130x130_sq_1265230165581-newlogo2color23

Sonya Byer Photography

Walkerton , IN

LOCATION

Walkerton, IN US 46574 (map)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Wedding photography is my undying passion. I love everything about it. I love meeting the couple for the first time at their consultation. Always so in love, so anxious about the big... Read more
Wedding photography is my undying passion. I love everything about it. I love meeting the couple for the first time at their consultation. Always so in love, so anxious about the big day, and hearing them tell me about all their flowers, cake and the dress, gets me as excited for the wedding as they are. I see them again at their engagement session. They are usually a little nervous in front of the lens for the first few shots. But the bride's nervous laughter makes the most amazingly beautiful photos. By the end of the session, they are pros at posing and take my hints of 'Lift your chin up', 'Stand up straight, and 'Shoulders back' to heart without me evening asking. Any one who has shot a session with me, knows that when it comes to my couples, I cant get enough 'kissy' pictures. So be prepared to kiss alot! When the wedding day comes, I feel as though my best friend is getting married. I am so anxious, nervous and excited for the bride and groom. I love getting to know my couples so well, then being able to share in the most memorable day with them, and capture their smiles, tears, and laughter.

I offer a more modern spin on wedding photography. I don't like to see the 'set poses' so much. I like to capture you as you are, casual and without you knowing I am even shooting you. Of course if you prefer the more poses photography, I can accommodate you there as well. I ask all my clients to trust me with my wacky crazy ideas. I have a good eye for a great photo, and you wont regret it if you just listen.

My packages and pricing are set keeping the budget conscious bride in mind. Beautiful wedding photography does not have to cost thousands. I offer payment plans as well. Contact me for more info.

I invite you to visit my website at www.sonyabyerphotography.com and hope that you will choose to step in front of my lens on your big day.

Sonya Byer Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1265848010749-picture530fisheye2
130x130_sq_1265848067030-picture983edit1
130x130_sq_1265241270393-picture032edit2
130x130_sq_1265847984468-picture235
130x130_sq_1265849660671-picture194sig
130x130_sq_1265241273518-picture147
130x130_sq_1265241326893-picture309
130x130_sq_1265893091806-picture430edit2
130x130_sq_1265848432983-picture451edit1
130x130_sq_1265848370452-picture322
130x130_sq_1265849612514-picture077edit1sig
130x130_sq_1265849270905-picture453
130x130_sq_1265892367806-picture272edit3soft
130x130_sq_1265241296377-picture202edit2
130x130_sq_1265849316468-picture198copy
130x130_sq_1265849362952-picture615copy
130x130_sq_1265893602103-image1
130x130_sq_1265893888743-picture1310
130x130_sq_1265849404264-picture418copyfisheye
130x130_sq_1265894175400-img1692edit2
130x130_sq_1265893999837-picture1234
130x130_sq_1265892379806-picture0056soft
130x130_sq_1265893101431-picture051edit2
130x130_sq_1265893426462-picture182edit1copy1
130x130_sq_1265893513806-picture001926copy157
130x130_sq_1265893528571-picture001926copy144
130x130_sq_1265893883946-picture1259
130x130_sq_1265894093165-img1653edit2

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
No
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
no
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
I shoot 100% digital
How many photographers do you work with?
Sometimes I have an intern/assitant. But mostly, I work alone unless the client requests for a 2nd photographer. If that is the case, I hire a qualified photographer to shoot with me the enitre day.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I will sometimes book a Friday and Saturday wedding back to back, but never two weddings on one day. That would not be fair to the client.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, that is in my contract, and if I am unable to secure a replacement photographer, all monies are returned.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I have my main camera and a back up. An assortment of lenses, an external flash and a tripod
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
My package prices are for a FULL DAY of photography. I do not do hourly time limits. I am yours as early as you need me through the majority of your reception.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes. Please inquire
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I ask that the client include me (an my assitant or 2nd shooter if there is one present) on the catering count. Working a wedding is a long hard 12-15 hour day. A meal sure is appreciated.
Do you charge for travel?
Not usually. If you are outside of the greater Michiana area, I charge .50 cents a mile round trip.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
2-3 weeks
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
They will be on the website for 60 days to view.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
The client can view the proofs online for 60 days
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
It depends on which package you have booked. Some packages come with shared copyrights. Otherwise you have to purchase them separetly.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes. In your contract, you will be agreeing to a model release which states that I can publish the photos anytime anywhere.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes for 60 days.
What kind of albums do you offer?
As of now, I only offer a 20 page, 8.5x11 wedding memory book.
When will the client get the final album?
Usually about 6 weeks after the wedding

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Sonya was absolutely wonderful, in every way!!! The very first meeting with her I was so more than pleased! She has an amazing personality and her prices were exceptional! The value of her packages were great! I really wanted a second photographer and it didn't cost me that much more; we got prints, engagement photo session, and a 10-hour session all for a great deal! She was also more than available any time I needed her. It never took her long to respond to emails and would even talk to me on the phone if needed. My husbands and my schedule is so incredibly hectic and she worked so well with finding time to meet with us. Her pictures were absolutely wonderful! There was a little trouble with ordering the pictures and she more than made it right! She threw in extra pictures and made our canvas picture bigger! She did way more than she needed to and I couldn't have been more greatful! SHe really valued what was important to me and made it a priority! Photography was always the most important part of the wedding day for me and I couldn't be happier with her allowing me to sign with her!!
Sonya was absolutely wonderful, in every way!!! The very first meeting with her I was so more than pleased! She has an Read more...
Sonya was absolutely wonderful, in every way!!! The very first meeting with her I was so more than pleased! She has an amazing personality and her prices were exceptional! The value of her packages were great! I really wanted a second photographer and it didn't cost me that much more; we got prints, engagement photo session, and a 10-hour session all for a great deal! She was also more than available any time I needed her. It never took her long to respond to emails and would even talk to me on the phone if needed. My husbands and my schedule is so incredibly hectic and she worked so well with finding time to meet with us. Her pictures were absolutely wonderful! There was a little trouble with ordering the pictures and she more than made it right! She threw in extra pictures and made our canvas picture bigger! She did way more than she needed to and I couldn't have been more greatful! SHe really valued what was important to me and made it a priority! Photography was always the most important part of the wedding day for me and I couldn't be happier with her allowing me to sign with her!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Sonya was amazingly talented, flexible, and very professional photographer when it came to our wedding day. My husband & I just tied the knot on May 21st and Sonya just completed our photo edits. We loved her work and were sincerely glad we hired her!
Sonya was amazingly talented, flexible, and very professional photographer when it came to our wedding day. My husband & I Read more...
Sonya was amazingly talented, flexible, and very professional photographer when it came to our wedding day. My husband & I just tied the knot on May 21st and Sonya just completed our photo edits. We loved her work and were sincerely glad we hired her! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeff
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Sonya did very nice work for us and was great to work with.
Thanks very much,
Jeff & Tanya Pratt
Sonya did very nice work for us and was great to work with.
Thanks very much,
Jeff & Tanya Pratt
Sonya did very nice work for us and was great to work with.
Thanks very much,
Jeff & Tanya Pratt Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
1/15/2011
4.8/5.0
Sonya had a very laid back approach, which made taking pictures fun and not stressful. She went with the flow and was very creative in her photography. Both me and my husband are absolutely thrilled with our pictures, as is the rest of our families :)
Sonya had a very laid back approach, which made taking pictures fun and not stressful. She went with the flow and was very Read more...
Sonya had a very laid back approach, which made taking pictures fun and not stressful. She went with the flow and was very creative in her photography. Both me and my husband are absolutely thrilled with our pictures, as is the rest of our families :) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GPatton
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Sonya was a great choice and a perfect fit for my daughters wedding. She took great pictures, her fees very reasonable, and she was invisible. We found her to be cooperative and willing to take specially requested pictures. It was obvious that Sonya loves her work as a photographer and enjoys providing creative as well as traditional photraghaps.
We would definitely recommend Sonya.
Sonya was a great choice and a perfect fit for my daughters wedding. She took great pictures, her fees very reasonable, Read more...
Sonya was a great choice and a perfect fit for my daughters wedding. She took great pictures, her fees very reasonable, and she was invisible. We found her to be cooperative and willing to take specially requested pictures. It was obvious that Sonya loves her work as a photographer and enjoys providing creative as well as traditional photraghaps.
We would definitely recommend Sonya. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
All the pictures were beautiful and turned out great.
All the pictures were beautiful and turned out great.
All the pictures were beautiful and turned out great. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FGA
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Sonya was wonderful at Joanna and Justin Ashdown's wedding. She was virtually invisible and willing to make whatever photographs the couple or families wanted in addition to the many, many photographs she took on her own. She is so orginal and all are done very tastefully. The pictures on line are fantastic! Joanna and Justin are very pleased with her services. Sonya has a real gift and talent for taking pictures. I would highly recommend her services.

Gail Patton
Mother of the Bride
Sonya was wonderful at Joanna and Justin Ashdown's wedding. She was virtually invisible and willing to make whatever Read more...
Sonya was wonderful at Joanna and Justin Ashdown's wedding. She was virtually invisible and willing to make whatever photographs the couple or families wanted in addition to the many, many photographs she took on her own. She is so orginal and all are done very tastefully. The pictures on line are fantastic! Joanna and Justin are very pleased with her services. Sonya has a real gift and talent for taking pictures. I would highly recommend her services.

Gail Patton
Mother of the Bride Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
She did an awesome job. She was very willing to work with you and took the time to get to know my husband and I. We love our wedding photos. They turned out great. She does an awesome job!
She did an awesome job. She was very willing to work with you and took the time to get to know my husband and I. We love Read more...
She did an awesome job. She was very willing to work with you and took the time to get to know my husband and I. We love our wedding photos. They turned out great. She does an awesome job! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucky-in-love
Wedding:
5/21/2010
5.0/5.0
I recently had my engagement pictures by Sonya Byer- I have to say it was an amazing photo shoot! My fiance and I compromised on two locations that suited our style. Not only was Sonya able to accommodate us, she made us laugh and feel comfortable! She was not afraid to lay in the grass or on the rocks in her pursuit of a great shot! I highly recommend Sonya for her professionalism, affordability, and amazing creativity!
I recently had my engagement pictures by Sonya Byer- I have to say it was an amazing photo shoot! My fiance and I Read more...
I recently had my engagement pictures by Sonya Byer- I have to say it was an amazing photo shoot! My fiance and I compromised on two locations that suited our style. Not only was Sonya able to accommodate us, she made us laugh and feel comfortable! She was not afraid to lay in the grass or on the rocks in her pursuit of a great shot! I highly recommend Sonya for her professionalism, affordability, and amazing creativity! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Sonya was awesome to work with. She met us out at Notre Dame to take our Engagement pictures and made us feel at ease in front of the camera. The day of our wedding she was great. She got so many shots that I didn't even know she was doing! She was very professional and made sure that all of our needs were met!
Sonya was awesome to work with. She met us out at Notre Dame to take our Engagement pictures and made us feel at ease in Read more...
Sonya was awesome to work with. She met us out at Notre Dame to take our Engagement pictures and made us feel at ease in front of the camera. The day of our wedding she was great. She got so many shots that I didn't even know she was doing! She was very professional and made sure that all of our needs were met! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jlhiser
Wedding:
5/23/2009
1.4/5.0
I was planning a wedding on a budget, and therefore chose Sonya Byer Photography based on her cost and availability. However, I learned the hard way that you get what you pay for. The second photographer that accompanied her was rude to the wedding party as well as our family. There was a ton of time wasted standing around while they figured out their poses, and their inexperience was obvious to all involved. After all was said and done, the selections available to me we not bad shots, but they definitely were not what they could have been. They were late arriving, and left as soon as the cake was cut. There were very few getting ready pictures (because everyone was ready) and few reception pictures (simply special dances, toasts, and cake cutting).

The shots that she did get were pretty, but it took so long to arrange that there are very few to choose from. Basic shots were missed. There isn't a single shot of the entire wedding party (including FG and RB), none of the Ushers, None of the Bride with the groomsmen or the Groom with the Bridesmaids...

When we emailed about how unhappy we were with the days coverage, she blamed it on my husband not wanting to go back outside to continue portraits after the reception had already started.

If I had the chance to do it again, I would have booked a photographer with far more experience and professionalism.
I was planning a wedding on a budget, and therefore chose Sonya Byer Photography based on her cost and availability. Read more...
I was planning a wedding on a budget, and therefore chose Sonya Byer Photography based on her cost and availability. However, I learned the hard way that you get what you pay for. The second photographer that accompanied her was rude to the wedding party as well as our family. There was a ton of time wasted standing around while they figured out their poses, and their inexperience was obvious to all involved. After all was said and done, the selections available to me we not bad shots, but they definitely were not what they could have been. They were late arriving, and left as soon as the cake was cut. There were very few getting ready pictures (because everyone was ready) and few reception pictures (simply special dances, toasts, and cake cutting).

The shots that she did get were pretty, but it took so long to arrange that there are very few to choose from. Basic shots were missed. There isn't a single shot of the entire wedding party (including FG and RB), none of the Ushers, None of the Bride with the groomsmen or the Groom with the Bridesmaids...

When we emailed about how unhappy we were with the days coverage, she blamed it on my husband not wanting to go back outside to continue portraits after the reception had already started.

If I had the chance to do it again, I would have booked a photographer with far more experience and professionalism. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Sonya Byer Photography responded with the following comments:

I find this review extremely surprising, and disappointing. Jamie and Kyle's wedding was one of my top three favorite weddings I have ever done.

My 2nd photographer was not at all rude to any one at their wedding. She was with me most of the time, and I did not witness this act at all. She did ask several on lookers to kindly move out of the way as we were trying to set up a shot that they were in the frame. If that is considered 'rude' I wonder how the client would have felt if she wouldn't have asked them to move, and they would have shown up in the photo in her proofs?

Never was any time wasted by standing around figuring out poses. We had actually arrive early (the bride was late getting to the venue from her salon appt) We had introduced ourselves to the bridesmaids that were there waiting on the bride and one gave us a tour of the venue and showed us how the day would play out. At this time we were figuring out our poses and what we wanted to do.

I tell all my clients at their consultations that I stay at your reception, through all the big events, and a couple dances. I explain that I do not stay through the entire party, because once things get into the night, you will not want a bazillion dancing shots. We stayed through all the main events except the garter/bouquet toss, because Jamie informed us that she was not doing it till well into the night. We offered to stay longer and take shots of just her and her new groom, but he was not interested and headed to the dance floor with beer in hand.

As I do with all my brides, I went up to Jamie just before we left and asked if there were any other shots that she would like. She said (and I quote) "nope, I think were good"

The reason some wedding party photos were missing was that it was so hot out, everyone wanted a break from photos, and we said we would continue them later. Unfortunately, no one wanted to take photos later. Also, the RB and the FG did not want to cooperate and take photos due to the heat, and the bride actually told me that it was 'ok' to skip them.

When I got an email from Jamie expressing her concern over the missed shots (and btw that was all that was in her email, none of these things from this review were in her email, thats why I said it was surprising to me) I reminded her of all the above things and also that Kyle was 100% against taking photos with her that evening. We had wanted to get some sunset photos of them down by the beach, but a fight almost broke out between the two when we had asked.

Iam very sad to read this review. Jamie's wedding was one of the prettiest weddings that I have ever photographed. I actually use most of their wedding photos at my consultations now. If I was not proud of them, I wouldn't use them in my portfolio.

At the end of the day, my large client portfolio on the website speaks for its self. My wedding wire account is new, hence the lack of client reviews. People would not keep coming back to me if I didn't deliver anything less than professionalism and unique creative shots. I have clients tell me that they cried tears of joy as they looked through their proofs as they relived their wedding day through the photos. I even have clients come back to me asking for maternity and baby photos. And many of this years clients were referred to my by former brides of mine. They wouldn't have been referred to me, if I couldn't deliver.

So read what you must, but let the work speak for itself.

Sonya
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyndsay
Wedding:
11/15/2008
3.4/5.0
Sonya was a good photographer. Her prices were really good when I got married in 2008. You are always able to contact her and she responds quickly if not when you call her.
Sonya was a good photographer. Her prices were really good when I got married in 2008. You are always able to contact her Read more...
Sonya was a good photographer. Her prices were really good when I got married in 2008. You are always able to contact her and she responds quickly if not when you call her. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Belinda
Wedding:
10/4/2008
5.0/5.0
When it came down to availability and pricing, nobody could compare with Sonya Byer Photography! And her options were endless!! Having Sonya travel all day from the beginning: getting my hair done, to the end of the last dance and final goodbyes was awesome! So many pictures and let me tell you - you can never have enough pictures of that day. But with Sonya, it took hours to go through all of them. She was fantastic and I would recommend her to anybody I know!
When it came down to availability and pricing, nobody could compare with Sonya Byer Photography! And her options were Read more...
When it came down to availability and pricing, nobody could compare with Sonya Byer Photography! And her options were endless!! Having Sonya travel all day from the beginning: getting my hair done, to the end of the last dance and final goodbyes was awesome! So many pictures and let me tell you - you can never have enough pictures of that day. But with Sonya, it took hours to go through all of them. She was fantastic and I would recommend her to anybody I know! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Walkerton, IN 46574 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sonya Byer Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1265230165581-newlogo2color23