130x130_sq_1339092698139-allure

Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue

Baltimore , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3309 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, MD US 21224 (map)

PHONE

410-522-7447

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Decades of Tradition Under New Ownership

Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue has been a Baltimore icon since 1961 originally known as Pacey's Bridal. In 1984 Pacey's was... Read more
Decades of Tradition Under New Ownership

Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue has been a Baltimore icon since 1961 originally known as Pacey's Bridal. In 1984 Pacey's was sold to Stella's Bridals and Gifts and went under new ownership. Now, Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue is under new ownership for the third time. The business was sold in March of 2009 and already the store has gone through major renovations.
The new ownership's main goal is a commitment to excellent personal service. Every customer is given the time and consideration needed for their special day. In addition to excellent personal service, Stella's has been bringing in new designers and styles for the store. Every day, new beautiful gowns are being added to our inventory. Also, the store is being remodeled to better serve our customers.
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue also has four onsite seamstresses that can alter any gown. They are also able to design the gown of your dreams if you are unable to find what you are looking for.
Come in today to experience excellent personal service and the newely renovated Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue! Read less
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Flower Girls, Groom, Groomsmen, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Undergarments, Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
Appointments are preferred. The client can call the store to set up an hour appointment with a consultant. Walk-ins are always accepted, but are subject to waiting if there are no consultants available.
How often do you receive new dresses?
New gowns are coming into the store every week.
Do you have a seamstress onsite?
There are four onsite seamstresses.
In addition to wedding dresses, what other products do you sell?
Available in the store are bridesmaids gowns, mother of the bride/groom gowns, flower girl dresses, quinceanera gowns, prom gowns, formal gowns, and tuxedo rentals. Also carry bridal accessories such as veils, shoes, jewelery, tiaras, shawls, and undergarments.

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/30/2015
5.0/5.0
I didn't have an apt I just walked and an they made me feel right at home. I love that I will be coming back.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
I was completely happy with Stellas and their service when I purchased my dream dress!! I can't wait to walk down the aisle in it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

thank you for the excellent review. Blessings on your wedding.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
When I was deciding on where to go to get my wedding dress, a friend recommended Stella's. I was very apprehensive and thought David's Bridal would be better options. So reluctantly, I said yes and we went to our scheduled appointment before heading to my second (preferred) appointment at David's Bridal. My bridal consultant was Jackie and was she really nice. She asked me questions like ivory or white; destination or local and what style did I envision. We pulled various dresses and let the fashion show begin....I couldn't believe it that the first dress was my dream dress. Jackie did a great job in encouraging me to try on more dresses and honestly I forgot about David's. The prices were great and the dresses were absolutely beautiful. I had narrowed my search and soon Jackie was inquiring if I was saying yes to the dress. I was in my wedding gown jumping up and down in tears. The team at Stellas was awesome. They weren't pushy but really just wanted to help my experience special without presss. I definitely would recommend this establish to a bride that doesn't want to break the bank but does not want to compromise style.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

thank you for your wonderful review. Our aim as a bridal store is to find the perfect gown for brides and their parties. I am glad you were so pleased.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Doris and her team were so lovely to work with. I ended up purchasing my wedding gown during my first visit, off the rack at a great price! It was several sizes larger then I needed, but her team was so gracious and patient with getting all of the alterations PERFECT! I cannot wait to wear my dress! - Lisa P
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Lisa, for the nice review. As you know we have moved and are now located at 5 S. Center St., Westminster, Md. 21157. Hope you can visit the new shop now known as Love It! at Stella's Bridal and Fashions. Blessing on your wedding.
130x130_sq_1388764641239-dscf117
Mrs. Kommeren
Wedding:
12/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I was at a stand still when I first started looking for a gown. I knew in my how much I wanted to spend for my dress, and it was suggested that I go to Stella's by more than one person. I went there, and was greeted by the nicest people ever. My consulant was wonderful, she listened to what I wanted, took in mind about my budget, as well as offered wonderful advise. We came upon 2 gowns and love them from the moment I laid eyes on them. I knew I had to get my mom in there for her approval. Just to say, I had cancelled one appointment else where and took my mom back to Stella's and my mom knew exactly which of the 2 gowns I wanted and loved! I can trully say I am happy customer and cannot for the alterations and wedding so that I can show the world my gown! Thanks again ladies!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review. Blessing to you as you continue to prepare for your wedding.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/28/2013
4.6/5.0
My wife and I came to Stella's roughly 3 months before our wedding and were told that we would have a hard time getting a dress in time. We also didn't want to spend over $500.00 per dress. Our consultant had her work cut out for her, but she was wonderful! She suggested that we get ivory/white bridesmaids dresses instead of a traditional dress. What a GREAT idea!! I got EXACTLY what I wanted and spent only $300!!! It was perfect. The only complaint I have is that the alteration to have my dress hemmed was expensive. Since we eloped and chose to wear our dresses again for an at-home reception, I had my dress hemmed again, much shorter. I chose another seamstress and paid 1/3 what Stella's charged. Also the store hours are a little weird. Overall, we had a great experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for your review. I am so happy your were pleased with your gown selection. We are currently looking at our alterations pricing and keeping in line with other bridal saloons in our region.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bess
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Stella's is the best place to get your wedding dress!! They have loads of dresses at extremely reasonable prices. I traveled from Alexandria, VA to Stella's in Baltimore to get my dress for my wedding.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

Thank you. Blessing in your married life.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shequila
Wedding:
12/12/2012
4.6/5.0
My entire wedding party with the exception of the flowergirls were outfitted by Stella's. Ms. Doris and her team were fantastic, providing professional service and thoughtful feedback to my husband, myself and our attendants. The seamstress was fantastic, working with me through 3 dress alterations (finally saying, you can't lose anymore weight.:)) and making me, my husbands and all of our attendants look fantastic.

The staff made a very complicated set of circumstances (wedding party across the country), syncing his and my preferences, and a tight timeline appear effortless. We are eternally grateful for all of the support and encouragement of the wonderful staff.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

thank you for your review. Many blessing to you with the rest of your preparations.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.6/5.0
The dress was beautiful. The service was not always great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

Perhaps you could let us know how we failed in the service area. Our staff is professional trained in customer service for the bridal party. We would welcome any feedback as to where we failed.
130x130_sq_1338257486026-294951101016381473564498835141682031161292995853n
Monica
Wedding:
5/18/2012
4.5/5.0
Stella's had a great selection of dresses and reasonable prices. I went without an appointment and they were more than willing to accommodate me. The seamtress they have is amazing. She did a wonderful job and made me feel at ease! The dress fit perfect. I also purchased my veil and hair piece from Stella's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.6/5.0
Stellas is where I found my dream dress! The value for the dress was unbeatable. I found that the customer service here was great. The dress did get altered differently after my first fitting so at the second fitting I pointed out some trouble spots and they fixed it on the spot. Overall a good experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.2/5.0
Do not get your tuxes at Stella's. They measured horribly...the tuxes came in baggy and all wrong sizes for ALL SIX guys. One pair of shoes even came in wrong. I don't know how you mess that up. The tuxes got altered, but they ended up looking baggy and ill-fitting. I was so upset with Stella's. They ended up giving us 2 tuxes for free since it was so much misery, but we had to drive to the UPS warehouse in Laurel to get the tuxes for the guys the day before the wedding. My dress was okay (supposedly she gave me a discount), but they ordered the wrong size and then I had to pay for alterations to fix it, when the lady told me I was a perfect "6" when I should have been a "4." Doris was nice throughout the process, but there were a lot of mess ups and mistakes, and it was not professional at all. Also not the best place to have to drive to for measurements when you are coming from the suburbs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

According to Mikaella’s size chart, the bride was a perfect size 6. When the gown came in, it was too big. We altered the gown to a size 4 free of charge. We also gave the bride a discount on the dress. The only alteration that had to be paid for was the hem because a hem comes standard not custom. We try to accommodate our brides the best way we know how.

Unfortunately two of the tuxedos did come in too large. These are rentals not custom made. We altered these tuxedos free of charge and ordered brand new tuxedos just in case they weren’t fitting to your liking. The replacement tuxes for the two large tuxedos were sent to the wrong center, a fault of UPS. The wedding party preferred to pick them up at that UPS center instead of coming back to Stella’s because the location was more convenient. We gave full refunds for both of those tuxedos.

Thank you for your feedback. This will help us to improve our service.
130x130_sq_1311175416505-2279221975950965807145408803122301235262855n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.8/5.0
I shopped at Stella's for my Bridesmaids dresses only. They were the Mori Lee collection, royal blue chiffon knee length.

When the dresses arrived all of my BM's went for fittings and were told to give them about 2 weeks. When they returned for the 2nd fitting every one of the dresses had a stain on them! Front and or back that looked like grease! Initially, I was told that it had to have been lotion that they ladies had on thier hands when they tried it on. However, I told them that each of my BMs came for their 2nd fitting at diffferent times. Besides... how do you explain the 3 dresses that have stains but the BM hasnt even been back in for the 2nd fitting yet? Then the manager apologized and stated that they would take care of it right away. Then my JR bridemaids dress was ordered in a JR size AFTER they sized her for and ADULT size 12!! So, it was too late for them to order another dress from Mori Lee, so they agreed to hand make her a dress. Which due to their error... they offered to take NO discount off of the dress. At that point, I was truely just irritated and wanted all of my dresses so I would never have to do business with them again.

The stains were removed and the JR bm dressed looked ok. So I was a happy bride in the end but they sure took my stress level to a 10!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lexisgrrl1015
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.0/5.0
Stella's was very good. They had a lot of selection.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krenae
Wedding:
10/15/2010
4.5/5.0
Stella's was a blessing after having been to shop after shop and what seems like 50 dresses. I knew exactly what I wanted and I couldn't find it anywhere, at least not in my price range. It wasn't until one of their wonderful consultants said to me "remember you can remove things from a dress" that I saw it. It was a one shouldered, flowered mess but the shape and style were just perfect! After initial talks, and changes, and then some more changes we finally finished the alterations. You would never know the dress I wore was the one I purchased. The back was a plunging v, I added a black velvet and rhinestone belt, modified sweetheart neckline and finally a one of a kind bustle on the bias. It was PERFECT!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
drbrooks2005
Wedding:
10/1/2010
5.0/5.0
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! My experience at Stella's Bridal was absolutely amazing. I had gne to David's Bridal two weeks prior to going to Stella's and my visit to David's was horrible. The consultant had too many appointments and she could not give me her undivided attention. She said that every gown that I tried on was perfect. Thank God I did not commit to anything that day. YUCK!!! I would have regretted it.

Later that week, I had done some web searching and Stella's came up on the top of the list. I made my appointment and went in for a dress consult. The dress selection was great. My Consultant Sharon was attentive to me and only me. She gave me her opinion which I truly valued. She told me what would look good on my body type and what would not. I tried on a total of 6 gowns. Out of the 6 there were 2 gowns that I adored. She had me try them on and she asked, how did I feel in both. Eacvh gown made me feel different. But it was the one gown that made me feel amazing and I fell inlove with it. My mother loved it as well. That was the dress that I believe would make my Soon To Be Husband cry. LOVE IT!!! Thanks Stella's : ) Your service was the absolute best!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katina
Wedding:
5/29/2010
1.2/5.0
I went to Stellas because for so many years people went to Eastern Ave to shop for evening wear. Well when first went there on a sunday I met Doris who seemed really nice. They didn't not have any dressses I liked but I like how she treated me as a customer. I came back for my brides maids dresses because she was professinal and kind. When it was time to recieve the bridesmaids dressess everythng went down hill. There customer service declined they took no personel reaspondsibility and became ruder with each conversation. I was so upset and felt like I was fooled by them. Pls don't see them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

These bridesmaid gowns were ordered on a rush and came in within the time the Designer gave us. Unfortunately the bride wanted them sooner and we could not get them delivered any sooner. We even had her talk to the supplier for the Designer, who could not get them any sooner than promised. We were very sorry for her inconvenience and tried to accommodate her, but could do nothing about the delivery date.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.8/5.0
I bought my bridal gown from Stella’s Bridal and had my alterations there too. I also purchased my bridesmaids dress there as well. I was highly impressed with the owner, Doris; she knew what she was doing when it came to my alterations. After several alterations, my dress fit perfectly. I would definitely recommend Stella’s.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg5
francie
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.9/5.0
Go to Stella's Bridal if you want individual attention at a great local business, for a reasonable price. I felt like they really cared about making me look beautiful for my wedding day; they weren't just trying to sell me something. The level of quality and attention was excellent, and the price was slightly less than I would have spent at a comparable place (not way less, which is the only reason I gave 4.5 and not 5 stars for cost value).

I had purchased a dress on e-bay, but the bodice was too small, thanks to my oversized rib cage and ample bosom. Doris worked with me, measured me, and discerned what I wanted, and one of her employees did an excellent job taking out the zipper of the dress and adding in a beautiful corset back -- all this without altering the look of the dress's applique. When it was finished, it looked as though the dress was originally intended to have a corset back. She also took in the straps and added a loop, so that I could bustle up the skirt at the reception.

We had the dress worked on right before the Christmas holidays, and on our way out the door, they even surprised us with a small Christmas gift. Now that's what I call going above and beyond in terms of customer service!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amyamer
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Ever since I saw the movie Funny Face, I knew that I wanted to get married in the wedding dress that Audrey Hepburn wore in the movie. The problem was that stores these days don't carry many dresses in that style. I was so lucky to find Doris Dower. She is a very talented local seamstress who also runs Stella's. She was absolutely amazing and completely understood my vision and what I wanted in a wedding dress. I am STILL amazed every time I look at the dress!

After the initial consultation there were several fittings. She make a pattern out of muslin and told me what I types of fabric I needed to get at the fabric store and then she and Tina (who also works at Stella's) were able to make the dress. They also made the veil which was just as unique because it actually attached to the back of the dress. Doris and Tina sewed satin buttons on the back of the dress and loops onto the veil so it could attach. They did such an amazing job and it looks just like the dress that Audrey Hepburn wore. The whole feel of my wedding was vintage, elegant, and timeless and the dress made all the difference in the world!

Doris and Tina really were go great to work with. They are very capable and anyone looking to get a custom dress made should look no further! I was also pretty amazed by how affordable getting a custom dress could be. All and all it was cheaper than many moderately priced designer dresses...and there are no alterations because the dress is made for you!

Stella's also has many other dresses from many designers. All the people that work there are friendly and helpful and really just want to find the best dress for you.

I highly HIGHLY recommend them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue responded with the following comments:

Thank you , Amy, for your wonderful review and recommendations. We would love to have a picture of you on your wedding day to display on our web site.
It was a pleasure to work with you.
Doris
Default-vendor-profile-pic
very happy client
Wedding:
11/6/2009
4.9/5.0
I went to stella's to order a specific wedding dress and to order my bridemaids dresses for my wedding next fall and from the moment I walked in the door, the staff was very polite and professional. To my understanding the store is under new management and they are trying to rebuild a reputation of outstanding service, and so far they are well on their way! I have been here in the past from a previous wedding I participated in, and you can definetly notice a huge improvement. They are very attentative, respectful, and they listen to what your asking. I found the PERFECT wedding dress at another dress shop but I didnt order it because I didnt like the customer service there. When I found out stella's carried the same designer my dress was already discontinued! Stella's promised me that they could fix the situation and actually called the manufacturer on a Saturday even though it was a good posibility they were closed. They managed to persuade to designer to custom make me my gown and had it ordered before I left the store. This place is outstanding and I will definetley reccomend them to anybody in search of formal wear. I have visited several stores and none of them can compare to the level of service I received here not even the bigger names!! I never felt rushed, nor pushed to make any decisions and the Sales Consultant Sarah was always patient no matter what I asked or how many times I changed my mind about anything. Thank you guys for everything!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsFrench2009
Wedding:
6/9/2009
4.4/5.0
Great price. ok service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1214853077791-d_e013b337d6dfcb688f70fbc699daeeb1
FutureGarcia!
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.8/5.0
I really like Stellas Bridal. They did all of my bridesmaids dresses and I got my shoes from them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashley
Wedding:
10/18/2008
3.4/5.0
The lady who answers all of the telephone calls is a little bit rude, but others who work there are good. They ordered the bridesmaid dresses in plenty of time and called me when they were ready, so reliable. Prices were very good. Not in the best location of Baltimore.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1210729314469-2006-07-20_0006
Alicia
Wedding:
10/21/2006
4.0/5.0
This place was great! I found my dress on the rack for $400. They cleaned it for me for no additional charge! The seamstress was able to come in on her off days to measure me. I did not want my bride's maids seeing my dress so I could not get fitted with them. My bride's maids found their dresses there as well at a reasonable price. We had to do a rush delivery, but they came like 2 weeks early. The service was great! I would recommend ANYONE in the Baltimore area to visit them. It's a small shop with LOTS of dresses!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dr.Carol
Wedding:
10/8/2005
5.0/5.0
I was the Maid of Honor for my sisters wedding in NY. She ordered the dresses from a shop in NY, and when my dress finally arrived in Maryland 3 weeks before the wedding, it was huge! I called Stella's Bridal on a day they were closed and left a message telling them what happened. Early the next morning, Doris (the owner) returned my call and told me the sooner I could get there, the better. She let me come right over, even though they were closed! Doris was shocked that a shop would have ordered me a dress that was this size, as their goal is to order a dress so it needs as little alterations as possible. One week later, my dress was beautiful! I don't know how they did it, but it looked great, and my sister never knew the difference! I highly recommend Stella's Bridal. They were understanding, professional, and honest.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
3309 Eastern Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21224 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Stella's Bridal, Fashion on The Avenue
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1339092698139-allure