130x130_sq_1264257356672-doingmakeup

SONDRA LEWIS BEAUTY

DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

DC US 20603

PHONE

202-630-2280

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Sondra is a professionally licensed makeup artist and freelance stylist based in the Washington,
DC Metro area and has worked in the beauty business creating fresh, fabulous faces... Read more
Sondra is a professionally licensed makeup artist and freelance stylist based in the Washington,
DC Metro area and has worked in the beauty business creating fresh, fabulous faces for more
than 10 years.

Sondra is a highly diverse and creative individual with an uncanny knowledge of color and makeup
application. As a professional makeup artist, she has worked with highly reputable makeup
companies and national beauty teams, including, M*A*C, Bobbi Brown Cosmetics, Nars
Cosmetics, and Laura Mercier Cosmetics and in upscale department stores Neiman Marcus,
Saks, Nordstroms and indie boutique, Blue Mercury.

Sondra launched a successful beauty company and website BackstageBeauty.net in 2001, where
she reviewed popular makeup lines and emerging underground cosmetic lines. Backstage Beauty
grew out of her love for makeup, the creative process of making women look their best and the
ability to always see beauty in the world.

Never one to miss an opportunity, Sondra recently introduced a highly successful wedding/event
makeup business, in which she is in high demand. An innovative makeup stylist, Sondra can take
an everyday face from the page to the stage. Specialties include creative and runway-inspired color
combinations, camouflage make-up, runway drama, glam beauty, bare essential "au natural"
beauty for all skin tones.

Sondra brings a professional and very fun and positive attitude to her work and is very easy to work
with. Read less
Beauty & Health

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
From the initial email to the wedding day Sondra was pleasant, professional and responsive which was very important to me since I was an out of town bride! I didn't have time for a run-through but trusted that everything would still work smoothly and it did! We talked on the phone and I sent her some pictures and we came up with a simple plan. Sondra arrived early and with ease made me feel beautiful. She respected my wishes for a natural look (I don't wear a lot of makeup usually) with no fake eyelashes or dramatic color but still managed to make me look and feel my best! I got tons of compliments and was so very appreciate of her talent and professionalism. I would highly recommend!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.9/5.0
Sondra did an excellent job on my makeup and the makeup of my bridemaids. She was always responsive to my questions, polite, and professional.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannah
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Sondra was excellent!!! She did everything perfect and I have no complaints :-)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammy
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I received a lot comments on how pretty that I looked which I was very pleased. My makeup had to be done in a hurry due to time restraints but it did not look rushed and the quality was still superb. Plus, she did a wonderful job with all members of my party as well as the moms and my grandmother.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg16
Michele/Tom
Wedding:
4/16/2011
4.8/5.0
Sondra was great. She was on time, very professional and did a great job!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
atikal
Wedding:
1/31/2011
5.0/5.0
I was delighted to have an opportunity to work with Sondra during our Foundation's annual calendar shoot for survivors of cancer and domestic violence.

Sondra is a professional makeup artist and passionate about it. She has an eye for beauty and detail. Sondra gave individualized attention to each survivor and brought out their natural beauty ... eyes sparkled, skin was flawless, and the survivors became more confident and was in awe when they took a look in the mirror.

What I love most about Sondra's services are 1) her demeanor and passion; and 2) her make up and application is not heavy and caked on. It's light and long lasting.

Although Sondra has worked with our Foundaition since 2010, I have also personally used her services for private events; and as the make up expert at my Glam Party.

Sondra is awesome and I recommend her as a Professional Make Up Artist. Thank you Sondra for being a member of our Dream Team!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jixstasgal
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Sondra was recommended by a classmate who used her last year for her wedding. I contacted her days before my wedding and she came out the evening of my rehearsal dinner to do a consultation and I was very impressed. She is very professional and talented. I was concerned that she would only be comfortable doing a natural look since that is what is featured on her website for brides, but was excited to learn and experience that she can make you as fierce as you want to be (I like the natural look... on others lol) She did a super fabulous job on my wedding party!!! I can recommend her with no hesitation!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinthia
Wedding:
7/4/2009
5.0/5.0
I hired Sondra because I was in need of a professional make-up artist for my wedding and she did an amazing job. On top of her talent, she is the sweetest person! She made me look and feel like a million bucks! Sondra took the time to my “comfort zone” to create the bridal look that made my dreams come true. Sondra uses professional cosmetics, tools, and most popular brand of makeup lines among professional makeup artist. Sondra has a highly creative eye and her work is simply beautiful, and very clean yet elegant. I highly recommend Sondra for any makeup needs one might have.”
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
5/12/2007
5.0/5.0
Sondra is an excellent makeup artist! She did my wedding back in 2007. I remember getting so many compliments on my makeup. She is not only talented, but very sweet and so easy to work with. She will always be highly recommended in my book. I still marvel at my wedding picks to this day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shirlinda
Wedding:
2/11/2007
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Sondra by my friend, Lisa Bell. I gave her a call about doing the makeup for my wedding and she was friendly on the phone. I didn't have the time to do a trial, but she accomodated me at my wedding and she did a great job on my makeup. I would hire her again.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
5/13/2006
5.0/5.0
I met Sondra when she worked with Laura Mercier. She did my makeup for a party and she gave me really sexy smoky eyes. This was back in 2005. I kept the face chart that she made for me and she had written her phone number on it. I called her up and asked if she'd be available to do my makeup for my wedding and she was available. Sondra is the consummate professional and I enjoyed working with her. I wanted really soft and natural makeup and she gave me exactly what I was looking for. I liked working with her because she actually listens to what your needs are and she can deliver. Not to be mistaken, she will give her opinion on what she thinks would be best for you. She was very easy to work with and if I were to get married all over again, I'd definitely call Sondra to do my makeup! She's the best!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for SONDRA LEWIS BEAUTY
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1264257356672-doingmakeup