220x220_1359134723818-865
Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
17 Reviews      3 people has saved this vendor.
Address:
135-20 39th Avenue
Flushing, NY US 11354 (map)
Phone:
718-670-7406
Categories:
 
 
 
4.6 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.1/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.6/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Wwnetwork-128
LisaYu
Wedding:
6/14/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We had our Chinese wedding banquet at the Sheraton, and it exceeded our expecations! The food is fantastic (approved by all of our Chinese family!) and the service in the planning and day of coordination is top notch. We worked with Sheeba to plan our event - she was very responsive and accomodating of all of our requests. Steve was a great help the day of and made sure the day went very smoothly. We couldn't be happier with how the day turned out, and recommend the Sheraton to anyone planning a banquet! This is the A team.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
5/19/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We had a wonderful experience at the Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel. Their prices are fair and the services provided were impeccable. I really have no complaints. We had an Asian Fusion wedding. I had no idea how to make it work without looking overly red and with the limitations of the old Chinese customs. I thought the Sheraton would be the last venue that would understand the challenge. I was very wrong! This venue is located in Flushing, NY. It is within an Asian community. They have several Chinese wedding banquet menus to choose from. They have the red linens that are required for a Chinese wedding. They have the Dragon and Phoenix wall hangings that are a must. They even provided us with cushions for the tea ceremony. They also provide a bridal suite to conduct our tea ceremony even though we had ours in the ballroom in front of our guests. Sheeba, the event sales manager was extremely helpful. She answered all of our concerns and offered her advice and opinion when we asked. They have extensive experience hosting Chinese weddings. Sheeba showed me pictures of past events for inspiration. She even had her staff set up mock table settings so that we can compare the linen effects. I think I sent Sheeba at least 10 emails per week. I was a nervous bride. She always replied within a few hours or the next day at the longest. I was upset about something and expressed it to Sheeba, she called me right away and offered to help. She was so diligent. I truly can't imagine planning and hosting our reception without Sheeba's help. She made the planning process as stress-free as possible. She gave us many great ideas. She suggested we do an outdoor cocktail hour since the weather was nice in May.

It turned out so beautifully. We had the entire floor to ourselves. This includes the ballroom, bridal suite, and terrace. Imagine how nice it was to have the entire space to my party. No sharing with other parties like the typical Chinese restaurant. Our guests arrived and enjoyed their drinks and snacks outside on the terrace. The hotel set up cocktail tables with my linen choices. It was the perfect setting for pictures. Everyone took out their cameras to take pictures of themselves and of us. They were surprised at how beautiful the terrace was. Then, dinner time came and our guests were escorted into the ballroom. There were some lighted ceiling drapery provided by the hotel. We requested two banquet tables to be set up on the stage for our family. It looked beautiful and really put the family and ourselves in the spotlight. We hired professionals for lighting. Combined with the lighting, the ballroom was transformed into a intimate, classy, and elegant dinner venue. It still had the Chinese flair since we incorporated a lot of red in details while using gold as main color. The hotel hung up the dragon and phoenix decorations and the Double Harmony sign.

The food was very good. I still get compliments on the good till this day. The staff was amazing. Our waitress was very attentive to us. She knew that we wouln't have time to enjoy dinner so she packed up food from each course and set them up to our suite to enjoy after the reception. Our wedding package includes an overnight stay in a suite. We were so pampered. Steve, the event manager on the day of, he shadowed us the whole time and guided us through the schedule. Every time I got up, he would help me down the stage, fold up my napkin at my seat, and when I returned, he would seriously, appear out of no where and place my napkin on my lap. Seriously, he is that good! I was blown away. I was afraid that I would go hungry during cocktail hour since we were busy greeting guests but I went into my bridal suite and aaaah...the amazing staff left a tray of food there for me along with a bowl of ice and soda. They were incredible.

Looking back, the day was a blur because we were so busy hosting but the staff never missed a beat. Our reception was gorgeous. Everything went smoothly. I am so grateful for everyone at the Sheraton. The quality of service and care simply exceeded the amount of money we spent.

I initially thought we would save money at a Chinese restaurant but the price of the banquet was not much more than a Chinese restaurant but the personal attention that we received would never be matched from a restaurant. My husband and I are so glad that we chose the Sheraton. Our guests had such a good time. They were in awe of the entire venue. It was definitely a memorable experience for us and our guests. And my parents friends were speechless which really means a lot. Old school Chinese ladies...they always nit pick on something...anything...but nope. Nothing they can pick on here. I am so relieved!!! I am so thankful for Sheeba.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1321561390846-cake
January
Wedding:
11/11/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
We recently had our wedding reception at Sheraton La Guardia East Hotel and we were 110% satisfied with how everything turned out. The hall looked amazing and the food was delicious (we had an american style banquet)! We worked with Sheeba from the very beginning and she was nothing but helpful and responsive. She made sure we got everything we asked for! Steve, the banquet coordinator made sure everything was perfect on the day of our wedding and it was!! I highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Ben
Wedding:
7/10/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Our wedding at Sheraton was great, to say the least. We had a lot of help on planning and execution from Sheraton, especially from our Banquet Manager, Sheeba and Maitre D, Steve. For us, the most important part of planning is understanding what people usually do for certain aspects in a wedding. We haven't acquired this kind of understanding through attending other weddings because most of our friends are not married. It's not that we don't want to be creative, we just don't want to be out of line. Many people do polling on forums and etc to acquire this understanding. Fortunately, you can get most of the answers directly from Sheeba, who has a lot of planning experience that are especially pertinent to this venue. Also, our communication was effective and efficient. I didn't have to wait long to get a detail response back from her on a long list of questions. I am also impressed by Steve's readiness and the ability to execute and improvise. He can get things for us on the spot and is always there when I needed him. He constantly kept me informed and reminded of the next steps in our program. What is also really important, is that there is a certain kind of tacit understanding between Steve and our MC/Officiant (MC Brian). Therefore, the program flows flawlessly. I am sure Steve works smoothly with other MCs as well. Overall, we are glad to have selected Sheraton in Flushing as our wedding venue. With the beautiful terrace and ballroom, and with the help of great people, we had an unforgettable Asian-American fusion wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1297578915797-bouquet
Nunnee
Wedding:
1/15/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I wanted a traditional chinese wedding banquet in NYC but hate how dirty chinese restaurants usually are and the rudeness of staff. I also wanted to have an american-style wedding ceremony (with cocktail hour) and the Sheraton in Flushing was the best venue for me. I had read a few bad reviews about the Sheraton being rude/unprofessional, food was not-so-great/small portions, so I was hesitant to book. But I met Sheeba, the catering manager, and she was great. She always responded quickly and answered my millions of questions. She assured me the staff would be very professional, and at the tasting Chef Kevin Wong promised the food would be excellent. It was - I can't think of one negative comment about my experience. Steve, the banquet mgr that night, was always nearby when I needed him and made sure everything was running smoothly. As far as price, you're dealing with the Sheraton, a MAJOR hotel chain - do not expect price negotiation, do you go to Bloomie's and haggle with the salesperson? Of course I paid more than I would have at a chinese restaurant, but it was a clean, beautiful and tasteful venue. I received quality service, staff was excellent, waiters were very attentive and courteous. My event was until midnight, they did not rush us out like chinese restaurants usually do. I was absolutely satisfied with my wedding package, every penny was worth it. My guests still talk about how fantastic the food was. It was also convenient having it here since the Sheraton gave me a group rate and many of my guests stayed overnight. I booked brunch for the next morning - another excellent experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Roy
Wedding:
10/20/2012
 
4.8 out of 5.0
My wife and I just had our wedding party at Sheraton LaGuardia East past weekend. With months planning the wedding was beyond our expectation.

Wedding planning was never easy. The sales manager, Sheeba, is a very nice person to work with, patiently communicated with me. We had 60+ email conversations, and who knows how many phone calls. She provides valuable suggestions.

I have to say we had a wonderful time at Sheraton. The food was great, the services was awesome. The cake vendor they provided, "Sugar Palette", was great as well. Lovely cake they made, but also delicious. My guests kept asking where the cake was from. The wedding turn out very well. Thanks to Sheeba, and other team members at Sheraton LaGuardia who made our wonderful moments unforgettable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/23/2012
 
4.8 out of 5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at the Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel, and are very happy with how everything turned out. It was a Chinese-Russian-American wedding. We did a western ceremony on the beautiful hotel terrace, a cocktail hour during which we did a Chinese tea ceremony, and then a 10-course Chinese banquet reception. We were able to customize the menus (some tables had the typical 10 Chinese courses, and some tables had the 10 courses, but with a couple of the dishes substituted with American dishes). They were also able to provide us with 5-course vegetarian meals for our vegetarian guests, served directly to the guests at the same time that everyone else was being served, which was great. Our guests told us that the food was really good!

Our cocktail hour and reception was held in the Phoenix Ballroom, which is on the same floor as the ceremony terrace. We basically had the entire floor to ourselves. The decor outside and inside was elegant and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Sheeba was the sales manager that we worked with, and she was immensely patient and helpful throughout the entire planning process. I had so many questions for her, and she always responded very quickly to my emails within the day or by the next day, in a detailed manner. She really helped to make the planning process much easier for us. Steve was the banquet manager who oversaw everything on the actual wedding day, and he helped to make everything run as smoothly as possible. He was calm, professional, and coordinated well with all our vendors.

If you're looking to do a Chinese banquet reception in a setting that's more elegant than your typical Chinese restaurant, I would recommend checking out the Sheraton. Their willingness to accommodate our requests and customization to meet our specific needs was why we chose them as our wedding venue, and we're so happy with our choice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/13/2011
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Our wedding at The Sheraton was great and more than we had expected. The venue caters to both the western and eastern style weddings. For most Asian American weddings it's hard to accommodate our more western friends and our family who are more traditional but we were able to satisfy everyone by having a more westernized wedding with Chinese banquet style dinner with the inclusion of the tea ceremony. The outdoor terrace is just the right size and is great for a summer wedding if you plan to have a ceremony or even for your guests to enjoy cocktail hour. We had our reception in the ballroom and the set up was beautiful. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

We were very satisfied with the service that our sales manager, Sheeba provided as she was responsive from the beginning of the wedding planning until the last day and even after the wedding was over. She was great at responding back to us in a timely manner with any questions we had. She was very nice, accommodating and offered suggestions that we wouldn't have thought about given her many years of experience.

Our banquet manager, Steven was extremely helpful, patient and polite on the day of our wedding. There was a bit of a confusion when preparing for the tea ceremony but Steven was there to help us in any way he could. He was nice enough to run out to purchase some red envelopes for us since we forgot to bring them and paid for it out of his own pocket. He was great during the entire evening and did not lose his cool at all.

We truly had an amazing and memorable experience and are very happy that we stuck with our decision to have our special day at The Sheraton.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
 
4.8 out of 5.0
My husband and I had an amazing day in May at the Sheraton LaGuardia East. We are so glad to have our wedding there and we liked how we can have the traditional aisle ceremony and Chinese banquet dinner all in one place. Our ceremony was held in the outdoor terrace and our reception in the Phoenix Ballroom. We were also able to do a quick tea ceremony in the bridal suite during cocktail hour.

Sheeba was our catering sales manager. She was honest, caring, accommodating to our requests, and very responsive when we had our long list of questions. Sheeba really helped make our special day.

The venue offers both American or Chinese cuisine menus. We decided on the 10-course Chinese banquet style. Additionally there were many hors d’oeuvres options for cocktail hour. Our guests thought the ballroom was very elegant for a Chinese banquet and the food was great. Everyone loved the lobster. I think my 92-year old grandma had 3 pieces... she normally thinks everything tastes bland! Everyone really enjoyed themselves.

Steve, the banquet manager, made sure everything ran smoothly, checked on me and my husband often, and immediately took to our requests. The banquet staff was pretty attentive the whole night.

It was truly a memorable day for us and we're happy to have chosen the Sheraton.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
10/6/2007
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Excellent venue that combines Asian and Western decor and customs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sheraton LaGuardia East Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo