter and simpler:

Shang is awesome. Her work speaks for itself. When I look at my pictures I can feel what I felt in that moment. From the first time we spoke I felt an instant connection to her and I hope that she doesn't think I'm a stalker when I continue to track her now that my wedding is over :)

And now for my husband's review:

This is yet another rave review for Shang Chen Photography. My wife and I have nothing but the highest praise and acclaim for her work. She has given us a precious remembrance of a very special time in our lives. Choosing Shang was not taken lightly. Wedding photography is a wise investment in documenting a life event. The wedding photographer must be a specialist in knowing what makes a good wedding photograph; Shang possesses "the eye" for the correct wedding aesthetic and the ability to take a good picture. She has the knowledge and the skill sets to accomplish this mission, both on the artistic side and business side. Correspondence was easy. Shang works with you and for you. E-mails were responded to in a prompt and timely manner. Her preparation paid off in her process, which was fast & efficient. During the wedding, her process was almost transparent. Nothing felt forced. All went according to plan. She was organized. Customer service was excellent. She is a professional and an artist. Her pictures are contemporary, modern, tasteful, and classy, truly timeless. The final product did not look like experimental art student photography. The pictures are easily accessible to the widest possible audience and generation gaps. Within the wedding photography genre, which can be as formulaic as the associated rituals, she has a style that does not overpower her subjects. She showcases the feeling of love and romance in lots of subtle shades & light, and the pictures were spontaneous, animated and angled. The pieces were very "Impressionist".

My wife and I are very happy and satisfied for going with Shang Chen for our wedding photography. She makes you look good while making it look easy. From the earliest stages we've had the utmost confidence in her to get the desired results. The whole experience was as worry-free as you can get. And she delivered the goods! Shang Chen Photography has our highest recommendation and our gratitude. She is the wedding photographer par excellence. Bravo!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hanster
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I spent quite a long time looking for a photographer to capture our wedding day. We met with 3 others before chatting with Shang. We knew the moment the call was over that we wanted to hire her to be our wedding photographer. We sent her an email within minutes of our call, as we both agreed that she was perfect.

Here are the reasons we loved working with Shang, and I hope this helps others who are searching for that perfect photographer:

1. Trust – you really need to trust the person handling photos for one of the most important days of your life, and from the beginning Shang proved to be reliable, trustworthy, and professional. She uses a 2nd photographer, carries back-up equipment, and left us feeling completely confident and at ease that she would capture every important moment on our wedding day (and she did exactly that!). She even created a document where we were able to list specific pictures we wanted to be sure to have taken on the big day, and if needed, a list of pictures to stay away from (to avoid any weird moments with divorced parents for example).

2. Professionalism – I can say with confidence that Shang knows wedding photography inside and out! She really went above and beyond for us helping us figure out the timing of moments such as: when to cut our cake, have speeches read, 1st dances… She even ended up providing directions to our trolley driver who took our entire wedding party from the ceremony to reception location! Having never been married before and attending only a handful of weddings, I really appreciated knowing that I could drop Shang an email with questions that arose prior to our wedding and get an honest and quick response. On top of that, Shang was always punctual (arrival times, posting pictures, sending proofs…), provided excellent recommendations for us (we found our wonderful Justice of the Peace through her), and proved to be organized, responsible, and full of energy!

3. Results – Our photos from our engagement session and wedding day are unbelievable! My husband and I have already discussed events in our future that perhaps we could hire Shang again for, and we’ve recommended her to several close friends and family members. Her work is colorful, vibrant, and truly unique. She has a way of making everyone feel so comfortable and relaxed that her pictures don’t look staged. Shang has an eye for locating the most amazing backgrounds, and overall we just couldn’t be happier with all of our pictures. We’re still trying to choose which pictures we’d like to include in our wedding album, as we love them all!

We did our research, met other photographers, checked out countless blogs, portfolios, and Websites, and there is no doubt that we were so very lucky to have been able to have Shang photograph our wedding (and engagement session)! My friends and family are still complementing us on our choice of photographer!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melmavbrown
Wedding:
3/27/2011
5.0/5.0
To start, I wish I could rate Shang w/more than 5 out of 5 stars!!

If you are looking for a wedding photographer, Shang Chen is the best!!

If you look at her blog you will see the pictures speak for themselves; absolutely breathtaking and they capture the emotion of the day. She is a talented photographer with a creative gift that she passes on to her clients.

My husband and I got to know Shang last August when she was the photographer at my brother’s wedding. My now sister-in-law could not stop raving about her photographer, and when I got to meet her on the wedding day I understood why!!! Throughout the day she was professional, efficient, and fun. She put everyone at ease and was immediately embraced as a memorable wedding guest. The pictures from the day were beyond gorgeous and she even had a sneak peak of pictures within the first few days!!!

When I started planning my wedding (on short notice) my dream was to have her as my photographer. Luckily I was married during the winter and she was available! From the moment my husband and I started working with her as “our” photographer she immediately put us at ease and we felt as though we were working with an old friend. She is professional and organized and helped us focus on what we wanted from her as our photographer. She reviewed the timelines, the venue, and our personal preferences. Whenever we contacted her she immediately (often less than a few hours!!) got back to us. Her wedding experience was invaluable and we were able to use her advice on helping to plan our wedding, even on non-photography related subjects.

On our wedding day, it was like working with old friends (with her assistant Karman who we met at my brother’s wedding!!!). She put us at ease as she shot throughout the day. Every single request we had she followed through on and we got all the shots we requested. She works efficiently and was able to take amazing photos without interrupting the flow of the day.

On top of it all, Shang is one of the most genuine, sweet, responsible, and professional individuals that I have ever met. I feel as though she is truly now a member of my family. I wish I could always have her around to capture all the special moments in my life!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
novemberwedding
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Shang Chen for my 2010 engagement session and wedding was a dream come true. I think my husband and I are now loyal Shang Chen Photography customers for life!

Here are the highlights of our amazing experience working with Shang:

1. Shang is a professional. Throughout our entire experience working together, Shang communicated honestly and effectively with us. We booked Shang about 10 months before the wedding, and she kept us well informed of all our photography-related deadlines and details. She even made sure to check in with us during the months when there was little photography-related planning to do.

2. Shang does her homework. We completely trusted that Shang would do a fantastic job because she spent time with us before the engagement session and the wedding (in person and via video conference) to discuss what we wanted and expected from each experience. She took what we envisioned from the photography seriously. And her effort to get to know us as individuals and a couple is well reflected in our wedding photography because our personalities are so clearly present in the images she took.

3. Shang makes herself available. As a first time event planner, I had a lot of questions for my vendors. And every time I emailed Shang, she responded promptly with helpful answers or advice. I don't know that I ever had to wait more than 30 minutes for an email response!!

4. Shang knows the wedding industry. She coordinated with our venue staff, minister, other vendors and even our guests very effectively. She was also able to offer helpful tips about non-photography aspects of the wedding, including makeup & hair options.

5. Shang is an artist. She has a great eye for composition, and she was able to direct us into great portrait shots with few adjustments. She also captured many spontaneous wedding moments with a great photojournalistic style. All of our wedding pictures are beautiful!

6. Shang pays attention. During our engagement session, Shang quickly picked up on how comfortable (or uncomfortable) my husband and I were in front of the camera, and she adjusted her strategy accordingly to help keep us relaxed. During the wedding, Shang took the initiative to figure out which people, details and moments would be the most meaningful for my husband and I to have captured in photos, even ones we had forgotten to mention a head of time. For example, she made pictures of my grandparents a priority and photographed little details (like my jewelry and shoes).

7. Shang loves photography. You can tell that Shang enjoys taking pictures, and her energy and enthusiasm made working with her fun.

I would highly recommend hiring Shang for your event photography. My husband and I are completely happy with our wedding pictures and have received countless compliments from friends and family about the quality of the photography! Check out her work @ http://www.shangchenph..., and her gorgeous images will absolutely speak for themselves.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kshu
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Hrm, I have started this review a few times now, but have never been able to finish because I feel like words can't describe how amazing and talented Shang Chen is. But I will try my best!!!

My husband and I hired Shang for a 10-hour shoot for our September 2010 Boston wedding which included an engagement shoot, which we did at the beginning of August. She had an assistant for the wedding (and she was supposed to have one for our engagement shoot but the assistant bailed last minute because of other commitments - but no matter, we still got amazing photographs!)

Anyway, here are my top 4 reasons why you should hire Shang Chen for your wedding photography needs!

1. Shang is a tiny ball of fun, energy, and creativity!
I actually met Shang through my husband who worked at a consulting company with her. And my first impression was "Wow she's so energetic for someone who gets so little sleep." haha (I know how much consulting people have to work. =P) Turns out, that's just who she is. Her love of life and passion for beauty just oozes out of her and you can't help but absorb some of her excitement too. When she's actually taking photos, she's very good at directing and giving instructions and even though I'm sometimes thinking "What is she trying to get at?!" the pictures look amazing afterwards. She works quickly and efficiently. She finished the "family portrait" session part of the wedding (about 50 combinations of family members) in 36 minutes (she was timing herself). During the wedding, she was on her feet and working the whole day and then at the dancing portion of the reception, she just let loose and danced with the guests. Everyone loved her! :) And the next morning, she already had some sneak peeks up on facebook! We got so many compliments about how awesome our photographer was. Take a look at her blog and website and you'll see how great her photos are. Lots of color, love it ;)

2. Shang is available all the time.
This is particularly important because you will have tons of stuff to do and people to keep in contact with, especially the few days leading up to the wedding. Shang was always available for any question I had, whether big or small. She's on GChat 24/7 and has a 24-hour response time policy for emails, although in my experience she's always responded within the hour or two. When a family emergency came up a few weeks before the engagement shoot, we were able to reschedule the shoot even though Shang was super booked for the rest of the summer. She actually helped with a lot of the wedding planning as well, giving me opinions on what color flowers would go best with our bridesmaids dress color, when we should have the tea ceremony (depending on the flow of the wedding day, whether it'd be easy to have it after the ceremony or during the reception). Anyway, I'm rambling, but the point is, she is available and won't flake out on you.

3. Shang has the world's fastest turnaround time for photos.
We got all our proofs (all 1000 or so images) online 9 days after the wedding. I think the typical turnaround time for wedding photos is like 2-3 months or something. We had 2-3 weeks to pick a few photos to retouch, and then she will mail us all the images on a CD (as I'm writing this, she is working on retouching our picks). For our engagement shoot, the turnaround time from the actual shoot to having the CD in our hands was like 2.5 weeks. Super fast!! :)

4. Shang is a professional.
She uses contracts, she has policies, back-up policies in case some disaster happens, etc. I didn't actually work with many vendors that used real contracts and paperwork, so it was kinda refreshing to see someone take our wedding seriously. Haha. On the day of our wedding, she took charge, showed up on time, went out of her way to make sure that all the elements were right in the photos (fixed my hair, fixed my train, etc), she also speaks Mandarin, which was really helpful in the family portrait session where many of my family members' first language is Mandarin. She helped us prepare for our engagement shoot (choose outfits, pick props, etc) and just made everything run so smoothly. She makes people feel very comfortable in front of the camera. Mobilizing a wedding party of 10 people is no easy feat and Shang did it amazingly well.

Hire Shang. You won't regret it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dle850
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
I've been looking forward to writing this review for a while, and now that we've gotten our wedding proofs, I can finally tell the online world how pleased we are with our photographer Shang and with our pictures! When we first started planning our wedding, we were deciding whether or not to hire a photographer and if professional pics were something we could cut out of our budget. We are SO glad we didn't. And since I love making lists, I'd like to make a list of the top 5 reasons why Shang is a fabulous wedding photographer (in no particular order):

1. She is superfast with processing our pictures! In my opinion, after a wedding, the thing you most look forward to, besides the honeymoon and opening the presents, is looking at wedding photos! Our wedding was on a Sat evening, and by Sunday morning 10am, Shang had posted 11 beautiful sneak peek photos. 2 weeks later, we had proofs of all the photos online with a handy link to share with our friends. Talk about speedy!

2. She goes out of her way to get to know her clients and her location. My husband and I deeply appreciated the fact that Shang really wanted to understand what would work best for us in terms of wedding pictures. She demonstrates this through a thorough spreadsheet with all the details, meeting with us for dinner as well as a walk-through of our location well before the day of the wedding, as well as multiple phone calls.

3. She is fun and personable! Several of my bridesmaids commented that Shang "definitely has the personality a photographer should have." That is, she is able to make her subjects feel instantly comfortable, on and off the camera. Even some of the groomsmen who usually hate being in pictures said they had a lot of fun, which I can definitely tell from the hilarious poses in some of the pictures!

4. She is flexible. We were running a little late for our portraits before the ceremony, and Shang was able to roll with it and shift our schedule around a bit in order to accommodate everyone. AND she was pleasant through it! This was greatly appreciated :)

5. She is a true artist. Her pictures and eye for great photos is unparalleled. Her pictures captured the joy and love we felt that day perfectly. Admittedly, there were a few poses Shang suggested during the portrait session that I was a bit skeptical of, but of course, these very pictures are among my favorites.

We feel lucky to have found Shang while planning our wedding, and she has our highest recommendations. We would give her 6 stars if we could!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Wow, Shang is truly one-of-a-kind and I wouldn't have picked anyone else to shoot my wedding for me. She is so incredibly talented and has such high standards for herself that there is no possible way that you won't absolutely love your photos. She has been so wonderful; her communication is top notch, we've been treated to really cool blog posts about various aspects of photography, she has immense photography talent and she is one of the sweetest people you will ever meet.

There is no way that she won't be one of the COUNTRY'S best wedding photgraphers in time, and I wouldn't be surprised if that is sooner rather than later. She is so innovative with her client service and produces such magnificent art that brides will probably be hard pressed to book her less than a year in advance. I feel so lucky that I stumbled upon her and cannot imagine having anyone other than her as my photographer.

I really urge all Boston-area brides (I got married in NH) to contact Shang. You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Shang traveled to Puerto Rico for our destination wedding this summer and did a FANTASTIC job!! We are incredibly happy with the pictures and the albums - they really capture the energy, happiness and emotions of the day as well as all the details. Shang is extremely accessible, organized, easy to work with, and flexible. It was a pleasure working with her again (she was also our engagement shoot and civil wedding photographer) and I would wholeheartedly recommend her to any couple who is looking for a superb and creative photojournalistic photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniel
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Shang did a wonderful job. She went above & beyond my expectations and greatly enhanced our wedding experience. Despite holding our celebration outside of Boston, she made the trip to Provincetown and spent the day with us. Since then she has stuck to a strict schedule, posting, proofing and re-posting our photos.
All this while being booked every weekend this summer!
The quality of the photos is extremely high, my wife and I haven't stopped hearing how great they all came out. Thanks Shang!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Shang photographed my wedding and engagement shoot in the spring of 2010, and we could not be happier with the results.

First of all, her photography style is vibrant, joyous, and artistic, and the photos she takes are top-notch. During our engagement shoot we arrived at our site just as an intense storm started. Although we had the choice to postpone the shoot, we decided to go for it during a break in the storm, and Shang busted out hundreds of photos in under an hour, when we had to stop because the storm returned. She captured our relationship and our personalities, and we were amazed by the resulting photos. We were nervous about getting photographed for an e-shoot, and she made it fun and relaxed. We received countless compliments on these photos as well.

She worked her super-skills at our wedding too. One thing that is impressive about Shang is how incredibly efficient she is at directing the posed photos that most people want at their wedding. She did like 50 combos of people in what seemed like 20 minutes, she is super organized and knows exactly what she is looking for. Personality-wise, Shang is a pleasure to work with. She is very friendly, very professional, and very communicative (she responds to emails incredibly quickly, so we always knew what was going on).

Overall, Shang is absolutely the best wedding photographer I could have imagined, I truly cannot say enough good things about her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathryn
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
The most important detail for me when planning my wedding was the photography. When looking at potential photographer's work I really wanted to see an artist at work. I wanted to see both creativity and skill shine through in the photos and that is exactly what I saw when I came upon Shang's site when searching local photographers.

Working with Shang was an absolute pleasure!

~She's very friendly and went out of her way to get to know us before our wedding so when we worked together on the Big day...it felt like we were old friends.

~I had a big wedding party (over 10) and Shang did great directing all of us but she also makes it fun :)

~I trusted Shang completely and just wanted her to capture what caught her eye...but I was amazed at all the details she caught that I never would have thought of.

~Shang made herself available to me for any questions/advice wedding related which was so sweet and very helpful.

~Very professional! Shang communicated with me regularly before the wedding and I knew she takes her job very seriously. Shang was always very punctual and prepared which is such a relief when you are a bride juggling many details but I never worried one bit about working with Shang.

~Most importantly, I loved the photos I got from Shang! They took my breath away when I first saw them. When I talk about my wedding with friends and family, most often they say "your photographer did such a great job! where did you find her?" We will cherish these photos forever!

Hiring Shang was the best decision I made when wedding planning. She's all you want and more: Professional, Talented, and Friendly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
moniquix
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Shang was our wedding photographer for our April 24, 2010 wedding. She was so professional, attentive, responsive and her work was just my style. She has a journalistic, artistic and realistic approach. After the wedding, so many guests complimented the pictures they saw on her website. I would recommend that anyone interested in a photographer contact Shang. She was also extremely reasonable in her price. Did I mention how sweet she is too? That is very important, especially when someone is so involved with such a personal and intimate day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie C.
Wedding:
10/11/2009
5.0/5.0
When I was looking for a wedding photographer I looked at lots of photographers' works and, regardless of price or level of experience, I was never impressed. Never saw anything that elicited more than a 'meh' from me. I stumbled upon Shang on craigslist and her photos were interesting, well-framed, well-shot, personal -- fantastic. In person, Shang was lots of fun and easy to work with. And the rate she charged for our fall 2009 wedding was very nearly a steal for the realm of wedding photography. If you're looking for a photographer, you must go to her website and look at the photos for yourself.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Shang is literally Superwoman.. She went to Harvard, she holds a full time job, AND she is the best photographer I've ever seen or worked with.

Shang captured my wedding this August 2009. When I started working with her, I was a bit nervous because I live all the way in Texas and my wedding was in Massachusetts. I didn't actually meet her until the wedding day but I honestly felt like I knew her beforehand because she truly wants to get to know you! She was great to work with because she will get back to you right away with any questions/concerns that you have and she even helped me plan my wedding day schedule to ensure that we had enough time to take the pictures (and this greatly reduced my stress as a bride).

I had already seen her portfolio and her amazing pictures so I was truly excited to work with her, but she went way above my expectations on the wedding day. First, her rates are very reasonable and she is willing to work with you to cater to your needs. On the wedding day she truly listened to our concerns and what pictures that we wanted to capture. The pictures came out absolutely amazing. I am not a very photogenic person and I am often not happy with photos of myself, but I look like a superstar!! She captured my husband and I (and our personalities) perfectly. Shang has amazing editing capabilities, she captures unique and fun angles, and she just has unique and fun ideas that make your pictures really stand out from other professional photos.

I truly felt like I made a friend this year and that she cared about us. She is very personable, kind, and she cares about her work. That shows with her photography because she gets to know your personality (and the group she's working with) to capture the event to reflect the true personality of the people. I could not be happier and I will cherish the wedding photos for the rest of my life.

I wish I didn't live in Texas so that I could work with Shang in the future when I have babies etc.....I'd love to have her do our engagement photos someday because we never got to do them :)

Love Cara and Ricky
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
6/23/2009
5.0/5.0
She was a wonderful person to work with. I'm a wedding photographer as well, and I appreciated how quickly she responded and how easy she made our choice. Her style of photography is gorgeous and we feel we got a lot for our money.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Having Shang Chen as our wedding photographer was one of the best decisions we made. We searched for a while for a photographer, and finding Shang was a blessing. She provides professional work and service at a very reasonable price. Her warm and relaxing personality is a unique quality in wedding vendors, and it left us at ease with every interaction. She smiled the whole time, and we even saw her boogying down as she was taking pictures on the dance floor.

Shang took photos of our wedding day and post-wedding brunch, and we are constantly looking at the pictures. They are truly amazing. She captured the simplest, but most beautiful moments and was able to portray the happiness that filled the room in a single photograph.

We couldn't be happier with Shang's work. We have recommended her to all of our friends and family for their photography needs - and will continue to do so!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lstanek
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
I found this hidden gem on Craigslist and feel like the luckiest bride ever!!! Shang Chen is one of Boston's most talented photographers! She shot both our engagement and wedding photo's this past May/June 2009. She is breaking in to the wedding photography business so her rates were amazingly reasonable. That was the initial reason we hired her! We were planning a wedding on a shoe string budget and we're shocked by the price most Boston wedding photographers were charging (upwards to $5000 for 3-4 hours). Luckily we found Shang on Craigslist and discovered this 5'2'' photo genius! Her work on her website speaks for itself. Not only did she amaze us and all of our friends and family with her phenomenal work and artistic talent, but she was also incredibly professional and a true pleasure to work with! I would recommend her to anyone without hesitation. She will be our "personal photographer" for the rest of our lives and hopefully document some of our future momentous occasions (she also does photo shoots for pregnancies, babies, family photo's, etc etc).

Shang will always remain an integral part of our wedding experience. We are so lucky to have found her when we did!!! I have a feeling that she will be one of Boston's most sough after photographer's in no time!!
Edit Remove
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1207631164436-dsc_0071
lauraeilzar
Wedding:
6/6/2008
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are pretty picky when it comes to the type of photography that we like. When we were engaged, we turned to Shang for our engagement pictures and we were VERY pleased! Shang was efficient during the photo shoot, not wasting time and trying to capture every moment. She also listened to what we wanted and worked with us to help make our engagement photos awesome! All of our friends gave her rave reviews and wanted to know who had taken our engagement pictures. I would whole-heartedly recommend her not only as a photographer, but also as an easy-to-work-with photographer. Those can be hard to find. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
I will preface this review on the basis that we were lucky enough to have 2 weddings. We had 2 very talented photographers and had different experiences working with them. Our review factors in some comparisons between the two.
When we found Shang's website, her pictures and style stood out -vibrant, high-quality, professional and captured life in her subjects. We felt she was the most talented of the 4-5 we researched in the Boston area. Once we booked her, she worked very closely with us and even had us complete a few questionnaires to get to know us better. We prepped for our engagement photo session and wedding with her over the phone/videochat and Shang was very thorough in explaining what to expect in the photo sessions. She also kindly offered to hold our engagement session in NYC where we live during a week she was visiting. She was always quick to respond and handled our contract professionally. In our opinion, Shang provides lots of direction when shooting, posing and asking us to channel certain emotions. This can be challenging and awkward at first, but Shang was always encouraging, positive and creative. In comparison, our other photographer was pretty hands-off and did not ask us many questions in preparation, gave us much less direction when shooting (however, this method worked well for us allowing us to go about the session without thinking too much.)
In terms of value, it's difficult to compare as Shang is based out of major cities where the price is more competitive. Our other photographer cost about half of Shang's rate which also already included a full album and complimentary video but is located in a smaller city abroad. We feel Shang's products are high-quality and competitive for the areas she's based in. Unfortunately, her album was out of our price range so we passed and can not comment on it.
The final photos were comparable between the two, both vivid beautiful, and captured the day beautifully.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Brookline, MA 02445 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shang Chen Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1254282379887-wwabout