130x130_sq_1330388409368-squarebridegroomdance

Stumptown DJs

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4516 SE Salmon Ct.
Portland, OR US 97215 (map)

PHONE

503-877-3357

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

CALL STUMPTOWN DJS TODAY TO INQUIRE MORE (503) 877-3357

OR EMAIL US AT STUMPTOWNDJS@GMAIL.COM

YOU CAN ALSO CHECK OUR CALENDAR AT STUMPTOWNDJS.COM

... Read more
CALL STUMPTOWN DJS TODAY TO INQUIRE MORE (503) 877-3357

OR EMAIL US AT STUMPTOWNDJS@GMAIL.COM

YOU CAN ALSO CHECK OUR CALENDAR AT STUMPTOWNDJS.COM

Located in the heart of Portland, we provide customers with an affordable, professional and talented DJ service that's simple, flexible and fun for everyone.
Our services range from $150 to $200 per hour. Prior to your event you get: 1. Free initial phone consultation. 2. Free event planning (upon receipt of signed contract and deposit). 3. Free online music database (to create your own playlist). On the day of your event we provide: 1. An organized and professional DJ. 2. A quality sound system, mixing board and laptop. 3. Two handheld microphones (1 wired, 1 wireless). Lapel mic available upon request. 4. A high quality, multicolored and sound activated disco light. 5. Free set-up and teardown. 6. All DJs are capable of MCing at NO additional charge. 7. All of our DJs have over 18,000 songs on-hand, so we can play just about anything. We specialize in 80s, 90s, Hip/Hop, Big Band/Jazz, Alternative, Country, 50s, 60s, 70s, Soul, Indie, Top 40, and Classic Rock. We also have a decent collection of Old School Rap, Dubstep, House and other Electronic music. After your event you can expect: 1. A follow-up email and/or phone call. 2. A final email with links for you to post reviews on various sites (e.g., Yelp, Facebook, WeddingWire and Google Places). Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1299867500427-avanigilachairdance
130x130_sq_1299867502489-birthdays
130x130_sq_1299867504849-brazilianjewishwedding
130x130_sq_1299867508396-bridegroomdance
130x130_sq_1299867510208-cakecutting
130x130_sq_1299867511489-clubpic
130x130_sq_1299867513052-cuteoldercouple
130x130_sq_1299867514708-dancing3
130x130_sq_1299867517708-djanddancingbestsmalljpg
130x130_sq_1299867521755-dsc00490
130x130_sq_1299867525286-jewishdance2
130x130_sq_1299867528021-jewishweddingpreceremony
130x130_sq_1299867532442-momandson
130x130_sq_1299867534614-mothersondance
130x130_sq_1299867537067-outdoorwedding2
130x130_sq_1299867539177-speeches
130x130_sq_1299867540708-wedding3
130x130_sq_1299867541849-weddingdancing
130x130_sq_1299867543974-weddingentrance
130x130_sq_1299867546724-xmasparty

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Our DJs are all professionally trained for weddings and have plenty of DJ experience under their belts. Every DJ has their own style.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No there isn't. The only limit is the amount of time we have to play them all. We have had brides list every song that they want to hear and we've had some pick out only a few for their special dances and we play the rest. We always suggest that couples pick out about 10 to 15 must have songs as well as their special dance songs. Then we ask them to tell us what genres they want to hear and which ones they don't. We even tell them to be specific with songs they don't want to hear on their special day. This is very important so that we don't play something that brings up bad memories or is considered inappropriate to them or their guests. We have current database that is over 18,000 songs and growing weekly. When someone books us, they get instant access to our entire database and can listen to each and every song they want to hear at their wedding as well as create their own playlist.
What is your usual attire?
Our usual attire is shirt, tie and sport coat. However, we will accommodate any reasonable request for attire. However we do not wear tuxedos, it is just not our style, plus we don't want to overshadow any of the wedding party do we? :-)
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it? No we'll get any song that the guests or the couple needs even if it is requested 30 seconds before we play it. All of our DJs take requests on a regular basis and have purchase many songs for clients during various receptions. The key is to have a good Wi-Fi connection at your venue, if we don't have that, we can just play from our 18,000 song database.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We currently have 5 DJs on staff. We also have strong relationships with other DJ companies in the area. If we can't provide you the service that meets your needs, on the date you need it, we will recommend you to someone that can.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
During the off season - November through April: 2 hours
 During wedding season - May through October: 4 hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Ofcourse and we recommend it. We will meet with our clients anywhere. We try to make it convenient for both the DJ and the client. So it is usually at coffee shop in the PDX area after work hours. However, we have met with plenty of clients during the day too.
 
 For those whom are from out of town or are just trying to be a little more Green: We will event meet with you via Skype to talk and discuss your wedding.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We don't specialize in any of those events. However we have done a few Quinceras.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
We recommend that they do. There are always a few songs, genres, or artists that clients don't want to hear, we just want to know what those are ahead of time and we make sure to ask.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Of course, and we always have back up equipment on hand as well. Our set up is very clean and neat without a lot of table clutter. We have three speakers, a laptop, a small mixer board, an amplifier and a wireless microphone receiver.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer a high quality, multicolored and sound activated disco light. It's included in all our services. It's simple, clean and fun. Once again, we don't like to have a lot of clutter. :-)
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Our set up takes about 30 minutes. All DJs are required to set up 1 hour in advance so we usually have 30 minutes to spare to make sure everything is dialed in. All of our equipment is portable and easy to move around so if we have to move, it's not a problem and this happens quite often with the ceremony usually being outside and the reception being indoors. It's best that site have a table and chair for us but we will always bring one if needed. 
 
 The most important thing is for our DJs to have the proper power outlets, ones that are not on the same circuit as the decorative lighting for the evening. I can't tell you how many times this happens. So we always remind clients to insure that we have good outlets, and that makes the night go smoothly for everyone.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No we don't, we don’t take up a lot of room. Our set up is only about 10ft by 5ft footprint.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No we don't. Clients are not paying to be advertised to. We do however, usually keep some business cards on hand in case anyone wants to have us at their wedding next.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
We usually MC all of our events. However, on occasion, the couple will have a pre-appointed MC for the evening and we don't mind. We are there for you on your day to make announcements, provide fun and play good music. If you want us to do less or more, we will, it's your day.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
A change of music usually does it but if the crowd needs a little verbal motivation we have no problem coaching people onto the dance floor. 
 
 We do have clients, from time to time, that don't want us to say anything other than make announcements and that's fine with us. It's your day. :-)
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Our DJ is at the DJ table the whole evening with the exception of bathroom breaks or helping the bride and groom coordinate the next event for the evening. If he or she leaves the table, they make sure that the song is long enough to cover the time they are gone.
 
 As for meals, it is customary for the bride and groom to provide a meal for the DJ. The DJ will usually eat at his table while everyone else is eating and dinner music is playing. However, if the couple does not provide a meal, the DJ will come prepared and eat prior to the event.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
All music is recorded so this question doesn't make sense. However, like I said above, if for some reason the DJ needs to leave the table, they will make sure that a long enough song is being played that will allow them to do so.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We have strong relationships with other DJ companies in the Portland metro area. If we can't provide you the service that you need and on the date that you need it, we certainly will recommend someone that can. In other words we always have a DJ 911 phone # on our speed dial.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
Not usually, this happens once in a blue moon. In other words, it never happens and if it did we would tell the client prior to ever booking us.
What is your overtime rate?
Its the same as our standard rate, $150 to $300 per hour. If you want us for only 30 minutes more, then divide our rate in half and that's how much more we will charge.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Yes if it's outside of the Portland city limits. We charge a flat $.50 per mile from our company headquarters. It's not much, and it just covers gas for our DJs to get to and from your wedding.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Our deposit is 50% of your total booking and goes towards your final balance. When you contact us about an event, we'll save your date for 7 days after contacting us. When you sign our contract and pay your deposit your date is officially booked. 
 
 Thanks for reading all this and we look forward to being your wedding DJ.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Absolutely the best DJ service to go with! Very kind and quick to respond. Both Matt and Denis had great ideas and were both very compassionate about their work. I enjoyed working with both. I highly recommend their service.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Matthew and Denis at Stumptown DJs were absolutely incredible to work with! Matthew took care of all the pre-planning logistics and Denis was our day of DJ. As a past event coordinator I have spent a lot of time working with vendors, and laying out event timelines. Matthew was one of the most prepared vendors I have ever worked with. Their process of laying out timelines, communicating with other event staff and making sure all our needs were met made our wedding a huge success. Denis was a phenomenal DJ. He read our crowd and played songs to keep the dance floor alive. He was an excellent MC as well. He made sure our wedding stayed on time and that everyone was having a great time. No cheesiness, like I've seen at other weddings. I would highly recommend Stumptown DJs and will be using them in the future!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1393654160321-fb114755330236702767719
Lacey
Wedding:
12/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJs is THE BEST.

My husband and I wanted a wedding DJ that wasn't the least bit cheesy and knew his 80s tunes. Matt of Stumptown DJs was the first DJ we met with and we knew right away that he was the man for the job. He was knowledgeable about the kind of music we wanted and super friendly. He assured us that he could create the vibe we wanted for our reception and that he would definitely NOT play the chicken dance. We were sold!

We really enjoyed being able to create our own playlists using Stumptown's online database. Our choices gave Matt a really good idea of what we wanted so he was able to throw in a few surprise tunes, too. All of our interactions with him leading up to the wedding were great. He was very professional and friendly and made sure he had all the info he needed to do a great job for us. He even gave us some excellent wedding advice that helped us really enjoy the day!

Matt seriously nailed it on wedding day! The music was everything we had hoped for and more. He was professional, friendly with the guests and just plain fun to have there. In fact, one of my very favorite memories of our wedding happened because Matt was so on top of it that night. Towards the end of the evening things were winding down and my husband and I were the only two people on the dance floor. Matt noticed and surprised us by playing the song I walked down the aisle to. Thanks to him we got to end our night with a beautiful moment alone, slow dancing to a very special song. I'll never forget it. Thank you Matt!!

We LOVED working with Matt and Stumptown DJs and we know you will to!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lam
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a very good experience with Stumptown DJs. The owner Matt responded to my inquiries and requests immediately. I actually had Samir as my DJ; he was awesome. He made me feel very much at ease. He even was open to last minute changes and very understanding. My guests loved the playlist that I and Matt came up with. It wasn't just the music, my guests thought Samir was really funny but very appropriate for the occasion. I highly recommend Stumptown. Thanks for a wonderful experience
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandi
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
I did a TON of research on local DJ's in Portland and I can honestly say after speaking with several companies I'm so glad we chose Stumptown DJs. They were so easy to work with, reasonably priced and our DJ Andrew did a phenomenal job! We had so many compliments on how nice and professional Andrew was. The timeline worksheet and online music database also made planning super easy. I hope we have the opportunity to use them again in the future!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Billy
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJs really saved us when our initial DJ backed out very close to the wedding. It actually turned out to be the best thing that could have happened since DJ Katie was amazing! All the guests loved her and her playlist. Requests were easy, Katie brought her own great dance light to set the mood, every special dance went off without a hitch, and she even helped us control the flow during the buffet dinner... we would 100% use Stumptown DJs again in a heartbeat.

Thanks so much!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tony
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJ's exceeded our expectations with professionalism, prompt communication, flexibility and creativity. Being a same sex couple and the issue of marriage equality heavily at play, my husband and I were very selective with every vendor we chose to work with and approached every consultation (with every vendor) semi guarded and and mindful of where their stance was in the statement we were making on our day to one another and to our friends and family.

Our walls came down upon our first interaction with Matt (over the phone) as he made a point to assure us that he and his company's values is to respectfully support and respect ALL couples regardless of their orientation, without my asking. Matt was incredibly responsive at all of our questions and needs from the beginning to the end.

Denis DJ'd our wedding and he was amazing. We gave Denis a few must have songs (outside of the mother son dance and grand entrance), and asked that he utilize his creativity and come up with the rest as he saw fit. The only requirement we gave him was that it needed to feel like a "gay dance club" without the stereotypical Madonna, Cher, etc. His skill in mixing high bass beats while remaining incredibly attuned to the crowd and our needs seemed effortless. Our guests had so much fun that we asked for him to perform longer than originally agreed upon. Denis was very responsive to both my husband and I as well as our wedding day coordinator with high respect and professionalism. We certainly recommend Stumptown DJ's to anyone looking for the a company who provides the most bang for your buck while setting the bar for creating an inviting, highly entertaining and overall fun atmosphere! Thank you so much guys to being part of our day!

Best,
Tony and Cory
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Matt do our wedding. From the beginning he was easy to work with, organized and helpful with the planning. He was excellent at communicating with the other vendors. He fit in well and was very flexible with changes in our small, laid back reception. Overall very happy!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Matt did an awesome job with DJing for our wedding! We had to change our reception timeline a little bit due to the weather, but Matt did a good job making everything go smoothly and coordinating with our wedding planner.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Dennis was a great guy that was flexible with time changes and willing to go above and beyond for the couple to provide great entertainment. As a coordinator, he was great to work with and extremely professional.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We were so happy with Stumptown, and we would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a wedding DJ. We had Denis DJ for us at the Abernethy Center. The thing that initially stood out to me and made me book with these guys is that they presented as super down-to-earth and not cheesy (if you look around for wedding DJs, you definitely see a lot of smoke/fog machines, velvet, and other general cheesiness). They were really on top of planning, and we felt they went beyond just preparing songs to play. They gave us some really good creative suggestions, like adding prizes to the bouquet and garter tosses to increase enthusiasm/participation. The music picks satisfied the whole crowd...We even got my Grandma out to participate in a conga line that formed! The night was a blast, and the music--as well as the seamless instructions and introductions Denis gave--were an integral part of that.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
This was a great company to work with! The owner is very involved in everything and really cares about making his clients happy. Our DJ was amazing, he even met with us initially, so we could get a feeling for each other before we made a decision. The music was perfect, he communicated with us the whole time, and was flexible enough to stay for an extra hour, since everyone was having so much fun. Stumptown really helped to make it a perfect night!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Desiree
Wedding:
7/29/2013
5.0/5.0
As we started to plan our wedding, I went to my first bridal show. I walked around and spoke to several DJs just gathering information at the bridal show. I spoke to Matt at Stumptown DJs and he immediately was friendly and easy to talk to but what they have to offer. My fiance at the time was not convinced yet we should have a DJ. He met DJ Matt at a later date and after their meeting, we decided on Stumptown DJs!
Our wedding music was great and a lot of fun dancing! Matt worked with us and made it very easy to play our requested songs. He is professional & does a fabulous job keeping the flow of the reception going. Thank you, Stumptown DJs!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The level of profesionalism was excellent. Music catered to our taste and requests from our guests were accepted with a smile. The equipment and sound was top line. I would strongly recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roxann
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I am the Mother of the Groom and kindly took on the responsibilities of lining up DJ services for the wedding reception. After searching for some time I contacted Stumptown DJs LLC. Matthew form Stumptown DJs LLC contacted me that same day. He was so helpful and explained how their services worked. I loved that we were able to pay a flat rate and that they were able to go to our outdoor location in North Plains. We were in need of DJ services for a few announcements and toasts, other than that we just needed great music to be played. Samir, our DJ for the evening, was very professional and our group had so much fun that they didn't want the evening to end. The Bride and Groom had a great time with the help of a wonderful DJ. If you want professional, responsive, and best of all flat rate DJ services.....Stumptown DJs LLC will be the ones for you.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJs took the time upfront to work with me in crafting a very specific playlist, including calls and emails well in advance of the wedding. On the big day, Denis arrived early and setup everything needed, and then kept the music rolling all night. We had an amazing dance party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelli
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I worked with Matt throughout the booking and preparations, and then DJ Dennis did our wedding. It was outdoors and the set up was not ideal for him, but he still did a great job of communicating with me and our guests.

We chose a ton of music and he did a great job of picking what the different ages at our wedding would respond to. It was hit after hit after hit and there was almost always a crowd on the dance floor.

The booking and preparation process was easy and awesome! Google Play playlist was easy to use and they gave recommendations when we were stuck on specific dances, etc.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJ was one of the best decisions we made in regards to our wedding. We met with Matthew several times before the wedding and it was clear after out initial meeting that he was very experienced and organized. Stumptown DJ’s has a huge music database so it was easy to find great songs that would work well. Matthew did a great job of making sure he knew exactly what we wanted and what songs were important to us. Throughout the planning process he was quick to get back to any emails and always had great suggestions. Stumptown DJ’s even went the extra mile to go to our venue and meet with the site coordinator to see the layout and make sure the set up would work. On the big day he arrived early to set up the equipment and make sure everything was perfect. Our wedding flowed flawlessly from one thing to another and that’s mainly because of Stumptown DJ’s. We had a great time at our own wedding because we could relax and enjoy the evening instead of worrying about what needed to be done next. Our guests are still commenting about how much fun they had at our wedding and what a great DJ we had. Matthew at Stumptown DJ’s is very well organized and detail oriented. If you are looking for a DJ, I STRONGLY recommend Matthew at Stumptown DJ’s, it will be one of the best decisions you’ll make.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charlotte
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJs seriously came through for our wedding. From the day we contacted them about booking our ceremony we were impressed by the prompt and easygoing communication from Matt. Before meeting, he managed to jump through all the hoops that the former musician father-of-the bride set up for him in good humor, providing insights into his style and suggestions as to what he thought would fit the occasion. He was even open and respectful of our wish to compare with other DJs first.

Turns out we probably didn't need to look for anyone else. Matt met us at our wedding venue way ahead of time and sealed the deal when he was able to really help us figure out the flow of events and the music to go with. Seeing as we hadn't exactly planned a wedding before, it was immensely helpful to have the MC experience at hand before the date. With a price that was in our budget, signing Stumptown DJs on was a no-brainer.

The day of, Matt set up quickly and discreetly amid the flurry of mothers and aunts and when the reception started, it was hard to ask for a better DJ. Songs flowed smoothly, and as an MC, Matt kept everyone on track. Even to the point of running across the venue to fetch the groom from the bar and away from uncles and grandfathers. People stayed dancing to the very last in no small part to the good mix and the professional MC.

From planning to party, Stumptown DJs rocked it.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Stumptown DJ to anyone. I found them online and was impressed with their price. I met Matthew to discuss our day and was even more impressed with his personality and how eager he was to help us plan the perfect day! He went above and beyond on our wedding day and everyone couldn't stop talking about how great the music was. It also means so much to a busy bride when someone responds to your emails, promptly, and Matthew never let me down.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Drew at Stumptown DJ's was very professional. He took the time to meet us a couple of days in advance and discuss the night's layout. He was very responsive to requests by the guests. We especially loved that we could make a playlist ahead of time of the songs we wanted to play during the night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rylee
Wedding:
9/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I would definity recommend stumptown dj for any event. They responded to all of my questions quickly and were very helpful before the wedding. They showed up on time to the venue, were dressed properly, and ready to go. They were also flexible in changing stuff at the last minute becaues we all know weddings never go exactly as planned. They were respectful and patient as we requested and changed some songs that we wanted to be played. I really appreciated all the work they did to help make my wedding day perfect. You will not be dissapointed if you use stumptown dj's.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could NOT have been happier about Stumptown DJs!! The first thing that attracted us about their services were the low costs. But, then, we got into a meeting with the owner and our dj and we immediately loved everything about it! Not only were they prompt and responsive to our questions, but they also offered an amazing service--access to a database of music for us to select of our wedding. I mean, could this be real? That's awesome! Also, after our first meeting, they regularly communicated with us right up to the wedding. Our dj Andrew was more than professional in dress and in his work at the wedding, and his choices of music outside our specific choices really got the party going. All around high fives for Stumptown DJs!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved the fact that Stumptown DJ's answered ALL of my questions in a timely manner! They were so helpful about the whole process. Our DJ was so friendly - and even came through with every last minute change/request!
I would highly recommend Stumptown DJ's to anyone!
Anna
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
These guys were great! They played the whole time even though 90% of our wedding guests left leaving only the bridal party and a few friends. The music selection was great and Matt did an excellent job at keeping the reception flowing at a smooth pace. I would highly recommend this company to any of my friends.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jered
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJs did an excellent job at our wedding. They were courteous, prompt, and had just the right amount of participation. Their music selection was cool and allowed us to really personalize our wedding. I would definitely recommend Stumptown DJs.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Greg
Wedding:
7/27/2012
5.0/5.0
My highest praise for the gang at StumpTown DJ's,
Matthew and the StumpTown Dj's made our Wedding, reception and after dinner dance a smash hit across all generations of both families. They played every song we requested. They even starting some songs at a very specific point in the lengthy ballad for my wife's entrance and orchestral arrangements we challenged them with. They found a Hawaiian classic for our first dance. My mother and father danced to their favorite tune to celebrate their long love. It was a special moment to see my mother hula dance with my sisters who learned in the 70's.
They were prompt, well dressed, articulate, service and quality oriented. I love listening to the CD they made of our reception. It keeps the magic of the music and dancing alive for a lifetime. Do not hesitate to believe in Matthew's assurance of total satisfaction. Our expectations were exceeded which was so important as this was a destination Wedding.
Sincerely,Greg Schadewald
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Matt was awesome! He was very professional and did a great job reading the audience to decide what songs to play. He got the crowd moving and we had a great dance party!!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1330101688858-us
Anna
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Matt and his team at Stumptown DJ's made our wedding flow wonderfully!
My husband has never been one that liked DJ's, in fact I pretty much had to sweet talk him into the idea. We've all been to those weddings with the "cheesey" dj that wants to take over the show and has that announcer voice. Matt is not that DJ and for us that was perfect. We wanted the music simple, the dance songs by request from the guests and just a few announcements and Matt did it all wonderfully.

Stumptown DJ's uses Google Music to help you pick songs for the day and you can also upload your own songs. This was probably one the biggest reasons we chose Stumptown (and meeting Matt of course). This interface made it easy for us to communicate with Matt and he even checked with us a month before our wedding to ensure we were working on our music selections. The day of Matt arrived on time, he was dressed professionally and kept me aware of the time for our timeline. The whole thing happened so smoothly and I know it was because of Matt.
Thank you again to Stumptown DJ's!
They were a fantastic vendor to work with and I highly recommend using them for your event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ben
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJs was absolutely fabulous for the wedding and the reception. They set up the music and pa for the wedding smoothly and ran it well. The music for the reception was wonderful as well, perfectly mixed with all the different styles. We received a last minute request from one of the bridesmaid's children to sing a song for us at the reception, and we asked them the night before to have the instrumental of that particular song, and they had it set up perfectly. Very professional and flexible. Talked with Matt at the reception, and he transitioned the music perfectly, slowing it down at the end of the night. Everything went perfectly! Thanks guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DeLa
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
I have to say that Stumptown DJ's exceeded my expectations. This is based on the fact that our celebration was not overly organized and we gave little direction until the day of the event. I was originally worried that this would require a lot of attention and explanation on the big day. That being said, Matthew was flexible, relaxed, capable of taking charge when needed, going with the flow at ot...her times, making suggestions for activities...a;; of which helped everything turn out just right. We really appreciated the subtle reading of the crowd and questions that he asked to make sure everything was on the right track. In addition, he got my wife dancing (which is VERY surprising) and by the end of the party I felt bad about breaking up what was obviously a great time for all of our guests. I would highly recommend Stumptown DJ's and am very pleased with how everything turned out. Thanks again for everything!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtney
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJ is amazing - talented, fun, professional - we could not have dreamed of having a better DJ at our wedding. Stumptown DJ's met with us before the wedding to help us figure out what to do, not only with our music, but also about how to manage the reception (We had no clue what we were planning or doing!). He got everyone on the dance floor (even the non-dancers) and agreed to play for an extra hour at the end of the reception. You simply cannot go wrong with Stmptown DJ's - I would highly recommend them anytime, anywhere!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Stumptown DJ's are the real deal-I was married at the Kennedy School in June and I get comments about the music all the time-Matthew was awesome from the background to the dance music(at one time 80% of my guests were on the dance floor!)he personalized everything for me with his own spin on it and it was right on-i will reccomend him to anyone, anytime, any event--thanks it was beyond expectation.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brad
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.9/5.0
Stumptown did a great job!

We were able to select our music in advance using their online playlist, and it was easy to add additional music to the list. Matt, our DJ, showed up on time, was very responsive and helpful, and most importantly, was flexible with the timing of the wedding.

A great example of how good Stumptown is: We requested a song in our playlist that we didn't realize had adult language in it. When it was playing, Matt realize it had adult language and that kids were on the dance floor, so he immediately found the radio edit of the song and transitioned to that version seamlessly before anyone noticed. A great save!

I would recommend Stumptown for any event and will certainly use them again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Matt and Dennis of Stumptown DJ's did a fantastic job during our wedding. Matt was very easy to work with getting all the songs organized. Everything we wanted was played and all of the songs that I hadn't specifically requested all fit in really well with the general theme we were going for. Dennis had some great dance music too that wasn't typical wedding songs that got everyone dancing! I'd wouldn't hesitate recommending Stumptown DJ's.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
The DJ on our wedding day was Matt. He did a really awesome job pre-wedding and the day-of. I loved that they had the wedding timeline and that we were able to create our playlist online. We went through all the details over the phone and that eased any nerves regarding music. We had a lot of do's and don'ts and he did a wonderful job following my crazy long playlist. I got so many compliments on the music for cocktail hour. Plus, we surprisingly had a lot of older folks on the dance floor and he did a great job keeping them there. We didn't hear everything on our playlist, but everyone was having such a great time. Also, nothing ever runs totally smooth on the big day and Matt did a great job rolling with the punches. We also felt like the price was fairly reasonable.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alix
Wedding:
7/22/2012
4.7/5.0
Went above and beyond to make my non-traditional family feel accepted and appreciated. Even switched the contract to state: "Bride & Bride" on their own. I didn't have to cross out any "groom" sections! Very impressed with the service :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dale
Wedding:
8/23/2013
4.6/5.0
Matt from Stuptown DJs was totally professional and really helped to make our wedding day great! He also took the time before the wedding to sit down with us give us and make very helpful recommendations. We had many moments during our wedding in which things didn't go exactly 'according to plan,' and Matt was able to adjust and keep our guests entertained. Matt also played every single song we requested, and played additional songs that really went well with our requested songs.

We would highly recommend Stumptown DJs! They are so professional and an excellent value!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
entheend
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.6/5.0
Matthew with Stumptown DJs was great. He made things really easy for me, and was really flexible when I asked him about bringing a PA system to our ceremony. He played some good tunes and got my guests dancing at the reception.I would totally recommend Stumptown to my friends who are looking for a DJ!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1307682018484-antoinette1
JJ
Wedding:
9/19/2011
3.7/5.0
Unfortunately It was very disappointing. First meeting with Matthew was great. We liked his professional proposal and customer service. but at our wedding, we weren't happy with him at all.

First, he played our first dance song when we walked in our reception room. I am not sure if it was just his mistake or he did it on purpose for some reason.but it was supposed to be special song and I didn't expect to hear the song before we start dancing.
And then, all he did was just sitting there. And let computer play music.

We are really suppressed he has good reviews on here.
I guess I received service what I paid for. It was affordable but I wish I had paid more for better service.
Services Used: DJ
Stumptown DJs responded with the following comments:

At this wedding, the client did not specify that she wanted the DJ to be interactive with the guests. Unless specified, we generally will play music and make announcements only. As for the song played prior to the first dance, it was a mistake and we have since apologized and made efforts for this not to happen again.

MAP

 
4516 SE Salmon Ct., Portland, OR 97215 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Stumptown DJs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo