220x220_1282852936556-weddingwire
Shannon Cunningham Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
12 Reviews
Address:
Austin, TX US 78731 (map)
Phone:
512-745-0572
Categories:
 
 
 
4.6 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(4.5/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.6/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.4/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.6/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bailey
Wedding:
2/22/2014
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We loved having Shannon as our photographer! She took our engagement pictures and wedding pictures and they turned out beautiful! Our engagement shoot was rained out but she didn't have a problem with changing the day to her next available spot. She is super nice, professional, and awesome at what she does!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1323142675013-jillmattengagement168
Jill
Wedding:
9/22/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Even if I racked my brain for hours, I would not be able to come up with a single negative thing to say about Shannon Cunningham Photography. I am SO happy I picked Shannon to be my wedding photographer. Our wedding (and engagement) photos are timeless and beautiful. So many of our friends have told us that our wedding and engagement photos are the best they have ever seen. Shannon worked with me to pick some great locations for our engagement photos. Our first attempt at engagement photos was a very rainy, dreary day in Austin, and I was really bummed because I am definitely not a rain person (the humidity makes my hair turn into a giant frizz ball). After spending an hour taking some rainy pictures, Shannon let us reschedule for a nicer (sunnier) day. For our wedding photos, Shannon made sure we got all the shots we wanted. She turned around our photos within six weeks, and sent us a preview slideshow of our photos just a couple weeks after the wedding. She even Instagram'd a few photos from our wedding, which was great because we were able to look at them while we were waiting to leave on our honeymoon the next day. Shannon is just really sweet and genuine, and a very talented and professional photographer. Thanks for everything!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicki
Wedding:
5/19/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Shannon was great! From beginning to end she provided excellent service. She had a full day in multiple locations and handled it like a pro. We love our pictures and are thankful to have them to remember this special day. Thank you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kriste
Wedding:
5/19/2012
 
4.6 out of 5.0
Shannon was the perfect photographer for Brad and I. We were looking for nice, low maintenance and HAPPY vendors and she was all that we asked for. Not only was she accommodating and joyful but the pictures speak to her amazing talent.

I have recommended her services to many of my friends in Austin and am excited to see her continued success. A big thank you to Shannon for helping us celebrate our big day -- we are so happy with all of the captured memories!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AustinBride
Wedding:
12/10/2011
 
0.8 out of 5.0
I am writing this to inform others that I had a very negative experience with a photographer in the Austin, Texas area while trying to plan my recent wedding. Having lived in Austin for 7+ years, I know this photographer is well-known in our region, however, I do not feel that this vendor demonstrates the core values and beliefs that a professional wedding photographer should embody. For this reason, I would like to share my experience with you:

My fiancé and I booked our wedding photography services with Shannon Cunningham in January of 2011 for our December 10, 2011 wedding. Upon our initial meeting, Shannon and I got along very well, and I was excited to be working with a photographer whom I had “blog-followed” for years! I attempted to e-mail Shannon 2 months later in March to set-up my bridal portrait shoot for October. While I admit this was far in advance, I needed to request time off from work and my Mom needed to arrange travel into Austin from Houston. After receiving a short response from Shannon Cunningham, I e-mailed her again that month and received no response. I e-mailed her again in May (no response) and again in June. I finally received a response in June and I quickly responded to her again. No response was received from this point forward.

After having a heart-to-heart with my fiancé, we decided that we were not comfortable spending a large portion of our budget on a vendor who would not respond to us in a timely manner. I contacted Shannon Cunningham in August to let her know that we would no longer be working with her due to Shannon’s poor communication, and to see if we would be able to recoup any portion of our substantial deposit back. Shannon was unprofessional (in my opinion) at this point and demanded to know if we could just “not afford her photography skills” anymore and insinuated that it was not her fault that we could no longer afford her services. This was not the issue – my fiancé and I simply were uncomfortable working with someone who would not respond back to us after repeated attempts to contact her. In the end, we canceled our contract with Shannon Cunningham and booked the services of a young, up-and-coming photographer from the Houston area.

At this time, we have not received our deposit back from Shannon Cunningham, nor do I think we ever will. She threatened to sue me for libel if I left online reviews regarding my experience with her. Please take to heart that what I am telling you is the full truth – there are no exaggerations contained in this review. I simply wished to inform you that this particular vendor does not (in my opinion) embody grace, kindness, or goodness as demonstrated with our experience with her.
Services Used: Photography
Shannon Cunningham Photography responded with the following comments:

I just want to briefly respond to Maegan’s review above. Obviously, no one wants a negative review or an unhappy client. It is always my goal to provide my clients with a good experience and beautiful photographs. I believe that I achieve that goal most all of the time.

Maegan obviously feels she didn’t have a good experience with me and that is her right, but to say that she is telling the full truth, bears no responsibility for this situation and is not exaggerating at all is totally false. This review is not reflective of my company as you can see by my other reviews.

With regard to communication, Maegan and I had firm date on the calendar for her bridal portraits far in advance of the date. We had talked briefly about locations and ideas and as the date approached I would have firmed up the details with her. I believed that I had responded to all of her emails and my advice to any client not receiving an email back from a vendor would be to call them. Emails get lost in spam filters and sometimes just don’t get delivered. A simple phone call would have easily smoothed this over.

I also want to address Maegan’s claim about her deposit. A non-refundable fee is standard in the wedding industry as we turn away all other business for the contracted date. I did offer to return her fee if I could rebook her date, but I needed her to send me a cancellation notice in writing to release me from the contract.

Beginning in late August, I sent Maegan cancellation notices to sign via certified mail. I had to send three before she sent one back. I could not actively market her wedding date until I was released from the contract. I was legally obligated to show up to her wedding. Her wedding date was December 10th and she did not return the cancellation letter until late November. Unfortunately, because of her delay in returning the letter, I couldn’t rebook her date.

Finally, I want to stress strongly that I never threatened to sue Maegan for libel if she wrote a negative review of my company. This is a complete fabrication on her part.

In fact, it was quite the other way around. She told me that if I wouldn’t refund her deposit immediately that she would take to social media and the internet to damage my company’s reputation.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/17/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
It is hard to sum up in words how talented Shannon is. Her photos are breathtaking and she flawlessly captures raw emotion that when you look at the photo time and time again it takes you right back to the feeling of that moment. I could go on and on about Shannon’s talent but what we also found important in our hiring decision was how likeable she is… witty, funny, punctual, professional, PATIENT and classy. Shannon is a true artist. So likeable that you don’t even notice she is taking pictures. After the wedding, Shannon sent us a video of our wedding that was a collection of photos that summed up the whole night perfectly. It was unexpected and a fabulous surprise. We cannot wait to book future sessions with Shannon as we grow our family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aurelie
Wedding:
7/31/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Amazing service and beautiful photography. We couldn't have asked for a more professional photographer for our wedding. Shannon had wonderful ideas and managed to keep my whole family from over controlling our wedding day. She also brought in our personalities, spirit and quirks that shone through the photos. I would recommend her to anyone looking for a unique and chic approach to engagement and wedding photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jarrod
Wedding:
7/31/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Shannon was absolutely amazing! We were so happy with the whole experience with her, and loved the final product she provided for us. She was able to capture the emotion my wife and I shared that day, and I can't thank her enough for that. I would highly recommend Shannon to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cdienst
Wedding:
6/19/2010
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Shannon was great to work with and can take fantastic photos! She guides so you aren't lost on how to pose. She showed up early and always responded to my emails quickly! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clare
Wedding:
4/10/2010
 
4.5 out of 5.0
Shannon took amazing, beautiful, gorgeous, and downright perfect engagement portraits for us! Our portraits didn't look posed or fake; you can really see the couple's personality and love for each other in all of the portraits on her blog.
She was very willing to try out new things when I came to her with the idea to do our portraits at our favorite Austin dog park at dawn. She didn't even flinch when our two big Labs jumped all over her and her expensive camera equipment! She was also very understanding when I rescheduled our portrait about 12 hours before.
Compared to some of the other Austin photographers I looked at, her prices are on the higher side, but the quality of pictures is far beyond the others.
Services Used: Photography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shannon Cunningham Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo