130x130_sq_1254938398476-79

Stephen Cheng Photography

Irvine , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Irvine, CA US 92602 (map)

PHONE

888-668-6612

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

As a graphic designer and a photographer, image is everything to me. Since I graduated from California State University, Long Beach’s Visual Communication program, I became a full time... Read more
As a graphic designer and a photographer, image is everything to me. Since I graduated from California State University, Long Beach’s Visual Communication program, I became a full time designer. Because of my design background, I treat every piece of photography as a design project. These pictures bring me back to the happiest moments every time I see them. I am glad that I have the opportunity to take my camera with me and join people’s biggest moments in their lives. Every couple’s smile is the power to push me to take more pictures and progress to higher level of photography. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1384278167674-hd003-
130x130_sq_1250014203545-lj014
130x130_sq_1250014100826-35
130x130_sq_1250014123295-hdpicked022
130x130_sq_1250014064482-dm001
130x130_sq_1250014178107-dm015
130x130_sq_1250013925185-142
130x130_sq_1250014265295-hdpicked009
130x130_sq_1250016802466-hdpicked057
130x130_sq_1250018141897-hdpicked115
130x130_sq_1250018201944-lj007
130x130_sq_1254938747319-hj0094

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
No
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Canon Digital Professional gear
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Absolutely
Do you charge hourly or full day?
It depends on the package, but the number of hours are in the agreement. Six to eight hours is common.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Overtime is $150/hr.
Do you charge for travel?
Yes
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
3-4 weeks
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes. We use our favorite photos for a variety of publications, online and in print.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Flushmount custom wedding books in different style of choose.
 
When will the client get the final album?
Delivery can take up to 7 weeks after final design approval

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evonne
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Stephen Cheng is the greatest artist I had ever met. Due to his background of graphic design, he has a sense of great art. At the first meeting, he will find out what style of shooting you want to be and showed you many of examples of the couples he had been shot before.

We have work with both engagement photo and my wedding day. He really great to catch the couple's natural moment, the happiness smile, the laugh and the posture. If you showed the ideas of what you like, he can do beyond the result. After shooting, he gave us on time of the after touch photos, it came up very well and we both very satisfied. One of the pic was the entrance photo at our wedding.

He is very responsible, and very creative person. He will came on time and patient to listen what you wants. At our big day wedding, he captured our the memorable moment, requested and did shot all of wedding's decoration details. He also liked to share your others ideas beside the photo shoot, he advised us the idea for invitation, and wedding gifts and also referred the reliable videographer to us. (we had a bad videographer back off a week before our wedding date)

He works beyond his job and work very hard also the very reasonable price. If you are thinking of a photographer, I strongly recommend you to work with you and go check his website.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sydney
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Stephen provided photographic coverage of my wedding, along with his lovely assistant, Courtney. The resulting photos are absolutely STUNNING. Stephen and Courtney were very upbeat and tireless in their work on the day of the event; many of our guests commented on how friendly and engaged they were, and they exhibited an endless care and passion for photography.

Stephen has an incredible eye for detail, and knows just what angles to use to capture light and expression beautifully. The online slideshow that he put together for our guests' and family's viewing was curated perfectly -- a great selection of photos detailing the day's highlights, and yet, this collection was only the VERY tip of the iceberg. The hundreds (and hundreds) of proofs that we received shortly thereafter are all top-notch -- I am so, so very glad that we chose Stephen as our wedding photographer! On another note, his pricing is what I consider to be VERY below market for wedding photography, especially given his skill and level of investment in his work. We cannot thank you enough, Stephen!! Our photos are absolutely priceless. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maebeline
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
My fiance and i love Stephen :) He did our engagement photo shoot and it all came out amazing :) He is so flexible because we initially had planned to take photos at this building at DTLA and only to find out at a later time that we needed to pay 1k. Stephen, had suggested a different venue around the area and indeed he produced beautiful pictures :) Stephen and his assistant came in on time on our wedding day. They came in well prepared and dressed properly- very professional! I sent him lots of inspirational pictures & sure enough he did remember those and did it on my wedding! Stephen is very nice. I had no problem contacting him and he responds quickly. We love Stephen because he also loves DETAILS :) He produces amazinng works that all our family & friends adore our pictures! We are so blessed that we had met Stephen and he became our photographer. We will forever remember him through his works! Stephen became so dear to our hearts because he treated us like his buddies too :) thank u & we will miss u!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married recently and Stephen was our photographer! When it comes to photography, I was extremely picky and had checked out many photographers before my husband I decided to book Stephen! We're so glad we did :) Stephen is very easy to work with. On top of his friendly and professional demeanor, he's also very creative and shoots beautiful pictures. I am very happy with my engagement and wedding day photos. On our wedding day, Stephen arrived a little early than expected and even stayed longer to ensure all the good shots were taken. Our wedding package came with an album, and quite frankly, part of the BIG reason why I chose Stephen was because I was drawn to his background in graphic design - after I saw his sample album, I was confident he'd design something beautiful for me. Needless to say, when he put together the album design for us, my husband and I were both blown away - his design was clean, simple, not overdone nor boring. If I were to describe his album design, I'd say it's sophisticated :) He definitely knows what he is doing and did not produce us with a cookie-cutter type album.

We'd highly recommend Stephen to anyone who's looking for a great photographer! THANK YOU STEPHEN!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We selected Stephen to be our wedding photographer about reviewing his website and blog. His pictures are beautiful and full of vibrant colors and shapes. After meeting with Stephen for the first time, I knew he would be our wedding photographer. He was so nice and considerate and really took the time to understand what we wanted in photography style. On the day of the wedding, Stephen showed up on time and wentstarted shooting. He managed the scheduled well and worked with our wedding coordinator to ensure he got all the right photos. His flexiblity and kindness was unparallel. We can't wait to see the photos and the fabulous album he's going to design for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cindy
Wedding:
8/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Stephen was amazing. His professionalism and his work is marvelous.
I loved my photos
can't wait to see the album finished.
Cindy Marmolejo
Services Used: Photography
Bg2
Y
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Stephen! We loved our engagement session at the Aquarium of Pacific and Queen Mary. He was flexible with taking pictures with a 500lb sea lion and had great ideas for pictures. He is totally willing to go the extra step for great pictures. We received our highlights and proofs within a reasonable amount of time even though it was wedding season and he was busy.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1316895541034-entweaks031
Chandy
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Easily the best vendor I hired for my wedding last May ... and that's saying a lot considering I scour the web looking at Yelp, WeddingWire, the Knot, etc. for only the best vendors. Stephen's photography is brilliant, and his personality, professionalism, and attention-to-detail is top-notch.

We had Stephen do our engagement photos, wedding, and an album for us. Everything turned out wonderfully. Stephen was very easy to work with, showed up on time for everything, provided direction when needed, listened to and followed our preferences, and always tried hard to make sure we were happy.

We have amazing engagement and wedding photos now, and a beautiful leather bound album in our home. I highly recommend checking out his blog to see his work, and contacting him for a meeting. He was our favorite vendor to work with, and we appreciated everything he did for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
4/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Stephen as your wedding photographer. He provided excellent service and beautiful photos to remember. He is such a wonderful photographer with professionalism and personally that are hard to find in others. He never once complained of difficult situations and always kept his smile. As a bride his enthusiasm and positive attitude was such a pleasure to work with! I would work with him again in my feature events!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lina
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Stephen was wonderful to work with. I am very nervous in front of the camera, but he put me at ease. Our photos turned out AMAZING. I don't know how he does it, but he definitely has a good eye.

His prices are very reasonable. Other photographers we looked at charged almost double what he does for that level of work.
Services Used: Photography
Bg2
TT
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Stephen was referred to us by one of our friends. He is simply the best. He is professional, flexible and his pictures are marvelous.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steven
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Stephen is the bomb! He comes from a design background so he's got a unique eye for photography. He's also very friendly and easy to work with. He's flexible and responsive. We were blown away by the photographs he took at our wedding. They were SO beautiful. Thanks Stephen for everything!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
will47
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
It took us a while to find a photographer who fit our style and budget. We looked through the portfolios of several photographers, mostly recommended by friends and / or our planners, and even met with one or two others. We both immediately liked the style of Stephen's work, and we liked that he gives you all the digital files in usable form (i.e., at least color corrected and basic retouching), rather than charging you for everything beyond what goes in the album. We liked that he had a la carte options, though we did end up going for the package that included an album.

We immediately liked Stephen when we met him in person; he's professional, friendly, and low key. Day of, Stephen was amazing. He was professional, organized, calm, and relaxed, and helped keep everyone else calm too. He barely took time to eat, and despite the long, grueling day (11-12 hours for him), he stuck around even later to take extra pictures of family and friends, even after we told him to take it easy. He seemed to care more than we did about getting photos of everything, which, stressful though it might have been at the time, was great when we looked through the photos. He took over the top requests (like people asking him to take pictures with their cameras) in stride.

He finished a preview slide-show and got proofs and full digital images to us much more quickly than he had asked us to expect, within a couple of weeks. Everything looks great; our family and friends seem happy with the results.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AllyJ
Wedding:
5/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Stephen is the best! Our pictures were awesome. Stephen was so flexible and his prices were so reasonable. He was one of the cheapest photographers we found and his work was amazing. I would recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PrincessAroc
Wedding:
2/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Stephen is simply the best. I've looked through many wedding photographer's portfolios and Stephen's work just completely blows them out of the water. This is the one day where you want all your pictures to be perfect...and Stephen can deliver that. He captures the most beautiful, intimate, and truly amazing photos. His style is absolutely unique and you will love every single photo he takes. Quality vs. quantity? With Stephen you get both! Every shot is just perfect and he takes so many to make sure nothing is missed. I LOVE his work and I'm so thankful he was my photographer. He is truly talented and his work is truly art. Not only is his work amazing, Stephen has the best personality. He is very easy-going, very professional, and makes you feel extremely comfortable when trying to capture those beautiful moments. I recommend Stephen Cheng Photography...100%!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clarizza
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Stephen is a great photographer who has his own photo journalistic style and when you see samples of his wedding pictures, you will see that each of his wedding captures a different story because it's the story of the bride and groom and we all know each bride and groom are unique. He is very artistic, understanding, and most importantly, ON TIME. He listens to what you want; my husband and I wanted a group picture with our 180 guests which we knew would be a challenge finding a place at the reception site to take the picture and gathering everyone together to pose for the picture, but in the end, Stephen's execution of the picture came out GREAT!! We loved it so much that we used it as our Christmas Card and gave it to our guests and they loved it, too. Overall, with the quality of pictures and service you will get from Stephen, you won't have any regrets hiring him as your photographer for your special occasion.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Norma
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Is there a rating higher than 5? If so that's what I would give this guy. Stephen Cheng is OUTSTANDING. For couples who have not decided on a photographer yet, do give Stephen a call. My husband and I, and our family and friends, can't stop oohing and aahing after seeing the proofs both from our engagement session and wedding. I love how he makes us comfortable and his style unobtrusive, while doing what he does best. And it's true that you'll be amazed how affordable his photography packages are. Stephen, THANK YOU for capturing special moments in this important time of our lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Foojoo
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
In a place like Orange County, it can be pretty difficult to select the right kind of photographer to fit your budget, so I feel truly blessed to have been able to find a wedding photographer as talented as Stephen. From engagement to wedding, he was there with us giving us 110% and if you take a quick look at his website, you can see the kind of elegance and beauty he is able to evoke with his photos. Almost everything in a wedding is ephemeral, so it's so important have the right kind of photographer at your wedding who is able to capture each perfect moment for you to remember. Stephen even provided all of our photos in a beautiful, intricately designed wedding album that friends and family alike can hardly believe was included in our package. Bottom line: give this guy a call. He is talented, extremely professional, and best of all AFFORDABLE! You absolutely will not regret working with him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendra
Wedding:
6/14/2009
5.0/5.0
I'm not a person who usually writes reviews, but I'm really satisfied by Stephen Cheng Photography, and I feel that I have to share our experience with the other brides/grooms. Stephen showed up to my hotel while I was in the process of getting ready for my wedding, and immediately, I felt like he was very reliable, unobtrusive, and extremely professional, and totally made me feel comfortable and beautiful. It was amazing that he found shots after shots and was able to capture all the unforgettable moments. Stephen's portfolio is also very amazing, and many photographers would charge double for the quality of service Stephen provides. We feel that we had excellent value for money we paid and would highly recommend Stephen Cheng to everyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Stephen was referred to us by one of our friends, who came across his website and was amazed by his beautiful works. We never regret that we hired Stephen as a photographer on our big day. He was very professional and creative, and he was very enthusiastic. Even our guests liked him a lot. We also LOVE his style. It is very elegant! Both my husband and I were shy in front of camera, but Stephen chatted with us and made us feel very comfortable in front of the camera, and the pictures came out beautifully, way beyong our expectation. We compared many photographers with Stephen, and we still think that we made the very right choice by hiring Stephen! His price is really reasonable, and we definitely think that the quality of the photos worths much more! We already referred him to all of our friends, and they love him, too!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Helen
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
We loved our photographer. He is very professional, considerate and has a good eye to catch the moment perfectly. Photographs of the people and their natural emotions was excellent. During the entire wedding ceremony and reception, he paid careful attention to every detail and managed the group shots very well. Throughout the process of getting ready for the ceremony, to the ceremony itself and on to our reception Stephen was always present but never intrusive. He made us feel very comfortable.
The quality is so outstanding we have considered entering our album into a wedding photo competition.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
martinandanu
Wedding:
4/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Stephen was awesome! We found him on Craigslist when he was just getting started. We were his first clients that were not personal friends of his. He offered to do the whole day for free and tried to decline our offer of as much of a generous tip that we could afford. He began at 8am at the salon and stayed until a post-ceremony sunset shoot. He even would offer to take photos for attendants with their pocket cameras. All our friends were impressed by him. Very professional, friendly, and a great eye! His photos are beautiful. Very artistic. I recommend him to everyone
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
8/8/2010
4.9/5.0
Stephen was great to work with from the start. We purchased a package that included engagement photos and he did a great job for us. He even managed to hold my wife's purse while taking photos!

At the wedding he found some great locations, got lots of decor and family pictures as well as all other aspects. At the end of the night he ended up staying extra time to shoot our exit, which was very nice of him.

Overall, Stephen is an excellent choice. He'll meet your budget and do a fantastic job.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Irvine, CA 92602 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Stephen Cheng Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1254938398476-79