130x130_sq_1375729924060-couple-on-beach-shell

Shell Island Resort

Wrightsville Beach , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2700 North Lumina Avenue
Wrightsville Beach, NC US 28480 (map)

PHONE

910-256-8696

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

If you've always dreamed of saying your I do's right on the beach, look
no further than Shell Island Resort for all of your wedding and
reception needs. We have the only... Read more
If you've always dreamed of saying your I do's right on the beach, look
no further than Shell Island Resort for all of your wedding and
reception needs. We have the only ocean view ballroom with a private
oceanfront patio which accommodates up to 250 people. Nowhere else can
you have a beach ceremony and walk right inside for your reception
without losing the spectacular views. Our full service resort has 169 oceanfront suites, all with private balconies and spectacular views for your out of town guests. Among breathtaking scenery on North Carolina's best beach, a wedding at
Shell Island Resort is the perfect way to begin your new life together.
With a professional catering and wedding coordinator dedicated to your
event, Shell Island Resort can truly make your wedding day an
unforgettable one. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1375729985528-72-sunrise
130x130_sq_1375730001828-72-beachview
130x130_sq_1375730029116-wedding-set-up-organge-beach-shell
130x130_sq_1375730060505-beach-chairs-ceremony-no-photo-shell
130x130_sq_1375730073434-bridal-party-shell-no-photographer
130x130_sq_1375730087328-no-photographr-table-setting-shell
130x130_sq_1375730111539-72-ceremony-on-beach-shell
130x130_sq_1375730124934-table-setting-shell-island
130x130_sq_1375730138068-outside-tall-table-shell-island
130x130_sq_1375730156720-beach-set-up-side-shell-island
130x130_sq_1375730171238-beach-set-up-far-away-shell
130x130_sq_1375730190188-checker-table-banquet-shell-island
130x130_sq_1375730042705-72-cake-window-shell
130x130_sq_1375730099557-blue-wedding-cake-shell
130x130_sq_1375730206975-cake-close-up-window-shell
130x130_sq_1375730226894-table-set-up-blue-shell
130x130_sq_1375730245764-wedding-set-up-organge-beach-shell
130x130_sq_1375730258725-72-beachview

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1986
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Hotel, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Coastal, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of suites
154
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
200
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
25
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
7/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Sasha was wonderful. I can't imagine what we would have done without her. George and the rest of the staff were always at hand. Everyone at the resort had a smile on their face. Sasha and George went above and beyond to make this dream come true. 5 stars aren't enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MARY ANN
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.8/5.0
MEREDITH AND HER STAFF WERE SO PROFESSIONAL.....OUR GUESTS SAID IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST WEDDINGS THEY HAD EVER BEEN TO....AS PARENTS OF THE BRIDE WE TRULY AGREED !!!!!!!! WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brian
Wedding:
6/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Meredith and the staff at Shell Island were fantastic to work with and made everything very easy. Great venue for our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacie
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.9/5.0
There are not enough words to thank Meredith Swicegood, George and the entire staff at Shell Island Resort - Wrightsville Beach, NC for their professional expertise in helping plan and carry through our out of town Beach Wedding and Reception. We also had reserved room accommodations for wedding party guests at Shell Island and were very pleased with the service. The weather was absolutely perfect and the entire beach ceremony/reception were over and beyond our dream expectations. Thank you Shell Island for being a part of our special day! We highly recommend Shell Island for your dream Beach Wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
Overall, I loved Shell Island for our wedding. The hotel and beach is beautiful, perfect place for a beach wedding, our pictures were phenomenal. The rooms are nice and our guests enjoyed staying there and you get a suite the night of complimentary when you book with them which is also a nice perk and a good deal. We loved our food and all our guests raved about it. Communication could have been a little better with the coordinator though. Before we purchased our sky lanterns we called and made sure we could use them on the beach after the reception and we got the okay on it so we ordered them. Well day of our coordinator was trying to convince us not to use them because they almost caught the dunes on fire. We agreed to do less than planned only to find out later that night from the staff that the metal from them is considered littering and we would have never been able to use them. So that was a waste of money after getting the green light on it. So just know to NOT DO SKY LANTERNS. Also, no one told us about where our top tier of our cake went and didn't give it to us when we checked out but luckily we were staying a few extra days somewhere else close and were able to come back and get it after calling them two days later to see if they had it. We also bought a bunch of paper lanterns and they ended up only setting up about half of them. The reception space otherwise was set up beautifully. We also had to set up our ceremony space on our own besides the chairs which I wasn't aware of so I had to designate that to a family member last minute. But when we had a issue with our DJ, Meredith the coordinator, did try hard to help us out and see if she could find someone to replace him and if not she said she would make sure to keep him straight day of which I appreciated. She did work hard to help us out and answer all of our questions and with us being out of towners she was helpful. Overall, I would still chose them again if I had the choice
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.8/5.0
GREAT place to have a beach wedding! They took care of everything- decorating, food, the actual beach ceremony- Meredith and Corey were great to work with and calmed my nerves from the moment we got there. We had lots of family and friends in from out of town, most of which stayed at the hotel so it was a great weekend. The bar staff at the hotel bar were very accommodating and stayed open late for us both Fri and Sat nights. We also had our rehearsal dinner there on Fri which was great as well. Just make sure your guests understand that the discounted block of rooms ends a month before the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Meredith was beyond helpful! she was quick to respond to any questions leading up to the big day. Unlike most places, she was present for the rehearsal, ceremony and at the reception to make sure everything was in place. George and his team were very professional and provided excellent service throughout the reception. The banquet room was well kept. They allow you to bring in as much décor as you need, without any restrictions. The beach site is clean, and private. the arbor and chairs are set up an hour or so before the ceremony. The staff at the Resort are very friendly and hospitality is clearly a part of the culture they promote. The food was excellent. We had a buffet and cocktail hour. My guests raved about the taste, quality and how well it was prepared. the presentation of the fruit display and crudité was beautiful. I work in this industry, and Shell Island is indeed on point, and exceeded my high expectations.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Meredith Swicegood and her staff were exceptional from the start to the finish for my daughter's wedding. From the moment my guests and I checked in until we all checked out, we lacked for nothing!!! Shell Island is the perfect venue for a destination wedding! The staff takes care of everything!!! The rooms are beautiful, the beach is exceptional and the food is 5 star!!! I would like to thank again, Meredith Swicegood, her assistant Corey, George, Helen Gainer at the front desk, Shannon and Chris in the restaurant for a job well done!! You made this a perfect wedding weekend!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
4/24/2014
4.8/5.0
Meredith and the catering staff made everything so easy. All I had to do was show up with our decorations for the reception and they made it happen. It was a beautiful day that was very stress free.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristine
Wedding:
8/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Dear Shell Island,

Meredith is the most flexible person I have ever worked with. She is professional and friendly and makes everything very easy. She will always be remembered for making my life and wedding ABSOLUTELY AMAZING AND PERFECT!!!!

Thank you so much!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.5/5.0
We had a great experience with Shell Island! Meredith was very helpful and enthusiastic throughout the planning process and George and the rest of the staff were great the night of the wedding. Shell Island had many different options in terms of food, drink, decorations, use of space, etc. and we were really able to create the wedding we wanted. On the night of the wedding, everything went smoothly and I didn't have to worry about anything because I knew that the staff was working hard behind the scenes. I would definitely recommend Shell Island for a reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
8/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Very, very pleased with the staff and how our wedding turned out! Very helpful and made our day so special!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.8/5.0
Meredith Swicegood was wonderful to have as our wedding coordinator. My husband and I are not from the area, so we relied primarily on Meredith's recommendations for other vendors. I was pleased with all, especially Pastor Skip Corbett! I could not have been happier with the way my wedding day turned out! The weather was perfect and everything was taken care of for us. We did not have to set up for the reception or the ceremony....we were able to relax and enjoy the day. Meredith and her staff were very kind and helpful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.8/5.0
We recently got married at Shell Island Resort and the planning process with Meredith was wonderful! She even had her first baby through the planning, but made sure that her co-worker, Cory, took over in her absence. Meredith and Cory made everything as smooth as possible, and responded to emails and phone calls quickly. As we got closer to the wedding we kept changing our mind on if we were going to use the extra ballroom or not, and in the end we decided to. Meredith explained how the reception was going to work with that extra room, and painted a picture of how the whole evening would go. She was there every step of the way, and helped us out when our pastor was late for the rehearsal (she thought it started 2 hours later). She was there when I came down to the lobby to walk down the aisle, and helped with our crazy wedding party. George was amazing too, and kept the evening running well! Also, the two bartenders working were great! There was never a line, and we had a lot of drinkers! You can't go wrong with an oceanfront ballroom.
The only negative had nothing to do with the actual wedding, but the front desk. I spent time making hotel welcome bags for our guests, that had traveled from NY, PA, CA, among other places, and they didn't hand them out! It was the least we could do for our guests for traveling so far, and I was really disappointed that they weren't being handed out. I also had many guests say staff that the front desk could be quite rude (except for Brice, who was very helpful). It really left a sour taste in our mouth, and stinks to experience that when the whole time we were dealing with such professional and nice people from Shell Island. Despite the hiccup with the front desk, I would definitely recommend Shell Island to have your wedding at. Many of the other vendors have worked with Shell Island many times, so there is a sense of relief that the communication on our wedding day would go smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri
Wedding:
5/1/2013
5.0/5.0
What a FABULOUS experience! Meredith Swicegood was a dream to work with! She can resolve any issue with ease and finesse and she has a wonderful personality! The entire staff was extremely accommodating. They go above and beyond to make their guests happy. We had our wedding on the beach at the Shell Island Resort and our reception inside the ballroom afterwards. The food was absolutely delicious! My husband and I invited our officiators to our reception and they told us that the food was some of the best they had eaten, and they do a lot of weddings! George, our maître d', was fabulous. He took care of every detail in the dining area. My husband and I have so many good memories of our experience at Shell Island Resort that we intend to return there again and again! I recommend Shell Island Resort for anyone planning a beachfront event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
From day one, Shell Island went out of their way to make our wedding one of the best. From Meredith, our wedding coordinator all the way down to the bell hops, their service was exceptional. Meredith was absolutely amazing to work with. Every little thing we needed, she was there and ready to help us out, even through a pregnancy! The catering manager was George and he did a phenomenal job. He insured everything went perfect with not just the food, but every little detail. Honestly, words can express how happy we were with how our wedding turned out and we would HIGHLY recommend Shell Island to anyone who is considering getting married on the beach.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jesse
Wedding:
4/13/2013
0.0/5.0
We were rather disappointed. While friendly and responsive, Meredith didn't really deliver on wedding day. The food we got wasn't at all like what we ordered (one entree turned out to be strips of grey overcooked beef and another was missing altogether), we paid for a 2nd bartender that we didn't receive (leading to a >20 minute wait at the bar) and we were told we would have premium liquor at the open bar (we had Aristocrat).
It turns out the premium liquor was being served (by our 2nd bartender) at a fraternity/sorority event across the hall. Nobody informed us that a few dozen wasted college students would be partying next door; I found out when I noticed that our guests were bringing their gifts into the ballroom. When I went outside I saw loud drunk students in the halls, the lobby, on the patio outside our ballroom and vomiting in the bathrooms. One even wrote "Get some!" on our wedding keepsake, rendering it useless. When I stepped back inside I saw that some of these students were helping themselves to our open bar. This became a constant problem; I spent about half of my wedding reception acting as bouncer. My wife noticed that cash donations were missing at the end of the reception so our first conversation as husband and wife revolved around the services that were paid for, agreed upon, and not provided as well as the embarrassingly raucous college students next door who probably stole from us.
When we confronted Meredith about the missing services the next day she replied that she thought we had removed them to save money (although she conceded that the bartender "should have brought out" the good liquor). This excuse rang hollow as we originally purchased enough to bring us right to the minimum required to rent the room and removing anything would not have changed our price.
We weren't very happy with our "honeymoon suite" either: no toilet paper, broken water heater and construction noise in the room above ours at 8AM. The beach is nice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
4/6/2013
3.5/5.0
Overall my day was perfect, but hit a couple of bumps leading up to the big day. I thought communication would have been better. I was also a bit surprised by their food tasting- wish we could have tried more than the three entrees to get a better idea of what we wanted since we were doing a three entree buffet. They had a bunch of items to choose from though and the food turned out well.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony on the beach and our reception at Shell Island. Meredith Swicegood, the wedding coordinator, was available to answer the many questions I had. She took the image of my wedding and made it happen. George, the banquet captain, kept our reception moving and even gathered all of our personal belongings at the end of the night and took them up to my parents room so we did not have to worry about anything. It is a beautiful location with service that cannot be beat! We received so many compliments and would absolutely recommend Shell Island to everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
9/21/2012
4.8/5.0
I have to say that Meredith, the hotel planner made the day go by flawlessly. Her and her staff were there to fill our every need. The only downside to this venue was the reception room, it has a couple of pilars that seem likee they might get in the way but once you are there you hardly notice them. She rallied the guest from the beach into the reception and her staff waited on us hand and foot getting us food and drinks. They do a great job of staying the in background and when it was time to clean up they put everything onto a dolly for us to take back to our room or store it in another room for safe keeping for the night. The hotel bar was willing to stay open for us until two to allow the bridal party and me and my wife time to relax and chill out. I HIGHLY recommend this site for your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tj
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.6/5.0
The on-site wedding coordinator was fabulous- extremely responsive and helpful throughout the entire process. Many things can be personalized but there are some aspects of the reception venue that are standard and cannot be fully customized. Still, the venue is beautiful and elegant for a beach wedding. Only complaint regarding the venue was the disorganization and miscommunication from the hotel front desk staff throughout the room block, reservation, and guest check-in process.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim0736
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The Shell Island resort was amazing. I was a moved bride from the Sheraton Atlantic beach. I only had 4 months to put a whole new wedding together. I met with Meredith at the Shell Island and she and her staff were unbelievable. They set me up with numerous vendors in the area since I was coming from Minnesota. She was attentive to everything I needed and helped me with numerous ideas and ways to make my night more special. She coordinated everything from my ceremony to my reception with me and was more helpful then I could ask for. I decided to have a buffet for my reception and had their new amazing chef host an italian, southern and seafood buffet. Everything was out of this world. There were no complaints at all about the food and service. The resort is located on a beautiful part of the ocean and we were able to have our ceremony right outside. Every guest that stayed at the resort was given a discount rate and every room is a suite with some even having a full kitchen. This place is top notch in everything they do and I would highly recommend having your event there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wendy
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.8/5.0
We held our wedding ceremony on the beach outside of the resort. Most of our family stayed at the resort for the wedding weekend.

Service was awesome. From the moment we parked in front of the hotel, George the bellman was on it...made our stay really special. Even helped our family and guests... Service from the bellstaff, restaurant, front desk, etc. was fantastic. Everyone made an extra effort to ensure you were enjoying your stay..

Restaurant prices were fairly reasonable..better than expected.
Bartenders/staff..awesome! Fun and attentive.....

The room was not as large as I expected (based on website pics). The views and location more than made up for it!

Pools were clean and well kept.
Beach access was awesome...We stayed during beautiful weather.. and beach was not crowded at all!

I am looking forward to returning on our First Anniversary!

Thanks to Shell Island staff for making our wedding weekend so wonderful...
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2700 North Lumina Avenue, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shell Island Resort
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1375729924060-couple-on-beach-shell