130x130 sq 1335462472843 ssc1695

Shining Stars Catering, LLC

Kansas City , MO

LOCATION

11920 NW Ambassador Drive
Kansas City, MO 64153 US (map)

PHONE

816-270-2212

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

At Shining Stars Catering, we consider ourselves to be a Boutique catering company, taking the time to understand your version of “the perfect day” so that we can provide the essential... Read more
At Shining Stars Catering, we consider ourselves to be a Boutique catering company, taking the time to understand your version of “the perfect day” so that we can provide the essential elements to make your wedding a flawless expression of you. Our Bridal Couples become wonderfully intertwined in our lives. During the process of planning we spend months or even a year or more talking, planning and getting to know your heart's desire. . .by the wedding day, our Brides and Grooms have become a part of our families and friends for life. It is a privilege and honor to make your special dreams for your wedding day come true. Food brings families and friends together and we are dedicated to making sure that we create a memorable day for you and your guests.

As a Boutique caterer, we are committed to catering only two weddings per day, so that the focus is on each Bridal Couple exclusively. From the first greeting of guests at the door to the tiered cake awaiting your knife, Shining Stars Catering can oversee all the details of your special day to ensure that your wedding day vision comes to life. Whether you want to create a casual atmosphere with hors d’oeuvres buffet or a formal seated five-course meal, our cuisine and service will be exceptional AND fit perfectly into your budget. It is an honor and privilege for us to play a vital role in the most beautiful and important day of your life!


Shining Stars Catering also specializes in other wedding events such as Engagement Parties, Bride's Luncheons or Brunches, Wedding Showers, Rehearsal Dinners and "Morning After Wedding" Brunches. All events associated with one of our wedding couples receives a ten percent discount from our catering services.

For More information, please contact us!

Deborah Williams, Owner and Executive Chef

816-214-6930 (c) 816-270-2212 (o)

deborah@shiningstarscatering.com

Adrian Taylor, Operations Manager

816-679-8622 (c) 816-270-2212 (o)

info@shiningstarscatering.com Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1335462932422 ssc1664
130x130 sq 1335462977386 ssc1672
130x130 sq 1335463085095 ssc1695
130x130 sq 1335463164596 ssc1699
130x130 sq 1335463249622 ssc1706
130x130 sq 1335463307049 ssc1735
130x130 sq 1335463363137 ssc1746
130x130 sq 1335463408524 ssc1751
130x130 sq 1335463465264 ssc1759
130x130 sq 1335463490540 ssc201203120023
130x130 sq 1335463537360 ssc201203120038
130x130 sq 1335463570644 ssc201203120078
130x130 sq 1335463605839 ssc201203120094
130x130 sq 1335463643878 ssc201203120121
130x130 sq 1335463717333 ssc201203120142
130x130 sq 1335463677868 ssc201203120126
130x130 sq 1282318944716 dsc0765
130x130 sq 1282318600591 dsc0735
130x130 sq 1282331962675 img4017
130x130 sq 1282325300363 dsc0770

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Caribbean, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Mediterranean, Mexican, Polynesian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
We offer scheduled private tastings once a week and group tastings once a month.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
I work with two vendor partners on cakes, so we are happy to help coordinate with our brides, but also work well when they bring an outside cake. We do provide cupcakes in many different flavors. Our prices are per dozen: $25 for Jumbo, $18 for Regular, and $9 for minis.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
Our full service cake fee is $2.00 and we provide everything, linens, toasting flutes, bottle of champagne or sparkling cider, scrollware plates and napkins, and our staff cuts and serves the cake.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
I am not licensed to sell alcohol, we provide information on full service vendors who deliver to our site, and we work with a licensed vendor partner on all bartending.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Yes, no corkage fees
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We offer all rental items. . .china, glassware, barware flatware, chargers, and linens in house.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes, we have a very experienced wait staff. We have always gotten so many compliments on how professional and customer oriented they are. Each has had a personal connection with me, my on site coordinator or our operations manager before they came to work for us, and it has worked out wonderfully, our clients always comment on how great our staff is. They reflect Shining Stars Catering to the world, so we have always been careful in hiring staff. Many of our staff have been with us since the beginning, and we have slowly brought in new staff and trained them as our growth has continued.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
800

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Mary Pat
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Shining Stars Catering is truly a five star service! From the first time we met with Deborah and her husband to discuss our options and taste their entree samples, we knew we had found the perfect caterer for our daughters wedding reception. Our tasting session was like dining with old friends who shared common interests! They were warm, friendly, and professional, and offered great value for their service. Many of our 400+ guests were complementary to the meal and service they provided. I would strongly recommend Shining Stars for your next event!

Kevin and Mary Pat Nachbar
Shining Stars Catering is truly a five star service! From the first time we met with Deborah and her husband to discuss Read more...
Shining Stars Catering is truly a five star service! From the first time we met with Deborah and her husband to discuss our options and taste their entree samples, we knew we had found the perfect caterer for our daughters wedding reception. Our tasting session was like dining with old friends who shared common interests! They were warm, friendly, and professional, and offered great value for their service. Many of our 400+ guests were complementary to the meal and service they provided. I would strongly recommend Shining Stars for your next event!

Kevin and Mary Pat Nachbar Read less
Services Used: Catering
Shining Stars Catering, LLC responded with the following comments:

We were so thrilled to be a part of this joy filled wedding. . .it was a complete pleasure!
Default vendor profile pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Shining Stars Catering was wonderful to work with for our wedding. We sat down with the owners, Deb & Marv on two separate occasions - they work really hard to make sure they understand your vision and plan for the day. We did passed appetizers during the cocktail hour and a selection of heavy appetizers for our reception and there was more than enough food for everyone and I heard nothing but rave reviews. The staff was extremely attentive - one worker offered to light the candles on the tables for me because he recognized it hadn't been done. My husband and I didn't get a chance to eat much because we were busy mingling, but Shining Stars made sure to deliver plates to our seats, which was such a nice gesture. My father has severe food allergies and Shining Stars made a special plate just for him which was such a relief for me to know that he had something he could eat! I had a great experience using Shining Stars Catering!
Shining Stars Catering was wonderful to work with for our wedding. We sat down with the owners, Deb & Marv on two separate Read more...
Shining Stars Catering was wonderful to work with for our wedding. We sat down with the owners, Deb & Marv on two separate occasions - they work really hard to make sure they understand your vision and plan for the day. We did passed appetizers during the cocktail hour and a selection of heavy appetizers for our reception and there was more than enough food for everyone and I heard nothing but rave reviews. The staff was extremely attentive - one worker offered to light the candles on the tables for me because he recognized it hadn't been done. My husband and I didn't get a chance to eat much because we were busy mingling, but Shining Stars made sure to deliver plates to our seats, which was such a nice gesture. My father has severe food allergies and Shining Stars made a special plate just for him which was such a relief for me to know that he had something he could eat! I had a great experience using Shining Stars Catering! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Liz
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We have received so many compliments about the delicious food at our wedding! The whole Shining Stars team was fantastic! We can't rave about them enough. We felt like everyone was personally concerned with making sure our meal was perfect. Everything we tried between bridal shows and tasting was delicious.
We have received so many compliments about the delicious food at our wedding! The whole Shining Stars team was fantastic! Read more...
We have received so many compliments about the delicious food at our wedding! The whole Shining Stars team was fantastic! We can't rave about them enough. We felt like everyone was personally concerned with making sure our meal was perfect. Everything we tried between bridal shows and tasting was delicious. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Christy
Wedding:
4/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Deb and her crew were awesome! We were so pleased with everything!
Deb and her crew were awesome! We were so pleased with everything!
Deb and her crew were awesome! We were so pleased with everything! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Hands down the best food you can finds for an event of just about any size. Everyone there went above and beyond to make sure it was perfect! As a chef I worked really close with them to make sure that all parts of the catering were up to my extremely high standards of food and presentation. They were a blast to work with and the spread they showed up with was amazing! It's been almost two weeks since our event and I still have my guest calling and telling me how great the food was. They are very willing to make sure that you get what you would like while staying budget as they know how important that is for most people when becoming wed. They only bring the very freshest ingredients to the table and there prices and willingness to create the perfect far exceeded mine and my wife's expectations truly, and if you don't see what you really want on some of there preset menu options, just ask and they will do there very best to make sure you get want you want at a cost you can afford.
Stephan & Rachel
Hands down the best food you can finds for an event of just about any size. Everyone there went above and beyond to make Read more...
Hands down the best food you can finds for an event of just about any size. Everyone there went above and beyond to make sure it was perfect! As a chef I worked really close with them to make sure that all parts of the catering were up to my extremely high standards of food and presentation. They were a blast to work with and the spread they showed up with was amazing! It's been almost two weeks since our event and I still have my guest calling and telling me how great the food was. They are very willing to make sure that you get what you would like while staying budget as they know how important that is for most people when becoming wed. They only bring the very freshest ingredients to the table and there prices and willingness to create the perfect far exceeded mine and my wife's expectations truly, and if you don't see what you really want on some of there preset menu options, just ask and they will do there very best to make sure you get want you want at a cost you can afford.
Stephan & Rachel Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Diana
Wedding:
12/31/2012
5.0/5.0
I could have not asked for better food and a better catering company to be a part of our wedding day!! Deb from Shining Stars was so great and really helped make my husband and I feel comfortable and confidant in their services!

We had originally gone with a different catering company for our big day and after horrible customer service, unfair treatment, and getting cheated out of our deposit we decided to cut our losses and find a new caterer to go with. This is the best decision we could have ever made!

The food was amazing, it honestly could not have been any better!! We had compliments all night and people are still telling us how much they enjoyed the food! I would definitely recommend this company, they love what they do and its shows!

ps- the horrible company that i would never work with or recommend to anyone is Sugar and Spice Catering! HORRIBLE!
I could have not asked for better food and a better catering company to be a part of our wedding day!! Deb from Shining Read more...
I could have not asked for better food and a better catering company to be a part of our wedding day!! Deb from Shining Stars was so great and really helped make my husband and I feel comfortable and confidant in their services!

We had originally gone with a different catering company for our big day and after horrible customer service, unfair treatment, and getting cheated out of our deposit we decided to cut our losses and find a new caterer to go with. This is the best decision we could have ever made!

The food was amazing, it honestly could not have been any better!! We had compliments all night and people are still telling us how much they enjoyed the food! I would definitely recommend this company, they love what they do and its shows!

ps- the horrible company that i would never work with or recommend to anyone is Sugar and Spice Catering! HORRIBLE! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We still have people talking about our food, and it's a year later. We did passed apps during the room flip, and a heavy app buffet for our dinner. Deb was great to work with, and everything looked and tasted great!
We still have people talking about our food, and it's a year later. We did passed apps during the room flip, and a heavy Read more...
We still have people talking about our food, and it's a year later. We did passed apps during the room flip, and a heavy app buffet for our dinner. Deb was great to work with, and everything looked and tasted great! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Charliebird82
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Delicious food! Excellent choices and a great variety for dinner! Deb is wonderful and her staff is very professional. Loved the food!
Delicious food! Excellent choices and a great variety for dinner! Deb is wonderful and her staff is very professional. Read more...
Delicious food! Excellent choices and a great variety for dinner! Deb is wonderful and her staff is very professional. Loved the food! Read less
Services Used: Catering
130x130 sq 1321475592757 3821761015046377986057957655557810651436255740838n
Angela
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I was married on May 5th 2012 at Studio B and Shining Stars provided our reception appetizers and dinner. I could NOT have been MORE pleased or happy with Shining Stars. If you are a bride out there looking for an amazing company to cater your wedding please use this fabulous people!! The food was amazing..I have had so many compliments that is was the BEST wedding food they have had. :-) We were married on Cinco De Mayo and so I had an interactive Taco Bar and lots of other yummies!!
Deb and Jessica were ON it in communicating, they were clear on cost, and what was being provided. They were on time, gracious, and accommodating to all our needs/wants! Bottom line...they are awesome and you should call them !!!!
I was married on May 5th 2012 at Studio B and Shining Stars provided our reception appetizers and dinner. I could NOT have Read more...
I was married on May 5th 2012 at Studio B and Shining Stars provided our reception appetizers and dinner. I could NOT have been MORE pleased or happy with Shining Stars. If you are a bride out there looking for an amazing company to cater your wedding please use this fabulous people!! The food was amazing..I have had so many compliments that is was the BEST wedding food they have had. :-) We were married on Cinco De Mayo and so I had an interactive Taco Bar and lots of other yummies!!
Deb and Jessica were ON it in communicating, they were clear on cost, and what was being provided. They were on time, gracious, and accommodating to all our needs/wants! Bottom line...they are awesome and you should call them !!!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Becky
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We used Shining Stars Catering last spring for our wedding and they were phenomenal to say the least. Deb was amazingly easy to work with from the get go and she made it her priority to put together a menu we loved at a price we could afford. We went to several tastings and were blown away by their fabulous spread of food each time. Even a year later, our guests still comment on how great the food was at our wedding. In fact, WE still talk about it, which is why we asked Deb a few weeks ago if she would be opposed to recreating our wedding menu for my husband and I so we could celebrate our first anniversary. I figured that would be far too small of an order for her to bother with, but she gladly accepted. When we went to pick up our order, Deb made us feel like newlyweds all over again with some wine and our favorite cheese! She made our day. If you want a catering company that is truly invested in you and your event, then you can’t go wrong with Shining Stars.
We used Shining Stars Catering last spring for our wedding and they were phenomenal to say the least. Deb was amazingly Read more...
We used Shining Stars Catering last spring for our wedding and they were phenomenal to say the least. Deb was amazingly easy to work with from the get go and she made it her priority to put together a menu we loved at a price we could afford. We went to several tastings and were blown away by their fabulous spread of food each time. Even a year later, our guests still comment on how great the food was at our wedding. In fact, WE still talk about it, which is why we asked Deb a few weeks ago if she would be opposed to recreating our wedding menu for my husband and I so we could celebrate our first anniversary. I figured that would be far too small of an order for her to bother with, but she gladly accepted. When we went to pick up our order, Deb made us feel like newlyweds all over again with some wine and our favorite cheese! She made our day. If you want a catering company that is truly invested in you and your event, then you can’t go wrong with Shining Stars. Read less
Services Used: Catering

DEALS

Wedding Activities
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Shining Stars is proud to offer a discount of 10% for wedding activities for our bridal couples. This discount includes wedding showers, engagement parties, bachelorette parties, bridesmaid's brunch or lunch, rehearsal dinners or "morning after" wedding brunches. Additionally, if a buffet is selected, we provide table service to the Bridal Couple for free.
Deal #WWf65421852d45dc32
220x220 1335462472843 ssc1695

MAP

 
11920 NW Ambassador Drive, Kansas City, MO 64153 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shining Stars Catering, LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1335462472843 ssc1695