Nophoto-130
(9)

St. Clement's Castle

Portland , CT

LOCATION

Portland, CT US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/12/2012
3.8/5.0
I wish I could give St. Clement's 5 stars. I was so excited to have my wedding there and had only read and heard wonderful things about the place. But unfortunately we were disappointed on our wedding day for a few reasons. While St. Clement's is an absolutely beautiful place and will blow your guests away, their food does not rise to the occasion. Our friends who had been to weddings there had raved about the food, and we had always been hell-bent on spending a lot on our wedding food to make it perfect. My fiance's filet tasted like it had been grilled ahead of time and microwaved the day of the wedding. It had no flavor AT ALL and tasted like sawdust. My sea bass was cold...not even a little warm. Keep in mind, these are two of their most expensive meals. We spent a lot of money on this food, and many of our guests told us their meals were unacceptable as well. Not to mention the fact that we had went out of our way to bring in Yuengling beer because it's not sold in CT. Our wedding planner knew all about it and had it in her possession two days before the wedding. Yet when cocktail hour was over and we asked for a Yuengling, the bartenders response was "Oh, that's your beer in the basement? No one told us what wedding it was for." My mom also spent extra on 36 bottles of chardonnay that the staff told us at 8pm was sold out. How do 36 bottles of Chardonnay sell out that fast? They don't. I can say that our planner the day of was very helpful and kept me calm and got me whatever I needed. I can also say that our guests were completely wowed by our location. But we were left embarrassed by food that was inadequate and mistakes that could have been avoided. The castle has gone out of its way to investigate our wedding and has apologized over and over again for the mistakes. They've also offered us free tickets to one of their premier events later in the year. But nothing will change what happened on our wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.8/5.0
We recently had our wedding reception at St. Clements and it was beautiful - the service was attentive, and the food (prime rib, sea bass, and goat cheese chicken) was delicious. We splurged for the raw bar during cocktail hour and the dessert table at the end, and are still receiving compliments about it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
As soon as we drove to this property, we knew it was where we would get married. The grounds are beautiful and unique. Not your typical venue, this location offers 2 rooms and each have their own special features for ceremony, cocktail hour and available space. Both are absolutely gorgeous! I chose the Prince Edward Ballroom with the horse stable used during cocktail hour.

In addition, the staff were EXCELLENT. Very attentive before, during and after the wedding. Making sure everything was exactly what it should be. Very professional.

To top it off, the cost of each plate is very comparable to most other wedding venues.

HIGHLY recommend this location for a wedding or event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeana
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
It was wonderful to work with Carol; she made us feel confident that our wedding day would be perfect and it certainly was. The grounds are absolutly beautiful and the staff worked together to make sure everything went smoothly. Thank you!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We were thrilled with all of our vendor decisions but hands-down the absolute best decision we made was our location--St. Clement's Castle. Absolutely breathtaking! Guests felt like they were transported to Europe as it has such a European flair--so unique and so, so beautiful. But the other reason why this was our BEST decision was because of Carol, our wedding planner and Katie, the banquet manager. I already miss them :( I feel like they became my second family. They were absolutely incredible to work with. So supportive, understanding, great sense of humor :), extremely professional and put hours and hours into making sure our reception was flawless. Yes, St. Clement's Castle is the most perfect venue in CT!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1287854167654-1000247
Elise
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Having our wedding at St. Clement's castle was the best decision and we were so pleased with how perfect our wedding day was there. Despite the pending Hurricane Irene our day went without a hitch. The staff were very organized and helpful during the whole process and we received rave reviews on the waitstaff service and food and of course the beauty of the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krystaface82
Wedding:
7/11/2010
4.0/5.0
The day was overall a beautiful time. The overall planning was poorly managed. They did not contact me until 1 week before my wedding. The only communication was by mail in forms, no one helped me plan and a wedding planner was promised in the package. I was told that I fell through the cracks because my planner got promoted. The wedding manager that I got on the day of my wedding was substandard. I could not find her half the time, she did not help with telling people what to do or keeping thing on time. I was told that they were understaffed that day, which for the money i paid was not a good excuse.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
attshee
Wedding:
6/9/2007
5.0/5.0
St. Clement's Castle and their staff were absolutely amazing. They helped plan and coordinate our reception flawlessly, and on the day of our wedding, everything ran more smoothly than could be imagined. We were 100% satisfied, and our expectations were met and exceeded. It poured on our wedding day, and still the reception was the most perfect party, enjoyed by all. A wedding anywhere other than at St. Clement's could never be anywhere near as extraordinary as ours!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AMLB0311
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
Everything was great! Everyone they recommended was wonderful! They went above and beyond!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for St. Clement's Castle
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo