130x130_sq_1361930107624-10ahwedlinjirsaphotography

Skirball Cultural Center

Los Angeles , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2701 North Sepulveda Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA US 90049 (map)

PHONE

310-440-4571

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Nestled in the Santa Monica Mountains and featuring serene garden patios, spacious courtyards, and majestic ballrooms, the Skirball Cultural Center is the perfect setting to tie the knot... Read more
Nestled in the Santa Monica Mountains and featuring serene garden patios, spacious courtyards, and majestic ballrooms, the Skirball Cultural Center is the perfect setting to tie the knot and create memories to last a lifetime. Design a spectacular wedding at a place founded to uplift the spirit and enrich the community. Our Capabilities: - Elegant indoor and outdoor event spaces - Professional, imaginative event planning - Gourmet on-site catering (kosher available) - Full premium bar services - Exemplary service from an experienced staff - Ample complimentary parking Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1361930193490-1taperceremonyapplecheesephotography
130x130_sq_1361930235983-3taperceremonyvernon
130x130_sq_1361930254244-4taperweddinsweetmondayphotography
130x130_sq_1361930305613-9ahwedjoshgoodmanphotography
130x130_sq_1361930383703-10ahwedlinjirsaphotography
130x130_sq_1391120174990-tracy-balton-weddingjoe-buissink003compresse

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1996
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Museum
Describe the style of your venue
City, Garden / Romantic, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
2000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
15
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
18000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Darrel was amazing and very easy to get a hold of. He made our day turn out just as we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shaina
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
The skirball was absolutely amazing! We seriously could not have imagined a more perfect wedding at any other location. The staff was absolutely perfect, the catering and food was delicious. Our guests were blown away at how beautiful the entire space was from our outside ceremony in taper courtyard, to the great cocktail hour outside the ahmanson ballroom, and the breathtaking reception in the ahmanson ballroom. Big thanks to our site coordinator Darrel DeVera who took care of us! Very accommodating, and helpful. They are they to help make any vision come to life and it was picture perfect!

-Very happy Mr. & Mrs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose the Skirball Center as our wedding venue, and could not have been more happy with every last detail. We worked with Lainy, who from the time we first met with her (a year and a half before the wedding date!) until the day of was so sweet. She took care of everything, checked in with me about every detail, and was very easy to work with. The venue itself was GORGEOUS. From the Taper Courtyard where the ceremony was held, to the Ahmanson Ballroom where we had the reception, people could not stop commenting about how elegant and grand the venue was. It was everything I could have wanted for my wedding (and I know tit is gong to photograph beautifully for our pictures!!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We LOVED having our wedding at the Skirball Cultural Center. It was a perfect venue for us. We didn't want to have our wedding at a church or a hotel. We wanted something more simple and modern. So if that's what you are looking for, contact them!

Everyone raved about how beautiful the venue was and how great the food tasted. I worked with Darrel and he was so extremely helpful throughout the whole wedding planning process. I knew I had nothing to worry about. He always responded to my emails quickly (even on weekends and while on vacation). Who does that??? That's how great he is!

I couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding. Thank you, Darrel! You rock!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier that I chose the Skirball Cultural Center for my wedding! It proved to be the ultimate venue from the beautiful grounds, amazing food & drink and impeccable service that we received from Elisa and every single Skirball employee. The modern, clean grounds serve as a blank canvas for brides to create their ultimate dream wedding! One of the most important things in the whole wedding process, was the quality of the food we served - I wanted to make sure that our wedding guests enjoyed a delicious, quality meal - And boy, did they ever!!! From the tuna tartar, to the lamb shank to the fish and short ribs - all guests raved about the food!!!

Elisa was our point of contact throughout the wedding planning process and she was completely amazing!!! She was always there to address questions and concerns, and did so in the most warm, positive and friendly manner. She had so many great ideas, and made sure that whatever spontaneous planning idea I had came to life! She is a truly wonderful person to work with!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
All 5 stars are fully deserved. The venue was obviously beautiful but it was Elisa K. who really brought us in and gave us the comfort and trust that we needed, especially after we had left another venue because we had become frustrated with their service. Elisa really brought things together, and she understood the vision for our wedding even when our wedding planner didn't. Thank you -- the wedding was better than we ever could have imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BenjiIzzey
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience dealing with our events coordinator Darrel De Vera. He was very honest, prompt, and educated. He gave us all the answers and did not beat around the bush like some vendors so. The food choices were awesome, the communication was great, and the whole experience was memorable. When you are getting married, the last thing you want to think of is a planning hick up. I highly recommend the skirball cultural center for any type of wedding. The architectural designs are beautiful and there are no neighbors so you can be as loud as you want! We had the venue until 12 am.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1292548889574-img0478
liljayster
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
It's been a month and a few days since my wife and my wedding and I've really only had time recently to finally post my review.

The Skirball Center is absolutely one of the best venues to host an event; bar none. The place itself is gorgeous, architecture-wise, design wise, infrastructure-wise, the wait and serving staff are excellent and very easy to work with, and the event directors go above and beyond to make sure you have a spectacular event.

A little background on me; because how can I say that our wedding wouldn't have been as awesome as it was any where else considering I would only get married once? Well, I've been to well over 40, maybe even 50 weddings in the past 10 years and I even have a side-business of being event Emcee, so I have seen more than my share, in fact, a lot of OTHER peoples' shares, of seeing the various venues and events out there. Skirball is absolutely still one of the tops on my list.

Our wedding reception couldn't have gone off more smoothly with the help of Darrel and his staff. Each and every step of the way, they kept us updated and

Darrel even went an extra step to let us know about road closures in the area near our event date, which really helped us inform our guests. Some of our guests really said that they had so much fun and the place was just beautiful; granted, that all plays into the preparation and behind the scenes work you put in, but even with minimal work and preparation, this place is just fantastic.

They were able to refer us and help us book our guest accommodations nearby (we chose the Hotel Angeleno), and even helped us book transpo for our guests back to the hotel at the end of the evening.

We loved every second of our day and the Skirball Center really helped make it as perfect and memorable as it could possibly be.

Only drawback? you'd wish there were guest rooms on the facility itself, you don't want to leave!

We love you Skirball! :) :) :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
8/9/2009
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved this venue, as did our guests. The on-site coordinator was terrific and very accomodating. We feel in love with the reception room, and it was great to be able to have an outdoor ceremony and a totally different look/feel for the reception. The best part about the room is the high ceiling and floor to ceiling windows. This is not like every other venue, and nothing like just another average hotel ballroom. The costs were very reasonable. This was the most affordable place in LA to have a kosher wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/14/2007
5.0/5.0
The Skirball Cultural Center was such a beautiful place for our wedding. I really wanted a beach wedding, but those venues were just way too expensive. There are a few places you can have your ceremony or reception, and we chose the Taper Courtyard since we only had 86 guests. It has a beautiful pond/pool in the background as well as some of the Santa Monica hills. It was beautifully lit up when the sun went down and just looked exactly as I dreamed. Darrel was great to work with and really helped make the planning process easy. We looked at 8-10 places and for all that you get, along with the quality of service and food, it seemed almost a steal!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skirball wedding
Wedding:
8/29/2004
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough good things about this venue and their catering. The site is beautiful and varied. A close friend of mine was married there the same summer and our wedding venues were completely different- we had different areas for our ceremonies, cocktail hours and receptions- and every area was lovely. The food was EXCELLENT- people were talking about after. The Mediterranean table that was set up during cocktails was gorgeous and delicious. The staff was professional, responsive and flexible. Everything that we asked for was granted. For example, the regular "bride's room" had no windows and was a bit small, so I asked for an additional space to get ready where we could spread out more and not feel boxed in since we would be there all day... they let us use a large conference room AND the bride's room with no extra charge. That is only one example of how great they were to work with.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chikara
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.9/5.0
We just had our wedding there this past May, and worked with Elisa Kotin. She was an absolute pleasure to work with-- very organized, quick response times, accommodating, and just an overall easygoing person. Went to the place several times to show my MOH, my fiance (now husband), my mom and aunt, and then my wedding coordinator. Each time she was very helpful and informative. She even set up a private tasting for me since my [then] fiance had to fly into town for it. The food was delicious and the waitstaff was on top of things!

Went through several versions of the Banquet Event Order and this is SO SO important to make sure you read every little detail. There were some unclear issues with the guest sign-in table... but it's not a big deal in the whole scheme of things that day.

Anyway, totally recommend the place if it is within your budget, and work with Elisa-- she is great! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eileen
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.9/5.0
The Skirball Cultural Center is one of the most beautiful places I've seen for hosting events. The setup at the Taper Courtyard and Ahmanson Ballroom were perfect! Working with Darrel was also great. He was very fast to respond to questions, and helped us with everything we needed. He was very nice and patient (for someone who likes to ask a lot of questions). We were happy overall with the quality of service, and the presentation of the place. All our guests loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.8/5.0
Skirball was an amazing Venue from not only the beauty of the courtyard and ballroom but the professionalism and spot on service from the Staff. We recommend this for anyone looking to have a memorable event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jerri S
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.8/5.0
A must have place for a wedding. The courtyard and staircase is beyond storybook. To be able to have a cermony, cocktail hour then a reception in 3 dfifferent areas but never leave one address was wonderful. The hors'd overs, cocktails were bountiful, and the meals were so delicious. The wait staff was wonderful and very accomodating and Elisa was wonderful to work with. Thank you everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hadas
Wedding:
7/12/2008
4.8/5.0
The Skirball Center is a beautiful, special, and peaceful venue. It is tucked away in the Santa Monica Mtns and the venue is entirely yours for the event. This allows for flexibility in amplified music and hours for your event. The catering is included, and all of our guests were very pleased with food. Lainey helped us with our event, and she was a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
I would highly recommend the Skirball Cultural Center for wedding events. Though they are not particularly cheap, they provide one of the better prices you will find in Los Angeles. Additionally, almost everything is provided in-house, including catering, sound systems, lighting, tables, linens, chairs, the stage, and the dance floor. They do allow outside vendors, but they have some strict rules and they leverage a few hefty fees. Despite that fact, working with the wedding coordinator Lainy was wonderful. She was very responsive, informative, and helpful throughout the entire process. Overall, the Skirball was an amazing location for our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
2/18/2007
4.0/5.0
Skirball provided a beautiful ceremony and reception location. The staff were generally professional and helpful--though a mystery remains as to what happened to a few of my things that were left unattended after the ceremony. They were never found or returned to me.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ladymono
Wedding:
6/21/2008
1.4/5.0
The coordinator at this venue, Elisa , RUINED my entire wedding experience. None of my vendors (photographer, coordinator, DJ, band) enjoyed working with this venue, they were not flexible at all, and only charged us hidden fees. While the venue is very beautiful, looking back, I would definitely spend my money elsewhere if I had to do my wedding over again.

Please do not be fooled by this venue. Spare yourself much grief and agony by choosing a vendor that actually cares about you. It's a good thing all my other vendors were so great, to help mask the horrible experience we had to endure.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2701 North Sepulveda Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90049 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Skirball Cultural Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1361930107624-10ahwedlinjirsaphotography