130x130_sq_1300742453663-19

South Seas Island Resort

Captiva Island , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5400 Plantation Road
Captiva Island, FL US 33924 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Say "I Do" At South Seas
Whether you’ve dreamed of barefoot weddings on the beach at sunset or black tie receptions on a lush lawn, South Seas can deliver. With over two miles of... Read more
Say "I Do" At South Seas
Whether you’ve dreamed of barefoot weddings on the beach at sunset or black tie receptions on a lush lawn, South Seas can deliver. With over two miles of indoor and outdoor settings, exceptional catering, over 30,000 square feet of flexible function space, on-site entertainment company, on-site floral designer and private banquet facilities, South Seas provides an exquisite atmosphere for your Southwest Florida beach wedding. Offerings include:
Captivating Island Weddings - For the bride desiring an exclusive Florida beach wedding location with an island feel. This wedding includes the use of prime locations at the resort, on-site wedding coordinator services. Click Here to learn more. Intimate Island Package -Inclusive package for weddings of up to 40 guests. This style of wedding includes photographer, officiant, four-course plated dinner, three hour open bar and locations such as Sunset Cove, The Overlook Deck and the President’s Room. *Available Monday-Thursday. Click Here to view package details. Captiva Romance - Ceremony only. Recite your vows during a ceremony on Sunset Beach under a latticed archway on the sand. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1300742408942-12
130x130_sq_1300742414192-19
130x130_sq_1399907110504-southseasislandresort---north-point
130x130_sq_1300742108973-8
130x130_sq_1300742109380-5
130x130_sq_1387568254160-southseasislandresortsebrieflowers-in-air-we
130x130_sq_1300742110708-southseas
130x130_sq_1300742109880-6
130x130_sq_1399906893775-southseasislandresort-
130x130_sq_1300742106723-3
130x130_sq_1300742411130-15
130x130_sq_1399906903634-southseasislandresort-1
130x130_sq_1399906938335-southseasislandresort-
130x130_sq_1300742110270-2
130x130_sq_1399906966875-southseasislandresort-2
130x130_sq_1399906995797-southseasislandresort-3
130x130_sq_1399907027318-1018-dsc5866
130x130_sq_1399907084196-southseasislandresort---westlawn-ten
130x130_sq_1300742410286-14
130x130_sq_1300742409614-13
130x130_sq_1300742107723-7
130x130_sq_1300742414911-11
130x130_sq_1300742413520-18
130x130_sq_1300742412630-17

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1920
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Boat / Yacht, Hotel, Park / Zoo / Natural Space
Describe the style of your venue
Coastal, Tropical, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
30
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
471
Number of suites
16
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
185
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I just had our wedding at South Seas and we could not have imagined anything more perfect. While the scenery speaks for itself, the staff, the planners, and the catering were all fantastic to work with and made the whole process enjoyable. Our coordinator Lexie was with us throughout the entire process and answered every question we had. She guided us through the tough decisions based on her experience and led to a perfect wedding ceremony and reception. The options they offer including golf carts, sky lanterns, corn hole tournaments, alternative venue sites due to weather, and stringer lighting options are just a few of the many reasons that make this an ideal place to get married. We 100% recommend having your wedding here!! We strongly recommend taking advantage of the preferred vendor list too!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
South Seas Island Resort responded with the following comments:

Congratulations on your recent nuptials, and thank you for choosing South Seas Island Resort for your wedding celebration. We are delighted to read of your experience with us and wish you and Chris continued happiness.

With warm regards,
Rhonda Decherd
Director of Catering, South Seas Island Resort
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridget
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
I truly love this this florist. I had a destination wedding. I had to do all of my arrangements the email, phone and Internet. Dalia and Libby went out of their way to make sure that every single detail was done properly.Most of all, they stayed within my budget. True professionals.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had a beautiful wedding ceremony and reception on Kings Crown Lawn at South Seas Island Resort. Absolutely fabulous!! Magical venue - Rhonda was the best!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding 10/31/13 at South Seas was perfection. Our coordinator Tammy DaCosta went above and beyond to make sure everything went as planned and many people said it was the best wedding they had ever attended. The food was beyond incredible and the fact that we got to use 4 different venues for our events was great. The grounds at South Seas are beautiful and the staff was great to work with, the whole experience was more than I could have asked for.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
My groom and I have always had a special love of Sanibel and Captiva. Living in Naples we thought it would be fun to have a “Destination” wedding but still make it easy to get to. We could not have picked a better venue than South Seas Island Resort. My initial phone call to the Wedding and Events Department was an eye opener. We did not have a big budget and when I heard what the site fee for a Saturday night wedding was (not to mention the minimum food and beverage you needed to spend) I thought our dreams were dashed…

Until the South Seas Representative said those magical little words “Have you ever thought of a Sunday brunch reception?” The more we heard about it, the more we liked it. It was within our budget and with the money we saved we threw a “Welcome Dinner” on Saturday night for all our guests at the amazing Overlook Bar at the Pointe. It was fantastic! We had so much fun designing our own menu and when we had our “Tasting” a few months before the wedding, I thought I had died and gone to food heaven. The cuisine was delicious and beautifully presented. And at our wedding day Brunch, it wowed all our guests!

Special thanks to Melissa in the Rooms Division, Deneb at the Front Desk, Debbie at the Main Pool entrance, Marc at the bar (delicious rum runners!), Christie (who worked at both our events) and Lexi and Rhonda in the Wedding/Events Dept. who made sure everything ran smoothly.

I highly recommend South Seas Island Resort. Our friends and family absolutely loved the resort and we were able to make a long, relaxing weekend of the wedding. As a bride, it was just the perfect place to make our wedding dreams become a reality!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
When I decided to have my wedding on Sanibel/Captiva Island, I looked into three venues. When I came to South Seas, I knew in a second that this was where I was going to get married. I am so glad I did!! My destination wedding weekend was absolutely perfect and not one detail went wrong (granted I had great weather!). I had my rehearsal dinner at the beach luau spot, and on Saturday had my ceremony out at Sunset Cove grass lawn overlooking the ocean, and my reception on Kings Crown. Every detail of my wedding was beautiful and the staff of South Seas was so wonderful to work with. We had 160 out-of-state guests and three international guests who are all still calling and e-mailing me about how great the venue was for my wedding. Everyone was able to make a vacation out of it and everyone thought South Seas was beyond beautiful and said it was one of the best weddings they’ve ever attended. The food was excellent, the bar tenders were great, and all the music and entertainment that went through South Seas was top notch. Thank you, South Seas, for exceeding my top expectations for my wedding!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I got married at South Seas Resort three weeks ago and had an incredible experience. We wanted a casual, but beautiful place where our guests could enjoy the Florida landscape, but also have a formal wedding experience. I thought it would be difficult to pull off a black tie wedding near the beach, but South Seas was the perfect place to do it. Because we had a large wedding of approx 300 guests, we set up a tent on the West Lawn just steps from the beach. South Seas was incredibly accommodating and gave us ample time to set up and prepare for the big day. The result was gorgeous. To top it off, the food and service at the reception was exceptional and we still receive raves about the dinner and general ambience of the whole night. Our rehearsal dinner the night before was in Kings Crown/Kings Crown Lawn where beautiful twinkle lights made the night so scenic. Brunch was in the same place -- and because the weather was so beautiful all weekend -- was a fantastic way to end the celebration.

All in all, I couldn't recommend South Seas more. Our guests felt at home with all the different options the hotel has for accommodations – big families stayed in houses and villas, groups of friends chose between 1-3 bedroom hotel suites, etc. Everyone at the resort was super friendly and incredibly professional. The wedding team at South Seas worked with us and our party planner for nearly 15 months and made sure that every detail was addressed. I do not have enough good things to say about the resort. We had an incredibly unique wedding that I genuinely believe could not have been done anywhere else. I cannot wait to see the pictures and wouldn't change a thing about our big day. Thank you South Seas!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The staff at South Seas was professional, responded in a timely manner, and was fun. They helped make my wedding day one that I will never forget. I greatly appreciated how quickly John responded to my emails, how me and my guests were treated with respect and the entire staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect. Every event from the rehearsal dinner to the wedding to the farewell brunch was well thought out, every detail was taken care of and it was absolutely amazing! I am so happy that I chose to have my wedding at South Seas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved this resort and all it had to offer for our wedding! It was the perfect spot to have our guests celebrate the evening with us. Everyone loved it, and had nothing but wonderful things to say about the resort. It was the most memorable day, and we will return to celebrate our anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at South Seas on May 20th and after months of planning, we walked away thinking that nothing could have possible gone better. We had 3 different dinner events, Friday night at Kings Crown, Saturday night at Sunset Luau, and Sunday Wedding at the Cove and reception on the lawn and each event was flawless! We have heard from over 20 different people that this was the best wedding they have ever been to. John Blaharski, our wedding coordinator, was many things to us at South Seas and we couldn't have done it without him:

Organized - I always felt that John had a great grasp on the plans and I felt very comfortable leaving many decisions to his better judgement. We had not seen the property prior to committing to South Seas, so it made us feel at ease that John was always on top of everything from the rooms, to the lighting, to the timelines, to the transportation, to the menus, etc.

Flexible - It seemed like whatever we wanted, John found a way to make it happen. This included my husband and I's trip down the waterslide in our wedding attire after the wedding reception! To this day people are still telling us that that was one of the most memorable parts of the wedding and it was all thanks to John!

Committed - When I ran into an issue, John was always right there to fix it. I came to Captiva with the security tag still on my dress for the rehearsal dinner, and John somehow took it off of the island and found someone to remove it in time. I'm still not sure what I would have done without him!

Solutions-Oriented - John always knew the balance between telling us what to do, and letting us decide. He obviously knew the venues better than we did, so we really appreciated his candor when we were deciding the logistics of each of the events. Although it was always clear that we could do what we thought best, he made us aware of the various options and their implications before we settled on a decision. We really appreciated the unique ideas and solutions that he brought to the table.

The Pre-Wedding Experience - The planning prior to the wedding was also a great experience. I felt like the entire team was very accommodating with our unique requests, which was very important to us. The chef and John were both very helpful with our requests to keep the meals Vegetarian/Kosher and to put together theme dinners so that each night had a different look/feel. It was also meant so much to us that John was so flexible with his meeting times during the planning phase. Both my husband and I work a lot and John was always readily available to talk to us at night and on weekends. I think he even took our call on Mother's Day when he was at dinner with his family. The commitment that he showed to us prior to the wedding made it clear to us that the event was in good hands.

I was an Event Manager for weddings here in Michigan for 4 years, so I will be the first to admit that I probably wasn't easy to handle, but John took my demands, added his own little twist, and turned our wedding weekend into a masterpiece.

I highly recommend a wedding at South Seas... you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianne
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave about South Seas and their amazing staff enough! They made sure that every detail was perfect from day 1 of planning until we left the island after our wedding was over and our vacation ended. Their attention to detail exceeded my expectations as this was very important because we booked sight unseen and are from out of state. The resort is beautiful, their reception food was the best meal we had on island and the setting in every picture is amazing. South Seas (and particularly John Blaharski and John Dillis) exceeded all my expectations and gave my family & friends, as well as my husband and I, the best week and wedding we could have dreamed of. We only had guest list of 26 however there are accomodations for all size weddings. I highly recommend this venue and all their preferred vendors. They'll make your dream wedding come true also!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1328466639003-85687591060
Sarah
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing!! Could not be happier, everyone involved at South Seas was professional and did everything they could to make my day special! They do weddings there every week and weekend so they are well prepared for anything, they even had a backup dj for me because mine was going to be late! This place is charming and beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TeamWade
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with a provided wedding coordinator, John Blaharski, at South Seas Island Resort, who assured us that our wedding we were planning from 2,000 miles away would be perfect, and it was. South Seas was not only beautiful, but also made sure that everything went off without a hitch. Thank you to John and all of the staff at South Seas who helped make our 11/11/11 Wedding weekend perfect from Friday through Sunday you all were amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marie
Wedding:
9/30/2011
5.0/5.0
John Dillis and his staff were wonderful!! The day of the wedding he was all over the place checking on both me and the groom. We had an issue with our flowers and he came to the rescue and fixed it.

Also he was EXTREMELY accomodating to our requests while the girls were in the "get ready" room.

Servicie is A+ and the Venue is absolutely Beautiful. Love this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bb8
maryrmaz80
Wedding:
9/9/2011
5.0/5.0
South Seas was the ideal location for our commitment ceremony and reception!!! Every detail was taken care of with highest level of professionalism and care. John D. and John made our day so special and took care of us as well as our guests. It was a pleasure to work with them! They were so kind and caring while setting up the reception, serving drinks, waiting out the rain with us...they were by our side every step of the way! Thank you John and John!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leigh Anne
Wedding:
6/6/2011
5.0/5.0
We chose South Seas Island Resort off of the internet and could not have been more pleased! John Dillis took care of every detail for us... I honestly can't think of one complaint! Great resort to enjoy time with friends and loved ones leading up to ceremony!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellers
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
We started planning our wedding at South Seas in 2010 after a site visit. We were looking for an outdoor, near the water but not "beachy" site, in a classy, clean, location with lots for our guests to do. The catering/banquet team was professional, warm, and welcoming right from the start. Once we booked the event (on the day we visited) we were "handed over" to Alicia Minisce, who was our coordinator for what turned into a 4 day Wedding Weekend. She was phenomenal to work with- always responsive, and never pushy. She really listened to what we wanted and took interest in all of our details (the many, many boxes of them that arrived in her office mid April...). It wasn't until we arrived the week of our events that I realized just how wonderful she, and the Resort staff, really were. Our family and friends raved about the service, and they along with our wedding party, were treated like VIP's the entire week. There was a band of rain and wind that blew through the night of our outdoor, poolside welcome dinner, and Alicia was on top of things with a second location and coordinating all of the food, floral, entertainment, and lighting to go along with it. She reached out to my Maid of Honor and I never knew anything was even happening until they were done and everything was set to go.
Their Chef is beyond amazing, everyone raved about the food all weekend. He was so accommodating when we requested a Vegan option at our events- including a six course wine paring- he was up to the challenge and rocked it.
If you use South Seas, you'd be crazy to use a florist other than Ruth at Captiva Blooms, she is truly an artist. I was overwhelmed when I saw the centerpieces for each event, but particularly the Reception. She is amazing.
The resort Spa, Kay Casperson Lifestyle Spa, is also wonderful. This group of women is the most welcoming, personable bunch you'll ever work with- and be pampered by.
The waitstaff, especially Rosa and Ricardo, were so attentive and remembered our family members' names and favorite drinks throughout the week.
This venue was truly a shot in the dark- a google location that we figured we'd visit for a possible destination wedding location... and couldn't have been happier.
If you are looking for an elegant, yet fun and airy location- this is it. They have several different ceremony and reception locations, and we used several of them- all were wonderful. Alicia, however, is what made me sit down and write this review right away- she is amazing and deserves all the positive reviews possible. Highly recommend South Seas, and their wonderful event coordinator!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
southseasbride
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
South Seas was fantastic. I would highly recommend them! Amanda, our coordinator was the best!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
I have no words for the wedding weekend that my husband and I experienced at South Seas! It was an absolute dream and Alicia, John and the entire team were incredible to work with. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of South Seas! Our guests are still thanking us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Smiles
Wedding:
8/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Our Wedding at South Seas Island Resort was everything we expected...and more. Our Wedding Cooordinator, Amanda D. , along with her assistant, Andrea were above average! Everything was taken care of from across the country by our amazing coordinator! The resort was enjoyable for our guests and breathtaking in person!
Choose South Seas for your wedding...No regrets!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
We had our fairytale wedding...the location was breathtaking!!! Everyone at the resort was completely professional and provided the highest quality of service.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darcy
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely perfect. South Seas was beautiful, and the resort was amazing. The gorgeous views and wonderful service really made for a great time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Extremely beautiful venue for the ceremony on the Kings Crown Lawn. Incliment weather was a risk - they provided a backup location - but the evening was perfect. The wedding coordinators were amazing at getting everyone organized and getting the place set up. They took a lot of stress off me. Our guests really enjoyed coming to this venue for a getaway weekend while coming to our wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Onna
Wedding:
11/23/2007
5.0/5.0
After viewing many different venues in Southwest Florida, we booked South Seas site unseen and couldn't have been more pleased. It was the perfect location for our private beach wedding and reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lannk
Wedding:
3/31/2011
5.0/5.0
South Seas was the perfect venue for our destination wedding. We had a welcome dinner the night before on the beach and the wedding (Kings Crown). They had a great selection of vendors to use and were so easy to work with. Alicia our on site wedding planner was amazing. The wedding day I didn't need to worry about anything, they took care of it all. It rained on our wedding day and she had it all taken care of in the alternative location (Kings Crown). We couldn't have asked for better service. The food was excellent and the team was great. Our wedding guest kept gushing about how amazing the resort was. I would highly recommend this location for anyone who is looking to have their wedding in Captiva.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Writer Bride
Wedding:
11/8/2008
4.9/5.0
South Seas was absolutely gorgeous for our wedding weekend! Our guests had an absolutely wonderful time at the wedding AND at the resort. We got off to a rough start with our wedding planning with South Seas, but I'm convinced it was more a matter of circumstance than anything, so I really can't say anything negative about the resort itself or the staff on hand for the wedding! Everything was wonderful!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
South Seas has always been one of our favorite Resorts. When deciding to get married at South Seas we really did not question the results that we would get. Now that the wedding has passed, there is not one thing that we would have changed thru the whole weekend event. We hosted a sunset cruise on the Lady Chadwick on Friday evening, the wedding was held on Saturday evening, and a morning Mass was held on the beach before the Sunday Brunch with Mimosa and Bloody Mary bar for our guests. All of the food was 5 star, service was excellent, Lexie, our wedding planner was doing more than her job and in a very professional manner with nothing that she couldn't work out for us, and our guests. Many of our guests had not visited South Seas Resort and they were simply amazed at the beauty and many have already booked future vacations at South Seas.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I cannot say enough about the South Seas venue and staff. We met with countless venues while scouting for wedding sites, but we knew our search was over as soon as we were through the first South Seas Gate. Firstly, Captiva Island in and of itself is a beautiful draw. South Seas resort encompasses a huge portion of the island. We loved the idea of our guests having a true vacation while at our wedding. Many of our guests extended their stay 5+ days. It was a great opportunity to spend quality time with them before our event. Many are planning on traveling back every year now.
Planning with South Seas was a great experience, due to our amazing coordinator Lexie Shireman. We were so lucky to have Lexie walk us through the planning process. She was very responsive, knowledgeable, flexible, and a joy to work with. We threw A LOT of details and requests at her and our wedding turned out perfectly. Lexie mad our day perfect!
We hosted two main events at South Seas. We held a welcome reception Beach BBQ at the beach, and our wedding was at King’s Crown Lawn. Both of the locations were beautiful. The catering department at South Seas provided a vast menu to choose from and our guests are still talking about the food. The service was wonderful and the courses were timed perfectly with speeches and such. Our experience with South Seas was a dream come true
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darren
Wedding:
4/12/2014
4.7/5.0
The wedding itself was WONDERFUL! The accommodations at South Seas however were honestly very lacking. The rooms are dated and poorly laid out. I can't speak for the other rooms, but the bayside villas are old and worn looking/feeling. We honestly could not have been more disappointed for the money and sadly could not/would not recommend a wedding at South Seas because of that.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maak
Wedding:
9/18/2011
4.7/5.0
South Seas did an amazing job with helping to plan my wedding on the island. Very easy to work with and taylor everything to your needs. Beautiful location on Sunset Cove and so much to do on the resort. All my guests keep talking about what an amazing time they had and how beautiful everything was. Would recommend to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GINA
Wedding:
6/18/2008
4.7/5.0
Great service and very accomodating to our needs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
4/22/2014
3.9/5.0
South Seas provided an absolutely stunning backdrop to our beach sunset ceremony, followed by classy reception. Lexie was very helpful in all aspects of the planning process. It was difficult planning a wedding from so far away without having seen the venue or tasted the food, but Lexie made us more confident in our choices. There were some minor issues, but were handled quickly and expertly.
Our wedding exceeded our expectations....THANK YOU !!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
5/2/2014
3.2/5.0
I agree with Abigail's review!

South Seas is an absolutely beautiful place to get married. It is a true tropical paradise, which is why we chose it for our destination wedding. Most of the staff was wonderful and accommodating. However, from the beginning we had issues. Their wedding team does not respond well to calls/emails. It actually took me over a week to get in touch with someone about booking my wedding. My friend is a wedding planner, so she helped me with the process (thank god). The wedding team at South Seas gave us a lot of conflicting information throughout the months of planning. Tell me one thing, then telling her another thing. It got very confusing, and I felt like we were constantly following up to make sure everything was taken care of. As Abigail wrote, their check in staff/hotel staff has a really hard time managing crowds. We had issues with our welcome bags and a lot of guests had problems with check in. We even had a problem with our own hotel room when we checked in.

On the day of, my friend coordinated everything, and thank goodness because otherwise we would have had many things wrong. The ceremony site was set up incorrectly TWICE. The cakes were not displayed right at the reception. We had to ask for champagne in the getting ready room (even though we already confirmed this 4 days earlier in our final meeting). Things like that. In the end, my wedding was amazing and to the guests it seemed perfect.

The biggest issue is that we found out the next day another wedding used our custom drapery, uplighting, chairs and even centerpieces without us knowing. We have still yet to hear back from the wedding department about this.

If you want a small, laid back wedding, South Seas is your place. I would not recommend it for a large wedding with lots of out of town guests, especially for how expensive it is and the additional 22% fee you have to pay on almost everything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
5/30/2014
2.9/5.0
Pros:
- amazing location!
- amazing food!
- great rooms for your guests!
Cons:
- poor planner
- poor communication
- poor follow through on many details of our wedding which was very disappointing
- pricey...but you're on an island so everything is...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
South Seas Island Resort responded with the following comments:

Congratulations on your recent nuptials, and thank you for choosing us for your wedding celebration. I appreciate your feedback and we will continue to improve our communication and all facets of service to deliver consistently exceptional experiences.

We wish you and Chancey a wonderful life together filled with love and joy.

With warm regards,
Rhonda Decherd
Director of Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
5/3/2014
2.3/5.0
Sadly, when we signed our contract we were promised that someone would be with us from start to finish through our whole weekend coordinating every detail, and we were not. The person we signed with was let go a few months after we signed but we thought we were in good hands. So many details were missed and the bridal party (and us!) spent a good amount of time over the wedding weekend checking our own radar, hunting down the wedding coordinator, and trying to find out why the food we tasted and signed off on was not what we received at our reception when the coordinator was with another bride. We even had to carry our own boxes from our rooms to the event (gifts, welcome bags, wedding supplies) because 'it was check in time' and no one could help. The venue is great and banquet staff exceptional. The wedding/event coordinators seem understaffed and over booked. More than once I was told my coordinator was at another event when I needed her. Very disappointed with the service here especially since there is a 22% service fee charged on everything! I don't agree that I received service that justified 22%! They did not allow for a relaxing care-free weekend for me, my bridal party, or my family who had to help with details.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
South Seas Island Resort responded with the following comments:

Abigail, Congratulations on your recent wedding - we wish you and Anthony a lifetime of happiness together. I'm disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with every aspect of your wedding weekend. I'd welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience, so please call me at 800-524-7601 or email us at SouthSeasWeddings@SouthSeas.com. Thank you for choosing us and I look forward to speaking with you. With warm regards, Rhonda Decherd Dir of Catering

MAP

 
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for South Seas Island Resort
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1300742453663-19