Nophoto-130

Sophie's Gown Shoppe

London , ON

LOCATION

517 York St.
London, ON CA (map)

PHONE

519-433-2865

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

2.2
out of 5.0
2.2/5.0
2.2/5.0
2.1/5.0
2.4/5.0
2.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.1/5.0
Unorganized, careless and only out to make a sale - very fake "nice" . I personally have had two bad experiences here. When I was shopping for my wedding gown, everything was all fine and good until it came time to take it off and get down to business. The woman I was working with was VERY, VERY pushy & hungry for a sale. She was telling us anything we wanted to hear in order to get us to buy a dress & was not helpful style wise at all. She made the experience so STRESSFUL and put the worst taste in my mouth that I wanted to cry.
They offered us $300 off the gown I chose and was planning to purchase, which was great, but a wedding dress is still ALOT of money and it was something I needed to sleep on & discuss with my family. The lady immediatly said nope, she can ONLY offer this discount if we buy it right here, right now. It was so unsettling, we walked out of the store.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
I had the worst experience at Sophies - I would not recommend to anyone I know getting married. I went in 4 weeks before my wedding for my first fitting and was told it would be finished one week before. I went in this week for that final fitting only to be told that their seamstress forgot to do it for those 3 weeks in-between. She told me to try it on again on the spot while she a). didn't remove the pins which cut into my sides and made me bleed, b). had it on crooked and was trying to make adjustments and c). she took my ivory, french lace dress and threw it on the floor. To top it all off, she verbally threatened me and stopped the appointment mid way through. She also forgot to do my flowergirls dress and one of the my bridesmaids. The staff are rude and ignorant, the management is never present and does no damage control and the dresses are kept in poor condition. Ladies, do not waste your time, money, energy or mental state at Sophies
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.0/5.0
Choosing my gown was great - Voula was wonderful to both my mother and I. It came in quickly, and I was called right away.

Having concerns about the bridesmaid dresses - ordered in January, three months later - I called them, only to find out that the dresses wouldn't be in until August. I am certain the dresses didn't get ordered, and there was even a mix up with my paperwork. When I called for the dress info, they couldn't find my info, because half the paperwork had wrong info, including my last name and date of the wedding. They are slow to answer email, and still have had no response from them about asking (again) about the status of the BM dresses.

Follow up: After waiting 4 days to hear back from them, I received an email telling me that the dresses had just happened to arrive that day. Totally relieved, but that was a lot of stress, and am glad I ordered them early. The dresses were correct...but both bridal gowns and the bridesmaid dresses have been taken to other stores to get alterations done.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.0/5.0
I initially decided to go to Sophies because of their large dress selection. I went in there with my 3 bridesmaids to try on bridesmaids dresses. They were great initially. Helped us try on a variety of dresses and recommended a dress which we ended up picking and purchasing.

The problems began afterwards. We ordered the dresses in petal pink only to find out that the colour that was actually ordered was rose pink. Luckily the rose pink was out of stock so we were able to change the colour to petal pink.

2. My 1 bridesmaid tried on the size 10 in the store and it fit her a little snug. it zipped up but she thought you know what they recommend a size 12 and that way it will give me a little bit of room. She just picked up the 12 and it is smaller than the size 10. There excuse is that the sizes in the stores have been stretched out from all the girls trying them on. So you are telling me that the size 10 has stretched out to be larger than a size 12? Maybe Sophies should consider having true sizes because that is the reason for trying on dresses.

3. they never called me to tell me the dresses were ready I had to follow up with them when it had already been 4 months to say have the dresses arrived? and in fact they had been sitting there waiting.

4. the dresses are too short. None of my girls are extremely tall but they all must wear flats now because the dress is already to the ground.

I am disappointed in the whole experience. There is more I could say but I will leave it at that. it started off good but they did not deliver on their promises. so please brides, if you are looking for a stress free dress shopping experience please don't pick Sophies. I know I have enough to worry about and now I need to worry about each and every girls dress problems too.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
6/29/2014
0.4/5.0
I urge all brides to stay away from Sophie’s Gown Shoppe. The dress I ordered came in faulty from the factory at 7” too short and they refused to return it for a new one at standard length, even though the factory distributer was happy to send a new one. Their alterationist also butchered my gown and made the bust completely lopsided and the rest of the bodice was falling apart. It was un-wearable. The store owner Jennifer’s response when I pleaded with her to please fix my dress as my wedding was in one week was that her alterationists ‘Do not have the experience or supplies to fix your gown’. I thought I was going to have to find a new dress! Luckily another bridal store was able to lengthen the dress and re-do their horrible alterations and made my dress look beautiful for the wedding. The scariest part of the experience was that each time I went into Sophie's there was a bride or customer crying or angry about horrible alterations. No bride needs that kind of stress before her wedding. And would you think they would refund any of the $1000's of dollars I spent? Of course not. I hope this review saves all you brides to be the same stress and heartache I went through.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
harrisonJ
Wedding:
6/21/2014
2.6/5.0
Put $400 deposit on my purchase which included an off the rack gown (not customer order) veil, crinoline and belt and no longer wanted the gown they refused to allow my deposit used for anything else but the gown. I was very sad I lost out on $400 and now I have to still buy my veil and crinoline and a belt. Wither I get a dress or not the deposit should cover my accessories.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cal
Wedding:
1/19/2014
0.6/5.0
Please do not buy your dress here unless you want a huge hastle and a damaged dress after alterations. I ordered my dress well in advance (7 months), I did not get my dress until 2 weeks before my wedding. They did not call me to tell me it had arrived, I was calling them for 2 weeks and they kept "forgetting" to call me back! Finally when it was time for alterations, the seamstress cancelled the appointment 10 minutes before because she didn't want to stay. When I told them that that was unprofessional, the seamstress said "too bad". At this point I was going to go take the dress and find soneone else to alter it, but then the manager apologized and said she would give us half off alterations. The alterations ended up being absolutely horrible. They didnt put enough clips for the bustle, they sewed the cups in the outside of the dress and they were very uneven, and they used wire to sew in the bustle hooks. They dress looked destroyed. Then they wuoted the alterations at $400 ( all i had done was a bustle, cups, and taken out 1.5inch). We paid the $ and left. When I went to try the dress with my veil (at another shop) they were so shocked at the alterations, they told me they would fix all of the alterations for me because they felt so bad that the dress looked like that. They charged me $70. There are lots of better shops then Sophies and Sophies does not deserve any business because they treat people horribly.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tammy
Wedding:
9/28/2013
0.5/5.0
Sophie bridal in London is terrible they lost their best employee when Alexandria left the other ladies are just rude they mixed up my bridesmaid's dresses couldn't find 3 of them ordered one in a plus size and charged my bm 64 dollars extra and she had to have 300 dollars worth of alterations done to make it fit when I when I went for my schedule appointment the lady was rude and had no time for me and I drove 3hours return each time.i was promised a discount and never got it and the last fitting I had to make sure my dress fit right the lady tapped my hips and said you may want to wear spanks she basically made me feel fat when I had felt so good in my dress I cried all the way home and I was getting married 2days after that! Just a horrible store and a bad experience for a bride I do not recommend!!!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lara
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the best experience at Sophie's Gown Shoppe. I first came in with my younger sister to help her find her prom dress. We were greeted and my sister was provided a boustier and a dress in the perfect fit from the very start. She was very happy, I know she has never felt so beautiful in a dress before.
Because of my sisters wonderful experience with these lovely ladies, I decided to come back after I was engaged to find my Wedding Gown.
I was not sure on exactly which gowns would best suit my body type or look good on me. But these ladies know what they are doing they had me try on many different styles so I could find which ones best suited me. I am a curvy girl, I'm small in any matter but they made sure I looked amazing.

I have never received this high quality of customer service from start to finish at any store in my entire life, and trust me I shop a lot.
They helped me into every single dress, they really are wonderful at what they do, you can tell his is not just a "job" for them, you can tell they truly enjoy it.
I had the true experience at Sophie's Gown Shoppe

Thank you so much for being such a big part of my experience in helping me find the perfect dress.

Lara
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elise
Wedding:
5/18/2013
1.2/5.0
This was my first time ever being in Sophie's. I purchased my wedding dress and took it home with me. Everything was fine until we tried to get the bridesmaid dresses. The service was unacceptable. Not only did the dresses come in in the wrong color, they tried to make us pay an extra fee for rushing it and blamed the mistake on us. We had ordered in August and they came in December. We were told the correct dresses would be in the beginning of April and they came in yesterday, (May 1st). I had to call 6 times, was hung up on and was never given a straight answer as to what was happening. Not only were we again told we should have been paying more but the ladies refused to give any kind of discount. After this experience I will never recommend anyone here again. My wedding is in two weeks and my bridesmaids still don't have their dresses....
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Angela
Wedding:
1/5/2013
4.4/5.0
I came into Sophie's unsure about what I was looking for in a dress. Upon my arrival in the store, I was not sure what to expect. The store was pristine and very well maintained. The staff were extremely helpful and guided me in a direction that made me feel more comfortable in trying on wedding dresses. During the few visits I had after I had ordered my dress, I went back in a few times to try it on, and the staff did not at all seem bothered by this. My fittings went smoothly, and the alteration department were amazing when it came to properly fitting my dress. I loved the dress I wore on my wedding day and felt absolutely stunning. I had such a wonderful experience at Sophie's and I would highly recommend going into this store and checking out their huge selection. Thank you Sophie's!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
11/3/2012
0.0/5.0
My daughter recently bought her wedding dress and bridesmaid dresses as well...the attending person I believe the store manager offered my daughter $300 off her wedding dress plus the bridesmaides & maid of honour a discount as well which was very appealing to Jennie. She ordered the dresses in champagne colour and they came back pink (hmn that's not champagne is it?) plus she bought accessories to go with the bridesmaid's gowns so now they don't match? Thank you for mixing up the colour now the colous scheme at the wedding had to change? Okay I would have said, Take these and make them the right colour or we don't take them at all!
Poor service and a big screw up to say the least!!!
Jennie then went to pick up the order and she was told there is no discount at all so she (the manager reneiged on her promise) Very bad business tactic and unprofessionally a big mistake.
Also the dress sizes were messed up; one bridesmaid was size 2 she got size 10? That would be a crappy alteration to say the least...do you think? Plus the manager had attitude...okay you sure you like your job? This will not end here I will definetly be in contact with the store owner and if nothing is rewarded to my daughter for all YOUR MISTAKES we will take this further...perhaps the Windsor Star can put a nice article about your business? perhaps you should get your attitude straighten up, suck up your stuffiness and fix this immediatley by calling me her mother at 519 945-7104 ASAP so we may talk and straighten your mistakes & mixups promply.

Thank you for your attention Sharon Ouellette
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sierra
Wedding:
10/11/2012
0.1/5.0
I cannot believe how rude the staff is! I went with my sister to pick out my wedding dress and the one I fell in love with was only a size 6 and I could not fit it but I knew it was the one. As I went into the change room to put on my clothes I walked out of the dressing room to the staff member putting MY wedding dress on my size 3 sister! She told me she had to since I was not able to fit into it someone had to show my family how good it could look! My sister was disgusted as was I, how on earth do you think thats okay to do? To top it off my wedding is in 3 weeks and I was supposed to have my dress in over a week ago, its still not here and after calling them today they dont expect it in until the 26th! With the thanksgiving weekend coming up and my wedding being in Las Vegas it leaves them less then a week to do all the alterations!!! They have no answers, are completely rude, have zero respect for their customers and now Im in panic mode wondering if I will have a dress for the biggest day of my life. SCREW YOU SOFIES, I will never go back to you and I will make sure everyone I know knows how terrible you are! STAY AWAY, please if you don't want to be overwhelmed by anger at such incompetence!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Kourtney
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I just got married last weekend, and I just wanted to share my awesome experience at Sophies London. I went around to a bunch of different stores before I got to Sophie's and I was very happy with the service that I got. When I first arrived, it was pretty busy so a sales woman asked me to browse around while I waited for someone to help me. A sales woman came over to me and I told her what type of dress I was looking for. Based on what I said, she picked out a couple of dresses, and then she picked out some more that she said she thinks would look good on me. I was having fun trying on dresses, so I figured why not try the ones she suggested! Ironically enough, I ended up buying one of the dresses that she suggested instead of the ones I pictured myself wearing! I felt like a princess in a perfect dress on my wedding day!

I ordered my dress in February and was told that it would be in around late August or early September. My dress came in the first week of September and they scheduled me for two different fitting appointments. I went in for my first appointment for alterations and my second appointment was a week before the wedding to make sure everything was perfect and it absolutely was!

The staff at Sophie's London were very friendly and helpful. My sister is getting married next year, and we're definitely going to Sophie's for her wedding dress!

Thank you Sophie's London, for making my big day so special !
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarahmac
Wedding:
9/15/2012
1.4/5.0
Sophie's has been a struggle to deal with ever since the beginning. Even though I made an appointment to look at bridesmaids dresses with my bridesmaids, the staff were not that accomodating and were extremely pushy when we starting thinking seriously about one particular dress. They basically were pushing us to put down a deposit on that dress right away even though two bridesmaids weren't there that day and we wanted to show it to them first.

Every time we call Sophie's, no one on the other end of the phone has any idea how to answer the simplest questions. I honestly think they have all their records scrawled down on pieces of paper and not in a computer system. Every time we called, we had to talk to one particular staff member to answer all our questions, so if that person was not working, we had to wait for a day when she was working. Staff were not able to look up our file and tell us right away if the dresses were ordered/had come in, etc.

Today my MOH went to pick up another bridesmaids' dress who lives out of town and Sophie's told her the dress hadn't come in, even though all the other dresses had come in and been picked up. Also, this bridesmaid has already called and paid for her dress, so it has to be there!! I don't need to be panicked and worried that one of my bridesmaids' dresses hasn't been ordered properly!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
8/3/2012
0.9/5.0
Honestly wouldn't reccommend anyone getting there dress from sophies. I went in there and ended up finding my dress with no help at all. Although, hated the set up in the store, dresses way to cramped up together couldn't get a nice look at any of the dresses without having to pry them off the rack. I also got my bridesmaid dresses here as well. As some of my girls are a mixture of different sizes they treated a couple like total crap due to their weight. I find all the girls in sophies snobby. No one there likes there job, well they certainly dont act like it. I also got my fittings there boy that was a mistake and a half. They didnt want me to try my dress on after final fittings, so when it came time for me to try it on at home, it was still way to long. Didnt change my shoes or anything. The alterations costed me 500 bucks to bring the dress up a bit..Thats all that was done to it..everywhere else fit perfect. Go to put my bussle in at my reception...BROKE right away. The buttons were way to big for the loop made for it. I called them to let them know this..they didnt seem to care at all..Sophies has been in business for how many years?? maybe its time to step up on the customer service, get a new seamstress, and dont degrade larger girls!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Jodi
Wedding:
3/21/2012
0.6/5.0
Sophie's had great selection and I ended up buying my dress there because I was looking for a short dress. However, I was really put off by the customer service. The lady that helped me was really nice at first but when I was ready to try on the dresses she offered me a corset bra which I accepted and then was completely surprised when she told me to take off my shirt..lol! I have been to several stores and just one offered to help me but when I politely declined she understood (I'm sorry, but while I see the point of needing help with certain things, I was just trying on simple short dresses and by no means felt I needed assistance to change myself). So I was very much caught off gaurd when she walked into the dressing room with me and demanded I take off my shirt. So I told her this made me feel uncomfortable and she replied "Well fine, I don't know how you're going to get this on" (referring to corset) and then, it felt like she stormed out of the dressing room acting offended. Anyway, I understand she was trying to do her job as I suspect most brides-to-be like the assistance but they should understand some of us out there don't feel the need to get undressed in front of a complete stranger. After that confrontation, I felt she was 'fake' nice to me. I just think they should ask if you would like assistance dressing vs. assuming you do. And to respond the way she did when I stated how the offered 'help' made me uncomfortable was the worse part of it all. She even said "this is your first time in a bridal store, isn't it?" Um, no, but thanks for the condensending tone and overall partly ruining my wedding-dress buying experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joella
Wedding:
2/25/2012
4.2/5.0
Great selection of dresses. Not many sales people so I had to share mine with 2 or 3 people which wasn't the best when you are wanting all their attention to help you. Alteration appointments are only tuesdays so that can be difficult to work around sometimes.
But all in all I was happy with my dress and they even helped me out with getting a corset and crinlin for less money!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Kayti
Wedding:
10/10/2011
0.2/5.0
I had a wonderful experience choosing my perfect wedding dress, I walked in saw the dress on the manikin and said "that’s the one" so I tried on a few different ones before asking the sales lady to take the dress off the manikin. The moment I put it on I knew it was my wedding dress. After the dress was chosen the store manager called the dress company or whoever they get their dresses from and asked to place the order while my mother and I were still there paying our 50% deposit. I was so excited, I could FINALLY stop looking for a dress and deal with the other wedding things. Before leaving the store manager told me that my dress would be in within 2-3months and that she would call when it had arrived. I was so excited to show my dad when I got home what my dress looked like and tell him that I had FINALLY found the dress. Sadly that is where the great service and excitement STOPS!!

3months go by still no call, 4 months 5months go by still no call, by this time it is a month before my wedding date and I STILL have gotten no call. I called them myself and asked what was going on with my dress, they say they don’t know and did not even know it had not come in. So not only did they not call me to say my dress did or did not come in when they were supposed to, but they do not keep track of their brides and their ordered dresses. As of today October 15 2011 I still have NO DRESS and they cannot give me an answer about anything. Where is my dress? What’s the owners name or number? Is my dress going to come in before my wedding? What are you going to do if it doesn’t?

My wedding is in 7DAYS.. 7DAYS October 22 2011 and still have no dress and no answers to anything. I felt like the staff was only helpful when I was spending. I felt so bad for even asking or yelling at people over the phone about, but it was MY dress! And it was still not in months after ordering it 7days before my wedding. It's their jobs to deal with customers that have questions. If you work somewhere you need to learn how to give people answers especially when you are a BRIDAL DRESS STORE and millions of brides buy these expensive dresses they are not just $20 dresses.

After going in and yelling for hour’s with the store manager she tells my mom, if the dress does not come in THE DAY BEFORE THE WEDDING we will put her in another dress. You think that makes things better? No it doesn’t because putting me in another dress still gets you a sale and money. What does it get me? A dress I am not happy with on my ONLY wedding day.

I would LOVE to get a hold of the Windsor, London & Kitchener store owner because something as big as this should be dealt with by her not her staff. I was told by her staff of all three stores thet could not give her name or number to me and that they would call her to have her personally call me back right away. I understand not giving out her number, but when they say they are going to get her to call or call you back themselves they should! And not just brush it off like the dust on a shelf!!

So Dear Windsor, London& Kitchener's Sophie’s Bridal Shoppe Owner:
When you own a store you need to learn how to deal with customers yourself. It is not fair to your staff to have to take the fall on MAJOR things like LOOSING A BRIDES DRESS and there only being 7 DAYS till her wedding !!!!, they can only deal with it so far because they do not have the connections like you do for your stores and your suppliers! Owning a business is NOT about getting money. It is about helping people out, offering a service and making people happy! If you cannot deal with customers yourself in big situations like this you should NOT own any type of business. Sell the stores if you are just in for the money because not very many people have good things to say about your stores and it is bringing your sales DOWN!I have not gotten a hold of you yet, but if you read these reviews I hope you realize how many weddings your services have ruined by small simple things.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1293778571364-na12.bmp
Aminah
Wedding:
9/2/2011
3.4/5.0
The store itself is a very quaint boutique to shop. It is a perfect environment for any bride. I loved me dress. Thank you Sophie
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
M
Wedding:
8/11/2011
1.0/5.0
My FSIL has had nothing but headaches dealing with these people. I went with her when she tried on her dress. She walked into the shop happy and excited and walked out despondent. I wish she had shopped around more and not done business with them, but she did give them her money.

Firstly, I will give them one thing and that is she was about 5 mths out from her wedding not their recommended 6, but that is no excuse for what followed.

As soon as her budget (small) left her lips, the service plummeted. In fact, the employee saved most of her rudeness for when FSIL was with her in the dressing room. She told her things like she wasn't allowed to use the mirrors, because she hadn't reserved them. Never mind that FSIL did call to ask if she should reserve and was told that is unnecessary. They also deliberately sized her up quite a bit so as to milk the maximum amount of alteration money out of her.

She called a few times to find out the ETA of her dress only to have the date pushed back and pushed back. She was just told that it will arrive the day before her wedding. How is she supposed to get this too large dress altered now? In my opinion, they should return all of her money, but that won't happen.

My advice: shop somewhere the employees are respectful and where they care about not adding stress to an already stressful life event.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jules
Wedding:
9/18/2010
1.2/5.0
I had to give this another bad review!

When i went in initally to find my dress, the service was great.. and that's where it pretty much ends in service!

After purchasing my dress ( off the rack, i did save 10%) not to brides!! if you don't mind buying a sample dress, it's the way to go!!!!

Trying to get items organzied for my bridesmaid dresses was just a site for itself... we never recieved phone calls when the dresses came in like they said they would!!

They charged WAY to much for alterations which i think is atrocious, considering what we pay for our dresses to begin with!

I will say that the seamstress was very nice and super helpful to me!! she made the adjustments as requested and when they took in too much she helped make my dress better by putting it back to it's original state... I can say that she was a great help to me during this process. I went back a few times to ensure that the dress was right and it was!!

I am glad that not all of my experience with Sophie's was bad!!!

But again, it's what happens in the bridal work unforunately, you will get this service with EVERY bridal store.. so take it with a grain of salt, and just hope that the service you get is exceptional!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
linda
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I visited Sophie's Gown Shoppe in London to look for a gown for my upcoming wedding. I can't say enough about the excellent service I received. I was nervous at first but the staff were excellent. This store not only has the best selection of gowns(and I have shopped at many stores in the GTA)but the store is absolutely beautiful!!!! The staff informed me that the store has just undergone a complete renovation. WOW!!! As soon as I walked in I was impressed by the overall atmosphere. The consultant who helped me was very helpful and pulled out styles for me to try on. It was the 2nd dress that I fell in love with. Not only did I love the dress but I loved the store. I cant say enough about how impressed I was with the service and the excellent selection of gowns and accessories. I would recommend this store to all brides in the London area, it is even worth the drive from Toronto. You will not be disappointed. Thank you Sophie's....I will be back for my bridesmaids
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/28/2010
1.4/5.0
I had tried to write this review on the website for Sophie's Gown Shoppe, however, there is nowhere for customers to post comments and the only ones on there are all happy quotes from completely satisfied brides. That's not a surprise with the comments I have read
here, no wonder they don't want to let their customers post without them, no one would ever shop there!
I don't normally complain. In fact, this is the first time I have ever actually formally made a written complaint, ever. But I am a retail store manager and I am actually really upset with my experience at Sophie's so I sought out a site to vent on and hopefully other brides will not have a negative experience like mine.
I wasn't too angry when I ordered the dress I was in love with and they told me they would call me when it arrived in April and at the end of May, I called them and sure enough, my dress was in.
I wasn't too angry when I went in for my first fitting and was only spoken to once. The seamstress never spoke to me and I had to get my sister to undo my dress because no one came back.
I wasn't too angry when they overcharged me for my alterations, big time.
I started to get a little angry when the day before my wedding, I got a phone call from the store saying that they wanted me to come back to the store and pay $100 that they miscalculated when I paid the balance on my dress.
I got really angry when, after I told them I would call them in a couple weeks to sort this out, I got a call 13 days later harassing me for the money again.
As someone who works in retail, I understand "honest errors" (as I was repeatedly told by the manager when I was telling her I was unhappy) I do not understand making the customer take responsibility for your "honest errors". I know how much money they make on these dresses and I am really unhappy with the stink they have made out of this $100, when I am sure they made 6X that on the gown in the first place, not to mention an arm and leg for the alterations! I would never call one of my customers after they had left my store and tell them I expected them to come back in and give me more money, and this has happened to me, undercharging people or my staff undercharging people. And to avoid the risk of offending our valued customers, we would eat the cost of the mistake and have done so in the past. Apparently Sophie's does not feel the same about keeping their customers.
I was warned by my wedding planner not to go to Sophie's because several of her clients had negative experiences there, however, I was in love with the dress and against my better judgement, ignored her. Wish I hadn't because, while I had a lovely wedding, I could have also had a lovely wedding with a dress from a vendor that didn't leave such a bad taste in my mouth. Honest mistake after honest mistake will lead me to never recommend Sophie's to any of my friends or relatives.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karistratton
Wedding:
5/15/2010
3.9/5.0
I went to the Kitchener store. I found a great dress and I was totally in love with it. However, I found that the staff were not as helpful as they could be. They were slow to acknowledge you in the store and the day i went to pick up the dress at my appointed time, it was not ready, I had to return half an hour later while it was steamed. Overall it was a good experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Heather
Wedding:
4/1/2010
1.0/5.0
would avoid all business dealings with Sophie's London store.

I had a great experience trying on the dresses, but they have completely fallen flat when it comes to customer service.

After purchasing my bridal gown, I was told that if my mother and bridesmaids or anyone purchased their dresses from Sophie's, there would be a discount on their dresses.

When my mother and sister purchased their dresses, they were told no such discount could be given. Too bad for them. Fine, we agreed to just buy them there for convenience and be done with it.

After several months, we had no word from them in regards to the arrival of my mother & sister's dresses as we were told approximately 2 months for their arrival. When I called to get a status update, I was told that my mother's dress wasn't expected for at least six months and she couldn't understand why I was even bothering her to call. LUCKILY, the dress arrived "early". We never would hvae bought that dress if we have been appropriately told the time.

At the time of the purchase, my mother decided it best to just pay in full and be done with it. However, similar to the last post, this proved to be a problem. We have a bill that states "PAID IN FULL", yet when my mother arrived to pick up her dress she was told he owed another $60 in "fees from the manufacturer". Currently, they have no reason for this extra $60 other than staff error, which we believe we should not have to cover. There are also issues with the alteration rates we were originally told would be honoured.

Finally, in regards to my dress, I was told at the time of purchase to schedule a fitting after the dress arrives to determine what undergarments I need. But when I called to make this appointment I was VERY RUDELY told I had to have all of those items or I would "just be wasting the seamstresses time by coming". I have no idea what exactly I need yet, but after 15 mins I finally got the woman to understand that I needed to try on the dress to figure out what was needed. "Oh, well then just come in whenever. You obviously don't need an appointment for that".

I have had nothing but terrible service from this store and has caused my family and myself a lot of grief through what should be a fun and memorable (in a good way!) process.

I would completely avoid this store!

There are plenty of fabulous bridal shops in London, which is where my sister and cousin will now be purchasing their bridal gowns and up to 12 bridesmaid dresses.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.Him
Wedding:
11/13/2009
1.7/5.0
Where do I even start?
When it came to my own dress...I had 4 "final" dress-fittings. 4!! Last time I checked, 'Final" was defined as "pertaining to or coming to the end" Every time we went in, they had forgotten to do something, or hem this part, or add this...everything we had told them to do the first time, took 4 extra reminders to get these things done.

My bridesmaid dresses were another nightmare. My MOH was blessed with a large chest, a tiny waist, and a lovely bottom...they made her pay an extra $50 (on top of the $175 she had already paid for the dress) because her breasts made her a "plus size", even though she's a size 9. Then, they charged her another $60 for alterations to take out all the "plus sized" fabric at her waist out.

My mother, now this lady has some patience. She ordered her dress 6 months before the wedding. Her dress came in ONE WEEK before my wedding. And since of course nothing ever got done on weekends, she had 4 days to get the dress altered, fitted, and out the door. Somehow, Sophie's managed to pull the rabbit out of their asses and got it done.

Overall, if you enjoy being let down and disappointed, go to Sophie's. If not, shop around.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wamils
Wedding:
10/17/2009
2.3/5.0
The first few times going into the Kitchener store were nice the girl that helped was wonderful when it came to picking my dress,veil teira 2 bridesmaid dresses and a flower girl dress(of course spending over 2500) however when it came to fittings they were always behind, the day it came to pick up our dresses one of the bridesmaid dresses wasnt ready and then at 3 in the morning the day of my wedding i relized they didnt have my veil or teria in with my wedding dress! I was so stressed out and they didnt open until 10am. My hair appointment was at 1030. They acted like i should be calm and it took them 20 mintues to get there steamer up and running since they hadnt even steamed it! I was so disspointed as it made me have to rush around and worry that i wouldnt have it in time..There billing and payment set up is not very good the one girl took my card info and when i told her to pay off everything she said it was all taken care of and when i went to pick up my dress i had to fight with them because she didnt staple the slip to my order so they tried getting me to repay over $900! i fell in love with my dress and honestly that is the only thing that keep me going back!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sdeboer3
Wedding:
7/4/2009
3.6/5.0
Overall, a great experience purchasing the dress and veil. But the fittings took a long time. I had to go to the store for fittings at least 4 times. They would forget to alter part of the dress and then I would come back in so they could do it. One of the store clerks was quite rude, but most of the staff was kind and very helpful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mystique
Wedding:
6/13/2009
0.9/5.0
Sophie's in KITCHENER
These girls were just plain RUDE. I spent almost $1800 on my dress at their shop and they were unhelpful, snotty, and the dress was NOT what I was expecting when it arrived either. They were not clear with thread colours and I ended up with a dress that was gold and white when I was told I had ordered a silver and white. One of their staff even tried to match a gold threaded veil to my dress and then when she realized her mistake assured me it was silver and not gold. Had I not been on such a tight time frame I would have gone somewhere else!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mhmorgan
Wedding:
3/21/2009
3.5/5.0
Sophie's had a lot of selection and had exactly what I was looking for, and even though it wasn't on sale when I went in, the sales clerk gave us a deal. I was a bit anxious when the dress wasn't in 2 months before the wedding, and when it did come in no one called me, I had to call. The fittings were a little squeezed in as the seamstress only works one day during their "off peak" season so that was a little difficult having to be there during the day.
Overall, the service was okay not fabulous but they did have great selection and I found me dream dress for less than I thought I'd pay so I was pleasantly happy.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jerrys_lady
Wedding:
2/21/2009
3.6/5.0
I had a wonderful experience choosing my perect wedding dress but afterwards was not so impressed. I felt like the staff was only helpful when I was spending. I was so excited when my order was in! I wanted to show my Mom the dress! They reluctantly brought it out of storage but did not offer a change room. I felt so bad for even asking, but it was MY dress! It's not like they were busy, it was the middle of the week. I didn't even need help. They also wanted to charge my bridesmaid $100 just to order a dress in a plus size, we were told that was the manufacturer's charge. We got the same dress somewhere else at no additional cost. Everything worked out in the end and my dress was fabulous, but I wish I had shopped around more. I'm sure they have some good staff, but they sure have their share of rude people. 
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pulpfree
Wedding:
5/30/2008
0.4/5.0
I regret the fact that I didn't spend more time looking for dresses. Not because I was unhappy with my dress, but rather, unhappy with the service I received. While the girl who helped my actually pick my dress was fun and enthusiatic, everyone else in the shop was rude! Incredibly rude! Once my dress had arrived in store, I had to do acrobatics around the seamstresses schedule to get a fitting (with a store that big, why only one seamstress?). I had very little alterations to be done - shorten the hem, and make an underbustle. I was pretty surprised to return and find that my alterations had been done incorrectly with so few alterations being done. Added to that, the girls at the shop started telling me that if I had to do more alterations, the cost would be increased, since it was getting close to my wedding date and the seamstress would have to do "last minute alterations" - when the mistake was THEIRS! The cost of the alterations was very overpriced to begin with, I can't imagine how much those "emergency alterations" would have cost!
The staff was rude to both my mother and grandmother when I came in to try on my dress, one employee even complained about having to stop eating her lunch in order to help me - with my SCHEDULED appointment (she did not stop eating, instead she would just keep running off to eat more food).
The greatest part was, a month or two later, I went to another shop while looking for bridesmaids dresses with my friend, and I found my exact dress -- $300 cheaper!
Awful service, bad alterations, price gougers and just plain rude staff. I definitely warn all my friends to not shop there!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
6/10/2006
4.1/5.0
Sometimes the service at Sophie's can be a little slow or even a little rude at times, it is generally a nice place to shop. They were able to rush my gown (6 months is not enough time!) and even special order it; I fell in love with a tea length gown, however I wanted it to be full length. They made sure it came in the right length and it ended up needed very few alterations. The alterations that were needed were done within a week of the fitting. The store is nicely kept, with a large selection of dresses, and the fitting rooms are huge.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.6/5.0
I am a repeat customer and am appalled at the terrible customer service at Sophie's in London. I purchased a MOB dress and was treated like garbage when I called to find out what the ETA was of my dress. Not only was the sales clerk rude and condescending but she actually said to me "Well what do you want me to do about it?" when I told her I was not happy; and her final response to me was "well I can't do anything about it, so don't kill the messenger." Really?, is this the way they teach their sales clerks to talk to their customers? No results so far, the message I left for the manager to call either did not get passed along, or she doesn't care either. I have never posted my displeasure with a company before, but in this day and age of high unemployment, I am amazed that such rude, nasty people are employed in a customer service role. Shame on you Sophie's you are disgusting!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
I came into the store and the customer service was excellent! I would definitely recommend this store to anyone that is looking for that one special dress! :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
sophies has been great start to finish!!!!! thankyou for being understanding and helpful! My expereince has been awesome. thank you ladies!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
Sophie's in London Ontario is a the worst place to purchase a dress. Once they have your money you are nothing to them!
My daughter purchased a prom dress in May of 2013 and the dress was beautiful. After attending the prom we wanted to have the dress cleaned and put away so we took it to a Dry Cleaners in the city that had just won the "Best Cleaners in London" award. They have been in business for many, many years and know what they are doing. They began to clean my dress and noticed right away that the beading was 'melting'. I contacted Sophie's so that they could contact the company who could review the cleaning tag in the dress to make sure that there had not been a mistake made. THEY REFUSED!!! The cleaner then had the dress shipped to the company's main store/office in Toronto where they attempted to clean it again making a bigger mess!!!! Their solution....just send it back to the customer...no note...phone call or anything.
My daughter is now out her dress and her $600. Nice customer service!!! If you want a company that will stand behind their product don't shop at Sophie's or buy dresses for the Richman Group!!!!
Jane
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.1/5.0
I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. After we ordered (7+ months early) and paid for our dresses, we inquired many times about the status of our dresses, as they were past the expected date of arrival. The staff just said they would be in soon.

Finally, when they actually checked into this issue, they realized they had mixed us up with another party and our dresses were not due in until one month after the wedding date. They did a rush order, but it is just over a week until the wedding and no bridesmaid dresses! Their communication and service in regards to the mistake has been very poor. I have been in other wedding parties (ordering from other vendors) and have never had any problems like this.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
517 York St., London, ON See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sophie's Gown Shoppe
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220