130x130_sq_1371236250871-mohnwatkinskaseylynnphotographysarahbeauwed0335low-600x600

Shirley Acres

Houston , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

217 Woerner Rd
Houston, TX US 77090 (map)

PHONE

281-444-2582

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Shirley Acres, located on thirteen acres by Cypress Creek, is the ideal setting for your next event! Here you will discover reasonable costs, classic facilities and a "family"... Read more
Shirley Acres, located on thirteen acres by Cypress Creek, is the ideal setting for your next event! Here you will discover reasonable costs, classic facilities and a "family" atmosphere that can provide you and 50 to 400 of your guests with personal service. Whether you are planning your wedding and reception, or a company party or picnic, Shirley Acres will coordinate the event and prepare and present the food, flowers, decorations, and assorted refreshments. Whether your occasion is an indoor or outdoor event, casual or elegant, our staff is dedicated to making your occasion a memorable one. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1369074758221-img9586
130x130_sq_1369074783034-img1621
130x130_sq_1367422555503-532059456675621074455497655790n
130x130_sq_1367422544115-540594456676907740993745578965n
130x130_sq_1367422549371-5579974566750744078431404279477n
130x130_sq_1367422570515-new-image
130x130_sq_1367422576688-shirley640x427
130x130_sq_1367422619240-bnjikl
130x130_sq_1367422649552-shirley-acres-photos0246
130x130_sq_1367423548474-fjnh
130x130_sq_1367422671519-shirley-acres-photos0216
130x130_sq_1367422789061-shirley-acres-photos0310
130x130_sq_1367422797985-shirley-acres-photos0309
130x130_sq_1367422806267-shirley-acres-photos0308
130x130_sq_1367422825227-shirley-acres-photos0306
130x130_sq_1367422843370-shirley-acres-photos0307
130x130_sq_1367422859789-garden
130x130_sq_1367422879377-ji
130x130_sq_1367422891064-nhuij
130x130_sq_1367422920231-shirley-acres-photos0276
130x130_sq_1367422936067-shirley-acres-photos0270
130x130_sq_1367423570271-vghd
130x130_sq_1367423578823-nmjil
130x130_sq_1367423588305-lkm
130x130_sq_1367423614800-fjnh
130x130_sq_1369074764343-img7891
130x130_sq_1369074776695-img1950
130x130_sq_1369074791584-img0444
130x130_sq_1370358851836-52368930658256275042910059332n
130x130_sq_1370358859187-mohnwatkinskaseylynnphotographysarahbeauwed0335low-600x600
130x130_sq_1370358866430-mohnwatkinskaseylynnphotographysarahbeauwed0347low-600x400
130x130_sq_1370358908653-480196465720983503252226887066n
130x130_sq_1370358922274-4978014294505d2f0429b
130x130_sq_1370358933383-248373368204953680a8o
130x130_sq_1370359082556-1554873065751294178392058954005n-1
130x130_sq_1370359096334-4977404807f54b890182b
130x130_sq_1370360533775-mnf-picks-lo-0591
130x130_sq_1370360666895-5792023065825360837651352306911n
130x130_sq_1370365154869-arch3
130x130_sq_1370365160061-arch-2
130x130_sq_1370365165118-arch
130x130_sq_1370365173501-bg
130x130_sq_1370365186217-fooood
130x130_sq_1370365190589-food-2
130x130_sq_1370365195240-food-3
130x130_sq_1370365200743-food
130x130_sq_1370365206836-patio
130x130_sq_1370365220795-4050623065827860837402007667990n
130x130_sq_1370365243312-5630173065822360837951397819480n
130x130_sq_1370365408288-gate
130x130_sq_1370365415234-dance
130x130_sq_1371500592894-2962504757301758356661815378319n
130x130_sq_1371500596229-3034803065807994172721732616852n
130x130_sq_1371500599142-321255185939304814756946326042n
130x130_sq_1371500601652-382623201044323304254569604424n
130x130_sq_1371500604197-4869643516840315736152015319318n
130x130_sq_1371500606720-5313643065822060837981248597886n
130x130_sq_1371500609314-5360233065818627504991090994546n
130x130_sq_1371500611907-5561023065812794172241277397907n
130x130_sq_1371500614585-5603613065828494170671476269864n
130x130_sq_1371500617682-5630173065822360837951397819480n
130x130_sq_1371500620935-971879475736415835042208996238n
130x130_sq_1371500623387-983819475742499167767678696416n
130x130_sq_1371835538516-535817306580486083970562487432n
130x130_sq_1371835543866-549363306582399417112339526531n
130x130_sq_1371836207430-ljkhg
130x130_sq_1371836253791-2968091859289381491261383117983n-1
130x130_sq_1371836256769-5752193065824594171061251796719n
130x130_sq_1371836258104-5788923065826260837561423760682n
130x130_sq_1371836262109-futyjre
130x130_sq_1371836264785-gteywtqer
130x130_sq_1371836267435-gtshw
130x130_sq_1371836270280-hyukiwrqe
130x130_sq_1371836273224-jkyurjr
130x130_sq_1371836276116-kjhgf
130x130_sq_1371836278345-rgtr4y2
130x130_sq_1371836281265-yreer
130x130_sq_1371835185673-liujyh
130x130_sq_1371835188821-lkjhgf
130x130_sq_1371835191751-6y45hu45j
130x130_sq_1371835194382-133724694590964627741874583803n
130x130_sq_1371835201083-2968091859289381491261383117983n
130x130_sq_1371835240383-gttwerg
130x130_sq_1371835256305-lpfbgh
130x130_sq_1371835261419-rgfththjy
130x130_sq_1371835265777-trhyre
130x130_sq_1371835270287-untitled
130x130_sq_1371835275788-nhy4y534
130x130_sq_1371835281137-m-nbhgvfeq
130x130_sq_1371835289466-mkiju
130x130_sq_1371835297333-pavilion-2
130x130_sq_1371835309968-lkjfds
130x130_sq_1371835323202-jiuhygtfr
130x130_sq_1371837036037-2962504757301758356661815378319n
130x130_sq_1371837040019-321255185939304814756946326042n
130x130_sq_1371837043058-382623201044323304254569604424n
130x130_sq_1371837047220-5313643065822060837981248597886n
130x130_sq_1371837053023-4869643516840315736152015319318n
130x130_sq_1371837057775-5561023065812794172241277397907n
130x130_sq_1371837063082-5630173065822360837951397819480n
130x130_sq_1371837067239-3034803065807994172721732616852n
130x130_sq_1371837089363-971879475736415835042208996238n
130x130_sq_1371837094814-101658510151673628486346208555859n
130x130_sq_1371837099519-983819475742499167767678696416n
130x130_sq_1371837108143-cake-2
130x130_sq_1371837114134-cake-2
130x130_sq_1371837117952-cake
130x130_sq_1371837141443-5603613065828494170671476269864n
130x130_sq_1371837154174-524078306582269417125244231011n

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I was very pleased with the venue especially considering we only found it 2 months before the wedding. The wedding coordinator was very helpful in planning my wedding using my ideas in the wedding ceremony and reception. There were of course issues with guests that did or did not R.S.V.P however the venue was very flexible in accommodating my last minute guests. My favorite part was the food! The cook that they have usually does cajun or american style food however I really wanted Asian food and they went out of their way to prepare it for me. The flowers they provided for my sweetheart table were gorgeous and the table displays were fun and very organized. Shirley Acres practically did everything for me so that I could relax and enjoy my day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Great people. Very easy to work with. They are awesome
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
2/2/2013
5.0/5.0
VERY helpful to have the same vendor do the flowers as the reception. Jim was super helpful and very easy to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married at Shirley Acres 2 weeks ago. It was perfect! Everything, from the decor, food, flowers, and staff was absolutely PERFECT!! The staff was attentive, professional, and on top of all the details. There is always the expectation that something might go wrong on the big day, but it all went like clockwork. The weather cooperated to make my daughter's wedding day everything she wanted. We told the planners what we wanted, and they made it happen. It was a very stress free day!.Thank you to all the staff at Shirley Acres! We truly could not have asked for more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cristina
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Wonderful people, beautiful place/scenery, great service. The food was delicious and the staff was awesome!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married at Shirley Acres two weeks ago. We had the most wonderful time and it was a dream wedding for us! While I have watched friends with different venues stress out, we were able to enjoy being engaged and Shirley Acres took care of all of the details that are making my friends pull their hair out! Jane, our coordinator, was amazing and so helpful. Jim, the florist was a joy to work with and so passionate about his job. The DJ was great and Bob Shirley always made us feel so comfortable. We used The Element hotel and Jane was great at communicating with them when we needed a larger shuttle. The wine and food were wonderful and the cake was perfect (even though it was not traditional - they made it perfectly!). I cannot say enough about how wonderful, how well priced, how easy and enjoyable the wedding was thanks to Shirley Acres! I am so glad we got married there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Boy
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband & I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Shirley Acres. From day one I contacted them till the day of the event, Bob and his staff were very helpful & proficient in making this celebration memorable and painless. Kudos to Shanna, our wedding coordinator, who made sure that everything went smoothly & to Jane who helped me soooooo much, to the staff/servers/bartenders who were very courteous, and last but not the least, to Bob. Words are not enough to express how grateful we were to all the assistance you gave us...thanks Bob. All our guest were pleased with the venue and the food was delicious, kudos to the chef. I will highly recommend this place to everyone.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vhopper
Wedding:
3/9/2012
5.0/5.0
This venue was organized and efficient. They had everything planned out and met with me ahead of time to go over any last minute things that needed to be completed. I can say that nothing went wrong on my wedding night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1278490538910-1003775
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were looking for a beautiful garden setting for our October wedding. We were blessed to find Shirley Acres. The garden area is perfect for an evening wedding under the stars with soft candlelight. okay...maybe I'm a little biased :)

The team of individuals on staff here were great to work with making sure every detail that I requested was met and then some. They handle a multitude of additional things making this a possible one stop shop for the brides that don't like to plan!

My family all raved about the service and everyone said if felt like something from a movie...and I thought it was just me :)

Hope that helps!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tinapoo
Wedding:
2/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Shirley Acres was amazing they made the planning of my wedding so stress free. I highly recommend them for any occasion. My wedding was just perfect! The cost of having and event there is so reasonable they include so much in there price that makes planning a wedding a breeze.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
2/9/2013
4.9/5.0
I only have good things to say about Shirley Acres! I don't live anywhere near Texas and was planning the wedding from states away. Shirley Acres made the process so stress free and provided amazing service in a family friendly way. My best way to describe how positively I feel is with this story- My husbands father was passing away a few months before the wedding, which brought us suddenly into town. We were spending most of our time at the hospital and decided that since we were in town we may as well do some wedding planning to get us out of the hospital (nobody likes being stuck there). So we called Shirley Acres and asked if we could come see the venue, and they said we should come by whenever we were free and someone could meet with us to plan everything! We showed up three hours later and planned everything from the cake to the decorations, to the order of things.....it was perfect, and exactly the escape we needed at that time. They also provided food for us that night, and the next as well, so we could try the dinner options. They even packaged up extra so we could bring it to the hospital for other family members. They truly were incredible, and were with us in some of the most difficult moments- and greeted us with a hug, just like family. Because of that, we knew we could trust them for our wedding, and I'm so glad we did. It was a marvelous day, and they were so skilled with everything that it was a calmer day, and we didn't have to worry about all the set up and extra things, only about each other!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/11/2007
3.9/5.0
Our wedding coordinator was very attentive to our needs and able to make helpful suggestions. Decor/flowers were beautiful and the food was delicious and well prepared. Also, we got a free upgrade to the larger room because it was not booked for the day of our wedding! However, the DJ did not meet our expectations. He failed to play songs on our "Do play list" yet played songs on our "Don't play list." Some guests commented after the wedding that the DJ was not that good. Overall, I give Shirley Acres a good rating.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
almarm
Wedding:
7/25/2010
3.6/5.0
We decided to go with Shirley Acres because it seemed like we were getting a lot for the overall cost compared to other venues. (They include alcohol, DJ, reception centerpieces, etc). They also gave us 10% off the price because we had our wedding on a Sunday and upgraded our room and meal choice for free. We were extremely happy. I was planning my wedding from 500 miles away so the professionalism and availability of the staff was very important. I made an appointment a couple months in advance to come down to Houston and knock out 80% of the planning in one day (cake design and flavor, meal choice, flower choices, table linens, etc). My fiance and I booked flights down to Houston, and both of our immediate families traveled about 30 minutes to be a part of the fun. Three days before the appointment I called to confirm everything. The girl that answered the phone said that I was in the books and everything would be ready for me when we arrived. When we got there, there was no one there to greet us. We waited in the front room for a about 10 minutes before an officer came to talk to us.(By the way, you end up paying for officers to sit around and chit chat or talk on the phone in a different building than your event) He told us that a wedding was currently going on and no one was available. After realizing he had about a dozen frustrated and flabbergasted people staring at him, he went to get the wedding coordinator from the wedding next door. A flustered woman walked into the room and asked us why we were there. I told her about the appointment we had made and how I had called in advance to double check everything. She told me that the woman we had an appointment with had a personal emergency and that every one else was at the bridal extravaganza. Clearly not only were we upset that we dragged our whole family out there to do absolutely nothing, but we had wasted all of that money spent on getting down there. The coordinator then decided she would do her best to cover the rear end of the ones who flubbed up. She rushed out of the room and about 5 minutes later came back in with three plates of the bride's wedding cake. I was shocked that she would take from the bride's cake and give it to complete strangers! I know that she was just doing her best, but that bride paid for her cake and probably would not have appreciated it being given away. On top of that, the cake was very dry and really, just not even good (I'm sure it was gorgeous though). They also gave us three to go boxes of their carved roast and chicken to try their food. Their food was excellent.
After sorting everything out afterwards, the head coordinator did a much better job of contacting us. (We were quite upset with the whole ordeal.) They didn't offer to help compensate us for travelling all the way down there (because now we had to make arrangements to come back a second time). They simply said they were sorry and at times tried to brush the blame on to us a little bit. Frustrating.
Everything was fine for a while. About a month before the wedding my dad called me to ask about paying the remaining balance. He said no one had tried to contact him or my mother about anything and wondered if I had heard anything about it. I called them and they said that the remaining payment is due 6 weeks before the event. I was pretty shocked that no one tried any means of contact to collect the money or remind us about it. I also found out that I was supposed to have had a personal coordinator to help me with all of the last month and a half - two months worth of planning. No one had tried to contact me what so ever. I wasn't even assigned to anyone. It left me wondering what else I was needing to do (or what they were needing to do). How difficult is it to make a phone call?
On the Tuesday before my wedding (my wedding was on a Sunday) my coordinator told me that the DJ would want me to make a CD of all of the songs we wanted to be played at our wedding. With everything else going on (planning, familiy and friends coming into town, and the stress of it all) I was not about to do the DJ's job FOR him. I decided to cancel what seemed to be a lazy and incompetent DJ that Shirley Acres offered. He had never even attempted to contact me directly, which I found annoying. I went with Complete Music in Houston and ended up extremely happy. They were very accommodating and were $350 cheaper than what Shirley Acres was charging, even when I was doing the work for their DJ. The DJ contacted me directly and we even met up face to face to make sure we had everything ready. I felt completely confident in Complete Music and immediately felt relief that the music was in our DJ, Ryan's, hands. (After all, music makes the party!)
That was the last of the major mishaps with Shirley Acres. They do up-charge their alcohol so be aware. A keg that normally costs $100-120 was $275!
As far as the actual wedding day goes, everything was perfect! Jane did an excellent job of moving things a long. I was very happy with everything. The centerpieces turned out lovely (Jim, the florist, knows his stuff!). All of the guests raved about the food. I even heard that the beer was especially crisp, cold, and delicious. The wine is good and I really liked the champaign. We ended up choosing another vendor for our cakes (since what we tried was dry and disappointing). We went with For Heaven's Cake and was absolutely the best cake I have ever seen or eaten. LOVED working with For Heaven's Cake and would definitely recommend it.
I don't really know how to "rate" them since leading up to the wedding was a little bit of a nightmare at times, but the wedding itself was perfect in every way. Good luck with your planning!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.5/5.0
I appreciated the value of the services provided, but was unhappy with the necessity for "add-ons" throughout the process. The "add-ons" were not clearly communicated.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
217 Woerner Rd, Houston, TX 77090 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Shirley Acres
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo