130x130 sq 1288579322382 stevespartymix1logo

Steve Christian's Party Mix

Tallahassee , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

706 Monticello Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32303 US (map)

PHONE

850-273-0518

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Voted Top-3 in the Tally Awards for five consecutive years. I am Steve Christian and I have performed for over 600 weddings and receptions over the past 15 years. Having been a DJ on... Read more
Voted Top-3 in the Tally Awards for five consecutive years. I am Steve Christian and I have performed for over 600 weddings and receptions over the past 15 years. Having been a DJ on radio for many years I am very comfortable talking to your guests and getting them involved so that everyone has a good time.

I understand you want to feel everything will be taken care of in a wonderful and classy way. To make that happen I have a huge variety of music for all ages and from all musical eras. I have a lot of experience in the many traditions that go into making a great wedding and reception. My philosophy is that it's your party, not mine, so I will do anything you want to make your day as memorable as possible. On the day of the event I work with the caterers, photographers, and the coordinator (if you have one) to put it all together to make for memorable day. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1289805506865 im002247b
130x130 sq 1289805224787 006bbc
130x130 sq 1289805320599 stevceline

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
With my experience in radio I can offer any style the couple desire. Some like a low key affair, while others want lots of fun and activity. I can do both.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
I am open to requests. But please remember I can only play about 15 songs an hour.
What is your usual attire?
I wear formal attire, black tie and all.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Most of the time I personally download songs myself. But occasionally there will be a song that I can not find. In that event I ask if the couple might have the song.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I work alone. When you hire me you get me. I am yours for the day. I have performed at over 500 weddings and receptions and have never missed. In fact I've never even been late. You get only me, and I am always there.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
The normal amount of time is either 3 or 4 hours. I work on that time frame.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
I always try to meet with a couple. Sometimes on several occasions. I want to know all the things they are interested in.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
I will try any type of occasion.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes. The idea of a do-not-play list has grown in recent years.
Do you bring your own equipment?
I bring all my own equipment, including back-ups. The time spent setting up and taking down are all on my own time.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
I can offer almost any type of special equipment. But most of the time a wedding in particular does not lend itself to special lighting. It is usually a formal occasion.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Set up takes 45 minutes to an hour. And yes, I ask for a table to be prepared and dressed.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
The area I need can be compared to about the size of a picnic table.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
For weddings I never use a sign. I feel that to be very tacky and inappropiate. I am part of your wedding. I don't expect cheap advertising for my business with a sign. If I am good enough at my job people will approach me to inquire about my services whether I have a sign or not. So I choose not to have a sign.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I always MC, and only talk when it is necessary. Some DJ's are just too talkative. As I had earlier mentioned I work with the idea that it is your reception, not mine. Everything should be about you, not me.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
There are enumerous ways to get a crowd up. The oldest trick is to play a great slow dance song, as couples will dance to them. Then come back with a good upbeat song to keep them on the floor. 
 
 But you can also play some popular line-dance songs. There are also little tricks, like asking everyone to come and make a big circle- in order to do somethnig special with the couple. Then thow a popular dance song on them.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do not take a break. I work through out. But if the couple are agreeable I will take a small plate of food to my DJ table and quickly get energized for the remaining hours of the reception.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Music is always playing, no matter what.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Working at over 500 weddings I have never missed a reception. But I have made arrangements with several other very competent DJ's I know, who would step in to help out if ever needed.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
I usually only do one event per day. But if the timing is right I have had a couple of occasions with two events on the same day.
What is your overtime rate?
I charge less that my normal rate- for extra hours. $100 per hour. If a couple want to go longer I want them to feel comfortable with a rate they can afford.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
I only charge a gas fee if the distance is greater than 50 miles. The gas fee would only be what extra fuel it takes to go that far. If the reception is over 200 miles away I ask for a room for the night to stay over. In all I have had receptions in Jacksonville, Pensacola, and Orlando, that required an overnight stay.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
My deposit request is $150, with the remaining amount due the night of the reception.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Jane
Wedding:
10/4/2014
5.0/5.0
What a joy to work with! Highly recommend Steve for a wedding or any event.
What a joy to work with! Highly recommend Steve for a wedding or any event.
What a joy to work with! Highly recommend Steve for a wedding or any event. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Mary
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
By far one of the Best DJ's ever!! He did the Ceremony and Reception for my daughter's wedding and it was all Perfect!!!!
By far one of the Best DJ's ever!! He did the Ceremony and Reception for my daughter's wedding and it was all Perfect!!!!
By far one of the Best DJ's ever!! He did the Ceremony and Reception for my daughter's wedding and it was all Perfect!!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Steve provided the music for our outdoor ceremony and reception. I enjoyed working with him throughout the planning process. He responds quickly (within hours!) to both emails and phone calls and was well-organized and on-time. Steve is very experienced with weddings and he had a number of great suggestions and ideas for getting our guests on the dance floor (everyone particularly loved the Generations dance--ask him about it)! He touched base with us throughout the reception to ensure that things were going smoothly and according to schedule, and he provided just the right amount of emceeing. He played all of the songs we requested in advance and everyone had a fantastic time! I heard a number of compliments on the music. I highly recommend him!
Steve provided the music for our outdoor ceremony and reception. I enjoyed working with him throughout the planning Read more...
Steve provided the music for our outdoor ceremony and reception. I enjoyed working with him throughout the planning process. He responds quickly (within hours!) to both emails and phone calls and was well-organized and on-time. Steve is very experienced with weddings and he had a number of great suggestions and ideas for getting our guests on the dance floor (everyone particularly loved the Generations dance--ask him about it)! He touched base with us throughout the reception to ensure that things were going smoothly and according to schedule, and he provided just the right amount of emceeing. He played all of the songs we requested in advance and everyone had a fantastic time! I heard a number of compliments on the music. I highly recommend him! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/6/2013
4.8/5.0
Steve provided music for both our wedding and reception. He did a wonderful job and I feel like everything went off without a hitch. He made sure that our day went well and was a great investment! We enjoyed dancing to his selection of music and he was sure to have all of the music I asked to have (including quite a few Disney songs!).
Steve provided music for both our wedding and reception. He did a wonderful job and I feel like everything went off Read more...
Steve provided music for both our wedding and reception. He did a wonderful job and I feel like everything went off without a hitch. He made sure that our day went well and was a great investment! We enjoyed dancing to his selection of music and he was sure to have all of the music I asked to have (including quite a few Disney songs!). Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
I was so glad that he handled our music. Everyone had a great time!
I was so glad that he handled our music. Everyone had a great time!
I was so glad that he handled our music. Everyone had a great time! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kristen
Wedding:
9/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Steve was great! We really enjoyed working with him. He was very responsive to emails and communicated well. We loved that he kept things going during our reception even though we had a tough time with our reception site vendor. He played exactly what we asked for and even pulled some Latin music for the grooms family that are from Colombia. He also did something very special for me for my father daughter dance and inserted a recorded clip I gave him into the song. Very accommodating. We would definitely recommend him to anyone. Thanks again Steve!
Steve was great! We really enjoyed working with him. He was very responsive to emails and communicated well. We loved that Read more...
Steve was great! We really enjoyed working with him. He was very responsive to emails and communicated well. We loved that he kept things going during our reception even though we had a tough time with our reception site vendor. He played exactly what we asked for and even pulled some Latin music for the grooms family that are from Colombia. He also did something very special for me for my father daughter dance and inserted a recorded clip I gave him into the song. Very accommodating. We would definitely recommend him to anyone. Thanks again Steve! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
wendy
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We thought Steve did a great job for the Wedding. Very easy to work with.
We thought Steve did a great job for the Wedding. Very easy to work with.
We thought Steve did a great job for the Wedding. Very easy to work with. Read less
Services Used: DJ
B5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Steve did a great job! He was very quick to respond to all emails. I only rated him lower because I gave him a list of everything and the names of the bridal party. He still called me a couple of times before the wedding asking what things were. I really didn't mind. He played all the songs we wanted. My dad love him!!! He did a great job getting everyone thought the buffet line. He helped out with all the fun reception activities like cake/bouquet/garter/.. ect. He was extremely helpful to work with my photographer. I would highly recommend hiring him! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ! Thanks!!!!!
Steve did a great job! He was very quick to respond to all emails. I only rated him lower because I gave him a list of Read more...
Steve did a great job! He was very quick to respond to all emails. I only rated him lower because I gave him a list of everything and the names of the bridal party. He still called me a couple of times before the wedding asking what things were. I really didn't mind. He played all the songs we wanted. My dad love him!!! He did a great job getting everyone thought the buffet line. He helped out with all the fun reception activities like cake/bouquet/garter/.. ect. He was extremely helpful to work with my photographer. I would highly recommend hiring him! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ! Thanks!!!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1312855483057 wedsitepic
Kristin
Wedding:
3/3/2012
4.8/5.0
I had a wonderful time planning my reception with Steve. Music is very, very important to my husband and I. He loved our ideas and was very, very helpful in planning out the sequence of events and had lots of suggestions and ideas as well.


Our outdoor ceremony had to be moved indoors on the day of the wedding. Steve did not arrive until right before the ceremony was to begin and he failed to provide a microphone for the ceremony even though it was arranged for us to use in the outdoor ceremony. I don't know if this was simply an oversight or he thought we didn't need it. The guests were unable to hear any of what we said. There was a lot going on, so, I didn't make an issue of it. Many guests said they thought it was more special for our vows to be between just the two of us anyway.

Steve was very professional during the reception and has a great personality.
I had a wonderful time planning my reception with Steve. Music is very, very important to my husband and I. He loved our Read more...
I had a wonderful time planning my reception with Steve. Music is very, very important to my husband and I. He loved our ideas and was very, very helpful in planning out the sequence of events and had lots of suggestions and ideas as well.


Our outdoor ceremony had to be moved indoors on the day of the wedding. Steve did not arrive until right before the ceremony was to begin and he failed to provide a microphone for the ceremony even though it was arranged for us to use in the outdoor ceremony. I don't know if this was simply an oversight or he thought we didn't need it. The guests were unable to hear any of what we said. There was a lot going on, so, I didn't make an issue of it. Many guests said they thought it was more special for our vows to be between just the two of us anyway.

Steve was very professional during the reception and has a great personality. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Steve did a wonderful job on short notice might I add (our previous DJ cancelled about 1.5 months out). He was very professional and eager to meet and discuss everything. We really appreciated his quick responses and suggestions of what he's done in the past. He was very familiar with the reception site and worked very well with them as well coordinating buffet lines. He also did a great job integrating some cultural flair-my husband's family is from Colombia and looooves all the latin music that I have no clue about! Loved him and would suggest him to friends or anyone else looking. He's so polite and really is a step above others!
Steve did a wonderful job on short notice might I add (our previous DJ cancelled about 1.5 months out). He was very Read more...
Steve did a wonderful job on short notice might I add (our previous DJ cancelled about 1.5 months out). He was very professional and eager to meet and discuss everything. We really appreciated his quick responses and suggestions of what he's done in the past. He was very familiar with the reception site and worked very well with them as well coordinating buffet lines. He also did a great job integrating some cultural flair-my husband's family is from Colombia and looooves all the latin music that I have no clue about! Loved him and would suggest him to friends or anyone else looking. He's so polite and really is a step above others! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
706 Monticello Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32303 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Steve Christian's Party Mix
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1288579322382 stevespartymix1logo