130x130_sq_1391099310320-img0841---version-

SJ's Disc Jockey

Granite Bay , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Granite Bay, CA US 95746 (map)

PHONE

916-300-3300

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

SJ’s has been in business for over 20 years, and has performed at over 1500 weddings in Northern California. SJ’s offers hit music from the 40’s through today, combining professional... Read more
SJ’s has been in business for over 20 years, and has performed at over 1500 weddings in Northern California. SJ’s offers hit music from the 40’s through today, combining professional equipment, professional MC services and a fun, mature compliment to wedding day. SJ’s also offers an optional mobile photobooth for rent, and a slideshow montage, which adds a great spark to any reception. SJ’s prices are refreshingly affordable, please visit www.sjsdiscjockey.com. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Fun, professional, responsible and easy to work with.
What is your usual attire?
Tuxedo attire.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
I provide all music.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I refer to two other DJ's when I am personally booked.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
4 hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, I prefer we meet initally, and in the weeks leading up to her wedding.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
No
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, and I bring backup gear in case of an emergency.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
I offer a mobile photobooth, monogram lighting, and a slideshow montage.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
I bring everything I need, and I setup in 30 minutes.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I do emcee, and talk when appropriate.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I typically eat a meal behind my DJ booth, so I can be near the controls at all times.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Music is always playing.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, I have a fully trained DJ in case I become unavailable, which has never happened!
What is your overtime rate?
$125 hourly
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
I do charge for travel beyond a 50 mile radius. Never will exceed $100.00

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Joe is hands down the best around. Before booking him for our wedding, we watched him at two different weddings. Joe is so fun, laid back and just knows how to work a crowd! He can turn anything into something fun. Two weeks after my wedding and I am still getting compliments about him. Worth every penny and more! Do yourself a favor and just hire joe. I promise you won't be making a mistake.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.9/5.0
My husband and I had Jeremy with SJ's as our DJ for our wedding at the Monte Verde Inn (amazing venue btw). Jeremy was great to work with and absolutely delivered what we were looking for in a dj. The music was awesome and nothing was "tacky" as I've seen with other DJ's. I was able to dance the night away which I've always wanted for my wedding. Thanks Jeremy for helping us have the wedding of our dreams! Highly recommended :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oscar A.
Wedding:
4/13/2014
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Joe. We felt very comfortable having him for our wedding. Joe made sure that our wedding had a nice flow as well as he kept it elegant, yet a lot of fun.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Well it is no surprise that Joe is AMAZING! Looking at all of his reviews it is very clear. The first time my husband and I met with Joe we knew we wanted him to MC our wedding. Immediately we told him we wanted a fun wedding and that is what he delivered. Our guests loved his upbeat personality and fun approach to the traditionally reception events. He kept the crowd laughing and everyone on the dance floor. If you are looking for a fantastic DJ, I would highly recommend Joe.

We also chose to add his photo booth which was a huge hit with all the guests. We got digital copies of all the photos plus guests were allowed to leave a short video clip for us.
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jlangdon
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We booked with SJ's and had Greg for our DJ. He was so nice and professional. When it came to choosing songs, if there were any blank spots he had multiple suggestions and options for me to choose from. For the wedding day he arrived early to set up and did a great job on the ceremony music. Then he also kept the evening flowing with announcing when we would do cake cutting, toasts, etc. to keep us on our timeline. Once open dancing started, he played good songs that people could definitely get up and dance to. We also got a photo booth through SJ's and it was lots of fun. They provided a multitude of props for our guests and it printed two strips each time so they could keep one and paste one into a book for me and my husband. Also we received a DVD with all the pictures and they also could let guests record a short video message to us. Overall, so happy with all the services we got through SJ's. They made our day that much more wonderful!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
What can I say that hasn't already been said about Joe at SJ's Disc Jockey? ...Joe is absolutely the most talented, charismatic, engaging DJ out there! Joe is professional, yet fun and will keep your wedding guests entertained and happy. He responds promptly to any questions that you may have and is always willing to meet to go over wedding details, check out your venue and make you feel like you don't have to worry about a thing.
I did not have a single worry about music or wedding flow with Joe. Our guests enjoyed the fun touches that he added to our day, such as the Bridal Party introductions, a trivia game, and others. Joe will make your day unique to you and your partner and give you an incredibly fun wedding to remember - for everyone! I would most definitely reccommend SJ's Disc Jockey for any event. Joe is THE MAN!
We love you Joe, Erick and I thank you for rocking our wedding! We had a blast, and we will never forget it!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Joe was amazing to work with! He was helpful and prompt with any questions we had and made us feel so comfortable with him taking charge of our day. DJ's are extremely important to the flow of the ceremony and reception. He facilitated smooth transitions from cocktail hour to introductions to dinner and then speeches. He knew we wanted to dance all night and he made sure things weren't lagging so we could do so! He was so great with all the music he played and was so much fun! He also provided us with a photo both and our guests LOVED it! It was so much fun! The only regret I have is not using it more because I was too busy dancing to great music!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/26/2013
4.6/5.0
Greg was our DJ, and he was pretty great. He was totally willing to work with our taste, and he played songs our guests requested. During cocktail hour, he even played a pre-made playlist we had made for our engagement party, which was awesome.

He got flustered by equipment malfunctions due to the heat that day, and he introduced us by the wrong name during the grand entrance. But, he did the right thing and immediately apologized and made things right by giving us a discount. Other vendors should take note, that when you make a mistake, you should do the right thing and apologize like Greg did. Went a long way with us.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/2/2013
5.0/5.0
In my opinion, the DJ plays the most important role on your wedding day. They are the ones who will either make or break your reception... so ladies and gentlemen, HIRE JOE! He is professional, efficient, and totally fun. He will listen to your requests but he also has a lot of great suggestions so be sure to listen to what he has to say. Not only will he play great songs to get your party going, but he will also have fun on the mic with your guests. My wedding was on a Sunday night and he kept us dancing until the venue closed! I highly recommend Joe as your DJ! I promise your party will totally rock.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Let's just say, it was 90 degree weather on our wedding day and no one left the dance floor! Joe was incredible in helping with the flow of the evening and providing valuable insight on how to make sure our night ended on a high note! He was incredibly responsive to our play list requests and even went outside of his comfort zone to play a lot of my country music requests! He was just enough presence to make sure everything went according to plan, but not too overwhelming or in your face. He worked closely with our vendors to make sure all flowed according to the timeline, and he knew all of the little details, like my niece and nephew's names for their special dance! At the end of the wedding, my nephew asked for Joe's business card so that he could come play at his 9th birthday party! Joe was a huge hit with all of the guests, he accommodated requests and made sure no one got bored.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Le Ann
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Joe is wonderful! He was extremely professional, had the timeline down, and kept everything on track. He was able to keep people out on the dance floor, and we all had a wonderful time!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dave and Susie
Wedding:
4/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Our DJ, Joe, was outstanding! Where do I begin? Not only was he helpful, charming, attentive to our needs, thorough, professional, on time, quick to respond to emails and inguiries, and very flexible, but he also provides the best value for his DJ services that we found anywhere! He made our wedding the best experience we could have ever hoped for! We had a very specific time frame that we needed to get everything into, and Joe worked with us in every little detail, and really paid attention to our special requests and wishes. We couldn't be happier with our decision to have Joe handle our event. He MC'd our wedding ceremony and reception for us, and kept everything moving right along with our tight schedule, and made it the most beautiful day for us. I HIGHLY recommend SJ's Disc Jockey! Thanks Joe..!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Raechele
Wedding:
1/4/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband I just got married on 12-29-2012 and was referred to Joe from our florist, best referral ever. Joe was flexible with meeting us for our first meet and greet and even recommended a later evening appointment to accommodate our work schedule. When we sat down with Joe he gave us a lot of ideas to make our reception memorable which we ended up going with and our guest our still raving about. Joe not only was our DJ but we also went with him for our photo booth and our up lighting as well. Great decision on our part. I would highly recommend Joe for you event.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
11/9/2012
5.0/5.0
OUTSTANDING ALL THE WAY AROUND! Joe was fabulous!!!! From the moment my husband and I met Joe we knew he was our guy...he is not only professional and responsive to questions but guides you through the process of music selection to make you feel like you are part of the creation process. During the ceremony he coordinated all of our attendants so that everything ran smoothly, during the dinner he made announcements and got the attention of our guests, and during the reception he commanded the dance floor.

Everyone from our oldest guest to our youngest guest were dancing the night away as Joe picked the perfect mixture for everyone. He made the evening enjoyable and we are trying to figure out what other events we can have him back for as he was phenomenal!!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Let me start off by saying what a nice and down to earth guy Joe is. We got so lucky to find him. From the first time we met him at the local Starbucks, sparks flew between him and my husband. I'll say that through the entire wedding planning process, my husband never had too much of an opinion and left almost everything up to me. But after our meeting with Joe, my husband let me know that he wanted Joe to MC our wedding. I was already sold by SJ's reviews and price (he is affordable too!), by Joe sealed the deal by meeting my husband and I. We hired Joe almost a year out and during that 11 months, I'd email Joe with questions or song selections and every single time, he'd get back to me within the hour. He was beyond helpful. I met him a few weeks prior to our wedding to finalize song selections and what not and I could not have felt more comfortable come my wedding day. The whole day went flawlessly. He was the perfect guy to get the crowd going. And that voice of his...he's got the perfect voice! I only hope I'll be able to see Joe again when I attend other weddings and events. I highly recommend him. If you want flawless music, entertainment, and spectacular lighting, call SJ's Disc Jockey. You won't go wrong! Thanks for everything SJ's!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Words cannot express how much we love Joe Kalamaras!! He was referred to us by our wedding venue and that was the best referral we could have gotten. Joe was kind, professional, has great music taste and just an all around fun guy to be around! The services we recieved were well beyond the value we paid. Joe accomodated any and all of our needs from pre and post ceremony music to all the MC announcements. He encouraged us to have fun introducing our wedding party before the reception started and I still laugh thinking of how he announced our friends and family. He even surprised my husband and I by changing up the garter toss. Guests couldn't stop talking about how great our party was! We also utilized Joe's photo booth service which was a great hit with our guests! At the end of the night we were presented with a beautiful photo album with a copy of all the photos our guests took along with a DVD that had all the photos and videos people left for us. We used these photos with our thank you notes to send to the guests. It was a great surprise for them. I can't thank Joe enough for all he did and our friendship we now have. He's the best the business has to offer!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1311627971753-1004103
Haley
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Joe Kalamaras is a great DJ. He did an amazing job the night of our wedding--everyone loved his music selections and I loved his organization, professionalism, and friendliness. Leading up to the big day, he was always available for questions and flexible with changing plans.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
paalouf
Wedding:
8/25/2012
2.5/5.0
Sadly the only vendor for my wedding that we weren't thrilled about.

Greg would not respond to our emails in a timely manner (though when we asked him to be more responsive he apologized), we asked him for song suggestions and never got any, etc.

The job got done but not with any enthusiasm from either party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Greg was our DJ and he did a fantastic job! He responded quickly to our emails and questions and was flexible with times for our appointments. He had a very professional and friendly manner as he facilitated the reception. We appreciated that he listened to us when we explained the music we did/did not want and we got exactly what we wanted. We and our friends had a blast dancing the night away!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
6/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Joe responds promptly and is super flexible when it comes to meetings. He doesn't ham it up as an mc and makes sure to check with the bride & groom for "do not play lists" & whether requests are acceptable. He arrives 2 hours early to set up and offers some extra services too! I really wanted his lighting but we had an all outdoor wedding in June so it would have been a waste (which he pointed out rather than just taking my money) but we did have him put together a slideshow for us. If you think you could do it yourself think again! It was professional! We also had his photo-booth which was a HUGE hit! This was entertainment for guests, a wedding favor, & a keepsake for us! Totally worth it!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
geminix03
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Very fortunately, all of the vendors for my wedding were 5-star amazing. But if I could give Joe a 6th star, I would, because he turned the wedding into an event to remember! He was there 2 hours early and handled the sound for our ceremony flawlessly. Then, for the reception, his lighting for the room was breathtaking and really set the mood for the whole evening. His easy personality quickly won the guests over as he emceed, introduced, and made announcements. Lastly, he kept the dance floor packed all night long. This was amazing in and of itself since we had repeatedly told him in our planning that we were concerned people were not going to dance. I forgot to mention that during the entire planning process, he always responded to e-mails in a timely manner and available to answer any and all questions I had.

His photobooth was also a huge hit and we couldn't have been more pleased with our photobooth guestbook, the video messages, and the photobooth pictures, which were of high quality and not cheesy at all. I got so many compliments about the photobooth and the music.

Thank you for being a part of our wedding, Joe!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat
Wedding:
12/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Joe is hands-down amazing! We had a very small wedding, and initially I thought our guests weren't likely to spend much time on the dance floor, but Joe kept things moving all night long! I had no clue my parents danced like that....
We gave Joe selections for the important dances and a sampling of music we liked, but ultimately left the playlist up to the expert and man did he come through! All the songs for our ceremony were qued up perfectly, and he really set the mood wonderfully for the entire evening with his music choices. We had more than one person ask for a playlist of the dinner music, and they couldn't believe that it was our DJ that put together a selection that was so "us".
Joe was also great to work with, professional and really caring. He's completely down to earth in person, yet can really get enthusiastic and a crowd up to dance, without ever being corny or overbearing. I would recommend his services to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ohnovelocity
Wedding:
11/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Professional, Detail-Oriented, and the PERFECT MC voice! SJ's Disc Jockey couldn't have made us happier! As many appointments/meetings as we needed, so flexible, and all the details remembered!

Joe Kalamaras was such a special find and there really isn't a DJ/MC that can compare to his pricing and quality services! He has so many extras (lighting, multimedia, and photobooths!) to offer and assistants that are super friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable!

I highly recommend SJ's - you'll be SO glad you booked them!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Johnson's
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Where to start!!??? Joe is amazing! From the first time we met with Joe, we knew we would be in great hands. He was kind, caring, personable, and fit into our budget. I knew he would be more than just a vendor at my wedding but a friend to us as well and that was important to us! This was my special day and I didn’t just want some random person we didn’t know trying to DJ our wedding. With that said he got to know us, we met on several occasions and chatted all the time via email, phone, or even IM. By the time the wedding came it felt like we had known Joe for years. When your DJ knows you and your husband verses just being a complete stranger we found that it makes for a much better reception. Things just flow better; he’s not trying to figure out what you like or what you don’t like or what to say about you when introductions come around. He already knows! Joe truly made for the best reception ever. I’m not just saying that because it was my wedding but because everyone raved about how great he was, the music was perfect, the introductions where Awesome. My husband who does not like to dance even got out on the dance floor and did the best sexy dance I have ever seen. PS Thanks again for that Joe!!! One of our friends who are getting married next year wants to have him for their DJ as well. Joe even got out on the dance floor with us and had some fun himself!! Overall Joe ROCKED our wedding and we would do it all over again we had some much fun. We would recommend Joe to anyone who wants to have an AMAZING wedding and DJ!
Mr. & Mrs. Johnson
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chantel
Wedding:
6/5/2011
4.2/5.0
Joe was the Dj for our wedding. He did a great job and everyone had a blast.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Desiree Schafer
Wedding:
5/27/2011
5.0/5.0
If you do not go with Joe and SJ's Disc Jockey for your wedding/event you are doing yourself and your event a disservice! I must have researched 20 or so DJ's in the local Sacramento area and although some seemed like they would work no one struck my fiance and I like Joe/SJ's Disc Jockey did. Joe is extremely experienced, extremely professional and has a voice that just screams DJ! The man should be on radio :-). Truly though there is no way to describe it better than Joe just "gets it". He understands what a modern couple wants and then exceeds even the highest expectations. He is on top of it, knows the latest trends in music, has an online library to make your life easier in suggesting tunes and best of all? He takes care of everything I mean everything! We didn't have to do more than fill out his basic form of suggested songs and do not plays and he was able to know what we would like and how to handle our guests requests at the ceremony. He is organized with notes and his own timeline and flow for the day. He not only is a fantastic DJ but he hosted our event as the MC in an amazing, fun and professional way. I can not speak highly enough or do him justice in a short review but know that even the most demanding brides (which I possibly was!) will be able to put their trust in Joe and not be let down!
He is FANTASTIC!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jasmin
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Joe was great! He played the perfect set of music to keep our guests dancing. We had a blast
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Piketoon
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
When you imagine how your wedding day will go, with everything working out perfectly and all of your guests having the time of their lives, that's how it went with SJ's Disc Jockey at our wedding. Joe, is the most professional, flexible, and pleasant DJ you could ever ask for. With Joe at the helm, we actually had "The Perfect Wedding." We knew when we booked Joe along with our other vendors that we were getting an "all-star" cast...but on wedding day, he exceed all of our expectations. He really managed our wedding so well, and yet he stayed so low-key and just let the wedding happen. We HIGHLY recommend SJ's Disc Jockey to ANYONE who's planning a wedding...even if you've already booked your DJ. It's not too late. Just call them up to cancel and tell them you're going with Joe instead. They will understand.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
4/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Joe was absolutely wonderful to work with! He made sure everything we wanted was executed perfectly, and that our wedding was a spot-on reflection of us as a couple! Music was very important to us, but we didn't want to micro-manage every detail... Joe took everything that we talked about, and then read the room to come up with the PERFECT playlist. We were able to put complete trust in him, and just enjoy the celebration with our guests. Thanks to Joe we were also able to have a photo-booth at our wedding! It was something we wanted, but weren't sure we could afford, and Joe made it possible. He even added a 15 second video feature! Everyone loved it, and now we have a disc of all the pictures and videos to remember our day. Joe is a class-act with a great personality! He's a genius at reading the room, and goes out of his way to help and support the bride and groom. I recommend him to anyone who is looking to have an awesome celebration without any cheesy gimmicks. Thank you Joe <3
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Garrett
Wedding:
12/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe was not only extremely helpful and professional from start to finish, he was also incredibly friendly and supportive. We made several changes to our original plans and every one of them was fulfilled just the way we wanted. Whenever we had a question, Joe had an answer. From the very first meeting we were completely certain that we weren't going to have to worry about anything DJ related at all. Needless to say, he arrived early to our reception and had everything setup and ready before we got there, he did a fantastic job setting up (the uplighting was beautiful) and the sound quality and timing of the music was phenomenal.

Thank you Joe for a better evening than we could have hoped for!
We'll be sending every soon-to-be married couple we know your way!

Thanks again So much!

Garrett and Kira Cook
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissajbarker
Wedding:
11/20/2010
3.2/5.0
Greg was a really nice guy. He did great the actual night of the wedding. He did forget about one of our meetings, and was not always prepared with our paperwork. But other than that he did a great job with the crowd and kept the party going.
Services Used: DJ
Bg8
WillBeMrsD
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe. Is. Wonderful. He is very professional, very fun, and above all a top notch DJ. He has the ability to read a room and feel out exactly what the crowd wants which is both rare and precious. He is also a very, very awesome guy and we can't wait to work with him again. Highly, HIGHLY recommended!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
iheartdurt
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe is absolutely awesome! Very accommodating and helpful when suggestions were needed. He met with us to make sure he had a good understanding of what we wanted for our wedding.

**PHOTOBOOTH!! AMAZING! Our guests are still raving over it and the photos are hilarious. We couldn't be happier with the service provided!!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe was one of the best decisions we made on a vendor! He is super professional and far from "cheezy" which is what we were going for, lol! My fiance's relatives and family are a bit shy compared to my side and Joe definitely got the party started..and both sides said how much fun they had and what a great selection of music there was. Thanks to Joe of coarse. We also did the slide show with him where we provide photos and both of us got teary eyed when Joe played it at our wedding. Anyway, I can rant and rave for a while on Joe..he really is a great DJ. :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wifey22
Wedding:
8/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Hello future brides! If I could title my wedding, and bottle up my experiences with my different vendors., I would call it "A Dream Come True". I am that girl that has been dreaming of my wedding since I was a little. In fact every Halloween, I asked to be a bride. To me, I wanted my wedding to be perfect... to be a fairytale. I knew the flowers I wanted, the kind of music I wanted to dance to, the type of dress I would wear, and that I wanted a great photographer to capture each moment... what I didn’t know was how to make all these dreams/ideas in my head a reality.
To me, the music at a wedding is so important. I come from a rather traditional background, and knew that when I found the right DJ, he would understand all my needs. Well, my friends, Joe Kalamaras of Sj’s Disc jockey is the absolute epitome of what you hope your DJ would be. I knew Joe from a few years back, but had never seen him DJ. I had only heard great things.
I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist , and so I decided to call Joe and unload on him. I had all these concerns ; what volume the music would be played at, would he know to have classics during the ceremony, but be able to pump up the fun for the dancing? Let me just say, Joe was made to DJ. He is the absolute professional. In just a ten minute phone call, Joe made me completely feel at ease, and even get really excited. He was going to personally cater our wedding to fit our style, our guests, and he even had awesome up lighting that would make my dress stand out and photos POP! Needless to say, I knew I found my DJ for our wedding. Our first consultation was just casual. Joe came over to our house, and brought a simple, yet detailed worksheet with him. We were able to completely customize our wedding : the music that was playing when the guests arrived to the ceremony site, to the groom having a microphone on him so that the guests can hear the vows, we got to pick a fun song to walk back down the isle to (as a married couple!), and then even as the guests arrived at the reception room, he had things pre-setup so it was one seamless transition .
Our reception went great, all the verbal ques we had planned with Joe, went off without a hitch (we had a few things that were different – my husband was a Marine, so we had Joe do a little speech and acknowledge those for their service, and had a patriotic song in the background. I also sang a song to my husband and Joe had the music perfectly cued up and the microphone ready). I cannot give Joe enough appreciation for how wonderful he was. He even took the time to get the correct pronunciation of our wedding party’s names!!! Joe was the ultimate professional. Two things we opted for that we totally suggest too : a photo booth (he provides funny hats/glasses & customizes the picture strips to your wedding colors) and then the up lighting. Absolutely made a difference in the photos… all your guests literally glow!
There are a lot of things that make a wedding truly perfect. To us, Joe was someone who understood timing, and really knew how to get the party started. We even partied until 3am!!! It was a record for our wedding venue.
My dear brides, if you are stressed about finding the perfect DJ, look no further. Joe will make your wedding a fun and memorable event! Thank you Joe Joe! You are the BEST!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe is amazing. He knew exactly what to play and what I wanted. He got everyone up and dancing and the guests loved him too! You can tell he enjoys what he does and does it well.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mnm378
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We worked with Joe Kalamaras for our wedding at Monte Verde Inn. We can't say enough positive things about him! He was super easy to work with, always very responsive to our questions, and put us at complete ease regarding the music aspect of our wedding. Our wedding day was perfect, and Joe/SJ's DJ was a big part of that!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cari
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Our Dj Joe really honestly made our wedding a day and night to remember!!!! The wedding and reception flowed beautifully from start to finish. Joe thought of all the details and made are wedding day so special for us. He played all the right music so we danced the night away. I had so many guest comment on how wonderful the DJ was. The photo booth was also a hit, and something I highly recommend having at a Wedding. All I can say is Joe is Awesome and if you are looking for a Fantastic Dj for your wedding then you have to have Joe Dj.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
4/11/2010
5.0/5.0
After meeting with several DJs in the area, my (now) husband and I immediately knew when we met Joe that he would be the one we hired. His easy-going attitude and desire to keep the crowd out on the dance floor made our wedding so much fun! Countless people have commented on what a great job he did and how no one was ready to leave when the night was over.

Joe also took care of the lighting throughout our venue and I would definitely recommend adding that to your package. What a difference it makes!

Looking back on our wedding, I could not be happier with how everything turned out and I especially love that Joe took the time to record our vows and mix them into "our song." That keepsake will last a lifetime. Thanks Joe!
Services Used: DJ
Bg6
Annette
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.9/5.0
The DJ was awesome. He palyed all the songs we requested and really kept us on schedule throughout the reception. He also provided the music and the mike for the ceremony, which was great. Everyone at the reception loved the music he chose to play during dinner, kind of a Frank Sinatra type mix. He really made the night. Tons of our guests stayed and danced until the last dance, one of my favorite's Livin' on a Prayer, which ended up being a sing-a-long.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Luis
Wedding:
2/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Joe is an amazing DJ.He has a nice selection on music and made sure our wedding was always upbeat all throughout the night.
Services Used: DJ
Bg5
ChristyK
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
Joe is quickly becoming our "family dj"! He is so easy to work with and kept the partying going. He was willing to travel for a really reasonable fee and also provided a screen and projector for our slideshow (again, for a reasonable fee!).
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
10/27/2007
5.0/5.0
Joe was wonderful. He was so easy to work with! Our wedding was 400 miles from where we lived, so we had to do a lot of things from a distance. Joe always emailed or called back within two hours of my contacting him. He has a wide selection of music, and he was very professional during the entire event. He did a great job emceeing the reception too!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hspackman
Wedding:
5/18/2007
5.0/5.0
Joe, our DJ was great! He took lots of request from the wedding party and left the "cheese" out of the wedding. When our gutair player got stuck in traffic, he ended up doing the music for the wedding ceremony as well! Great guy and works closely with our wedding vendor, Mondte Verde Inn. 5 Stars!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Joe was great! He was very professional and detailed when we originally met. He offered a great price and was very responsive via email. The day of the wedding he was great. He didn't miss a single queue and played great music. Thanks for making our day special!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Could not be happier with my DJ! Joe is very professional and very easy to work with. We had a great time at our wedding, as did our guests. Joe created a great atmosphere while not being obnoxious or over-bearing, I HIGHLY recommend SJ's Disc Jockey for your wedding. I would use him again and again!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We worked with Joe's partner Greg. Greg was great! We had two meetings with him prior to the wedding, and he truly delivered on his promises. He arrived with plenty of time to get set up, and worked with family who was helping with the ceremony music, and reception. He was very responsive to our needs, and delivered an awesome party! We danced right till the very end, and so did our friends and family. Wish we could have another wedding so we could hire him again, he won't disapoint.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Joe was amazing!! He made sure my husband and the officiant had a mic during the ceremony so that we were heard by everyone and he didn't miss a single beat. His timing was flawless and he made sure we had all the music we wanted for all those special moments. He had a very small crowd to work with come open dancing time but he made sure to play to the crowd. He saw what songs were working to get people up and dancing and he continued with that pattern. He had all the lights going to make it fun and he was there to inform the guests when it was time for cake or dancing or toasts; he made sure everyone was informed and everything ran smoothly. Joe was wonderful!! No one better!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diem
Wedding:
5/24/2004
5.0/5.0
Joe is a very good dj and does an excellent job. He is very professional and easy to work with. We did not have any issues or problems. He has a large selection of music.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
markandkatearegreat
Wedding:
7/6/2002
5.0/5.0
Joe did our Wedding in 2002, and it left us with an impression we have not forgotten. When we found out we had a chance to write a review for him, we jumped on the chance. Friends have told us our wedding was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding, and there is not doubt Joe was a huge part of that. What we can tell you about the service and experience is this: Perfect in every detail. Not only did he meet our expectations, he helped us discover what those expectations should be. He thought of the things we did not. He said the perfect things at the perfect times. He played perfect music, all night. He left out what we did not like, and played exactley what we wanted, and fillied it in with songs that complimented. His MC work is world class. Joe keeps the party going and is truly entertaining WITHOUT being overbearing or making it about himself. He does not try to be the star of the show, rather he makes you the star of the show. Our Wedding night was 9 years ago, and it is still the greatest memory of our lives. Thanks Joe!!
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Granite Bay, CA 95746 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for SJ's Disc Jockey
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo