130x130 sq 1481296827 64e01e6910a19522 1382396476346 nadia and alex 8 31 13 2

Spirited Weddings with Deborah Roth

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

New York, NY 10025 US (map)

PHONE

212-665-9660

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congratulations – you’re engaged! And looking forward to a magical wedding day to launch the rest of your lives together. I am an ordained Interfaith Minister and I love helping couples... Read more
Congratulations – you’re engaged! And looking forward to a magical wedding day to launch the rest of your lives together. I am an ordained Interfaith Minister and I love helping couples create a wedding ceremony that reflects your unique personalities, spiritual beliefs and heartfelt feelings. My Master's thesis was on the power of transformative ritual, and I truly believe that weddings are the highest form of sacred play! Together, we craft a memorable, creative ceremony that elegantly (and playfully!) expresses your love for and commitment to each other.

When my husband Peter and I were married in 1981, we created our own ceremony with a minister and rabbi – pretty radical idea at the time. I certainly never thought I’d be helping couples do the same, 30 years later! Sometimes the couples I work with are from different faith traditions, as Peter and I were, and want to find common spiritual ground to celebrate this most joyous of life's passages.

Other times, couples are simply looking for a unique, creative way to express their love for and commitment to one another; they want someone to partner with them in creating a very personal and meaningful ceremony with little of the language, music, or visual symbols of a "traditional" wedding.

And of course, I'm delighted to work with same-sex couples who want to sacralize their bond in a special way as well. In all instances, we work together to craft a simple and beautiful ceremony which blends your vision and my expertise.

CREATING YOUR IDEAL CEREMONY

When you decide to create your own wedding ceremony, the world's traditions are your playing field. Certainly, you can opt for a creative blend of the religions of your respective families. You may even want to have more than one officiate present to represent different faith traditions. I have co-officiated with Rabbis, Buddhist Priests, and Christian Ministers, sometimes even with 2 others!

Or, you might want a contemporary ceremony which is completely original, drawing on elements and rituals from multiple traditions, including Native American, Celtic, Sufism, Islam, Earth-Centered Spirituality, Hinduism, Egyptian, to name a few.

You're invited to bring all your ideas to our first planning session and we'll also draw from the resources I've compiled over the years. If you're undecided about the location for your ceremony, I have lots of suggestions in the New York metro area as well. This is your ceremony and it will be as elaborate or simple as you want it to be.

ADDITIONAL WEDDING SERVICES

Pre-Marital Coaching
Sometimes it's helpful to have an objective third party hold the space for a couple as they contemplate the big issues of creating and sustaining a lifelong relationship. Work, family time, children, in-laws, spiritual life… these are some of the areas we can address so you can begin this new journey with confidence and excitement.

This can be done in 2 or 3 informal sessions, or you might want to consider the more structured 5-week program (complete with 55-page workbook) called "Partners in Life" (PIL). For more information on this powerful program, please check the bottom of the Relationship Coaching page on my website.

Bridesmaid CelebrationCircle
Imagine creating a magical web of support the day before the wedding with all of the special women (and girls) in the bridal party. We create an atmosphere of sacred play, allowing them to celebrate what they love most about the bride and giving her an opportunity to thank them for all their love and support.

Magical Bridal Showers
These are typically arranged with someone other than the bride and provide an opportunity for her friends and family to create a truly meaningful (but still thoroughly fun) celebration for her. Sorry, I'm not giving any details here… it's a surprise, so have your Maid of Honor call me!

Vow Renewals Whether you’ve been married 5 years or 25 years, renewing your marriage vows can be a powerful re-commitment to all of those promises you made when you were first married… as well as adding some important new insights you’ve gained since then! I’ve created intimate ceremonies with some couples and more elaborate ones for others as part of their larger “Happy Anniversary” festivities. As with the wedding ceremony, we tailor it to meet whatever style fits with your vision of a special anniversary celebration.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

So, if you want to create a personal, meaningful ceremony with a creative, experienced professional, please do give me a call at 212-665-9660 or email me so we can set up an FREE introductory meeting! Read less
Officiant , Unique Services

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1316794310641 alexandmike1
130x130 sq 1316794319359 careyandbryan1
130x130 sq 1316794329484 ninaandzoe2
130x130 sq 1316795293078 christinaaakashpic
130x130 sq 1316795339094 christineandbobbyphoto
130x130 sq 1316795374344 deborahandtom
130x130 sq 1316795380281 johnandjimwedding
130x130 sq 1316795385656 jaymeandluke908photo
130x130 sq 1316795669875 theresajoe1009
130x130 sq 1316795839203 allsmiles
130x130 sq 1316795849203 lynjim
130x130 sq 1316795867766 diannedavid1
130x130 sq 1381535932781 bruce and lenny 12 11
130x130 sq 1381536072200 sabrina and tad 5 26 13
130x130 sq 1381536256601 jaynie and kevin 9 21 13
130x130 sq 1381536310647 liza and justin 9 1 12
130x130 sq 1381536431155 megan and eric 9 9 12
130x130 sq 1381536509715 lee and greg 8 5 12 1
130x130 sq 1381536539404 fred lawrence deb
130x130 sq 1381536624684 amanda  jack 3 17 13
130x130 sq 1382396476346 nadia and alex 8 31 13 2
130x130 sq 1382396639618 dorothy and jeff 8 4 13
130x130 sq 1382396794406 christine and michelle 10 4 13 2
130x130 sq 1382396886856 larissa and vin 6 15 13 2
130x130 sq 1382397104506 abe and frank 5 4 13 2

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed, Premarital Counseling
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Earth-Based, Episcopalian, Hindu, Islam, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, No Denomination, Pagan, Presbyterian, Quaker, Shinto, Unitarian
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
CT, MA, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VT

INFO FOR UNIQUE SERVICES

What service(s) do you provide?
Tarot Card Reading

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Robert
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
Deborah,
Was amazing!!
She was thoughtful and easy to speak to about how we wanted our ceremony to go.
She really listed to us and know when to be firm on where her experience would be most useful to us, and kept the spirt of what we wanted captured. We love how easy she made it for us to just let go and speak our mind about how we felt about each other, and her warming heart came through in every session we had with her.

If you are looking for someone who truly cares and believes in what they are doing for couples. You want to go with Deborah.

Robert and Eli
Deborah,
Was amazing!!
She was thoughtful and easy to speak to about how we wanted our ceremony to go.
She Read more...
Deborah,
Was amazing!!
She was thoughtful and easy to speak to about how we wanted our ceremony to go.
She really listed to us and know when to be firm on where her experience would be most useful to us, and kept the spirt of what we wanted captured. We love how easy she made it for us to just let go and speak our mind about how we felt about each other, and her warming heart came through in every session we had with her.

If you are looking for someone who truly cares and believes in what they are doing for couples. You want to go with Deborah.

Robert and Eli Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/1/2016
5.0/5.0
Deb was amazing in officiating our wedding! She made our ceremony so personal and heartfelt. We received so many comments from guests at our wedding about our ceremony. Would definitely recommend her 100%!
Deb was amazing in officiating our wedding! She made our ceremony so personal and heartfelt. We received so many comments Read more...
Deb was amazing in officiating our wedding! She made our ceremony so personal and heartfelt. We received so many comments from guests at our wedding about our ceremony. Would definitely recommend her 100%! Read less
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Tina
Wedding:
9/25/2016
5.0/5.0
I cannot fully describe how amazing our wedding ceremony was that Deborah helped us plan. We had a ceremony mixed with Jewish and Korean traditions. It was so unique and so thoughtfully planned out, and Deborah did a wonderful job creating a beautiful ceremony. She is so experienced with what she does that you will find the process to be seamless and smooth. However it doesn't feel "cookie cutter" at all. Everyone was crying at our ceremony, which I think is what you want, and you truly cannot go wrong choosing Deborah as your officiant. She is kind, listens, and is willing to learn about other cultures and traditions and incorporate them into your ceremony. We strongly recommend you to ask Deborah to be a part of your special wedding day.
I cannot fully describe how amazing our wedding ceremony was that Deborah helped us plan. We had a ceremony mixed with Read more...
I cannot fully describe how amazing our wedding ceremony was that Deborah helped us plan. We had a ceremony mixed with Jewish and Korean traditions. It was so unique and so thoughtfully planned out, and Deborah did a wonderful job creating a beautiful ceremony. She is so experienced with what she does that you will find the process to be seamless and smooth. However it doesn't feel "cookie cutter" at all. Everyone was crying at our ceremony, which I think is what you want, and you truly cannot go wrong choosing Deborah as your officiant. She is kind, listens, and is willing to learn about other cultures and traditions and incorporate them into your ceremony. We strongly recommend you to ask Deborah to be a part of your special wedding day. Read less
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/4/2016
5.0/5.0
Deborah is, as many of the other reviews stated, simply wonderful. She was recommended to us by another vendor, and we could not have been happier with her service and support. Deborah's calm presence and innovative approach to crafting unique ceremonies allows you to create a ceremony that is authentically your own in a fun, streamlined, and manageable way- something so valuable in the wedding planning process, especially since it concerns the most important part! We loved how Deb reviews different customs you can include and provides you with options for how to word each part- the end result being a ceremony you feel comfortably reflects your values. Deb was extremely responsive in communication, easy to schedule with, and great at articulating exactly what we wanted to share. In both planning and day of, Deb was professional, kind, couple-centered, and lovely to work with, and our family and friends loved her demeanor and the way she handled the ceremony. We can not recommend her more highly for any special occasion.
Deborah is, as many of the other reviews stated, simply wonderful. She was recommended to us by another vendor, and we Read more...
Deborah is, as many of the other reviews stated, simply wonderful. She was recommended to us by another vendor, and we could not have been happier with her service and support. Deborah's calm presence and innovative approach to crafting unique ceremonies allows you to create a ceremony that is authentically your own in a fun, streamlined, and manageable way- something so valuable in the wedding planning process, especially since it concerns the most important part! We loved how Deb reviews different customs you can include and provides you with options for how to word each part- the end result being a ceremony you feel comfortably reflects your values. Deb was extremely responsive in communication, easy to schedule with, and great at articulating exactly what we wanted to share. In both planning and day of, Deb was professional, kind, couple-centered, and lovely to work with, and our family and friends loved her demeanor and the way she handled the ceremony. We can not recommend her more highly for any special occasion. Read less
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Erica
Wedding:
7/16/2016
5.0/5.0
Deborah is the perfect person to help plan a unique and special wedding ceremony. She organized our thoughts, ideas and requests in such an eloquent way. Our ceremony exceeded our expectations and our guests commented that it was the most beautiful marriage ceremony they had ever gone to. We were honored to work with Deborah who was an instrumental part in making our wedding day beautiful.
Deborah is the perfect person to help plan a unique and special wedding ceremony. She organized our thoughts, ideas and Read more...
Deborah is the perfect person to help plan a unique and special wedding ceremony. She organized our thoughts, ideas and requests in such an eloquent way. Our ceremony exceeded our expectations and our guests commented that it was the most beautiful marriage ceremony they had ever gone to. We were honored to work with Deborah who was an instrumental part in making our wedding day beautiful. Read less
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for an Officiant around New York, look no further! We could not recommend Deborah more highly. We were organising the ceremony from the other side of the world with little idea of what we wanted and she made it so easy, even with our very different cultural and religious backgrounds. Deborah's combination of energy and calm on the day really helped steady us through a lot of tears and the guests all found her manner to be spot-on for both of us. When the time comes to renew our vows, we will be heading straight back to New York. Thanks Deb, you really helped make our day perfect.
If you are looking for an Officiant around New York, look no further! We could not recommend Deborah more highly. We were Read more...
If you are looking for an Officiant around New York, look no further! We could not recommend Deborah more highly. We were organising the ceremony from the other side of the world with little idea of what we wanted and she made it so easy, even with our very different cultural and religious backgrounds. Deborah's combination of energy and calm on the day really helped steady us through a lot of tears and the guests all found her manner to be spot-on for both of us. When the time comes to renew our vows, we will be heading straight back to New York. Thanks Deb, you really helped make our day perfect. Read less
Services Used: Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Joyce
Wedding:
2/20/2016
5.0/5.0
There is not enough i can say about Deborah. Finding her was a blessing. She is a warm, kind person with amazing energy who helped us create a special wedding ceremony. Not only that she's been coaching us with our relationship which i find so much fun and important in building a strong healthy marriage. She is passionate about what she does and it shows. You will not be disappointed in working with her. I highly recommend it.
There is not enough i can say about Deborah. Finding her was a blessing. She is a warm, kind person with amazing energy Read more...
There is not enough i can say about Deborah. Finding her was a blessing. She is a warm, kind person with amazing energy who helped us create a special wedding ceremony. Not only that she's been coaching us with our relationship which i find so much fun and important in building a strong healthy marriage. She is passionate about what she does and it shows. You will not be disappointed in working with her. I highly recommend it. Read less
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Scott
Wedding:
1/2/2016
5.0/5.0
My now-wife and I were deciding between using a friend as an officiant or going with someone more experienced, and our “external” search began and ended with Deb. We loved her vibe and energy and instantly knew she was the right person to marry us.

It’s absolutely no surprise that her reviews on here are uniformly glowing. She was a true professional throughout the entire process, providing us with a roadmap of where we were going and holding our hands – as much or as little as needed – throughout the journey. She was warm, insightful, and funny, and took a genuine interest in us throughout the process. And when it came time for the ceremony, she was of course at her best – flawless in execution, eloquent in delivery, and charming as always.

My wife and I cannot possibly recommend her anymore enthusiastically.
My now-wife and I were deciding between using a friend as an officiant or going with someone more experienced, and our “ Read more...
My now-wife and I were deciding between using a friend as an officiant or going with someone more experienced, and our “external” search began and ended with Deb. We loved her vibe and energy and instantly knew she was the right person to marry us.

It’s absolutely no surprise that her reviews on here are uniformly glowing. She was a true professional throughout the entire process, providing us with a roadmap of where we were going and holding our hands – as much or as little as needed – throughout the journey. She was warm, insightful, and funny, and took a genuine interest in us throughout the process. And when it came time for the ceremony, she was of course at her best – flawless in execution, eloquent in delivery, and charming as always.

My wife and I cannot possibly recommend her anymore enthusiastically. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Deborah was absolutely great! My partner was in California and I was in Australia while we were planning our wedding in NYC. Deborah guided us through the whole process, clearly outlined her service options and fees, was very timely in her responses and addressed all our questions. Her ceremony templates were very helpful in planning and guiding our ceremony, and allowed for customisation to make it ours.

On the day, Deborah was punctual, patient, warm and friendly. My parents had come all the way from Australia for the day, and Mum couldn't stop raving about how genuine and lovely Deborah was. She helped us feel at ease, and lead a beautiful ceremony.

All in all, we couldn't recommend Deborah enough!!
Deborah was absolutely great! My partner was in California and I was in Australia while we were planning our wedding in Read more...
Deborah was absolutely great! My partner was in California and I was in Australia while we were planning our wedding in NYC. Deborah guided us through the whole process, clearly outlined her service options and fees, was very timely in her responses and addressed all our questions. Her ceremony templates were very helpful in planning and guiding our ceremony, and allowed for customisation to make it ours.

On the day, Deborah was punctual, patient, warm and friendly. My parents had come all the way from Australia for the day, and Mum couldn't stop raving about how genuine and lovely Deborah was. She helped us feel at ease, and lead a beautiful ceremony.

All in all, we couldn't recommend Deborah enough!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/4/2015
5.0/5.0
We were looking for a ceremony that would encompass the feel of a formal wedding without the strong religious component. Deborah delivered this perfectly for us. She was very professional from the first phone conversation through the day of the wedding. She has mastered her craft and really knows how to read couples and help them customize the ceremony effectively. She clearly has a significant amount of experience that comes across on the big day. We received many inquiries on her services in the days following. As said, although we are both Catholic, we were doing a beach ceremony and didn't want to use a priest, she was the perfect solution and went way beyond our expectations.
We were looking for a ceremony that would encompass the feel of a formal wedding without the strong religious component. Read more...
We were looking for a ceremony that would encompass the feel of a formal wedding without the strong religious component. Deborah delivered this perfectly for us. She was very professional from the first phone conversation through the day of the wedding. She has mastered her craft and really knows how to read couples and help them customize the ceremony effectively. She clearly has a significant amount of experience that comes across on the big day. We received many inquiries on her services in the days following. As said, although we are both Catholic, we were doing a beach ceremony and didn't want to use a priest, she was the perfect solution and went way beyond our expectations. Read less
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
New York, NY 10025 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Spirited Weddings with Deborah Roth
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1481296827 64e01e6910a19522 1382396476346 nadia and alex 8 31 13 2