130x130_sq_1292628860619-ballroomatsalidasteamplant

SteamPlant Event Center

Salida , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

220 W. Sackett , Corner of G and Sackett Streets
Salida, CO US 81201 (map)

PHONE

719-530-0933

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Romance on the River

The SteamPlant Event Center is a stylish, urban wedding venue in downtown Salida, Colo. The renovated 1887 steam power plant retains its architectural... Read more
Romance on the River

The SteamPlant Event Center is a stylish, urban wedding venue in downtown Salida, Colo. The renovated 1887 steam power plant retains its architectural beauty while exuding a chic atmosphere. For dining and receptions, the venue offers a spacious ballroom with century-old, exposed brick walls, natural hardwood floors and 30-foot ceilings. It seats up to 220 guests, has full banquet facilities and overlooks a picturesque outdoor cobblestone plaza and the Arkansas River. On warm evenings, many wedding receptions extend onto the plaza for drinks, dining and dancing under a canopy of stars. The grounds additionally include a 200-seat theater, several art galleries and boutique convention space with fully equipped conference rooms. Each is linked by a cobblestone walkway that stretches to the banks of the river and is surrounded by stunning views of the Rocky Mountains. Our on-site wedding coordinator has the expertise, taste and energy to create a custom event for any occasion, from small down-home affairs to elegant extravaganzas.

Our cobblestone plaza, on the banks of the Arkansas River, is our most popular ceremony site. The urban SteamPlant façade provides an interesting contrast to a natural backdrop of rushing water and cottonwood trees. Many brides make use of the adjacent Riverside Park, which is a short walk away. It is also nestled on the Arkansas River banks and guarded by an arsenal of century old-cottonwood trees. For more traditional ceremonies, downtown Salida’s historic churches are popular. Given the SteamPlant’s central location, many brides enjoy parading by bike or foot from the later ceremony sites to the SteamPlant. If bad weather arises, we can accommodate your wedding ceremony in our theater, ballroom or conference center.

Inclusions & Amenities:
Rental fee includes use of our outdoor plaza in conjunction with the ballroom Twelve hours access to the facility for decorating, set-up and break-down Bride and groom ready rooms An on-site wedding coordinator to work with you on executing the wedding of your dreams and assisting with all the details: seating arrangements, beverage recommendations, ceremony site selection, vendor and catering selection, etc. Sound, lights, large screen and other audio-visual equipment Full service bar and bartender Tableware and flatware Basic centerpieces Round and square banquet tables; chairs Heat lamps and outdoor tents Outdoor ceremony site, including chairs Handicap accessibility Riverside location (raft to your wedding!) Your name on our marquee Close proximity to a variety of overnight accommodations: bed & breakfast inns, hotels, motels, private vacation homes & cabins Central location in the heart of Colorado. Easily accessed from the Front Range via Highway 285 Access to a variety of outdoor attractions: horseback riding, hiking, fly fishing, hot springs, mountain biking, white water rafting Convenient downtown Salida location Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1292627610901-salidasteamplantinthesummer
130x130_sq_1327017461450-steamplantceremony1
130x130_sq_1327017653033-steamplantsalida1
130x130_sq_1327016702840-steamplantarkansasriver1
130x130_sq_1327017543622-steamplantoutside2
130x130_sq_1327016780762-steamplantballroom1
130x130_sq_1292627577760-ballroomview
130x130_sq_1292627574182-ballroomdoor
130x130_sq_1292627604135-rockymountainbride
130x130_sq_1292627606916-salidabridalcouple
130x130_sq_1292627580651-bideandgroombytheriver
130x130_sq_1292627585135-bridegroombytheriver
130x130_sq_1292627583651-bridalpartyonfstreetinsalida
130x130_sq_1228963853923-116
130x130_sq_1292627616229-weddingcakeatsalidasteamplant
130x130_sq_1292630349979-ccvb2
130x130_sq_1327017548597-steamplantplaza1
130x130_sq_1292630680510-colorado124
130x130_sq_1292627608760-salidasteamplantatnight
130x130_sq_1327017373214-steamplantballroom3
130x130_sq_1327017646543-steamplantriversidepark1
130x130_sq_1327017751150-catering1
130x130_sq_1327019765813-steamplantmen
130x130_sq_1327018209475-steamplantbride1
130x130_sq_1327018362152-steamplanttabledesign
130x130_sq_1327018522598-steamplantceremony1
130x130_sq_1327018637385-steamplantceremony2
130x130_sq_1327018868800-steamplantpark
130x130_sq_1327019287519-steamplantpark5
130x130_sq_1327019410844-steamplantplaza
130x130_sq_1327019498590-steamplantplaza3
130x130_sq_1327019582907-steamplantriver2
130x130_sq_1327019681748-steamplantriver4
130x130_sq_1327019870912-steamplantashleydavid2010002
130x130_sq_1327019967662-steamplantashleydavid2010024
130x130_sq_1327020056745-steamplantholiday
130x130_sq_1327020142387-steamplantdowntown
130x130_sq_1327020253913-steamplantdowntownmen
130x130_sq_1327020336639-steamplantballroomurban
130x130_sq_1327020426627-steamplanturbandecay

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1349807460367-fbavatar2702917
Lindsey
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.8/5.0
The Steamplant Event Center was at the top of my list from the beginning to have our reception in terms of character, beauty, location and experience putting on events. The Steamplant Event Center was able to connect me with an amazing caterer and were very prompt in responding to any questions or concerns that I had. The Steamplant hosted wine and food tastings for us with our caterer as well. Their wine selection was great and they were willing to special order some of our liquor order. The bar tenders and staff were all very good at the wedding. Overall- they were very professional and flexible with our event needs. They also assisted with the rental of Riverside Park while also providing sound capabilities there as well. It went so smoothly and it was beautiful. Thank you!

The only area that I would say needs some improvement with this location is the silverware, additional glassware, possible expansion of the kitchen and upgrading of the white folding chairs. We ended up providing a buffet for our guests too because the kitchen was too small to plate meals for 130 people. There were also not enough wine glasses to have two wine glasses on the table service at the bar. We ended up renting more glasses. We also ended up renting folding chairs. I would recommend seeing the chairs, glassware and silverware before agreeing to rent them from the event center.

Thank you to the Steamplant and all involved for making this so beautiful and for making everything from planning to event staff and cleanup a wonderful experience!
The Steamplant Event Center was at the top of my list from the beginning to have our reception in terms of character, Read more...
The Steamplant Event Center was at the top of my list from the beginning to have our reception in terms of character, beauty, location and experience putting on events. The Steamplant Event Center was able to connect me with an amazing caterer and were very prompt in responding to any questions or concerns that I had. The Steamplant hosted wine and food tastings for us with our caterer as well. Their wine selection was great and they were willing to special order some of our liquor order. The bar tenders and staff were all very good at the wedding. Overall- they were very professional and flexible with our event needs. They also assisted with the rental of Riverside Park while also providing sound capabilities there as well. It went so smoothly and it was beautiful. Thank you!

The only area that I would say needs some improvement with this location is the silverware, additional glassware, possible expansion of the kitchen and upgrading of the white folding chairs. We ended up providing a buffet for our guests too because the kitchen was too small to plate meals for 130 people. There were also not enough wine glasses to have two wine glasses on the table service at the bar. We ended up renting more glasses. We also ended up renting folding chairs. I would recommend seeing the chairs, glassware and silverware before agreeing to rent them from the event center.

Thank you to the Steamplant and all involved for making this so beautiful and for making everything from planning to event staff and cleanup a wonderful experience! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/10/2012
4.5/5.0
Steamplant was the ideal setting for our ceremony and reception. They do have a few rules that can't be broken because it is located next to the city's property. I found the rehearsal hour to be very stressful, but the wedding day itself was a breeze!
Steamplant was the ideal setting for our ceremony and reception. They do have a few rules that can't be broken because it Read more...
Steamplant was the ideal setting for our ceremony and reception. They do have a few rules that can't be broken because it is located next to the city's property. I found the rehearsal hour to be very stressful, but the wedding day itself was a breeze! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jayme
Wedding:
12/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Work closely with Katja or the event planner. Let her know exactly what you want and they will make it happen for you!
Work closely with Katja or the event planner. Let her know exactly what you want and they will make it happen for you!
Work closely with Katja or the event planner. Let her know exactly what you want and they will make it happen for you! Read less
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.8/5.0
The Steam Plant was great for our wedding. The were very accomodating for the size of our wedding and made every effort to make everything work. Katjia is amazing in helping plan the wedding and they were very flexible with moving tables and decorating. The location is also great.
The Steam Plant was great for our wedding. The were very accomodating for the size of our wedding and made every effort to Read more...
The Steam Plant was great for our wedding. The were very accomodating for the size of our wedding and made every effort to make everything work. Katjia is amazing in helping plan the wedding and they were very flexible with moving tables and decorating. The location is also great. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
abechtel
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.8/5.0
The Steamplant is a wonderful place to be married! I loved the location (since we're such river people) & the urban feel of the exposed brick inside & out of the Steamplant. I would definitely recommend the Steamplant Event Center to future brides. You get wonderful & professional service for a great value.
The Steamplant is a wonderful place to be married! I loved the location (since we're such river people) & the urban feel Read more...
The Steamplant is a wonderful place to be married! I loved the location (since we're such river people) & the urban feel of the exposed brick inside & out of the Steamplant. I would definitely recommend the Steamplant Event Center to future brides. You get wonderful & professional service for a great value. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ksmith
Wedding:
6/4/2010
4.3/5.0
It was a wonderful place to have a wedding! It was a little expensive and they charge for some little things that I would have rather got somewhere else. We could not have chosen a more beautiful setting for our ceremony out in their pavillion right next to the river. We were able to decorate the eye sore of the concrete wall with great flowers and vines. They worked hard to accomodate the 200+ guests we had. The reception area, we used the ball room and converted the pavillion after the ceremony, was great they changed the pavillion quickly and we were able to get the reception started right away. I would recomend this location for any wedding, it was beautiful!
It was a wonderful place to have a wedding! It was a little expensive and they charge for some little things that I would Read more...
It was a wonderful place to have a wedding! It was a little expensive and they charge for some little things that I would have rather got somewhere else. We could not have chosen a more beautiful setting for our ceremony out in their pavillion right next to the river. We were able to decorate the eye sore of the concrete wall with great flowers and vines. They worked hard to accomodate the 200+ guests we had. The reception area, we used the ball room and converted the pavillion after the ceremony, was great they changed the pavillion quickly and we were able to get the reception started right away. I would recomend this location for any wedding, it was beautiful! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
SteamPlant Event Center responded with the following comments:

4.3 stars is certainly not a bad result, but it was a little dissapointing to see that our flexibility was valued so low. The wedding was one with many changes and challenges and we accommodated all of them. We met many times with bride & groom and their family and took lots of time to listen and to help and assisit. We may may not be perfect, but everybody from our small staff works hard to make every single Wedding special.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashlaub
Wedding:
3/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Amazing venue and fantastic, helpful staff!! Katja and Emily were so very helpful! From the very first phone call about our interest in the venue until the very last guest left, Katja was taking care of everything for us - looking into beer and wine options, going the extra mile and setting our place cards out, set-up and clean-up and organizing the day so things went seamlessly!!! She provided us with tables and linens at the very last minute and I'm sure took care of things that I didn't even know about!!

Katja and Emily were very responsive - answered our emails and returned our calls within a couple of hours! They worked with us - listening to our ideas and providing some of their own to ensure the venue flowed.

The day really could not have been better. We had both our ceremony and reception at the SteamPlant and it was perfect. We intended to have the ceremony outside and reserved the annex just in case the weather wasn't ideal. We ended up having the ceremony inside and Katja worked hard to ensure the space did not look like a conference room.
Linda at the bar was awesome - fast and efficient!

A very BIG and special thanks to the staff at the SteamPlant!!! We would not have done anything differently!!! You are the BEST!
Amazing venue and fantastic, helpful staff!! Katja and Emily were so very helpful! From the very first phone call about Read more...
Amazing venue and fantastic, helpful staff!! Katja and Emily were so very helpful! From the very first phone call about our interest in the venue until the very last guest left, Katja was taking care of everything for us - looking into beer and wine options, going the extra mile and setting our place cards out, set-up and clean-up and organizing the day so things went seamlessly!!! She provided us with tables and linens at the very last minute and I'm sure took care of things that I didn't even know about!!

Katja and Emily were very responsive - answered our emails and returned our calls within a couple of hours! They worked with us - listening to our ideas and providing some of their own to ensure the venue flowed.

The day really could not have been better. We had both our ceremony and reception at the SteamPlant and it was perfect. We intended to have the ceremony outside and reserved the annex just in case the weather wasn't ideal. We ended up having the ceremony inside and Katja worked hard to ensure the space did not look like a conference room.
Linda at the bar was awesome - fast and efficient!

A very BIG and special thanks to the staff at the SteamPlant!!! We would not have done anything differently!!! You are the BEST! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kellyheim
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Katja and the staff at the Steamplant were nothing but professional and courteous! It was such a great experience. They bent over backward to accomodate us. I would recommed it to anyone!
Katja and the staff at the Steamplant were nothing but professional and courteous! It was such a great experience. They Read more...
Katja and the staff at the Steamplant were nothing but professional and courteous! It was such a great experience. They bent over backward to accomodate us. I would recommed it to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mararno
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful wedding at the Salida Steamplant. I had my wedding by the river and the reception in the large ballroom. Nadja was extremely helpful and went out of her way to make things easy. She had a list of caterers that lead me to a wonderful woman named Michelle Gapp. Also, there is a house a few doors down, that sleeps 10, and is beautiful.

Thank you so much!
I had a wonderful wedding at the Salida Steamplant. I had my wedding by the river and the reception in the large ballroom. Read more...
I had a wonderful wedding at the Salida Steamplant. I had my wedding by the river and the reception in the large ballroom. Nadja was extremely helpful and went out of her way to make things easy. She had a list of caterers that lead me to a wonderful woman named Michelle Gapp. Also, there is a house a few doors down, that sleeps 10, and is beautiful.

Thank you so much! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karine
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
The cost also included the cost of all the wine and beer served at the event. The venue was beautiful and the setting was exceptional. If I had an issue, it was settled quickly and to my satisfaction. Every part of this experence was great.
I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.
The cost also included the cost of all the wine and beer served at the event. The venue was beautiful and the setting was Read more...
The cost also included the cost of all the wine and beer served at the event. The venue was beautiful and the setting was exceptional. If I had an issue, it was settled quickly and to my satisfaction. Every part of this experence was great.
I would highly recommend this venue to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue, Unique Services

MAP

 
220 W. Sackett , Corner of G and Sackett Streets, Salida, CO 81201 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for SteamPlant Event Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1292628860619-ballroomatsalidasteamplant