130x130_sq_1284770733498-logo

Simply Scrumptious

Greensboro , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Greensboro, NC US 27407 (map)

PHONE

336-317-6762

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Simply Scrumptious is a bakery located in Greensboro, NC. All of our recipes are made from scratch and are based on local, organic ingredients.
Simply Scrumptious is a bakery located in Greensboro, NC. All of our recipes are made from scratch and are based on local, organic ingredients. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1314561587127-cakehorizontalwm
130x130_sq_1284772770097-cc267
130x130_sq_1284772935175-0013
130x130_sq_1284772978816-002
130x130_sq_1284773087534-0032
130x130_sq_1284773199347-093
130x130_sq_1284773313394-126
130x130_sq_1284773818347-k051
130x130_sq_1284773873612-cc570
130x130_sq_1284773951237-uncg1
130x130_sq_1284774103050-cake6full
130x130_sq_1284774210894-108
130x130_sq_1284774386456-111
130x130_sq_1284774483722-171
130x130_sq_1284774624691-167
130x130_sq_1284774709128-183
130x130_sq_1284774776987-186
130x130_sq_1284775174925-chinesepagodacake1
130x130_sq_1284778106394-richardsdaughterscake
130x130_sq_1309751731994-shelbyandmatt
130x130_sq_1309752274032-joynerwedding66
130x130_sq_1309752527080-img1359davidcrottsphotography
130x130_sq_1309752756806-katiekleinstudioopening
130x130_sq_1309752897425-melaniesweddingcake2
130x130_sq_1309753076716-vernoncathyscake2
130x130_sq_1309753302604-cake1
130x130_sq_1309753457856-jrsellers
130x130_sq_1309753672388-0012
130x130_sq_1309754558048-img1010
130x130_sq_1309754845198-dsc05796
130x130_sq_1309910781995-img2274
130x130_sq_1309911169843-img2296
130x130_sq_1314560815503-proximityorchidcake
130x130_sq_1314561093964-dsc0270
130x130_sq_1314563356919-057botapril2011
130x130_sq_1314563403782-058botapril2011
130x130_sq_1314563482016-059botapril2011
130x130_sq_1324958340903-3917341015035708093145126038941145083211902028990738n
130x130_sq_1324958617601-ashleychris
130x130_sq_1342996569050-lanikajohnnysweddingcake
130x130_sq_1343001040425-tuttle.hargravewedding
130x130_sq_1343001388411-jenniferandysweddingcake
130x130_sq_1343002418529-32adaumontfarmwedding
130x130_sq_1343003706340-stephnathansweddingcake
130x130_sq_1343004283619-emilymikesweddingcake
130x130_sq_1343005185551-traceystevensdessertbuffet
130x130_sq_1343006884014-andreaanddillionsweddingcakewithflowers2
130x130_sq_1343007279638-amandaevansweddingcake
130x130_sq_1284776038097-096
130x130_sq_1314562458015-mwprod0427112054
130x130_sq_1284775845050-truffles
130x130_sq_1314562924331-ganachetruffles
130x130_sq_1314563157847-jjj058
130x130_sq_1284778696425-logo

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Julie provided nothing short of EXCELLENT service. She assisted us in planning an apporpriate amount of dessert for our wedding, and was eager to work with us to plan for a cake plus panna cotta (which she'd never made before our wedding). She arranged an additional tasting with us to try the panna cotta, and was highly responsive to feedback. The cake and panna cotta were both beautiful, elegant, and absolutely DELICIOUS! As a result of Julie's guidance on estimating amount to provide, we were left with a very reasonably amount of leftovers and little was wasted.

Julie also communicated openly about unavoidable matters that had the potential to disrupt her availability for our wedding in a timely and professional manner, allowing us ample time to secure another vendor if we had chosen to do so. We are so thrilled we decided to continue our work with Julie, and she consistently provided responsive, professional, and dedicated service!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
One of the first questions that new brides are asked is "Where are you getting the cake?!" When the bride is a baker, that question comes up even more! The hubs insisted that we make our wedding cake ourselves....so we did! Kinda crazy...I wonder how many other bakers do that? I wouldn't change it for the world though. It was a team effort using mom's recipe...couldn't ask for much more. We even made a last minute decision to cut the cake ourselves, which helped us to chat with each guest as they came to get a piece, which I highly recommend. <3
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Julie was AMAZING! And her cake was so out of this world - everyone loved it :) We ended up going with her because she was connected to our caterer, Sweet Basil's. Both tried to source all their ingredients locally. Julie was affordable and super laid back - we didn't even pay her until the day of the wedding. She always responded to my texts and made arrangements to get together around my schedule and the times that I was in town. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Julie is absolutely wonderful! She was our best and easiest vendor to work with for our wedding. Julie is very professional and responsive, and all of our guests enjoyed the cupcakes she made; most had more than one! She was even kind enough to make a small cake for my grandfather's birthday since it was the same day as our wedding. We cannot speak highly enough of her! Thank you so much, Julie!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful, elegant, and delicious! The organic ingredients really made this cake taste amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
We LOVED working with Julie! We had the cake shots for our reception last month. Our guests loved them as did we. She is very quick at responding to emails, calls and even texts. The cake is absolutely delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/28/2012
5.0/5.0
There are no words to describe how amazing our deserts were by Simply Scrumptious!!! Julie did our wedding deserts as well as a surprise rehearsal cake for our rehearsal dinner. Julie was so easy to work with and immediately knew what our goals for deserts were for our outdoor fall themed wedding. She also did an amazing job with a Carolina Panthers themed cake she designed as a surprise for my fiancé. My husband and I were munching on the little bit of left over deserts for days after the wedding! All of our guests had nothing but compliments for her deserts! We would definitely recommend her for any type of event.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie makes the best cakes and pies. I had several people tell me the pecan pie was the best they had ever had. It must have been because by the time I went to have a piece, it was all gone. I did have a piece of her sweet potato pie and it was out of this world. The wedding cake was delicious too....not a piece left.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmbrewer82
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.8/5.0
We had an awesome experience with Simply Scrumptious! Julie is so creative and executed all of our ideas perfectly. We had a small wedding cake and tons of mini-desserts. I heard they were awesome! They were gone before I got any!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg1
Mrs_Brown721
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie was great to work with! The cake was beautiful and tasted great! We had quite a crowd for the cake tasting but Julie was very accomodating and gave great suggestions for our cake design. I cannot wait to order another cake "just because!"
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie was wonderful to work with! So easy and flexible! The cake was absolutely beautiful and tasted amazing! People are constantly asking me who made the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Leslie
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie is...simply put...UNBELIEVABLE. She was the biggest blessing to us. She did our groom's cake, rehearsal dinner desserts, wedding cake, extra desserts, and even truffles as party favors. She uses local and organic ingredients (except for her Oreo truffle!). Her cakes are so moist, with the most delectable buttercream frostings. The traditional dry/sugary cakes don't even come close to matching Julie's work. She truly cares about her clients and it is abundantly clear she is passionate about what she does. She aims to please, and works so hard to get things done. I told her numerous times to raise her prices! Julie's work was one of our favorite parts of the wedding, and I would promote her as a person, her business, or her desserts with the utmost confidence. You HAVE to try her truffles and carrot cake! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1319556263384-2969829435799014012500417241873016796461356n
Joshua
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie is incredible! Everyone commented on how amazing the cake tasted!!! We had quite a bit leftover so we definitely stole it and took it home yay!!! Can't wait for our year anniversary cake already!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie was just wonderful. She made sure my daughter's wedding cake was perfect in every way. We truly enjoyed working with Julie and the cake was delicious and absolutely beautiful! We could not have been more pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Julie is so detail oriented. She made sure multiple times that the cake design was exactly what we wanted. We also received special treats made by her during the process! Yum
She has a lot of energy and desires to please. She made the decision to purchase her own silver cake stand for the maiden use at our wedding. She is so easy to work with plus her cakes are outstanding and scrumptious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rxtrace
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Simply Scrumptious was perfect for our wedding. We did not want a single wedding cake and decided to do a cake and pie dessert table. Their desserts were beautiful and tasty! They arrived on time as promised and were set up perfectly for our decor. They were also willing to fulfill a special request for a guest with a gluten allergy only a month before the event date. We were delighted with the service and products provided by Simply Scrumptious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jwtrbovich
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie was a delight to work with and the cake turned out absolutely amazing. She was so helpful in offering so many different options to make a cake that would fit our budget. Very easy going and friendly which is extremely important when dealing with the stress of planning a wedding. My advice, DO NOT put up with bakers who do not show you that your business is a priority to them. Julie demonstrated to me right away that she wanted our business but was not pushy. Highly recommend her and can't wait to have more of her edible delights!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
We enjoyed working with Julie to create our wedding cake, as well as a groom's cake and rehearsal dinner cake. Julie went above and beyond to create just the cake we envisioned. She was quick to respond and flexible with creating the flavors and design we wanted.The cake was beautiful and delicious. We got many rave reviews from people who saw and tasted the cake. We highly recommend Simply Scrumptious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
em
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We truly had the most beautiful and amazingly delicious wedding cake! Julie has such a gift and we are so thankful for her. We met her at the wedding show at the Greensboro Coliseum and fell in love with her and her cakes! We did do tastings at several bakeries in the area but hands down, Simply Scrumptious is the best!! We loved that she uses organic butter and real ingredients. Once you taste a cake made like this, you will never go back! If all vendors were like Julie, wedding planning would be a breeze:) We are looking forward to ordering a little carrot cake and chocolate truffles for Valentine's Day from her! Thanks again Julie...you are the best:)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Julie was fantastic! We ordered one of her carrot cakes for our wedding, but with a few alterations (though with all her incredible choices, it was a little tempting to deviate from the plan), and every single request was received with a friendly "no problem!" I had a simple, but pretty specific idea of how I wanted the cake to look, and she totally nailed it. Her communication was great, she was always prompt about getting in touch, and she worked very closely with us to create exactly what we wanted. A few days before the wedding I asked if she could make a separate miniature egg-free cake to accommodate one guest's allergies, and it was at the reception waiting for us (I'm told it was wonderful). We're still receiving compliments on our wedding cake; I've heard more than once, "that was the best carrot cake I've ever had," and even "the best wedding cake I've ever had" (You don't typically expect carrot cake to be such a hit). A number of our guests have asked us for her info; one called me because she had an occasion coming up and was so impressed with our cake that she wanted to get the exact same one.

She also did two groom's cakes (coconut and chocolate butter cream) for our rehearsal dinner, and those were phenomenal as well. My husband is a guitarist, so both cakes had fondant guitars with sheet music. I literally gave her song ideas the day of the dinner, and that night the cakes were ready for us at the restaurant (and the sheet music wasn't just some notes randomly drawn on some horizontal lines; she actually looked up the songs and had the correct musical notation!)

I tried to go local as much as possible when putting this wedding together, so that was another big point in Julie's favor, but honestly, even without the local ingredient aspect, she'd still have 5 out of 5 stars! I really can't recommend Simply Scrumptious enough, thank you so much Julie!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Julie was so accomodating during our wedding planning. We were from out of town and would call her with just a few days notice and she was always willing to meet us. She gave us generous samples of all the flavors and was willing to give her opinion on which flavors complemented each other, which would be best with buttercream or fondant, etc. I found her to be very honest about her capabilities with what I was asking for. Additionally, she found us a cake plate to match a special handmade caketopper and bring everything together. Julie really went above and beyond and I can not recommend her enough. The cake got lots of compliments at the wedding, for its beauty and taste. After being frozen for 2 weeks in just a cardboard box while we were on our honeymoon it still tasted great! If you have the opportunity also get a dozen of her truffles. They are to die for!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
This is a wonderful vendor to use for your wedding cakes! Her cupcakes and cakes are beautiful and taste as good as they look! She responded to my emails and phone calls quickly (especially after my first wedding cake vendor left me hanging out to dry). She is very helpful in finding what you like and meeting your requests! She is also very friendly and actually cares about your wedding. I really felt like my husband and I were the only wedding she was baking a cake for! I would recommend her to anyone!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
r_frazie
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Julie at Simply Scrumptious is amazing! Her cakes are delicious and her flavors go beyond the typical vanilla or chocolate. I cannot count the number of compliments I received at and after my wedding from guests on the unique, delicious flavors and the beautiful display. Julie is quick to respond to emails and calls and is willing to help in whatever way she can to make your cake perfect. She keeps in touch throughout the planning process to talk and confirm details with the cake. I highly recommend her, as her cakes are phenomenal and her customer service is exceptional! I look forward to using Julie for many other events that I need cake or cupcakes for!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LStokes
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake plans fell through 1 and 1/2 months prior to the wedding. I then recalled the most delicious cake me and my wife-to-be had ever eaten. It was a chocolate cake with a delicious caramel buttercream with toffee bit and caramel drizzle that me and my fiance (now wife!) ate at Beyu Caffe in downtown Durham about a year and half before our wedding. We were told by the owner that it was made from all local and organic ingredients by an amazing baker in Greensboro, so needless to say, I always assumed this caliber of cake would be out of our price range.
Back to my wedding cake plans falling through....I did research online after we reminisced about this chocolate caramel cake and became determined to have it at our wedding. After about 3 hours of random googling of "Greensboro bake", "local ingredients", and "chocolate caramel" I finally found Julie Watson's website. It was 10pm, but I didn't hesitate to call her right then. She answered and was much obliged to do a cake tasting. After 2 delicious cake tasting (we decided we wanted 2 cakes instead of just one) and a convenient meeting in Durham, we decided on a vanilla cake with fresh local strawberries and the best vanilla buttercream I've ever tasted and, of course, the chocolate caramel cake. The two cakes were a hit. They looked beautiful and tasted even better. All the way leading up to our wedding Julie texted with me and took my calls to finalize pick up and all other details. I can't get over how helpful and hospitable she is, on top of being an excellent cake baker and pastry chef. I am the toughest of critics, but I was 100% happy and pleased with my experience with Julie Watson at Simply Scrumptious. I would recommend anyone within 100 miles of Greensboro (or more! I was 65 miles away) to use her services. She is worth it as her cakes are far superior to the competition and your guests will actually love you wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vanessa
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Julie is a great girl!!! we were so blessed!!! to have her be part of our special day!!!! I will recomend her to anybody. Very sweet person and make an Amazing delicious cake!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
genny0427
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Julie, thank you for making our wedding cake on 8/28/10 ! We & our guests loved it ! It was so beautiful & delicious! Thanks again ! Genny & John Hill
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CG Ward
Wedding:
7/11/2010
5.0/5.0
As an older Bride, I have tasted a lot of wedding cakes. The cake we chose at Simply Scrumptious was the most beautiful and delicious cake I have ever seen or tasted at a wedding. My friends from all over are still talking about it!!! It was scrumptiously decadent. The cakes beauty and taste was only exceeded by the owner's professionalism. She over delivered and held to your every promise. She made a potentially stressful situation, relaxed and calm. I would unequivocally recommend Julie Watson and Simply Scrumptious to anyone!!!! Cathy, Greensboro, NC
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly and Shane
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.9/5.0
Simply Scrumptious provided an excellent quality cake that was absolutely beautiful. She woked amazing with our schedules and was prompt on every phone call. The price was very much in range and affordable for the high standard of the cake. We loved our experience and would reccomend her to anyone. Several people actually asked for her number after trying the cake. I t was overall a great experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happymotherof thebride
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Simply Scrumptious not only made the wedding cake for our oldest daughter's wedding, she made the cake and the truffles (favors for guests) for our youngest daughter's wedding! Obviously we LOVE Simply Scrumptious! Julie Watson's cakes are "to die for" and are absolutely beautiful. Both daughters found pictures of cakes they liked and then tweaked them a bit to fit their styles...Julie made them perfectly! Julie is both professional and personable when dealing with clients. Trust me, you can not go wrong with Simply Scrumptious. Since we don't have the need for more wedding cakes, we will be calling on Julie for birthday cakes, anniversary cakes, baby shower cakes, "just because" cakes...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MayDay
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Awesome wedding cake! Very Delicious thats for sure! Was willing to go the extra mile for the details I wanted. Very reasonably priced and easy to work with. Would definitely recommend Simply Scrumptious to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
4/23/2010
5.0/5.0
I have known Julie for a while now, all the way back to her pastry school days, and when I became engaged I knew who I wanted to make our cakes! We are in Charleston, SC and despite the distance we were able to meet up for a tasting mid-way between here & Greensboro. We communicated via e-mail/phone and she is very flexible. She also makes GREAT toffee cookies! Wish she wasn't so far away from us!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Julie was great to work with and her cakes are AMAZING! I especially love the coconut and the vanilla with raspberry! She offered a tasting of several little cakes- the presentation was impressive and it was difficult to chose which flavors because they were all so good! My husband and I would recommend her services to anyone looking for the PERFECT wedding cake at a great price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jackiene
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
If you're interested in a wedding cake that actually tastes good, you HAVE to contact Simply Scrumptious! They have so many great flavors and fillings to choose from; this is BY FAR the most delicious cake I've ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Greensboro, NC 27407 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Simply Scrumptious
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1284770733498-logo