130x130_sq_1402577962069-hpphoto2

Signature Desserts

Pittsburgh , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3360 Library Road
Pittsburgh, PA US 15234 (map)

PHONE

412-882-9960

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Beautiful customized wedding cakes that look and taste magnificent.

Signature Desserts is a family run bakery, in business for 17 years, making wonderful creations by our... Read more
Beautiful customized wedding cakes that look and taste magnificent.

Signature Desserts is a family run bakery, in business for 17 years, making wonderful creations by our award winning pastry chefs.

Your wedding cake is the most expensive cake you will ever buy. Shouldn't it taste and look like it? Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1263390560959-copyofdscn9238
130x130_sq_1263390605349-copyofdscn9974
130x130_sq_1263390653177-dscn9305
130x130_sq_1220378930866-dscn8474
130x130_sq_1220378801350-dscn8481
130x130_sq_1222784066995-dscn9094
130x130_sq_1222784122729-dscn9111
130x130_sq_1263390517537-copyofdscn0010
130x130_sq_1222783685933-dscn9101
130x130_sq_1220378781444-dscn8465
130x130_sq_1402577840501-hpphoto2
130x130_sq_1402577902236-dessert-bar

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1348582436398-ianpropsing
Nichole
Wedding:
6/6/2014
4.8/5.0
We got bang for our buck for going with Signature Desserts for our wedding cake! We worked with Linda (Owner) and she was great. We got 90 Cupcakes and a little 10" cake to cut, also 8 cakes,pies,tortes,chocolate cover strawberries all for a really good price! Very good to work with. I would highly recommend getting your Wedding cake with them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
The owners of this family-run business went out of their way to provide both the style and flavor of wedding cake that was this bride's dream. They spent a lot of personal time with us providing tasting and design sessions. The cake was beautiful, delicious, and delivered on time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that Signature Desserts was enjoyed by all!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
5/23/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are so glad that we used Signature Desserts for our wedding. Our wedding cake was amazing and the cakes and pies that we had on our dessert bar were just wonderful! The wedding cake was beautiful and exactly what I imagine my cake to look like. When we went to our tasting, Linda was very helpful and knowledgeable of the different flavors that would go well together. Our guests could not stop talking about all of the delicious cakes and pies we had. Thank you Linda and Signature Desserts for making our wedding perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the great review! We couldn't be happier to hear that your guests and family enjoyed all of your wonderful selections!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BETH
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Cake and desserts are delicious. Wedding cake was beautiful.. Very satisfied.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Signature Desserts was the first bakery that my husband and I visited because a friend had used a Signature dessert package for her wedding and recommended them. We were not disappointed!

Linda presented us with a variety of cakes and cookies to sample and we had fun mixing and matching flavors to create the perfect wedding cake. We went with a package deal that included a 3-tier wedding cake to feed about half of our guests, 7 additional cakes/pies, and 2 dozen chocolate-covered strawberries. We supplied about 12 dozen cookies in addition so that guests would have plenty of options and be able to take treats home. Every cake was a huge hit - there was hardly anything left! And the wedding cake was exactly how we'd pictured it.

Linda has a great system for helping indecisive people like me make decisions, and Steve is an absolute pleasure to chat with every time you walk into the shop. Thank you, Signature Desserts!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your terrific review! We are all smiling at Signature Desserts! Please be sure to send us a photo for our Hall of Fame!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
We loved Signature Desserts. The cake is delicious, and Steve and Linda are very fun to work with. The design part was simple and easy, and Linda was able to do what we wanted for our cake. Would definitely recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for your sweet review!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful and delicious, my husband and I have no complaints. Our guests enjoyed the cake as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for your SWEET review!
130x130_sq_1358274405437-greathall
Laura
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Using Signature Desserts made our cake and desserts so easy. Our cake came out exactly as described and tasted great. Our guests loved the cake and all dessert options we chose, and we barely had any leftovers. Their prices are competitive compared to what our caterer was quoting for dessert.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your awesome review!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing people to work with!! They made the cake designing process so much fun and of course we got to taste their to-die-for cakes, cookies and so much more every time we had a meeting! They really listened to the look and details I wanted and it turned out absolutely perfect, gorgeous and tasted amazing! There were so many compliments on the cake the entire night! I can't wait to eat the 1 year anniversary cake already!!

Thanks again Signature Desserts!

The happy bride and groom--Mandy and Geo
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your lovely and complimentary review! I enjoyed working with you two, you were fun and I enjoyed helping make your dream cake come true! Please send us a photo of the two of you cutting your cake creation!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We recently had Signature Desserts as a vendor for our wedding. Our wedding cake was perfect and exactly what we had envisioned. The dessert table they provided for us was gorgeous! All of my guests couldn't believe how much there was! Everything was so delicious! We couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the FAB review! Congratulations to both of you!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
The package pricing was well below others but the quality was well above. You design your cake from scratch rather than pointing to a book so each cake is unique. The staff is family and very sweet and wonderful to work with. I took in crazy ideas and they showed me samples of techniques to make them work. The cake arrived early, without incident and looked exactly as we'd talked about. We tried other bakeries which are well known in the area but found that the same flavors at other bakeries just didn't compare to flavors at Signature Desserts.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Oh, you are so sweet and kind! Thank you very much for the great review! I loved working with you and enjoyed every minute of designing your beautiful cake! You were a wonderful customer too!
Bg2
ANNETTE
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
As always, Signature Desserts are delicious and beautiful!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
6/15/2013
1.9/5.0
Signature Desserts was included in my wedding venue. We had a tasting and chose our cake and paid extra money for extra desserts. The cake was delicious, however, they only make enough cake for the amount of people. No left over cake for the next day, and in our case, if the pieces are cut larger, not everyone got cake. One week before the wedding they called to say they did not have the color ribbon we wanted and would use ivory. Two days before the wedding called again to say they did not have any ribbon and would WE buy it and bring it down. Then they took a dessert back as we did not have as many people as originally stated. They did not refund any of our money though.
If you have a package from a venue, (hotel or hall), just be clear in what you are getting and what you want. Upon hearing of our issues afterward, our venue graciously offered to refund our money for the desserts. I did not pay the money to them so I declined, but it was a nice offer.
I am saying yes to recommendation because all of the desserts they brought were delicious. However, I am not pleased with the unprofessionalism of not having the supplies.
Also, I am not a baker, but I thought fondant could be dyed any color and cut into ribbon.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

We regret you were not pleased with our service or products. Your package was based on your initial estimated number of guests. When the final count was given to us by your venue, your confirmed number of guests dropped significantly from your initial estimate. Pricing is based on a per person amount, agreed upon in advance with your venue. In other words, you did not pay us directly. We are very sorry for the confusion and hope this will clear matters for you.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
6/8/2013
1.9/5.0
Our wedding cake and dessert table vendor was included in our reception package so I'm sure the owners are going to say we didn't pay them directly so what I write doesn't matter (I've seen this response in other negative reviews). In my opinion, that should not matter. We should still receive the same type of respect, courtesy and professionalism that all clients *should* receive. This was not the case. I won't rewrite what I posted last year about our issues with the dessert table and the attitude of Linda, but what I am posting about now is our 1 year anniversary cake top. We were given a certificate in our package for a free, fresh cake made in our *wedding cake flavors.* Linda even wrote the flavors on the card. I was really excited to taste the cake since my husband and I didn't really get a chance to during our reception. They gave us a plain chocolate cake with white icing. This is not what our wedding cake was. When I called and asked if there was a mistake I was told someone would call me back. Of course, they didn't. So, I called again and spoke with Steve who LAUGHED at me when I asked why we didn't receive a cake in our wedding flavors and then had the audacity to say 'well, you got a free cake.' Really?! It wasn't good and it was a plain cake I could have made myself. When I said 'that's not the point' he said 'what do you want me to do?! Another cake, fine. When do you want to pick it up?' When we picked up the second cake, again, in was the SAME cake as before. I have yet to try my own wedding cake flavor. They are so rude, cocky and ignorant. I will *never* go to the bakery again nor will I ever recommend it to anyone else.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
It was great working w/ Linda at Signature Desserts for our wedding cake. We really aren't "cake people", so having the other options like the dessert bar was perfect for us and our guests. We also don't have many bakers in our families, so a cookie table wasn't practical for us.

Linda takes her time with you at each visit to try and make sure the cake looks and tastes just as we would want. She keeps all the magazine cut outs other brides have brought in as "inspiration" and goes through them with you to give a lot of examples of how we could customize our cake. It looked just as I would've thought and tasted great. You really get a lot for your money, and I would definitely recommend Signature Desserts to other brides.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for your great review of Signature Desserts. It's customers like you that make our job worthwhile!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.6/5.0
The cake tasted great, the only thing I can say is that they acted like our cake design was so boring and typical and then it didn't even look like the picture. We got compliments on and and we weren't picky about our cake. But if your going to act like something is so typical you should at least do it as good or better than the picture.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your candid review. I only wish you would not have done it anonymously.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with this bakery! Our cake was personalized and it was exactly how we designed it. The cake was beautiful and the flavors were fabulous! We can't wait to eat more cake from there! Highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

We are all smiling at Signature Desserts because of your great review, but more importantly, because you had a fabulous, memorable, dream come true wedding! Thank your for allowing us to share in your moment!
-Linda & Steve & Staff
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.9/5.0
Everything was so fresh and delicious!!! I can't wait to taste our anniversary cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for the great review!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
Our cake, dessert table, tuxedo strawberries and cookies were absolutely delicious on the day of our wedding. In a mouth watering, melt in your mouth and blow your pallet out of the water kind of way. Everything was on time and in tact. Our wedding cake was a huge hit from the design to the taste. The design of our cake was more out of the box than your normal wedding cake with swirls and flowers. Which is the way my husband and I intended it to be. The guests at our wedding and even people who saw it in pictures loved it. We appreciate the extra effort that it took to make it look the way we wanted. The only thing I would point out with using Signature Desserts is if you want a design that is out of the box you may have some trouble getting what you want. When we brought our design idea to them they were very apprehensive in doing it. They even gave us other options to choose from but in the end we still wanted the design we brought in to them. Once it was agreed upon, the way they reacted to doing it was not what I would consider professional. It honestly wasn't a bad design, just different but they almost made us feel belittled with the way they communicated with us about it. Which made me nervous about how it was going to look on the wedding day (note: it turned out awesome). Maybe we just caught them on a bad day. The other thing that I like about Signature Desserts is that they offer a free 1 year anniversary cake rather than freezing your wedding cake for a year. That is nice perk with ordering a cake from them. In the end, everything on our wedding day turned out just the way expected it to be and more.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thanks for the awesome review!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Awesome product ! The dessert buffet is to die for MmMm
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you thank you thank you !!!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Linda, her husband and her team were fantastic. This was one of my husband's favorite parts of the planning process...he really enjoyed the tasting. haha.

I knew my overall vision for all the desserts, but the cake design was something I couldn't seem to make up my mind on. I have to give major props to Linda and Steve for how patient they were with me in helping me to understand how the cake would look and stand and offering suggestions to accomplish my vision.

The one thing I would have done differently was stuck with my original plan for the biggest package! :) We had 250-ish people at our wedding. Originally I had chosen the largest package then decided it might be too much...well, the guests demolished the dessert table and mentioned many times after the wedding how much they loved it! Best wedding desserts and cake in Pittsburgh!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

I am overjoyed at your sweet review! Thank you so very much! I have to say that we enjoy the creative process as much as our brides & grooms!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I worked with Signature Desserts for our wedding reception and Linda was fantastic to work with. We had a small traditional wedding cake, lots of cakes, pies and pastries. She helped keep us under budget and was very responsive to all of our questions. Great company to work witj!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

We appreciate your feedback and thank you so much!!!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Larissa
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.9/5.0
Everything at Signature Desserts is delicious. They made our wedding cake, a cake for one of our little cousins' birthday (on the day of the wedding) & 3 additional sheet cakes & we didn't have much leftover. Everyone loved it & everyone raved about how beautiful the cake was decorated. My only complaint is that even though I had said I had a custom-made cake topper, they still decorated the top with flowers & when we got there the cake topper was not placed on top, but instead on the table to the side. Everything else was great. They are very easy & pleasant to work with & also affordable.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the great review. Your cake was awesome looking! Great work on the design!
130x130_sq_1314570255010-27048258053806554864700025321392878286157n
melony
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We used Signature Desserts for our September 1 wedding, and they were wonderful! The venue we had our reception at has a contract with them, which is great for a bride like myself who didn't want to have to find all of the vendors on my own. We met with Steve and Linda, the owners, and they treated us like they had known us for ever. They provided cake and cookies for us to try. We had an amazing wedding cake, as well as a full dessert bar full of pies, cakes, tortes, etc. Everyone at the wedding was raving how wonderful everything tasted, and was presented. Thank you to Signature Desserts for a wonderful presentation. If you're looking for a small family owned business who cares about YOU, not a number, or dollar signs and want's to make your day special, give them a call!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the wonderful review. We try our best and it's folks like you that give us our greatest pleasure!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.4/5.0
Signature Desserts provided an excellent dessert buffet with a 3-tiered wedding cake as part of our reception package at the Holiday Inn. Linda was professional and we had so much fun designing our cake! On our wedding day, our cake came just as we envisioned it. The only thing that wasn't delivered was the take home boxes for our guests that we paid for. Linda was very nice and responsive to this and took care of it. I will say their desserts are heavenly! Make sure you try the tuxedo strawberries and their Death By Chocolate Cake. Thank you for everything Signature Desserts!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
steelersfan0325
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.0/5.0
Their cakes are wonderful. They tasted amazing. My husband and I ordered their dessert buffet which was a huge hit. However, our cake wasn't designed exactly the way we wanted. It was still good and beautifu but this was a little disappointing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

I am sincerely sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with Signature Desserts Weddings. We want all of our customers to have a great experience and be happy on their wedding day. I'd like to make this right. Give me a call and let's discuss what disappointed you. Thank you very much for your candid review.
Linda Mueser, Owner
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlin
Wedding:
6/9/2012
3.1/5.0
Signature desserts made a very beautiful, delicious cake for our wedding and provided cookies for the cookie table as well. It was really tasty, and even though the design wasn't exactly what I was expecting, it was still very pretty and we received many compliments. The value can't be beat.

We did run into problems with the service, however. As our wedding was far outside of Pittsburgh, we were transporting the cake ourselves, (which was fine.) We talked to the owner at our tasting and discussed how to transport, what to do with the cake when we got it to the site, etc; that was all very helpful. We were going to rent a cake box for transport to ensure that the cake would arrive intact.

When I called to give my final payment, the employee I spoke to said we couldn't put the deposit on the cake box as I was paying by credit card and they would need a check for a deposit that they would not cash unless the box went unreturned. Fair enough; she said I could bring the deposit check for the cake box when the cake was picked up.

When one of my bridesmaids arrived to pick the cake up, check in hand, she was told that there was no cake box as we never ordered a cake box (when we had ordered it and discussed its necessity extensively.) So she had to transport it in an open sheet cake box.

The thing that really bothered me, though, and that has me writing this review is that she was made fun of by the signature desserts people (not sure if employees or owners.) They asked her what kind of car she was driving to transport the cake in. She responded "a sedan," and they proceeded to make digs at her, implying that the cake would not make it to the venue like that and she needed a van to take it there. This was not some crazy 5-tier cake or anything. And they were making fun of her, not making a suggestion--all the while not providing the agreed upon cake box that would have made it a safer process. So she spent the 1.5+ hour drive to the venue paranoid that she was going to ruin the wedding cake.

The cake arrived fine, but I was upset that they found it appropriate to speak to her that way. Their professionalism was severely lacking.

Signature desserts makes beautiful, affordable, tasty wedding cakes. But I would probably not do business with them again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
The cakes and desserts provided by Signature Desserts were amazing! everything was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much, Amber for the fantastic review!
Wwnetwork-128
Brittney
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.7/5.0
Along with our wedding cake, we ordered the dessert buffet package from Signature Desserts. It was a nice variety of items. I had no idea what I wanted when it came to designing our wedding cake. Linda worked with me for about an hour to come up with something I liked, and the end result was perfect. The cake tasted great too! When the cakes were delivered to the hall, they weren’t cut, but scored for the caterer to know where to cut the pieces. When the cakes were cut and put out the pieces were way too big for the amount of guests we had. Because of this, I don’t believe everyone was able to get a piece of cake. I’m not sure if this was a mix up with Signature Desserts, by scoring the pieces too big, or the caterer Erin’s Fine Foods, by just cutting the pieces too big. Also, Signature Desserts does not provide contracts like many other bakers do. Instead, Linda keeps a piece of hand written notes on a wall with your information on it. Everything worked out for me, but I can see how this may be an issue for others (confusion with outstanding balance, when final payment is due, etc.).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your lovely review. Just a quick note regarding the wedding cake information sheet we use which serves as our contract.Since we do over 350 weddings a year, wey have a computer program that keeps tract of everything from payments made to weddings, locations and dates. We don't actually "hang" the wedding cake papers on the wall. What you are referring to was the wedding cakes for the next week. We hang them up and review all the information 2 weeks prior to the wedding date to make sure that we have proper directions, payments in full, and all flowers, ribbons etc. It's a pretty good system, actually.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I wish there were more stars! Signature Desserts was the best, most economical choice we could have made for our wedding. We got the package that included a wedding cake with multiple satellites and a lit fountain and we got the dessert buffet. Our guests were amazed, they had never seen anything like it! We shopped a lot of wedding cake places, including Bethel Bakery. We found Signature Desserts to be the most bang for the buck. The price was so reasonable considering the wow factor. And, the cake was delicious. Most weddings I've attended served mediocre cake, which is always a disappointment since I anticipate dessert all night. Our cake is so good, I can't wait to have another piece from the fridge tonight. And our cake was decorated so beautifully with flowers. Between the look and taste of the cake and the wow factor of the dessert buffet, I really can't say enough good things. They have my lifelong business.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
santeeam
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake turned out absolutely gorgeous. We got a cake called the "Big Ass Cake". It had the normal cake with a fountain underneath and satellite cakes surrounding it. They work with you there to get the cake you have dreamed of. Whatever design, color, etc., they can make it happen for you. Their desserts are to die for including the pies and cookies. A+
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was as lovely as it was delicious and as delicious as it was lovely! Excellent service and wonderful people! I highly recommend this vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CARRIE
Wedding:
12/10/2011
4.7/5.0
I purchased the wedding cake at an expensive price, but it was well worth it, white icing, white cake with strawberry filling, absolutely amazing. I would recommend this place for any cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Signature Desserts is a small family owned business that takes great pride in what they do. During our consultation, Linda and the team filled us up with delicious samples of desserts and cookies. They also spent approximately 2 hours with us, showing us hundreds of pictures of cakes; and again giving us a sugar high! They were very patient with my indecisiveness, made suggestions that weren't overbearing, and were very accommodating throughout this entire experience.

The package we bought for our reception was the Silver Wedding Package (for 200 guests). We had a dessert buffet to include cakes, pies, tortes, and cookies in addition to a 3 tiered wedding cake (pretty much any flavor and design at no extra cost!). We preferred not to have a dozen chocolate covered strawberries (as stated in the package) and I believe they were substituted for a few dozen cookies (dont quote me on the exact number of cookies) BUT point is they were very accommodating. My sister's birthday was on the day of the reception and Linda and her staff even put "Happy Birthday" (with her name) on one of the cakes at no extra cost.

Another huge perk is that you get a free anniversary cake on your one year wedding anniversary so you dont have to save the top tier of the wedding cake in your freezer.

Besides my guests telling me the cookies were small, my guests loved the dessert buffet. EVERYTHING WAS DELICIOUS and I would definitely recommend them to a friend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyse
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
If there were more than 5 stars, Signature Desserts would deserve them. Our cake was amazing. Several layers on the main cake and several smaller cakes to the side decorated in a fall theme with leaves. We also had many desserts in our package and guests were wowed by it all. Everything was fresh and delicious and very special.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Wow! Thanks so much!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mildred
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.6/5.0
Very delicious. When I went to meet with her the line to her bakery wrapped around the building outside which is always a good sign. My cake was delicious and turned out beautiful. The dessert buffet was wiped clean. I had no problems working with her what so ever.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katy
Wedding:
10/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Great place. We decided on a dessert display and serve cake for 100 instead of 160.Great idea, the guests couldn't get enough and all of the desserts were gone by the end of the night. Delish! Highly recommend!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much!
130x130_sq_1289791730402-copypic05
Amanda
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.5/5.0
We got our cake along with the dessert package from Signature becuase it was included with our package from our venue. We really enjoyed having the dessert package and got boxes for the cake so people could take home which worked out really nice. I did not get the chance to taste the cake or desserts but we did have chocolate covered strawberries for the head table which were so delicious!

The only complaint I have was that we ordered a round cake and got a square one! I know this is part our fault because when we went to our first meeting we ordered the square cake but then changed our minds becuase I fell in love with a round cake they previously did. We went back for another meeting where she threw away the first picture and sketched us a new one that was round but we still got square. I'm not sure how that happened but it did. It wasn't a big deal but it did stink that we took the limited time we did have and drove an hour for another appointment!

We can't wait for the anniversary cake on our 1 year anniversary so that we can actually taste the cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marissa
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.1/5.0
We used Signature Desserts for our wedding. We simply loved the idea of the dessert table-- and so did our guests! Even though most of them had already filled up on cookies, the dessert table was a huge hit. My only complaints are that they got our fillings wrong on our cake... My husband and I, of course, were the only ones who noticed, but it was definitely a bummer. Also, they refused to work with live flowers on the cake. I had to go spend a ton of money on fake flowers to ensure they would use them on my cake. While those are definitely minor things, you can't go wrong with the taste of a Signature Dessert!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you so very much for the great review. I am very very sorry about the mistake made with your fillings. If you have not done so already, please call me and I will do something to try to compensate. With regards to placing live flowers on your cake, live flowers are ALWAYS treated with pesticides...and are not monitored by the FDA. Many varieties of live flowers are ALSO poisonous. By laying these flowers directly onto your cake, you are risking your guests health and well being. That is why our company will not be willing to place LIVE flowers on a cake....best to check with your florist regarding this matter.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.9/5.0
My husband and I loved using Signature Desserts for our wedding. They helped us to stay on budget while providing the best desserts/wedding cake possible. Our dessert buffet was a MAJOR HIT and impressed our guests. Everyone enjoyed their desserts! We would HIGHLY recommend using Signature Desserts.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to review Signature Desserts! We are happy to hear that your dessert buffet was a success!
130x130_sq_1274976614715-esession2
Nicole
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Signature Desserts was absolutely wonderful to work with for our wedding. They were so helpful in deciding the design of our cake and personalilizing it for our guests. The full dessert package was perfect and really helped fill up our dessert ROOM. Yes, room. I think we still have dessert frozen because we couldn't bear to throw any of it out!!!! Delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Loved signature desserts, they did an amazing job. All the desserts were delicious and our guests loved the dessert bar!!! Would definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christine
Wedding:
12/11/2010
4.4/5.0
we ordered our cake from signature desserts which was amazing. my daughter gave them a picture that she had in mind and they match it perfectly she wso pleased. it also tasted like heaven
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna Lee
Wedding:
11/20/2010
4.8/5.0
The cake and dessert bar were amazing!! We got to keep the top round of the cake and we have been eating it every night after our honeymoon since it is so good! We'll also get a cake on our anniversary date :) Wonderful desserts / beautiful designs. I highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
briana
Wedding:
10/16/2010
3.4/5.0
I'll start off by saying our cake and other desserts were delicious and our guests loved them. We received many compliments. We also got a lot for our money. However, customer service and organization was lacking. I never received a copy of our contract (which she keeps stuck to the outside a cabinet with a magnet amongst many other contracts). In the chaos of the last 3 weeks of wedding planning, I forgot to call them to check on my final payment. I got a rude call from Linda on a Saturday evening (5 or 6 pm) letting me know I was late and she wouldn't accept a check since it wouldn't clear before the wedding. Excuse me? Not clear? I took as an insult and an accusation as possibly writing a bad check. Also, we ordered a cake topper, paid for it, but it didn't make it to the reception. I'll be calling her for a refund for that...I'll let you know how that goes.

Update: I just got off the phone with Linda. She is sending my refund. However, as with previous reviews, it wasn't pleasant. She saw this review and told me I was immature and attempted to ruin her reputation. And that I should have asked for a contract if I wanted one. I did not offer an apology and neither did she. You just don't talk to people like that.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ECP612
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Affordable, great to work with, and our desserts were DELICIOUS! The special theme wedding cake they made for us turned out exactly the way we wanted it. It was absolutely perfect! =)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg22
Mindy
Wedding:
6/11/2010
5.0/5.0
OH MY GOSH SIGNATURE DESSERTS WAS AMAZING!!!!

The cost for our cake and dessert buffet was unbeatable and the cake was DELICIOUS!!!

We received soooooo many compliments! Everyone loved it!

Very highly recommended!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Their Service was the best.The cakes were beautiful and affordable. They have some innovative designs for gift wrappings.The wedding cake tasted delicious, and looked fantastic. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had a dessert table and a small cake. Everything was amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Signature Deserts is very professional and has a number of adjustable packages to choose from. They also make you a small topper of your wedding cake fresh on your anniversary so you do not have to eat year old defrosted wedding cake. We chose their dessert buffet and smaller cake package. It was fantastic...the desserts looked absolutely amazing and we got compliments all night long. We still had cake left over but the desserts were absolutely picked clean. We were able to go with carrot cake as it is our favorite without having to worry about what our guests may prefer as we had tons of other options.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
12/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Great cake - limited selection, but you can bring in a picture of the cake!From the minute we saw the photo of the cake we knew it was the one.It is one of the only places that actually cares about their product and will listen to the customer closely. They are always willing to work with you and your budget. I will definetely use this company in the future. Thanks again!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nocares67
Wedding:
8/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Signature Desserts is absolutely fantastic - our cake was gorgeous and so delicious! They're really friendly and very helpful in picking out the design and flavors for your cake. They seem to be able to do pretty much anything and were able to help us explain exactly what we had envisioned. They were the 6th bakery we tried and while others were good, they were FANTASTIC - and they're really affordable, too. They also bake you a fresh version for your anniversary so you don't have to freeze the top tier of your wedding cake. I cannot recommend them highly enough; they were the best of any vendor we had, and all of our vendors were very good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlexsandraK
Wedding:
8/1/2009
4.2/5.0
Great to work with! I did not have a concrete idea of what I wanted for the cake and Linda was able to work with me and design one that was perfect!!!! It turned out beautiful! We decided to go with the dessert buffet as well. All the cakes/tortes/tuxedo strawberries not only looked but tasted amazing. It was such and impressive display and nice change from the guest just getting a little piece of wedding cake. The only snafu we encountered was with the cake stand. During my 2 meetings with Linda it was never clearly communicated that we were in charge of returning the cake stand. I assumed, that just like the florist comes back for the vases they would come back for the cake stand. When we came back from the honeymoon I had a message on my phone that the stand was not returned. Thankfully the country club but them in touch with my mother in law and she was able to return. She is out of state and suggested to meet half way but there was no flexibility there. Although I should have double checked it would have been nice if it was clearly stated to me during our last meeting. None of that took away from the amazing desert!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
8/1/2009
4.4/5.0
I would highly recommend Signature Desserts. Overall I had a great experience with them, and they really beat out their competition when it comes to what is most important -- the deliciousness of their desserts and the value for the cost.

I got the dessert package from Signature Desserts for my wedding and everything about it was superb. The cake is so delicious it is addictive, and we received a lot of compliments on both the cake and the other desserts as well. I also had a tasting with another bakery in the area that is more well-known and very popular, and Signature desserts won the taste contest hands down. The price was also about 33% less than the other bakery, so of course the decision was a no-brainer.

The cake was not only delicious but beautiful as well. I was a little bit worried that about the design of the cake, because we didn't go exactly with one of the pictures they had but instead mixed a bunch of examples and added a few things, but it came out perfect!

The only complaint I have about Signature Desserts is that they are a little bit pushy about what you should do as opposed to listening and adapting to what you want. (I get particularly annoyed at this sort of thing with wedding vendors since it's YOUR wedding, not theirs, and their goal should be to give you what YOU want, not what they would want.) For example, they really push you to get a dessert package as opposed to just getting a cake (they are the same price for a given number of guests). I happened to like the idea of having a variety of desserts instead of just a cake, but if you just want a cake, be prepared to argue with them over it. In addition, they wouldn't let us get different cake flavors for different layers of the cake (not even if we paid extra) because they insisted it would be too complicated when it came to serving it (which didn't make any sense to me, since the dessert is served buffet style, but they didn't want to listen to that). Finally, they insist on giving you a complementary cake on your first anniversary instead of providing enough cake so you can freeze the top layer, which was fine with me, but I know some people are more into those type of traditions.

Overall, the positives definitely outweigh the negatives for this vendor. They get it right on the important stuff. As I said, highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1229359148492-tree
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
They were excellent! We had a 3 tier cake, and I believe 8 other pies/cakes/tortes. Everyone commented how delicious they were and what a unique idea it was to have a dessert buffet. We were very, very happy with them! The wedding cake was exactly what we asked for, also! They arrived promptly to deliver the cakes on the wedding day. Highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hilaryforsythe
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Forget Bethel Bakery, Signature Desserts is the way to go for your wedding! We could not have been happier with our cake and the amazing dessert buffet that Signature offers. And the price? Can't beat it! The cake and desserts were incredibly fresh, unlike some of the other bakeries that bake their cakes ahead of time and freeze them. And we LOVED getting a small, fresh cake on our one year anniversary instead of eating a freezer burned topper like a lot of people traditionally do. The price, professionalism and most importantly, the taste of the cakes and desserts is the best I have ever had!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
4/18/2009
3.3/5.0
The wedding cake we ordered from Signature Desserts was amazing! It was beautiful and delicious! We also had our favors (tuxedo and bride dress strawberries) come from Signature Desserts and they were a hit! Guests raved about the look and taste of the cake and we could not be happier with how it turned out. On the other hand, we had the misfortune of turning the cake stand in late which was unbeknownst to us because we were on our honeymoon. We had made arrangements for the cake stand to be returned but for one reason or another that did not happen. It might be worth changing the policy from the couple returning the cake stand to the vendor picking it up after use. It is very easy in the midst of everything to forget that one detail, and the consequences were not pleasant. I would recommend them to anyone, but I would just warn about the cake stand policy.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dreamalot38
Wedding:
12/6/2008
4.5/5.0
Working with Signature Desserts was a no-brainer. It is the BEST value for your money if you get the dessert table along with your cake. Guests are still commenting on how our cake was the best that they've ever tasted. And we of course agree.

Linda is very easy to work with and talk with - she makes you feel very confortable, which is much appreciated during such a stressful time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
11/15/2008
4.2/5.0
Signature Desserts was delicious, I would recommend them to anyone. We had so many compliments on how beautiful our wedding cake was, and how delicious all the desserts on the dessert buffet were.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amberrose310
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
Signature Desserts provided the wedding cake and dessert buffet for our reception, which was awesome. They were great to work with and I highly reccomend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessiegirl
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.0/5.0
Cake was delicious (at the tasting, I never managed a piece at the wedding), they were very generous sending us home with a small cake and cookies from the tasting, and they were priced much more aggressively than the competition for a very tasty product. They are slightly pushy about their dessert table which is a fabulous idea, but I wanted a large wedding cake and they also tried to talk me out of freezing the top of my cake. Overall though, a great vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gibette
Wedding:
8/23/2008
4.1/5.0
Our wedding cake was amazing from Signature Desserts. Our guests loved the design that included sugar flowers which many thought were real. One suggestion for the bakery is to send brides/grooms reminder of when the rented cake stand should be returned and a written contract of extras that come with your package so everyone is on the same page. We look forward to receiving our complimentary anniversary cake when the time arrives!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Signature Desserts responded with the following comments:

At your suggestion, we have reviewed our Cake Pedestal Rental policy and have instituted written instructions. Thank you.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmrossi06
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Signature Desserts was the first -- and only! -- baker that my husband and I met with during the planning process. We were completely blown away by the number of cakes and assortment of desserts that they offered at their bakery. The dessert buffet at our wedding was such a hit that we didn't come home with any leftovers.

Steve and Linda were such a joy to work with. In addition to our dessert buffet, they created us a 4-tier wedding cake that was absolutely beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mercifem
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Professional, Beautiful! Great service and quality and QUANTITY for the cost! I have gone back to them again and again since my wedding for various cakes and pastries.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
niteangel41
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.5/5.0
We had the wedding cake and dessert buffet. Everything tasted wonderful and we received many compliments on the uniqueness of it. There was not one crumb left at the end of the wedding. The idea of them giving you a fresh cake for your 1st anniversary is nice as well. I was a little disappointed with the wedding cake design, although Linda did as I asked for the sugar flower design, they were a bit large for the cake, and I felt that she should have told me they would be too large for that and I would have chosen something a bit smaller. However, in the end it was still ok and i would use them again. we still get cakes there as they are simply wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
12/29/2007
4.6/5.0
Linda was great to work with. She helped us design our winter wedding cake and it looked beautiful! She had great suggestions and was willing to do anything we wanted. The cake tasted wonderful, we got many compliments on it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1207079398450-n6803069_40913633_3048
Amanda
Wedding:
10/27/2007
5.0/5.0
Linda and her husband, Steve, were truly amazing to work with. I was so pleased to hear about the assorment of desserts available with our wedding cake, I booked them on my first visit in to the bakery. My MOH and I even got a private tour of the cooler to show off some of their spectacular cakes. Our cake was absolutely gorgeous, and we even get to go back on our first anniversary for a fresh "topper!" Our venue raved about how great Signature is to work with. We chose Mango-Raspberry filling, to go with the colors of course, and the compliments we got on the entire dessert "buffet" were endless!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanna
Wedding:
6/30/2007
4.3/5.0
Signature Dessert was absolutely fantastic for my event. They were flexible and able to appropriately work around my schedule with planning an out-of-town wedding. They provided me with not only a fabulous 3 tier wedding cake but also a dessert buffet. At the wedding the buffet was hit!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystal
Wedding:
6/1/2007
5.0/5.0
Best idea for wedding desserts I had ever experianced. We choose the diamond wedding package witch fedd 150 people. It included 2 dozen chocolate didpped strawberries, 3 tier wedding cake, and our choice of 7 desserts off of the menu. The cake was amazing white almond cake with raspberry filling and butter cream icing. Our 7 desserts we picked were black forest cake, carrot cake, death by chocolate cake, patriotic cheese cake, apple crumb tart, lemon meringue pie, and fresh fruit flan. We recieved rave reviews about the cake and all the great desserts there were to choose from. The cake was displayed seprately from the other desserts. Everything else was set up with the cookies and served like dessert bar after dinner. The best part is they make you a one year anniversery cake instead of having to eat old frozen cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
3360 Library Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15234 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Signature Desserts
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo