Nophoto-130

Sissy's Catering

Azle , TX

LOCATION

1391 NW Parkway
Azle, TX US 76020 (map)

PHONE

817-270-4272

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (Traditional), Italian, Mexican
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

REVIEWS

3.4
out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
3.3/5.0
3.3/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evelyn
Wedding:
6/15/2013
1.5/5.0
This vendor has changed it's name to Bumble Bee Occasions. We looked forward to all the wonderful wedding plans we discussed with Missy in our contract, but to our dismay several of the important details were messed up and not followed through with on my wedding day even though it was confirmed many times before. My bouquet was the wrong color, the grooms cake was not as big as it was supposed to be, the pedastools with the decorations were totally not what we agreed on and Missy was no where to be seen. When we would call they would rarely call back and it was very hard to communicate with them after signing the contract. I specifically wanted my cake to have a flowing cascade of hot pink roses on it, and all that was on it was a few roses radomly placed on it and they were not hot pink. A wedding vendor is supposed to take note of all the details when you repeat what you would like your wedding day to be like, and even though it was agreed upon before the wedding the Bumble Bee Occasions vendor did not do what they said they would do. After my wedding day we tried to talk to them about why so many details fell through the cracks and we expected them to admit it and appologize, but instead Missy denied it and did not appologize or try to make it better. I would not reccommend the Bubmble Bee Occasions to anyone who wants to have certain colors, decor, or a specific cake. If you don't care how it all turns out then they are the right vendor for you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Callie
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Bumblebee occasions did it all for me, the cake, catering, flowers, and decor. Missy also made sure the day went smoothly making sure everyone was doing what they were supposed to, I don't know what I would have done without them! Everything was beautiful!! Beyond what I even imagined it would be!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JuneBride2012
Wedding:
6/2/2012
0.0/5.0
This is the most horrible wedding planning experience and I can’t believe it happened to us. And we are still dealing with it. I will start from the beginning… The Orchard (wedding venue in Azle) referred us to Sissy’s catering back in February 2011 before The Orchard even opened. We were engaged for 17 months and I started planning immediately. I met with Missy and one of her associates for a tasting in March of 2011. We liked the food and the price was amazing. You got a discount if you used more than 2 of their services. And you got a discount if you paid in full. So we decided to use them for food, cakes, and flowers/centerpiece décor. And we paid in full. A little over $3,000. About 8 months later Heidi with The Orchard sent me an email saying that Sissy’s catering sold their company. I was very worried. I called Missy at Sissy’s catering and she ensured me that the only difference was new owners. Everything else was the same. In March of 2012 we went back for a tasting, as I was worried about the whole it’s a new company thing and it had been a year since we had the food.
This is where things get very very bad. The new company name is Bumblebee Occasions. The tasting was horrible. There was a new chef. I’m using the term chef very loosely as the cook was the husband of the new owner and had no idea how to create good food. The pork tenderloin was cut up and pan-fried. The chicken I’m pretty sure was frozen from Sams. The green beans were obviously canned. The chives on the mashed potatoes were dried. The cake flavors were different too and were horrible. Only a few options and they were dry. The icing was the same on all the flavors and very hard. We decided we no longer wanted to use them for food, but would still like to use them for flowers and décor. We asked for the money we paid on the food to be refunded as they have not performed any services and it was so different from what we paid for a year earlier. This was unexcitable to the new owner, Sharon. She said they relied on that money and the contracts that Sissy’s catering had on the books before they bought them out. Basically they did not have the money to refund. We had our lawyer contact them and they never actually had a contract with Sissy’s catering about taking over new contracts and did not buy our contract. So Missy is the one who would be responsible for refunding us. The only way we will ever get any money back is to take Missy to small claims court and make her file for bankruptcy as she does not have the money either. Needless to say we no longer wanted them anywhere near our wedding and did not want them to perform any services for us. This has been a nightmare and I cannot believe there are such horrible people out there who trust people this was. People who trusted them and gave them money. I hope no other Bride has to go through what we went through. Stay far far way from Bumblebee Occasions in Azle.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers
Wwnetwork-128
Kristyn
Wedding:
6/2/2012
0.0/5.0
This is the most horrible wedding planning experience and I can’t believe it happened to us. And we are still dealing with it. I will start from the beginning… The Orchard (wedding venue in Azle) referred us to Sissy’s catering back in February 2011 before The Orchard even opened. We were engaged for 17 months and I started planning immediately. I met with Missy and one of her associates for a tasting in March of 2011. We liked the food and the price was amazing. You got a discount if you used more than 2 of their services. And you got a discount if you paid in full. So we decided to use them for food, cakes, and flowers/centerpiece décor. And we paid in full. A little over $3,000. About 8 months later Heidi with The Orchard sent me an email saying that Sissy’s catering sold their company. I was very worried. I called Missy at Sissy’s catering and she ensured me that the only difference was new owners. Everything else was the same. In March of 2012 we went back for a tasting, as I was worried about the whole it’s a new company thing and it had been a year since we had the food. \r\nThis is where things get very very bad. The new company name is Bumblebee Occasions. The tasting was horrible. There was a new chef. I’m using the term chef very loosely as the cook was the husband of the new owner and had no idea how to create good food. The pork tenderloin was cut up and pan-fried. The chicken I’m pretty sure was frozen from Sams. The green beans were obviously canned. The chives on the mashed potatoes were dried. The cake flavors were different too and were horrible. Only a few options and they were dry. The icing was the same on all the flavors and very hard. We decided we no longer wanted to use them for food, but would still like to use them for flowers and décor. We asked for the money we paid on the food to be refunded as they have not performed any services and it was so different from what we paid for a year earlier. This was unexcitable to the new owner, Sharon. She said they relied on that money and the contracts that Sissy’s catering had on the books before they bought them out. Basically they did not have the money to refund. We had our lawyer contact them and they never actually had a contract with Sissy’s catering about taking over new contracts and did not buy our contract. So Missy is the one who would be responsible for refunding us. The only way we will ever get any money back is to take Missy to small claims court and make her file for bankruptcy as she does not have the money either. Needless to say we no longer wanted them anywhere near our wedding and did not want them to perform any services for us. This has been a nightmare and I cannot believe there are such horrible people out there who trust people this was. People who trusted them and gave them money. I hope no other Bride has to go through what we went through. Stay far far way from Bumblebee Occasions in Azle. \r\n
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristyn
Wedding:
6/2/2012
0.0/5.0
This is the most horrible wedding planning experience and I can’t believe it happened to us. And we are still dealing with it. I will start from the beginning… The Orchard (wedding venue in Azle) referred us to Sissy’s catering back in February 2011 before The Orchard even opened. We were engaged for 17 months and I started planning immediately. I met with Missy and one of her associates for a tasting in March of 2011. We liked the food and the price was amazing. You got a discount if you used more than 2 of their services. And you got a discount if you paid in full. So we decided to use them for food, cakes, and flowers/centerpiece décor. And we paid in full. A little over $3,000. About 8 months later Heidi with The Orchard sent me an email saying that Sissy’s catering sold their company. I was very worried. I called Missy at Sissy’s catering and she ensured me that the only difference was new owners. Everything else was the same. In March of 2012 we went back for a tasting, as I was worried about the whole it’s a new company thing and it had been a year since we had the food.
This is where things get very very bad. The new company name is Bumblebee Occasions. The tasting was horrible. There was a new chef. I’m using the term chef very loosely as the cook was the husband of the new owner and had no idea how to create good food. The pork tenderloin was cut up and pan-fried. The chicken I’m pretty sure was frozen from Sams. The green beans were obviously canned. The chives on the mashed potatoes were dried. The cake flavors were different too and were horrible. Only a few options and they were dry. The icing was the same on all the flavors and very hard. We decided we no longer wanted to use them for food, but would still like to use them for flowers and décor. We asked for the money we paid on the food to be refunded as they have not performed any services and it was so different from what we paid for a year earlier. This was unexcitable to the new owner, Sharon. She said they relied on that money and the contracts that Sissy’s catering had on the books before they bought them out. Basically they did not have the money to refund. We had our lawyer contact them and they never actually had a contract with Sissy’s catering about taking over new contracts and did not buy our contract. So Missy is the one who would be responsible for refunding us. The only way we will ever get any money back is to take Missy to small claims court and make her file for bankruptcy as she does not have the money either. Needless to say we no longer wanted them anywhere near our wedding and did not want them to perform any services for us. This has been a nightmare and I cannot believe there are such horrible people out there who trust people this was. People who trusted them and gave them money. I hope no other Bride has to go through what we went through. Stay far far way from Bumblebee Occasions in Azle.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers
Wwnetwork-128
Tasha
Wedding:
10/8/2011
1.3/5.0
I used Bubblebee Occasions for 3 different events (my Rehearsal Dinner, my Wedding, and Post-Wedding Brunch). From the beginning I was skeptical of using Bubblebee Occassions. However, they had some good reviews and their Bridal show set-up was nice. Please don\'t let this fool you. They are definitely not professional. During the process of me planning my wedding they were very hard to get ahold of. The lack of communication was ridiculous . They had every excuse why they couldn\'t return my phone call or respond to my emails. When I signed my contract the company was called Sissy\'s Catering. Later on during the year apparently it was changed to Bubblebee Occassions. You would think as a courtesy to their brides they would let them know. I called the number I had for Sissy\'s Catering one day and it was disconnected. So immediately I went into a panic and I had to send my fiance over there to see what was going on. I paniced because I had paid for my 3 events in full. Which by the way, they make you pay 100% up front. I take that as the company being desperate for money.\r\n\r\nThe night of my rehearsal dinner I requested a chocolate fountain for my guest. The chocolate fountain didn\'t work which I had already paid $3.00 a person for. The night of the wedding we had the following issues: cake design was wrong, the cake layers were wrong, I requested roasted garlic potatoes and they literally gave me plain whole red potatoes, the bartender was rude to my guest, I requested chocolate covered strawberries..they gave me white chocolate covered strawberries, I paid for a cheese and cracker tray and there were no crackers, one of their employees broke a votive glass candle around the cake which didn\'t belong to them and didn\'t tell anyone. They just threw it in the trash and moved on. Not only was the bartender rude to my guest she also had the nerve to put a tip jar out. I paid a fee for a bartender and then she was getting paid by the hour as a worker...very inappropriate. The day of our post-wedding brunch we requested banana pudding and apple pie. The banana pudding was runny and had black bananas in it and the apple pie was store bought. During my tasting they told me they had a chef in house that made everything. I highly question the definition of a chef if that is what they produce. Plus when the owner and I had our discussion about everything going wrong she said the cake shop messed up. However, months prior at the tasting she told me they made the cake in house. So which is it?? All in all they are good at telling you what you want to hear.\r\n\r\nMissy the recent owner which I was dealing with when I signed my contracts said she would be at my wedding and everything would be great. However, Missy wasn\'t there and the only excuse the current owner \"Sharon\" gave me was \"well you didn\'t pay for a wedding coordinator\". No one ever mentioned a fee for Missy and Missy shouldn\'t had said she would be there. Instead, she sent some random workers. The staff was dressed very poorly and was lacking hygiene. Just because you wear khaki pants and a white dress shirt doesn\'t make you look professional especially if they are wrinkled and your shirt is gapping open. Two out of the four workers were high school kids. From day one Missy spoke negatively about my venue. Missy told me every problem they\'ve every had at my venue. If they didn\'t like my venue they shouldn\'t had taken my money. Must not be too bad of a venue if they keep doing business there. Apparently, I should have been worried about Bubblebee and not my venue. \r\n\r\nAfter several attempts of trying to contact the owner via email and phone I spoke with her. Just this process of trying to contact her took about 3 weeks. All the issues I brought to her attention she had some random excuse. Her main response to everything was \"Well you got the product and it was edible\". Instead, of taking responsibility for their actions she wanted to put the blame on the rain and everyone else. We agreed upon her sending me a check for a small amount. It took me over 4 weeks to get my check. During the 4 week time period Sharon kept telling me she mailed the check and then she avoided my phone calls. My husband finally had to go by the office and pick the check up which we live an hour away. It\'s not worth the pain to use this company especially during a special time as this. I highly recommend you do not use them for any events. There are so many other companies out there that will treat you with respect and give you the product you deserve. I really don\'t understand why they are so popular. I assume the area is small and they don\'t have much competition. \r\n\r\n
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Sissy's Catering, (which now I think has changed it's name to Bumblebee Creations), was absolutely amazing.
Missy was so knowledgeable, and really helped us understand what to expect. They did our catering, flowers, bartending, and coordinating.

For the food, we got a formal taste testing of a few different menu options. We chose the chicken cordon bleu, and the pork tenderloin with Italian dressing. Everyone loved the chicken, but not so much the pork. (Which is my only negative about the whole thing)
We also had a mashed potato bar, which was a huge hit.

The flowers were amazing. Missy met us at the flower shop and let us walk through and pick what we want. I even changed them up a week before the wedding and they were still able to accommodate.

The bartender they brought in was such a nice guy, and very friendly. He did a great job-along with the rest of the staff.

For the coordinating, she helped us with everything you could imagine. We were able to bring everything we had for the wedding to her office a week before, and they transported it all there. That was a huge relief for us. During the ceremony, Missy wears a head set-along with the DJ so they are able to make sure timing is right.

I had my wedding at A&M Gardens, and it rained (first time in months), so the wedding was moved indoors. I was bummed, but Missy tried everything she could to insure I was happy. She rolled her pants up, and one by one took each one of the bridesmaids and groomsmen from the dressing room into the reception hall so we would not get wet. She was able to transform it from an outside setting to inside so quick.

I really appreciate everything the staff did and I am 100% happy with using them as my full service caterers.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
5/1/2011
4.8/5.0
Sissy's Catering did great with our international dinner for our wedding. They were really helpful in making the selection and in accommodating any special wishes for the three courses and were open to trying out new foods for our menu. It all turned out fantastic and our guests were truly impressed!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1303519088083-weddingcar
Jini
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Sissy's Catering for our cakes, dinner, decor, flowers, bartending, and ceremony/reception direction/organization. They were wonderful!! The cakes were amazing and delicious! The food was great -- even better than our tasting!! The flowers were one of kind and were over and above what we asked for. My maid of honor said that the bartending was excellent and everyone was happy. There was a slight mix up on the sashes we ordered -- they didnt quite match. Cyndi was excellent and we discussed our options. She offered helpful solutions and threw in extras for our receptions for free to do all she could to make our experience extra special. She gave good and honest feedback whenever she thought we could edit here and there -- which was nice, since I had never done this before and will never do it again! We loved it! (and they are super close to our vender in Azle, so they were flexible whenever we needed to swing by the shop and talk after our multiple visits to A and M Gardens in Azle, TX)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam Wooten
Wedding:
3/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I am the Mother of the Groom. The wedding was Friday night. We used Sissy's Complete Catering for the entire wedding and dinner. The entire service was spectacular. The flowers were beautiful, the food was wonderful, and Missy and her staff kept the evening moving without a single problem. This will be a night to remember. I have never in all of my years of attending weddings, tasted better wedding cakes then what we had that evening. They were the best I have ever tasted. Just FYI...I have already booked my other 2 kids weddings with Sissys this year as well.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vicki
Wedding:
3/18/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was fabulous thanks to Sissy's Catering. I have 4 daughters and out of 3 weddings this was the best. All I had to do was lay back and enjoy the wedding. It was so enjoyable. Friends and relatives said it was the best they had been to and were glad to see I could relax and enjoy the wedding instead of being all stressed out. Sissy's handled everything down to even getting the suitcases into the limo. The food was the best and the cakes were fabulous. Everything went so smoothly. Thanks to all of Sissy's crew and especially to Missy for making this such a memorable time in my daughter and son-in-law's lives. You are wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MMM
Wedding:
11/19/2010
4.8/5.0
Sissy’s catering did a great job! They did the food, bar tending, flowers, decorating and Missy did the coordinating. I can not even describe how beautiful my bridal bouquet was. It was PERFECT and definitely worth the money (which was very reasonable). Missy almost had the entire place decorated before I even showed up to the venue on my wedding day. It looked gorgeous! They always called or emailed me within 24-48 hours of my email/phone call. I know they are very busy, but they stayed on top of every detail. I would certainly recommend them. The only thing I was slightly displeased with is it seemed that they put the food, cake and decorations up pretty quickly during the reception. I was worried that my guests might feel like they were being pushed out of the door, but no one but me seemed to notice. At the venue I chose, we only had 1 hour to clean up and get out so I totally understand why they had to do this. They made is so easy for my family to load my decorations in the car and go. Pick Sissy’s and you will not be disappointed!!!!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CAllan86
Wedding:
10/1/2010
4.7/5.0
Sissy's Catering provided flowers, cake, catering, decorating, as well as day of coordinating for our October wedding. They did an awesome job! I gave them magazine cut outs of what I "sort of wanted" with explanations from me of what I wanted changed and they ended up creating exactly what I wanted and dreamed! My cake was picture perfect and my flowers were beautifully arranged. What was a budgeted wedding from the very start was made to look like an expensive affair. The food was yummy, and service great. Sissy's a tough cookie come wedding day, but only to make sure that YOU the Bride gets to do everything you want and ensure that your photographer gets all the wonderful pictures that will become your only memories.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melody
Wedding:
9/26/2010
5.0/5.0
I used Sissy's Catering for my wedding which was on 9/26/2010. From the moment I met Missy up until the day of my wedding she gave me a sense of peace and reassurance that everything would be taken care of for me and it was. I hired her to do catering, flowers, invitations, decorations, day of coordination, programs...basically everything...and it all turned out wonderful. All of my guests complimented me on how beautfiul everything was and I have Missy and her crew to thank for that! Both Missy and her staff are extremely flexible, easy to work with and most of all they made my day EASY for me which is what I wanted and I can't thank her enough. I would highly recommend Sissy to anyone who asks both for the quality and value of her work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swhitener
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.6/5.0
We loved meeting with Missy throughout the entire process. She was extremely helpful in making suggestions that would benefit our wedding. Our tasting session was great and the food was just as good at the wedding. It was the correct temperature, the variety was excellent & the presentation was great! Missy's staff was very helpful even providing services that they had not agreed to (for example hanging lanterns that we had not had time to get to.) One of the biggest things for me, as a wedding coordinator, was Missy's continuous communication with me throughout the whole event. She was always on time and we moved well through our timetable together. This wedding was outdoors and our set time was significantly reduced due to monsoon-like rain. Missy & her team absolutely busted it to get us set up and ready. Each and every one of them gave us 110%. I have worked with Missy before and I look forward to working with her again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AFierer
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was on 9.25.2010 and was ABSOULTELY PERFECT! We owe that in large to Missy and her staff.

We are from and live in Atlanta, but chose to get married on a private farm in Ft. Worth.

We had no clue where to even begin and our coordinator led us to Missy with Sissy's Catering...and we had BEST experience EVER! We had multiple meetings when we came into town, and they were all prompt, thorough, and very detailed.

Both our wedding ceremony and reception with over 170 guests attending were held outdoors...it MONSOONED the day of the wedding (started around 5am) and didn't stop until around 3:00pm. (Ceremony at 6pm and reception followed until 11:30pm).

As the bride, you can imagine I was panicked on how everything was going to get done before the ceremony! WELL, it turned out there was NO NEED for any amount of panic...

Missy DOUBLED her staff (at no additional charge) to get it all done in time! They were drying tables and chairs; they even hung paper lanterns in trees which was NOT their responsibility. They got on ladders and did it for us! They did countless other things that were not asked of them.

A time that I thought would be a disaster was incredibly well organized and everything that needed to get done was done and done to perfection. I can’t tell you what a blessing Missy and her staff truly were to us.

Overall, the staff from A-Z was incredibly helpful and Missy was there and was wonderful, as I knew she would be! I will break down a few other things in detail:

The cake WAS FABULOUS!!!! It was sooo beautiful and tasted delicious! I had MULTIPLE people tell me how pretty it was, but even more so how great it tasted...most wedding cakes are "okay" but everyone was going on and on about ours...

We also had a "dessert" bar with carrot cake, brownie bites, and an assortment of different types of pies...I didn't get to taste it all but I did get to have some of the pound cake and apple pie the next day...both were delicious!

The food was GREAT. We had lemon chicken, and many veggies, salad, etc. but once again, our guests went on and on and on about how delicious all the food was, especially the lemon chicken!!!

The presentation was INCREDIBLE! It was BEAUTIFUL! I am sending Missy pictures when I get them back (she was so busy she didn't get a chance to take her own!) so hopefully you all can see them on her website. The presentation of everything...from the table decorations, food stations (3), cake table, drink station (tea, lemonade and coffee) and bar, etc. etc. etc. was perfect!

The bar and bartenders were over the top organized and friendly. We served water, carbonated drinks, beer and 3 types of wine and they were friendly and on top of things all night. Again, we had 170 guests with a live band, etc. so people were constantly at the bar and there was very rarely a line, they were fast workers for sure!

The Flowers: WOW, WOW and WOW! We did more of a "wildflower" look with Gerber daisies, wild flowers of bright colors and they were GORGEOUS! The boutonnieres were perfect and they also did 2 giant flower/green arrangements for our ceremony that were beautiful. I had flower pins made for my hair and they were perfect-they were the perfect color (dainty white with a pink tint) and very small, which was perfect for me.

Overall, I obviously can't say enough WONDERFUL things about Sissy's Catering and Missy in general. (I know I kept using the word “perfect” a lot, but that is the only word to describe our night!) I would recommend them to ANYONE!

Missy and her staff not only met our needs and expectations (which were high) but went above and beyond to make our day PERFECT and we will forever be grateful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/4/2010
3.6/5.0
Sissy's Catering was great for us, minus a few little mishaps.

1. Missy, was very nice, when I got to speak to her.. she was very hard to get a hold of. She was doing the linens for our wedding with a new color she had to order.. I frequently had to call to check on the status of it..

2. The invitations was the most irritating.. they sent the invitations out what seemed to be a little late to me.. and it was extra irritating when (after we approved the invitation), people were calling me and asking if my fiance was changing his last name to mine.. because in the return address the put Mr. and Mrs. BRIDES LAST NAME?! After I sent some very frustrated emails, we ended up not having to pay for them.

After that, things started to look up. We met with her 2 weeks before the wedding.. my mom LABELED and dropped off a bunch of ceremony/reception decorations.. basically relieving my mom from a bunch of stuff to do because she offered to put everything out to decorate the place..

On the day of the wedding, my mom seemed to think they started a bit late.. and most of the workers were clueless.. many of them not dressed very appropriately for a wedding (i.e. something a redneck would wear?!).. although there was a guy.. who I had never met who was in charge of the event. As I expected Missy to be there, and was a bit worried, he ended up doing a great job. My mom gave him some direction (and THANK GOD my mom labeled everything).. and he put all the workers to work! Everyone had great things to say about the bartender!

I was slightly confused when there were servers.. and the bride and groom had to get up and get their own drinks when I was thinking they would be walking around filling up water glasses? Although, when I got up to fill up my glass of water, one of the servers apologized and got my husband and I some drinks from the bar.

Everyone had great things to say about the food.. although most said they had wished they were able to get more.. but it ran out. We paid for 150 ppl.. and only 130 showed up.. so we definitely thought we would be going home with food.. the cake was nice.. just what I expected.

After the reception, they cleaned up very timely, and made it very easy on the parents to haul it all out.

Overall, with a few minor flaws, we had a great time and have great memories of our reception.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lsimms
Wedding:
9/4/2010
3.4/5.0
Even though the night went well, we had a few issues that I found out about later. The wedding was at 6:00 and the coordinator (who was not who I thought it was going to be- I was under the impression it would be Missy) was in the bathroom changing out of her sweats at 5:30 and getting ready. My MOH had to go hunt her down and tell her to get down to the ceremony. My centerpieces were not exactly what we discussed, but were still pretty. My cake was square and they had it sat on a round display. We had more people than expected, and instead of the coordinator taking care of it herself (extra table and chairs were at the venue), she interrupted me during the pictures after the ceremony to tell me they were running low on seats and what I thought we should do. Which of course flustered me and made me stop my pictures. This upset me the most!!!!!!! My photographers and DJ pretty much ran the reception- not the planner! The cake and food was very good and everything was priced cheap! The flower arrangements were beautiful!! I guess you get what you pay for, but overall, nothing too major!! Luckily, none of this upset me because I just wanted to get married at that point!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
7/30/2010
0.0/5.0
Horrible Service! Was promised to get leftover food to take home, received nothing. Cake was supposed to be 5 layers, was only 4. Cut top layer today for 1 year anniversary and it's the wrong flavor. Cleaned up reception 1.5 hours before it was over. Had an employee(the florist) as the "bartender", and had a tip jar, inappropriate. Lots of negative things to say about this business. Would not use.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NightFairy489
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.8/5.0
Sissy's did my flowers, my food, my cake and the gooms "cake", and my linens.

Missy is very easy to work with and didn't mind at all when I changed my mind on things like my cake and my floral arrangements.

Everything was beautiful and the food was great. The filet mignon was over cooked but the maple pecan chicken was to die for! And although I dind't get to eat any of my cake I was told it was wonderful.

You get a lot for your money with Sissy's, I would fef recommend them again.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marissa
Wedding:
6/12/2010
1.2/5.0
I was hoping for some sort of resolution before I posted this, but as it stands right now, it will take awhile to go through the credit card company refund process (more on that later) and the end behavior by Sissy’s Catering has been so unprofessional that I feel this review is deserved at this point.

Background: Missy, the owner of Sissy’s Catering, lost her husband in a sudden car accident two weeks before our wedding, less than a week after the wedding of her own oldest daughter. We couldn’t imagine the pain she was going through, and did everything we could to be understanding and respectful of what she was going through. She actually still wanted to meet with us on the day of her husband’s wake for our previously scheduled final meeting, which we did not expect, and repeatedly told her it could wait. Even on that day she seemed to have everything in control and we had complete confidence in her. I still feel the event would have gone MUCH better if Missy had actually been at my reception running it, but that was the major problem—she wasn’t there.

We did not find this out until my new husband, my family, and I arrived at the Old Red just an hour before the reception was to start. All we were told was that she was at another event. We were never informed that she had another event and she always led us to believe she would be running ours. Throughout the entire planning process we worked exclusively with Missy, and Debbie, who was supposed to be one of the bartenders. Debbie’s small daughter was put in the hospital that morning, so she (understandably) wasn’t there as well.

However, this left us with an employee we had barely talked to running the event. And she had no idea what she was doing. Most of the problems of the night were thankfully handled by my mother and sister, though I was very aware of them and it did spoil the evening a little bit. It also made for a very hectic night for my family, and they really didn’t get to enjoy my wedding like they should have, especially my mom. After the fact, we made up a list to document all the problems, as my parents felt they were entitled to a refund—several parts of our contract were not fulfilled, on top of the horrible experience in general. So below is the list of everything that happened.

1.Several people got ABSOLUTELY NO DINNER and others got minimal. 14 people ended up not showing up, and we had given her an estimate even higher than that. We were told we would go home with food. We estimate 6-10 people didn’t get dinner.

2. The food overall was subpar and nothing like what we had tasted. The mashed potatoes for the mashed potato bar were liquid—a bridesmaid later told me she thought it was grits. My mom made them take the pan back to the kitchen, but they later brought it out again when there wasn’t enough food. The pecans for the chicken were inexplicably served separately out of plastic pitchers—it was tacky and many people didn’t see them, so they got plain chicken. The vegetables were extremely overcooked and disgusting. We were supposed to get Italian green beans, and we got canned green beans and a vegetable mix we had never ordered instead. The vegetables were served late as well, even though dinner started late. The plated salad was about 7 wilted leaves, with none of the croutons or toppings she had promised. It was supposed to be a Caesar salad. The dressing was served on the table in Styrofoam bowls with plastic spoons—went great with the china we had paid for. Thank goodness we didn’t let her do the cake. The buffet was set up very oddly, with the kids buffet mixed in with the adult food, which made it very confusing.

3. Guests who didn’t get food were told by the catering staff that we had given them the wrong count. This was completely untrue as we had overestimated AND people didn’t show up. This really made me mad.

4.The only reason my husband and I got food was because Melody, our DJ, went up and got it for us. We asked the servers twice to bring it to us, and this is what we had agreed on in our final meeting. Melody actually went around getting non-liquid potatoes for the bridal party.

5. Dinner was served a ½ hour late due to the extremely long bar line. We paid for 2 bartenders and got one we had never met. He was very unprofessional, and I’m not sure he was even certified. He didn’t card anyone and had a hard time making simple drinks—with MIXERS! The bar was a mess the whole time and he didn’t use a lot of the expensive garnishes we had bought to make the drinks special. He asked my mom for the leftover beer (there were cases) as payment (he was paid) and implied to me he wanted the leftover wine. He used one of my centerpiece vases as a tip jar. When someone asked him for water, he handed them a plastic cup and told them to find the water fountain. Many of the drinks were served in plastic cups (like, the really cheap ribbed kind, not even punch glasses), even though we had paid for glassware.

5. The rest of the staff was made up of clueless high-schoolers, who had no idea what they were doing. When they brought the pan of liquid potatoes out again (that my mom had asked to be removed), the server dropped it into the serving tray. It splattered all over a guest's suit. The server simply laughed with no apology. My mom saw this and wanted to die.

6. One of the servers asked the DJ if she was going to cut and serve the cake. WTH???? They lost our toasting glasses (even though they brought them to the reception as we had given them the stuff at a prior meeting), so we had to toast with wine glasses. The top layer was supposed to be saved for us, instead it was cut and the second layer (way too big) was saved. This was only because a guest saw what they were doing and stopped them from cutting it all. There were no plates when we cut the cake, so we had to eat it off the cake server.

7. The coffee was cold by 10:30. There were only a few punch cups
out by the tea. There was no regular tea as stated on the contract and
the water was marked unsweetened tea.


8. My sister, the maid of honor, had to sit with the servers for at
least 15 minutes and show them how to set up the sweet table when she
found them dumping the cookies and cannoli on plastic trays. We had bought lots of beautiful stands and displays, but they had no intention of using them. We had agreed we would use them in advance. The dessert table was still a mess after this.

9. My mother asked twice if they saved the bride and groom sweets for
the next day, as we had discussed in advanced. We made sure they had a marked container, but we never saw it again. We also bought all kinds of aluminum pans for the
leftovers, which they kept. Missy had specifically told us to bring them for the extra food. Jay never got to try his groom’s cake and we only got a cannoli because my aunt brought us one.

10. My family arrived at 5:00 to find tiny jars with 2 lemons on the tables, and
5 tables with nothing at all. We had given them the vases at the final meeting, but the woman who was running the thing insisted we hadn’t—even though she helped us carry them inside the catering facility AT the final meeting! After 45 min of the hall coordinator trying to find substitutes, they found the vases in the corner. If they had not been found over half the tables would have had literally no centerpieces. The only things that were set up correctly in the hall were the things I had specifically set up in advance and taken pictures of—I gave them a 10 page document in advance describing everything. Thank goodness I am OCD, because I cant imagine what it would have looked like otherwise. I spend so much time on DIY decorations, the candy buffet etc. only for them to be haphazardly thrown up. If it wasn’t in the doc, they didn’t do it—even simple obvious things like filling the bridesmaid’s vases with water. We had to specifically ask them to do it!

11. Every problem my mom addressed with the servers was met with apathy and
"I don't knows" When guests asked if there was any more food coming
out, they were coldly told "Nope" with no apology. When my mom told the employee in charge how upset she was that the guests had no dinner, she was apathetic and didn't even apologize. She had no idea what she was doing the whole night.

12. They never cleared any of the tables, so the were left a mess all night, with used napkins, food, and glassware everywhere.


Melody, our wonderful DJ, held everything together. She pretty much coordinated the whole night, putting out caterer fires, on top of being a great DJ. She has worked with Missy in the past, and was completely baffled and upset about what happened.

After the wedding, my mother never got a call from Missy explaining what happened. She tried calling and emailing multiple times, but only got an email back from an employee saying Missy was out of town. When someone answered the phone, they simply said they didn’t know anything about it and couldn’t help. My mom wrote an upset, but still sympathetic email to Missy detailing what happened (pretty much the list above) and asked for $900 as a refund, as that was the amount that she should have owed us based on the missing bartender, food, etc. This didn’t even take into account the fact my mother didn’t get to enjoy her daughter’s wedding. My mom wrote that she understood it was still a tough time for her, but wanted to know the full situation about the other event and what could be done to rectify the situation. We got an email back saying she was out of town and about 2 weeks later we finally got a one-line email from Missy as follows:


“I am so sorry I will refund you today if you will send me your address I will take care of it again I am tuely sorry.”

My mom immediately sent her our address. It has been well over a month and we haven’t heard or received anything. We cannot even get anyone to answer the phone there now. We are now pursuing other options through the credit card company we paid with.

We do feel so bad about her situation—it truly is horrible—but she and her other employees have been extremely unprofessional. We would have understood much more if she had explained to us what happened, or even if she was emotionally unable to handle the events surrounding the wedding. However, that is what she pays a staff for, and they were all incompetent or absent as well.

Although I think this isn’t a regular situation for her customers, it shows me that they cannot handle unexpected events/emergencies and are deceptive.

My hope is that my parents get a refund and we can just forget the whole situation. It still bugs me, though, because now I have some bad memories from my reception, even though it was still wonderful. She promised repeatedly that we wouldn’t have to worry about anything on my wedding day, and instead we got a disaster on something you cant do over, with no remorse from them whatsoever.

Update 8/18/2010: Sissy's Catering finally became more responsive (I think after another former bride on theKnot.com made her aware of the reviews I was posting--we got the first response right after she said she would talk to her for us), apologized, and refunded the entire amount my parents asked for and asked to meet with us. At this point, my mother didn't feel it was needed or would be a good experience, so we declined meeting with her and she sent us a check.
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Kristi
Wedding:
6/12/2010
0.9/5.0
Sissy\'s Catering came highly recommended to me, but once we began working with them, I was curious as to how she was so popular. Looking through the reviews, I see that she double booked my wedding day. There was another 6/12/10 wedding, the same night as my own. When we booked with Missy, we were assured that I would be the only bride that day, that she would put all of her attention onto my special day, that it would be perfect on her end. Seeing that she double booked, it explain many of the faults that happened that night. I\'d like to back up and say that we had trouble from the start. Picking out invitations was a nightmare. We chose what we wanted, had it okayed, then the next day received a call that we would have to choose another design, that the postage would be more than they thought. So, we picked out something else, and heard back from our friends that when they received their invitations, some had return envelopes and some didn\'t, some were smudged and unreadable, others had the return postange left off and several were inserted into the mailing envelopes haphazardly. When I called Missy in tears, I was directed to the person who put my invitations together -- it was Chelsea, a teenager who had a friend of hers, another teenager, help her. She was upset that I was so upset, because Missy didn\'t know she had had a friend help her. It is my belief that the invitation is the first impression to the flavor of your wedding, and it was embarrassing to me that my guests would receive second rate efforts from two teenage girls, unbeknownst to the owner of the catering company. There was nothing we could do to make it right, but Missy refunded a little of the money and promised whole heartedly that the wedding and reception would be perfect. It was a mistake to not go against my better judgement and to handle the rest of the wedding on my own. First of all, while Missy was decorating the church santuary for the ceremony, she suddenly left, saying she had to go to the place of the reception and \"check on her staff\". It was minutes before the ceremony was to begin, we had no idea where the flowers were and had to send someone to the front, with guests waiting, to get the boquets and mother\'s roses. My father hurriedly drove to the place of the reception, having a bad feeling about the organization of all of this, to make sure that things were getting set up and he found that nothing had been done. Items were still in totes and Missy and one or two workers were the only ones there. She was extremely short staffed -- I suppose the rest of the workers were at the other wedding? When we arrived at the reception, the set up was sparse but pretty. She has mostly used the centerpiece items that I had previously chosen, the table linens were clean and the colors were right. It was time for the meal and we had previously asked to be served. This went fine, but we were not given drinks. My husband and I had to leave the Head Table to go fill our own water glasses. The rest of the Head Table also had no water. We were supposed to have a carving table, but when asked, Missy said that there were not enough of her workers there to man the carving table. However, we had paid for this and it was in the contract that we would have three meats instead of the two. A guest wanted more beef, and went to ask for more. She was quickly informed that there was not any more, no seconds for guests -- in a rather rude, abrupt way. However, when my family left that night, they left with POUNDS of leftover beef. In fact, we STILL have meat left over there was so much! Was this the beef that the other 6/12/10 bride ran out of at her reception? At our last meeting with Missy, we took her the items for the candy buffet. She told us that she had several containers of various sizes and would be able to decorate it very nicely. When we arrived, the candy was literally just piled into heaps of candy on the table, only using a few containers. It was obviously a quick, throw together assembly. We also had taken many, many containers for taking home the left overs. The night of the wedding, they were no where to be found. We still have yet to see them. A few weeks after the event, we tried to call Missy and speak to her about our concerns. We were told that she was out of the office and would respond to us as soon as she returned. We tried again, the following week -- nothing. She has not answered the three emails or the two phone calls. Once your day is over, Missy has long forgotten you.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lhudman
Wedding:
4/16/2010
0.1/5.0
I was so disappointed with Sissy's Catering. I went with them because I had been to a wedding they had catered...but I should have thought twice!!! We paid (BIG BUCKS) for every single guests (plus more) to have prime rib....they served half of my guests including my Mother, me and my husband...ROAST BEEF. It was cold and horrible. My mother went to the line and they had not refilled any of the dishes. The meat was cold and the potatoes were runny. It was overall, NOTHING like the tasting we had. Don't let her tasting fool you...
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
2/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Missy was extremely friendly and helpful. The day of our wedding was amazing. The price was very affordable. She was able to offer us unique items and help us delegate the music. Her staff was very curteous and she worked VERY closely with our event location owners so we didn't have to explain to her the facility set up, rules, etc. Everything was smooth and timely for both the rehearsal and the day of the wedding. Our flower arrangements exceeded my expectations. The set up of the tables was great and she provided all of the stands. Missy even served my husband and I at our table so we didn't have to go through the buffet line. People raved about the food, and she was kind enough *becuase of my husband's picky eating habbits* to make us a sample of our dinner including our choices of cake to sample, even before we booked her, which was probably out of the ordinary for her procedures. She was so accomodating and took all the stress out of my planning. Although she is far away from where we live, she was close to the facility we rented and it was well worth the drive!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride
Wedding:
10/4/2009
3.5/5.0
Missy did my wedding 10/4/09. Everything was great. She did my wedding cake.
The only thing i tried to confirm with them and couldnt get no answers was about my cake. I ordered flowers , invitations , my cakes through her on the understanding that they did it all , but my mother noticed my cakes were delivered by Omegas Cakes , she saw her van , My cake was Beautiful and the grooms cake was amazing, but I think they should get the credit and they should let us know she is making the cake or cakes and not portaiting that they are doing it.

Well Omegas Cakes my hat goes off to you and thank you for my beautiful cakes.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.7/5.0
We booked Missy for our flowers after she did my sister-in-law's wedding. She was great! I just told her what kind of flowers I wanted to use, and she arranged them beautifully! She also had great pricing.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/7/2009
4.9/5.0
I planned most of my wedding in 2 weeks as I was leaving the country for 3 months and returning just 2 months before my wedding. The venue we chose (A&M Gardens in Azle, TX, an amazing place to be married) recommended Sissy's Catering. My mother and I went and met with her and couldn't say no to the amount of services she provided and the cost for them. She sent my wedding invitations out on time, but with the wrong directions. However, after we let her know she immediately sent the correct directions out, with an apology. She arrived with my bouquet for my bridal portraits, and it was PERFECT, absolutely beautiful! I was kind of worried as I had read reviews on here before about the bouquet for the wedding, but on my special day, my bouquet was just as beautiful as in my portraits! My bridesmaids bouquets were exactly what I asked for and beautiful as well. She also did 2 flower arrangements that were gorgeous! My cake was stunning and tasted great! The tables were decorated beautifully and the food was great as well. We had paid for 200 people, but 225 people showed up, and Missy's crew ran to the store and brought more food, without anyone noticing!!! And, she didn't charge an arm and a leg to do so. She was on top of everything as a wedding coordinator! At my rehearsal she sat me down, since I hadn't called her to tell her what I wanted, and in 10 minutes she had it figured out and had us all rehearsing...it went so smoothly!!! Rehearsal dinner was great as well..food and dessert so tasty!!! At my wedding, she had everyone in place and even waited on some of my friends to be seated before we started the ceremony. She was completely in tune with our dj and had everyone enter at the exact moment we had asked for. Everyone did perfectly and knew exactly what to do...o and she's GREAT with children!!! I had 3 kiddos in my wedding and she was AWESOME with them explaining things and helping them through it all, oh and giving one of them a piece of chocolate cake at the rehearsal dinner, b/c everyone else ate the chocolate cheesecake, which was WONDERFUL!!! I can't say enough good things about Missy and the staff she had working at my wedding! It was truly a PERFECT day! Everyone came up to us later and told us it was the best, most beautiful wedding they had ever been to!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda and Josh
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
As the mother of the bride I found a best friend - someone who we could rely to handle all the details of the wedding day - cakes, catering, decorations, and flowers. It was so nice to have everything from one person so you knew coordination was not a problem. The key word - a stress free day so we could enjoy our friends and family. Everything was beautiful and well planned. With their years of experience they brought many ideas to the venue. We did this wedding at Chandor Gardens in Weatherford and I highly recommend Missy and her staff. We also have friends who have booked her since this wedding as they were so impressed. On wedding day - they deliver!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sammydwayne
Wedding:
10/4/2008
1.6/5.0
I hired this company thinking this is a one stop shop. Little did i know what a disaster it would turn out to be. Invitations went out 2 weeks late, the wedding flowers were not what i asked for, professionalism was so terrible i felt sorry for them. They would hardly if ever return my phone calls when i needed something! I had to call them for every little detail, it was like they had'nt been doing this for very long. Being a bride is a lot of work and all i wanted was someone to ease my stress and get the job done in a timely manner, that way i wouldnt have to worry with it, thats there job! But they didnt deliver. I would not recommend this company at all. It sounds like a good idea but find another option!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
crose
Wedding:
5/25/2008
3.8/5.0
I found Missy from my venue's preferred vendors list. It was a great price. I paid 9 pp for pork tenderloin and beef brisket, green beans, potato's, salad, veggie tray, coffee, tea, lemonade. I also got my cakes and chocolate fountain. She does linens, invites, flowers, coordination. My reception hall looked amazing. Just like I wanted. Her staff was wonderful and always made sure we had what we needed when we needed it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
k_lewis8
Wedding:
11/24/2007
5.0/5.0
Sissys catering 2 years ago did my complete wedding and dedorations along with catering. They are the BEST. Also they just completed my brother rehearsal dinner and it turned out perfect. I am so glad that I found Sissys for all of my services and will continue to refer them and use them as the years go by. THANKS to all of your staff and for all you have done for my family and I.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarahbri
Wedding:
6/30/2007
4.7/5.0
Missy was a wonderful caterer and florist for our wedding. She does everything, but we used somebody else for our cakes. She even made a practice bouquet to use during my bridal portraits, which almost looked fake because it was so beautiful. She is very opinionated, but this is a great advantage for someone who doesn't know much about weddings. The only problem I had was with my bouquet on the wedding day. It was different than the practice bouquet and didn't look as fresh.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers

MAP

 
1391 NW Parkway, Azle, TX 76020 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sissy's Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220