130x130_sq_1306522223412-13

Southern Mansion

Cape May , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

720 Washington St.
Cape May, NJ US 08204 (map)

PHONE

609-884-7171

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Amazing gardens, luxurious interiors, wraparound porches and especially the magnificent spiral staircases are only a few details to guarantee a dream Cape May Wedding ceremony!
... Read more
Amazing gardens, luxurious interiors, wraparound porches and especially the magnificent spiral staircases are only a few details to guarantee a dream Cape May Wedding ceremony!

Whether you plan a traditional wedding with all its events, or you are just looking to say “I do” in front of your close family and friends, the Southern Mansion will hold your dream ceremony in its spectacular gardens. Cape May Weddings at the Mansion will offer you a secluded exotic area even in the most crowded week-ends in Cape May.

Why should you worry getting your guests on the beach and from the beach to the reception, fear the sand in your shoes or the inclement weather? The Southern Mansion is always open to welcome your special wedding ceremony inside, in case the rain will come uninvited. Our luxurious Victorian Ballroom will be an elegant place to create great memories for you and your guests!

And to make things even easier, our on-site wedding officiant will perform the ceremony and our wedding planner will help you with all the information you need to apply for a wedding license when you get married in Cape May. Civil unions are welcome.

We would be delighted to have you here at your wedding! The Southern Mansion is truly the best spot on the shore for Cape May Weddings.

Learn more about Southern Mansion Cape May Bed and Breakfast.



The Southern Mansion
720 Washington Street
Cape May NJ 08204
1-609-884-7171 Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1306524099541-photo0798
130x130_sq_1306524027426-11
130x130_sq_1306524102604-photo1569
130x130_sq_1306524082024-112
130x130_sq_1306524091118-15
130x130_sq_1306524086415-13
130x130_sq_1306524105682-photo1575
130x130_sq_1309268183297-901715949772391715140724391727209594660663n
130x130_sq_1309268183750-90171594977339171514072439172720960493134n
130x130_sq_1306524023160-0872badrawb15x30cc
130x130_sq_1309268205683-901715949791391715140724391727209844285811n
130x130_sq_1306524095525-hyatt0476
130x130_sq_1306524110557-weddingfrontpage2
130x130_sq_1306524094587-hyatt0243
130x130_sq_1306524092103-ceremony2
130x130_sq_1306524093025-dscn7500
130x130_sq_1306524106698-solarium
130x130_sq_1309268182611-901715949651891715140724391727209543952187n
130x130_sq_1306524109979-tinamarkoephotography1
130x130_sq_1309268184296-901715949773891715140724391727209613707940n
130x130_sq_1306524020035-0025img0677
130x130_sq_1309268184857-901715949774391715140724391727209621877441n
130x130_sq_1309268185809-901715949775391715140724391727209635830366n
130x130_sq_1309268186604-901715949776891715140724391727209652530427n
130x130_sq_1309268187166-901715949777891715140724391727209664350819n
130x130_sq_1309268187759-901715949778891715140724391727209674529813n
130x130_sq_1309268188398-90171594977989171514072439172720968705229n
130x130_sq_1309268188898-901715949780891715140724391727209696590209n
130x130_sq_1309268189412-901715949781391715140724391727209702740527n
130x130_sq_1309268190114-901715949781891715140724391727209716187252n
130x130_sq_1309268190723-901715949783391715140724391727209722852839n
130x130_sq_1309268191347-901715949783891715140724391727209731328609n
130x130_sq_1309268192267-901715949784391715140724391727209744554191n
130x130_sq_1309268193266-901715949784891715140724391727209756620313n
130x130_sq_1309268193858-901715949785891715140724391727209761429510n
130x130_sq_1309268194404-90171594978689171514072439172720977944493n
130x130_sq_1309268195028-90171594978789171514072439172720978788078n
130x130_sq_1309268195668-901715949788391715140724391727209792672380n
130x130_sq_1309268196542-901715949788891715140724391727209806541992n
130x130_sq_1309268198710-901715949789391715140724391727209817202680n
130x130_sq_1309268201144-901715949789891715140724391727209822850475n
130x130_sq_1309268203031-901715949790391715140724391727209833112312n
130x130_sq_1309268207477-901715949792391715140724391727209861994555n

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1863
Describe your venue:
Inn / Bed & Breakfast, Manor / Mansion, Winery / Vineyard
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Vintage, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
150
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
24
Number of suites
4
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3000
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at the Southern Mansion a few weeks ago and still cannot stop thinking about how beautiful and smooth everything was. The location is amazing and extremely romantic. We had a wedding with under 100 people so it was very intimate and cozy. We also had many guests stay there so it was nice to be surrounded by everyone. Andreea was amazing and extremely accomodating and responsive. She made me feel extremely comfortable and relaxed with how the plans were progressing as I live three hours away from Cape May and could not monitor everything as closely. We depended heavily on her and could not have asked for a better job. All of the vendors she recommended were amazing as well. We are over the moon about the whole experience and cannot wait for our pictures to come back as the grounds and the decor at the Southern Mansion are gorgeous. We can't wait to go back for future stays and do not have enough nice things we could say about Andreea and the rest of the staff at The Southern Mansion
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor & Brandon
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Our day was incredibly flawless and stunning thanks to Andreea (Wedding Coordinator) and all of The Southern Mansion's staffs' hard work the day of our wedding. Even the days leading up to the wedding were relaxing and lovely, at the mansion, with their stunning rooms and relaxing atmosphere (and terrific breakfast too!)

Throughout the year and a half it took planning our day with Andreea, she continuously worked with us in a timely and flexible manner that always met our requests and needs. Not only did she help to coordinate our day and make sure it ran smoothly and comfortably during the ceremony, she also was hands-on throughout the entire evening with the rest of the cocktail hour and reception staff. All of the cocktail hour and reception staff were EXTREMELY kind and professional and certainly added to making our day feel magical.

The food was outstanding at both our cocktail hour and reception. Guests continue to tell us how delicious all of the hor d'oeuvres and food displays were, and are still commenting on how the filet mignon and flounder with crab imperial was the best they've ever had. Guests certainly did not leave hungry from our wedding! All were satisfied and so impressed with our venue.

We could not have asked for a more beautiful, memorable day. Our guests are still raving about how amazing The Southern Mansion and our wedding was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at the Southern Mansion was absolutely perfect! From the first time we saw the venue to our last song at the reception, it was a wonderful experience! Our guests loved the unique set up and decor of the venue. Andreea, the on site wedding coordinator was awesome! Our outdoor wedding didn't work out due to rainy weather and she was so accommodating to make sure our " plan b"'was flawless. We were fortunate to fill all the rooms at the bed and breakfast so our wedding had a laid-back, house party feel. The food was outstanding, the venue/landscape is beautiful and Andreea went above and beyond. There are many gorgeous locations on the property for pictures.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We stayed at the Southern Mansion for our wedding weekend, and had a large room block of guests stay there as well. We also had our rehearsal dinner there the night before the wedding.

The grounds rooms of the Southern Mansion are just stunning on their own, but it was really the impeccable service and attention to detail that made our time there so wonderful. Andreea helped us plan everything from start to finish, and was incredibly attentive and responsive. The rehearsal dinner was so beautiful and went so smoothly, and it was really her attention to detail that made the difference.

We also got ready there and took a lot of photos there before the wedding. It was just gorgeous, and the staff were very accommodating and helpful.

The rooms are just incredible. Each one is different, and all of our guests commented on how wonderful the rooms looked and were prepared.

It was also very nice that the Mansion is very centrally located in Cape May. Our guests all explored quite a bit before the wedding, and said it was nice not to have to travel far to get anywhere.

All in all, our stay at the Mansion could not have been better. We are very grateful for everything they did for us and thrilled with our decision to stay there.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
From the minute my fiance and I set foot into the Southern Mansion, we knew it was our wedding venue. The exterior and gardens are natural and lovely, and the interior rooms (think luxurious parlor, beautiful open sun porches, antique furniture and beautiful decor everywhere) are absolutely stunning. The venue is old-world charm with all the modern amenities you want.

Our coordinator at the Mansion, Andreea, was great from start to finish. She helped us coordinate all the little details, and she's obviously very experienced because she made great recommendations on the best way to do things for our day. She followed through on everything we asked, and even on the day of the wedding was constantly silently behind the scenes, making sure everything got done. We couldn't be more grateful for her help!

The ceremony we had was absolutely lovely and the most unique part (if you choose to do an outdoor ceremony) is your grand entrance down the spiral staircase at the back of the garden. It makes for some incredible photographs as well.

Overall, we just couldn't be happier with how our day went. I highly recommend checking out the Southern Mansion. We're already hoping to spend some anniversaries in some of their beautiful guest rooms in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Southern Mansion responded with the following comments:

Dear Heather,

Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a true pleasure having you here and we are happy to hear that your event experience with us was great. We wish you all the best in your married life and we are looking forward to seeing you again for a romantic getaway on your future anniversaries!
Sincerely,
Andreea Denes,
Director of Events
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natasha
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
The Southern Mansion was the best venue a bride could ask for (especially one with a small wedding of 65 guests) and I am so glad we were married there! From the first contact we had with Andreea, the site coordinator, she made planning our event extremely easy! Always willing to answer my questions (no matter how crazy), Andreea was very accomodating, even allowing my mom and I to drop by a year after our brief first meeting (and recognized me!) to show her around.

The day of our wedding was executed flawlessly - Andreea and the Southern Mansion staff are true professionals and know how to make an event memorable! All setup details we agreed upon during the planning process (bar setup, moving decorations around, etc.) were done exactly as we had discussed - not one thing was off! The bartenders and servers were great, the food was DELICIOUS and everything was just so... PERFECT.

The Southern Mansion is nothing like your typical "wedding factory", mediocre wedding venue. I was given so much attention during the planning process and the mansion is so beautiful on its own, it doesn't need much to dress it up! If you are looking for a unique, vintage-themed venue for a small group, look no further!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1373063131697-avatar
Melissa
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I really could not say enough about Andreea, Barbara and the entire Southern Mansion staff. We wanted a wedding with less than 100 people in a beautiful, intimate setting. When we found the Southern Mansion on line, we knew we found something beautiful. I called Andreea the next day as we didn't want to fall in love with something we couldn't afford and we wanted to start making a budget. Andreea sent over the packages immediately! She was so sweet and warm on the phone and I could feel in my core that The Southern Mansion was going to be different! The Packages were affordable giving us many options that we could work out -- and with BYOB -- it was a financial home run!!
When I walked into the Southen Mansion, I was speechless!! It was perfect!! As a Manhattanite, I am extremely hard to impress -- and Trey and I knew that "The Diamond Room" at the same old catering hall wasn't the wedding for us -- we booked on the spot!! At The Mansion, you get married in a beautiful garden, have a stunning staircase entrance, cocktails outside to enjoy the grounds, a beautiful dinner in the solarium and a dance revolution in the ball room. Aside from the gorgeous Victorian Mansion, the other reason to book The Southern Mansion is Andreea, the wedding coordinator. Andreea was there, always promptly answering emails and offering honest suggestions. As The Southern Mansion is not a cookie-cutter venue, Andreea walks you through each detail. She provides detailed check lists and bills. Everything was always crystal clear and honest. While being the complete professional, Andreea manages to completely capture your heart! She isn't just doing a job, she will work tirelessly to make your day perfect. I will never forget that Andreea even lent me her own facinator that she wore on her wedding day for me to use as my Kentucky Derby Wedding Hat. I wore it during dinner, as it was a symbol of how much Andreea truly cared about us and how thankful we'll always be!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Andreea and the rest of the staff were wonderful at the southern mansion. She was always available to answer any questions about the wedding. Our families loved the food at the reception. It was a wedding like no other. My husband and I had the greatest day of our lives there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was amazing!!! The entire experience from start to finish was so smooth, Andreea made everything turn out exactly as I had imagined! We got so many compliments on how gorgeous the venue and ceremony were. I highly recommend the Southern Mansion for weddings, the photos alone make it worth it, especially if you're into the vintage theme.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ZaneBrazell
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a fairly long engagement (17 months) and we were planning our wedding from afar (as we lived in Colorado at the time). I was able to return to New Jersey several times before the wedding to take care of a lot of things - and I'd have to say that since I love being organized and planning things, it was all a lot of fun for me.
Our wedding coordinator from the Southern Mansion, Andreea, was absolutely amazing. I must admit that I made the mistake of reading some of the reviews posted on here before writing my own. I saw the extremely negative review posted on here and it made me feel very angry. Like the other bride who had written said review, I was not a fan of the fake plants. The Southern Mansion takes away any fake plants they have on the floor free of charge except for those hanging ferns BECAUSE IT'S A PAIN IN THE NECK TO TAKE THEM DOWN. I understood this, but apparently that bride did not. ALSO - I actually lost that battle with my mom. She didn't want to pay the measly $200 fee and I said I'd pay for it out of my own pocket, but I guess my mom really loved them... and when they're hanging in that room, NO ONE knows they're fake anyway and no one even notices them.
Secondly, the chairs - that's another thing that kind of hit home for me. My mom wanted the white chairs. We ended up getting the gold chairs (which is what it sounds like this bride ended up with). The gold chairs are made for indoor seating. They are higher than the white ones (which are for outdoor seating). Also - if you had your ceremony on the grounds, they'd have to move the chairs during your cocktail hour.
That's enough about that.....

We had an amazing experience at the Southern Mansion for our wedding. Our guests were happy, we were happy, and it couldn't have been more beautiful - despite the last minute rain. The turquoise Victorian room is STUNNING. The guest rooms are absolutely incredible. Our photographer took some great shots with the antique clawfoot tub that I will cherish forever.

And none of what happened could have been pulled off without the help of Andreea. I found her to be an excellent communicator and extremely accommodating. She understood exactly what I wanted and I was able to give her verbal instructions in addition to my detail sheet. The rest of the staff was also a delight. And the food (for wedding food, especially), was outstanding.

I honestly could not have been a happier bride. It's easy when you find the right groom, of course (which I have), but when the ceremony and reception site end up exceeding expectations, it makes the wedding day that much more magical.

If you want some cheesy New Jersey experience, go somewhere else. If you want an elegant wedding where all of your guests will be talking about how it was the best wedding they've ever gone to, have your wedding at the Southern Mansion.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1310511384726-fbavatar1571195140
Amanda
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I don't think there are enough words to express how wonderful my wedding was at the Southern Mansion. We planned our July 2011 wedding with the southern mansion for over a year. Living almost 3 hours away from Cape May, we thought it was going to be tough to plan, but the entire process was as smooth as can be. The event planner Andreea is nothing more then wonderful! She made our day so special. Every detail of our wedding that we discussed, Andreea made it happen. There was no scrambling, frustrations, or problems with our wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better person to plan it. The food for the cocktail hour and reception was absolutely delicious. All of the food came out as scheduled and at the perfect temperature. The venue is gorgeous with beautiful ground and flowers, the woodwork is absolutely stunning... and the rooms are immaculate and clean. Our ceremony was held on the Southern Mansion grounds and it was beautiful. Being in the garden with all of the flowers just made it so special. The Southern Mansion is so beautiful, the atmosphere is perfect for a wedding.

Our guests were blown away with our wedding. Everyone gave us compliments. I heard so many times "this was the best wedding I've ever been to". Its hard to explain but you can't imagine how beautiful your wedding will be at the Southern Mansion until you are actually there. It was so memorable and we look forward to going back time and time again. Thank you to the Southern Mansion, their staff, and Andreea for the perfect wedding day. - Amanda & A.J. 7/10/11
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at The Southern Mansion on June 25th, 2011. It was so amazing. The service, food and grounds were very beautiful! Andreea was very very helpful throughout the whole process. Andreea made my wedding flow so smoothly and made sure our guests and my husband and I had everything that we needed!!!! I could not have imagined a better place for my wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SheffaWife
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our reception at the beautiful Southern Mansion in Cape May, NJ on May 14, 2011. I always wanted to be married down at the shore. My parents, husband and I checked out a few places in Cape May. After seeing the Southern Mansion, we knew it was the place we wanted to have our reception. No other place came close to the beauty of the Southern Mansion. The gardens, the decor, everything about the Southern Mansion will have you in awe. We had about a two year engagement so I had plenty of time to plan for everything. Andreea, the wedding coordinator, was a pleasure to work with. She accomodated our needs every step of the way. She made sure everything ran smoothly. I had not a care in the world with her running everything.

We had a small wedding of 100 people which fit perfect in the South Wing Solarium. Dinner was delicious! We had a taste testing about 2 months prior to the wedding and chose the dinner choices. Everything at the tasting was delicious but we agreed on Crab Cake and Filet Mignon. All the food, including hors douvres and our soup and salad were excellent. Hats off to the chef!

We had planned on having cocktail hour outside in the beautiful garden, however, due to the weather forecast, Andreea called me the day before the wedding and said that we had to go with plan B, which was to have cocktail hour in the South Wing Ballroom. We were still able to take pictures outside as the day was not a total washout. Even though this was our plan B, we still got so many compliments on how beautiful everything was.

We received so so many compliments on how great the venue was and how different the reception was from any other wedding they had been to. This was exactly why we chose the Southern Mansion. It is not your typical wedding reception venue, but that it what we wanted. I would not have changed anything! Please check out the Southern Mansion for yourself. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annarella
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were very fortunate to be married at the lovely Southern Mansion in magical Cape May, NJ on April 17, 2010. This review has been a long time coming. Words cannot express how lovely we feel the Mansion is nor how wonderful, kind, organized and professional Andreea the Wedding Coordinator was and is. Those close to me describe me as meticulous, particular, obsessive and demanding. I made extensive calls and wrote numerous emails to Andreea as well as to Denise, the B & B Manager as I live in Northern NJ, so I had to rely on Andreea, the coordinator and her colleagues immensely. Consistently, they responded promptly and answered my questions (i.e., do you think this dish is better than the other dish, which tastes better, which is the best dessert, what do you think of my flowers, etc...). Andreea deserved a drink or two after dealing with me! Even during unexpected occurrences, such as a change of room, cancelled and rescheduled reservations, they were on top of it all! Andreea and the Beautiful Mansion and excellent staff truly made my day everything and more than what I had expected or imagined.

My guests still thank me for having invited them to my wedding, as they had such a great time. They loved everything about it, the place, the management, and the food! It was a great reassurance to know that on such a stressful day for any bride, Andreea took care of everything, leaving me without unnecessary worries. Had I gotten married in Northern NJ, my wedding would have been a cookie cutter type wedding that most have up north, not to mention my beautiful wedding would have certainly been much more expensive.

I would highly recommend the Southern Mansion to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vroma
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband, Sam, and I are two busy professionals, having a blended family consisting of five children ranging in ages 21 to 8. So certainly, anyone would understand some delays in the ordering and receiving of our wedding pictures. Well, the day has finally come and even though we saw a glimpse of how the wedding appeared in our guests’ eyes, now that we have the professional photos, we can truly begin to appreciate the beautiful Southern Mansion, and our favorite Wedding Planner, Andreea Leaha. Andreea, as promised, the Southern Mansion was beautifully appointed in antique holiday Christmas decorations. You can tell by the photos, that Andreea’s experience in transitioning from the ceremony to the cocktail hour to the formal reception was seamless. Both Sam and I can’t begin to share our appreciation for how Andreea managed the support staff to be attentive to all our guests’ needs. Our guests came from all over the country to meet and stay the entire wedding weekend with us at the Southern Mansion. Andreea’s professionalism, attention to detail and complete care of our needs made it a wonderful experience for all of us. In closing, my family and I want to thank Andreea and the Southern Mansion for making our special day truly beyond any expectation. We love Andreea and the Southern Mansion.
Love,
Vera Romania
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
My son and his new wife were married at the Southern Mansion on August 11, 2012. We could not have been happier with the services provided for our event. The check-in for our guests was smooth, the rooms were gorgeous and the grounds were absolutely beautiful for a summer garden wedding. We were so looking forward to the bride making her entrance to the ceremony walking down the spiral staircase into the garden. The weather gods were not cooperating with our plans and it rained off and on for most of the day. As the wedding time was approaching we were very nervous - but our wedding coordinator, Andreea, remained calm and collected. She worked with us until the last moment to make the bride and groom's dreams come true and we had the ceremony as planned in the Southern Mansion garden! It was fabulous! With flooding in all the surrounding shore towns due to the heavy rain we were so lucky that we were able to continue as planned. The staff was organized and efficient and the food was delicious! The breakfast that is served in each was wonderful as well. Everyone who attended the wedding celebration raved about the event. We cannot thank Andreea and her staff enough for making my son's wedding a success. Be sure to check out the Southern Mansion!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mander3117
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.8/5.0
The Southern Mansion hosted a wonderful wedding for my husband and I and all of our guests. The food was outstanding and service by waitstaff and bartenders was professional and courteous. All involved worked well with our vendors and ensured the day went smoothly.

This is a beautiful location and we wanted to have our wedding there from the moment we thought of it. The grounds and house are extremely well kept, adding to the beauty of any wedding day.

The variety of packages offer so many choices that we had trouble deciding on some options, but we always knew that no matter our choices we wouldn't be disappointed.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Loraine Bashforth
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.8/5.0
We held our wedding and reception this past July at The Southern Mansion, which is a beautiful, historic location. We live in England and had guests from all over Europe and the USA in attendance -- from England, Germany, Sweden, Ireland, Canada as well as California, Georgia, Florida and other states. After asking our guests to travel all that way for our wedding, we needed it to be special and it was. We planned it for over a year with the help of the Southern Mansion's special events manager, Andreea Leaha, who was extremely responsive and helpful. We wanted our wedding ceremony to be held indoors in the main ballroom, which is a stunning room, instead of outside in the lovely gardens, which we thought might be too hot in July. (We were right. It was 98 degrees and humid.) The Southern Mansion accommodated our request (which entailed moving out all the antique furniture in order to accommodate chairs for the guests). We were able to hold our celebrations in various parts of the mansion. After our wedding ceremony was performed in the ballroom, we had cocktail hour on the porch and in the garden (in the shade!), and then dinner was held on another long porch. Afterward, dessert and coffee were served in a downstairs function room/ballroom, where we had music and dancing. The staff all worked very hard and were most pleasant during our 4 night stay. The wedding dinner was good without having a particular wow factor, but the food was not the most important aspect in making our decision. We could have upgraded some of the menu choices but decided not to, and it was fine. We live in England and only had 1 visit to the Southern Mansion in the months leading up to the wedding, and therefore it was crucial to us to have had the cheerful and responsive assistance of Andreea. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
spritey711
Wedding:
6/12/2011
0.4/5.0
First and foremost, I had a great wedding. I loved my wedding, but this was in spite of the Southern Mansion staff, especially their event coordinator, rather then because of them. The Southern Mansion does not value customer service or satisfaction.

The wedding coordinator worked against us at every turn, and when she did give into a special request (i.e. they remove the millions of fake plants they have adorning their porch), it was at a heavy cost. Even after we paid for certain services they were not accomplished with in the time promised. We were also charged heavily for her mistakes. For example, she gave us the wrong type of chair and charged us 700+ dollars. When I approached her about the mistake, she first blew me off, then later interrupted me while I am in the middle of saying good-bye to some guests to tell me it was my fault -- we had the wrong chairs because I didn't put the information in her detail sheet, even though there is not a place on the sheet for this information. Apparently the emails I had sent and the conversation we had in person was not enough. If the Southern Mansion were to offer a friendly, conscientious coordinator I would highly recommend them, but as it is now, the hassle and frustration is not worth the beautiful location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Southern Mansion responded with the following comments:

To quote the bride First and foremost “ I loved my wedding” and truthfully the wedding reception was excellent for Sarah Todd’s wedding. We received rave reviews from both sides of the wedding party, brides and groom’s mothers, and many guests both verbally and in writing. They event went beautifully and they ate danced and enjoyed every aspect to the fullest! Therefore, we are highly saddened that the bride’s happiness was so greatly reduced by a few issues.
#1 removal of hanging ferns 20 ft high above solarium. This was an additional service requested for the reception only and agreed for well in advance, and on the approved final bill provided well in advance of the reception. The removal of said plants is an extremely time consuming service which we are happy to provide and a price for this additional service of $200 was agreed on. Since the ferns were 20 ft in air this is not a five minute service and no profit is made on this after paying labor. The ceremony was scheduled for 430 pm the reception starting 5pm. The contract stated that all services were to be provided between the hours of 430 and 930pm. The offending fern were removed at 10am six and a half hours before the ceremony was contracted for. Frankly we would have been happy to remove them even earlier had that been requested or contracted for but it was not ever mentioned ** please see signed final bill provided week before wedding for approval** item circled
In regards to the chairs please see the signed and initialed contract where Sarah requested the upgrade from white wooden to gold Chivari at an additional cost of $5 per chair. Please also see the final bill which is provided to both wedding couple and mother well in advance of the wedding for their perusal and approval. Additionally please see check where they paid for and the approved final bill. The chairs in question were contracted for, the service was provided and used. The bride was a guest at the Southern Mansion days before the wedding, she saw the chairs being set up, all her guests used and enjoyed the upgraded services and only the day after the wedding was there an issue. It is unfortunate that sometimes all the additional services deemed so important before the wedding are not always viewed so after the day has come and gone
It was truly our only wish to provide an extremely special day for Sarah Todd’s wedding. From the wonderful accolades we received from so many we are very confused that these contracted services that were provided in an excellent and timely manner and even paid for before the event were after the event an issue.
Looking back we know that the reason we are so careful to have every thing signed and in writing is so that there is no confusion or misinterpretations as brides often change there minds may times over. With the additional fact that Sarah hired a wedding planner who again never brought any of this to our attention in advance we can only look at this as a learning experience. Our brides our the most import thing to us and we just want them to be happy. Kindly remove the negative review of the Southern Mansion.
Please feel free to contact us for any further needed proof of signed contracts or bills/payments. Denise 609-884-7171

MAP

 
720 Washington St., Cape May, NJ 08204 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Southern Mansion
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1306522223412-13