130x130_sq_1357166404233-13571652555260021

Sin

Providence , RI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

200 Allens Avenue
Providence, RI US 02903 (map)

PHONE

401-369-8427

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Sin believes that dessert should be special, for when you want to treat yourself especially well. When indulgence is occasional, it should be exquisite.

With that in mind,... Read more
Sin believes that dessert should be special, for when you want to treat yourself especially well. When indulgence is occasional, it should be exquisite.

With that in mind, Sin has a line of special occasion cakes and desserts that makes the "Sin" of dessert well worth it. Every item is made with the best ingredients...real cream, butter, dark chocolates, Dutch cocoas and real vanilla.

Desserts today have too much of a good thing, mainly too much sugar, which masks the true flavors. Sin uses just enough to bring out the real flavors. Cakes are moist and chocolaty, frostings are creamy and not too sweet, cheesecakes are infused with flavors, light and delicious.

Sin is based in Providence, but delivers wedding cakes, holiday desserts and other special occasion cakes and desserts to Rhode Island, southern Massachusetts, Worcester and Boston. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1357165366227-ellis3601
130x130_sq_1357165112009-clickimageryf
130x130_sq_1357165255526-0021
130x130_sq_1357165315040-mkdphotographysousaweddingcake1005
130x130_sq_1357165036859-tls4690a
130x130_sq_1357165167804-diyatariq1438
130x130_sq_1357165382973-ejw0487
130x130_sq_1357165185238-cydneyscott002a
130x130_sq_1357165206015-img1918
130x130_sq_1357165231028-whiteorangesquare0001
130x130_sq_1357165281611-elq0023
130x130_sq_1357165527714-nicolebrianwedding
130x130_sq_1242765249197-murray299
130x130_sq_1346866011377-0285
130x130_sq_1346866032265-img5754
130x130_sq_1346866109714-may262012jenbrooke328
130x130_sq_1357165347213-juleskophotography104

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Private. Tuesday thru Thursday 11-3 and Saturdays 10-3.
What are your tasting hours?
Tuesday thru Thursday 11-3 and Saturdays 10-3.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
By the slice.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Top tier "Bride and Groom Cake" is not priced by the slice a 6" Bride and groom cake is $25 additional.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Everything is custom done, though we can copy designs brought into us.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
No mixes... everything is made from scratch using butter, cocoa, real vanilla etc...
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
If the wedding is on Saturday, we bake on Wednesday.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
About 10... 3-4 weddings and a variety of other special occasion cakes.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We have silver cake stands available.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Yes, delivery ranges from $25 - $50 depending on location.

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
As a dessert fanatic I highly recommend using Sin for your wedding cake. I did cake tasting all over Rhode Island and nothing compared to Sin. They have a wonderful variety of flavors and do a great job with decorations as well! Couldn't be happier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Sin! They were creative & offered their honest opinions instead of trying to upsell us on anything. We went with a three tier fondant "fake" cake with some fun and unique details. I wanted to incorporate our dog somehow so they created a 3d pug on top of the cake, with a bowtie, right next to the anchor. It was perfect. We really wanted the wedding to be about a fun party with family and friends. Having the sheet cake saved us a lot of time because the venue could cut & plate it behind the scenes so right after we cut the top of the cake (the only real layer) the staff brought out the wedding cake for the guests, which meant no time was wasted and we had more time to dance & party! People came up to us all night saying it was the best tasting wedding cake they have ever had!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kali
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Three words: Best. Cake. Ever. All of my guests agreed! We ordered both our Wedding and Groom's cake from Sin and they delivered it out to the Cape. They looked beautiful and tasted amazeballs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had some unusual requests for the bakery, eschewing the traditional big cake for a small cake and several tiers of dessert stands. The bride and groom had a tasting session and picked out 5 different personal size dessert tarts, cupcakes, and local specialties that were then beautifully arranged on the tiers. Everything was lovely and delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gretchen
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved our cake and desserts that Sin provided. My guests liked the cake,
and everything else as well!

The bourbon chocolate was the best! And it was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Sin is the one bakery all my other vendors recommended. My venue did bakery items and offered to do a cake, but the tasting wasn't great. Sin is the only other bakery I did a tasting at. My sister came with me, and we weren't blown away, but some of the flavors were just awesome. Since the bakery came so highly recommended, I felt better about going with Sin. The staff wasn't that friendly, but the simple decorations I asked for looked perfect and the cake tasted AMAZING on the day of. I am so happy with my wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Sin did a beautiful job on my, small, 2 tiered wedding cake. I sent a couple pictures asking for the design of one and the look of the other cake. They combined the 2 pictures to make the cake exactly as I had envisioned it. They were very friendly and helpful to work with and gave some good suggestions on the flavors and icing. I had my wedding in RI, but did not live in area and never even came in for a cake tasting and was very pleased when the cake was delicious. My wedding was on a Sunday and they were even very flexible delivering on a day they aren't normally open.

I would highly recommend them for a beautiful and delicious cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1352742127869-3517744606986025473711025464859254731352n
Jamie
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful and delicious. What else is there to know! Exactly what I wanted it to look like and we loved the flavor options.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
7/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Delicious wedding cake. Looked amazing!!!! Wonderful customer service throughout the planning process.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake was actually included in the package with the Marriott Newport. It was absolutely amazing. We got the chocolate bourbon cake with vanilla bean buttercream and the other layers were strawberry cake and champagne buttercream. It was SO delicious. We were able to get both flavors (cut into the chocolate) served the strawberry. The buttercream filling and exterior were so delicious. I worked at a bakery for 6 years and this cake was so moist, and the frosting was out of this world. Jennifer was so helpful in creating exactly what we wanted in terms of how the cake would look with such amazing scroll work detailing. Would definitely recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was exactly what I asked for. It was beautiful and tasted phenomenal!!! "It was the icing on top of the cake" on my wedding day!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1348837289473-kaplaneng18s
Jessica
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Sin really helped us decide what we wanted for our cake. We had 3 tiers with 3 different flavors each one really delicious. Our consultation was friendly and very helpful and the cake came out just as we had discussed. We didn't communicate a lot but we didn't need to. There estimate was prompt and when they needed to be in touch they were. We had flowers on the cake and all I had to do was give them the florist's information and they took care of it. Everything was very relaxed and easy. They also gave us a 1 year anniversary cake free of charge! I cannot wait! I really have nothing bad to say about them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
1/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen at Sin had the unfortunate task of notifying me the bakery I contracted more than six months back had closed their doors and asked her to make my wedding cake...11 days before my wedding! I hadn't even heard of Sin before that phone call, and I was more than a little nervous. After that awkward moment Jen and her team rushed to make samples for me of the flavors I ordered originally and some of their similar offerings. I ended up swapping one of my original flavors for Sin's outrageously delicious chocolate bourbon cake, and also going with a salted caramel and a stawberry pink champagne. It was perfect! Everyone loved our wedding cake, and many of our guests sought out myself and my husband to tell us how delicious it was. I personally ate three pieces of cake, and there wasn't a crumb in sight when the reception ended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lia
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I used Sin Bakery for my groom's cake. The giant head of a Storm trooper. Not only was it absolutely delicious, it was the perfect replica. I would definitely us them again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
12/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I wanted to have a John Deere groom's cake for our wedding. Even though Sin had not yet done a 3D John Deere cake, they were confident that they could complete one. They were able to deliver the cake to our wedding (about 50 miles away) and it was incredible! Guests were in awe over how fabulous it turned out. My husband was speechless as it looked so real. The taste was also incredible. I highly recommend the chocolate guiness cake with raspberry ganache!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kayla
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was so beautiful! The second I got to the venue and went to check out how everything looked in the reception. I saw my cake, let out an excited squeal and ran over to check it out. The flavors were just as delicious as the day I had tried them! I only got a few bites and my husband didn't have any but from what I had the cake was amazing! We got lots of compliments on how it didn't taste like a standard wedding cake(dry and too sweet!), and that it was moist, and perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donelle
Wedding:
9/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Not only did our wedding cake look beautiful and exactly how I wanted it to, it was the most delicious wedding cake I have ever had. Most wedding cakes look great but are not there in taste. This place has both! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lexi
Wedding:
8/19/2011
5.0/5.0
I knew from the portfolios that my cake would be beautiful but even still on the day of my wedding I was blown away with the light teal color and delicate lace overlay, I didn't want to cut into it. Not only was the cake beautiful but the lemon cake with raspberry filling was also delicious. Jennifer at Sin was a pleasure to work with as well, she was very accommodating with my busy schedule. The cost of the cakes are also much more reasonable then other bakery's but the quality is higher then other cakes. I would definitely recommend Sin not only for a wedding but for any special occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystle
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Finding a cake vendor was actually more difficult than I imagined it would be. We went to a few different vendors who did the same thing.. they basically sat us down and had us try the same boring cakes and really had no desire to help us design a cake.
I came across Sin on an online bridal magazine that featured a cake they made for a peacock themed wedding. Having a peacock them myself, I found it very difficult to find a design and style that I really loved. As soon as I saw their cake I knew it was exactly what I wanted!
We went to Sin for a tasting and got to sample so many AMAZING flavors! We finally decided on coconut cake with chocolate ganache filling.. delicious! They even took the time to draw out the design and cake for us while we were there. They were very thorough with making sure we were getting exactly what we wanted.
Everyone loved the cake - we even had some guests ask for another piece!
We would definitely recommend Sin for your wedding deserts.. whatever they may be. There are so many flavors and combinations to choose from and their design work is truly amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1394041464868-avata
Julie Ellen
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake from Sin was unbelievably delicious (and incredibly beautiful too!). It's been more than two years since our wedding, and friends and family STILL mention the incredible cake. Get the Princess Cake from Sin: you will love it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Sin did an awesome job with our cake. The cake tasted great at the tasting. We chose red velvet with a cream cheese filling and although I didn't get to have any, everyone told me it was great! They did an AMAZING job on decorating the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sin responded with the following comments:

You didn't get any?!! Call us and we'll make you up a small 1 month anniversary (or Thanksgiving) cake!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NHV
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
As far as I am concerned, Sin has the best tasting cake in RI, bar none. The carrot cake is to die for. I loved so many flavors, I decided to have a small cake and 4 flavors of cupcakes for my wedding. The cake was beautifully decorated and was exactly how I had imagined it. Don't waste your time breaking the wedding diet and tasting cake all around town...Sin is the place to go!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
drum77777
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
we had cupcakes that were fantastic. clean, sharp, well themed. absolutely delicious food. well done.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katenna
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
We wanted a small cake just for us, for the cutting. I was so afraid all the cake places would be turned off by that, but not Sin. They provided a DECADENT tasting that filled us for the day, created the most gorgeous cake I could have ever asked for, and were the "icing" on our wedding day. And I just have to comment on the most unreal flavor in the entire world: Guinness cake with peanut butter filling. Oh. My. God. Chocolate that isn't sicky sweet or too rich, moist as a glass of water, and to die for. It sounds weird, but trust me. Just taste it. The decoration of our seaside wedding cake, complete with edible pearls, seashells, sea glass, coral, and starfish resulted in my mom saying "Oh my god! It looks like something from Cake Boss!!"
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1284965021013-307326044662229292480719535150507559818n
suni111
Wedding:
5/7/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I loved our cake! We had 4 tiers -- top and bottom round, 2nd and 3rd square -- each with a different flavor combination for our guests to select which kind they would prefer. We went with a white buttercream icing, and the following flavor combinations: lemon cake/raspberry filling, october spice cake with cinnamon ganache, old fashioned chocolate cake with PB/choc buttercream filling, and a special top tier. We liked the idea of a Strawberries and Champagne cake for the top tier, but we preferred the Silver Pound cake, so we asked Jennifer if she could make the top tier a Silver Pound Cake with a buttercream filling with champagne and fresh strawberries mixed right into the buttercream. She was happy to try to whip up a new recipe and provide us with a sample, and it was DELICIOUS! The cake was enormous, enough to feed I believe 160 people; we had about 120 at the wedding, so we were concerned that the there would be a lot of leftovers. Needless to say, the guests enjoyed the cake SO much that there wasn't a single piece left over! The guests started a Congo line at one point during the night and danced the line right past the cut pieces of cake, and each person helped themselves to a 2nd, 3rd, or 4th piece. We had rave reviews from all, and are incredibly excited to get our anniversary cake next month!!! Highly recommended. Jennifer and her team are confectionary geniuses!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MKG318
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
The first thing to note is that my cake was DELICIOUS. We had three different flavors and I tried them all on my wedding night. Each of my three sisters used Scrumptions in East Greenwich for their weddings, but the cakes at Sin really blew them away, and it cost less too, so it was a no brainer.
I scheduled a tasting and worked with a designer who listening to what I was thinking and sketched out a perfect, classic, elegant cake. She had graduated from RISD so I felt like I was really working with a professional. She also explained all the options to me: they do sheet cakes and fake cakes and all sorts of other options. I ended up going with a 4 tier butter frosting cake (not fondant) with three different flavors: chocolate with raspberry filing, yellow cake with chocolate filing, and chocolate cake with peanut butter filing. The cake is sooo moist it's really the best cake I've ever had. We planned for 150 people but only 114 came, so we just cut bigger pieces. There were no leftovers. I might have to order a small cake for our 1 year anniversary.
Sin is very responsive, both via email and by phone. They sent PDF attachments of invoices which was really helpful. They're less expensive than their competitors, but wedding cake still isn't cheap. We paid about $700 total, and we rented one of those fancy silver stands. At first I thought about not having a cake at all due to the expense, but it was work it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
valentin1114
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Sin was fantastic! From the tasting, through all the planning, to the final product, I was pleased with my entire experience.

At the tasting, they provided us each with a cupcake of the cake and filling that we had previously chosen. We liked all the combinations, and we chose the devil's food cake with oreo filling. So good! They designed a cake based on some pictures we brought. The cake was four tiers, hexagon shaped, and looked great with the gothic fairy toppers we used. We got exactly what we were looking for and the end result was beautiful and delicious.

We visited a few other places and no one gave us the experience that Sin did. We felt they were a great value.

Sin also did the groom's cake, which was also amazing!

I would definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
6/19/2008
5.0/5.0
We had a small wedding with just ten guests, but I wanted a three tier wedding cake and unlike other cake vendors who told us they didn't have cake pans small enough, Sin didn't blink an eye! Not only was the appearance of the cake exceptional, the flavor combinations Sin offers are delicious. We chose champagne flavored tier with strawberry filling and two tiers of hazelnut cake with chocolate ganache filling which went over very well with our guests. From the tasting to the final booking, Sin was always responsive and professional. They provide high quality cakes at reasonable prices!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leighann
Wedding:
8/30/2013
4.9/5.0
Sin has the most unique flavors (baileys ganache..delicious!!). I went there with no idea of what I wanted and left with a sketch of the perfect wedding cake. They were so flexible, I called a month before the big day to add an extra tier and it was no problem!!
We've used them for two fancy birthday cakes since!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennyesq1
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.9/5.0
I was so impressed by the cakes that I received from Sin for my wedding, as well as the Groom's cake for the rehearsal dinner! They were both outstanding. The Groom's cake was a Coor's Light can and came out even better than the picture I sent Sin! Not to mention that is tatsted great-chocolate chip cookie.
My wedding cake was a 4 tier fondant cake and it was gorgeous!!! I was so happy with the deliciousness of the cake, my husband and I ate the entire top layer the next day! Why wait a year!!! Thank you so much Jennifer & Ginger!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clair
Wedding:
1/30/2010
4.9/5.0
I was so excited to go in for our tasting. There were cupcakes of each flavor we requested. We ordered a three tiered cake that was beautiful & so tasty. It looked exactly like i wanted it to. People are still complimenting me on our choice. I can't recommend them enough!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We were also one of the couples who discovered two weeks before our wedding that our original bakery was getting out of the business and Jen had the awkward experience to have been the first to give us the news. But from the moment we spoke, Jen communicated professionally which gave us a great deal of comfort in knowing that we were going to get the cake we had initially order, three-tiered cake with three different flavors decorated as we had originally planned. It was a lovely cake and was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1311649352566-img0060
Chantal
Wedding:
9/23/2011
4.8/5.0
Sin was the other bakery we were torn between for our wedding cake, since they do an amazing Lime Rum Cake. So instead we got it for my bridal shower, and it was perfect for the hot July day! My MOH still dreams about this cake =) They were very reasonably priced, so I will definitely be keeping them in mind when we need cakes for other events!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.8/5.0
Being severely lactose intollorant I had a tough time finding a bakery for us to use. We tried a vegan cake for Christmas and I fell in love! Never thought a vegan cake could taste so good! My husband was also amazed at how good the regular cake was that we decided to book. We decided to go with cupcakes and our guests loved them! My only complaint was my own fault. I was hoping for more of a decoration on the top, but I don't think I communicated that very well. Sin has become our bakery for all occasions! I just wish they had a shop to go to when I get a craving!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nmurray
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.8/5.0
We chose Sin to do our wedding cake right after our tasting. The cupcakes were delicious!! Jennifer got my vision write away and drew a great sketch. The year before our wedding we used them to make a birthday cake for my dad, one for my son and an x-box grooms cake for my husband (which was so totally cool). Every single one was fantastic and oh so tasty!

Our wedding cake was beautiful....the only very MINOR complaint I had was that I had asked for small piped on brown tree saplings and ended up with a burnt orange color saplings. No one else noticed but me, so it really was no big deal. It still looked gorgeous!!

I highly recommend setting up a tasting with Sin as you will not be dissapointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerianne
Wedding:
8/13/2009
4.8/5.0
Sin Desserts is great. We were having a green wedding and asked if they would make an organic cake for us. They didn't hesitate. They sent me a list of all the ingredients needed for the cake we requested and asked what I would suggest for alternatives. Then the baker ran to Whole Foods Market to buy them and make our cake. They were amazing to work with. Their cakes are better than any I have ever tasted....wedding or otherwise....and they are affordable! In fact, the other businesses we asked about an organic cake quoted us prices more than 2x the cost of a regular cake....Sin's was less than the other businesses' REGULAR cakes! Only $65 for the special ingredients. and As I said,....much tastier.

We opted for a 3 tier cake first two tiers were champagne with lemon curd (and it was real lemon curd not that nasty yellow jelly crap)
The final and largest tier was classic chocolate with Bailey's ganache....wonderful!

I have 2 comments...and they are minor.

1. The cake somehow ended up round rather than square as requested. The day before the wedding Sin called and asked if this was ok and offered to rebake a new cake to our specifications....considering how flexible that had been, I said it was no problem...I didnt want her to have to go out shopping for special ingredients again just over the shape of the cake. It just wasnt that important to me.

2. The cake ended up looking less like the photo we gave them than we would have liked. But it was still very nice.

Overall I can't say enough about them and highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/27/2013
4.7/5.0
I chose Sin for my wedding cake because of their great flavors of cake and the way the woman I met with sketched out the design I wanted for my cake. I had requested an ombre design for the frosting with the colors going from white to silver to purple. They nailed this and it looked awesome. I also requested two anchors on top of the cake since anchors were a big theme of our wedding. Overall the ombre look came out perfect and the cake was SO delicious! We went with a chocolate cake with coffee milk ganache filling and wow, just amazing. I also asked for some gluten free cupcakes a few weeks before my wedding, and they were more than happy to provide those as well.

However, for the price we paid, I wish I had asked for a bit more bling or design on the cake. It came out rather plain (not their fault, this is what I requested) and just in retrospect it was a lot more expensive than other bakeries I had visited so I should have asked for more detail.

The fact that they give you a free cake on your 1 year anniversary though is awesome and I can't wait to dig into that in a year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
I LOVED the look of my wedding cake. I had a 4 tier ivory butter cream with ivory paisley pattern on it.

I was a little disappointed that when my husband and I went to cut the cake, the top layer had been shifted and you could see inside the cake.

We got two different flavors. The coconut with lemon butter cream was great, however, the chocolate with raspberry ganache was dry.

Overall, I'm very happy. The staff is extremely helpful, responsive, and polite.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/4/2012
4.7/5.0
Sin cakes are beyond delicious! The Guiness chocolate, heath bar-filled cake they made for my now-husband's groom's cake was a huge hit at our wedding. The design of it - a suitcase filled with his favorite things - was better than I could've imagined, and our guests and our venue's staff couldn't stop talking about it and taking pictures of it; some of the staff members even said it was the best and most creative groom's cake they'd seen. We highly recommend Sin for your cake needs --- even if you live out of state, as they're worth the drive!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LisaB1982
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.7/5.0
Sin was our third bakery we visted, and I knew from the moment we walked in we had found our bakery. She had cupcakes set up with all the flavors that we had requested and we were able to take what we hadn't eaten home.

As we talked about our cake and what we wanted for a design she sketched way and nailed our vision on the first try.

We had wanted a hexagon shape cake. She did not have the pans, but she ordered them with no extra change. the other two bakeries we went to were going to change us for ordering the pans.

Our cake was perfect and everyone loved it. They siad it was the best tasting wedding cake they had ever had.

I thought that $295 was a bit high for a cake that served 50, but it was some of the best cake I ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1282860466564-fbavatar917442
Lisa
Wedding:
8/15/2010
4.6/5.0
Sin was by far the best chocolate cake we tried, and created the exact wedding cake we hoped for. Easy to work with, and tastes wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
poiuy
Wedding:
5/30/2009
4.6/5.0
Jennifer was great- I love dessert but wasn't so into wedding cake- so she made a small but elegant cake but a decadent dessert display. it was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ecosta11
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.5/5.0
Cake was beautiful and exactly what we asked for. Not too mention it was delicious! We got a lot of compliments on our bourbon chocolate w/ RI coffee milk filling. Great combination and made beautifully. Cake very moist and was gone in a flash!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1316020718013-juleskolm1307
Lindsay
Wedding:
7/30/2011
4.4/5.0
Sin made awesome cupcakes for our wedding. We got yellow cake with Baily's ganache filling. They also made a small modern cake for the top of the cupcake stand. The only complaint I have is that when we went for the tasting the cupcakes were moist and the filling was delicious. At the wedding the cupcakes were a little dry...but the ganache filling masked the dryness a little.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
surfotter
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.3/5.0
We went to Sin first to see what they had to offer us. They had Cupcakes waiting in three different flavors. The flavors we told them before our appointment. They were amazing! So moist and flavorful. I wanted the Sailor?s Valentine cake by Martha Stewart. Other cake makers weren?t willing to do that for us but rather sell us a cake I didn?t want. Sin was willing to learn how to make the shells and make what I wanted. The shells they did turned out wonderful. It wasn?t completely the cake I wanted but thought they did an excellent job. Unfortunately I only got two bites of the wedding cake. They were delicious. My guest enjoyed the cake as well. We had the red velvet with oreo cookie cr?me filing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
9/20/2013
4.2/5.0
We ordered a very small cake just for my husband and I, two tiers, and it came out beautifully. The quality was good, flavor was good, however our flavor combinations were mixed up between the two layers. Fortunately the flipped flavors still made good combinations, but not hearing from them the week of our wedding, we feel this could have been avoided. The box we were given was jerry-rigged to fit our cake, even though it was a small cake - I was surprised they didn't have a better way to transport. We sadly had to leave the cake in the hotel since we came from out of town and didn't really have a lot of confidence in either the hotel or cake place having ideas or ways to survive the drive home, but at least it was a good value. Overall, not the greatest, but it did the trick to give my husband and I a nice traditional treat, and some fun photos, for our small ceremony. I will also say on the day we picked up, the lady helping us was very sweet and enthusiastic, so good customer service there!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lesley
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.2/5.0
The only place to find delicious coffee milk ganache tartlets! I searched far and wide for deserts that would compliment the variety of regional foods we had, and Sin was the perfect place for affordable deserts with the perfect amount of uniqueness we were looking for. The bakery is to die for! Eat wicked my friends!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.1/5.0
my cake a was very simple plain buttercreamed 3 tier cake with 2 different flavors with fresh roses all around it exactly want i wanted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1315754440829-img9169
Elena
Wedding:
10/21/2011
4.0/5.0
I was not totally pleased with our wedding cake, but please read the whole review. Be warned that the white cakes are too dry, but the hazlenut cake is perfect. If this is a problem, ask them to brush the cakes with simple syrup.

The flavors are inredible, and the ingredients used are fantastic. The champagne flavored cake and cream is very very nice. The lemon curd is real lemon curd, not your artifical lemon flavored pudding that other cake companies in the area use. Remember to ask for seedless rasberry if you want a rasberry filling. Their buttercream tastes homemade, and not "out of a box" or "tub" like the other bakeries. Sin is more gourmet then the other options.

This is my warning, be clear on your details, if you want pure white with no stenciling, specify that! I had an fall themed wedding cake and wanted white pearl leaves on the layers of the cake - I didn't mention that I didn't want any stenciling so I got the leaves, but I also got the brown lines :( I also didn't say that I want a very very moist cake, so the white layers were dry.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1232842958703-aaron_jamie
2010Bride2B
Wedding:
8/7/2010
3.9/5.0
The cake was delicious and they were accomodating when helping with picking cake flavors. I felt the tasting could have been more organized or offered more options, but overall, I was pleased with the vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corie
Wedding:
5/16/2009
3.6/5.0
OVERALL IT WAS GOOD... I THINK FOR THE COST IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER THO. I ALSO WAS SUPPOSED TO GET A SEPERATE BRIDE CAKE AND DIDNT BUT SHE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND PROVIDED ME ONE ON MY 1 MONTH ANNIVERSARY.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katery
Wedding:
1/16/2009
2.8/5.0
We were extrememly disappointed in our cake from Sin. When we went for our tasting, the fillings we had requested, we did not get to taste. We chose from the fillings they provided. The cake, on our wedding day, was incredibly dry. We heard many people complaining about it. Luckily, the hotel had served Baked Alaska with the cake, so I think that saved our dessert portion of the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dina
Wedding:
10/20/2012
2.4/5.0
We hired Sin Bakery for our wedding cake and, in all honesty, I would not hire them again. The cake was delicious, but the experience was not. At our first meeting/tasting the woman we met with did not seem into it at all - which surprised us bc we wanted to book, and it was a wedding and all our other vendors were so excited when we met with them. My husband got a bad vibe and was weary on hiring them. We thought about it, and decided that the actual product was really good and since we were on a budget and the price was good, so we went ahead and booked them. (we also ordered a birthday cake for a friend and my sister ordered my bridal shower cake from them, so we thought that they would give us good service since we were sending business their way). We ordered a special cake topper that had a bride and groom holding a picture frame and looking through it since we were getting at an art museum, we thought this was perfect. I dropped off the topper the week of the wedding and showed them how the frame fit in the B&G's hands. I gave them the box it came in, so nothing would get messed up. Day of wedding, our venue coordinator said that they dropped the cake and topper off...lost the frame. I know it's only a cake topper, but there was a specific reason we chose that one. They did nothing to fix it. They are a bakery, they couldn't have made a frame out of fondant? I mean, I could have done that. Nope. I called them and wanted to know what happened and they blamed me, said I didn't drop it off. So unprofessional and disappointing. Maybe run in and get a cupcake if you have a craving, but don't waste your time or money on your wedding cake here.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
I attended a wedding on this date of very dear friends and the reception was at the Hampton Inn in Warwick. I had seen pictures of the cake my friend chose and what Sin delivered was NOT even close. It was pathetic, sad and a failure. Worse when the person who purchased the cake (it was a gift to the couple) tried to request a refund the customer service was the worst ever. An otherwise beautiful day was ruined. It would be a sin for anyone to use Sin and this sorry excuse for a bakery should close for good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sin responded with the following comments:

We don't usually respond to reviews, but we are to this one. We understand that weddings (or any event) are important, and we try our best to provide a beautiful and tasty cake for everyone. The cake ordered was originally a fondant cake, but the bride didn't want fondant either because of cost or taste. A buttercream design based on a fondant cake is always going to be different. We explained that to the bride, but understanding that difference can be hard. There was also a color issue, the main cake was a dark tan and the client said that she wanted it much lighter than the original, but did not provide a swatch. She thought the color we provided was too light. Our artists idea of lighter and a clients idea of lighter can be world apart, that's why we will always color match if provided with a swatch, but without one, we have to guess. The cake was a small 2 tier, which because of it's size, we priced out lower than regular wedding pricing, giving them a significant discount from the start. The entire cake was served at the wedding and there were no complaints about the quality and taste of the cake. We are very sad that the client was un-happy, we hate to have un-happy clients, and we always try our best to make sure every cake is tasty and beautiful.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kali
Wedding:
8/17/2013
0.0/5.0
We had a beautiful wedding at Blithewold in Bristol, RI. Everything was perfect - minus the cake. It was so embarrassing I had the staff hide it. I couldn't believe it was happening to us. I thought I was being smart by using a bakery rather than our caterer (regretting that now) & on top if it, I picked a cake that they had made before!! I saw the cake in a magazine & knew that was the perfect cake for us. When I went in for tasting they even had the cake in one of their books. I told them that's what I want.

What we got was horrendous. I couldn't believe someone thought that was acceptable. It was lopsided, lumpy, cracked & absolutely nothing like what I had picked out. The owners reasoning was that she wasn't there that weekend. I don't understand how a company can stay in business when they can't make a cake better than a 5 year old when the boss isn't around & have the audacity to actually send something that awful out the door. I wish I read more reviews before going with them because scrolling down here I can see I'm not the only one they've done this to.

Brides beware - it was the biggest disappointment of our day & the last thing I would have guessed would go wrong. While they are nice & I did get a refund, it will never change what they made, delivered & actually thought was OK.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sin responded with the following comments:

We screwed up on this one. The cake was definitely not up to our quality, but due to the design, it wasn't realized how messy and unkept the cake looked until put together. We are embarressed and ashamed. We gave the bride a full refund, but we understand that it will not make up the memories lost that day.

MAP

 
200 Allens Avenue, Providence, RI 02903 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sin
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1357166404233-13571652555260021