130x130 sq 1451413420 7505e607cc8e18d0 1451413060687 bzfjd4seltjqq562tbjk6svc6uhu2qm0yre1wl4es4fqu7xoh9

Shining Stars Catering, LLC

Kansas City , MO

LOCATION

11920 NW Ambassador Drive
Kansas City, MO 64153 US (map)

PHONE

816-270-2212

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

At Shining Stars Catering, we consider ourselves to be a Boutique catering company, taking the time to understand your version of “the perfect day” so that we can provide the essential... Read more
At Shining Stars Catering, we consider ourselves to be a Boutique catering company, taking the time to understand your version of “the perfect day” so that we can provide the essential elements to make your wedding a flawless expression of you. Our Bridal Couples become wonderfully intertwined in our lives. During the process of planning we spend months or even a year or more talking, planning and getting to know your heart's desire. . .by the wedding day, our Brides and Grooms have become a part of our families and friends for life. It is a privilege and honor to make your special dreams for your wedding day come true. Food brings families and friends together and we are dedicated to making sure that we create a memorable day for you and your guests.

As a Boutique caterer, we are committed to catering only two weddings per day, so that the focus is on each Bridal Couple exclusively. From the first greeting of guests at the door to the tiered cake awaiting your knife, Shining Stars Catering can oversee all the details of your special day to ensure that your wedding day vision comes to life. Whether you want to create a casual atmosphere with hors d’oeuvres buffet or a formal seated five-course meal, our cuisine and service will be exceptional AND fit perfectly into your budget. It is an honor and privilege for us to play a vital role in the most beautiful and important day of your life!


Shining Stars Catering also specializes in other wedding events such as Engagement Parties, Bride's Luncheons or Brunches, Wedding Showers, Rehearsal Dinners and "Morning After Wedding" Brunches. All events associated with one of our wedding couples receives a ten percent discount from our catering services.





For More information, please contact us!

Angela Smith, Director of Sales and Marketing

816-679-8622 (c) 816-270-2212 (o)

sales@shiningstarscatering.com

Deborah Williams, Owner and Executive Chef

816-214-6930 (c) 816-270-2212 (o)

deborah@shiningstarscatering.com Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1451413060687 bzfjd4seltjqq562tbjk6svc6uhu2qm0yre1wl4es4fqu7xoh9
130x130 sq 1335463677868 ssc201203120126
130x130 sq 1335463408524 ssc1751
130x130 sq 1451413165807 dunjsbe11li boahq3u4htjtjxzquiv3uhd60c aov4gq4qu2u
130x130 sq 1451413065266 c5oekqz6qnx5nczumq8fhrcyhcuiuf iwtz0a2kih ax4zytiv
130x130 sq 1451412952341 109601828883054978773549168145418314413263o
130x130 sq 1451413056148  adylpuandbangf442rdrk6vnzrc0auvjrsvh0nwujhjrxiixu
130x130 sq 1335463465264 ssc1759
130x130 sq 1335463643878 ssc201203120121
130x130 sq 1335463085095 ssc1695
130x130 sq 1335462932422 ssc1664
130x130 sq 1335463164596 ssc1699
130x130 sq 1335463307049 ssc1735
130x130 sq 1335463570644 ssc201203120078
130x130 sq 1335463490540 ssc201203120023
130x130 sq 1451413051188 xi0glzyhakhaby2nbl8r8roq4abckeehkvrj ca8c63yt9uyf9
130x130 sq 1335463537360 ssc201203120038
130x130 sq 1335463605839 ssc201203120094
130x130 sq 1335463717333 ssc201203120142
130x130 sq 1282318944716 dsc0765
130x130 sq 1282318600591 dsc0735
130x130 sq 1282331962675 img4017
130x130 sq 1282325300363 dsc0770
130x130 sq 1451412807976 3243304363583864054031955427559o
130x130 sq 1451412821460 5417315424834491262291282819412n
130x130 sq 1451412828887 553910647628588611714589336744n
130x130 sq 1451412835541 858595519408214767086783172927o
130x130 sq 1451412848400 892169527067734001134845169699o
130x130 sq 1451412858534 149264467147553622701970287035o
130x130 sq 1451412867170 15206677112369822508742121796550n
130x130 sq 1451412874540 17991718883055045440205968343214926945520o
130x130 sq 1451412880588 19567218400345893711121574317188522227002o
130x130 sq 1451412895665 104707897531969147215475871220404887000436n
130x130 sq 1451412903209 104796827801172453628478840105669520565265o
130x130 sq 1451412913025 10489798778823828825522297511226569453216n
130x130 sq 1451412917953 104911177727833594295694177283352836990087n
130x130 sq 1451412925702 105337527727832794295778636306800775333847n
130x130 sq 1451412934827 105838247801174086961648137450469982230004n
130x130 sq 1451412945519 108422728883055112106868765283958717661997o
130x130 sq 1451412962148 11035303904392022935368359497080455604403n
130x130 sq 1451412971912 110374719119668855112157098250547036772898n
130x130 sq 1451412978145 110465909043761329369571184598162164080172n
130x130 sq 1451412984505 111783599321862401559461466821469167848259n
130x130 sq 1451412989944 1198851510486920351720324295978999865944888n
130x130 sq 1451412999314 122348771047547528619816596890717199884501n
130x130 sq 1451413005835 1223974210516487982096895942983032831053959n
130x130 sq 1451413014734 1225007610512189715860054988641206262935795n
130x130 sq 1451413021918 1230153510544570979288591412662287252433112n
130x130 sq 1451413028595 1234129510599138140498548748093753477425845n
130x130 sq 1451413035122 1234252510579362042476152798108939034879231n
130x130 sq 1451413042666 brandy and brian wedding day 546
130x130 sq 1451413047034 y31jqagboqzm2jqnxynqigobyyerhdvdbazymve6a4cw8hbkeh
130x130 sq 1451413079590 capture 1 2
130x130 sq 1451413113923 capture 2
130x130 sq 1451413139860 djgs619npax84binaldkbqbezlc gqpkr88ufhgl8iwcaedvcy
130x130 sq 1451413152594 dpijk6q35bz1ksncddy6wgmgkcujipvt35gfs4rzwqikmcypgi
130x130 sq 1451413173504 ia9qre1wx7yuow6lql2hwsjgubghtblkvnfr4 pzprumr  ald
130x130 sq 1451413181043 igxwth22wubma4mprttl59jpp1vojvj4igtpipilwmkkycw13t
130x130 sq 1451413190039 img0150
130x130 sq 1451413195063 merhfzsi6ltvvz3ulwhst73ilyd6zmwlqx43ybeu0s8d3eo4fc
130x130 sq 1451413201351 merhfzsi6ltvvz3ulwhst73ilyd6zmwlqx43ybeu0s8d3eo4fc
130x130 sq 1451413208365 qv952nhqy2s3gvqhtkohvxz4n6mqb1e85ebvaczfaiqc3cjqkt
130x130 sq 1451413213403 qv952nhqy2s3gvqhtkohvxz4n6mqb1e85ebvaczfaiqc3cjqkt
130x130 sq 1451413219394 ttlfq680vn1czgwsprblkajxyqeyshqrnmlv8careffrhua1c7
130x130 sq 1451413223997 tuedeqwv6undyp2k6sbpcid iu2mspamvxdxtlwzw8cuzefzy3

INFO FOR CATERING

What event services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cake, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres, Outside Cake OK, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Local, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, Liquor License, Outside Alcohol OK, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer
Which of the following items can you provide?
Barware, China, Chocolate Fountain, Flatware, Glassware, Linens

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Susie
Wedding:
12/12/2015
5.0/5.0
We had Shining Stars cater our daughter's wedding reception and they did a fabulous job. We found out about them at an Open House and like their food so decided to go with them. My daughter worked with them on the details so I can't really comment on the process leading up to the reception. However, I can say the food was fabulous and we had many many people commenting all night long about it. They made themselves available through the evening but also stayed appropriately in the background serving our guests when needed. Thomas was the person who my daughter worked with the most and he was super responsive, very friendly, pleasant and flexible. And, the food was just as we expected! I've already recommended them to brides and will continue to do so.
We had Shining Stars cater our daughter's wedding reception and they did a fabulous job. We found out about them at an Read more...
We had Shining Stars cater our daughter's wedding reception and they did a fabulous job. We found out about them at an Open House and like their food so decided to go with them. My daughter worked with them on the details so I can't really comment on the process leading up to the reception. However, I can say the food was fabulous and we had many many people commenting all night long about it. They made themselves available through the evening but also stayed appropriately in the background serving our guests when needed. Thomas was the person who my daughter worked with the most and he was super responsive, very friendly, pleasant and flexible. And, the food was just as we expected! I've already recommended them to brides and will continue to do so. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Shining Stars Catering, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much! It was an honor to be a part of this most important day for your family.
Default vendor profile pic
Jen
Wedding:
9/26/2015
5.0/5.0
I will only use Shining Stars for my future catering needs! Deb and her team were absolutely amazing for our wedding cocktail hour and reception. Being in Kansas City, we had the BBQ buffet and the food is DELICIOUS! Our guests could not stop talking about how great every piece of food was, including the local BBQ sauce and pickle bar. The team was so accommodating with our wants/financial needs and really made us feel like friends. There was complete trust in their services which greatly reduced my stress for the day. Communication was timely and costs very reasonable for quality of food. We were also able to add bartenders and DIY cake service which allowed us additional flexibility. Wonderful caterers!
I will only use Shining Stars for my future catering needs! Deb and her team were absolutely amazing for our wedding Read more...
I will only use Shining Stars for my future catering needs! Deb and her team were absolutely amazing for our wedding cocktail hour and reception. Being in Kansas City, we had the BBQ buffet and the food is DELICIOUS! Our guests could not stop talking about how great every piece of food was, including the local BBQ sauce and pickle bar. The team was so accommodating with our wants/financial needs and really made us feel like friends. There was complete trust in their services which greatly reduced my stress for the day. Communication was timely and costs very reasonable for quality of food. We were also able to add bartenders and DIY cake service which allowed us additional flexibility. Wonderful caterers! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Shining Stars Catering, LLC responded with the following comments:

It was SUCH a pleasure working with Jen. She was totally focused on making this a special day for her family and friends. It was a relaxed, beautiful and amazing wedding. . .just like Jen herself. We loved every moment!!!
Default vendor profile pic
crystal
Wedding:
9/25/2015
5.0/5.0
Deb and her team are so wonderful! We met them at a Perfect Wedding Guide wedding fair and it was pretty much decided right then and there. My fiance and I used one of their special event nights to taste their food for the first time. It was incredible! It was even good warmed up as leftovers the next day. The private tasting has been one of my favorite parts of wedding planning. They are so easy to talk to, work with and just a great team to have on your side and for your event. Thank you again!!
Deb and her team are so wonderful! We met them at a Perfect Wedding Guide wedding fair and it was pretty much decided Read more...
Deb and her team are so wonderful! We met them at a Perfect Wedding Guide wedding fair and it was pretty much decided right then and there. My fiance and I used one of their special event nights to taste their food for the first time. It was incredible! It was even good warmed up as leftovers the next day. The private tasting has been one of my favorite parts of wedding planning. They are so easy to talk to, work with and just a great team to have on your side and for your event. Thank you again!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Shining Stars Catering, LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you do much Crystal!!! You guys have been a joy to work with and we feel so honored to be a part of your special day!
Default vendor profile pic
Daniel & Sarah
Wedding:
9/6/2015
4.7/5.0
I planned a wedding while living in a different state, balancing a very demanding full time job, and preparing to move out of the country. On top of all that, we did not have a wedding planner. Booking with Shining Stars was one of the best decisions I made while planning my wedding and here is why: 1) the food, 2) they are the complete total wedding planning package and 3) Deborah, Owner and Executive Chef.

First off, their food is absolutely delicious. My family enjoyed the food they provided at the Bridal Tasting Event, our personal tasting and the wedding! With several of our guests being from out of town I really wanted to showcase what KC is famous for…the BBQ! We received so many compliments on the food from our guests. Some guests even told us the pulled pork was some of the best they had ever had.

Booking with Shining Stars is not just booking delicious food but the service and experience in wedding planning is also outstanding. They provide a Day of Coordinators for a very reasonable price, and I truly enjoyed working with her. She was invaluable leading up to the wedding and the day of. We also worked with Shining Stars to find a rental chair company and coordinated using their chairs for the ceremony. Planning a wedding you have so many vendors to contact, it was nice to partner with Shining Stars and have them help.

The first time I met Deborah, was at my personal tasting, and we had already booked with Shining Stars. During the tasting Deborah spent extra time working with me to develop the flow of the reception. That experience was incredibly helpful and took so much pressure off. Deborah is a true professional and is very experienced with weddings, and she went above and beyond helping me and ensuring that we were pleased with the service.

I would highly recommend Shining Stars, and big thank you to Deborah and staff!
I planned a wedding while living in a different state, balancing a very demanding full time job, and preparing to move out Read more...
I planned a wedding while living in a different state, balancing a very demanding full time job, and preparing to move out of the country. On top of all that, we did not have a wedding planner. Booking with Shining Stars was one of the best decisions I made while planning my wedding and here is why: 1) the food, 2) they are the complete total wedding planning package and 3) Deborah, Owner and Executive Chef.

First off, their food is absolutely delicious. My family enjoyed the food they provided at the Bridal Tasting Event, our personal tasting and the wedding! With several of our guests being from out of town I really wanted to showcase what KC is famous for…the BBQ! We received so many compliments on the food from our guests. Some guests even told us the pulled pork was some of the best they had ever had.

Booking with Shining Stars is not just booking delicious food but the service and experience in wedding planning is also outstanding. They provide a Day of Coordinators for a very reasonable price, and I truly enjoyed working with her. She was invaluable leading up to the wedding and the day of. We also worked with Shining Stars to find a rental chair company and coordinated using their chairs for the ceremony. Planning a wedding you have so many vendors to contact, it was nice to partner with Shining Stars and have them help.

The first time I met Deborah, was at my personal tasting, and we had already booked with Shining Stars. During the tasting Deborah spent extra time working with me to develop the flow of the reception. That experience was incredibly helpful and took so much pressure off. Deborah is a true professional and is very experienced with weddings, and she went above and beyond helping me and ensuring that we were pleased with the service.

I would highly recommend Shining Stars, and big thank you to Deborah and staff! Read less
Services Used: Catering
130x130 sq 1407892565660 714310100271869643184309140843n
Terrell
Wedding:
8/1/2015
5.0/5.0
Words cannot describe how great Shining Stars Catering is. The caterer that worked with us (Debra) was incredible and was one of the most flexible and accommodating people I have ever met and really she decreased a lot of stress in planning this wedding. The entire experience from the planning to the actual execution was done with the highest of professional courtesy and the food my guests are still talking/asking about. I have no higher recommendation if you are in the KC area for a caterer that gives high quality food for a decent price. Shining star was excellent.
Words cannot describe how great Shining Stars Catering is. The caterer that worked with us (Debra) was incredible and was Read more...
Words cannot describe how great Shining Stars Catering is. The caterer that worked with us (Debra) was incredible and was one of the most flexible and accommodating people I have ever met and really she decreased a lot of stress in planning this wedding. The entire experience from the planning to the actual execution was done with the highest of professional courtesy and the food my guests are still talking/asking about. I have no higher recommendation if you are in the KC area for a caterer that gives high quality food for a decent price. Shining star was excellent. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Grace
Wedding:
5/16/2015
2.8/5.0
My wedding was a simple small wedding on a Thursday evening with about 45 people. I discussed in detail the food and services we wanted several times before our big day, but when it came down to my day the food service was rushed and the services were not what I was sold on. I went to the tastings and talked to Tammy several time and they all came across so accommodating. I will throw in a positive, as the food was still very good. Where they failed was not discussing specifics like times and what would happen if your wedding doesn't run on time. When I called to discuss my concerns after the wedding day I was told because our wedding party was running late while taking pictures they had to keep on their schedule. I would like to know what wedding runs perfectly and on an exact timeline. Things happen but they don't care if the bride and groom are ready to eat with their guest or not. They are new to offering bar tender services and it was a disappointment. If you decide to use shining star make sure you ask for specific time's and what happens if your wedding does not run on time (my small wedding was only from 6 to 11 pm). If you have any special request no matter how simple you might think they are make sure you get in down in writing. I didn't want money back or to be rude I just wanted to be heard and acknowledged with a simply apology. The quality of customer service went out the window and I couldn't even get an I'm sorry.
My wedding was a simple small wedding on a Thursday evening with about 45 people. I discussed in detail the food and Read more...
My wedding was a simple small wedding on a Thursday evening with about 45 people. I discussed in detail the food and services we wanted several times before our big day, but when it came down to my day the food service was rushed and the services were not what I was sold on. I went to the tastings and talked to Tammy several time and they all came across so accommodating. I will throw in a positive, as the food was still very good. Where they failed was not discussing specifics like times and what would happen if your wedding doesn't run on time. When I called to discuss my concerns after the wedding day I was told because our wedding party was running late while taking pictures they had to keep on their schedule. I would like to know what wedding runs perfectly and on an exact timeline. Things happen but they don't care if the bride and groom are ready to eat with their guest or not. They are new to offering bar tender services and it was a disappointment. If you decide to use shining star make sure you ask for specific time's and what happens if your wedding does not run on time (my small wedding was only from 6 to 11 pm). If you have any special request no matter how simple you might think they are make sure you get in down in writing. I didn't want money back or to be rude I just wanted to be heard and acknowledged with a simply apology. The quality of customer service went out the window and I couldn't even get an I'm sorry. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Shining Stars Catering, LLC responded with the following comments:

I spoke personally to this bride and feel like we are on good terms.I did want to address her comments. We exceeded every aspect of the function agreement. We arrived early, set up a beautiful buffet with salad service and had hot delicious food prepared to their specifications.

Some requirements that were not communicated by the couple prior to the wedding during the planning process (we were told only at the ceremony verbally in the middle of service), our staff worked hard to fulfill everything that was asked for.

We had a crew captain, set up staff, and two additional servers, along with our most experienced bartender for 45 guests, even with the venue providing bus service. The bridal party arrived 1 hour and 15 minutes past the serving time for buffet service. We were kept in the dark as to when the bridal party would arrive. The guests, although hungry, remained polite and our crew tried very hard to adjust and keep things positive for the guests. We were contracted for a four hour service for service and bartending and were to leave at 9:30. We offered to keep the bartending open longer, if the bartender could be compensated, but were told no.
Ultimately, it is our responsbility to provide amazing service. Although we feel that we did everything we could to make a wonderful night for this couple, evidently, they feel differently. I am very very sorry, that despite our very best efforts, this bride was not happy.
Default vendor profile pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
11/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Shining stars is so great to work with. Every person raved about the food at the reception and I haven't tasted anything they make that isn't amazing. They have amazing customer service and are always wanting to help. I highly recommend them to anyone needing food catered for an event!
Shining stars is so great to work with. Every person raved about the food at the reception and I haven't tasted anything Read more...
Shining stars is so great to work with. Every person raved about the food at the reception and I haven't tasted anything they make that isn't amazing. They have amazing customer service and are always wanting to help. I highly recommend them to anyone needing food catered for an event! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
11/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Deb and her staff were amazing! They worked with us to make a menu that was perfect for our wedding while staying in our price range. Everyone at the reception complimented on how delicious the food was…we couldn't be happier with our choice!
Deb and her staff were amazing! They worked with us to make a menu that was perfect for our wedding while staying in our Read more...
Deb and her staff were amazing! They worked with us to make a menu that was perfect for our wedding while staying in our price range. Everyone at the reception complimented on how delicious the food was…we couldn't be happier with our choice! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.2/5.0
Not sure where these reviews came from. The chicken that they served here tonight was raw. They replaced it with MORE raw chicken. They asked if I wanted to try again but two servings of raw chicken was enough. The service was OK & the rest of the food wasn't bad, but raw chicken ? C'mon, you're supposed to be professional.
Not sure where these reviews came from. The chicken that they served here tonight was raw. They replaced it with MORE raw Read more...
Not sure where these reviews came from. The chicken that they served here tonight was raw. They replaced it with MORE raw chicken. They asked if I wanted to try again but two servings of raw chicken was enough. The service was OK & the rest of the food wasn't bad, but raw chicken ? C'mon, you're supposed to be professional. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Kristina
Wedding:
8/23/2014
4.8/5.0
We loved having Shining Stars cater our wedding reception. The food was delicious and offered at a great price. Deb and her team are very professional and can be flexible with your needs or wishes. Our guests were really happy with the food and the service of the staff.
We loved having Shining Stars cater our wedding reception. The food was delicious and offered at a great price. Deb and Read more...
We loved having Shining Stars cater our wedding reception. The food was delicious and offered at a great price. Deb and her team are very professional and can be flexible with your needs or wishes. Our guests were really happy with the food and the service of the staff. Read less
Services Used: Catering

DEALS

Wedding Activities
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Shining Stars is proud to offer a discount of 10% for wedding activities for our bridal couples. This discount includes wedding showers, engagement parties, bachelorette parties, bridesmaid's brunch or lunch, rehearsal dinners or "morning after" wedding brunches. Additionally, if a buffet is selected, we provide table service to the Bridal Couple for free.
Deal #WWf65421852d45dc32
220x220 1451413420 7505e607cc8e18d0 1451413060687 bzfjd4seltjqq562tbjk6svc6uhu2qm0yre1wl4es4fqu7xoh9

MAP

 
11920 NW Ambassador Drive, Kansas City, MO 64153 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shining Stars Catering, LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1451413420 7505e607cc8e18d0 1451413060687 bzfjd4seltjqq562tbjk6svc6uhu2qm0yre1wl4es4fqu7xoh9