130x130_sq_1186095977984-photo7

Shenandoah Mill

Gilbert , AZ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1359 S. Gilbert Rd
Gilbert, AZ US 85233 (map)

PHONE

480-855-0099

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hi, we are a unique venue that offers a romantic setting among a country east coast feel. The building came from Virginia and relocated in Gilbert. Originally built in 1842. Please come... Read more
Hi, we are a unique venue that offers a romantic setting among a country east coast feel. The building came from Virginia and relocated in Gilbert. Originally built in 1842. Please come feel the charm of the Shenandoah Valley. We will be pleased to give you a private tour, to see why we are a top notch facility. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1186092190784-photo7
130x130_sq_1186096274265-dsc_0227
130x130_sq_1186096494421-dscn1566
130x130_sq_1186096522578-dscn1580
130x130_sq_1214759118198-smp_9
130x130_sq_1214759142053-smp_0458
130x130_sq_1235353586912-img_0401
130x130_sq_1235353778896-smp_00023
130x130_sq_1235353839615-smp_0323
130x130_sq_1235353890412-smp_33

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2000
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Farm / Barn, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Devon
Wedding:
1/25/2014
5.0/5.0
The mill was outstanding. It made our large wedding feel very intimate. It is a beautiful place for a rustic style.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
1/11/2014
4.8/5.0
We had a BEAUTIFUL wedding at Shenandoah Mill. The wedding itself actually could not have gone better. It was perfect in every aspect! All the details we discussed with Patrick came together just the way we had imagined. Patrick definitely has a different communication style, but I don't think it's a bad thing. He is very laid back and sometimes it can feel like he is not taking your comments/plans seriously. But I can guarantee you he does. He is fast to respond to emails and will answer any questions you have. He is also an EXCELLENT DJ! Very, very good at keeping the crowd energized and on the dance floor. All our wedding guests are still talking about how fun and absolutely beautiful our wedding was. Thank you SO much Patrick and family for helping make our wedding day the best day of our lives!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
1/2/2014
4.7/5.0
I read the reviews before meeting Patrick and I admit, I was a little weary. But the venue is absolutely stunning and definitely fit our personalities and the vibe we wanted for our wedding. I read some people complaining about Patrick’s professionalism, but to be honest – I didn’t mind his laid back approach. He’s definitely not in your face or coddling you through the planning process. He’s very quick to respond to e-mails, but does it over his phone so his answers are a little short. But I’ll take quick responses over long-winded, day late answers! Once you finally meet with him or one of the venue owners for the wedding day planning, they’re very good! They had suggestions and were very good with accommodating for our inflating guest count.

I mainly interacted with Patrick and I thought he was good. I had to adjust my communication style, but I was fine with that. My husband had some interaction with the owners the day of the wedding and said they were trying to help, but he didn’t need it. They had a few interesting questions about some items we had, but it was cleared up.

One thing that was misleading was that on their Web site it said that the price included patio heaters, but the owner told me during the planning process that there was an additional charge to use them.

Overall, we had a great wedding and all our guests were impressed with the venue! Thanks Patrick!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.5/5.0
Location was great. Ample parking in back. Photographer, Micah, was a pleasure to work with, but The D.J, Patrick, was the definite downside. When I attempted to speak to him he walked away. He came across as arrogant, and several of my guests complained after the wedding that there was too much of the D.J talking and not enough music played to dance.

If you wish to use this venue, hire the photographer, she's great. I wouldn't recommend the D.J.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashlyn
Wedding:
11/29/2013
3.4/5.0
The venue is beautiful and was perfect for the type of wedding I wanted. However working with Patrick was not as great as the venue. His parents, the owners, were great but most of the business is conducted through him. Not the most friendly, professional or enjoyable person to work with. Just be on your toes and make sure to documents all payments for your records.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taryn
Wedding:
11/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Shenandoah Mill was the perfect place for my lower budget wedding. It had a beautiful outdoor area for the ceremony and a picture-perfect rustic interior for the reception. I used their DJ service as well and it came together beautifully! The wedding looked like a million bucks, but was within my price-range. Glad I chose this venue. :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beebe
Wedding:
11/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow! This place was the complete package, no joke! The place itself had a historical feel to it, words cant even describe... it really made my day special! Even my in-laws were impressed and thats not easy to do! I especially loved working with Patrick, he was very insightful, and patient with all my demands, lol! It wouldn't have worked without him. Not to mention how awesome the photographer, Micah was! I believe that she is Patrick's sister! Her service was offered with the package, and she was fantastic as well, my pictures turned out flawless! They even had this cool thing called a photobooth? I had no idea things like that existed, lol... they had everything!! They just made my day so spectacular, I recommend this place over any place else!! Thanks again, Patrick, Micah, you guys are thee absolute best!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
11/10/2013
5.0/5.0
This was the BEST decision I've ever made, well as far as Wedding venues is concerned, haha! The cleanliness, the feel, the style, all of it was top of the line. The owner, Patrick Riedlinger was so pleasant and interested in knowing what I wanted, and how I wanted my wedding day to play out, I wouldn't change a thing! This truly is the best place for the ambiance and overall quality, and you can't beat the price for what you get! Thanks, Patrick, Shenandoah Mill, I'll be sendin' all my girls your way!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Everyone at Shenandoah Mill was pleasant and easy to work with. Patrick and his family made our special day everything we could have hoped for! They were very accommodating of my many (and very detailed) questions when we were deciding to book with them, and they never made us feel "cheap" for asking questions about pricing, adjustments to their packages, etc. I was convinced that I could consolidate my own vendors at a more affordable cost than their inclusive packages, but after weeks of calling around to get quotes and information from caterers, photographers, and florists, I quickly found out that I was mistaken. After I gave in, I realized their inclusive packages make everything so easy and are actually a bargain for the quality of services you receive! We have received so many compliments on how fun and well organized our wedding was and how amazing DJ Patrick was and his photo booth tech Spencer. Patrick's sister Micah provided an amazing photographs and book for us to hold on to for a lifetime. We are so happy we had such a wonderful venue to celebrate our wedding at - thank you! Linda & Steve
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Destini
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
This place was perfect. We had a morning wedding and the light in the mill made for gorgeous clear photos. The staff is great, the owners are wonderful. I really cannot say enough to justify how happy I am I chose The Mill as our venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danae
Wedding:
9/26/2013
4.1/5.0
This venue is a lot large in person and more beautiful then what the pictures show. I was blown away at just how gorgeous it was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1352342209550-img0216
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/6/2013
5.0/5.0
beautiful venue! great price. This was what I imaged our wedding would be like. Thank you patrick!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Over all beautiful venue and great staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/9/2012
2.7/5.0
This is a gorgeous place to have a wedding and reception, but do not expect any help or courtesy from the person who runs the place (Patrick). He is very to the point and just interested in getting your money, he does not care at all about the details or answering questions you may have. Also he will not remember who you are no matter how many times you talk...even if you arrange a meeting to talk with him he won't know who you are. Basically, pretty place but make sure you do not expect anything from the person who runs the place. When I say I recommend this place I am ONLY referring to the venue not the people who "help"
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/4/2012
5.0/5.0
The owners were so helpful and easy to work with. They available at all times for any of my questions or concerns. They are one of the reasons my daughter was able to have a beautiful wedding at a very affordable price. All my quests kept telling me how they loved they venue and how beautiful it was. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ShannahRiley
Wedding:
4/20/2012
4.5/5.0
Absolutely AMAZING!! This place is affordable and elegant. If you love a rustic venue look no further!!! We could not have been more pleased with the way everything turned out and could not have picked a better place to have our special day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
4/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Let me start by saying that this venue is amazing, and so very authentic. It's got a beautiful water wheel with very unique mill stones. But wait till you see the landscaping, and the total transformation of the beautiful lighting on the walkways. The Shenandoah Mill staff was great and family oriented. I can't forget that they were by far the most reasonable venue we had looked at. Thanks Shenandoah Mill for making our night one to remember!
Nick and Christy
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittney
Wedding:
3/19/2012
3.9/5.0
Loved the venue and the flexibility (can bring in any outside vendors that you want) however patrick the owners son, who you will do all of your reservations through, was very unatentive and was really only concerned with his DJ buisness. His dad and mom however were great and helpful. would recomend the venue but would also give a fore warning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chrissieinaz
Wedding:
11/22/2011
5.0/5.0
The Mill was a beautiful place to have our weekday wedding. Staff was very flexible and made us very happy. Very clean and well maintained venue and prices are reasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1317596221000-dsc0340
Megan
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Originally, we were going to have our reception in our back yard, but due to weather, had to make a last minute change. These guys bent over backwards and didn't even over charge us like they easily could have. This place has the whole package = less stress for you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bengarcia21691
Wedding:
10/21/2011
4.6/5.0
This venue is beautiful, the only thing I might warn you about them, is wedding rehearsal time, they are not that flexible. Everything else was great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.7/5.0
We recently had our wedding at Shenandoah Mill in Gilbert. I liked it initially, because we could use outside vendors for food, flowers, etc. This option helped us keep our cost down for the wedding. The price for the day was a little high, and we had to payfor extra hours so that we would have enough time to decorate everything..but, the place is beautiful and everything looked great! All of our guests loved the venue too. There was pleanty of room for our 150 guests, inside and out. Patrick was great, quick to respond to my texts and emails, and he is a great DJ. He kept everyone dancing and having fun throughout the night. He was flexible with our schedule, as we ran a little late starting the ceremony, and when we mixed up our nightly "events", he went with it and was great!! I gave him song requests and artists we liked, and he didnt play one crappy song all night. We purchased their photobooth for the night too, and his brother was the attendant, whom was awesome as well. Guests LOVED the photobooth and it kept everyone entertained! Totally worth the $$, which, was actually way cheaper then other companies around Phoenix area. Its a great, beautiful, big venue, but if you choose another place, you can still hire Patrick as your DJ and hire the photobooth as well! Highly recommend both!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
3/4/2011
5.0/5.0
We wanted a small and elegant wedding that reflected our individuality. Patrick and the team at Shenandoah Mill went above and beyond to make our wedding just that. The venue itself is beautiful and so well maintained. The setting can be reconfigured to suit any theme from county to chic. The facilities make for excellent photographs that preserve your memories of your special day. We selected one of the "packages" that ShenandoahMill offers and then were able to upgrade it to fit exactly what we dreamed of. On the day of the wedding staff at Shenandoah Mill did everything possible to ensure that our day was perfect. Music, flowers, food and hosting the event were absolutely spot on with our wishes. I have rcommended this venue to many people looking for a place that is "special". THe folks a Shenandoah Mill really care!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stell Wedding
Wedding:
11/27/2010
0.3/5.0
Shenandoah Mill was disappointing. Look elsewhere!

My mom is an interior decorator and has a great eye for potential. She saw just that in Shenandoah Mill. When we found out that we could use our own vendors, it seemed like the place was perfect. The price seemed really high for what was provided but we were assured it was worth it by Patrick. I was too excited during the first meeting (which took place during an open house event) to notice the lack of professionalism exhibited by those whom we met with but it soon became apparent throughout our later dealings.

When we asked about how much time we would have for setting up, the answer was foggy. Then Patrick said that we would have to pay $400 per hour extra for decorating. With an already high price for just a venue this was outrageous. With a lot of persuasion, we convinced him to let us decorate outside as long as we wanted but we would only have an hour inside previous to the wedding. Needless to say, my mom gathered as many friends and family to help decorate with such a short amount of time to do it in. There were many pointless complaints to my mom from the owners on the day of the wedding during set up.

Any questions I had were usually left unclear or unanswered; Questions that should have been readily answered such as, “How much are the chair covers for the outdoor chairs?” Instead of a price I got, “I would have to call around & see.” It almost seemed like he expected me to order them without even knowing the price & just pay whatever for it later. Don’t they know that the budget comes first!

***Note: If you put up a negative post about Shenandoah Mills, they will dispute it OVER TWO YEARS LATER to save face. (How convenient that all the negative posts besides mine were deleted.) In order to prove the authenticity of your post, you must provide a copy of your contract or another proof of money handled between you and them. Just another great business practice of Shenandoah Mills.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lauren
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.6/5.0
Great spot for our wedding. A little expensive for just renting the venue, tables and chairs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CNColebeck
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
First off, I would like to say how much we appreciate all the help that Patrick gave to us planning our wedding. My husband and I have very different schedules and he was willing to meet with us at odd hours to go over our setup. The venue is beautiful and clean. The whole staff makes you feel special and sets everything up just like you dream. We loved the natural setting inside and out and didn't need much decoration. We would recommend this venue to anyone that doesn't need room for over 100 guests. Very intimate inside and you still have the patio and the grounds to move about. I can't stress enough how smoothly everything went and for a bride, a stress FREE day is a blessing! Thank you again. Words are not enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tamrn02
Wedding:
3/17/2009
5.0/5.0
I guess Patrick has come along way since the other reviews because I had none of these issues. We had come to look at the venue on more than one occasion, we were offered the extras, although had all our own. Not many places allow you to bring all your own vendors. They set up beautifully (with tables, chairs, outdoor chairs, all included) and cleaned up afterward. They had a woman (sorry I forgot your name) there during the whole event if you needed anything extra, or help with things (like she helped our photographer). The facility is beautiful. The girls dressing area is PERFECT, with 3 way mirror, bathroom, makeup dressing table, hangers to hang dresses, etc. The kitchen is functionable. the tables are set up nicely, with seperate tables for buffet, cake, wedding party and gifts. The porches for people to enjoy the beautiful weather are great, and the outdoor area for the wedding is perfect setting in the back so afternoon weddings are not directly in the sun. The parking is LARGE! and they have room on the side to park cars to load items such as the bar or food. All in all this is a perfectly priced venue and a perfect place to have a wedding. We as well got a great deal on price as our event was during the week.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsjeffers
Wedding:
12/18/2007
4.8/5.0
They were very nice and affordable. They answered all my questions, and gave me a big discount since my wedding was on a weekday.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AZbride25
Wedding:
3/16/2007
1.4/5.0
Apparently Patrick is the owner's son, but he handled all the business at my wedding. The first problem was that he made it very clear that he was too busy to let us take tours of the facility or discuss different options for decorating and food. In all of our dealings, he was cold and indifferent, even to the point of throwing a pen towards me across a table when we signed the final agreement. (This was after we had paid the $500 non-refundable down payment.)

There were many options for decorating the tables, but this was only made clear to me the day of the wedding when I was bringing in my own vases for the flowers. He decided to tell me then that he had vases and I could have used them if I had asked. (How was I supposed to know?)

He also talked a lot about a "tulle" package that the brides before me and after me had ordered, and he told me that he would give it to me at a discounted price since it would be already set up. When I refused the offer, he brought it up every time we spoke after, lowering the price each time, but still not yielding to my argument, which was that we had already spent $3,000 and were at the end of our decorating budget. If it had been a hassle for him to take it down and put it back up, I would have gladly let him leave it up, and I offered that to him, but he told me I couldn't have the extras for free.

Due to our budget concerns, we were having friends do all of our extras, (flowers, photography, etc.), and he had offered a large array of extra items that he could personally arrange. We did have to turn him down though because of pricing, so he had discussed with us his desire to have their event photographer trail our photographer for experience, at no cost, and we agreed that we would allow them to do that and use our photos for advertising purposes as long as we would get digital copies, but their photographer never showed up the day of. No big deal really, but communication would have been nice.

The only other bad things are that they didn't allow candles of any kind, no way to attach decorations to the walls or ceilings (like tulle and twinkle lights), and they didn't allow any types of bird seed or rice to throw at the end. I even found some non-toxic, dissolving little hearts at Michael's, and he said they still left a big mess and would not let us use them. We had to do bubbles, which got all over my dress, and it was at night, which didn't show up in the photos at all. Also, the main floor was so filthy that my train was black just from walking from the bride's dressing room to the outside ceremony area.

The positives were that the chairs, tables, and main simple decorations were included in the basic package, and were set up when my people arrived to decorate. Patrick did complete the few requests he hadn't initially denied me with efficiency, like how the room was to be set up for the catering and the cake.

It just seemed like everyone else who I worked with was totally understanding and nice. I had Someburro's cater, and the woman who handled that was professional and sweet, and we were able to politely discuss differences and even though she wasn't able to provide me everything I wanted to the letter, she was respectful and polite and ended up doing a wonderful job. Once we had signed the papers, Patrick really seemed like he had the money and was not interested in customer service at all. Was it because I wouldn't add any of the extras? I don't know. But I always left conversations and meetings with him feeling like he totally could have cared less, and was even a little bit angry. Oh well.
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1359 S. Gilbert Rd, Gilbert, AZ 85233 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shenandoah Mill
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo