130x130_sq_1392911813263-2851951145003486451557034878

Spitz & Peck - Manhattan

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

16 W 36th St, Suite 1201
New York, NY US 10018 (map)

PHONE

212-688-9100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Spitz & Peck is a prominent floral decorator serving the Tri State area as well as special events around the country. Our talented design team will work with you one on one to transform... Read more
Spitz & Peck is a prominent floral decorator serving the Tri State area as well as special events around the country. Our talented design team will work with you one on one to transform your ideas into beautiful and creative designs and make your visions come to life. We are proud to offer the finest flowers from around the world including rare tropical’s, European blossoms, wild flowers and high fashion award winning designs.

Our full service offers canopies, pedestals, unique props and accessories, linen and chair rental, lighting, dance floors, furniture, party planning, invitations, calligraphy and favors. Please feel comfortable knowing that no party is too big or too small for us. We look forward to working with you exclusively, and to exceed your dreams.

Spitz and Peck Florist is one of the largest and well known floral decorators in the tri state area. We are famous for being the most creative in party and wedding decorations for many generations. Read less
Flowers

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
Free
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup

REVIEWS

3.4
out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
3.4/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.1/5.0
3.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joann
Wedding:
6/15/2014
2.6/5.0
I went to Spitz & Peck because it was a recommended florist of The West Mount Country Club & I had could chose only there house florist. At first I was happy to work with them & what they had to offer. I showed them photos of colors & ideas I liked. And it was all good. I had a budget in which they worked with. But the day of my wedding when my bouquet & all my bridesmaids bouquets showed up at my house I burst into tears!!! Some of the roses were half dead, discolored & with brown in them! They put no greeny/leaves in any of the bouquets so they looked empty & not full! They were just stems rolled up in ribbon & stuck together with pins which pricked my finger! The flower girls bouquet was the worst with like 3-4 roses together. They all looked horrible! I was so disappointed & embarrassed. Thank God only the center pieces came out pretty but I don't know why the bouquets were poorly put together! They even had to sent me another bouquet to my catering hall & then it looked better. Just wish it was done right the first time. It was just very upsetting for me & everyone & on my Wedding day! People have all kinds of budgets & it don't mean to still do a bad job.
I even tried emailing John of Spitz & Peck & I sent him photos of how the bad the flowers looked when they arrived at my home & never received a response! Oh Well!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mariya
Wedding:
4/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Spitz & Peck because they were on the florist list (we had to pick one) from the Yale Club. We visited several florists on the list and felt that Spitz & Peck provided the best value and were the most professional. I was a little hesitant because they had several negative reviews, but my experience was great. The only caveat is that the week of my wedding, the company apparently sold to another flower company and my contact (Wade) was no longer with the florist. Nevertheless, my event was completely seamless, the flowers were gorgeous, everything was better than I imagined. For a Manhattan florist, he was willing to work within our budget, and still provide beautiful flowers.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
I can't believe this florist even gets a 3. The one good thing I can say is that the actual flowers was new and very clean. There werent enough of them though. They were setting up the entryway as people were coming in. They used cheap materials to put everything together, including our chuppah and bouquets. And they had the nerve to ask for a tip while I was getting ready to walk down the aisle. All the pressure made me give them the tip, but I can't tell you how badly I want to ask for it and more back. At least flowers don't make the wedding, the band and food are the most important, and mine were both excellent. Please run in the other directions. And stay away from Stefan's as well.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.7/5.0
Our wedding was at the Yale Club NYC and Spitz&Peck were on the list of required florists we had to use at our venue. Spitz & Peck seemed to offer the most for our money so that’s why we went with them. In the end, it didn’t seem like this was the case. We liked our flowers but were not blown away by them. Wade was responsive to our calls and emails. He was very friendly, but we were rubbed the wrong way when he suggested an outlandish tipping amount. For him to even mention that we tip was tasteless.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
10/27/2013
0.0/5.0
While Wade, the owner of Spitz and Peck was lovely to deal with BEFORE the contract was signed, his demeanor COMPLETELY changed afterwards. His conversation was rife with sarcasm (eg "Well if you want those flowers which are out of season, maybe you would know where to get them because I sure don't"). When I called him after our affair to discuss some issues with him (He completely ignored my daughter's selection of the type of wedding canopy selected, which he saw a photo of, the bridal bouquets were not what she chose, and he forgot to bring the mezinka wreaths), he took a defensive and defiant attitude. I would have completely understood if he had taken a conciliatory attitude and apologized (after all, anyone can make a mistake), but he acted as if we should have been grateful to him for allowing him to serve us! How totally obnoxious! Thus was not a charity case, and we paid good money to use Spitz and Peck, although to speak to Wade, you would think he was doing us a favor! There are many many florists in NYC, and I would definitely choose another one of those, and never use Spitz and Peck .
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.7/5.0
We met with Bobby Holland from Spitz & Peck in Cedarhurst. He gave a great first impression - he was very friendly, came prepared with sample centerpieces based on what we had requested, and gave us what I felt was a fair price. We met with him a second time closer to our wedding date and I became a little nervous; he seemed to have forgotten some of the things we spoke about, even though my wedding planner had written everything down for him. I went over everything with him, and then my wedding planner called a few days before the wedding to go over everything with him again. He did not deliver the day of. They were late with the bouquets, so we did not have them for the first few rounds of pictures. And albeit pretty, the bouquets were not what I asked for. My bouquet in particular was totally wrong and as I'm looking back at my pictures I am cringing at some of the colors in it. The chuppah did not have as many flowers as we had agreed on. And there were issues with the centerpieces, pomanders, cake flowers and boutonnieres as well, which my wedding planner had to deal with instead of assisting me. The only positive thing I have to say about Spitz & Peck was that the quality of the flowers was good. But otherwise this vendor was horrible.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Wade from Spitz&Peck. I had my wedding at the Yale Club and Spitz&Peck is one of their in house florists. Working with Wade was a wonderful experience, he had a lot of great ideas and the end result was beyond my imagination: the flowers were picture perfect and my bridal bouquet, which was made of small orchids, was exquisite.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
We worked with John at Spitz & Peck in Livingston, NJ, because they were one of four florists that our venue required. While I can't speak for other locations of this florist, I can say that John was responsive and genuinely worked to meet our needs and stay within our budget. We had several appointments and he truly listened to what we asked for, in terms of venue decor, centerpieces, and bouquets. We were pleased with how everything turned out, but the icing on the cake (so to speak) was that when I got to the venue on our wedding day, the cake, which was meant to be decorated with fresh flowers, had multicolored flowers on it--and I had specifically asked for white flowers, which we'd discussed in advance. John fixed it less than 2 hours before the wedding, and the cake looked perfect.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.8/5.0
Wade and his team did a fantastic job for our wedding. I have never seen such large roses in my life and they executed my vision perfectly. I was extremely happy with the results.
Services Used: Flowers
Bg2
Jen
Wedding:
8/25/2012
0.7/5.0
My mother used Spitz and Peck for 3 Bar Mitzvahs years back and had a great experience with Brian (out of their Brookville location), so I met with him as well. I had a specific image in my head of what I wanted & even brought him visuals to work with. But for some reason, I didn't really connect with Brian, & wasn't confident that he knew what I was looking for, so I decided to go to their other location in Cedarhurst and work with his father, Bobby. BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE. He is the meanest, rudest, most despicable person I met throughout my year-long wedding planning experience. He made my experience awful. First of all, he doesn't listen-AT ALL. He didn't care about what I wanted, he only cared about what he wanted. When he put together sample, and I told him I was looking for something more "nature-like", he shouted "Nature? You want nature? Let's go outside and I'll show you nature." He is a loud, obnoxious, confrontational, egomaniac. After he realized what a jerk he had been (due to the fact that I was in tears), he brought out his designer, Marty, to help out. Marty took the time to listen & created exactly what I was looking for. That made me feel better. He also promised me that I wouldn't have to work with Bobby ever again. Before we left, my dad gave Marty a generous tip, in good faith, to help ensure things would run smoothly on the wedding day. Things ran smoothly, but I was really disappointed with my centerpieces. They were nowhere near as full as the samples. We compared them to pictures we took of the samples & and they totally skimped on flowers & put together half of what they promised. Bouquets were beautiful & so were the flowers on my table, but boutonnieres were not what I wanted. Huppah was also "thin." For the high price we paid, we definitely got ripped off & deceived. I should have left after Bobby treated me like crap. Marty also had the nerve to ask my dad for another tip at the wedding. Here's a tip: DONT USE SPITZ & PECK!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We worked with Wade from Spitz and Peck for my daughter's 06.23.12 wedding. Wade is creative, warm and a delight to work with.
The flowers for our chuppah, centerpieces and bouquets were out of this world. My daughter wanted an elegant, old New York theme, but at the same time wanted everything unique. Wade designed everything using all of our ideas and input. He created a beautiful fairytale of flowers! He was very detailed and left no stone unturned. Would we use Spitz and Peck again?? Yes, yes, yes!! Thank you Wade for helping to create a wonderful day and memory.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Hi Wade,

Avi and I just returned from our honeymoon and now that life is getting back to normal I just wanted to shoot you a quick email and thank you for the truly beautiful job that did for our wedding. The flowers were just magnificent and I like how you added fake snow on the entry table. Thanks so much for everything!! I don't anticipate having another wedding but I will definitely refer you to my friends. Thank you so much!

Best,
Sarah
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R
Wedding:
8/27/2011
4.9/5.0
Working with Wade was easy, and he did a fantastic job with the floral arrangements. He stuck within our budget and delivered a beautiful result.
Services Used: Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mercedes
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.8/5.0
very professional and they work within your budjet. absolutely beautiful work
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Newlywed12345
Wedding:
7/2/2011
0.8/5.0
I was married on July 2, 2011 and worked with Spitz and Peck in Huntington. They promised the world and delivered very little. My bouquet was handed to me with dying flowers. I asked to speak with the designer twice and he would not even acknowledge me once I finally found him. My maid of honor's bouquet was missing along with the rest of the bridal bouquets because they rewrote the order wrong. One of the staff from the florist opened an emergency exit door and set off the fire alarm during my ceremony. They replaced the dying flowers in my bouqet with fake ones. If I wanted fake flowers I could have made everything myself at Michaels and saved money. I have been calling there since July 3and no one has returned my call. the y are unprofessional and are now telling other brides I know that I never asked for flowers for my bridal party. My contract says otherwise and I do not think it is necessary to make up lies.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
5/14/2011
0.9/5.0
I really wish that I looked up Spitz and Peck's reviews on Wedding Wire before booking them for my May reception at the Roosevelt Hotel. After never getting a contract from the florist that I initially planned on using, I decided to turn to the "preferred" vendors for the Roosevelt Hotel. I emailed Spitz and Peck and set up a meeting right away. I met with Wade, who was very friendly and charismatic, and I was convinced to give a deposit to secure him for my wedding day. I gave him our floral budget (which was quite hefty, even by New York terms) and gave him pictures of exactly what I wanted. My husband's uncle is a event planned and floral designer in Miami so he completely designed our vision but wasn't able to physically assemble our floral work because he didn't have a workspace in New York. Wade said that he would be willing to work with our uncle and would only be responsible for our table centerpieces and cocktail hour flowers. He did not have to design anything or even provide that many flowers.
When I had my first mock-up meeting, I was greatly disappointed. He didn't follow my requests AT ALL and barely used any flowers in the center pieces. Our tall centerpieces (which were going to be about 1,200 dollars PER PIECE) were full of greenery and leafs, which I asked not to have and filler flowers like babies breath and hydrangea. He stuck about 5-10 roses in the large centerpiece and then pulled then apart to make them look bigger.
Panicked, I called my husband's uncle and devised a plan to fix the problem. I was going to cut back on many arrangements (which our uncle ended up doing for 1/50 of the price) and still allowed Wade to keep the extra money to ADD MORE FLOWERS to every centerpiece.
I was so dissapointed with the way the flowers turned out for our wedding reception. I spotted way, way too many pulled-open roses, greenery, and filler flowers. Luckily, my uncle did all of our bridal work and our royal table centerpieces so the reception ended up looking beautiful. What was really frustrating was that we made over ten grand for 8 tall and 10 short centerpieces that looked like crap.
I'm strongly recommending that you do not use Spitz and Peck Florists!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Toby
Wedding:
2/8/2011
2.4/5.0
After our initial flower showing we were not happy and scheduled a second meeting with the owner Wade. He promised us all of our concerns would be corrected and addressed. He lied! Get everything in writing because they are a second class florist. We had a beautiful wedding despite the disappointment of spitz and peck flowers
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
partyguest
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.9/5.0
I'm a party planner, I had a party birthday party at the Royalton. I was thrilled with everything from the fine food to the party decorations provided by Spitz and Peck. This was a site to remember.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carole
Wedding:
4/3/2010
4.6/5.0
Wade was the first and ONLY florist I met with. He was so easy to work with, even though I was on a budget and had no real idea of what I wanted. There is something about him that you just know you can trust. I gave him only the foggiest ideas ( colors, and I like lillies and peonies), and he managed to create the most beautiful flowers I had ever seen. My jaw dropped when I saw them! They were bright and looked amazing in pictures. For what he charged me, I got SO much!! I will recommend them to anyone without hesitation.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.5/5.0
We hired Spitz and Peck florist for our wedding and it was a GREAT decision! We were planning our wedding and we needed a florist that we felt immediately comfortable with ,would be responsive and quick with any questions we had. During our initial phone conversation, I instantly felt comfortable with Wade. And when we met in person, we knew we were right ,he is warm, friendly and honest. He watched every detail, and listened to our needs, as well as offered us his opinions/advice based on his experiences. Our wedding day went off without a hitch! The entire day was effortless thanks to all the hard work from Wade and his wonderful staff. We honestly did not worry about a thing! We were able to just enjoy ourselves that day with our friends and family. We would recommend Spitz and Peck to everyone
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fallbride7
Wedding:
10/24/2009
1.8/5.0
We found Spitz and Peck to be very difficult to deal with. We were impressed in our first meeting and went ahead with our deposit. This is where things changed. They didn't listen to us an offered very limited options. I specifically told them how I hated a certain flower they put in the mock up of my maid of honor's boquet. They assured me either they would not use that flower or they would scrape out the middle ( a very ugly color). They did not do this and I thought her bouquet was really ugly. I was not a picky bride at all and we got married in a beautiful room at The Yale Club, so it didn't need much (thankfully). I just really hated both my bouquet and my maid of honor's. Also, my husband did not want boutineers. He didnt pick them out at all and then the day of, S&P shows up with boutineers. They must have been from someone elses wedding. Really disorgaized and a real bait and switch.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisa
Wedding:
10/5/2009
4.6/5.0
Spitz and Peck florist is terrific ! they could'nt be nicer , ask for Wade the owner , I loved him. Just tell them your budget, and let them work thier magic.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debra
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.8/5.0
Our flowers were amazing. Our budget was low for this vendor - who has an exclusive deal with the catering hall we got married in - but he worked with us and found gorgeous ways to save money using water and candles in addition to flowers - that all looked incredibly tasteful, pretty and unique. Certainly did not look like we did this on a budget. They were really creative and interested in all the other details - including photos of the dress, invitation, etc to get a sense of your style.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lauren
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
All my friends also used Spitz and Peck, and they could'nt have been happier. They work within your budget and give the best flowers and service.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
j9ferrari
Wedding:
5/31/2009
2.4/5.0
I originally met with them in their NYC office for our wedding of 50. I wanted simple purple roses in glass vases & received a quote from them for $2200- I thought this was really expensive for such a small wedding and told the manager at Water's Edge, our venue.
She immediately called Spitz & Peck and had them call me to re-negotiate. We wound up spending $1100 in total but the purple roses in my bouquet had brown petals and we received limp boutonnieres! I called Spitz & Peck the day after our wedding and left a message for Bob, the owner. I heard back from the manager who had delivered our flowers to the Water's Edge later that week, asking me what I wanted to do- I couldn't believe the lack of follow through and customer service. I won't recommend them.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erin719nyc
Wedding:
11/22/2008
0.0/5.0
This was the worst vendor I hired for my wedding, and the only reason I hired them was because I was required to choose from a select list of florists for my reception venue and the least insanely expensive. And yet, they were overpriced, rude, and nearly sent me into a fit of tears every time I met with them or they called me. Not only did they not listen to what I wanted, they didn't care -- and they lied about my options. They said the only flowers available in November were roses (which I detest) and hydrangea; anyone who has ever visited the flower district in NYC knows this is not true. They were condescending when I asked for something different. I brought in examples of things I liked and when I went in for my second consultation they didn't refer to any of that material; they were supposed to provide a "sample," which turned out to mean pulling half-wilted flowers out of their refrigerator, bunching them together and thrusting them at me. When they recommended using a bowl with floating candles (which I didn't even say I wanted) in the centerpieces, they said it would cost $50 more per table because our "guests would take them," even though their contract clearly states all materials in the centerpieces are THEIR property and I guarantee that none of my guests would be getting on an airplane the next day with a glass bowl full of water. Finally, even though my color scheme was blue, brown, gold and ivory, the flowers in their centerpieces were red, orange, light green white white.

Halfway through the process I decided to hire another florist to do my personal flowers because I was so upset with Spitz & Peck, which by that time had my non-refundable deposit, which I applied toward reception centerpieces. I did NOT want to carry a bouquet from them too.

The alternate florist provided gorgeous, creative bouquets (not roses or hydrangeas) in my color scheme for a fair price -- her bouquets were much commented-on at the wedding and she was a joy to work with, so I know good options exist.

The only good thing I can say about Spitz & Peck was that they made a really cool, stylish display for our cocktail hour, and the flowers they did provide for our reception tables -- despite being the wrong color and overpriced -- were fresh and the guests seemed to like them anyway. As our DOC said, they were "$40 centerpieces for which we paid $150."

Go elsewhere, and if your venue requires you to use a certain florist, make a fuss until they don't -- you will be giving the venue tens of thousands of dollars, and if they want to walk away from that just to get a kickback from the florist, then that's their problem. If enough people stand up to the practice (I wish I had), maybe it will go away.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.6/5.0
Expensive, but was the most reasonable out of the florists I had choose from. I actually used the Spitz & Peck in Livingston, NJ. John is extremely easy to talk to and very, very flexible. The flowers looked really fresh and beautiful he really made the ceremony and the wedding reception look amazing.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brent
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.7/5.0
Didn't hear complaints from the ladies so the florist must've been good. A lot of guests complemented on how beautiful everthing looked. A little on the expensive side, but I hear all good florists are expensive. I would recommend on the basis that no one complained & everyone seemed happy. :-D
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elsie
Wedding:
8/5/2005
3.6/5.0
Flowers were very nice, especially the bouquets. They were helpful in offering suggestions that were suitable for the occasion and worked with your ideas. Also, they were the required florist for Water's Edge so they're familiar with the venue. The only complaint I had was the centerpieces were missing dahlias (which was in the original contract for centerpieces). It took away a little bit from the overall effect of the pieces but were not noticeable by the guests.
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
16 W 36th St, Suite 1201, New York, NY 10018 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Spitz & Peck - Manhattan
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1392911813263-2851951145003486451557034878