130x130_sq_1366729165436-jsm1412front

Stars of Avon

Avon , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Avon, CT US 06001 (map)

PHONE

860-678-0590

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Stars has been dedicated to fulfilling all of your special occasion clothing needs since 1995. We offer personalized attention to all of our customers to ensure the highest standards of... Read more
Stars has been dedicated to fulfilling all of your special occasion clothing needs since 1995. We offer personalized attention to all of our customers to ensure the highest standards of customer service. We carry the largest selection of bridal, mother-of-the-bride/groom, bridesmaid, cocktail/blacktie, and prom dresses in Connecticut and Western Massachusetts. We look forward to your coming to our store at Riverdale Farms in Avon, Connecticut. Once in our store, you will find beautiful merchandise in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. We also offer a full-time staff of experienced seamstresses so that your alterations can be taken care of on-site.



Come shop with us and become a friend forever! Read less
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Veils

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betsy
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the best experience with the folks from Stars. Each and every employee treated me like I was special, their number 1 customer. My bridal consultant, Joanne, was awesome. She was very personable and professional. She remembered everything about me and my wedding, made me feel like a princess!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HNordmark
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Finding my wedding dress was one of the easiest purchases I have ever made, thanks to Stars of Avon. I went there with a budget in mind, a few pictures of the style of dresses that I liked and 5 minutes later I had my dream dress on! Karen, the owner, picked out the perfect dress just by asking me a few questions. I never felt pressured or hesitant, it was exactly how wedding dress shopping should be!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meg
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I purchased my second wedding dress/reception dress through Stars of Avon. I had my heart set on a Maggie Sottero dress new in 2011 that no other local salons besides Stars carried. I absolutely fell in love with the tea-length Isadora Ann gown, and the wonderful staff at Stars made my reception dress dream a reality! Their sales team is professional, knowledgeable, friendly, and communicative. Their seamstresses are amazing and really talented at what they do--it took very few fittings to get the look I wanted. Avon was quite a trip for us but I was so glad I was able to give them my business--they're wonderful at what they do!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1260748112287-dsc00909
Sara
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Very professional service from my initial try on to the final fitting. I purchased my girls' dresses and my mother purchased her dress there too! Very accommodating!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1199374105019-husbandandwife
Amber
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
We got my mom's and all my bridesmaid dresses at this location and we loved Nina who was the seamstress.... She was very overwelmed and I picked my dress up a day before the wedding... But LOVED them.. I have gotten all my dresses for every occation There....
Also you get a discount on Bridesmaids if you get yours there :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jazzyjessy306
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.9/5.0
The seamstress at Stars was amazing! My alterations came out beautiful and the dress fit perfectly. She even helped advise my mom on her alterations even though she got her dress at a different location.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/23/2013
4.8/5.0
Everyone at Stars was so wonderful to work with! I originally found them as the only place in CT that would order the dress that I wanted from the David Tutera for Mon Cheri line even though they didn't carry the dress in the store. I was able to come in and get measured and be assured that everything would be okay (which it was!).

The dress was in earlier than the timeline they gave me and Mina did my alterations. She did not complain at all during my 4 fittings when the hemline had to be taken up, then down again and when the neckline had to be taken in twice! It was beautiful and the craftsmanship in the the alterations was amazing- you couldn't see where anything was changed!

I got so many compliments on my dress and how beautifully it fit me. Stars was so kind and accommodating and I was so glad to support a local business!

Thanks again!

Stephanie
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rach
Wedding:
6/7/2014
4.7/5.0
I just bought my dress from Stars of Avon last weekend. Though I am not even halfway through the process of working with Stars (the dress will arrive in January with alterations to follow), I was extremely happy with my initial experience shopping there. Karen is wonderful! She was extremely responsive to both emails and my input while shopping for my gown. My experience with Karen was much less overwhelming compared to another shop I was at a few weeks prior where the consultant showed me an entire closest full of gowns. She had about 7 gowns picked out within my budget and along the lines of what I was looking for before I even arrived. Like many brides, I went in thinking that I wanted something (a ballgown) and ended up with something entirely different, which was ok! Unlike other salons, I did not need an appointment to look through bridesmaids dresses which we did right after I decided on my dress. Loved the selection and that I was the only girl there trying on gowns. I definitely recommend Stars of Avon.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.6/5.0
JoAnn and Karen were wonderful when selling my dress - they helped me find exactly the style I was looking for within my price range, and gave me many options for other accessories. They were always friendly and sweet, and ordered bridesmaid dresses for me even though they no longer carried the line. Mina, their main seamstress, was wonderful to work with. Absolute sweetheart personality, and really wanted to please me. I would highly recommend these lovely ladies! The only minor gripes I had, is that some things were a tad pricey, and my dress bustle broke during the reception and should have been a heartier bustle. Other than that, perfect experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1339972134577-img0496
Robin A.
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.6/5.0
My dress from Stars was amazing and I was so glad to have it. I think my skewed vision of the value comes from the fact that I chose a sample dress that needed a great deal of alterations I had to find elsewhere (I live in Colorado and the shop is in Connecticut, where my family is from).

I really enjoyed the consultant I worked with, who also owns the shop, and she actually opened the shop specifically for us since I was only home for a limited time. I had even warned her that I may not buy a dress there and she was still very accommodating!

I have heard that alterations can be very expensive here and sometimes they will push a bridesmaid into a larger size to be safe, but I didn't have any of these problems with them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cja972
Wedding:
6/19/2009
4.6/5.0
A little put off when we showed up unexpectadly....(answering machine message was lost/misplaced)....also a bit frosty to the prospect of groom and bride shopping together.

But on the other hand...good service, flat fee alterations with three scheduled fitting sessions and a fourth thrown in free of additional charge, great merchandise, excellent, phenomenally talented, detail oriented seamstress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/25/2013
4.5/5.0
I got my wedding dress and did alterations at this store. I would give 5 stars for the whole buying experience, Karen, a storeowner was very helpful for dress selection and order, even getting the dress earlier than expected and working with me on my timeline. The price was also reasonable and comparable to other stores. As for the alterations, they were very pricey compared to other stores, but more importantly while the seamstress, Mina, was prompt and pleasant to work with, in the end my veil length was still off and kept catching the grass when I walked down the isle and the belt was not secured properly and fell out of the dress bag during transportation and had to be dry cleaned. For paying almost $500 for relatively minor alterations, I would expect everything to be perfect. In sum, I would recommend this store for purchasing the dress and accessories but would do alterations elsewhere.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christopher
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.4/5.0
My wife's dress and veil were absolutely beautiful, which is surprising as they were quite reasonably priced. She had a fun time at her fittings working with Mina. All of the staff at Stars were lovely to her. Her only complaint is that the bustle for her gown broke several times during the ceremony, which caused her to miss a few songs and that the mother of the brides dresses were far too costly, and they didn't do much to accommodate a discount.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.4/5.0
I ordered my dress at Stars because they were having a trunk show on my designer the weekend I visited. They have a smaller selection (they didn't even carry the dress I wound up ordering). At first, service was somewhat brusque, but they warmed up. But, after I placed the order, everyone was extremely nice to me and my family for the rest of the process.

Alterations are pricier than other places, but Mina is great - super sweet and a fabulous seamstress. My dress fit like a dream. She also made me a sash at no additional cost with extra fabric.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jill
Wedding:
4/18/2009
4.3/5.0
I was very pleased with Star's. JoAnn was my bridal consultant and helped me find the gown of my dreams - in 1 visit. She listened to what I wanted and brought out a number of beautiful dresses, but ultimately I found a Maggie Sottero that I loved.

The seamstress, Mina, was terrific! She took her time and charged one flat rate for my alterations. My dress was perfect and I thank her for that!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shjachym
Wedding:
5/8/2004
4.0/5.0
Staff was helpful and knowledgable.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
10/20/2006
3.8/5.0
I agonized over my dress search, and visited quite a few places before coming to Stars. I had a bad experience with Stars service when I was a bridesmaid, but I have to say that they completely redeemed themselves when I came around as a bride. A lovely woman named JoAnn assisted me with my gown search and had my dress picked out for me as soon as I described my style and wishes. She actually picked 5 dresses out for me that were completely my style and saved the one she was certain would be my choice as the last one I tried on. She was soooooo right on! I ended up going with a Maggie Sortoro dress, and it was all due to JoAnn's professionalism and true talent for being able to mix what would look good on me with what I wanted and my budget. And I checked around, for the same dress other bridal shops were charging at least 200$ more. But the best deal I found was in the alterations. They capped all alterations at a flat fee which was FABULOUS!! That way I didn't have to stress about loosing or gaining weight and how that would impact me financially. I ended up getting a dress, a wrap, a matching purse, and a custom made veil (not at custom made prices I might add- my veil was far more beautiful than anything at David's bridal but for probably a little bit less). Best part, I got good advice and the people remembered me when I came back, unlike your discount stores. Stars and JoAnn get an A+ from me!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.7/5.0
I received my dress, wonderful alterations, and had no problems with this place, however, at times I felt that the sales people were incredibly rude and dismissive. I once scheduled an appointment, and was promptly rushed off the pedestal by an employee while I was trying on my dress for the first time! Overall, I received what I paid for and I loved my dress (the alterations woman by the way is amazing and sweet-I have nothing but good things to say about her), but the staff of the store could use some manners-especially with paying customers.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1250525184012-xmaspartyus
Amber
Wedding:
10/16/2010
3.7/5.0
I bought my bridesmaid dresses and my wedding gown here. I loved my dress and my girls dresses. It did take a while to get everything in, (my dress about 7 months and my girls dresses about 3 months). The alterations were a bit over priced for me and my girls. I asked for the dress to be brought up a little in the back so that people wouldn't step on it and the seamstess told me to get over it people are going to step on it. Ultimatly, she raised it a little (if any) for me and then by the end of the night my bussle ripped from people stepping on it while we danced. Oh well. I loved my dress and it looked great and thats all that matters!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pscalzi
Wedding:
9/6/2008
2.1/5.0
Stars in Avon, CT. is a funny little dress shop that has great merchandise but pretty poor service. My initial dress try-on session went well, and the lady who worked with us paid attention and listened to my dress choices/concerns well. We even bought my mom's dress, the groom's mom's dress and all the bridesmaids dresses at this store. But did they ever offer us a discount on anything? No. And every time we went back (which seemed to be all the time even though i live far away) they seemed to be nickel and diming us on all the alterations plus they made my mom wait an hour one time while they were in the middle of fitting her dress. Luckily the dress I picked out turned out to fit really well and looked beautiful, but that was the only thing I would recommend about this store - their merchandise!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
5/25/2013
0.6/5.0
From start to finish, my bridal appointment was horrible. The consultant made us wait 20 minutes before bringing back a dress and when she did, she had a coffee and food for herself. She made every single person in my entourage feel lousy. The consultant was arrogant and rude and did not offer any guidance. I came into the store not knowing what I wanted and I left even more frustrated.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
Avon, CT 06001 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Stars of Avon
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366729165436-jsm1412front